View Full Version : SFL Division 1 Only

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

chaddles
21st May 2007, 10:23
Thought a divi 1 thread would be good just to hear whats going on around the grounds, without all the other divisions cluttering up the thread.
What happened with Chelsea Heights v Clayton? Thought that the Heighters would not get near the so called top 4 teams. Did they just play well or did Clayton have a very poor day?

Mordi got home in a thriller v Highett on Saturday, nearly through the game away though but fought back with seconds to go with Rob Lemon taking another strong contested mark and converting from about 35m out. Is he one of the best CHF's in the competition? He has been absolutely outstanding this season and seems to mark near everything and is a very good user of the ball- any thoughts.

Im The Gun
22nd May 2007, 11:34
Thought a divi 1 thread would be good just to hear whats going on around the grounds, without all the other divisions cluttering up the thread.
What happened with Chelsea Heights v Clayton? Thought that the Heighters would not get near the so called top 4 teams. Did they just play well or did Clayton have a very poor day?

Mordi got home in a thriller v Highett on Saturday, nearly through the game away though but fought back with seconds to go with Rob Lemon taking another strong contested mark and converting from about 35m out. Is he one of the best CHF's in the competition? He has been absolutely outstanding this season and seems to mark near everything and is a very good user of the ball- any thoughts.

Wasn't really a strong mark, he took it over 2 blokes under 5'6'' and both are just 18..
never the less, good mark, good finish and yes it hurts.

cuttingedge
22nd May 2007, 13:08

It will interesting what comes from the behind the play incident against TMalvern hearing tonight, could be R Lemons last game for the year?

chaddles
22nd May 2007, 15:17
Considering that he was not even reported at the time, I would be extremely surprised if he copped a lengthy suspension. It will be interesting to find out what happens at tonight's hearing about the whole brawl considering only Tooronga Malvern players where reported at the time.

Nobster72
22nd May 2007, 15:31
Considering that he was not even reported at the time, I would be extremely surprised if he copped a lengthy suspension. It will be interesting to find out what happens at tonight's hearing about the whole brawl considering only Tooronga Malvern players where reported at the time.

He wasn't reported because no umpire saw the incident as it was behind the play at the time it happen.It will be an interesting hearing.The unwritten code maybe broken tonight

PeterDean
22nd May 2007, 15:50
He wasn't reported because no umpire saw the incident as it was behind the play at the time it happen.It will be an interesting hearing.The unwritten code maybe broken tonight

Interesting reading - considering a TM player was suspended for a behind the play incident last year.

cuttingedge
22nd May 2007, 16:06
Interesting reading - considering a TM player was suspended for a behind the play incident last year.

The list of attendees suggests there are witnesses(possibly trainers from TMalv), plus the Tmalvern player

gazza35
22nd May 2007, 16:57
Didnt hear about this one how many players are likely to get rubbed out was every player involved theres just no place for behind the play incidents

superfreak
22nd May 2007, 17:24

um no. he is a thug, and isnt reported as he intimidates umpires. his luck might have finally run out though it seems.

The Rider
23rd May 2007, 09:16
um no. he is a thug, and isnt reported as he intimidates umpires. his luck might have finally run out though it seems.

Did he hurt you one day, superfreak? Will be interesting to see how the tribunal reacted to this investigation.

chaddles
23rd May 2007, 09:48
Did he hurt you one day, superfreak? Will be interesting to see how the tribunal reacted to this investigation.

I dont suppose anyone did hear about what happened at the hearing last night?
I think that he must of hurt him ;) and there are thugs everywhere in footy, and as for intimidating umpires.... well if your an umpire and your intimidated on the field by a player, then you shouldn't be umpiring footy! couple ridiculous statements superfreak

The Rider
23rd May 2007, 10:29
Rob Lemon received 7 weeks from the tribunal last night.

chaddles
23rd May 2007, 10:41
Ouch, that will hurt Mordi. Do you know what happened to the Tooronga Malvern player who got reported in the same game?

The Rider
23rd May 2007, 10:45
Ouch, that will hurt Mordi. Do you know what happened to the Tooronga Malvern player who got reported in the same game?

Not sure what happened with the TM player

Im The Gun
23rd May 2007, 10:53

it hurts me. after seeing him kicking the winning goal on sat'day and now hearing this. I just want to cry ;)

cuttingedge
23rd May 2007, 12:55
Not sure what happened with the TM player

Got a week, 7 weeks is a fair stint, but as witnessed in the past he does like the physical side of the game, and tests the boundaries.

superfreak
23rd May 2007, 14:39
Is there anyway that Highett can contest the result against Mordi after this finding???

I know that its drawing a long bow but effectively Mordi played an inelligable player if Lemon's suspension was resultant from a previous round.

Thoughts.....

The Rider
23rd May 2007, 14:44
Is there anyway that Highett can contest the result against Mordi after this finding???

I know that its drawing a long bow but effectively Mordi played an inelligable player if Lemon's suspension was resultant from a previous round.

Thoughts.....

Until a player has been found guilty by the tribunal he is eligible to play. As Lemon wasn't found guilty till last night he was then eligible to play against the doggies

Im The Gun
23rd May 2007, 14:45

Thoughts.....
Nope i wouldn't say so.

I think we may be taking a video copy of the game to the umpires over a few things late in the game. We were on the end of what felt like cheating from one umpire, but thats footy IMO.

The Enemy Within
23rd May 2007, 15:03
Nope i wouldn't say so.

