View Full Version : 1st of the phantom Drafts
Obviously will be very different after the championships but I though it might spark so debate about the players which might be interesting. It will also give me an idea of who to look out for in the championships.
1.Mathew Kruezer
2.Trent Cotchin
3.Jack Grimes
4.Chris Masten
5.Lachlan Henderson
6.Bradley Ebert
7. Ryce Palmer (previously not in top 25)
8. Cale Morton (10)
9. Jarad Grant (7)
10. Ben McEvoy (17)
11. Marlan Motlop (8)
12.Bellchambers (9)
13.David Myer (11)
14 Cyril Rioli (18)
15.Tony Notte (12)
16.Callan Ward (13)
17 Collier (not in top 25)
18.Steven Gaetner (21)
19.Scott Selwood (15)
20.Tom McNamara (16)
21.Adam Maric (19)
22.James Wundunke (20)
23 Pat Veszpremi (14)
24 James Mulligan (22)
25 Brent Conolly (23)
Brendan Whitecross (24)
sam Reid (25)
What do other guys think. Who have I missed? Who have I grossely overvalued?
Thoughts? comments?
Suckling, Daye, Dale Walker & Normington unlucky
(Brackets denote position on list prior to championships)
Heropsychodreamer
1 Jun 2007, 15:31
Obviously will be very different after the championships but I though it might spark so debate about the players which might be interesting. It will also give me an idea of who to look out for in the championships.
1.Mathew Kruezer
2.Trent Cotchin
3.Jack Grimes
4.Chris Masten
5.Lachlan Henderson
6.Bradley Ebert
7.Jarad Grant
8.Marlan Motlop
9.Bellchambers
10.Cale Morton
11.David Myer
12.Tony Notte
13.Callan Ward
14.Pat Veszpremi
15.Tom McNamara
16.Ben McEvoy
17.Adam Maric
18.James Wundunke
19.Cyril Rioli
20.Steven Gaetner
21.James Mulligan
22.Brent Conolly
23.Brendan Whitecross
24.Sam Reid
25.Joye Daye
Thoughts? comments?
Boy, looks like its time to learn a new set of names!
betterthanu
1 Jun 2007, 15:52
Hamish Hartlett will go VERY high imo
it would be amazing if the top 3 players in the country were from the same club.
I know but they are all gun players. Judd & Ball where from the same team weren't they?
Is that Hartlett from SHC? Where would you put him? He is pretty small and had a car accident or something last year right?
betterthanu
1 Jun 2007, 16:30
Yeah hes from SHC but i dunno anything about the other players so i can't really say where he will go. He is a very very promising player though. Ask anyone whos seen him play.
Gippsland had #2, #3 and #5 from the 2005 draft. Thats probably the best i've heard.
Gilly1972
1 Jun 2007, 16:44
Hamish Hartlett will go very high..............in 2008, ineligible guys
Cheers Gilly.Got any comments about the list. Would you have anything substantially different?
1.Mathew Kruezer
2.Trent Cotchin
3.Jack Grimes
4.Chris Masten
5.Lachlan Henderson
6.Bradley Ebert
7.Jarad Grant
8.Marlan Motlop
9.Bellchambers
10.Cale Morton
11.David Myer
12.Tony Notte
13.Callan Ward
14.Pat Veszpremi
15.Tom McNamara
16.Ben McEvoy
17.Adam Maric
18.James Wundunke
19.Cyril Rioli
20.Steven Gaetner
21.James Mulligan
22.Brent Conolly
23.Brendan Whitecross
24.Sam Reid
25.Joye Daye
Thoughts? comments?
masten maybe ahead of grimes atm
macca231
1 Jun 2007, 18:04
Great list, and it looks like the 07 draft will be quiet strong. Some guys who you may have overlooked are Selwood, and Suckling. I think Andy Otten and Bongetti may be the suprise packets, along with Prismall
Deledio2Tambling
1 Jun 2007, 18:08
Yay! Kruezer, Maric and Rioli for us! :D
Rioli would have to go to the Bombers wouldn't he? Even if they had a top 5 pick I reckon Essendon would continue their love affair with the indigenous types, not to mention the Rioli connection.
