View Full Version : Ferret Head Brings Bay 13 to the Advertiser
Crow Envy
30 May 2007, 09:06
Well first of all I cant believe I allowed myself to read his dribble again but I was curious to see if he would devote his attentions to Port considering their form.
But the first piece was straight out of Bay 13. Rucci admitted to trolling, he put out a bite in last weeks article to get a bite from the Crows. So now he can be known as Ferret Head, King of the Trolls.
We rated a mention 5 times, Port 0. Sinking in the boots about Gibbs, another dig at Neil and Thompson not honouring his bet. Well thanks Ferret Head, KOT you just reconfirmed to me why I will be not reading your utter crap again.
PrideOf
30 May 2007, 09:35
Thanks for the update. Seeing as this doesn't appear in the online version - and I no longer buy the paper - I've missed it. Oh well. :( :)
And this surprises you because? ...:confused:
He's not stupid and is perfectly aware of what he's doing it and he's doing it because it annoys Crows fans so much that they go out and buy the paper just so they can bitch about him on 5AA and om here.
I must of said this 100 times now just ignore him and he'll go away:rolleyes:
Crow Envy
30 May 2007, 10:11
Jo I dont agree with you. Yes I agree he isnt stupid but do you think Crows fans are that stupid we would buy the paper just to read him diss on us? In my opinion he would not contribute to one extra sale from a Crows fan. And Ive stopped listening to 5AA on Saturdays as I cant stand to listen to him.
Yes i do believe.
You for instance read Rucci's Roast this morning with the full knowledge you'd get upset and knowing you could whinge about it on here and you are likely to do the same again next week. People are reading his columns looking to get pissed off and talk/write about it are what gives Rucci attention and gets The Advertiser more readers.
The definition of insanity is repeatedly doing the same thing and expecting a different result. Yet for some reason alot of people on this board keep reading Rucci's Roast and either expecting not to get upset (which would be insane) or because they find a peverse pleasure in whinging about him.
Crowked
30 May 2007, 10:22
I've always struggled to understand why the Advertiser would think that providing nothing but bad new and critisism about the team that 70% of the market supports would increase sales. Surely the 70% want to read the occasional good news story about their team, oh, and the occasional bad news about the team they despise too!
Their thinking seems to be back to front IMO.
As for Rucci on 5aa. I stopped listening to Saturdays about a week after he was appointed to the panel. I would be thinking he's had a very negative effect on their ratings.
Kane McGoodwin
30 May 2007, 10:50
Well first of all I cant believe I allowed myself to read his dribble again but I was curious to see if he would devote his attentions to Port considering their form.
But the first piece was straight out of Bay 13. Rucci admitted to trolling, he put out a bite in last weeks article to get a bite from the Crows. So now he can be known as Ferret Head, King of the Trolls.
We rated a mention 5 times, Port 0. Sinking in the boots about Gibbs, another dig at Neil and Thompson not honouring his bet. Well thanks Ferret Head, KOT you just reconfirmed to me why I will be not reading your utter crap again.
This is just the response Rooch would have been wanting to read this AM as he is sipping his latte.
Crow Envy
30 May 2007, 11:12
Yes i do believe.
You for instance read Rucci's Roast this morning with the full knowledge you'd get upset and knowing you could whinge about it on here and you are likely to do the same again next week. People are reading his columns looking to get pissed off and talk/write about it are what gives Rucci attention and gets The Advertiser more readers.
The definition of insanity is repeatedly doing the same thing and expecting a different result. Yet for some reason alot of people on this board keep reading Rucci's Roast and either expecting not to get upset (which would be insane) or because they find a peverse pleasure in whinging about him.
Its fair enough to believe but that doesnt mean you arent wrong. I havent read the roast for over a month as I havent listened to 5aa. As the opening line of my initial thread stated I read it today only to see if he gave it to Port. Tell me did you just read the headline?
chopper55555
30 May 2007, 13:36
I've always struggled to understand why the Advertiser would think that providing nothing but bad new and critisism about the team that 70% of the market supports would increase sales.
