View Full Version : This Weeks Game Plan - RUN RUN RUN
With the inclusion of Johnson, Brennan, Begley, Schmidt and Hooper, i would expect to see the Lions to run the ball as much as possible. I am hoping we will use these fresh fast legs for attacking football. I really hope they are not going to be used to flood back. This week i am pretty excited because we will see a forward line structure that should hold us in pretty good stead for the rest of the season. Clark and Brown rotating out of half forward, Johnson as the small lead up forward and Hooper as the crumbing ferret that will add defensive pressure. Obviously we will miss McGrath who has feasted on Brown's crumbs this year. Brennan's role will be an interesting 1, the idea has been floated that Brennan may ruck at some stage. Selection points to that happening (unless Johnson's selection is a furphy and Wood comes into the team). I am hoping Matthews has just exposed Brennnan to the ruck again just to remind him to make the most of his opportunities in the backline because there are much tougher positions on the field.
charles202
1 Jun 2007, 09:21
i like the idea of Brennan in teh rusck for this game off the bench. Richmond has had trouble finding one ruckman let alone two, Brennan may be able to do some damage in his stints in the ruck.
You've got to be kidding.
konstas_87
1 Jun 2007, 10:52
if they were going to drop brennan it had to be for a month. this teaches him nothing.
Geez, I think people are overly harsh on Brennan. He has had more good games than bad so far, IMO. I find it interesting (not you Konstas as I know your view hasn't changed) that some people will name him in their best one week and then call for his head the next. I know he is that kind of frustrating player but still....
I think the lesson he needed to be taught was that losing concentration and a poor effort puts his spot in the side at risk. The message needed to be - you give others guys a shot to take your spot when let your standards drop. The fact is though, Roe's form has dropped and Mills was beaten. Neither commanded a place in the side this week. If Lethal thinks that Brennan is in our best 22, I don't think anything is served by keeping him in the twos when those promoted ahead of him haven't done the job.
Our side was so hesistant running the ball out of defence last week. Collingwood were happy to cover the dangerous players and let the Merrett/Mills types turn in circles looking for the cheap handball to a player under pressure. If Brennan adds a bit more run and unpredictability to our backline, then it might carry through the side.
TheBrownDog
1 Jun 2007, 11:14
Geez, I think people are overly harsh on Brennan. He has had more good games than bad so far, IMO. I find it interesting (not you Konstas as I know your view hasn't changed) that some people will name him in their best one week and then call for his head the next. I know he is that kind of frustrating player but still....
I think the lesson he needed to be taught was that losing concentration and a poor effort puts his spot in the side at risk. The message needed to be - you give others guys a shot to take your spot when let your standards drop. The fact is though, Roe's form has dropped and Mills was beaten. Neither commanded a place in the side this week. If Lethal thinks that Brennan is in our best 22, I don't think anything is served by keeping him in the twos when those promoted ahead of him haven't done the job.
Our side was so hesistant running the ball out of defence last week. Collingwood were happy to cover the dangerous players and let the Merrett/Mills types turn in circles looking for the cheap handball to a player under pressure. If Brennan adds a bit more run and unpredictability to our backline, then it might carry through the side.
I find the problem with Brennan is that when he has a bad game, its REALLY bad.
I agree with what you say, Brennan is one of my favorites, but is definately not a ruckman. Third up around the ground maybe, but not in any man on man situations. It's not the way his brain functions.
I find the problem with Brennan is that when he has a bad game, its REALLY bad.
And that's the problem. People get so caught up in the really bad games (although those games are rarer than they used to be) that they forget that he might have played a pretty good game the week before.
I'm not saying he should be beyond criticism - just that he's one of those guys who is a good target for criticism when the team is not going so well.
The Flying Belgian
1 Jun 2007, 12:16
The thread title just gave me a Goodies flashback
campbell
1 Jun 2007, 12:17
They all can and do have off weeks.They are only human after all. Even Vossy had off weeks, its footy.
Gotta give them some slack.
TheBrownDog
1 Jun 2007, 12:21
Even Vossy had off weeks.
HERESY!
She's a witch! She turned me into a newt!
zrzMhU_4m-g
I hope your gameplan is run run run. Will make the gameplan's match and should be a ripper game. :thumbsu:
Grimreepah
1 Jun 2007, 13:12
And that's the problem. People get so caught up in the really bad games (although those games are rarer than they used to be) that they forget that he might have played a pretty good game the week before.
He's playing fewer and fewer bad games, but is he also playing fewer and fewer brilliant games?
I'd agree with that. That generally seems to be what happens when people get trained to make smarter decisions - the bad gets weeded out, but when those bad options came off frequently, damn they were spectacular.
charles202
1 Jun 2007, 17:30
You've got to be kidding.
Amazingly im not!
Tigers ruck stock have been descimated by injury, Brennan has the leap to stand toe to toe with a raw ruckman, or another KPP moved into the ruck, and will be a lot better around the ground than a raw ruckman, while Charman will get the majority of the time in the ruck i expect Brennan to at least hold his own in the ruck and win around the ground should he be matched up on a ruckman
i still believe Wood will play
TheBrownDog
1 Jun 2007, 17:59
So do I.
At training on Wednesday they were using him in alor of tap work drills with Shermo and Schmidt crumbing.
notting18
1 Jun 2007, 19:02
Hopefully, Wood/Charman mean that if we win the ruck contest easily - we can have some big body to fill the whole in front of richo or another leading forward.
With Power out we may need to use our Height to a definite advantage!
LuckyLuke
1 Jun 2007, 19:13
So do I.
At training on Wednesday they were using him in alor of tap work drills with Shermo and Schmidt crumbing.
Did anyone get to go to training at Albert Park today?
Because of the weather, i thought i'd give it a miss.
danielcanberra
1 Jun 2007, 21:56
Did anyone get to go to training at Albert Park today?
Because of the weather, i thought i'd give it a miss.
Weather was fine.
Boys went through their paces and were really putting on a show - I hope it freaked out the two Richmond spies who were there (there was also a Magpie there - TimtheToolman even has the pic).
I'm quietly confident and really hope that this week is not an off week, and I hope the boys prove me right. ;)
Vipertooth
1 Jun 2007, 23:22
Boys went through their paces and were really putting on a show
That sounds awsome!!! and has given me some more confidence in this game.
Thanks for the report :thumbsu:
Bobby Beecroft
1 Jun 2007, 23:34
Finally someone thats thinking along my lines on this weekly subject.
I would prefer someone that will back themselves & take the game on rather than those that just turn up get there dozen or so disposals, & manage to retain there spot every week without necessarily making a real difference.
GG guys, can't wait:thumbsu:
LuckyLuke
2 Jun 2007, 00:00
Weather was fine.
Too cold. Not for a Tasmanian, i'm sure.;)