View Full Version : Hartlett to make debut

NWTYRX
23 May 2007, 18:36
Good news!

http://www.carltonfc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/4311/Default.aspx?newsId=43828

Jeremias
23 May 2007, 18:41
Fantastic news!!!

Harts, as you're probably all aware, is one of my favourite players at the club, and I have stood up for him all the way.

Great to see him finally making his debut and that he looks to be over his injuries. Wish him the best of luck, he could turn out to be a VERY important and useful player for us, especially with his versatility.

Come on Harts, show us what you've got.

BLUEBOY1
23 May 2007, 18:43
About bloody time, I just hope he plays well and keeps his spot.

Well done Harts, here is to a long and successful career at the CFC.:thumbsu:

[ToTTi]
23 May 2007, 18:48
Awesome news, really good to hear. Just saw it on the news on channel 10, he looks relieved more than anything :p

I hope he takes this chance and does something with it!

Go Harts!!

Positive move blueboys!

Mr.Kennedy
23 May 2007, 18:54
HALLELUJAH.I hope he does well.I also hope he gets a fair amount of games in a row and not dropped after 2 games.

HBF
23 May 2007, 18:54
Would be interested to know where Pagan and the match committee intend playing him.

Guess he'll be used pretty sparingly off the bench, but bursts accross half forward would be my guess.

Good luck to Harts, and hopefully this is the first of many games for him in Navy Blue.

AlecDuncan
23 May 2007, 18:56
Good luck Adam. If you get a shot - take it.

TheGeneral
23 May 2007, 18:56
Great news! :)

I hope Harts tears Bock, Perrie or Welsh a new one! :thumbsu:

Has Adam come in for the smaller Betts?

Is he there as insurance for Fev? ;)

I hope he doesn't come in for his mate Russell. :o

mightymightyblues
23 May 2007, 19:15
would love to see him debut in the forward line kicking a few goals in replacement of eddie. Even though we probably wont beat the adelaide shmoes it would be a huge positive if harts could have a strong 1st game!
All the best harters!

FieryNayta
23 May 2007, 19:24
would love to see him debut in the forward line kicking a few goals in replacement of eddie. Even though we probably wont beat the adelaide shmoes it would be a huge positive if harts could have a strong 1st game!
All the best harters!

Knowing Pagan, he'll probably stick the big man down back to pick up a few cheap possessions and bore us all to death.

Would like to see him roaming the forward line, and using his big body to exert some physical presence.

a1118374
23 May 2007, 19:29
good news. thow im down back on one of their forwards. leave lance forward. i like. he could be in for saddo

AndyWalkersGirl
23 May 2007, 19:32
Pagan plays the players out of their natural positions. He tries to take away their natural game, to turn them into something else.

i can't stand it, it's boring, and isn't getting us anywhere.

Knowing this, Hartlett will probably be asked to BP, instead of up forward where we all know he can roost the ball 50+ metres and kick some goals.

I hate Pagan's game plan and tactis, they need to change.

AndyWalkersGirl
23 May 2007, 19:33
good news. thow im down back on one of their forwards. leave lance forward. i like. he could be in for saddo

could be in for Betts.

a1118374
23 May 2007, 19:34
Pagan plays the players out of their natural positions. He tries to take away their natural game, to turn them into something else.

Knowing this, Hartlett will probably be asked to BP, instead of up forward where we all know he can roost the ball 50+ metres and kick some goals.

only seen the televised vfl game last week but wassnt he playing down back vs box hill????

butchyboy
23 May 2007, 19:42

You have no idea, modern footy is about versatility. Players must accept being moved around to suit team needs first, and before youe bleat off about changing players, they are taught to play various positions all through the junior system.

AndyWalkersGirl
23 May 2007, 19:54
You have no idea, modern footy is about versatility. Players must accept being moved around to suit team needs first, and before youe bleat off about changing players, they are taught to play various positions all through the junior system.

Dont start this whole "you have no idea" crap.

:rolleyes:

Is that you Denis???

choo
23 May 2007, 19:56
Hartlett makes his debut against Adelaide with a view to year end trade???

sorry just the cynic in me!!

Good luck Adam

Gilly1972
23 May 2007, 20:10
Hartlett makes his debut against Adelaide with a view to year end trade???

sorry just the cynic in me!!

Good luck Adam

I"m glad I'm not the only one who had this fleeting thought ;)

BlueWorld
23 May 2007, 20:17
You have no idea, modern footy is about versatility. Players must accept being moved around to suit team needs first, and before youe bleat off about changing players, they are taught to play various positions all through the junior system.That explains why Fev was once played at full back. What a success that was.:rolleyes:

Douglas26
23 May 2007, 20:19
Good luck Harts, make westies proud.

