View Full Version : All hail king Bolton
Well done Bolts, kept Goodes under control and kicked two goals and gave one to Lloyd.:thumbsu:
Now back to the seconds until we play the Blues :D
S.C[BANKS]
2 Jun 2007, 21:56
Well done Bolts, kept Goodes under control and kicked two goals and gave one to Lloyd.:thumbsu:
Now back to the seconds until we play the Blues :D
lol :thumbsu:
Good on Bolton.
Astute Observer
2 Jun 2007, 22:00
Geez your a tough critic Ant!!
Yes i know :D In all honesty you couldnt drop him on tonights effort.:thumbsu:
J.Hetfield
2 Jun 2007, 22:16
Does he have a matchup v wce? Wouldnt have thought so...
I agree.
High Ryder
2 Jun 2007, 22:19
I would of said Embley, but hes out injured...
JKCeagle
2 Jun 2007, 22:19
Don't you Essendon supporters say that the only reason he's still on your list is to play on Goodes once or twice a year? :p Looks like he's earned another contract extension :thumbsu:
godons81
2 Jun 2007, 22:20
Bolton= first man picked every week;)
J.Hetfield
2 Jun 2007, 22:24
Well we might have to pick him to play on Cox around the ground...He killed the Roos today...
The Dustbin
2 Jun 2007, 22:26
Bolton= first man picked every week;)
Judd?
DeeKayLillee
2 Jun 2007, 22:29
good work bolts - i knew you were up to the challenge mate
maybe DaSawx will have something positive to say, but then again maybe he won't
Brilliant selections this week - a much more disciplined outfit
BABYBOMBERS2007
2 Jun 2007, 22:31
If only Bolton can play that way every match then he would be a really good player.
donsman4eva
2 Jun 2007, 22:46
Well he has probably secured a contract extention on tonights performance....
Longy413
2 Jun 2007, 22:52
Credit where credit is due. He was fantastic.
But....he got a game on the horses for courses theory.
He shouldn't get a game next week, he will though.
RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
2 Jun 2007, 22:53
I wanted Bolton to come in just for this game to play on Goodes and he did a sensational job as usual, but i'm not sure if he should be playing next week, i guess the selecters will make the right decision.
I love Mark Bolton...never doubted him!!
donsman4eva
2 Jun 2007, 23:03
I wanted Bolton to come in just for this game to play on Goodes and he did a sensational job as usual, but i'm not sure if he should be playing next week, i guess the selecters will make the right decision.
They very often get it totally wrong with Bolton :o
The Dustbin
2 Jun 2007, 23:05
I love Mark Bolton...never doubted him!!
Me too.:o
mcgarnacle
2 Jun 2007, 23:06
found myself yelling out "good work Bolts" on numerous occasions tonight. did a great job!!
but it was horses for courses. he's going to feel extremely hard done by.
demoting him next week will only sap his morale though. he'll have to be selected.
Lance Uppercut
2 Jun 2007, 23:09
good game!!!
**** it, credit where credit is due. This guy has been smashed from pillar to post by every single one of us, including me. Was a key component of the win.
Good game Mark!
DonMania#5
2 Jun 2007, 23:19
Bolts is a gun, let's hope he keeps it up :)
Darealrath
2 Jun 2007, 23:46
He shat on Goodes.
I've been a knocker but full credit to him tonight.
krustyman
2 Jun 2007, 23:49
maybe he should just play as a full time tagger.
Tony Delaney
2 Jun 2007, 23:53
good game!!!
**** it, credit where credit is due. This guy has been smashed from pillar to post by every single one of us, including me. Was a key component of the win.
Good game Mark!
Not by me. Well done Bolts. He is no superstar and seriously til I got on big footy I had never heard him bagged by supporters or people I sit around at the football. Many people on here feed off and encourage each other.
He was superb tonight. Two great goals and a hand in another and stopped a duel Brownlow medalist.
Go Bolts
Longy413
2 Jun 2007, 23:55
maybe he should just play as a full time tagger.
It's been tried, he gets burnt by smaller midfielders.