Is the money in the advertising rather than sales ? If discontent with the content rubbed off onto the feeling about the paying advertisers, there might be some action... anyone in influence at a uni and can get a study up and going ?
As for Rucci on 5aa. I stopped listening to Saturdays about a week after he was appointed to the panel. I would be thinking he's had a very negative effect on their ratings. Did me in. Forget listening to him, he belongs in Iraq. Pity, I liked KG and Cornsey.
I have to admit, I actually look forward to getting Wednesday's paper and reading Rucci's column.
His anti-Crows bagging used to annoy me, now it amuses me. It's more a reflection of him, not the club.
I am interested to see how long his pedantic mentions of Scott Thompson's bet lasts. IMHO, the longer it goes, the sillier Rucci looks.
SkinFeeling
30 May 2007, 14:06
Sometimes I feel glad I'm in Sydney :o
I have to admit, I actually look forward to getting Wednesday's paper and reading Rucci's column.
His anti-Crows bagging used to annoy me, now it amuses me. It's more a reflection of him, not the club.
I am interested to see how long his pedantic mentions of Scott Thompson's bet lasts. IMHO, the longer it goes, the sillier Rucci looks.
I have to agree. He is making himself look sillier all the time. I actually enjoy how stupid he makes himself look.
I just can't believe that the Chief Football Writer for The Advertiser would write a column like that. It makes an absolute mockery of his role. Would you see a similar column by Caroline Wilson or Mike Sheahan? I'm not saying that they are the ideal journalist, but at least they want to be taken seriously. Whilst Rucci continues with his Roast crap and taking cheap shots at people, and then hiding behind the pathetic excuse that it's just a fun column, he will be seen as a joke, regardless of any other decent column he may write.
Kane McGoodwin
30 May 2007, 15:08
Ditto for me.
I actually enjoy the roast more than his other articles, which I often don't even bother to read.
PS. Do you reckon Rooch was the author of some of the blogs...
crows98
30 May 2007, 15:19
Exactly,
can you imagine Scott Thompson waking up this morning and giving this lame attempt at primary school humour a second thought? Hell no, Rucci is a joke who acts like a 6 year old to get a few small jollies.
In the privacy of the change room I imagine the player would just laugh at his stupidity and treat him with contempt .
Viva la Mattner
30 May 2007, 15:51
Thommo should go public and say he will honour the bet on the proviso that the shit stain that is Rucci agrees to never write another article.
lets see how long Rucci keeps up the crap then
crows98
30 May 2007, 15:59
Thommo should go public and say he will honour the bet on the proviso that the shit stain that is Rucci agrees to never write another article.
lets see how long Rucci keeps up the crap then
Na Ha because that what the shit faced ferret head wants
birdmanptr
30 May 2007, 16:09
I feel your pain as i to opened the sports section first
Nothing but dribble and crap aimed at us although he is hiding a bit behind that other toss bag mcdermott claiming we have no right on Gibbs.No mention about port power and eagle beak [ebert] sure Ross did not play for us but neither did eagle beak play for port power.When the pooer first jumped on our band wagon he wanted nothing to do with them now hes always there another bandwagoner in full flight
I too have now come to this conclusion & a laugh a day does wonders for those that need it.
Once upon a time there was a magazine called MAD :)
Now we have Rooch & the tizer. :D
Stiffy_18
30 May 2007, 16:36
Care factor?! :confused:
Seanason
30 May 2007, 16:47
where can i access a picture of the twat?
Jars458
30 May 2007, 17:23
Give him a break
He is just hurting because his beloved Port Power (est 1997) were made to look like soft pretnenders by a team who have been shown to be soft pretenders themselves over a period of many years.
Add this to Port losing to Norwood at Alberton and Mr Rucci still having no friends, his life can't be easy!:D
Seanason
30 May 2007, 17:39
i just read the swipe and Bones.
What an idiot - "Theres no locker to hand down and Adelaide to Bryce"
Well guess what! There wasnt any ****ing locker to hand down to Ebert, but he still got there didnt he?
birdmanptr
30 May 2007, 17:41
where can i access a picture of the twat?
