View Full Version : We Won The "unwinnable"!!!!!!!!!!
RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
26 May 2007, 22:14
I can't believe how we did it, im just amazed how we managed to pull it off. We were pathetic and we still managed to win, there is alot of improvement needed. Im still in disbelief, i was getting ready to cop a week of embarrassment from mates, thanx god we didn't lose to Richmond!
It feels kind of weird to actually win that lind of game after the 4 or 5 that we lost like that last week.
Astute Observer
26 May 2007, 22:30
I can't believe how we did it, im just amazed how we managed to pull it off. We were pathetic and we still managed to win, there is alot of improvement needed. Im still in disbelief, i was getting ready to cop a week of embarrassment from mates, thanx god we didn't lose to Richmond!
Are you serious....????
big bruno
26 May 2007, 22:32
If you watched the same game as me, Richmond were robbed. The umpires were pathetic.
Richo's goal was fine....How the **** do you give a 50m penalty for that?
AFL need to seriuosly look at themselves... If you guys have half a brain you will admit we aere robbed.
JAMES HIRD man of the match?? please!!!!!!
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/statusicon/user_online.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/report.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/report.php?p=7644818) http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/misc/progress.gif
S.C[BANKS]
26 May 2007, 22:40
Jimmy = increadible
Jobe Watson = very good on the last quarter!
:thumbsu:
Astute Observer
26 May 2007, 22:43
[QUOTE=big bruno;7644837]If you watched the same game as me, Richmond were robbed. The umpires were pathetic.
AFL need to seriuosly look at themselves... If you guys have half a brain you will admit we aere robbed.
Mate - Mal has had hands in the back free kicks against him all year. Richo clearly had his hands in the back of Mal and then kicked it. 50m every day of the year after that.....
nicho_magic
26 May 2007, 22:48
If you watched the same game as me, Richmond were robbed. The umpires were pathetic.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/statusicon/user_online.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/report.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/report.php?p=7644818) http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/misc/progress.gif
uhm... clear free kick according to the new rules... and it should of just about been 100 metres after richo played on.
and i'm stoked we just got up. couldn't kick straight all night, and still got away with it... thank god.
Essendon_2000
26 May 2007, 22:50
yeah i was almost ready to leave during the last quarter:D
Bomberland06
26 May 2007, 22:54
Great win we were always in touch with richmomnd for most of the 3 and half quarters, i wouldnt say is the unwinnable game we where only 3 goals down with about 5-6 minutes to go.'
all go to plan we come off with a great win.
jimmy.h
26 May 2007, 22:58
[quote=big bruno;7644837]50m every day of the year after that.....
Except when McPhee did the same thing though.
wart101
26 May 2007, 23:02
[quote=big bruno;7644837]If you watched the same game as me, Richmond were robbed. The umpires were pathetic.
Mate - Mal has had hands in the back free kicks against him all year. Richo clearly had his hands in the back of Mal and then kicked it. 50m every day of the year after that.....
it was his shoulder dick cheese
big bruno
26 May 2007, 23:04
uhm... clear free kick according to the new rules... and it should of just about been 100 metres after richo played on.
and i'm stoked we just got up. couldn't kick straight all night, and still got away with it... thank god.
GET ****ED ****ER
at least be a man and admit you won by default... LLyod's fre kick and the 4 bullshit 50m penatlies you got were not enough, so they decided to help ypu with the Richo 50m penalty??? NOT JUST A FREE KICK... but a 50m penalty...
if you are true supporter of the game and a man of your word, you would not say you deserved to win...
and to rub salt into the wound, HIRD man of the match????????
PLEASE?????????????????????
RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
26 May 2007, 23:04
Are you serious....????
Im dead serious. We played very poorly, our disposal was poor throughout parts of the game, our kicking at goal was shocking and when we looked in a good position early and looked like we had all control, we just let them back into the game. We were very lucky to come away with the win IMO.
