View Full Version : Most versatile voice in music.....

CowboyFromHell
16 Apr 2002, 17:51
Come on guys, who is the best, versatile wise??

Who can scream their lungs out, yet sing well straight after??

I might have missed one or two people, so vote other and tell us who it is!

SydneyBomber
16 Apr 2002, 18:00
Pfft.

Mike Patton is soooo far above those that it's just not funny!

Easily the best.
:cool:

Macca19
16 Apr 2002, 18:38
Id have to say its a tie between Corey Taylor and Lajon Witherspoon.
Corey Taylor has a blood curling screaming voice yet has one of the best singing voices in heavy music. Lajon has one of the best voices ive heard in music full stop!

BW
16 Apr 2002, 18:38
Rob Flynn of Machine Head takes the bacon for mine

CowboyFromHell
16 Apr 2002, 18:41
And for those of you who think I would have voted for Phil.......I didn't.

I truely believe Burton C. Bell is the best, closely followed by the other four.

I did lean towards Mikael Akerfeldt of Opeth. He can growl just as good as anyone, and sing bloody well.

Santos L Helper
16 Apr 2002, 19:00
Why Phil is in this poll is beyond me. He is a 'one note' singer.

For mine, it would be Mike Patton.

CowboyFromHell
16 Apr 2002, 19:13
Originally posted by Santos L Helper

You have got to be joking Santos.

How much stuff "outside" Pantera have you heard? Not much I'm guessing.

IAMDASH
16 Apr 2002, 19:47
Other - Jagger
Five songs - five different vocal styles

As tears go by
Angie
Emotional rescue
Satisfaction
Undercover of the night

Many more where they came from.

Suck eggs you headbangers!

gPhonque
16 Apr 2002, 20:00

You beat me to it. ;)

Santos L Helper
16 Apr 2002, 20:01
Originally posted by CowboyFromHell

You have got to be joking Santos.

How much stuff "outside" Pantera have you heard? Not much I'm guessing.

Listen mate, why do I need to hear more than what made him famous? I stand by my opinion.

Darky
16 Apr 2002, 22:20
Lemmy from Motorhead.

I figure if Phil Anselmo can get into this poll, so can Lemmy!

CowboyFromHell
16 Apr 2002, 23:15

Listen mate, why do I need to hear more than what made him famous? I stand by my opinion.

I'm not telling you to back down from your opinion, I was merely pointing out that you had yet to hear him in different vocal roles. You were going by Pantera, when there is Down, Superjoint Ritual etc. He does things differently.

But it doesn't matter, you can stick with your Mike Patton. It's okay.

And Darky - your supposedly "up" with metal, so why shouldn't Phil be in it?

Santos L Helper
16 Apr 2002, 23:23

I'm not telling you to back down from your opinion, I was merely pointing out that you had yet to hear him in different vocal roles. You were going by Pantera, when there is Down, Superjoint Ritual etc. He does things differently.

But it doesn't matter, you can stick with your Mike Patton. It's okay.

And Darky - your supposedly "up" with metal, so why shouldn't Phil be in it?

I'll try to check some other stuff out. I have a hatred of the 'lead break' which stops me listening to a lot of metal nowadays, which is why I tend to stick to hardcore and punk.

cheers

CowboyFromHell
16 Apr 2002, 23:28

I'll try to check some other stuff out. I have a hatred of the 'lead break' which stops me listening to a lot of metal nowadays, which is why I tend to stick to hardcore and punk.

cheers

No worries.

Sorry if I get a little fired up, I just do about this stuff. So sorry if I did.

Plus, check out Down II. It's not metal, more sludgy Rock'n Roll with a touch of soul too it. Still some hardish stuff there, but I wouldn't classify it as metal!

jod23
17 Apr 2002, 07:04
Who, who, who, who and who?????

Listen to the beginning of Mr Moonlight by the Beatles or We Can Work It Out by the Beatles.

John and Paul....there is no equal...

Danny Chook Fan Club
17 Apr 2002, 09:00
I'll add my voice to the Mike Patton chorus. Even outside the peripheral projects (Mr Bungle etc), a listen to the variety on Who Cares A Lot? would almost be enough to seal the deal.

Darky
17 Apr 2002, 10:01
Psst Chooky, didn't the first album have Chuck Moseley on vocals? :confused:

But I agree with the mentions of Mike Patton and Burton C. Bell, even though they front bands I don't particularly like. The chappy from Opeth also mixes it up a bit.

Eric Adams from MANOWAR, and Mariah Carey (can't believe I mentioned those in the same sentences) both have huge ranges over many octaves, but perhaps their material doesn't warrant the full use of this span.

CFH - just because I listen to a lot of metal, does not mean I have to agree that Phil Anselmo is versatile.

vanders
17 Apr 2002, 10:45
Jimmy Barnes and christina Aguileira can do it pretty well :p

SydneyBomber
17 Apr 2002, 13:40
Originally posted by Darky

I thought "Who Cares A Lot" was a 'greatest hits' thing.

'We Care A Lot' was the first album if I remember correctly.Chuck Vs Mike.
haha:D

BTW. I'd go with Bell from the poll esp. earrly stuff before they turned into rubbish), but Patton is a lot better IMO.

Danny Chook Fan Club
17 Apr 2002, 15:32
Correct weight Sydney Bomber.

I use the greatest hits compilation as the best illustration, because the Faith No More vocal sound was reasonably consistent on an albums basis, but significantly different album to album.

Hard to fathom that A Small Victory, Digging The Grave and Easy came out of the same mouth.

CowboyFromHell
17 Apr 2002, 19:26
Originally posted by Darky

But I agree with the mentions of Mike Patton and Burton C. Bell, even though they front bands I don't particularly like. The chappy from Opeth also mixes it up a bit.

Eric Adams from MANOWAR, and Mariah Carey (can't believe I mentioned those in the same sentences) both have huge ranges over many octaves, but perhaps their material doesn't warrant the full use of this span.

CFH - just because I listen to a lot of metal, does not mean I have to agree that Phil Anselmo is versatile.

Darky, I was not asking you to agree, I was asking you why you thought it wasn't. I just wanted to see what you would say to that.

And it seems some of you don't get the meaning of "versatile". I meant it in the sense of being able to scream your guts out, growl or whatever, but still have some ability to sing stuff as well. All mentioned above (some would argue Anselmo out of the group) all have the ability to do that. I don't know if Patton would qualify.

SydneyBomber
17 Apr 2002, 19:56

I don't know if Patton would qualify.

Dude, you seriously need to hear more of Patton if you don't think he's heavy enough!

Try some of the Bungle Stuff as well as FNM. He's done about a million other projects which are 'harsher' like Merzbow etc.

He can definitely do the death metal thing - why do you think I like him!:p ;)

(Don't flame me: I think Trent Reznor should qualify for this poll too).