Suncoast Lions
Backs: W Hamill S Clouston J Roe
Half-backs: W Mills D Dzufer J Hawksley
Centres: S Harding B Fixter J Macdonald
Half-forwards: J Neumann J Tippett A Proud
Forwards: M Peterson M Leuenberger B McDonald
Rucks: C Wood M Allan M Moody
Interchange: B Wallis R Harrison A Nash N Lavis J Croxton B Weightman J Murphy

Surprised Beau McDonald isn't first Ruck or interchange, will be intresting to see how he goes playing out of a forward pocket.

Grimreepah
1 Jun 2007, 14:54
We don't really have any small defenders. Hawksley is the shortest at 186.4cm.

POBT
1 Jun 2007, 15:02
16 senior or rookie list players named.

That is a very tall forward line - Bozo and Leuey both 200cm+ and Tippett not far off.

xplo
1 Jun 2007, 15:17
16 senior or rookie list players named.

That is a very tall forward line - Bozo and Leuey both 200cm+ and Tippett not far off.

Not a bad side, is it? Just needs Winged Kiel and Mad Matty Moody to add some pace and run to it.

The Flying Belgian
1 Jun 2007, 15:31
Not a bad side, is it? Just needs Winged Kiel and Mad Matty Moody to add some pace and run to it.

Moods is back this week - listed in the followers.

Kiel will be back most likely next week, Tyler an outside chance for next wek also.

TheBrownDog
1 Jun 2007, 17:26
Moods is back this week - listed in the followers.

Kiel will be back most likely next week, Tyler an outside chance for next wek also.

Moody played last week TFB.

The Flying Belgian
1 Jun 2007, 19:36
Moody played last week TFB.

Really? Must have missed that one. Didn't do much I take it.

TheBrownDog
1 Jun 2007, 20:27
Really? Must have missed that one. Didn't do much I take it.

Kicked a goal.

Sherminator.
2 Jun 2007, 00:16
Kicked a goal.

Kicked 2 actually. :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

TheBrownDog
3 Jun 2007, 19:16
From AFLQ Website

Labrador - 15.10.100 defeated Suncoast Lions 11.20.86

Labrador
Goal Kickers - M Doyle 4, C Munson 3, T Featherstone 2, N Gurciullo, A Shattock, B Stewart, M Witherdon, T Billing, B McBride 1
Best Players - A Shattock, J Slattery, M Clark, C Munson, M Witherdon, B Walker

Suncoast Lions
Goal Kickers - C Wood 4, B Weightman 3, M Leuenberger 2, J Hawksley, W Hamill 1
Best Players - D Dzufer, W Hamill, M Allan, J Macdonald, B McDonald

I didn't make it to the match, did anyone else? Nice to see former Lion Aaron Shattock doing well.

4th Tier
3 Jun 2007, 19:26
Howd Leuenberger go??

Has he been getting much of a run in the ruck?

TheBrownDog
3 Jun 2007, 19:27
Howd Leuenberger go??

Has he been getting much of a run in the ruck?

I didn't go to the game today.

In the last few weeks though he has been played primarily as a forward with stints in the ruck.

Up forward he looks really good. Takes a great pack mark and isn't afraid to use his body.

And my god does he move well!

Dean Cox who? ;)

Judging by your avatar you are a big Berger fan?

4th Tier
3 Jun 2007, 19:41
Judging by your avatar you are a big Berger fan?

yeah good mates with him, just thought i would put his ugly mug as my avatar!!

TheBrownDog
3 Jun 2007, 20:13
yeah good mates with him, just thought i would put his ugly mug as my avatar!!

Any inside info you wanna give?

Is he happy up here?

Sherminator.
3 Jun 2007, 20:32
I think Cameron Wood should be back in the side next week. :thumbsu:

Warwick
3 Jun 2007, 20:40

Good to see our current accuracy in front of the sticks runs deep.

4th Tier
3 Jun 2007, 21:32
Is he happy up here?

