View Full Version : Injury Watch
Old Den
29 May 2008, 17:02
You may end up waiting a fair while for an answer shandogg. As you can see most of the Lions fans don't live in Brisbane, don't go to training and have no more idea than you or me. I have asked the same question in the Dt thread, where there is sporadic discussion about the subject, and been advised that he is still feeling pain from his ankle and no closer to resuming than he was a month ago. That ties in with what the club has said publically and is probably as much as it is possible to know at this time.
I wonder if the Lions fans who do live in Brisbane and do go to training have any more idea than you do, Bod Jah
EG; it was reported that Matt Hayden might have had a chance of playing in the next Windies Test - now he is on his way home and missing the next 2 Tests and the ODI games because of an Achilles problem
TheBrownDog
30 May 2008, 00:04
You may end up waiting a fair while for an answer shandogg. As you can see most of the Lions fans don't live in Brisbane, don't go to training and have no more idea than you or me.
Actually, quite a few of us go to training, but our training reports are on the Lions only private board. :thumbsu:
from the afl website
Brisbane Lions: Roe (hamstring), McGrath (hamstring) Drummond (hamstring).
sh.....!
No mention of Browny though...
Cousin Jed
1 Jun 2008, 01:23
The Lions were something of a “walking wounded” by the end of Saturday night’s clash, with Brown not at 100 per cent, Joel Patfull limping in the wake of a third-quarter lower leg injury and Ash McGrath, Jason Roe and Josh Drummond all on the bench with hamstring tightness.
Matthews is optimistic of all being fit for selection for the Fremantle clash, but is confident the Lions have plenty of depth from which to draft potential replacements.
”.....we had three guys who tightened up in the hamstrings,” Matthews said.
”What that means for the future I don’t know yet. They didn’t seem to do anything really bad but they all suffered. We were down to 19 players in the end.
Link (http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsid=60605)
TheBrownDog
1 Jun 2008, 01:26
Ugh... it begins.
Give them the week off Leigh....look at who we're playing... ;)
Agreed, and that includes Brown......we just might be in some action in September........we will sure as hell need him then......out for a couple of weeks IMO........get him and others right, now.......so that they are ready to go at important end of season..
ok who are the replacements.
McGrath - Proud
Roe - Henderson
Drummond - Copeland / Collier / tyler ??
Brown - Leuenberger (Get Clark in the forward line and Leuey do the ruckwork)
campbell
1 Jun 2008, 09:13
I wonder why Leuy has been in the ressies for so long?
Bushy has an ankle injury, according to BDs report from DanCan on the main section.
Grimreepah
1 Jun 2008, 09:56
Agreed, and that includes Brown......we just might be in some action in September........we will sure as hell need him then......out for a couple of weeks IMO........get him and others right, now.......so that they are ready to go at important end of season..
I'm hoping he passes a fitness test and plays next week. To get to September we need him playing now.
I prefer him to be rested than walking wounded on the field. Hoping Lions staff would give Brown the same treatment as Black. Not 100%, drop him rightaway, get him fit and back on ground.
I will be pissed if he runs around half fit and aggravates his injury.
I prefer him to be rested than walking wounded on the field. Hoping Lions staff would give Brown the same treatment as Black. Not 100%, drop him rightaway, get him fit and back on ground.
Agree with that.
Grimreepah
1 Jun 2008, 10:31
If you rest players every time they have a niggle then they will miss a lot of footy. Indeed Brown wouldn't have played a game this year. Obviously you don't play him if he isn't fit, but the 'rest him, just in case' approach is going to cause him to miss more games than what the risk of reinjury would.
chopperduck
1 Jun 2008, 10:37
i think the medical staff are pretty good at picking up when the risk of playing with that niggle is too much and they should be rested. agreed, you dont rest them over every lil thing, but if it gets too much, resting them for a week is the best option. we have plenty of players that can come in for a week.
even tho the 3 injuries are pretty major players, i think we should be able to cover them pretty well. as long as they aren't 6-8 week injuries.
we could rest them for a week to be on the safe side if needed i think.
The Lions were something of a walking wounded by the end of Saturday nights clash, with Brown not at 100 per cent, Joel Patfull limping in the wake of a third-quarter lower leg injury and Ash McGrath, Jason Roe and Josh Drummond all on the bench with hamstring tightness.