Great list, and it looks like the 07 draft will be quiet strong. Some guys who you may have overlooked are Selwood, and Suckling.
Geez how does a Geelong fan forget Selwood
Beat me to it, and like you said, he should go pretty high next year. Absolute freak of a player, and very good at cricket from what I have been told as well.
From what I have seen of Veszpremi this year, I suspect he'll go a bit higher than 14. Just a great midfielder with good pace and ball winning ability.
Not so sure about Maric either. Very very hard to say where he will go in the draft. One thing is for certain though, when he has the ball, things tend to happen.
Arrowsmith is another player that could figure in the top 25.
Rioli would have to go to the Bombers wouldn't he? Even if they had a top 5 pick I reckon Essendon would continue their love affair with the indigenous types, not to mention the Rioli connection.
He is probably the shortest guy on the list. Will slide a bit like Jetta just purely because of size IMO.
betterthanu
1 Jun 2007, 18:21
ahhh yeah thats right, i keep forgetting that
Gilly1972
1 Jun 2007, 18:27
Cheers Gilly.Got any comments about the list. Would you have anything substantially different?
Not really Dan, that's probably a pretty good effort at this stage of proceedings. There might be a few talls I would slot in there somewhere, but the champs will sort that out. Well done for sticking your neck out there :)
Not sure if Grant will go that high either, but no doubt he does have a lot of raw talent.
I have a sneaking suspicion Notte is not eligible this year either, but I am far from certain about that.
Beat me to it, and like you said, he should go pretty high next year. Absolute freak of a player, and very good at cricket from what I have been told as well.
From what I have seen of Veszpremi this year, I suspect he'll go a bit higher than 14. Just a great midfielder with good pace and ball winning ability.
Not so sure about Maric either. Very very hard to say where he will go in the draft. One thing is for certain though, when he has the ball, things tend to happen.
Arrowsmith is another player that could figure in the top 25.
Arrowsmith, Maric & Gaetner will be the most debated in phantom drafts this year I reckon. Some will only see the upside others will only see there flaws.
Not really Dan, that's probably a pretty good effort at this stage of proceedings. There might be a few talls I would slot in there somewhere, but the champs will sort that out. Well done for sticking your neck out there :)
Not sure if Grant will go that high either, but no doubt he does have a lot of raw talent.
I have a sneaking suspicion Notte is not eligible this year either, but I am far from certain about that.
Notte born 15/04/90
Gilly1972
1 Jun 2007, 18:34
Arrowsmith, Maric & Gaetner will be the most debated in phantom drafts this year I reckon. Some will only see the upside others will only see there flaws.
Could arguably add Prismall to that list too
Another thing I didn't consider is where Darcy Daniher will go. Would it be Essendons 2nd pick?
Could arguably add Prismall to that list too
Yeah that's another. Got to wonder with Brent comming out of contract and not getting the opportunities he deserves with Geelong at the moment. Does that make him a little more valuable to Geelong?
Gilly1972
1 Jun 2007, 18:43
Another thing I didn't consider is where Darcy Daniher will go. Would it be Essendons 2nd pick?
Well this will be an interesting first test of the new bidding system....You would think clubs will now include these players in their rankings....if a club is looking for a relatively mobile KPP who can play either end in particular they could use a pick in the top 20 for arguments sake, this could force Essendons hand to use quite a high pick.
macca231
1 Jun 2007, 18:45
Under the new system I think he has to nominate which club, Essendon or Sydney, and I think it would be their third round pick, unless anyone bids for him that is.
Where would you rate some of the other talls in the draft like Lobbe, Stanton, Bongetti etc. Also, Andy Otten looks the goods based on current form.
philhawk
1 Jun 2007, 18:48
What kind of a player is Caleb Morton?