Having bowel trouble?
Scott Van Persett
30 May 2007, 17:45
I agree with other posters here who are amused by his Roast.
It used to annoy me but now I'm only interested to see if he has anything other than Scott Thompson, St Neil, Comrade Peter and the evil AFC to write about. It's getting so juvenile that it shows what a tool he is and any respect for him as a journalist has long gone.
I do think he's painted himself into a corner with his constant carping, as, if he altered his tack it could be said that he succumbed to pressure and there is no way he would want to be seen to do that. So he's going to continue to write the same Roast each week and be made to look even more foolish.
Scott
relapse
30 May 2007, 17:49
the only thing on Rucci's menu usually is a sh!t sandwich minus the bread
crows98
30 May 2007, 17:53
:D :D :thumbsu:
relapse
30 May 2007, 18:00
I feel your pain as i to opened the sports section first
Nothing but dribble and crap aimed at us although he is hiding a bit behind that other toss bag mcdermott claiming we have no right on Gibbs.No mention about port power and eagle beak [ebert] sure Ross did not play for us but neither did eagle beak play for port power.When the pooer first jumped on our band wagon he wanted nothing to do with them now hes always there another bandwagoner in full flight
I am sure that Port Adelaide would gladly jump on a player that didnt even play for the maggies if one qualified.
Rucci is a hyprocite of the highest order, he is the epitomy of the sort of tool that a majority of Port supporters are. They sit there are hypocritically argue things, but justify the exact same thing when it concerns Port.
This is what happens to people with no life, no girlfriend and Port Adelaide is their only interest in their life so we should use it as a lesson to all the kids out there of the dangers of becoming like Rucci.
Punchy Bassett
30 May 2007, 18:22
ROFLMFAO!
Seanason
30 May 2007, 18:32
Having bowel trouble?Dart Board needs decorating.
bighawk1961
30 May 2007, 18:42
I've always struggled to understand why the Advertiser would think that providing nothing but bad new and critisism about the team that 70% of the market supports would increase sales. Surely the 70% want to read the occasional good news story about their team, oh, and the occasional bad news about the team they despise too!
Their thinking seems to be back to front IMO.
As for Rucci on 5aa. I stopped listening to Saturdays about a week after he was appointed to the panel. I would be thinking he's had a very negative effect on their ratings.
Just reading The Australian media section on the web. Record ratings on Saturdays at 5AA. Increased readership at The Advertiser. Record hits on adelaidenow. Seems to be working for them ... and him. And the way you guys react only guarantees it will go on and on and on and on ...
Don't know about the validity of those claims.
However, one thing that can't be disputed is that Port Power are suffering record-low crowds, an embarrassment for Port Adelaide that Rucci is responsible for.
Stiffy_18
30 May 2007, 19:48
I'll pay that :D :thumbsu:
birdmanptr
30 May 2007, 21:14
I am sure that Port Adelaide would gladly jump on a player that didnt even play for the maggies if one qualified.
Rucci is a hyprocite of the highest order, he is the epitomy of the sort of tool that a majority of Port supporters are. They sit there are hypocritically argue things, but justify the exact same thing when it concerns Port.
This is what happens to people with no life, no girlfriend and Port Adelaide is their only interest in their life so we should use it as a lesson to all the kids out there of the dangers of becoming like Rucci.
:thumbsu: Well spoken we should put this on a shirt or a banner:thumbsu:
ThePeckers
30 May 2007, 21:28
I think scott thompson should just do the bet. But only if Rucci gets a counter going for his Cheap shots at AFC
Rucci Cheap Shout Count Stands at
ThePeckers
30 May 2007, 21:32
My spelling error count- 385,383
However, one thing that can't be disputed is that Port Power are suffering record-low crowds, an embarrassment for Port Adelaide that Rucci is responsible for.
Can be disputed. Our crowds are up on last year. Ask KG and Cornes on 5DoubleCrow - they were most surprised, most surprised, most surprised!
