View Full Version : Carrazzo has to play on McLeod for us to win...

Marc Shmurf 3
24 May 2007, 16:42
If we are any chance of winning this week this move needs to happen from the START. Both pretty similar body types and both can find the footy, but if McLeod doesnt treat Carrots with respect he will kick goals, take marks in the forward 50, set up a few. Not only this he is a very good negating forward as well. Last year he did an unbelievable job on Heath Shaw playing a very similar roll. Please Denis, use ur initiative. They are a very defensive side and he sets up heaps of the forwards thrusts. Make him very accountable and worried about his apponent rather than sweeping and hitting targets at will. The other option would be Walker, but i would prefer if this was to happen for A1 to go straight to the goal square to play 1 out with Fev.

Sublime
24 May 2007, 17:20
Somehow i don't think that Adelaide would allow McLeod to get dragged back to the goalsquare. i would think they would push him into the midfield before they would allow that.

Also Carrots has been one of our best (if not our best) ballwinner in recent weeks so moving him away from the ball wouldn't help us too much considering our midfield struggles of late.

Il Naso De Gastev
24 May 2007, 17:25
If we are any chance of winning this week this move needs to happen from the START. Both pretty similar body types and both can find the footy, but if McLeod doesnt treat Carrots with respect he will kick goals, take marks in the forward 50, set up a few. Not only this he is a very good negating forward as well. Last year he did an unbelievable job on Heath Shaw playing a very similar roll. Please Denis, use ur initiative. They are a very defensive side and he sets up heaps of the forwards thrusts. Make him very accountable and worried about his apponent rather than sweeping and hitting targets at will. The other option would be Walker, but i would prefer if this was to happen for A1 to go straight to the goal square to play 1 out with Fev.
I reckon McLeod will hurt us, no matter who plays on him. Because he will zone off and attack, run off his man, I suggest playing through his opponent as much as possible... similar to what sides were doing against Wirrpanda. If we can get McLeod to concede 3 goals the plan will have worked... he will still get 30 touches, but the goals against will negate that.

Hard tag Edwards... too often get under the guard, and is super important to Adelaide. I feel they will have too much midfield depth... guys like Doughty, Van Berlo, Knights, Goodwin all very good players, who will cut up our second stringers.

NWTYRX
24 May 2007, 17:28
how about for us to win, we need to score more points than adelaide?

bakerboy
24 May 2007, 17:45
Maybe give Ross Young a chance to run with him.Has played plenty of footy even though it's at a lower level.
And i think Ross has to do something to remain on the list.

Give him a challenge DENIS?

Marc Shmurf 3
24 May 2007, 18:01
Maybe give Ross Young a chance to run with him.Has played plenty of footy even though it's at a lower level.
And i think Ross has to do something to remain on the list.

Give him a challenge DENIS?

Forget it. That's the worst idea ive ever heard.

bakerboy
24 May 2007, 18:04
Then delist him he offers nothing else

Marc Shmurf 3
24 May 2007, 18:07
Somehow i don't think that Adelaide would allow McLeod to get dragged back to the goalsquare. i would think they would push him into the midfield before they would allow that.

Also Carrots has been one of our best (if not our best) ballwinner in recent weeks so moving him away from the ball wouldn't help us too much considering our midfield struggles of late.

Well if he is standing in the goal square by himself they will have no choice. Their only other option would be to make it a 2 on 1 once again a win win for us.

In regards to Carrots ball winning ability i agree, but give the likes of Walker, Murphy, Bentick, Blackwell, Kouta, Simpson, Scotland, Russell & even Gibbs a run through the midfield and we will be semi ok. We have to remember that Adelaide dont really have a tagger as such therefore it will be a shootout between our midfield vs theirs.

Marc Shmurf 3
24 May 2007, 18:07
Then delist him he offers nothing else

He is on our Rookie list, no harm with that.

Sublime
24 May 2007, 18:10
Well if he is standing in the goal square by himself they will have no choice. Their only other option would be to make it a 2 on 1 once again a win win for us.

In regards to Carrots ball winning ability i agree, but give the likes of Walker, Murphy, Bentick, Blackwell, Kouta, Simpson, Scotland, Russell & even Gibbs a run through the midfield and we will be semi ok. We have to remember that Adelaide dont really have a tagger as such therefore it will be a shootout between our midfield vs theirs.

That is true, but i just think Adelaide would push someone else deeper and leave McLeod further up the ground. They just wouldn't sacrifice him and his strengths like that.

parrot
24 May 2007, 18:32
McLeod is the Crows key go-to-man in their trademark ultraflood defensive structure. We are not going to be able to man up all their 10 or so defenders, but McLeod is definitely one we should go one-on-one with. Carrazzo is an excellent matchup. :)

defier
24 May 2007, 18:42
Forget it. That's the worst idea ive ever heard.
Playing Mark Athorn in a Grand Final was much worse:p

NikkiNoo
24 May 2007, 18:45
We have to remember that Adelaide dont really have a tagger as such therefore it will be a shootout between our midfield vs theirs.

Shirley, van Berlo and Doughty all play as a run with player, with Shirley being the main option and often does a very good job on Judd when we play WC. Goodwin can also be used as a tagger.

HBF
24 May 2007, 19:06
Don't know if i'd like to take Carrazzo out of the midfield, considering his form over the past couple of weeks.

Why not give Russell the job on Mcleod?

Just keep throwing him into the deep end, and who knows what sort of player he'll be at the end of the year.

NWTYRX
24 May 2007, 19:08
can't give Russell or Young the job now. They've been axed

jo172
24 May 2007, 19:09
you might also want to think about Graham Johncock. Sure he's playing his first game since he was injured in round 2 but when in form is the equal of Mcleod and in tandem they are incredibly effective:thumbsu:

Will.B.Worth.Da.Waite
24 May 2007, 21:33
Id want Walker on Mcleod. He's shown many times he can shut down quality players. Plus he can kick goals