Good effort DanA btw.
Also, of the players you've listed, who would you say is the fastest of the lot?
year of the cat
1 Jun 2007, 18:56
Yeah that's another. Got to wonder with Brent comming out of contract and not getting the opportunities he deserves with Geelong at the moment. Does that make him a little more valuable to Geelong?
Assuming the cats finish top 4 (he writes nervously), who would you speculate that Stephen Wells at this early stage may be looking at? Tough question and purely hypothetical but would be interested to know your thoughts...
What kind of a player is Caleb Morton?
Good effort DanA btw.
Also, of the players you've listed, who would you say is the fastest of the lot?
Tall skinny utility for Claremont. A bit Burtonish for my mind
Fastest player maybe Whitecross. So hard to work that out though
Assuming the cats finish top 4 (he writes nervously), who would you speculate that Stephen Wells at this early stage may be looking at? Tough question and purely hypothetical but would be interested to know your thoughts...
I am guessing they will ideally get a KP backmen or Ruckmen so Gaetner seems the best fit. Selwood will be there abouts as well.
Footy010
1 Jun 2007, 19:19
Cyril Rioli will go top 10. st.kilda recruiter is highly interested after the clarke's both played for the same club and have high regards for him!! he also does the the obvious connections down at essendon and it will be competitive between those two clubs.
No doubt a fantastic talent probably should have be AA last year but Swallow, Jetta, Moss, Bird & Adams are the reasons he slides in my phantom draft.
vinnie_vegas69
1 Jun 2007, 19:40
Gippsland had #2, #3 and #5 from the 2005 draft. Thats probably the best i've heard.
Lachlan Hansen was playing on that team as an underage kid too - If he was a little bit older, it could have been 4 of the top 6 picks from the same team.
philhawk
1 Jun 2007, 21:04
Is Caleb similar to his brother, Jarryd?
It'd be interesting to see if we pick him up.
TheGeneral
1 Jun 2007, 21:06
I think you meant to say Kreuzer and Grimes/Masten for Carlton.
:cool:
Is Cyril Rioli the type of player Carlton need to complement Eddie Betts in our forwardline?
Is Maric another one? :confused:
Footy010
1 Jun 2007, 21:29
i dont know about that. he did play in the scotch forward line in the last match and absolutly dominated. like any ball in the 50 he got and goaled. He would be good in any position. coming off the half back flank or back pocket cause he is a tad small, or forward line with stints in the middle. is an outside player and typicall aboriginal, just pure skill. + an exceptional work ethic.
KING-JAMES
1 Jun 2007, 22:46
Rioli has Essendon written all over him, really think Sheeds will have a good look at him. Bit early to do phantom drafts though...
Perhaps, but what I have seen so far this year, it seems like a pretty solid effort.
KING-JAMES
1 Jun 2007, 23:20
Perhaps, but what I have seen so far this year, it seems like a pretty solid effort.
I agree
I agree
Should know alot more after the carnival, which will start in just over a months time. Looking forward to seeing Masten and Ebert running around for WA and SA respectively.
megladon
2 Jun 2007, 00:50
Is Caleb similar to his brother, Jarryd?
It'd be interesting to see if we pick him up.
its "cale" morton, is already an inch taller then his brothers quick stylish wing or half forward excellent mark is draft age will be top 20 this year
Missing one name. Collier.
From the Tassie VFL seniors games ive seen this year hes an absolute shoe in for top 20, maybe even top 10 depending on his champs form.
Has a good build, excellent pace and rebound off of the half back line, All from a KP CHB/FB, is reguarly in Tassies bests.
In perspective has left Riewoldt, Thorpe and Hislop for dead at the same level.
ChipDouglas
2 Jun 2007, 14:30
He is probably the shortest guy on the list. Will slide a bit like Jetta just purely because of size IMO.
Unlike Jetta he won't slip out of the first round. He's a freak and a hard working little wizard at that. Height is the only thing he lacks apart from that he ticks all the boxes.