He has a great record against Goodes and Kouta but blokes genuine inside or outside midfielders he battles against.
Tony Delaney
2 Jun 2007, 23:55
Credit where credit is due. He was fantastic.
But....he got a game on the horses for courses theory.
He shouldn't get a game next week, he will though.
Seeing your talking animals pigs a r s e.
If he shouldn't get a game could you care to explain why you say he will.
Longy413
2 Jun 2007, 23:58
[/B]
Your an idiot.
Because there isn't a match up for him, Peverill should be back and he isn't in our best side.
You're getting personal again. How about argueing the point.
Where does he play next week?
Tony Delaney
3 Jun 2007, 00:01
Because there isn't a match up for him, Peverill should be back and he isn't in our best side.
I will leave that up to the selectors. The guy played a blinder.
You think he wont play because there is no match up.
Why do you say he will then.
Longy413
3 Jun 2007, 00:03
I will leave that up to the selectors. The guy played a blinder.
You think he wont play because there is no match up.
Why do you say he will then.
Leave it to the selectors, so you're not willing to have an opinion?
Because we all know Sheedy is a devoted Mark Bolton fan. This is a perfect opportunity to give him another game on the back of a fantastic game tonight.
Do you think there is a role/match up for him?
[/B]
Are you actually reading other threads? Who will you have him play on??
Tony Delaney
3 Jun 2007, 00:24
Leave it to the selectors, so you're not willing to have an opinion?
Because we all know Sheedy is a devoted Mark Bolton fan. This is a perfect opportunity to give him another game on the back of a fantastic game tonight.
Do you think there is a role/match up for him?
I can't be bothered studying the whole Eagles team. Not brushing you off I just don't study the opposition. I am sure there will be a run with role somewhere.
You don't drop a bloke after a game like that.
Question if Sheedy wasn't coach and somebody else was do you then think Bolton would be dropped next week.
Darealrath
3 Jun 2007, 00:26
Could he be used to tag Cox around the ground (though not rucking) while Hille pushes forward or back ?
Longy413
3 Jun 2007, 00:31
I can't be bothered studying the whole Eagles team. Not brushing you off I just don't study the opposition. I am sure there will be a run with role somewhere.
You don't drop a bloke after a game like that.
Question if Sheedy wasn't coach and somebody else was do you then think Bolton would be dropped next week.
So you call me an idiot and tell me I'm talking crap, yet have just admitted you don't have a full understanding of the topic of conversation.
If Sheedy wasn't coach it would be a moot point, he wouldn't be on our list.
Could he be used to tag Cox around the ground (though not rucking) while Hille pushes forward or back ?
Interesting...
I don't think the game is open to the kind of tactic, it should be a fast, free flowing game.
Don't think Bolts could compete in the air with them.
Tony Delaney
3 Jun 2007, 00:57
[quote=Longy413;7721421]So you call me an idiot and tell me I'm talking crap, yet have just admitted you don't have a full understanding of the topic of conversation.
If Sheedy wasn't coach it would be a moot point, he wouldn't be on our list.
The point is he will play next week because he played a blinder. I have a full understanding of the topic I just dont have time to study other teams full list of players nor can I be bothered.
I will answer for you if we had any other coach and Bolton played like he did tonight then he would be playing next week. full stop. Don't try to say otherwise. By the way how many AFL games has he played no around 120, 120 more than you. Is that it Longy you have a bit of jealousy because you made it to the jets and didn't go any further where Bolton has. Its all becoming clear now.
Longy413
3 Jun 2007, 01:02
Um...Didn't I say Bolton will play next week?
You're argueing against me by argueing a point I already mentioned.
And you don't have a full understanding, you've already admitted that.
You really struggle with this playing the ball and not the man thing don't you?
nicho_magic
3 Jun 2007, 02:28
i could not beleive my eyes tonight.
i've just canned him all this year after originally being on his bandwagon. tonight he was special tho. smashed goodes, and did some good things as well.
back to the 2's until we play sydney again tho ahah.