Southerntakeover
30 May 2007, 21:40
Can be disputed. Our crowds are up on last year. Ask KG and Cornes on 5DoubleCrow - they were most surprised, most surprised, most surprised!
Doesnt say much for your crowd numbers last year then ;)
The number of painfully obvious empty teal seats at every Port game cannot be disputed.
Rucci has some hard questions to answer from the Port board for being one of the main instigators in turning people off from attending Port games.
macca23
30 May 2007, 22:23
relapse ... why do you tell lies. i have worked at the port footy club and am now at hawthorn and know for FACT that there is no issue Rooch has with Clarko. quite commonly known. your stuff on this forum is worse than anything you accuse Rooch of doing. If you had a fact scoreboard you would be at minus 1000000000000 by now.
Nice to see that we can flush you out every so often, Rooch :thumbsu:
I'll take your word re Clarkson, because if anyone should know it would be you Michelangelo. :)
As for the ratings, pffft! All that shows is that the smell of crap is more noticeable than the scent of a rose.
Any chance that we could have some new material in the Roast other than St Neil, Comrade Peter or Thommo's bet?
At leat incense us with something new!! :D
johnnypanther
31 May 2007, 13:05
there has been much discussion about the accuracy of the figures for actual attendances at Port games (overstated) and Crows games (understated)
Lies, damn lies and statistics, huh?
2007, 5 games, average 27830
2006, 11 games, average 27230
However - take out the home showdown from both years (it's the biggest crowd of the season, and distorts this years figures considerably):
2007, 4 games, average 25547
2006, 10 games, average 25798
Port is going to have to average 26730 (i.e. nearly 1200 more than they are getting for every non-showdown week) for the rest of the year in order to match last years attendances.
Port is on track to have a lower attendance than last year, and could well be one or two wet weekend away from an all time record low.
Markthirtytwo
31 May 2007, 14:01
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=333156
He is all things to all people. :thumbsu:
However - take out the home showdown from both years (it's the biggest crowd of the season, and distorts this years figures considerably):
Port is going to have to average 26730 (i.e. nearly 1200 more than they are getting for every non-showdown week) for the rest of the year in order to match last years attendances.
Port is on track to have a lower attendance than last year, and could well be one or two wet weekend away from an all time record low.
It's no wonder the Port mob were throwing tantrums at the low turnout for the showdown this year as it was the one single opportunity for them to bump up their crowd numbers.
Too bad they blew it with bad PR (seriously, was anyone actually more encouraged to go with the way they were carrying on) as well as the fact that their own supporters did not bother turning up.
Seanason
31 May 2007, 14:20
It's no wonder the Port mob were throwing tantrums at the low turnout for the showdown this year as it was the one single opportunity for them to bump up their crowd numbers.
Too bad they blew it with bad PR (seriously, was anyone actually more encouraged to go with the way they were carrying on) as well as the fact that their own supporters did not bother turning up.
What about the float?
I laughed my head off!
A club that struggles financially, and they splurge their first year of profit on a massive float! I think their CEO has a brain slug hat.
macca23
31 May 2007, 14:54
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=333156
He is all things to all people. :thumbsu:
Why did that thread get closed so quickly?? :confused:
relapse
31 May 2007, 18:29
Lets all welcome Bighawk Rucci to the thread
relapse
31 May 2007, 18:32
Why did that thread get closed so quickly?? :confused:
I wonder also why it was closed also, because it is pretty clear that it is Rucci because he sent me a PM from his bigdork1961 account saying there are no issues between he and clarkson and tried to claim that he used to work for Port Adelaide and now works for Hawthorn. :D This guy is obsessed with Rucci for it not to be him.
Doing a quick search of BigHawk's posts (http://bigfooty.com/forum/search.php?searchid=1758620&pp=20&page=2) shows he seems to be particularly obsessed with one topic.
Also there is a conspicious absence of posts about Hawthorn, only about Adelaide, Port and Michaelangelo Rucci.
