IN: Hislop, Lonergan

Astute Observer
26 May 2007, 23:35
Ins and Outs!

Out: Dyson, Cole
In: Hislop, Bolton

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
26 May 2007, 23:40
We are going to need some good hard in and under player next week because we are versing Sydney, and that is where they are strong.
Our in and under player's will need to step up, they havn't been that great lately.
In: Nash, Hislop/Lonergan (Preferably Hislop)
Out: Cole, Dyson

ant555
26 May 2007, 23:44
Cole out , tries hard but makes too many mistakes.
Dyson out , simply doesnt have an impact.
I doubt they will make more than two changes .
Campo needs ot be seriously looke at , the guy simply zones off wont chase and wont tackle. Good when he has the ball but simply shit house when he hasnt.

dave_27
26 May 2007, 23:50
Campo OUT.

Cod ordinary.

mathew ollaik
27 May 2007, 00:00
When is the bendigo game?

Jono B
27 May 2007, 00:10
When is the bendigo game?
Don't have one.

Jono B
27 May 2007, 00:13
Ok ill throw up a few names.
Dyson
Monfries
JJ
Cole

Welsh
Nash
Hislop
Lonergan

donsman4eva
27 May 2007, 00:17
How about we wait and see what goes on at Bendigo.

donsman4eva
27 May 2007, 00:19
OK, i just noticed it was a bye, so in that case....

OUT: Slattery, Dyson (yes, i cant believe I am saying it either)
IN: Lonergan, Hislop.

ant555
27 May 2007, 00:21

Slatts didnt do much stat wise but he played on Pettifer who hardly got a touch either.

jules101
27 May 2007, 00:37
Out: Campo, Dyson
In: Welsh, Nash

Cole was ok, I doubt he will be dropped

jules101
27 May 2007, 00:38
Cole out , tries hard but makes too many mistakes.
Dyson out , simply doesnt have an impact.
I doubt they will make more than two changes .
Campo needs ot be seriously looke at , the guy simply zones off wont chase and wont tackle. Good when he has the ball but simply shit house when he hasnt.

He doesnt even tackle his own man let alone anyone elses. Shocking night

danzan22
27 May 2007, 00:39
I know we are not going to drop micheal but he had a very sub par game tonight, could not go with richo all night.

davey_23
27 May 2007, 00:41
Did Davey get injured?
Or was i seeing things?

donsman4eva
27 May 2007, 00:42
I think he just got badly winded. Couldnt come back on though because he didnt go off through the interchange gates.

danzan22
27 May 2007, 00:45
Did Davey get injured?
Or was i seeing things?
He started ruinning on the boundary afterwards, he just looked like he had the wind taken out of him.

ant555
27 May 2007, 00:46
I know we are not going to drop micheal but he had a very sub par game tonight, could not go with richo all night.

Wasnt on him all night ;) And there are not many players who can match Richo's speed on a lead. He takes 5 to 10 marks every week and always has over 5 scoring shots, for whatever reason he seems to kick a few more against us rather than kicking 1.4 and a few out on the full.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
27 May 2007, 00:48
He's not very good is he. Fletcher need's to teach him how to play in front properly because he's just too slow. i think Full back is going to major problem in the future, i have no idea on who could fill the position when Mal and Fletch retire. We have to focus on recruiting someone for that position, and quick.

danzan22
27 May 2007, 00:49
Wasnt on him all night ;) And there are not many players who can match Richo's speed on a lead. He takes 5 to 10 marks every week and always has over 5 scoring shots, for whatever reason he seems to kick a few more against us rather than kicking 1.4 and a few out on the full.
I was probably just pissed off at him because we kept missing and then i would see it go down the other end and richo mark it over mal.

BomberDog
27 May 2007, 00:52
Im not so familiar with Hislop & Lonergan.

Can someone write up a description of how they play? Just want to know who they might be a natural swap for. PLUS, want to know what their kicking style is like (whether they can give it a roost, as I cherish players that can kick a long goal).