The last guy I can think of his height that has gone top 10 in the draft was Sampi in 2001. Still Cyril is a rare talent, I give you that. Maybe if he has a good championship he will move up to somewhere between 8th-14th.
Got to remember this is only a preliminary judgement more to say these are the guys you should be watching and roughly how they would be rated at this stage.
Missing one name. Collier.
From the Tassie VFL seniors games ive seen this year hes an absolute shoe in for top 20, maybe even top 10 depending on his champs form.
Has a good build, excellent pace and rebound off of the half back line, All from a KP CHB/FB, is reguarly in Tassies bests.
In perspective has left Riewoldt, Thorpe and Hislop for dead at the same level.
Is that Tom Collier you are talking about Pykie?
geelong_crazy26
2 Jun 2007, 22:21
what are your thoughts on adam donahue? nothing like his old man a smaller quick half back flanker who reads the play well been best on ground 4 of the 8 games this season an article on him in the sun this morning. looks to be another father son pick for the cats come draft
:thumbsu:
Ebert will go top 3 IMHO. Watched him play in the SANFL today and he looks very similar to Bryce Gibbs this time last year.:thumbsu:
Footynut08
2 Jun 2007, 23:40
Ebert will go top 3 IMHO. Watched him play in the SANFL today and he looks very similar to Bryce Gibbs this time last year.:thumbsu:
Bryce Gibbs hasnt done that well just yet! With all the hype he got before he got picked up, im fairly dissapointed with his game thus far.
TheGeneral
2 Jun 2007, 23:51
Bryce Gibbs hasnt done that well just yet! With all the hype he got before he got picked up, im fairly dissapointed with his game thus far.
That's because you have no idea and you can't see forest for the trees.
You'd know he's a gun if you saw his near flawless game last week where he set up play from the back half with great vision and skill. He's shown more talent than Petterd and played every game yet they can't even give him a rising star nomination. :D
betterthanu
2 Jun 2007, 23:57
As if people cant tell that Gibbs will be a superstar. Just cos hes not one in his 1st season.
Footynut08
3 Jun 2007, 00:03
As if people cant tell that Gibbs will be a superstar. Just cos hes not one in his 1st season.
Never said he wasnt going to be a superstar.. all i said was hasnt lived up to what people made out him to be this yr? is that fare?
Is that fair?
He came over with a huge reputation, and even though he really hasn't had any games where he has carved it up, you can just see that when he gets the ball, he uses it so well, and he just seems to have time to use it as well.
The fact that most weeks he's being dragged back to the goal square by his opponents also shows the opposition rate his ability to read the play and set up attack.
When this kid is given a more attacking role in the team the quality will be on display for all to see and often, not just in patches.
macca231
3 Jun 2007, 12:13
And lets not forget that he is a bottom aged player. Pendlebury didn't do a huge amount in his first year when he was bottom aged either, and now this year he looks like one of the games best youngsters. Deledio is the exception here, mainly due to athletic ability.
Is that Tom Collier you are talking about Pykie?
The one and only.
good draft to think
jarrad grant if recent for continues and form in the carnival
could see him definatly go top 10
The one and only.
Thought it had to be.
Was a little surprised he wasn't selected last year.
TacupWatcher
4 Jun 2007, 14:35
Selwood wont go first round. He is bottom age and if he was to get picked up which theres every chance he will..he will get picked up 2nd round. Defintaly top 10 in '08. McEvoy will definatly go top 10 possibly top 5. And i would think Maric would go a little higher aswell those above have massive massive wraps on his abilitly from what ive heard. Tarrant looks like missing the championships, could hurt his chances of going first round but would still think he'd go fairly high..
Thought it had to be.
Was a little surprised he wasn't selected last year.
Alot of Nth supporters extremely like what they see, and are already talking about possibly picking him up (if hes available).
Was in the bests again, about 7 weeks straight now.
Id put my hand up and say hes probably the best u/18 defender in the country at the moment.