I think we may be taking a video copy of the game to the umpires over a few things late in the game. We were on the end of what felt like cheating from one umpire, but thats footy IMO.
Harsh comments that an umpire cheated, you can't be serious,if you say or take that to the league you will be making a rod for your own back.That Is All.

Im The Gun
23rd May 2007, 15:06
Harsh comments that an umpire cheated, you can't be serious,if you say or take that to the league you will be making a rod for your own back.That Is All.

I never said that he did cheat, i said it felt like it.

when i get a copy of the video i'll post a few things that happened late in the game. one 50 that was paid with about 3 minutes to play was the worse 50 I've seen paid. everyone but the umpire knew he was off.

maca01
23rd May 2007, 15:11
ITG, big game this week with the clash of the local rivals against the Rosellas with last weeks result do you think that you will bounce back?? From what i have seen the boys from weatherall rd can run very hot, and very cold.

The Enemy Within
23rd May 2007, 15:12

when i get a copy of the video i'll post a few things that happened late in the game. one 50 that was paid with about 3 minutes to play was the worse 50 I've seen paid. everyone but the umpire knew he was off.
Fair comment and here i was thinking that all you plebs up in Div 1 got all the good umpires,would you be whinging if you won the game even though he umpired bad i don't think so.That Is All.

chaddles
24th May 2007, 09:08

You can't go complaining about losing a game because a player kicked a goal, and then got suspended on the Tuesday after the game! It is the SFL fault if any for not having the hearing earlier.
Basically Highett were just beaten by the better team on the day even though Mordi tried to throw the game away.

And umpires always make mistakes, you just got to deal with it dude!

Im The Gun
24th May 2007, 09:16
You can't go complaining about losing a game because a player kicked a goal, and then got suspended on the Tuesday after the game! It is the SFL fault if any for not having the hearing earlier.
Basically Highett were just beaten by the better team on the day even though Mordi tried to throw the game away.

We're not going to complain we're going to find out why some things were paid and some weren't.And no one said anything about complaining that Lemon played.

chaddles
24th May 2007, 10:44

Thoughts.....

We're not going to complain we're going to find out why some things were paid and some weren't.And no one said anything about complaining that Lemon played.

Sorry ITG, thought that was you who wrote the top post.
Yes there were some very interesting decisions paid to both teams in that game. You guys seemed to have some important decisions go against you I have to admit, which made me wonder what they were doing at the time.
I think it would be fair to say that the umpires didn't have their best game that day.

Nobster72
24th May 2007, 11:29
Ok guys what about this weeks games,The match of the week would be I think Chelsea Heights V East Brighton,Chelsea seem to be finding some form after a good win against the Clays while East Brighton if they come to play could upset anyone on there day,lets hope for a fine day so the skills can be seen from both sides,any thoughts boys

superfreak
24th May 2007, 11:35
Ok guys what about this weeks games,The match of the week would be I think Chelsea Heights V East Brighton,Chelsea seem to be finding some form after a good win against the Clays while East Brighton if they come to play could upset anyone on there day,lets hope for a fine day so the skills can be seen from both sides,any thoughts boys

Should be very close. Both sides have a heavy reliance on certain players. Hislop, Jamieson's, McLelland, Bowman for East and Flack, Lancaster and Wineberg for Chelsea. If both field full lineups, I think that East has more avenues to goal for the Heights and will just scrape over the line, however Chelsea's win last week suggests they have improved markedly from when I saw them last. Should be a beauty either way.

chaddles
24th May 2007, 13:59
Heighters have some very good players in there team, a few who have just come back into the team after injury. Walshy, Baldry, Matherson, Lancaster, Wineberg, Flack are all top quality players and it should be very high quality match. Hope they put it on SFL show Sat morning. Not sure who is good for East Brighton but they have put in some good performances so far this year, bit disappointed I wont be able to watch it. Have to watch Mordi cop an absolute flogging off St Kilda.

Im The Gun
25th May 2007, 12:32

I think this cost us the game.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ug7j55JffpE

very late in the game I think it was with 3 minutes to go.

Judge for yourself.

The Rider
25th May 2007, 12:45

Judge for yourself.

Pretty stiff!!:thumbsd:

maca01
25th May 2007, 13:01
thats possibly the worst decision i have ever seen. how about the elbow from lemon?? loved the banter int he background though!!!

House
25th May 2007, 13:19
Awful decision....who was the ump? Hard to tell from the video but it looked like old harry high pants Paul Shoebridge...
Better hope his form improves for the remainder of the season or he'll end up in Div 2 with our boys....bummer!
Also loved the banter in the background. Very thoughtful of the camera man to position himself near the only women in the stand with their own teeth...perhaps they were just visiting from Doveton!

Nobster72
25th May 2007, 13:42

Judge for yourself.

Having watched the video several times and seeing what the umpire does,the umpire has never called play on so technically speaking the umpire was correct in awarding the 50 m penalty,Its always the same always blame an easy target for you losing,what about the handball that missed the target and got turned over or the missed kick or the mark never taken,very hard for one decision to cost a side a game of football,I wish i could count the number of errors players made against number made by umpires,I back the umpys all the time

The Rider
25th May 2007, 13:47
Having watched the video several times and seeing what the umpire does,the umpire has never called play on so technically speaking the umpire was correct in awarding the 50 m penalty,Its always the same always blame an easy target for you losing,what about the handball that missed the target and got turned over or the missed kick or the mark never taken,very hard for one decision to cost a side a game of football,I wish i could count the number of errors players made against number made by umpires,I back the umpys all the time

That is utter crap Nobster. I'm a former umpire myself and if that's not play on then I will bear my arse on Bourke St. Why the umpire didn't call play on has got me stuffed

Im The Gun
25th May 2007, 14:20

Jeff Gieschen?
Umpires are never wrong, the world is no longer round and Channel 7 are doing a great job with friday night footy.