Saw the suggestion above to bring Bolton back in. Aaaah, sounds like we have a game against Goodes coming up...

kelvin_sheedy
27 May 2007, 01:09
Out : Dyson for good!
In : Hislop/Lonergan or Welsh if fit.

Cole wasn't great but when the game was there to be won in the last quarter he did a few nice things. One of two more chances before players coming back from injury take his spot.

Crave
27 May 2007, 01:56
Out - Houli, Campo at the very least.

GmeUP
27 May 2007, 02:10
If Welsh is fit bring him in for Campo, if Welsh is unavailable no changes. We dont want 4 kids running around vs. an experienced Sydney squad. I would stick with the side and just make a few alterations like manning McPhee up on a 3rd-4th string forward and playing Fletcher loose in defense.

Shane Hird
27 May 2007, 02:45
He's not very good is he. Fletcher need's to teach him how to play in front properly because he's just too slow. i think Full back is going to major problem in the future,
i have no idea on who could fill the position when Mal and Fletch retire. We have to focus on recruiting someone for that position, and quick.

Danny Chartres.

boms
27 May 2007, 03:57
In: Hislop Welsh Nash
Out: Cole Campo Dyson

Longy413
27 May 2007, 06:03
He's not very good is he. Fletcher need's to teach him how to play in front properly because he's just too slow. i think Full back is going to major problem in the future, i have no idea on who could fill the position when Mal and Fletch retire. We have to focus on recruiting someone for that position, and quick.

Take away Michael and Fletcher doesn't have anywhere near the impact he has had this season.

Mal Michael makes Dustin Fletcher a better footballer.

IN - Welsh, Hislop.

OUT - Dyson, Houli

GmeUP
27 May 2007, 08:23
No mention of who's in or out yet as you would expect but Sheedy's already stated that changes will be made to custom fit Sydney.

Essendon coach Kevin Sheedy also made mention of Richardson's game as one of the best efforts he had seen. He was also thrilled with his side's comeback, but said he would make changes next week.

"We will re-adjust the side for Sydney," Sheedy said.

"It's going to be a huge final (type game) up in Sydney next week. It's the sort of game that will test us."

Courtesy of http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,21801383%255E20322,00.html

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
27 May 2007, 10:17
Danny Chartres.
Could someone tell me a little bit a about how he's coming along and does he remind you of any other Fullbacks in the comp in regards to his playing style?
Is he quick off the mark?

DonMania#5
27 May 2007, 11:00
Take out Cole for sure!!
Gave away 2 goals that i saw from clangers.

matty lloyd the champ
27 May 2007, 11:06
bolton in
cole out
bolton plays well on goodes

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
27 May 2007, 11:28
bolton in
cole out
Ohhhhhh yeh, i forgot all about the big fella. Yeh, we should bring in Bolton just for this this game and then just kick him out next week. ;) :D

Darealrath
27 May 2007, 11:32
In: Lonergan
Out: Houli

Cole did a few things late that might earn him another week.

Campo should play IMO. Small ground so his lack of pace isn't much of an issue, and Sydney is a side that you really need to use the ball well against and behind Hird he's the bloke I want kicking it into the F50.

That's assuming Welsh isn't fit. If he is then in for Dyson. Dyson could be a bit of weapon at the SCG though.

GoDons
27 May 2007, 11:38
In: Welsh, Heffernan, Hislop
Out: Dyson, Slattery, Houli

Welsh should be right to go I'd think and this is a great oppurtunity to give Tom Hislop a go. Heffernan to take the role of Slattery.

Ricky couldn't get in it at all last night and Bachar needs a run with Bendigo as his inexperience really showed last night. Slatts is struggling with the offensive side to his game and a run at Bendigo could help him.