Matthews is optimistic of all being fit for selection for the Fremantle clash, but is confident the Lions have plenty of depth from which to draft potential replacements.
http://afl.com.au/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsid=60605
"Hamstring tightness" sounds a lot better than "hamstring".
On the tv it looked liek Drummond was on the ground getting massaged, not icing.
Will he miss weeks?
konstas_87
2 Jun 2008, 12:25
*cough* dream team question *cough*
we certainly hope not;)
KungFooSing
2 Jun 2008, 18:31
Josh says he's a bit sore but expects to play this week. From his lips.
link (http://www.lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=60693)
CURRENT INJURY LIST
Jonathan Brown (Knee) Test
Ashley McGrath (Hamstring) Test
Jason Roe (Hamstring) Test
Josh Drummond (Hamstring) Test
Haydn Kiel (Hamstring) Test
Wayde Mills (Knee) 1 week
Sam Sheldon (Groin) 1-2 weeks
Nigel Lappin (Achilles) 2 weeks
Colm Begley (Quad) 3 weeks
Pearce Hanley (Hamstring) 3-4 weeks
Matthew Moody (Groin) Indefinite
Well that's the good news I guess.
Funny that Roe went off early and didn't return but is still a test for this week. Coaching staff must be very cautious about injuries atm.
TheBrownDog
2 Jun 2008, 19:10
Begley's quad is becoming a major issue.
Do they ever not become a major issue?
ACL = Quad :p
Grimreepah
2 Jun 2008, 19:45
Man, that injury list is by far the smallest in recent memory. :thumbsu:
I hope you enjoyed it while it lasted.
Cousin Jed
2 Jun 2008, 22:45
Sam Sheldon close to a return :thumbsu:
[QUOTE=mish33;11233291]link (http://www.lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=60693)
QUOTE]
Surely they don't think we're that stupid - it's obviously a quad thats ever troubling Nige.
It's the only logical explanation :confused:
blynd_freddie
2 Jun 2008, 23:28
link (http://www.lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=60693)
CURRENT INJURY LIST
Jonathan Brown (Knee) Test
Haydn Kiel (Hamstring) Test
Sam Sheldon (Groin) 1-2 weeks
Colm Begley (Quad) 3 weeks
Pearce Hanley (Hamstring) 3-4 weeks
Matthew Moody (Groin) Indefinite
Bloody hell the Irish are still 3-4 weeks away?
What are ya doing lads a triathlon of Guinness, Smithwicks and Poitin? Pull ya fingers out. ;)
chopperduck
3 Jun 2008, 09:07
good to see sammy sheldon only 1-2 weeks.
Ray Button
10 Jun 2008, 10:02
Injury List
Monday 9 June 2008
Matthew Moody - Available
Sam Sheldon (Groin) - 1 week
Wayde Mills (Knee) - 1-2 weeks
Haydn Kiel (Hamstring) 2 weeks
Colm Begley (Quad) 2-3 weeks
Nigel Lappin (Achilles) 3 weeks
Pearce Hanley (Hamstring) 3 weeks
Daniel Bradshaw (Hamstring) - TBA
Scott Harding (Knee) - TBA
How about that - Matthew Moody gone from 'Indefinite' to 'Available' in a week, although reports did have him being close! Good luck MAtthew - hope you can get a good run and some game time. Also Sammy Sheldon close to resuming.
On the other end of the scale, Lappin, Begley & Hanley just don't seem to be making progress.
TheBrownDog
10 Jun 2008, 10:30
TBA on Braddy and Harding.
Must be waiting on scans.
O no Moody's back :rolleyes:, better put him in the team later on in the year to boost his trade value lol.
Chasing the Dream
10 Jun 2008, 10:56
Injury List
Monday 9 June 2008
Colm Begley (Quad) 2-3 weeks
Begley did his quad around April 23rd of April I think and was originally listed as 4 weeks:eek:
We all knew what it meant though:D
Tassie4ever
10 Jun 2008, 11:36
O no Moody's back :rolleyes:, better put him in the team later on in the year to boost his trade value lol.
From the same commentary team who brought you the consistent whinging about Sherman and Selwood? How you can bag the bloke before he hits the comeback trail in earnest is beyond me. Someone said the other day in these pages that we sometimes forget these players are only young, and if they have any awareness of the world around them they know that, apart from the settled 24-28 playing list, they are on a knife edge career wise.