Vulture_72
25th May 2007, 14:38
The umpire was correct in awarding the 50, but he was incorrect for not calling play on. Therefore it was a bad decision. I am biased though because i hate those white maggots.

kickrs
25th May 2007, 14:39

Judge for yourself.

Well after watching that I would have to say that i hope that umpire has a good idea of where all the division 3 grounds are.

Would not surprise me to see him strutting his stuff in the under 13s in the moorabbin saints league on Sunday

chaddles
25th May 2007, 14:43
I'm a Mordi fan and I was yelling abuse at Lemo for playing on..... then the next thing I know he's got a fifty!!
Nobsters right, you can't isolate one incident no matter how bad the decision was. I think that it was an evener after what happened at Tooronga Malvern the week before.

Nobster72
25th May 2007, 15:15
I'm a Mordi fan and I was yelling abuse at Lemo for playing on..... then the next thing I know he's got a fifty!!
Nobsters right, you can't isolate one incident no matter how bad the decision was. I think that it was an evener after what happened at Tooronga Malvern the week before.

Chaddles, an even up for what,tell me more about the week before interested in knowing what happen to make you think that it was an even up,How will you blokes handle not having Lemon available for the next 7 games,This might be a silly question but i will ask anyway do you think that he will learn from that day at Tooronga,would be interested in your thoughts.

chaddles
25th May 2007, 15:35
Chaddles, an even up for what,tell me more about the week before interested in knowing what happen to make you think that it was an even up,How will you blokes handle not having Lemon available for the next 7 games,This might be a silly question but i will ask anyway do you think that he will learn from that day at Tooronga,would be interested in your thoughts.

I mean an evener in the sense of Karma... The guy who took the mark to kick the goal for TM after the siren apparently fumbled the mark over the goal line thus should of been a behind and game over- Mordi should have won. We probably should of lost last week, but with a bit of luck we got over the line.

Lemon is a very important line up to the forward structure, he has a very big presence on the field, can take a good contested mark, and is very accurate at goal and with his passing. I think that we will struggle to post competitive scores while he is out, especially with no one to fill his shoes.
I haven't known Lemo for long, but my honest assessment is I dont think a 7 week suspension will change his style of play.
I didnt see what happened at TM with the behind the play incident, but the word from a few players was that it was a payback from an earlier incident. Alledgelly the TM player who got knocked out, hit Lemo the quarter before, and he is not the sort of person to let those things go (or the sort of person you hit).

Nobster72
25th May 2007, 15:37
Jeff Gieschen?
Umpires are never wrong, the world is no longer round and Channel 7 are doing a great job with friday night footy.

Im The Gun,
Read my post again then have a think about what you want to reply with,believe it or not Umpires do make errors and yes are held accountable for them by being drop and coached into making the correct decision,The best umpires are the ones who can admit that they made a error and learn from that to make sure that don't do again.The players that umpires respect the most are the ones who accept the decision and get on with the job.

chaddles
25th May 2007, 15:50
Im The Gun,
Read my post again then have a think about what you want to reply with,believe it or not Umpires do make errors and yes are held accountable for them by being drop and coached into making the correct decision,The best umpires are the ones who can admit that they made a error and learn from that to make sure that don't do again.The players that umpires respect the most are the ones who accept the decision and get on with the job.

Here here, that is spot on. The players also respect the umpires who stand by there decisions, and aren't afraid to explain how the came to that decision, if it is a bit unclear.

Im The Gun
25th May 2007, 16:01
Im The Gun,

I'm one of the first to say good job if they do a good job, but I'm also one of the hardest on them if they stuff up and at like they have never put a foot wrong.

I know that we players also stuff up, most of us a lot but that call was one of the worse I've seen or had called when playing.

Giddo
27th May 2007, 19:50
Awful decision....who was the ump? Hard to tell from the video but it looked like old harry high pants Paul Shoebridge...
Better hope his form improves for the remainder of the season or he'll end up in Div 2 with our boys....bummer!
Also loved the banter in the background. Very thoughtful of the camera man to position himself near the only women in the stand with their own teeth...perhaps they were just visiting from Doveton!

House, shouldn't you be on the DIV 2 site ?

This is a bit above your standards!! :D :D

mcglede
29th May 2007, 14:01
It doesn't matter which forum he's on, I'm The Gun is still looking to blame others for his shortcomings.

On other matters, who was the ring-in East Brighton had in their twos on the weekend? Stood out a little too much for him to have been otherwise hidden in the mob.

Im The Gun
29th May 2007, 14:25
It doesn't matter which forum he's on, I'm The Gun is still looking to blame others for his shortcomings.

On other matters, who was the ring-in East Brighton had in their twos on the weekend? Stood out a little too much for him to have been otherwise hidden in the mob.

Not too sure what you're talking about McGlede. Would you like to share where else I've blamed others for a shortcoming?

If you want to say something say it.

As for East Br. who says it was a ring in, could have been a dropped player for not training, giving away a costly 50 or any other reason, also could have been a new player at the club and knowing Suzz there would be a very good reason for him playing in the twos

4QTRTIME
29th May 2007, 15:12
Not too sure what you're talking about McGlede. Would you like to share where else I've blamed others for a shortcoming?

If you want to say something say it.