Emergencies: Lonergan, Bolton, Slattery

GoDons
27 May 2007, 11:40
bolton in
cole out

Goodes is dreadfully out of form and it I think it's worth the risk of not devoting an entire player's game to stop him as would be the case if we brought Bolts in.

Goldust
27 May 2007, 11:48
Ins and Outs!

Just the one:

In Lonergan.

Out Umpire Brett Allen

bomberstomake8
27 May 2007, 12:32
Ins: Welsh (name isnt on the injury list on EFC), Hislop/lonergan
Outs: Campo, Dyson

I suspect bolton will be in for this clash, would have had 2 weeks off and he always kills goodes, sheedy said he was considering bringing him in this week along with hislop and KB so i would think he would be a good chance to play agai
nst the swans.

cant wait for this game, chance to see where we really are at... we have beaten like every team that has been better odds then us to win this year im pretty sure lets see if we can continue that.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
27 May 2007, 13:14
Goodes is dreadfully out of form and it I think it's worth the risk of not devoting an entire player's game to stop him as would be the case if we brought Bolts in.
We'll see how he play's today, if he plays well we might have to consider bringing in Bolton.

mathew ollaik
27 May 2007, 13:18
Out: Dyson, Cole, Campo
In: Longy/Hislop, Bolton, Welsh if fit

Longy413
27 May 2007, 13:24
Out: Dyson, Cole, Campo
In: Longy/Hislop, Bolton, Welsh if fit

I'm injured at the moment.

mathew ollaik
27 May 2007, 13:25
I'm injured at the moment.

By Longy I meant Lonergon:D

Tonche
27 May 2007, 13:48

No way should Slattery be dropped. Did a magnificent shutdown job on Pettifer and adds some much-needed mongrel to our team.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
27 May 2007, 13:50
Take out Cole for sure!!
Gave away 2 goals that i saw from clangers.
Are you sure about that, because in the paper it says he was 100% effective with no clanger's at all. Are you sure you were watching the right player/game?

GoDons
27 May 2007, 13:54
Are you sure about that, because in the paper it says he was 100% effective with no clanger's at all. Are you sure you were watching the right player/game?

His disposals were effective but there were a couple of instances when he made errors without taking possession. One being his allowance of Krakouer to side step him and kick a goal and the other being when he allowed the ball to get past him instead of smothering it down.

I think that's what he referring to as clangers.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
27 May 2007, 14:17
His disposals were effective but there were a couple of instances when he made errors without taking possession. One being his allowance of Krakouer to side step him and kick a goal and the other being when he allowed the ball to get past him instead of smothering it down.

I think that's what he referring to as clangers.
That's not really a clanger (because you have to take possession then turn it over for it to be a clanger), but i know what you mean.

GoDons
27 May 2007, 14:18
That's not really a clanger (because you have to take possession then turn it over for it to be a clanger), but i know what you mean.

I don't consider them clangers either but that's what he's referring to as clangers.

They were more errors of judgement.

donsman4eva
27 May 2007, 14:49
As much as I would love to see Welsh come back, give him another week off. He has alrady injured himself twice this year. Give him another week off. With the flight, it could also compound any soft tissue injury chance, so it would be too much of a risk to play hijm this week IMO.

Longy413
27 May 2007, 14:51
I guess that would give Dyson another game?

Welsh had his "another week off" this week.

donsman4eva
27 May 2007, 15:01
Did I say to give Dyson another game? If you bother to read the whole thread, Ive already said Dyson should be dropped, so dont implicate im a one eyed Dyson supporter, because I'm not.

As for Welsh, If he is 100% then he will play, but I think we need to be more conservative with soft tissue injuries. Welsh and NLM ahve both re-injured themselvs trying to come back too early. We need to take a more cautios approach with soft tissue injuries.

Longy413
27 May 2007, 15:02
And did you read what I said?