Someone obviously saw something in this bloke when he was recruited- using the measuring stick of our draft success rate to date, and the number of very promising types in the Suncoast team, I'd say he was at least deserving of a fair dinkum go at it, depending on form
From what I remember about Moody, at his best he is a very solid accumulator, lacking somewhat in disposal skills, good size, hard at it. Lacked confidence before being injured- bit like the above 2 really, but to the credit of the coaching staff they displayed confidence in them both and they have repaid this in spades. Hope Moody gets the same treatment.
From the same commentary team who brought you the consistent whinging about Sherman and Selwood? How you can bag the bloke before he hits the comeback trail in earnest is beyond me. Someone said the other day in these pages that we sometimes forget these players are only young, and if they have any awareness of the world around them they know that, apart from the settled 24-28 playing list, they are on a knife edge career wise.
Someone obviously saw something in this bloke when he was recruited- using the measuring stick of our draft success rate to date, and the number of very promising types in the Suncoast team, I'd say he was at least deserving of a fair dinkum go at it, depending on form
From what I remember about Moody, at his best he is a very solid accumulator, lacking somewhat in disposal skills, good size, hard at it. Lacked confidence before being injured- bit like the above 2 really, but to the credit of the coaching staff they displayed confidence in them both and they have repaid this in spades. Hope Moody gets the same treatment.lol, it'd be good he moods can pull a JMac.
Ray Button
10 Jun 2008, 16:11
From what I remember about Moody, at his best he is a very solid accumulator, lacking somewhat in disposal skills, good size, hard at it. Lacked confidence before being injured- bit like the above 2 really, but to the credit of the coaching staff they displayed confidence in them both and they have repaid this in spades. Hope Moody gets the same treatment.
Well said - couldn't agree more. Moody is a proven player, coming into that age where he should be able to harden up some given a chance. I think there are several of the younger players on the list who have yet to prove themselves and are in more danger of being delisted or traded than him.
Lace Out
10 Jun 2008, 16:20
Well said - couldn't agree more. Moody is a proven player, coming into that age where he should be able to harden up some given a chance. I think there are several of the younger players on the list who have yet to prove themselves and are in more danger of being delisted or traded than him.
Nah,I reckon Moods is still standing closest to the door.
I've probably been as critical of Moods as most but the bloke has had absolutely no luck with injury. He has had OP in both the 2007 and 2008 pre-seasons. Two years in a row with limited pre-season will knock your confidence, ability and fitness around.
He is on a razor's edge as far as his career goes but it is not a total write-off just yet. Very interested to see how he goes for Suncoast. He has enough talent to retain a spot on the list - the question is whether he gets enough of an opportunity to demonstrate that talent before delisting time.
Quigley
10 Jun 2008, 18:31
Hopefully Moody has been going to MacDonald's kicking coach whilst he has been out. If so he has the other tools to be a pretty reasonable AFL player.
Dylan12
10 Jun 2008, 20:37
I saw a fair bit of Moody playing the year before he was drafted and he was unstoppable playing in the deep full forward line. Obviously the way the game is played at that level is completely different to AFL but I saw him kick multiple big bags.
If he got his fitness right and was able to offer the type of forward 50 pressure Leigh likes, with Ash down back, there is no reason why he couldn't play that Brad Johnson/old Ash McGrath type of role. I know his goal-kicking was a real concern the last time we saw him, which could have related to OP, but I would like to see if he could re-capture some of that form that made him a gun junior and return as a forward pocket.
Yeah Moods is a promising player who had a poor year and then got injured. Is under the pump but could still become a very good player.
Gabbatoir
16 Jun 2008, 20:55
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/default.aspx?newsid=61593)
CURRENT INJURY LIST
Scott Harding (Knee) Available
Michael Rischitelli (Knee) Test
Daniel Bradshaw (Hamstring) Test
Nigel Lappin (Achilles) Test
Haydn Kiel (Hamstring) 1 week
Colm Begley (Quad) 2 weeks
Pearce Hanley (Hamstring) 2 weeks
Pat Garner (Hamstring) 4-6 weeks
Grimreepah
16 Jun 2008, 21:04
Garner's done his hammy again?
Cousin Jed
16 Jun 2008, 21:06
Garner's done his hammy again?
Hamstring is the new quad grim.
They do say the leg muscles are dodgy after coming back from a Reco. Probably why they may be cautious with Bradshaw.
Cousin Jed
21 Jun 2008, 23:52
Update Round 13:
L Power - Leather Poisining (Test)
Grimreepah
21 Jun 2008, 23:55
:D
He should pull up OK.