As for East Br. who says it was a ring in, could have been a dropped player for not training, giving away a costly 50 or any other reason, also could have been a new player at the club and knowing Suzz there would be a very good reason for him playing in the twos

That 50m penalty sums up the standard so far this year!
Disgusting, that is a disgraceful decision.

chaddles
1st June 2007, 12:03
Has anyone got any insights on any divi 1 clashes for this weekend?? I hope that the upsets keep coming as it is making it a very interesting competition at present.
Anyone give Chelsea Heights a chance this weekend? It would be great to see St Kilda finally get knocked off there perch. I watched the Mordialloc v St Kilda game last weekend, and while St Kilda had some really good players, the bickering that went on the field was crazy and I think it will be the downfall of the team in a close game against a better knit team such as Clayton and St Pauls. This may get moderated but they really are a team of individuals and I dont think that they will win the flag. And there supporters are pretty crazy too, I heard one St K supporter threaten to glass no. 20 for Mordi!!
Anyway thats what grinds my gears!!

Go the Bloods!!

The Chad

Nobster72
1st June 2007, 12:19
Has anyone got any insights on any divi 1 clashes for this weekend?? I hope that the upsets keep coming as it is making it a very interesting competition at present.
Anyone give Chelsea Heights a chance this weekend? It would be great to see St Kilda finally get knocked off there perch. I watched the Mordialloc v St Kilda game last weekend, and while St Kilda had some really good players, the bickering that went on the field was crazy and I think it will be the downfall of the team in a close game against a better knit team such as Clayton and St Pauls. This may get moderated but they really are a team of individuals and I dont think that they will win the flag. And there supporters are pretty crazy too, I heard one St K supporter threaten to glass no. 20 for Mordi!!

Go the Bloods!!

The Chad

Old saying in footy A CHAMPION TEAM WILL BEAT A TEAM OF CHAMPIONS ALL THE TIME, St.Kilda City Team of Champions, Clayton and St.Pauls Champion Teams enough said.

4QTRTIME
1st June 2007, 12:37
[quote=chaddles;7704788]Has anyone got any insights on any divi 1 clashes for this weekend?? I hope that the upsets keep coming as it is making it a very interesting competition at present.

Go the Bloods!!

I know for a fact that East Brighton was playing with some ordinary players in their one's last week and still got over the line. Captain Clint Einsdale has been playing well and with Matt Jamieson still 4-6 away, Scurah still a couple away. If they can win a few in this bloke of four games and avoid injury (which is always hard) they will be a mighty side soon!
Also my old mob Highett, I wouldn't write them off. They have built a pretty potent midfield and if they can keep Andrews kicking goals and Meadie at his feet kicking a few they will be the suprise packets! Also Matty Sheehan has again been playing great footy, along with Abba! They have won 3-2 stiff to lose to Mordi also. We haven't seen Luke Harris kick a big bag yet, so expect that soon! They could be alrightttttttttt, imagine Poelsma & Marshal in this side!

spongey
1st June 2007, 15:54
[quote=chaddles;7704788]Has anyone got any insights on any divi 1 clashes for this weekend?? I hope that the upsets keep coming as it is making it a very interesting competition at present.

Go the Bloods!!

Mate as a player at StKilda I reckon your way out of line with the so called drama & bickering on the ground, its not an issue, all clubs do it, some worse than others as far as claimimg blokes were glassing and all the other make believe crap,why dont you look at he idiot who got 7 weeks trying to start a fight all day in the crowd, he is a nuisance.Anyway back to the footy we are a close bunch off the field we had a dinner for 50 blokes & team meeting last night was real good just to keep things on track .At 5-0 , the next 4 weeks will be a good test,also just side issue we are playing without our best player(probably best in the comp in Arvanitis who has played 2qtrs this year and will miss another
6 - 8 weeks with injury also Hassan has missed 3,walker has missed 3,Nudge Johnston has missed 4 amongst others, also we have kicked pourly for goal,to be honest we have not gelled 100% yet but we are improving, we should have our best quota of players available this year for tomorrow which is danger game at Chelsea. As far as the opposition goes Clayton are always dangerous, pretty impressed with East Brighton effort on the day, Mordi,Highett & Tmalvern were competitive. Interesting to hear a couple of big injuries at St Pauls - Sziller has blown a hammy & Cooke has had a finger operation 2 big losses, will be interesting to see how that affects them. Good luck to Mordy chaddles hope you stay up in Divvy1

chaddles
2nd June 2007, 11:26

Go the Bloods!!

Mate as a player at StKilda I reckon your way out of line with the so called drama & bickering on the ground, its not an issue, all clubs do it, some worse than others as far as claimimg blokes were glassing and all the other make believe crap,why dont you look at he idiot who got 7 weeks trying to start a fight all day in the crowd, he is a nuisance.Anyway back to the footy we are a close bunch off the field we had a dinner for 50 blokes & team meeting last night was real good just to keep things on track .At 5-0 , the next 4 weeks will be a good test,also just side issue we are playing without our best player(probably best in the comp in Arvanitis who has played 2qtrs this year and will miss another
6 - 8 weeks with injury also Hassan has missed 3,walker has missed 3,Nudge Johnston has missed 4 amongst others, also we have kicked pourly for goal,to be honest we have not gelled 100% yet but we are improving, we should have our best quota of players available this year for tomorrow which is danger game at Chelsea. As far as the opposition goes Clayton are always dangerous, pretty impressed with East Brighton effort on the day, Mordi,Highett & Tmalvern were competitive. Interesting to hear a couple of big injuries at St Pauls - Sziller has blown a hammy & Cooke has had a finger operation 2 big losses, will be interesting to see how that affects them. Good luck to Mordy chaddles hope you stay up in Divvy1