We took the conservative approach by not playing him last night. He's had his extra week.

donsman4eva
27 May 2007, 15:05
Like I said, if he is 100% he will play. I was just talking about injuries in general. I didnt know last night was his rest night. I thought his injury was more serious than 2 weeks. But anyway, I hope he does play.

keepzitreal
27 May 2007, 16:01
IN: Nash, Hislop, Lonergan

OUT: Cole, Campo, Houli

diamond-don
27 May 2007, 16:19
IN: Nash, Hislop, Lonergan

OUT: Cole, Campo, Houli

thats silly, we are not going to bring in 3 players that have played 10 games between them

mercs
27 May 2007, 16:32
cant wait for this game, chance to see where we really are at... we have beaten like every team that has been better odds then us to win this year im pretty sure lets see if we can continue that.[/quote]

yeh and we love playing the interstate teams to

warney7
27 May 2007, 17:09
In: Bolton, Welsh

Obviously I have only said Bolton because of how well he plays on Adam Goodes, regardless of how ge plays against Sydney, we then must drop him again!

Welsh isn't on the injury list is he?

Longy413
27 May 2007, 17:39
The last time we beat Sydney, Bolton didn't play.

warney7
27 May 2007, 18:15
That's nice!:thumbsu:

jules101
27 May 2007, 18:17
Time for Houli to get a full game in the VFL i think

High Ryder
27 May 2007, 18:25
Hislop was made to play against Sydney.

ant555
27 May 2007, 19:08
Like I said, if he is 100% he will play. I was just talking about injuries in general. I didnt know last night was his rest night. I thought his injury was more serious than 2 weeks. But anyway, I hope he does play.

He could have played last night and he would have been 98% right. He will be 100% next week ;)

Wahooti Fandango
27 May 2007, 19:36
Out: Dyson, Houli
In: Welsh, Hislop

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
27 May 2007, 19:51
Bolton has to be strongly considered after how Goodes played today, he was no1 in the player rankings for that game and ended up with 26 disposals.

Hislop all the way!!!!

go_the_bombers
27 May 2007, 20:16
Bring in the Hislop :thumbsu: :D

jnash196
27 May 2007, 20:53
In: Nash
Out: Dyson or Houli

mathew ollaik
27 May 2007, 21:38
In: Bolton, Hislop

ant555
27 May 2007, 21:41
Stuff Bolts , time to find someone else to play on Goodes and Kouta.

dave_27
27 May 2007, 21:48
IN: Welsh Lonergan Hislop
OUT: Camporeale Cole Houli

Bombs Away
28 May 2007, 14:34
Out Monfries, cant believe he has escaped being mentioned here til now
Dyson, enough is enough
Houli, needs a full game at bendigo

In Hislop, need his grunt in the middle/half forward
Welsh (if ready - done want to bring him back too early and risk doing again), free up mcveigh to run in midfield and forward
Lonergan, another straight running player

If welsh not ready then to look at Bradley on condition that he does not enter the back half of the ground, just not that other B word.

Jex
28 May 2007, 14:41
Ease up on Nash. 1 solid VFL game since last August is not a good enough preparation.

kelvin_sheedy
28 May 2007, 15:09
Those that are picking Bolton to play :thumbsd:

No F. idea.

Jono B
28 May 2007, 15:11
Stuff Bolts , time to find someone else to play on Goodes and Kouta.
My tip is that Nash can fill that role.

bring it on
28 May 2007, 15:14
out dyson and cole/ campo
in welsh and lonergan/ laycock....(cause of syd bigmen)

Darealrath
28 May 2007, 15:19
Why would we need to bring Laycock in on such a small ground ?

The Hille, Paddy and Hird combo is fine ;)

Yagabomb
28 May 2007, 15:27
Dyson, enough is enough

Welsh (if ready - done want to bring him back too early and risk doing again), free up mcveigh to run in midfield and forward

If welsh not ready then to look at Bradley on condition that he does not enter the back half of the ground, just not that other B word.
Totally agree. He's a gutsy player but just isn't doing enough. Needs a couple of games for bendigo to get abit of touch back

donsman4eva
28 May 2007, 16:00
Dyson, enough is enough

Actually, I mentioned him a few weeks back after a string of poor performances ;). Then he lifted his game against the Kangas and Brisbane which gave him a lifeline.