Definately enjoying it up in Brisbane, he's just happy to be injury free and having a kick at the moment!!

lionbear
3 Jun 2007, 21:34
31 to 25 scoring shots and to lose, that is not a good sign. But I guess they are getting it down there.

It amazes me, I think Brisbane if you analysed the last 10 years of the AFL have been the most inaccurate side or close to it. Just luckily we where in the best four teams most of that time and got away with it.

TheBrownDog
3 Jun 2007, 22:40
Definately enjoying it up in Brisbane, he's just happy to be injury free and having a kick at the moment!!

Thanks mate :D

Let him know that we are very happy to have him, and he has "cult hero" written all over him.

Quigley
3 Jun 2007, 22:47

Good to see our current accuracy in front of the sticks runs deep.
11.20 I was initially shocked but then I looked at the goal kickers and thought well I wonder how many of those shots were taken by the rucks. Beau in the forward pocket, Berger at FF, Tippett at CHF and Wood resting in the forward line.

Cam with 4 looks good. He showed some great hands last year and hopefully a bit of time in the reserves he might have rediscovered that.

Quigley
3 Jun 2007, 22:51
Interesting comment last week 4th tier made by Alistair Lynch in the commentary that he thought Berger was 3 to 4 weeks away from getting a senior game. I am not sure how much influence Lynchy has over selection but I dare say he has pretty good contacts within the club so you might get to see him on tele shortly.

Grimreepah
3 Jun 2007, 23:19
Interesting comment last week 4th tier made by Alistair Lynch in the commentary that he thought Berger was 3 to 4 weeks away from getting a senior game. I am not sure how much influence Lynchy has over selection but I dare say he has pretty good contacts within the club so you might get to see him on tele shortly.

I doubt Lynchy would know. In fact I doubt the selection panel would be thinking that far ahead. I'm pretty sure Lynch was just saying he would need another 3 or 4 weeks in the ressies before he is even considered.

Quigley
3 Jun 2007, 23:30
I doubt Lynchy would know. In fact I doubt the selection panel would be thinking that far ahead. I'm pretty sure Lynch was just saying he would need another 3 or 4 weeks in the ressies before he is even considered.
Maybe but the context of the comment was implying that we would be seeing him sooner rather than later. It was also after Leigh had made the comment about Clark and Berger being in line for selection - I think its in Clark's thread in the roster watch section. Maybe nothing in it but I for one would like to get a look at him and think a couple of games this season would help his development.

POBT
4 Jun 2007, 10:51
I have heard that the Lions staff are very pleased with Dzufer's progress. I was told that he is taking steps forward every week. From the write-up on this game, it seems he had another good game this week.

TheBrownDog
4 Jun 2007, 13:23
I have heard that the Lions staff are very pleased with Dzufer's progress. I was told that he is taking steps forward every week. From the write-up on this game, it seems he had another good game this week.

Was really good against Mt Gravatt.

Seems a very focused player. Has the makings of an excellent small-medium defender.

POBT
4 Jun 2007, 13:29
Was really good against Mt Gravatt.

Seems a very focused player. Has the makings of an excellent small-medium defender.
I've been a fan for a couple of years. Just seems to step up to whatever level he is playing at. It is good to hear you use the word "focused" - if he ever had an issue, it was a perceived lack of dedication on occasion.

As football continues with this "quarterback" role, he is one bloke in our squad that I could see step up to that role.

TheBrownDog
4 Jun 2007, 13:36
I've been a fan for a couple of years. Just seems to step up to whatever level he is playing at. It is good to hear you use the word "focused" - if he ever had an issue, it was a perceived lack of dedication on occasion.

Just to clarify (and you probably already realised this) but I meant focused on the field, as in he seems to be mentally switched on for the whole match and doesn't let his opponent get the better of him.

As for focused off the field, I have no idea. I've heard tales from other Lions fans a few years ago of Danny scarfing down a few snags on bread before games... :D

The Flying Belgian
4 Jun 2007, 14:54
I've heard tales from other Lions fans a few years ago of Danny scarfing down a few snags on bread before games... :D

Yeah, I though POBT was saying the coaches were pleases he's upped it from 2 snags to 3...