LOL I wonder if he has gotten over the fact he plays in the same team as Gibbs now hahaha

Dk#1
23 May 2007, 20:31
sorry , but ive seen hartlett play before and his no good. I doubt he will live up to your hype. But i hope his a gun and goes well.

Dk#1
23 May 2007, 20:34
That explains why Fev was once played at full back. What a success that was.:rolleyes:

As i remember fev came out and kick a 3 big bags of goals. That what has turned fev career to what he is today. Pagan didnt do it because he thought that fev was actualyl going to play at fullback and had future there.

bLuEbOy1984
23 May 2007, 20:47
good to see, hoipefully he can make a position his own...
i really hope he plays up forward would be nice to it

Blue Through and Through
23 May 2007, 21:43
It's great to see that Adam Hartlett has finally been given his chance to make his debut for the Carlton Football Club. What an honour!!! I have been following Adam since we made our way back into the draft on 2004.

I believe he has a lot of potential, especally as a key forward, with his booming kick. He had a good accuracy record for kicking for goal for West Adelaide Juniors. Hopefully his hamstrings can hold up and he can have a significant carreer for Carlton. Well Done Adam.

blues4flag
23 May 2007, 22:50
Well done to him, hopefully he makes the most of the opportunity and cements himself a spot.

Go_Blues!
24 May 2007, 02:54

Hey AWG, I don't doubt your passion but seriously you need to get off Pagan's back. Pagan is but one contributor to the positions that players play..... Hartlett will be played where the MC thinks he will add the most value. Pagan may change that (in consultation) but he goes into the game with the fulll suppport of the MC.

In general, I like and read your posts but this anti-pagan stance of yours is starting to make me wonder. Pagan is the coach of the CFC and you should support him. I am not sure how long he will last but until then, he is our coach.

All the best to Harts, it has been a hard road but it needs to be. The guy has not played that many games for the Bullants and what I have seen does not indicate he will be much, but there are better judges than me on this board who think he will be something.

I really hope that this will not be at the expense of Saddington because I love the way Saddington leans on his man as the ball comes into the defensive 50.

Blah Blah Blue
24 May 2007, 07:49
The thread is about Adam Hartlett to make his debut. On this I am absolutely wrapped and hope he can cement his spot in the team ove the next few weeks
As said before a big aggressive body that can be used either end will add to our team.
Congratulations Adam.:thumbsu: and go Blues

Regarding the rest of the comments surrounding this, it really is not the thread to do this, should be a celebration of another of our young kids coming in, particularly for Adam after all his injuries.

Pie_squasher
24 May 2007, 09:40
sorry , but ive seen hartlett play before and his no good. I doubt he will live up to your hype. But i hope his a gun and goes well.

You obviously haven't seen any bullants game this year!! He is a gun, unfortunately was hampered by injury and wil now prove all the cynics wrong....you may eat your words yet!!!

AndyWalkersGirl
24 May 2007, 10:01
Hey AWG, I don't doubt your passion but seriously you need to get off Pagan's back. Pagan is but one contributor to the positions that players play..... Hartlett will be played where the MC thinks he will add the most value. Pagan may change that (in consultation) but he goes into the game with the fulll suppport of the MC.

In general, I like and read your posts but this anti-pagan stance of yours is starting to make me wonder. Pagan is the coach of the CFC and you should support him. I am not sure how long he will last but until then, he is our coach.

All the best to Harts, it has been a hard road but it needs to be. The guy has not played that many games for the Bullants and what I have seen does not indicate he will be much, but there are better judges than me on this board who think he will be something.

I really hope that this will not be at the expense of Saddington because I love the way Saddington leans on his man as the ball comes into the defensive 50.

Hang on, so if i am not agreeing with the people on here about Pagan, I am not supporting my club??

For what it's worth, i'll always support this club and the people in it. However, it would be a very boring world if were did not voice our opinions, and if we all agreed. Debate, and differing of opinions is a wondering thing I think.

At the end of the day, Denis Pagan is the main man on match day. It is his call as to who plays where. He is the coach. He is going to be the main topic of debate when things do not go well. It happens...

My "anti-Pagan" stance hey:rolleyes: If you re-read my posts, you will see that i have not gone off on a tangent and just bagged out our coach. I have said it time and time again, that I am frustrated with his management of our players. I have not given personal attacks on our coach, i am just questioning his management, and that is the good thing about this board - we can discuss matters about our club together. Opinions will differ, that is inevitable.

