View Full Version : Who has done better out of the 2006 trade?

RichosGuns
1 Jun 2007, 15:49
So far, who has done better out of the 2006 trade involving Polak, Tarrent and Medhurst? Richmond, Collingwood or Freo
Clearly at this early stage draft picks can't really be involved into the equation because im not sure if any of the swaped draft picks have played games other then Riewoldt

tin can sam
1 Jun 2007, 16:24
Richomnd got Polak for absolutely FA, so I'd vote them.

Hodge2Franklin
1 Jun 2007, 16:49
Collingwood ... If you add Ben Reid in to the deal and consider all factors definitely Collingwood.

It is a myth Richmond gave up nothing for Polak. They gave up Reid.

goal sneak
1 Jun 2007, 16:57
Collingwood ... If you add Ben Reid in to the deal and consider all factors definitely Collingwood.

Yes thats right. They gave up Reid and picked up Polak and Riewoldt. Tigers big winners IMO.

Hodge2Franklin
1 Jun 2007, 17:22
Yes thats right. They gave up Reid and picked up Polak and Riewoldt. Tigers big winners IMO.

Are you kidding me ...

Reid >>> DAYLIGHT >>> Polak + Riewoldt in potential ...

I guess we will know more in 5 years time ...

lookkg386
1 Jun 2007, 18:19

ATM - Polak holding the Richmond backline together, Win for Tigers

Future - Riewoldt to be star, Win for Tigers

makethat2
1 Jun 2007, 19:33
ATM - Polak holding the Richmond backline together, Win for Tigers

Future - Riewoldt to be star, Win for Tigers
held your backline up real well this year hasn't he. hes saved so many games this year for you.

RichosGuns
1 Jun 2007, 19:35
held your backline up real well this year hasn't he. hes saved so many games this year for you.

Just like Medhurst has won so many for you blokes

Polak>Medhurst

DapperDon
1 Jun 2007, 20:19
Are you kidding me ...

what are you basing that on? Ried and Riewoldt have shown nothing and Polak is playing very well for the Tiges.

can't say the same for Medhurst

makethat2
2 Jun 2007, 00:01
Just like Medhurst has won so many for you blokes

Polak>Medhurst
Funny coming from a tiger fan. Think he kicked 4 against the tigers. Thats 1-0.

The Royal Sampler
2 Jun 2007, 02:12
What bizarre responses. Even Freo are leading Collingwood...

... then again, our biggest positive out of this trade hasn't played a game yet, but he did get a BOG in a practice match after being at the club a few months and at a very young 17 years of age.

benny_furs
2 Jun 2007, 04:16

lol

We got a 10 year KPP for nothing and you know it!

Are you kidding me ...

IN fact, on potential Graham Polak was 1 draft pick behind Chris Judd.

Therefore by your simple logic, Polak >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Reid :)

Polak was the #1 KPP in the superdraft. Ben Reid was the what, 5th best KPP? Your "potential" call in your opinion using draft pick numbers is pretty weak as on "potential" or draft pick number Polak is pretty much one of the best KPPs in the comp :)

Funny coming from a tiger fan. Think he kicked 4 against the tigers. Thats 1-0.

Actually, Polak kicked 3 goals against Collingwood in a 10 minute burst up forward.

So your guy kicked 4 goals as a permanent forward, Polak kicked 3 goals from CHB pushing forward while playing a key role down back too, therefore that's 1-0 in our favour ;)

benny_furs
2 Jun 2007, 04:27
Btw Polak has been a much more consistent player than the other two so far imo

Our ruck stocks have been depleted, we have no KP defenders and we've had injuries to big men... but Polak has stood up wherever we have needed him and he has been playing career best footy every week.

Polak has got to be one of our top 2 most important players atm. Richmond are very lucky to have him I reckon, and he is lucky to have Richmond.

Most would say that he's top 2 or 3 in the B+F right now, and since Foley has had 3 average games over the season it's possible that Polak is winning atm (If Kane Johnson wins a B+F for tagging then Polak's defensive and ruck help will be appreciated to the same degree), but my tip is he's #2.

Tarrant has been good, Medhurst has been good too.

I think everybody can lay claim to "winning" out of the deal, but in time the draft picks will start dominating and Freo will come off far worse. They needed to make this trade though, this is their shot at a flag so fair enough.

makethat2
3 Jun 2007, 19:33
lol

We got a 10 year KPP for nothing and you know it!

IN fact, on potential Graham Polak was 1 draft pick behind Chris Judd.

Therefore by your simple logic, Polak >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Reid :)

Polak was the #1 KPP in the superdraft. Ben Reid was the what, 5th best KPP? Your "potential" call in your opinion using draft pick numbers is pretty weak as on "potential" or draft pick number Polak is pretty much one of the best KPPs in the comp :)

Actually, Polak kicked 3 goals against Collingwood in a 10 minute burst up forward.

So your guy kicked 4 goals as a permanent forward, Polak kicked 3 goals from CHB pushing forward while playing a key role down back too, therefore that's 1-0 in our favour ;)
That could be just the dumbest thing I have ever read on this site. Who cares if he kicked 3 goals you lost, we won, Collingwood 1 - Ricmond 0

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
3 Jun 2007, 22:40
Richmond easily. Polak is having his best season ever and Richmond didn't really give up anything, because all they did is downgraded their pick to get Polak, and because they were going to get Riewoldt anyways the downgrade of their pick didn't even matter. So they basically got Polak for free, they won out big time!!!

#1 Tigers Fan
3 Jun 2007, 23:19
The mojoity of the people replying on here seems to be 10-15 year olds bickering over grudjes. IMHO this is how it is:

Richmond:
Polak - Will be an asset to the side's bacline in this year and years to come. Has great hands and much like Hunter or Croad, can drift foward to play Kp forward.

Reiwoldt - Has shown heaps of potential have multiple games with 5+ goals in the VFL for Coburg.

Collingwood:
Medhurst - Has fitted well into Collingwood's gameplan and is playing nicely. Along with Didak, will provide good small forwards.

Reid - From what I have heard has plenty of potential, I havent seen much of him but looks to be an asset to Collingwood's future.

Fremantle:
Tarrant - Has shown that he has the potential to be a good FF and he is playing very well with Pavlich at CHF.

vinnie_vegas69
4 Jun 2007, 00:08
How are people comparing Collingwood and Richmond in this trade? They didn't trade with each other.

Essentially, Fremantle wanted Tarrant, so we told them to go get us a Top 10 draft pick. They did this by trading their pick #13 and Polak to Richmond for pick #8.

Fremantle, then in possession of Pick #8, and Collingwood, not having done anything as of yet, traded Medhurst and Pick #8 to Collingwood.

Good trade for all concerned, IMO - Except for the fact that Freo definitely overestimated how close to a Grand Final they were.

benny_furs
4 Jun 2007, 02:17
Good trade for all concerned, IMO - Except for the fact that Freo definitely overestimated how close to a Grand Final they were.

Yep, plus they under-estimated how good Polak really is!

He's only 22 years old!

Love dealing with you Freo, hope you have some success this year to make the trade worth it otherwise you lost out bigtime.

Where is that thread that said "Freo 2007 = Richmond 2002"....

greenlight
4 Jun 2007, 13:51
polak....looks good in kp

The Grover
4 Jun 2007, 14:34
I'm with the Polak supporters, he has looked quite good so far this year.