John
4 Jun 2007, 20:39

I got talking to him at the Den a couple of weeks back and he was a nice young bloke who was willing to chat. A credit to himself and his family. He told me he loved it here as well. All the best to him. Hope he becomes a Lions legend.

Crimso
4 Jun 2007, 21:17
As for focused off the field, I have no idea. I've heard tales from other Lions fans a few years ago of Danny scarfing down a few snags on bread before games... :D

The bread is a carb, so that gives a burst of energy while the snags are mainly protein for muscle strength. Thats focused, isn't it?

roostersgal4eva
4 Jun 2007, 21:22
how did Roey go?

The Flying Belgian
4 Jun 2007, 21:48
how did Roey go?

I don't think anyone here made the trip down for it. Chasing The Dream may have gone as he's a Gold Coast boy.

Here's the report from our website: (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=44514)

One poor quarter cost the Suncoast Lions dearly when they crashed to a 14-point defeat at the hands of Labrador on the Gold Coast yesterday.

After an even first half, the Tigers booted five goals to one in the third quarter and then held on under plenty of final quarter pressure to register a fine 15.10 (100)-11.20 (86) victory.

“If you had asked us before the first game we probably would have taken 4-4 and even then might have been getting ahead of ourselves, after the season we had last year,” admitted Labrador coach Byron Donnellan of his side’s 5-3 win-loss record.

Former Lions Reserves 2001 AFLQ premiership player and Brisbane Lions 2002 AFL grand final winner Aaron Shattock showed all his class to pilot the Tigers to victory.

Shattock has been outstanding in recent weeks and provided a clearance, block or tackle whenever his side needed it.

When the Lions drew to within 10 points in the last quarter, it was Shattock who delivered the knockout blow. He won a tough centre clearance and set up Michael Doyle for his fourth goal of the match.

“Aaron Shattock has been as good as any player in this league and today was no different,” Donnellan said.

The Lions were right in the game at halftime when they trailed by just seven points, and persisted right to the end, but the Tigers were always the better looking team on the day.

Suncoast had more scoring shots but the majority of their 20 behinds were rushed under pressure, and few were from set shots.

Tiger half-backs James Slattery and Ben Walker were key parts of the defensive unit that constantly repelled the Lions while Matt Clarke gave Labrador enormous drive from one wing and Matt Witherden was prolific on the ball.

Daniel Dzufer provided a regular avenue to the attacking 50m on one wing for Suncoast, while Marcus Allan was busy in the middle and Joel Macdonald enjoyed his best game since returning from major knee surgery a month ago.

Albert Proud also enjoyed some good periods of the game, while Will Hamill tried hard but was reported on an abusive language charge.

The win was just Labrador’s second in their last nine meetings against Suncoast, both having come at Cooke-Murphy Oval. They now hold a two-game break over fifth-placed Suncoast and are on course for only their second finals appearance in 10 seasons in the State League.

With Wood, McDonald, Leuenberger and Joel Tippett in the side, plus silky skilled tall defender Jason Roe, the Lions had a distinct height advantage.

Wood chipped in with four goals and McDonald did some good work around the ground, but the Lions were unable to capitalize further because Labrador generated slightly more run in the midfield.

“We made a record number of interchanges to keep the runners fresh, more than we normally do,” Donnellan said. “We tried to hit them on the break and play them at their own game, and it seemed to work.

“We tried to get the ball to Clarke and Trembath and run and carry the ball. We backed ourselves and it would have been a good game to watch from a spectator’s point of view.”

Top-up player Ben Weightman, a nephew of former Richmond champion Dale Weightman, showed flashes of sparkle with three goals for the visitors.

Tiny in size, the Caloundra junior continues to benefit from exposure to State League football and has got better with each outing in the AFLQ Velocity Sports Cup.

The Lions face a must-win game against bottom side Redland at the Gabba on Saturday when the rest of the League has a bye due to the Tasmania-Queensland clash in Launceston on Saturday evening.