MarkJohnson#1
28 May 2007, 16:52
Why are people saying drop Houli? I reckon he's playing very well, hes a natural ball getter, missed a couple of goals he should've kicked on Saturday but other than that has looked comfortable and has earned a few more games IMO. Dyson on the other hand... :o

mathew ollaik
28 May 2007, 17:24
Why are people saying drop Houli? I reckon he's playing very well, hes a natural ball getter, missed a couple of goals he should've kicked on Saturday but other than that has looked comfortable and has earned a few more games IMO. Dyson on the other hand... :o

Totally agree :thumbsu:

donsman4eva
28 May 2007, 17:29
He has had absolutely no idea what to do with the ball when he gets it. Looks to indecisive and inexperienced. So many times when he had the ball I was yelling at the TV for him to just kick it instead of waiting for someone to run past and receive his handball.

MarkJohnson#1
29 May 2007, 00:55
He has had absolutely no idea what to do with the ball when he gets it. Looks to indecisive and inexperienced. So many times when he had the ball I was yelling at the TV for him to just kick it instead of waiting for someone to run past and receive his handball.

I disagree. Thought he showed composure on a number of occasions and I think if he had've dobbed those couple of goals he missed (as it seemed a lot of our guys were doing) that he would've recieved great praise from everyone instead of the usual "written off after a few minor errors". A few more games will do the young fella good, can see him improving over the next few weeks and making a solid contribution. He is afterall our future, and can't really see any others pressing for a spot ahead of him, especially when someone like Dyson is still getting a gig.

Bombs Away
29 May 2007, 10:52
He has potential, like a lot of others and we are saying dyson needs to go back to bendigo this week. Houli does aswell, he is still very raw and playing a few games at afl level has given him a taste of what is required, he can now go back to bendigo and play a full game working on areas where he needs to improve and come back a better player.

He is a smart footballer and will learn just as much that way, sheedy will no doubt give the kids a bit of a rotation over the next few weeks with such hard games so he can see where they are at aswell as showing them where they need to be to cut it at this level.

More for development than form, would like to see jetta, nash and demspey get a gig over the next few weeks against the best sides to see where they are at.

bring it on
29 May 2007, 11:50
He has potential, like a lot of others and we are saying dyson needs to go back to bendigo this week. Houli does aswell, he is still very raw and playing a few games at afl level has given him a taste of what is required, he can now go back to bendigo and play a full game working on areas where he needs to improve and come back a better player.

He is a smart footballer and will learn just as much that way, sheedy will no doubt give the kids a bit of a rotation over the next few weeks with such hard games so he can see where they are at aswell as showing them where they need to be to cut it at this level.

More for development than form, would like to see jetta, nash and demspey get a gig over the next few weeks against the best sides to see where they are at.

nash has played a few games last year an played pretty good considering...

i think he will help us heapss and he is in good form in the vfl.... so i say play him against wce... leave him for this week

stander
29 May 2007, 12:50

I'm hearing he's not playing his natural game- if they let him off the leash without compromising the team plan ( whatever that is ) its a win all round.

boms
29 May 2007, 12:52
In: Welsh Laycock
Out: Camporeale Dyson

Bombs Away
29 May 2007, 14:15
nash has played a few games last year an played pretty good considering...

i think he will help us heapss and he is in good form in the vfl.... so i say play him against wce... leave him for this week

definitely needs at least 1 more game in the vfl, hopefully 2. He is not a definite starter yet and nneds more game time, only played a half for the whole season, would like 10 quarters in him first.

mathew ollaik
29 May 2007, 17:01
In: Welsh Laycock
Out: Camporeale Dyson

Why Laycock? Hille and Ryder together are good enough!!!

donsman4eva
29 May 2007, 17:13
I'm hearing he's not playing his natural game- if they let him off the leash without compromising the team plan ( whatever that is ) its a win all round. Well if his natural game is not part of the team plan, he shouldnt be playing.