Chattanooga
26 May 2007, 23:16
No-one wants to see free kicks like that paid. Poor Richo would have heard a whistle, thought he'd been paid a mark, turned, realised he had to play on 'cos he was outside 50, bombs a beautiful goal and then finds out he's been pinged for another soft free. How he didn't snot someone I don't know. Fair and reasonable AFL fans are sick to bloody death of these kinds of decisions. We want a contest - pay a free kick when the player has obviously cheated but don't reward the player who was too unco to get to the ball. Congrats Bombers, you're going a long way in 2007.
bmwofoz
26 May 2007, 23:17
I take my hat off to Richmond they were good tonight, We were woeful, our kicking for Goal was horrible, but a win is a win and when the season is finished that will be the different between if Essendon make the Eight or not, and the same might apply to Richmond avoiding the wooden spoon
Chattanooga
26 May 2007, 23:21
And having looked at the decision again - I think it's debatable that his hand was in the back anyway, more like the shoulder.
Care to make a comment on the free to Richo late in the second quarter that wasnt there but he kicked a gaol from it?. Was paid for a push but no one actually touched him.
And having looked at the decision again - I think it's debatable that his hand was in the back anyway, more like the shoulder.
Still a free , cant put hands on the shoulder either.
J.Hetfield
26 May 2007, 23:29
In regards to Richo's 50..The ump blew his whistle like three times..In the definition of the law the free was there..Hate the rule not the opposition Richmond. You played well we played very badly..Games like that happen to everyone..99 for us...
big bruno
26 May 2007, 23:35
Care to make a comment on the free to Richo late in the second quarter that wasnt there but he kicked a gaol from it?. Was paid for a push but no one actually touched him.
yeah, so long as you care to look at the tape again and how you got 3 x 50m penatlies and we got non for similar offences???
Already did, the one against Kane was crap but we only got a point from it. Monfries missed the shot. Cant recall the second one and the third against Richo was within the rules but crap given one wasnt paid against McPhee early on.
Why dont you take this crap to bay 13 where it belongs instead of coming onto our board like a big cry baby:eek:
Chattanooga
26 May 2007, 23:42
Still a free , cant put hands on the shoulder either.
Yeh, I've heard the miked-up umpires call that - "Free kick, push in the shoulder". And it's not high contact either, that's over the shoulder.
Amazing how calm and analytical people can be when the big decisions go their way. Very easy to say 'it's just part of the game' then.
Yeh, I've heard the miked-up umpires call that - "Free kick, push in the shoulder". And it's not high contact either, that's over the shoulder.
Amazing how calm and analytical people can be when the big decisions go their way. Very easy to say 'it's just part of the game' then.
What about earlier in the game , it is ok to complain about free's near the end of the game but the one Richo got in the second quarter to put them 3 points behind wasnt there either.
At the end of the day it was our poor kicking for goal that let Richmond in the game and not any free kicks.
J.Hetfield
26 May 2007, 23:59
Everybody hates the rule..We all agree it sucks..Its screwed us all at some point. End of thread. Storm AFL house or something...
Id just like to add for leagal reasons that if anyone does i do not condone or reccomend the actions listed above.
Amazing finish. I was on the ground for the last ten minutes (staff member at the MCG), first time I had done that, incredible atmosphere being out there.
Most of the night I watched McPhee though, hadn't really done that before, just stick to keeping an eye on one player the whole match (he's in my SuperCoach side). Sure, he didn't have an opponent the whole night, but he has a massive engine.
EssendonPride
27 May 2007, 00:05
Can you imagine if Lloyds kick after the siren was for the game.
I swear the Richmond fans would be saying the wind had it in for them, that shot never realled looked like going through.
Am i the only one that saw it pretty much change trajectory mid air?
Maybe i was seeing things, slightly distracted by the win!!!
BomberAce7
27 May 2007, 00:06
GET ****ED ****ER
at least be a man and admit you won by default... LLyod's fre kick and the 4 bullshit 50m penatlies you got were not enough, so they decided to help ypu with the Richo 50m penalty??? NOT JUST A FREE KICK... but a 50m penalty...
if you are true supporter of the game and a man of your word, you would not say you deserved to win...
and to rub salt into the wound, HIRD man of the match????????
PLEASE?????????????????????
Yep we did not deserve to win at all! We are very lucky we werent playing a descent side!
Darealrath
27 May 2007, 00:09
We never win those ones lately. Great heart shown by the boys to make up for some pretty crap footy for most of the night.
donsman4eva
27 May 2007, 00:23
For all those guys having a sook about the Mal free kick, if you look at the replay, Richo's left hand is clearly on the second 2 on Mal's jumper. As far as I know, the players still have numbers on their BACKS, not their shoulders.