BurnleyBomber
3 Jun 2007, 04:56
Does Mark Bolton have red hair or brown hair? His hair color makes no difference to me, it's just my eyesight is shot and I can't see anymore. Too many vbs and jimmys you see.
Sam the RAMA fan
3 Jun 2007, 05:29
found myself yelling out "good work Bolts" on numerous occasions tonight. did a great job!!
Agreed!
:thumbsu:
Agreed!
:thumbsu:
Anyone who plays a good game should not get dropped the following week including Bolton. Four on the bech gives enough flexibility. There are number of Eagles he could line up on if we get desperate, including Hansen and Embley.
Would they fly him over just to sit him in the stands :D
Just on last nights game i thought the Swans played to Bolts stregths ( wow Bolts and strength sounds funny in the same sentance ) by having Goodes at half back a lot. It ment that Bolton could actually do something effective at times. Sheedy will pick him this week even though he isnt in our best 22. if he is to play then he has to play half forward IMO .It is the role that suites him best and where we seem to get something out of him even if it isnt much.
His shirt front on Malceski took me by suprise. Didn't know he had it in him. Where the f--- has that been the last 10 years?!
BomberDog
3 Jun 2007, 10:59
Yes, my emotions were very confused when Bolts kicked that goal in the last quarter...it was like....it was like vomiting chocolate into my mouth.
I think he will get another game, coz Sheeds walked up to him after the game and tussled his hair in congrats.
jnash196
3 Jun 2007, 10:59
Bolton to tag Judd
No
Judd to tag Bolton
Longy413
3 Jun 2007, 11:09
WEST COAST:
Matt Spangher (shoulder) - 1 week
Jaymie Graham (knee) - 1-2 weeks
Mark Nicoski (shoulder) - 2 weeks
Andrew Embley (knee) - 3 weeks
Ashley Hansen (finger) - 8 weeks
RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
3 Jun 2007, 11:32
His shirt front on Malceski took me by suprise. Didn't know he had it in him. Where the f--- has that been the last 10 years?!
I enjoyed that one, i also though the tackle on Hall by Watson was pretty damn good aswell.
danzan22
3 Jun 2007, 12:02
He played good :eek: it was a game full of surprises.
WEST COAST:
Matt Spangher (shoulder) - 1 week
Jaymie Graham (knee) - 1-2 weeks
Mark Nicoski (shoulder) - 2 weeks
Andrew Embley (knee) - 3 weeks
Ashley Hansen (finger) - 8 weeks
You disappoint me.
All the more reason for playing Bolton again.
Daytripper
4 Jun 2007, 11:34
Maybe Staker.
Or a defensive forward on Wirrpanda if Wirrpanda plays back.
kelvin_sheedy
4 Jun 2007, 11:41
Sorry Bolts.. I was wrong. :o
Correct me if I'm wrong but I seem to remember him nearly killing Roger James in an Elim Final at Port a few years back. He got reported but also did his hammy just before the qtr time siren and I think he was playing quite well at the time.
Apparently he ran into McLaren....
8 weeks... (Williams precedent)
havoc_planet
4 Jun 2007, 18:45
Maybe Bolts Just read The BF Threads about him haha
Mark, you've now taken over Michael as my favourite Bolton! :thumbsu:
http://www.lauraforever.com/mbonthenet/wallpapers/onewall.jpg
Longy413
4 Jun 2007, 19:12
You disappoint me.
How so?
All the more reason for playing Bolton again.
We should play Bolts because I disappoint you?
Maybe Staker.
Probably the most likely match-up, Staker or Hunter.
But I think we have other players in the side that have them covered. Fletcher, Ryder, McPhee for example.
Or a defensive forward on Wirrpanda if Wirrpanda plays back.
I expect Welsh to play on and beat the Panda.
Mark, you've now taken over Michael as my favourite Bolton! :thumbsu:
http://www.lauraforever.com/mbonthenet/wallpapers/onewall.jpg
Can I touch you there?
Only if you'll be my 'soul provider'.
Yes, my emotions were very confused when Bolts kicked that goal in the last quarter...it was like....it was like vomiting chocolate into my mouth.