DonMania#5
29 May 2007, 17:14
In: Welsh, Hislop
Out: Dyson, Cole

donsman4eva
29 May 2007, 17:16
I disagree. Thought he showed composure on a number of occasions and I think if he had've dobbed those couple of goals he missed (as it seemed a lot of our guys were doing) that he would've recieved great praise from everyone instead of the usual "written off after a few minor errors". A few more games will do the young fella good, can see him improving over the next few weeks and making a solid contribution. He is afterall our future, and can't really see any others pressing for a spot ahead of him, especially when someone like Dyson is still getting a gig.
Whether he kicks goals or not is irrelevant in my arguement. He lacks composure. This will come in time, but even from what ive seen of him at vfl level, he looks lost as to what to do when he has the all. He is almost too unselfish at times and looks to dish off to a more experienced team mate rather than kick it himself. He just need time and confidence, but I doubt he will find it at AFL level just yet.

Ludwig van Bertstare
29 May 2007, 17:42
In: Welsh, Hislop, Bradley
Out: Cole, Dyson, Monfries

rusty14
29 May 2007, 17:48
Why Laycock? Hille and Ryder together are good enough!!!

I agree but at this stage of the season id prefer to leave Ryder in the backline especially with the potent forward line that Sydney have.

SO, my team would look like this:

B: Slattery Michael Ryder
HB: Mcphee Fletcher McVeigh
C: Stanton J.Johnson M.Johnson
HF: Hird Lucas Davey
F: Welsh Lloyd Laycock
FOLL: Hille Watson Winderlich
INT: Peverill Lonergan Hislop Houli

Emergencies: Camporeale, Dyson, Monfries:confused: , Cole

donsman4eva
29 May 2007, 17:52
There wont be 4 changes to a winning team. 1 or 2 maybe, but not 4

rusty14
29 May 2007, 17:58
I know i think that Monfries will play i just got excited when putting all these youngsters into my team, it was hard to leave anyone out!

donsman4eva
29 May 2007, 18:01
FWIW:

Out: Houli, Dyson
In: Hislop, Welsh

rusty14
29 May 2007, 18:02
EFC.com.au reckon Laycock might be a chance this week.

d-mac3276
29 May 2007, 18:06
Ok ill throw up a few names.
Dyson
Monfries
JJ
Cole

Welsh
Nash
Hislop
Lonergan WHYS EVERYONE KEEP PUTTING mONFRIES UP TO B DROPPED HES AN ABSOLUTE GOER AND HAS BEEN PLAYING NOT TOO BAD, UNLIKE SOME WE HAVE IN THE SIDE

donsman4eva
29 May 2007, 18:08
He has had a very average season. He has looked good when we have been winning, but has gone missing when we needed him, except fot the kangas match. There are some guys who deserve 2 be dropped ahead of him, but dropping him to the VFL could be a good reality check for him

rusty14
29 May 2007, 18:16
I cant see him being dropped nor do i want him dropped but with our lit depth as it is at the moment noone can really afford to play badly at the moment.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
29 May 2007, 19:04
There wont be 4 changes to a winning team. 1 or 2 maybe, but not 4
I know it's a win and it's 4 points, but we played poorly and were lucky to win, if it had of been a convincing been, no changes, but because we played poorly, a few changes need to be made.

jules101
29 May 2007, 19:07
I know it's a win and it's 4 points, but we played poorly and were lucky to win, if it had of been a convincing been, no changes, but because we played poorly, a few changes need to be made.

We played ok though, just couldnt convert infront of goal. We aren't goign to drop Lucas and lloyd who missed the most (and Houli who might be the one change). If Lloyd and Lucas converted we would be saying wow what a win we killed them