Fair call Spongey, it was just my assessment of what I saw last weekend. Im not saying there not a very good team, there were just a couple of incidents where they seemed to just go over the top with what the said to each other. YOu guys are a very good team, and I hope Chelsea Heights knock you off just to open up the competition a bit more.
As for Rob Lemon (7 wks suspension) that was an utter embarrassment to the Mordialloc FC and all supporters are very disappointed with the way that he behaved and the way he abused and tried to start a fight after the game.
Spongey, I am personally embarassed by his actions during and after the game and it is not good for the game or our clubs image.
I personally think Mordi wont have to worry about staying up this year, once all players are available we will push you Chelts, Heights and East B's. There is a succession plan in place at Mordi in a bid to build a competitive squad for next year, by recruiting a few more players t ocomplement the squad and build depth.
I am new to the club but I came on board because they are looking for sustained future success which is a credit to the club- as they have the financial resources to buy big, but have opted to build a squad to be a competitive force for years to come. I hope for St Kilda's case that the team management is after sustained success and not just trying to buy a premiership for a season.
Good luck with your title bid, and hope your club is looking at the long term and not just after paying alot of money for short term gain.

chaddles
2nd June 2007, 11:29
Hey Spongy, just one more thing....
Mordi weren't competitive last week!!! They had a handful of players who weren't intimidated by you guys, the rest played like scared school girls.

superfreak
2nd June 2007, 16:59
Hey Spongy, just one more thing....
Mordi weren't competitive last week!!! They had a handful of players who weren't intimidated by you guys, the rest played like scared school girls.

how would you sum up their performance today chaddles? i thought they would give chelt a real good game but from the first bounce it was all over. totally outclassed and were lucky to kick 4 goals. umpiring was delporable also. seems there is a new set of rules once a team gets in front by 10 goals.

Nobster72
2nd June 2007, 23:14
how would you sum up their performance today chaddles? i thought they would give chelt a real good game but from the first bounce it was all over. totally outclassed and were lucky to kick 4 goals. umpiring was delporable also. seems there is a new set of rules once a team gets in front by 10 goals.

Super,
Please expand further on the umpiring today and what you mean by once a team gets in front by 10 goals a new set of rules applies.

superfreak
3rd June 2007, 11:34
Super,
Please expand further on the umpiring today and what you mean by once a team gets in front by 10 goals a new set of rules applies.

Its happened a few times this year where teams have been winning by a fair margin and the umpires decide to keep some respectabilty to the scoreboard for the losing team by giving them a golden ride with frees. They are paid soft, dubious frees, especially in front of goal whilst the team that is winning cant get a free to save themselves, even when they have their heads ripped off. No one likes to see on sided floggings but thats a part of footy and the umps shouldnt try to help teams out. All we ask for is consistency. so if they are paying certain frees at the start of the game, they should still be paying them at the end, no matter what the scoreboard says. after half time yesterday they cost chelt 6-7 goals at both ends and with the evenness of the comp so far, percentage might be a very important thing come finals time.

Master of Cooks
3rd June 2007, 20:49
Its happened a few times this year where teams have been winning by a fair margin and the umpires decide to keep some respectabilty to the scoreboard for the losing team by giving them a golden ride with frees. They are paid soft, dubious frees, especially in front of goal whilst the team that is winning cant get a free to save themselves, even when they have their heads ripped off. No one likes to see on sided floggings but thats a part of footy and the umps shouldnt try to help teams out. All we ask for is consistency. so if they are paying certain frees at the start of the game, they should still be paying them at the end, no matter what the scoreboard says. after half time yesterday they cost chelt 6-7 goals at both ends and with the evenness of the comp so far, percentage might be a very important thing come finals time.
Totally agree with this superfreak. Can really hurt sides, especially when there's a lot of game time still to play. Its nearly cost us games before. The opposition get a run on because of ridiculous frees, and then your side crack the $hits with the umps and loose concentration on the game. Then before you know it a they're right back into the contest.:thumbsd:
If umpires wanna be respected by the players and spectators they have to realise their roles. And thats to umpire the game without having an impact on it. Once they can do that people will get off their backs.:)

House
3rd June 2007, 21:11
Totally agree with this superfreak. Can really hurt sides, especially when there's a lot of game time still to play. Its nearly cost us games before. The opposition get a run on because of ridiculous frees, and then your side crack the $hits with the umps and loose concentration on the game. Then before you know it a they're right back into the contest.:thumbsd:
If umpires wanna be respected by the players and spectators they have to realise their roles. And thats to umpire the game without having an impact on it. Once they can do that people will get off their backs.:)
Problem is that they think the game can't exist withou them!
They really think they are in the game....like a third team or something...the orange team! I'm sure some of them wish they could get a kick
The best games of footy whether it be park footy or right up to the AFL are when you don't even notice them.
The worst thing they ever did in footy was to give them coloured uniforms
They should be dressed in white and just blow the ones they see and get out of the way and shut up
Footy would be a much better game if they did.

