View Full Version : Ruck Stocks

ExTasDeeMan
31 May 2007, 22:55
Y'all know when Jeffrey White gets off the field, we start to suck ass. Its true, and unfortunately the 'backup' ruckmen aren't a ruckman's asshole.

Again, its true.

Who should we go for? How would we feel about David Hale? He seems to be slipping to 2nd ruck off the bench when compared to McIntosh at the moment, should he be in the state of play come season end?

regardless of the fact he looks like Peter Street, it would be good to have a genuine tap ruckman against these tall buggers.

Thoughts or donations?

Bartram_Class
31 May 2007, 23:01
I still have faith in PJ, I reckon hes started to show a bit these last few weeks and given a bit more time, will cement his place as heir to the mantle of No. 1 Ruckman.

ExTasDeeMan
31 May 2007, 23:03
I still have faith in PJ, I reckon hes started to show a bit these last few weeks and given a bit more time, will cement his place as heir to the mantle of No. 1 Ruckman.

No doubt he shows good game because he runs to contests, but in ruck contests in general, he seems wanting.

Keep him to back up - but we need a genuine ruckman.

Bartram_Class
31 May 2007, 23:13
No doubt he shows good game because he runs to contests, but in ruck contests in general, he seems wanting.

Keep him to back up - but we need a genuine ruckman.
Irrelavent to be honest, he fares no worse than White in contests, dare I say he is probably a better tap ruckman than White.

If his disposal and tank can catch up to White's, then we have a genuine ruckman on our hands.

You won't be able to trade for anything, clubs don't flog away decent ruckmen, unless you are dealing with Melbourne, in which case we give away our fair share. :rolleyes:

demonfan9
31 May 2007, 23:14
When Melbourne was making our comeback last week, it was PJ in the ruck and our onballers winning the clearances. When White came back on the field, we started losing them (including the Swallow goal).

CaptainDavey
31 May 2007, 23:28
Neaves looks to be a good sort. We had that behemoth van Shaik or whatever his name was that was like 90 feet tall (I like to overexaggerate being Greek and all) but then we got rid of him so we had our chance

The Great Gabsby
31 May 2007, 23:38
We should have a crack at some of brisbane's ruck stocks. They have Charman, Mcdonald, Wood and Leuenberger who are all relatively proven. Surely they don't need four ruckman on their list?

melbournemartin
31 May 2007, 23:49
PJ is actually a superb kick. ND rated him as one of the best at the club. I'd like to have a crack at a Brisbane ruckman or definately Hale. Maybe Chris Johnson + 2nd round pick?

djch00k
1 Jun 2007, 00:54
PJ is actually a superb kick. ND rated him as one of the best at the club. I'd like to have a crack at a Brisbane ruckman or definately Hale. Maybe Chris Johnson + 2nd round pick?

The Brissy boys, sure, but not Hale. He's horrible.

bringbackschwarter5
1 Jun 2007, 07:46
So everybody's turned their back on the Russian

Brock 'n' Roll
1 Jun 2007, 10:53
The russian is no good. PJ is better at boundry throw ins got a strong body white just gets pushed aside. But with out a doubt White is the one in the middle. But PJ will be good like a david hill. Still can not believe he played on in the goal square last week. :eek:

master bate
1 Jun 2007, 17:36
The thing is if we get another ruckman will they be given more time or nothing like PJ does. Hale goes ok but I wouldn't give much for him (pick 30ish), same with Will Minson. Don't think we would get Wood, Charman or Leunberger. McDonald I wouldn't want. I think we'd have more chance with one of the Adelaide boys, either Meesen or Maric, considering they are vics (i think) and they are behind Biglands, Hudson and Griffen for a game and might want to move on. Would look closely at giving around pick 20 (especially at this stage where its looking like we will have two picks around that mark) for him if hes fair dinkum about playing AFL.

krustyman
1 Jun 2007, 20:55
demons got two huge giants, you dont need more rucks, just train them up.

master bate
3 Jun 2007, 00:36
PJ is trainable, Jamar is tradable. If there was a mid season draft I'd send him straight to Richmond.

krustyman
3 Jun 2007, 00:44
PJ is trainable, Jamar is tradable. If there was a mid season draft I'd send him straight to Richmond.
oh yes please!:D

AllStar7
3 Jun 2007, 01:18
oh yes please!:D

Awesome.

We'll have a 2nd round pick thanks.