To support a guy just because he is our coach is an odd statement. It's kind of like turning the brain switch off :confused: what's the point of supporting this club if i can't question certain plays, or if i can't have a discussion with people over the way things are run? I would have thought that is the purpose of this board?

For the record, i have been a big supporter of Pagan since day one. It is only the past few weeks where i have actually started to wonder what is going on, hence my raising of concerns. Does not mean my club does not have my support.

However, it's all very fine and well to say "Support him, he's Carlton." I can think of lots of people, who if we said that about, they would have ruined the club even more. Imagine if we just stood by everyone at Carlton because they were part of this club? The business world doesn't work like that, you have to perform well otherwise you can expect a bit of scrutiny.

The CFC is a like a very public business. People need to perform well, otherwise, of course they will have questions thrown up about them. There is nothing wrong with that at all.

It's sad that you have to "wonder" about a person's support, by their posts, because their opinions differ to yours.

Kooley
24 May 2007, 10:11
had to laugh when andy maher on sen1116 this morning said he was rapt one of the players he has been pumping up for so long was making his long awaited carlton debut. maher then went on to say hartlett was a thumping left foot kick. :D

AndyWalkersGirl
24 May 2007, 10:12
had to laugh when andy maher on sen1116 this morning said he was rapt one of the players he has been pumping up for so long was making his long awaited carlton debut. maher then went on to say hartlett was a thumping left foot kick. :D

he's a thumper. Want to see him played up forward on teh weekend, coz he can score them from outside 50.

Kooley
24 May 2007, 10:30
he's a thumper. Want to see him played up forward on teh weekend, coz he can score them from outside 50.

unfortunately awg because you live in tassie you are not graced with the dribble that comes out of maher's voice every morning on sen. my point being is that maher really knows jack shyte about the blues because if he had been following hartlett very closely like he said he had he would know that adam is a right foot kick not left.

AndyWalkersGirl
24 May 2007, 10:32
unfortunately awg because you live in tassie you are not graced with the dribble that comes out of maher's voice every morning on sen. my point being is that maher really knows jack shyte about the blues because if he had been following hartlett very closely like he said he had he would know that adam is a right foot kick not left.

haha. No i reaslied that, because you highlighted it in bold :)

sosos
24 May 2007, 10:33
the dribble that comes out of maher's voice every morning on sen. my point being is that maher really knows jack shyte about the blues .

On the money there k.....

Go_Blues!
24 May 2007, 10:58
Hang on, so if i am not agreeing with the people on here about Pagan, I am not supporting my club??

For what it's worth, i'll always support this club and the people in it. However, it would be a very boring world if were did not voice our opinions, and if we all agreed. Debate, and differing of opinions is a wondering thing I think.

At the end of the day, Denis Pagan is the main man on match day. It is his call as to who plays where. He is the coach. He is going to be the main topic of debate when things do not go well. It happens...

My "anti-Pagan" stance hey:rolleyes: If you re-read my posts, you will see that i have not gone off on a tangent and just bagged out our coach. I have said it time and time again, that I am frustrated with his management of our players. I have not given personal attacks on our coach, i am just questioning his management, and that is the good thing about this board - we can discuss matters about our club together. Opinions will differ, that is inevitable.

To support a guy just because he is our coach is an odd statement. It's kind of like turning the brain switch off :confused: what's the point of supporting this club if i can't question certain plays, or if i can't have a discussion with people over the way things are run? I would have thought that is the purpose of this board?

For the record, i have been a big supporter of Pagan since day one. It is only the past few weeks where i have actually started to wonder what is going on, hence my raising of concerns. Does not mean my club does not have my support.

However, it's all very fine and well to say "Support him, he's Carlton." I can think of lots of people, who if we said that about, they would have ruined the club even more. Imagine if we just stood by everyone at Carlton because they were part of this club? The business world doesn't work like that, you have to perform well otherwise you can expect a bit of scrutiny.

The CFC is a like a very public business. People need to perform well, otherwise, of course they will have questions thrown up about them. There is nothing wrong with that at all.

It's sad that you have to "wonder" about a person's support, by their posts, because their opinions differ to yours.