Down with the Orange team!!!!!!!!!!!!!

chaddles
4th June 2007, 16:04

Mordi were ordinary from the first bounce. Injuries and missing good players really hurt the team. Really struggled all over the park, I thought they would of been alot more competitive but as i've said before they are lacking a forward structure (and talent) at present.
Mind you Cheltenham did look really switched on and played some good passages of football.
As for the umpiring.... well I hate to rip on umpires, but one of them was aweful in his positioning! He was not fit enough even to push to position to give himself a chance to see what was happening to make a correct decision! He was half guessing all day long and thats how umpires get a bad name, pure laziness in his performance.

spongey
6th June 2007, 15:03
[Who will win the big game between between City & cheltenham, could be a danger game for us, we hope Worner is still in the twos! Could shape Chelts season with StPauls & Clayton to follow, they were premiership favourites after their Anzac day demolition of Chelsea but seem to have stuttered since then, should be physical contest. We rate them highly !

maca01
6th June 2007, 16:34
[Who will win the big game between between City & cheltenham, could be a danger game for us, we hope Worner is still in the twos! Could shape Chelts season with StPauls & Clayton to follow, they were premiership favourites after their Anzac day demolition of Chelsea but seem to have stuttered since then, should be physical contest. We rate them highly !

I would expect City to win but Chelt have super record at the Peanut Farm. Its sure is a good test of where both teams are at as they have both been talked up alot on here so far this year. Chelt is probably still missing 3-4 through injury, dunno about City (maybe spongey can help out here) but i understand they have been hit by the injury bug. So its a great effort to be 6-0.

spongey
7th June 2007, 11:31
I would expect City to win but Chelt have super record at the Peanut Farm. Its sure is a good test of where both teams are at as they have both been talked up alot on here so far this year. Chelt is probably still missing 3-4 through injury, dunno about City (maybe spongey can help out here) but i understand they have been hit by the injury bug. So its a great effort to be 6-0.

we have about 5 out the big one being Arvanitis hopefuly back by round 12/13, but our depth has stood up, your right chelt have a good record at peanut farm, hopefully we will get on 31 should be a game worth watching
we have had a stack of injuries but slowly getting them back, not having the break hurts a bit

The Showman
8th June 2007, 08:52
Went down to watch the battle of the Kennels last week, and must say that the Dogs' of the St Pauls variety looked very impressive!! The return of McKenzie and James, as well as the addition of Best makes them look alot more dangerous than last season. They would have to be favourites for the flag this season, marginally ahead of the winner of tomorrow's battle at the Farm. Season is shaping up as a beauty!!

chaddles
3rd July 2007, 10:32
Been a bit quiet on the old Division 1 front.
Anybody got any top 4 predictions for the season?

There have been quiet a few surprise results this season, and even on the weekend with St Kilda handing out an absolute thrashing on the weekend.
Mordialloc and Chelsea Heights are both unpredictable each week, don't be too surprised if you see Heatherton push Mordi this week or even beat them.

The Rider
3rd July 2007, 10:50

There have been quiet a few surprise results this season, and even on the weekend with St Kilda handing out an absolute thrashing on the weekend.
Mordialloc and Chelsea Heights are both unpredictable each week, don't be too surprised if you see Heatherton push Mordi this week or even beat them.

I think the teams that are in the four at the moment will be there come the end of the season.

St.Kilda City at their best will not be stopped.
Mordi will smash the tonners on Satday.

The Showman
3rd July 2007, 10:56

Don't be surprised if Chelsea Heights get over the Rosellas this week, they looked super impressive last week.

Nobster72
3rd July 2007, 13:07
Four will be St.kilda City, St.Pauls, Clayton and Cheltenham only side capable of breaking into top four outside of teams mentioned would be East Brighton, but injuries and depth may hinder there charge.Any news on where the divvy 1 finals are going to be played and which clubs tendered for them.:thumbsu:

spongey
4th July 2007, 14:44
Four will be St.kilda City, St.Pauls, Clayton and Cheltenham only side capable of breaking into top four outside of teams mentioned would be East Brighton, but injuries and depth may hinder there charge.Any news on where the divvy 1 finals are going to be played and which clubs tendered for them.:thumbsu:

We put it together for 4 qrts Saturday, best we played all year, this week is our biggest test as we have never won at Clayton, last week was good to win so well without Dimachki, Walker,Arvanitis Mills & Johnston all out of the side.The comp at rthe top is even with a goal or 2 separating the 4 sides, injuries will play a major factor in the finals>

Fineline
5th July 2007, 16:29
I might be going over old ground here, but i was wondering if anything came (reports/suspension) of the scuffle between Highett & Chelsea Hieghts a couple of weeks ago. I believe the league were looking into it but haven't heard to much more about it?

Anyone know?

superfreak
5th July 2007, 18:18
I might be going over old ground here, but i was wondering if anything came (reports/suspension) of the scuffle between Highett & Chelsea Hieghts a couple of weeks ago. I believe the league were looking into it but haven't heard to much more about it?

Anyone know?

still pending i think. from what i have heard of the incident, there could be a few lengthy suspensions on both sides.

Return of the Pies
19th July 2007, 10:22
I am new to this. Have read a few of the threads. Not a lot of discussion about Div 1, which is my main area of interest. 4 out of 5 games could go either way this week? Last roll of the dice for EB & StP v Clay could be a ripper. This will determine whether Clays are a serious contender or just making up the four IMO. Thoughts??

superfreak
19th July 2007, 11:56
I am new to this. Have read a few of the threads. Not a lot of discussion about Div 1, which is my main area of interest. 4 out of 5 games could go either way this week? Last roll of the dice for EB & StP v Clay could be a ripper. This will determine whether Clays are a serious contender or just making up the four IMO. Thoughts??