James23
31 May 2007, 19:19
hmmm either bighawk1961 is extremely smart and pulling our leg and leading us all on to believe he is rucci.. or he is incredibly dumb and making it completely obvious by posting only on topics associated with the crows, port or the advertiser. im gonna guess and say it is infact rucci and is incredibly dumb :D
AndrewJo
31 May 2007, 20:24
AAnd here he is again BIG HAWK !! Look at all his postings and tell me BIG HAWK is not ROOCH.. and where is the hard evidence of the claims above??
I would be interested to see where Big HAwk gets his record ratings for Saturday on 5AA. Certainly the ratings period for Feb-April show a listening audience of 21.4% on the 5AA Sports Show but Saturday is not mentioned in the surveys!! Can you give me a site to check up Big Hawk?...or do I need a media pass to access your information??
bighawk1961
31 May 2007, 20:53
Might be just a Port supporter shaking up the crows.
Sure Mikey:)
I thought you spoke very well at the Payneham Cricket Club's sportmans night:thumbsu:
chopper55555
31 May 2007, 20:57
Like they said... a port W*nker any way you look at it.
macca23
31 May 2007, 20:58
C'mon Michelangelo. That's your favourite hobby. :D
Nice of you to visit us. :thumbsu:
SpringChoke
31 May 2007, 21:02
Funny how he keeps bringing up the petty topic of the Thommo bet. Also funny how ex-Port mad supporter Thommo is exactly the type of player Port desperately need right now. A player like Thommo is just the type of player Ports multitude of front running midfield receivers will need come September and Ruc knows it.
You have to make allowances for Ruc/Bighawk as the last two weeks would have been a major reality check for him. Viva La "Revolution".:thumbsu:
macca23
31 May 2007, 21:05
Here's a challenge for you Michelangelo - a serious one.
You have said a few times recently that you believe Port will win a flag before Adelaide will.
How about doing a piece headed "Which Adelaide team will be next to get a flag" or something along those lines and do a serious analysis of the respective merits of each team in that direction and what they each need to get one.
The challenge is to use your journalistic skills rather than your biased sarcasm.
Can you do it?
SpringChoke
31 May 2007, 21:11
No Goodwin stories for a week Ruc, you're slipping mate.
bighawk1961
31 May 2007, 21:21
And there is another $50 bet won.
SpringChoke
31 May 2007, 21:24
and Ruc's mentor, Naomi Robson, has to cough up yet another $50.
macca23
31 May 2007, 21:25
Every bit helps towards the cost of the annual Italian pilgrimage. :thumbsu:
Must admit I'm hoping to do a shorter but similar thing in the next year or so.
bighawk1961
31 May 2007, 21:30
Another $50.
macca23
31 May 2007, 21:35
Another $50.
Who's paying you the $50's, Rooch??
For your own sake I hope you are Michelangelo Rucci or at least related to him. For anyone else to log on here with the sole purpose of defending him as regularly as you do is, well, odd in the extreme. There are some wierd lifestyle choices out there but this just about beats the lot. :D
macca23
31 May 2007, 21:42
For your own sake I hope you are Michelangelo Rucci or at least related to him. For anyone else to log on here with the sole purpose of defending him as regularly as you do is, well, odd in the extreme. There are some wierd lifestyle choices out there but this just about beats the lot. :D
Don't worry, Mong.
He's the Rooch alright.
Even his dear mother wouldn't take the same level of interest in him as bighawk1961 . :p
relapse
31 May 2007, 21:44
Who's paying you the $50's, Rooch??
Most probably something he made up himself just like his retirement fund :D
You really have to wonder about the how low the level of journalism in Adelaide has plumbed to when the so-called chief football writer spends his time engaging in petty and juvenile behaviour on an internet board. (Yes, I know I do it too, but that's beside the point :)).
Even worse he sometimes uses column space to engage in petty and juvenile banter with people on bigfooty.
Crow-mo
31 May 2007, 23:29
be a good boy Michaelangelo, spend your time trying to meet a nice 'girl'. Just like your mother keeps saying. :thumbsu:
Blind Fred
1 Jun 2007, 00:05
If it's NOT the Rooch, Hawthorn must have employed one sick lonely puppy from Alberton.