Tall/Fast/Built and very nice hands, reads the ball well and rebounds. IMO reminds me of Matthew Scarlett.
Would go well in the Roo's future backline with Hansen and Gibson.
I think the Roo's would be seriously looking at him, Bongetti and McEvoy come seasons end. McEvoy should be right in our area, as will Collier, Bongetti for the second rounder.
Sounds pretty right to me Pykie.
I'd also imagine someone like a Hurley from Northern would be around in the second round, and might come into the Kangaroos calculations.
Gilly1972
4 Jun 2007, 21:09
Hurley is next year HBF ;)
Oh crap. Thanks for that mate.
Next year is looking pretty good already.
:rolleyes: shut up please
Lightning_Rod
5 Jun 2007, 00:25
Levi Greenwood??
johnson_26
5 Jun 2007, 00:33
Ebert, Kreuzer, Cotchin, McEvoy, Myers, Grimes should comprise the top 6-15 players. From the first 5 - 35 the field is really open. Think of veszpremi as a 15-25 pick. Dont me surprised if masten drops relatively low (20-40) as a query on kicking for a player his height 179cm.
I think nationals and draft camp will have a massive bearing on the make up of the top 25, and it wont be until that time that you could make a relatively good guess at the top 2 dozen.
Ebert, Kreuzer, Cotchin, McEvoy, Myers, Grimes should comprise the top 6-15 players. From the first 5 - 35 the field is really open. Think of veszpremi as a 15-25 pick. Dont me surprised if masten drops relatively low (20-40) as a query on kicking for a player his height 179cm.
I think nationals and draft camp will have a massive bearing on the make up of the top 25, and it wont be until that time that you could make a relatively good guess at the top 2 dozen.
The Nationals will make a big difference but it depends on what you consider a good guess. I think 15 of the guys mentioned at least will be in the top 25 and all will be drafted.
macca231
5 Jun 2007, 19:01
You make some good points, although I doubt Masten will fall out of the top 10, let alone go between 20-40. Most would consider him top 3-5.
Anyone know of any smokeys who are not playing in the TAC cup? or in the other states top competitions...
Levi Greenwood??
Going to have a look at him, as well as Ebert on ABC2 tonight. FYI, it's on at 11:30pm Melbourne time tonight.
Snoop Dog
5 Jun 2007, 21:24
Be very surprised if Masten drops into the 20-40 range. They said the same about Joel Selwood and that was overlooked.
Sherminator.
5 Jun 2007, 21:34
I'm thinking Brisbane will go for a gun midfielder at first pick, then if Whitecross or Reid squeeze through to their second pick, they'd be a chance. :confused:
Going to have a look at him, as well as Ebert on ABC2 tonight. FYI, it's on at 11:30pm Melbourne time tonight.
Keep an eye out for Michael Wundke, starting FF for North Adelaide (18 yo)
Nick Naitanui would have to be up there, freak athlete for a ruckman/KPP
I'm thinking Brisbane will go for a gun midfielder at first pick, then if Whitecross or Reid squeeze through to their second pick, they'd be a chance. :confused:
Guns mids:
Cotchin
Daylight
Grimes
Veszpremi
Ebert
Masten
blues2010
6 Jun 2007, 08:45
Nick Naitanui would have to be up there, freak athlete for a ruckman/KPP
not eligible
philhawk
6 Jun 2007, 09:04
How would you rate the footskills of some of the midfielders, HBF (or anyone else)?
For that matter, based on what you've seen, how would the likes of Cotchin compare to Murphy, Gibbs and Deledio from previous years?
vinnie_vegas69
6 Jun 2007, 10:43
Guns mids:
Cotchin
Daylight
Grimes
Veszpremi
Ebert
Masten
No way is there that big a gap between Cotchin and Masten - Even the rest you mention wouldn't be "daylight" away.
footyhead2
6 Jun 2007, 16:57
i no alot of people will disagree with this but i have played on Grimes Normington and Veszpremi and i found that Normington was the better player of them all...i really struggled against him. i no this is not of late but what are peoples thoughts?
vinnie_vegas69
6 Jun 2007, 17:34
Normington is good, but is very outside in comparison to Grimes and Veszpremi, Grimes in particular.