I think he will get another game, coz Sheeds walked up to him after the game and tussled his hair in congrats.
You are not only a dog in name, but in nature.
donsman4eva
9 Jun 2007, 00:23
Well he played another good game tonight. Loks like he is finally getting his act together. Hopefully he can keep playing like this, or better :thumbsu:
Yeah another game where he did a few things right and didnt make too many Bolton Blunders :thumbsu:
Go Bolts :)
Lance Uppercut
9 Jun 2007, 00:38
it's a great feeling barracking for Bolts!! I'm really enjoying it. Did some nice things tonight. Is earning his spot
Good article on him in the Age this morning (or yesterday morning now, I guess). Always a battler, has to work hard for respect. Yet he's still an AFL footballer where many others aren't. GO BOLTZ!!!
Ya'll get off my boys bandwagon. I defended him on ANZAC day when you were all cussing him out now he's playing like I said he could you love him.
Lance Uppercut
9 Jun 2007, 00:55
Ya'll get off my boys bandwagon. I defended him on ANZAC day when you were all cussing him out now he's playing like I said he could you love him.
It's a pretty simple equation mate. Good games = respect
Dont know about a bandwagon , currently he has a 4 seater buggy but a wagon may follow one day :D
DeeKayLillee
9 Jun 2007, 10:14
Dont know about a bandwagon , currently he has a 4 seater buggy but a wagon may follow one day :D
I am a Bolts fan............ currently in the garage building THAT wagon !!!
Lance Uppercut
9 Jun 2007, 10:18
this is not entirely 100% serious, but...
Imagine if the Bolts could pull of a Dean Wallis? Both "much-maligned" players - obviously very different types - but a late career renaissance from Bolton would give his career the sparkle it so desparately needs.
One thing I'll say again is his preparation, fitness and his genuine ability to make the most of what hes got are absolutely first class.
He is proof that hardwork beats talent when talent doesn't work hard.
If only the likes of Cupido and co put in the hard yards like this bloke, they would have been superstars.
I reckon he should be the clubs fitness coach once his career ends, as hes never had too many injuries and is always close to the fitest at the club.
Longy413
9 Jun 2007, 11:16
Seems like the likely matchup for Chad Cornes next week, massive test and could make a big impact in the outcome of the match.
Made a couple of mistakes last night, but other than that he was very good again.
BomberGal
10 Jun 2007, 01:07
this is not entirely 100% serious, but...
Imagine if the Bolts could pull of a Dean Wallis? Both "much-maligned" players - obviously very different types - but a late career renaissance from Bolton would give his career the sparkle it so desparately needs.
Thank you for that image, I think I just had a mini footy-gasm. :o :D
Let's hope that he keeps his spot in the team the right way.
Tony Delaney
12 Jun 2007, 12:18
Lucky Sheedy didn't read this otherwise Braun might have run riot.
Wrong again Longy, guess there was a match up but hey just come up with some waffle to deflect once again.
EssendonPride
12 Jun 2007, 13:36
Lucky Sheedy didn't read this otherwise Braun might have run riot.
Wrong again Longy, guess there was a match up but hey just come up with some waffle to deflect once again.
Bolt's played well, but was only on him for half the game.
look at all the penguins jump on bolton
Bombs Away
12 Jun 2007, 14:20
He is not in our best 22 and is keeping a spot which we could be using to develop our ripe pickings from the last draft.
Lets all get a bit serious here about his ability.. Whilst he can boss around Goodes and maybe kouta you dont take a spot on your list for a 2 game a year player (2 trick pony). everyone knows that he, whilst tries and is passionate for the club is not the future and will do the boltonesque things we have seen for miles to long..
EssendonPride
12 Jun 2007, 14:41
He is not in our best 22 and is keeping a spot which we could be using to develop our ripe pickings from the last draft.
Lets all get a bit serious here about his ability.. Whilst he can boss around Goodes and maybe kouta you dont take a spot on your list for a 2 game a year player (2 trick pony). everyone knows that he, whilst tries and is passionate for the club is not the future and will do the boltonesque things we have seen for miles to long..