Sorry AWG, was not trying to piss you off....Not saying that you need to agree with anything (much less with me!) Just that, as you said, Pagan is responsible on match day but he does not make the call on match stategy before the game...i.e. Pagan is not responsible for everything that goes wrong. Criticize him for all the incorrect moves he makes or does not make on match day but, for example, Gibbs is playing where he is playing because Pagan, most of the coaching staff and the match comittee all think he should play there - not just Pagan

Also did not mean to question your support or say that you need to support Pagan just because he is at the club. Just trying to say that you don't need to be entirely negative about him either. Just be a bit ballanced since he is a Carlton guy - criticize him for what he does wrong but not about what he is not responsible for.

Once again, sorry if I pissed you off

AndyWalkersGirl
24 May 2007, 11:20
Sorry AWG, was not trying to piss you off....Not saying that you need to agree with anything (much less with me!) Just that, as you said, Pagan is responsible on match day but he does not make the call on match stategy before the game...i.e. Pagan is not responsible for everything that goes wrong. Criticize him for all the incorrect moves he makes or does not make on match day but, for example, Gibbs is playing where he is playing because Pagan, most of the coaching staff and the match comittee all think he should play there - not just Pagan

Also did not mean to question your support or say that you need to support Pagan just because he is at the club. Just trying to say that you don't need to be entirely negative about him either. Just be a bit ballanced since he is a Carlton guy - criticize him for what he does wrong but not about what he is not responsible for.

Once again, sorry if I pissed you off

:) It takes more than that to piss me off :) It's all good, i just like having an argument :o I dont think I'm entirely negative of Pagan, as i've said, he's had my support, and it's only been the last few weeks where i have started to question what goes on.

But for the record, I think i am criticizing him for what he does wrong...:p

Credit where credit is due, criticism where criticism is due :)

I'll be quiet from now on for a while re: Pagan :)

MrNicholas
24 May 2007, 11:30

Maher is not the only one; I'm pretty sure last year's "AFL Record Guide to the Season" had him down as a left-footer as well

a1118374
24 May 2007, 12:26
would love to see him come out and bang one on the run from 50 with his left this week.

Kooley
24 May 2007, 14:14
would love to see him come out and bang one on the run from 50 with his left this week.i reckon andy maher thinks adam hartlett is a similar type to stuart dew. i bet maher has never seen hartlett in action at all.

Marc Shmurf 3
24 May 2007, 14:39

AWG i usually aggree with you but on this occasion i have to disagree. Although some of the moves that Pagan has done this year have been questionable (i.e Murphy on Judd, Letting St. Kilda have 2 loose players in our forward line) pagan's game plan has been one which has been an attacking and free flowing. None of this flooding, slowing the game up rubbish. We are the 5th highest scoring team in the competition with apparently only 1 forward. We are taking on the game at all costs. Although we are running out of legs at the end we are still willing to take on the competition. I dont dislike pagan's game plan , i just dislike some of his moves/choices.

AndyWalkersGirl
24 May 2007, 14:41
AWG i usually aggree with you but on this occasion i have to disagree. Although some of the moves that Pagan has done this year have been questionable (i.e Murphy on Judd, Letting St. Kilda have 2 loose players in our forward line) pagan's game plan has been one which has been an attacking and free flowing. None of this flooding, slowing the game up rubbish. We are the 5th highest scoring team in the competition with apparently only 1 forward. We are taking on the game at all costs. Although we are running out of legs at the end we are still winning to take on the competition. I dont dislike pagan's game plan , i just dislike some of his moves/choices.

Yes after some reflection on this issue, i think i may agree with you. What i mean to say, is that I do not like some of his choices in regards to player positions, and i dont like some of the things the team does.

However, yes i like that we are "attacking" as such... but for me, the bigger issue is that i dont agree with his positioning of players.

That's all I meant.:o

BlueWorld
24 May 2007, 22:01
AWG i usually aggree with you but on this occasion i have to disagree. Although some of the moves that Pagan has done this year have been questionable (i.e Murphy on Judd, Letting St. Kilda have 2 loose players in our forward line) pagan's game plan has been one which has been an attacking and free flowing. None of this flooding, slowing the game up rubbish. We are the 5th highest scoring team in the competition with apparently only 1 forward. We are taking on the game at all costs. Although we are running out of legs at the end we are still willing to take on the competition. I dont dislike pagan's game plan , i just dislike some of his moves/choices.As described here: http://carltonfc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/4311/Default.aspx?newsId=43829At the start of the year we all decided that we were going to let the shackles off a bit and play a free-flowing style of game. On Saturday, we have to make sure we not only play attacking football but also restrict and put pressure on Adelaide’s defenders and midfielders so we can help out our defence.

blueskies
25 May 2007, 12:30
Fev was played at FB to teach him a lesson, not with the idea of turning him into a versatile player. Pretty simple I'd have thought.