AndrewJo
1 Jun 2007, 12:56
Another $50.
Still waiting for confirmation of the ratings that you quoted in this thread. Can't direct me to a web page so it is obviously once again made up crap!!
Why doesn't someone ring up in the morning and ask him directly what his user name is on BigFooty.
I am SURE he would tell the truth.
AndrewJo
1 Jun 2007, 13:04
Still waiting for confirmation of the ratings that you quoted in this thread. Can't direct me to a web page so it is obviously once again made up crap!!http://www.photovault.com/Link/Animals/Mammals/Carnivora/AMCVolume01/AMCV01P02_15F.tn.jpg (http://www.photovault.com/Link/Animals/Mammals/Carnivora/show.asp?tg=AMCVolume01/AMCV01P02_15F)
Just saw Big Hawk in disguise...Recognize the eyes? And sad mouth?
chopper55555
1 Jun 2007, 13:17
"Dead spit" for him, even to the black and white face painting.
and Ruc's mentor, Naomi Robson, has to cough up yet another $50.
I heard Rooch wanted to copy his mentor and put a lizard on his shoulder.
But they couldn't find a lizard who'd do it.
What I find ironic is the fact that he was having a whinge about anonimity on the internet and how posters should be held accountable for what they post.
Yet here he is doing exactly the same thing, only worse because at least we declare our support for the AFC while he runs around pretending to be a Hawks supporter or, someone who apparently works for them.
Blind Fred
2 Jun 2007, 01:03
Just a thought ... if it is the Rooch, isn't it ironic that Big Footy could finish him off. I reckon a print-out of his posts to the head honcho at The Advertiser would require a fair bit of explaining. I'm sure the Crows also would like to go back through some of his vitriol.
bighawk1961
2 Jun 2007, 13:41
Just a thought ... if it is the Rooch, isn't it ironic that Big Footy could finish him off. I reckon a print-out of his posts to the head honcho at The Advertiser would require a fair bit of explaining. I'm sure the Crows also would like to go back through some of his vitriol.
Glad you said "if" because we are having great fun getting you girls worked up
Well it doesnt really matter who you are but why bother pretending you are a hawthorn supporter in the first place. A bit weird me thinks.:confused:
Why wouldnt you just go along with it and pretend you are rooch instead of denying it. If you go to to limits of pretending to be a hawthorn supporter I would think you would love people to think you are rooch.
Bombers 2003
2 Jun 2007, 18:02
If i called a poster on the adelaide board 'ferret head' Mad Dog would be on me like a ton of bricks and yet u can get away with it,why?
bighawk1961
2 Jun 2007, 18:23
Well it doesnt really matter who you are but why bother pretending you are a hawthorn supporter in the first place. A bit weird me thinks.:confused:
i am a hawthorn man.
and i am having fun here
Why wouldnt you just go along with it and pretend you are rooch instead of denying it. If you go to to limits of pretending to be a hawthorn supporter I would think you would love people to think you are rooch.
lots of fun
Glad you said "if" because we are having great fun getting you girls worked up
you like girls? :confused:
If i called a poster on the adelaide board 'ferret head' Mad Dog would be on me like a ton of bricks and yet u can get away with it,why?
because you're a well known knob.
Crow Envy
3 Jun 2007, 20:58
bighawk must be in a spin today, his team lost but the hawks won.
And for those keeping score on Port attendances (yoo-hoo - portly (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=7690525&postcount=37)!!)
2007 - 6 games, average 27107 (now down on 2006 figures)
AndrewJo
25 Aug 2007, 18:48
lots of fun
for who?