That might make him much harder to play on as an opponent, particularly if you're not a particularly pacy type yourself, but doesn't mean that his value is going to be higher to AFL teams.
Selwood wont go first round. He is bottom age and if he was to get picked up which theres every chance he will..he will get picked up 2nd round. Defintaly top 10 in '08. McEvoy will definatly go top 10 possibly top 5. And i would think Maric would go a little higher aswell those above have massive massive wraps on his abilitly from what ive heard. Tarrant looks like missing the championships, could hurt his chances of going first round but would still think he'd go fairly high..
what happened to tarrant?
Hurt his shoulder, possible dislocation, could miss the rest of the season which is a massive shame, as he hasn't really had a chance to prove himself against quality opposition.
No way is there that big a gap between Cotchin and Masten - Even the rest you mention wouldn't be "daylight" away.
Perhaps not daylight Vinnie, but IMHO, he a class above the rest of the mids available in this years draft.
Remember, it's just my opinion.
Hurt his shoulder, possible dislocation, could miss the rest of the season which is a massive shame, as he hasn't really had a chance to prove himself against quality opposition.
Di Martino as well.
There are a few others too that'll be missing too, who I was looking forward to seeing. Off the top of my head, Burstin, Henderson and Francis could miss the champs too I think.
Matt Suckling?
yeh, I forgot him. IIRC he had a knee injury, but they weren't sure of the severity of it until he had an MRI. Hope it's not too bad.
Bourky23
6 Jun 2007, 21:23
Oh crap. Thanks for that mate.
Next year is looking pretty good already.
add nick heyne to that list for next year... absolute gun:thumbsu:
Gilly1972
6 Jun 2007, 21:28
What's wrong with Billy?? :(
sprained lateral ligaments in his left knee I think. Real shame as he's a super talent :(
add nick heyne to that list for next year... absolute gun:thumbsu:
Billy Harris from Dandenong
James Strauss from Oakleigh
blues2010
7 Jun 2007, 10:38
Straussy not eligible this year but a good player. Do you mean Billy Hayes?
number 17. Not many notice him, but is rated at Dandy. Good call
Taking this thread in a slightly different direction I have listed about 30 players from the TAC that I expect to be real chances come draft time. These are not the best players necessarily in the TAC but players who I believe AFL clubs will seriously look at. Obviously the Nationals will sort things out further. Here we go:
Brent Connelly 199 84 Gippsland Jarrad grant 191 77 Dandenong
Steven Gaertner 196 83 Dandenong Scott Simpson 194 91 Dandenong
Ryan Normington 186 76 Murray Ben McEvoy 199 90 Murray
Dawson Simpson 205 97 Murray Andy Otten 192 86 Oakleigh
Matt austin 186 74 Nth Ball James Polkinghorne 181 82 Calder
Addam Maric 179 80 Calder Darcy Daniher 195 89 Calder
Ashley Arrowsmith 188 82 Calder Dean Putt 202 88 Calder
Rhyce Prismall 189 86 Western Will Sullivan 202 95 Western
Matthew Suckling 183 80 Dragons Dean Scheetz 192 86 Dragons
John Shaw 197 90 Dragons Robert tarrant 196 92 Bendigo
Scott Selwood 184 81 Bendigo Trent Zomer 194 94 Eastern
Andrew Renton 202 94 Eastern Matthew Lobbe 197 80 Eastern
Lachlan Henderson 196 90 Geelong Patrick Dangerfield 188 80 Geelong
Chris Kangars 193 84 Geelong Matthew Kruezer 199 91 Northern
Patrick Veszpremi 181 83 Northern Trent Cotchin 184 81 Northern
Jack Grimes 187 76 Northern Luke Stanton 191 79 Northern
There are some seriously good players not on this list which I am sure will cause some angst for you out there :eek:
slightlycynical
7 Jun 2007, 11:56
Jesus... Certainly looks like their is going to be some size in the draft this year.