Good to have you on board. The Clays are slowly getting their full list back and will take it right up to St Pauls, East knocked over the Rosellas in Round 1 so they must fancy themselves to do it again.

chaddles
19th July 2007, 13:19
What do people think about Sunday games? I bring this up as Heighters play Mordi on Sunday, and I would be interested to see if anyone would make the effort to go down and watch any divi 1 teams that play.
I know a lot of leagues throughout Vic and NSW have a few Sunday games thoughout the season which usually brings in large crowds.
I would like to see more of it next season, as it gives an opportunity for other teams in lower divisions, and other leagues to check out the standard of division 1.
Any thoughts??

Return of the Pies
19th July 2007, 13:28
I agree, but only 1-2 per club each year. You end up with problems with people who organise their lives around Saturday footy, who can't keep chopping and changing availability. Particularly in SFL, with no juniors a lot of clubs can struggle for numbers at the best of times. From this perspective it makes sense to keep it to the higher divisions.

chaddles
19th July 2007, 14:27
I agree, but only 1-2 per club each year. You end up with problems with people who organise their lives around Saturday footy, who can't keep chopping and changing availability. Particularly in SFL, with no juniors a lot of clubs can struggle for numbers at the best of times. From this perspective it makes sense to keep it to the higher divisions.

Definitely agree with the 1 or 2 games per club. Saturday is football day and should always be that way. Youget a day to recover from the game, and you also get to socialise properly with your team mates without having to worry about going to work with a hangover.
Have played a season in Canberra when we played near the whole season on Sunday's, and it is more of a nuisance when you have to rock up to work especially if you have a tough physical game.

PARK PLAYER
19th July 2007, 15:17
Definitely agree with the 1 or 2 games per club. Saturday is football day and should always be that way. Youget a day to recover from the game, and you also get to socialise properly with your team mates without having to worry about going to work with a hangover.
Have played a season in Canberra when we played near the whole season on Sunday's, and it is more of a nuisance when you have to rock up to work especially if you have a tough physical game.

Mr. Chaddles, could not agree with more, I played four seasons in the old VFA and for four straight years I had no weekends, but in local football the League should schedule One game per weekend either Friday night or Sunday amongst all divisons, crowds would be up and the SFL would be on show every weekend. The more the clubs and the league do to promote the SFL the greater the league becomes hence better quality players across all teams.

chaddles
20th July 2007, 08:22
Mr. Chaddles, could not agree with more, I played four seasons in the old VFA and for four straight years I had no weekends, but in local football the League should schedule One game per weekend either Friday night or Sunday amongst all divisons, crowds would be up and the SFL would be on show every weekend. The more the clubs and the league do to promote the SFL the greater the league becomes hence better quality players across all teams.

Thanks Parky, maybe I might put in for the SFL job :D:D:D

whowantstoknow
25th July 2007, 16:22
Thanks Parky, maybe I might put in for the SFL job :D:D:D

I agree the SFL should nominate 1 game for Friday Night, Saturday night and Sunday so that people who just love local footy can go down and have a look and enjoy the game.

Hope the SFL are reading this..........

chaddles
26th July 2007, 08:59
I agree the SFL should nominate 1 game for Friday Night, Saturday night and Sunday so that people who just love local footy can go down and have a look and enjoy the game.

Hope the SFL are reading this..........

Maybe someone will do a summary of all the idea's mentioned and present a submission to the board. With 14 or so games on a weekend, there should be no reason why you can't spread the games over the weekend.
As with the night games that is a great idea, may be a double header of seniors on a Saturday with a 3pm start and a 6pm start- even have one divi 2 match and a div 1 match?

Im The Gun
26th July 2007, 09:13
Maybe someone will do a summary of all the idea's mentioned and present a submission to the board. With 14 or so games on a weekend, there should be no reason why you can't spread the games over the weekend.
As with the night games that is a great idea, may be a double header of seniors on a Saturday with a 3pm start and a 6pm start- even have one divi 2 match and a div 1 match?

Not every team ha good enough lights but it's a good idea for those who do.

chaddles
26th July 2007, 10:50
Not every team ha good enough lights but it's a good idea for those who do.

Definitely, I am not sure who has adequate lights in the entire comp, it would be a good money spinner for those clubs who do have the facilities. It may even encourage some of the top clubs who dont have good lighting facilities to update there home ground so they can host some of these games. Would be great for the competition in general.

Just had what is probably a silly thought: a night cup knockout competition either pre-season or during the season on Wednesday nights like the English FA cup which puts teams from different divisions against each other to battle for a cup?? Would add a bit of spice and good promo for the league. Obviously there could only be a few grounds which could be used through out the district..

Cannons02
27th July 2007, 13:01
Cassett is a superstar, bumped into him earlier on the week, loves a punt, the saints def looking good coming towards the business end of the season, guys like salim hassan, they guy can seriously play, been on afl rookie lists, killed it at west adelaide, vfl team of the year last year, just wait for him to start tearing it up a little more come finals :thumbsu:

Im The Gun
27th July 2007, 13:07
On the grounds and friday/sunday games.
The SFL has to get the fixture right in the first place.

This year we played 3 games at home in a row, at the end of the season we play 1 out of 5 at home while others play 3 at home in a row but were on the road for 3 to 4 weeks at a time.

It's local footy and clubs make money over the bars.
Should always be one week home, 1 away.

Return of the Pies
27th July 2007, 14:13
On the grounds and friday/sunday games.
The SFL has to get the fixture right in the first place.

This year we played 3 games at home in a row, at the end of the season we play 1 out of 5 at home while others play 3 at home in a row but were on the road for 3 to 4 weeks at a time.

It's local footy and clubs make money over the bars.
Should always be one week home, 1 away.

