View Full Version : Jonathan Brown
I was just wondering why he so far hasn't turned it on?
Compared to the first dozen games he played last year, he was unstoppable. I know now he is being double, and trippled tagged, and with Bradshaw out, more attention is on him. However, he hasn't managed to find his kicking boot, and has only kicked 18 goals to date.
Is there still injury concern on him? Has the hip problem he had early in the year passed? Did he have a poor preseaon?
notting18
30 May 2007, 11:10
It really depends on what you expect from Browny. He has averaged 15 touches, 2 goals 2 behinds so far this season while playing the majority of his football being double/triple teamed. He has also been giving away a lot of goal assists this year.
Also, i think the club took a different approach to him this year to try and ensure he hit his peak at the right times and played a full season.
In reality, if he kicked straighter in a few games this discussion would not be happening. He has missed several "gettable" shots on goal - if he converted on those, he'd be up with the leading goalkickers.
The fact that he's been a bit wasteful in front of goal distorts the fact that he's having a good season.
lookkg386
30 May 2007, 12:21
I'm sure he'll turn it on this week...
If I had any tears left.
I know now he is being double, and trippled tagged, and with Bradshaw out, more attention is on him. However, he hasn't managed to find his kicking boot...
you seem to have answered your question pretty well - a combination of missing some shots and having more attention paid to him. I think clark will alleviate some of the pressure (but will also be up and down as all youth) and other teams defenders have been heard to say that the constant looking for brown makes it easier for them to focus on him.
BigCat2
31 May 2007, 01:44
Despite being teamed up on, he's still doing a mountain of work at CHF. If we extrapolate his stats over 22 rounds, then you have a CHF who per game gets 15 touches, 7 marks, numerous goal assists, and ~50 goals for the year. I'd still be happy with that.
lionbear
31 May 2007, 09:56
I think he is one kick away from getting his kicking form back. Watch out Richmond if he kicks his first one straight on Saturday night. He is getting his hand on the Ball so lookout for him this week.
Grimreepah
31 May 2007, 16:24
Bad news folks
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=333377
:rolleyes:
The Flying Belgian
31 May 2007, 16:30
Bad news folks
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=333377
:rolleyes:
Gee someone's bored this arvo.
Don't take it seriously folks. It's quite obviously taking a lend.
konstas_87
1 Jun 2007, 10:40
why do people waste their time. if he wanted to go home he would have taken the cool million eddie offered him and gone to a semi-successful club*.
*successful compared to carlton
lion_gooner
1 Jun 2007, 18:21
i hope he turns it on after this week when i pick him up in s.c :D
banana_bus
1 Jun 2007, 19:38
Some knob on the Dreamteam forums has said that he may be a late withdrawal? Any whispers of this?
TheBrownDog
1 Jun 2007, 20:15
Some knob on the Dreamteam forums has said that he may be a late withdrawal? Any whispers of this?
Nope, lot of bullplop.
He'll play.
banana_bus
1 Jun 2007, 20:17
Nope, lot of bullplop.
He'll play.
Cheers.
Deledio_Judd
2 Jun 2007, 14:42
I reckon he will turnj it on against us and kick around 10 but i still think it will be close!.
Deledio_Judd
2 Jun 2007, 14:43
lol!!!!!!!.
maroon and blue
2 Jun 2007, 18:29
JB has the heart of a lion. Enough said.
don vito of fitzroy
2 Jun 2007, 19:04
Even though Brown has three men on him most of the time, he does get a fair share of possessions but the midfielders need to aim for different targets. If guys like Clark, Charman and Patful get the footy kicked to them more often, that should relieve some pressure off Brown. Patful may not have the height of Clark or Charman but at least give him more chances. Brown needs the space. If he doesn't get any pressure taken off him, he better be playing at ruck-rover.
maroon and blue
2 Jun 2007, 19:08
DV, spoken like a man who has watched Bernie Quinlan, Osborne and the great Micky Conlon play. Bellissimo!