Gilly1972
7 Jun 2007, 11:57
Agree Straussy Heyne and Hayes will be some good ones to keep an eye on next year, Ash Smith as well. From my understanding, there could also be two standout KPP's come next year. Tom Lynch and Aaron Cornelius. Lynch has been super impressive in his few TAC games this year and was also very good in the Metro trial a few weeks ago. Probably not mentioned much as yet being another of the 2008 crop. With Swift hopefully recovering from his knee injury and Hamish Hartlett getting good wraps, Natuini, Garlett, 2008 is shaping up as a strong draft.
Add Trengove, Hurley and Shaun McKernan to that list.
I would say Cornelius looks to be a special talent.
Matt Suckling?
Kruezer, Grimes and Black are rumoured to be out also :(:(
Joe Rossi
7 Jun 2007, 16:22
who many of this list are playing at the champs ? When are the champs ?
Taking this thread in a slightly different direction I have listed about 30 players from the TAC that I expect to be real chances come draft time. These are not the best players necessarily in the TAC but players who I believe AFL clubs will seriously look at. Obviously the Nationals will sort things out further. Here we go:
Brent Connelly 199 84 Gippsland Jarrad grant 191 77 Dandenong
Steven Gaertner 196 83 Dandenong Scott Simpson 194 91 Dandenong
Ryan Normington 186 76 Murray Ben McEvoy 199 90 Murray
Dawson Simpson 205 97 Murray Andy Otten 192 86 Oakleigh
Matt austin 186 74 Nth Ball James Polkinghorne 181 82 Calder
Addam Maric 179 80 Calder Darcy Daniher 195 89 Calder
Ashley Arrowsmith 188 82 Calder Dean Putt 202 88 Calder
Rhyce Prismall 189 86 Western Will Sullivan 202 95 Western
Matthew Suckling 183 80 Dragons Dean Scheetz 192 86 Dragons
John Shaw 197 90 Dragons Robert tarrant 196 92 Bendigo
Scott Selwood 184 81 Bendigo Trent Zomer 194 94 Eastern
Andrew Renton 202 94 Eastern Matthew Lobbe 197 80 Eastern
Lachlan Henderson 196 90 Geelong Patrick Dangerfield 188 80 Geelong
Chris Kangars 193 84 Geelong Matthew Kruezer 199 91 Northern
Patrick Veszpremi 181 83 Northern Trent Cotchin 184 81 Northern
Jack Grimes 187 76 Northern Luke Stanton 191 79 Northern
There are some seriously good players not on this list which I am sure will cause some angst for you out there :eek:
blues2010
7 Jun 2007, 16:44
who many of this list are playing at the champs ? When are the champs ?
late June early July. They are still working out the squads for Vic Metro and Country and will have a trial game on this Sunday
scooter600x
7 Jun 2007, 17:01
Brent Connelly 199 84 Gippsland
Ben McEvoy 199 90 Murray
Dawson Simpson 205 97 Murray
Dean Putt 202 88 Calder
Will Sullivan 202 95 Western
Andrew Renton 202 94 Eastern
Matthew Kruezer 199 91 Northern
That's a lot of ruckmen.
There is probably 3 or 4 non vic ruckmen in the running to be drafted in the top 25 as well.
vinnie_vegas69
7 Jun 2007, 20:05
That's a lot of ruckmen.
Well, that's the strength of the draft this year - Just like last year it was a lot of KPPs.
Snoop Dog
8 Jun 2007, 23:29
The rucks in this draft are plentiful - QLD will toss up at least 2 rucks for consideration as well. Tassie has Bellchambers. You have Walsh from SA who is probably more 50:50.
I dont know the numbers for sure but I think its an ave of about 6 rucks taken per draft. This year there should be around 10 by my reckoning.