From what I understand, there were some venue changes due to grounds not being ready in time because of the effects of the drought etc. Typically this sort of situation does not occur, but it can make it difficult for cash flow as electricity, bar suppliers, players etc. all want to be paid on time!
Does anyone know what the cost of upgrading ground lights is, out of interest???

95Puma
27th July 2007, 14:33
Does anyone know what the cost of upgrading ground lights is, out of interest???
Could be anything upwards of 20k depending on what needs upgrading, each light head is around $1200-$1500, 20m poles starting at about $2000 footings for them depends on soil type etc. If you need the wiring upgraded its big $$$'s especially if you need to upgrade back to the street supply and then there's the labor which can be a huge expense. Grants are available through local government and councils mostly on a match dollar for dollar basis, punch grants into google and have a search.

whowantstoknow
27th July 2007, 15:22
Could be anything upwards of 20k depending on what needs upgrading, each light head is around $1200-$1500, 20m poles starting at about $2000 footings for them depends on soil type etc. If you need the wiring upgraded its big $$$'s especially if you need to upgrade back to the street supply and then there's the labor which can be a huge expense. Grants are available through local government and councils mostly on a match dollar for dollar basis, punch grants into google and have a search.

No need for all clubs to upgrade, just have Linton Street Moorabbin as SFL Headquarters and upgrade the ground for park footy under lights.....

footyman
27th July 2007, 22:47
No need for all clubs to upgrade, just have Linton Street Moorabbin as SFL Headquarters and upgrade the ground for park footy under lights.....

That would be a winner!

95Puma
5th August 2007, 22:05

Not much atmosphere at Linton St, went to a few of the SFL v VAFA game's there which were played under lights and we may as well have watched them on telly, plus the home clubs will more than likely budget for a bit of bar/canteen money.

Fineline
6th August 2007, 12:17
Interesting results from last weekend.

St Kilda, Cheltenham and Clayton all far from convincing in there victories against much lower placed opposition.

St Pauls again winning easily.

Have St kilda, cheltenham and the clays all got injuries, were players rested or was it just one of those days?

and although st kilda is undefeated are st pauls the team to beat?

When will the league officially name the ground for finals. i've heard Springvale but haven't seen anything official from the league.

Return of the Pies
6th August 2007, 12:56
It was an interesting round. Good to see some of the lower sides still taking it right up to the finals prospects. As far as I am aware StKilda and Chelt are only 1-2 players off full strength. Clays have had more issues, Rajic re-injuring his hamstring early on, Goodes and Gallagher with problems as well. They are 3 pretty important players. StPauls certainly have the best momentum at this stage. Makes for a good finals series, if only we knew where?

superfreak
6th August 2007, 14:30
Interesting results from last weekend.

St Kilda, Cheltenham and Clayton all far from convincing in there victories against much lower placed opposition.

St Pauls again winning easily.

Have St kilda, cheltenham and the clays all got injuries, were players rested or was it just one of those days?

and although st kilda is undefeated are st pauls the team to beat?

When will the league officially name the ground for finals. i've heard Springvale but haven't seen anything official from the league.

Chelt played their worst game in about 5 years and still won. Played about 5 minutes of footy at the end and that was it. Were missing about 4-5 players also. 4 points is 4 points!! :thumbsu: Mordi were very good though. They will knock a few over in the last 3 weeks.

chaddles
6th August 2007, 14:30
Mordi v Chelt- Mordi just rocked up to play footy for a change and made Chelt play there style of footy. Mordi lead all day and chelt took the lead with 20-30 secs to go after being down by 3 goals with 5 mins remaining, should of really won the game.
Great round of footy by the sounds of it, apparently Chelsea Heights gave it to St Kilda City all day long

cuttingedge
7th August 2007, 10:10
Mordi v Chelt- Mordi just rocked up to play footy for a change and made Chelt play there style of footy. Mordi lead all day and chelt took the lead with 20-30 secs to go after being down by 3 goals with 5 mins remaining, should of really won the game.
Great round of footy by the sounds of it, apparently Chelsea Heights gave it to St Kilda City all day long

Chelsea were really good, but to our boys credit we kicked 8-8 in the 3rd and steadied from there, the coach threw the side around and pricked a few egos and the players responded well, big game versus Chelt this week,
noticed B Shalders was out any news why?

Iancave
7th August 2007, 13:32
Where will Wayne Fuller play cricket in season 2007/08 ?
Will he still be involved with Mordialloc Football Club next year,I heard he is going to support Tommy Donnell at Cheltenham ?

The Rider
7th August 2007, 14:18
Where will Wayne Fuller play cricket in season 2007/08 ?
Will he still be involved with Mordialloc Football Club next year,I heard he is going to support Tommy Donnell at Cheltenham ?

I have heard a lot about this Wayne Fuller character. He plays cricket at a different club each season. Sounds like a bit of a mercenary :eek:

Fineline
7th August 2007, 14:29
I have heard a lot about this Wayne Fuller character. He plays cricket at a different club each season. Sounds like a bit of a mercenary :eek:

Is he related to Danny Cassett then?

superfreak
7th August 2007, 14:30

apparantly a spot has been put aside for him at first slip in the fourths at chelt in between the great man batesy and asif .:thumbsu::D

The Rider
7th August 2007, 14:32
Is he related to Danny Cassett then?

Nah not quite

Iancave
7th August 2007, 15:33

He once hung out with the stars of Home & Away and Neighbours, sharing lines of wizz fizz in his youth,Shane Warne was his idol, now he is obessed with Aarron Martello and Tommy Donnell.