And when he starts doing the "boltonesque things" again, by all means drop him.
But, at the moment, he's contributing, and doing it well.
Why are you in such a rush to see first year players in the side? We've already played 3 of them, with hislop looking the next in line to get a run.
They have plenty of time.
Bombs Away
12 Jun 2007, 14:50
The quicker they all get a sniff of the big league, the more they will know what is required of them, then they can go back to bendigo and hone their skills and come back better. Once players get to 50 games then you start to see big improvement usually.
I just want to get them there asap to fastrack their development. We are not premiership contenders this season (most likely) so we should be working on getting there asap..
EssendonPride
12 Jun 2007, 16:15
The quicker they all get a sniff of the big league, the more they will know what is required of them, then they can go back to bendigo and hone their skills and come back better. Once players get to 50 games then you start to see big improvement usually.
I just want to get them there asap to fastrack their development. We are not premiership contenders this season (most likely) so we should be working on getting there asap..
Well, the only players not to play a game from last years draft are Gumbleton and Hislop. Both are currently injured (although Hislops still playing in the VFL with his).
Houli, Davey, Jetta have all played a few games. Jetta would probably be in now if not for injury.
We need to keep a mix going, fastracking players doesn't always work, and can have negative effects on development.
We're not going to just give the year away and start playing kids. We're sitting 4th on the ladder, it's Hird's last year. Essendon will be doing everything possible to win every single game they play.
Bombs Away
12 Jun 2007, 16:21
Reimers is another who hasnt played, as Neagle. Would like to see both get a game, and Gumby at some stage. I am not saying throw all the kids in and risk winning but some of them might surprise and be in our best 22. I know also that they cant run out the whole season and will need a break (davey may at some stage around round 18-19) but I (as a lot of others) want to see what the future holds and you never know what you may unearth.
Reimers, Neagle, Gumbleton, Hislop, Dempsey - would like to see them all get at least 1 game this year. generally we are carrying 2 players every week who arent in our best 22, by rotating these players through we will lose nothing, also 1st gamers generally go ok as they are as keen as mustard and the addrenaline gets them through, its their 2nd and 3rd and so on when they are comfortable at that level and when they dont work as hard.
I would never want kids played knowing it could cost us a win, but bolton is not the future so there is 1 spot already where they can be rotated through
EssendonPride
12 Jun 2007, 16:29
Reimers is another who hasnt played, as Neagle. Would like to see both get a game, and Gumby at some stage. I am not saying throw all the kids in and risk winning but some of them might surprise and be in our best 22. I know also that they cant run out the whole season and will need a break (davey may at some stage around round 18-19) but I (as a lot of others) want to see what the future holds and you never know what you may unearth.
Reimers, Neagle, Gumbleton, Hislop, Dempsey - would like to see them all get at least 1 game this year. generally we are carrying 2 players every week who arent in our best 22, by rotating these players through we will lose nothing, also 1st gamers generally go ok as they are as keen as mustard and the addrenaline gets them through, its their 2nd and 3rd and so on when they are comfortable at that level and when they dont work as hard.
I would never want kids played knowing it could cost us a win, but bolton is not the future so there is 1 spot already where they can be rotated through
Oops i forgot Reimers, high hopes for him.
Neagles another that would probably have played a game by now, but is injured. Same with Dempsey
I'd say that most of the players you've named will get a game or two at some stage this season, or at least thats what i hope.
I have no problem with rotating our youngsters, giving them a taste then sending them back to Bendigo (ie. Houli), however not in the place of an experienced player that's actually performing.
donsman4eva
12 Jun 2007, 16:32
Correct. But he is the present. We shouldnt be looking too far into the future at this stage of the year. We are 7-4 and looking finals bound. Bolton has done some handy tagging roles in the past 2 weeks and so he will continue to play as long as he keeps doing his assigned jobs. We have to do whatever we can to get into the finals this year while we are a chance. If that means playing Bolton, so be it. Once we are out of finals contention, then we can start rotating youngsters through.