Poor thing.
always right
27 May 2007, 10:37
You won the "unwinnable"??? Good win guys but put this into perspective. You played a team that could go through the year without a win. You could have (should have?) lost last night but managed to just get over the line. Imagine if you had come up just short. There would have been blood on the board this morning. Such a fine line this game.
Richmond were brave and for what it's worth I thought Deledio was BOG. He cops a lot of crap on this board but he was terriffic last night. Hird was great, but I thought Deledio had the greater impact.
Charliebrow16
27 May 2007, 11:14
Had my heart in my mouth for those last 5 minutes. The game looked gone by the time the 5 minute warning flashed onto the screen.
But congratulations to the boys for the spirit and heart that the boys put in, they never looked like over running Richmond in the second half and the Lloyd goal after the siren put the icing on the cake.
The Push in the back and 50m IMO were there, i saw Richo put a hand in Michael's shoulder/back region. Whilst i agree it was soft... we have also been on the wrong side of numerous of those decisions this year also. It was just unlucky for Richmond that it happened to them last night.
The Umpire blew his whistle 3 times and Richo then kicked the ball giving the Umpire no choice but to pay a 50m against him. I have no problem with that.
Great win, i think Deledio should have been awarded the medal for BOG, he livened the match up with his trademark speed and agility. He almost took the game away from us in the end. But well done to Hird.
Tigers arn't far away from a win. Watch out Brisbane!
Also, a big congratulations to Richo not only for his courage to take his place in the team but to also make an impact in the match.
Looking forward to Sydney next week!
The free-kick against Richo was there, no doubt about it. They had payed frees in similar circumstances, if not softer circumstances, all night. It was a consistant call.The 50m penalty wasn't a consistant call and a mistake. However, that didn't win us the match. Essendon went on to get the ball down to their forward 50 a further three times after the free kick was given, scoring all three times. The 50m penalty did not have a massive bearing on the game, what did have a bearing on the game was the free kick against Richo, and it was there.
Squeaky
28 May 2007, 12:19
No-one wants to see free kicks like that paid. Poor Richo would have heard a whistle, thought he'd been paid a mark, turned, realised he had to play on 'cos he was outside 50, bombs a beautiful goal and then finds out he's been pinged for another soft free. How he didn't snot someone I don't know. Fair and reasonable AFL fans are sick to bloody death of these kinds of decisions. We want a contest - pay a free kick when the player has obviously cheated but don't reward the player who was too unco to get to the ball. Congrats Bombers, you're going a long way in 2007.
Good post!
We got out of jail - sure we played well for 5 minutes but we got out of jail.
The umpiring is very frustrating - nearly enough to turn you off the game.
The frees to Riewoldt Friday night were terrible. The 50m penalties Sat night were awful. The in the back rule is crap!!!!:mad:
Tony Delaney
28 May 2007, 21:57
In the back blah blah blah.
Richos push would have been a free last year. The ones that are frees this year are the ones that used to be allowed when a player holds his ground and puts the hands in the back, Richo went from bent to straight arm in a blatant push. So they can whinge all they like but I believe it would have still been in the back last year.
Darealrath
29 May 2007, 10:32
In the back blah blah blah.
Richos push would have been a free last year. The ones that are frees this year are the ones that used to be allowed when a player holds his ground and puts the hands in the back, Richo went from bent to straight arm in a blatant push. So they can whinge all they like but I believe it would have still been in the back last year.
:thumbsu:
Carey agreed on FC last night and couldn't believe the fuss over it.
andrew4443
23 Jun 2007, 13:57
Essendon wins the games it shouldnt and loses the games it should win
PressureCooker
23 Jun 2007, 14:08
Essendon wins the games it shouldnt and loses the games it should win
Why are you bumping all these old threads. If you are trying to lose your Newbie status you are losing all respect and credibility in the process:rolleyes:
HirdforPM
23 Jun 2007, 16:54
Why are you bumping all these old threads. If you are trying to lose your Newbie status you are losing all respect and credibility in the process:rolleyes:
thats what i said