TheBrownDog
22 Jun 2008, 01:21
Update Round 13:
L Power - Leather Poisining (Test)
Apparently the worst case of it the medicos have seen since Simon Black after the 2003 grand final.
Hope Luke can pull through.
Cara_Cougar #16
23 Jun 2008, 09:14
Guys, how is Blacky going? I heard he showed signs of OP again.
joshhem
23 Jun 2008, 16:15
Good News!
Injury List
Monday 23 June 2008
Travis Johnstone (Hamstring) - Test
Justin Sherman (Back) - Test
Daniel Bradshaw (Hamstring) - Test
Nigel Lappin (Achilles) – Test
Matthew Tyler (Hamstring) - Test
Pearce Hanley (Hamstring) - Test
Jason Roe (Hamstring) – 1 week
Colm Begley (Quad) – 1 week
Pat Garner (Hamstring) - 4-6 weeks
Scott Harding (Knee) - TBA
TheBrownDog
23 Jun 2008, 16:15
Nigel a test? :eek: Good news.
Those time periods are a bit of a joke. They may as well say "Might play soon", "Probably won't play soon but you never know" and "Buggered if I know, I am just the guy that looks after the club website".
"Magic 8 ball says... 2-4 weeks"
konstas_87
23 Jun 2008, 19:36
Those time periods are a bit of a joke. They may as well say "Might play soon", "Probably won't play soon but you never know" and "Buggered if I know, I am just the guy that looks after the club website".
yeah particularly on the quads.
blynd_freddie
23 Jun 2008, 20:04
Lions Injury Test
PART ONE
Q1: Where in the body would you find Achilles Tendonitis?
Q2: What is the common name for Chondromalacia?
Q3: What is ITB syndrome?
Q4: Could Plantar Fasciitis be related to over training?
PART TWO – Essay:
A Quad injury is always listed as 4 weeks… Discuss.
Grimreepah
24 Jun 2008, 01:00
Link (http://wollondilly.yourguide.com.au/news/national/national/sport/work-pays-dividends-for-clark/795179.aspx)
Justin Sherman (back) is a strong chance to play after being a late withdrawal against the Crows, while Travis Johnstone's hamstring is on the mend and could also return to line up against his former club.
Bradshaw's hamstring will be tested this week but the key forward's presence remains up in the air.
Both 10 and ABC NEWS said TJ and B2 were ‘likely’...FWIW...
Grimreepah
25 Jun 2008, 23:44
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=62197)
THE BRISBANE Lions may be close to full strength for Sunday's match against Melbourne at the MCG after a number of key players got through a strong training session at Coorparoo on Wednesday.
Daniel Bradshaw (hamstring), Travis Johnstone (hamstring) and Justin Sherman (back) all ran at top speed at various stages of the 90-minute hit-out.
The trio missed the Lions' 13-point win over Adelaide last weekend, and while not confirmed starters yet, look likely to be added to the squad.
madvass
30 Jun 2008, 15:14
Injury List
Monday 30 June 2008
Travis Johnstone (Hamstring) - Available
Scott Harding (Knee) - Test
Colm Begley (Quad) 1 week
Pat Garner (Hamstring) - 4-6 weeks
Nigel Lappin (Achilles) TBC
No info on Clark, hopefully not to serious.
TheBrownDog
30 Jun 2008, 15:38
Don't like the looks of that TBC next to Nigel.
Does anyone know if nige reaggravated his previous injury?
TheBrownDog
30 Jun 2008, 23:00
Does anyone know if nige reaggravated his previous injury?
Yeah, before the Adelaide match supposedly. Was set to play for Suncoast that weekend.
Just goes to prove that Karma is totally bogus. How this horrendous run of injuries happen to one the nicest people I've met has totally put me of "My Name is Earl".
Or maybe Nige secretly cons old ladies out of their pension cheques.;):D
any word on Mitch's injury?
amortiser
3 Jul 2008, 23:19
Injury List
Monday 30 June 2008
[LEFT]No info on Clark, hopefully not to serious.
Attended training today and Clark had a hefty brace on his knee. He stayed with the stationery group and left the track early.
Hopefully the extra week will see him fit.