Scoreboard:

Labrador, 2.4, 8.7, 13.7, 15.10 (100)

Suncoast Lions, 2.6, 6.12, 7.14, 11.20 (86)

Goals, Labrador: M Doyle 4, C Munson 3, T Featherstone 2, N Gurciullo, A Shattock, B Stewart, M Witherdon, T Billing, B McBride 1. Lions: C Wood 4, B Weightman 3, M Leuenberger 2, J Hawksley, W Hamill 1.

Best, Labrador: A Shattock, J Slattery, M Clark, C Munson, M Witherdon, B Walker. Lions: Dzufer, W Hamill, M Allan, J Macdonald, B McDonald.

Corrosion
5 Jun 2007, 19:32
Great to see Dzufer in the best for the Suncoast. He is going to be a star, trust me. :thumbsu:

David_Brent
5 Jun 2007, 19:40
Any chance Dzufer will get promoted before the end of the year?

BigCat2
5 Jun 2007, 19:48
Any chance Dzufer will get promoted before the end of the year?

I think most of our rookies would be a chance to be elevated, but the question is whether the club thinks there's a need to elevate them.

At the moment on our senior list we have Voss retired, and Bradshaw & Garner out for the season, but only Colm Begley has been elevated. Also we have more players fit this year, so we haven't had to resort to rookies.

Grimreepah
5 Jun 2007, 19:52
At the moment on our senior list we have Voss retired, and Bradshaw & Garner out for the season, but only Colm Begley has been elevated. Also we have more players fit this year, so we haven't had to resort to rookies.

Yeah, I'd imagine it will come down to team selection. If they think that a rookie is in our best 22 that will be the point when they promote him.

Dr Pea P.I
5 Jun 2007, 20:08
What nationality is the surname, Dzufer? We are starting to gather quite a continental team.

king_Brown
5 Jun 2007, 21:38
Great to see Dzufer in the best for the Suncoast. He is going to be a star, trust me. :thumbsu:

I tend to disagree. I think he may be a good player as he is only getting better, But I can't see him becomming a star of the game.

However...This may be because I have seen him play, and played alongside him. He has stinks of greatness But he really isn't that special. I was very suprised when we picked him up on the Rookie list last season, IMO there were better players (even bottom age players) that had a much better season than himself.

But as I said he is only getting better, so Time can only tell. I just never really "vishioned" him being a Vossy type player or a 200 gamer is all.

POBT
5 Jun 2007, 22:23
He has stinks of greatness

This is either the greatest turn of phrase of all time or a very funny typo!:D

A few guys who played along side him last year thought he had what it takes.

Dr Pea P.I
5 Jun 2007, 22:52
Totally agree!! I was LMAO when i read this.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

king_Brown
6 Jun 2007, 18:08
This is either the greatest turn of phrase of all time or a very funny typo!:D

A few guys who played along side him last year thought he had what it takes.

Haha yeah opps...that was meant to be "Stints"...

Oh he has what it takes to play footy, no doubt.

I just don't believe he will be our "saviour", or even a superstar as many are hoping.

Exceptional player, not a superstar.

TheBrownDog
6 Jun 2007, 18:33
I just don't believe he will be our "saviour", or even a superstar as many are hoping.

Think you'll be hard pressed finding someone who considers Danny our 'savior'.

That's Matt Tyler's job. ;)

king_Brown
6 Jun 2007, 22:52
What nationality is the surname, Dzufer? We are starting to gather quite a continental team.

German Me thinks.

Quigley
6 Jun 2007, 23:30
Think you'll be hard pressed finding someone who considers Danny our 'savior'.

That's Matt Tyler's job. ;)
Where is the saviour going to play in the firsts TBD? CHB?

BigCat2
6 Jun 2007, 23:38
Where is the saviour going to play in the firsts TBD? CHB?

The Saviour's position is at the right hand of Voss. ;)

Quigley
6 Jun 2007, 23:47
The Saviour's position is at the right hand of Voss. ;)
Lol...

xplo
7 Jun 2007, 11:22

The 'Dz' to begin the word is relatively common in Polish surnames, so that would be my best guess.