Capitalist
26 Aug 2007, 00:58
good news is that their is a strong rumour of another daily paper being started up in Adelaide within the next two years.
can't wait i will be the first person to sign up
NSWCROW
26 Aug 2007, 01:45
Sometimes I feel glad I'm in Sydney :o
As long as you have FOXTEL ;)
RedBull1975
27 Aug 2007, 00:25
My partner tells me in her younger days (in the 90's) in the club scene around Adelaide, old ugly ferret head would be out clubbing, pissed of his head, thinking he was gods' gift trying to pick up. I thought she just felt sorry for the 'rooch but apparently these memories still have her waking up in a cold sweat when she remembers the pick up line he used on her. I wonder if I should write it in a letter addressed to 'the roast'.
RedBull1975
27 Aug 2007, 00:28
Any mental health workers know what is the name for someone like ferret Head, who knowing he is doing something wrong (like the Scotty Thompson counter) trying to make it good by turning it into some sort of charity fund raising scheme? Not sadism, but I'm sure there is a mental disease that classifies this behaviour.
Once again below todays Roast , Michaelangelo shows that there is a good reporter/opinion piece writer in there somewhere.
Rooch, I know you drop by, so let me say I agreed and enjoyed the article on the high moral ground taken by some journos :thumbsu:
Link thingy (http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,22325431-21543,00.html)
A LEADING AFL club official in this town has long regarded the Australian football media as a "leech". His view has not changed, even with the $860 million in media rights underwriting his highly paid job in the next five years.
He will be on the high moral ground now. He will consider the AFL's media has shot itself in the foot with the latest drug scandal launched on Friday by Channel 7 in Melbourne reporting on the illicit drug use at an AFL club.
But all this latest saga has proven is the AFL, its clubs and the AFL Players' Association have lost perspective.
They have failed to listen to one underlying concern of its most important stakeholder, the fans: They want a game clean of drugs. All drugs.
If there has to be some pain along the way to this goal - rather than cover-ups - so be it. There are a series of moral questions and dilemmas that need to be posed this week.
IF The Advertiser today is offered a set of documents showing an AFL club is making rule-breaking payments to its players in breach of its salary cap, what do we do with them?
Send them to the AFL?
Send them to the club involved? Expose the rort, even if the documents are private tax and banking papers between the club and its players?
When French newspaper L'Equipe was handed leaked documents from European drug labs - exposing the drug cheating in the Tour de France - should it have sent them back or published the details they contain?
IF, as AFL chief executive Andrew Demetriou says, the best way to treat AFL's illicit-drug users is to give them rehabilitation with privacy, what do we make of Brownlow Medallist Ben Cousins?
The West Coast midfielder was chased by the media all the way to his rehabilitation clinic in the U.S. Now that Cousins has made it back to playing, is he the exception to the rule - or the example that proves the rule wrong?
WHEN Adelaide and Collingwood players refuse to speak to Channel 7 on Friday night, before, during and after their match at the Telstra Dome, who will they be hurting?
Seven will have Dennis, Bruce, David and Timmy chat a little longer. The ratings will hinge on the match - one that shapes the final eight - rather than anything Brett Burton or Nathan Buckley has to say at the end of the match.
The only losers will be the Crows and Magpie fans back at home who would rather hear from the Birdman than Bruce (no offence, Bruce). At least St Kilda captain Nick Riewoldt has worked this out.
IF the AFL, its clubs, the players and their union are opposed to the use of drugs in sport, why have they not developed a public campaign to support the fight against drug use in society?
They might not want to be role models but the fact is they are. And they should use that honour to fight against drug use in society.
It has been fascinating to watch the fall-out of Channel 7's drug report since Friday.
The heat is on Seven.
Yet there are thousands of football fans - and even high-ranking football officials and star players - who want to know the names of the seven players identified in the papers Seven bought for the basis of its report. They condemn Seven - but not themselves for their curiosity.
There are football commentators who on Saturday said they would have done just as Seven did - and now, after seeing the fall-out, have backtracked to declare they would have protected the privacy of the players.
They condemn Seven - but not the drug users.
The central issue - the growing, rather than diminishing, use of drugs among AFL footballers - is being smoke-screened by the backlash against Seven.
Meanwhile, what do we do with these papers that reveal how an AFL premiership was won by salary cap rorting?
Send them back - or expose the club that cheated?