Injury List
Monday 7 July 2008
Travis Johnstone (Hamstring) - Available
Scott Harding (Knee) - Available
Jason Roe (Hamstring) – Test
Albert Proud (Chest) - Test
Colm Begley (Quad) – 1 week
Pat Garner (Hamstring) - 1-3 weeks
Nigel Lappin (Achilles) – TBC
Nearly a full strength squad to choose from!
No mention of Clark on that list. A little odd - normally you'd expect a "test" at least.
we've got a reputation for being cagey [pun?] with injuries. I wouldn't be surprised to see Leuey in the emergencies this week.
Chasing the Dream
7 Jul 2008, 22:06
In Leigh's press conference today he mentioned that Nige was not progressing with the injury.
I hope he is wrong, but TBC makes me think the worst.:(
TheBrownDog
7 Jul 2008, 22:17
we've got a reputation for being cagey [pun?] with injuries. I wouldn't be surprised to see Leuey in the emergencies this week.
From what I saw at training today, Leuey will play seniors this week.
Is that a reference to how Clark was travelling?
TheBrownDog
7 Jul 2008, 22:44
Is that a reference to how Clark was travelling?
Yeah, doubt Mitch will play this week.
madvass
14 Jul 2008, 16:03
Injury List
Monday 14 July 2008
Colm Begley (Quad) - Available
Pat Garner (Hamstring) - Available
Jonathan Brown (Hip) - Test
Simon Black (AC Joint) - Test
Matt Austin (Achilles) - Test
Joel Macdonald - 1 week
Nigel Lappin (Achilles) - TBC
Matthew Leuenberger (Knee) - TBC
Grimreepah
14 Jul 2008, 16:13
So Macdonald will miss the WC game as well.
madvass
21 Jul 2008, 14:39
Injury List
Monday 21 July 2008
Jed Adcock (Quad) - Test
Lachlan Henderson (Quad) - Test
Joel Macdonald (Ankle) - Test
Matthew Leuenberger (Knee) - Season
Looks as if Jed's quad not as bad us expected!
Injury List
Looks as if Jed's quad not as bad us expected!
I'll believe it when I see it.
Really hope JMac is back this week.
Lehmo87
22 Jul 2008, 21:58
Adcock will be sorely missed this week. His ball winning ability and the run he generates would have been of great assistance to us vs. tigers.
However, I hope the Lions don't bring him back too early. He has played hampered by injury for far too long this year and we need him back for next year 100%.
Lace Out
22 Jul 2008, 22:14
Adcock will be sorely missed this week. His ball winning ability and the run he generates would have been of great assistance to us vs. tigers.
However, I hope the Lions don't bring him back too early. He has played hampered by injury for far too long this year and we need him back for next year 100%.
I would like to see a couple of eggs put in the 2009 results basket too as we clearly won't be hitting the finals as a side to scare Geelong and a few others.
madvass
28 Jul 2008, 16:17
Injury List
Monday 28 July 2008
Matt Austin (Achilles) - 1 week
Joel Macdonald (Ankle) - 1 week
Haydn Kiel (Hamstring) - 1 week
Well Jmac aint comin' back this week.
Kochie 16
30 Jul 2008, 22:23
Well this ankle injury has screwed Jmac's AA slection chances!
Chasing the Dream
31 Jul 2008, 00:11
Well this ankle injury has screwed Jmac's AA slection chances!
If he was ever a chance, it is now gone.
Only did very light drills at training today, then ran some slow laps and went inside.
Lehmo87
31 Jul 2008, 13:39
Do you reckon they will give Kiel longer than 1 week to recover? Last I heard he was brought in straight away after his last hammy and he did it again pretty quickly.
JasRulz63
4 Aug 2008, 21:27
Injury List
Monday 4 August 2008
Mitch Clark (Quad) - TBA
Matt Tyler (Back/Hamstring) - Test
Joel Macdonald (Ankle) - Test
Daniel Dzufer (Ankle) - Test
Haydn Kiel (Hamstring) - 2-4 weeks
See you next year Mitch Clark...
Kochie 16
4 Aug 2008, 23:01
^ 'Bout the truth of it.
madvass
11 Aug 2008, 13:20
Injury List
Monday 11 August 2008
Matt Austin (Achilles) – Test
Nigel Lappin (Achilles) – TBC
Haydn Kiel (Hamstring) – 2-3 weeks
Mitch Clark (Quad) – 3-4 weeks
Josh Drummond (Thigh) – 4-6 weeks
Matthew Leuenberger (Knee) – Season
Well you can add Clark and Drummond to the season list.