View Full Version : Riska - Too Slow.

FFC + BBFC = BBFFC
2 Jun 2007, 23:30
What is going in is head at the moment? The last couple of weeks he has tried to do far too much with the ball ignoring first and second options and getting caught and truning the ball over.
What has happened to the "voss-like" rischitelli that was in and under with quick hands?
thoughts?

acuguy
2 Jun 2007, 23:32
I have him playing in the 2s next week. Needs to get back to playing a team first role.

Warwick
2 Jun 2007, 23:36
What is going in is head at the moment? The last couple of weeks he has tried to do far too much with the ball ignoring first and second options and getting caught and truning the ball over.
What has happened to the "voss-like" rischitelli that was in and under with quick hands?
thoughts?
Had an off night tonight, but Stiller was kept after the Adelaide game, and Rischa should get another chance next week.

Our ball movement is easily the slowest in the league. I reckon that is a reason why Roe was dropped. He holds up the play for an enternity.

We have to trust our gut instincts and get the ball moving and play on occasionally. I bet we would be last in the competetion for playing on after a mark. Our footskills aren't good enough to continually go back and try and find a target every single time. Let's get the thing into our forward line quickly.

Sherminator.
3 Jun 2007, 00:02
I have him playing in the 2s next week. Needs to get back to playing a team first role.

I don't think he needs a run in the seconds, I think he needs a week of no-football (besides light ball skills and such), so his body can recover, I believe he is playing with an injury.

konstas_87
3 Jun 2007, 01:17
thoughts?

we have to remember rischa and shermo are really young guys, just because theyve both had great patches doesnt mean they are going to be dominating seasons just yet.
they are victims of their own early success.

TheBrownDog
3 Jun 2007, 01:21
Plodded along tonight. Seems like a different player.

Brennan was the seam, just seems to plod along.

notting18
3 Jun 2007, 11:45
I don't think his pace was the issue but his awareness was off last night. Just would hold onto the ball too long, turn to take the wrong path, etc.

BY FAR THE WORSE PLAYER LAST NIGHT WAS BRENNAN THOUGH!!! - he was being beaten on the lead by 10m by KENT KINGSLEY!!:eek: He showed no respect for his man, and as a backman i refuse to show him respect because of it! (whinge complete)

lionbear
3 Jun 2007, 11:49
I think it's a case of being young and still getting use to the riggors of AFL football. They have been training since November last year I think it is only natural that at this stage the young guys do start to feel it now. But they will be better for it as this year they are learning how to A: Cope with the training load and B: One or two of them are learning how to work with a tag on them. I think you will see most of the young guys have a run with the Sun Coast Lions, not because of form but to give there body a rest and have them finish off the year strongly.

Warwick
3 Jun 2007, 12:32
Why do our guys think the easiest path is through the most traffic?

We win the ball at the contest, yet we always handball it back into traffic to a man under the pump. Why can't we clear it wide?

The Flying Belgian
3 Jun 2007, 12:35
BY FAR THE WORSE PLAYER LAST NIGHT WAS BRENNAN THOUGH!!! - he was being beaten on the lead by 10m by KENT KINGSLEY!!:eek: He showed no respect for his man, and as a backman i refuse to show him respect because of it! (whinge complete)

Pretty sure he was on Shhulz for most the night.

campbell
3 Jun 2007, 12:36
He may be carrying an injury, may have off field problems. Who knows.

notting18
3 Jun 2007, 12:43
Pretty sure he was on Shhulz for most the night.
He was but at one stage, 2nd quarter i think, Schultz came off for a spell with a direct swap with Kingsley...when the above happened

Grimreepah
3 Jun 2007, 14:10

I thought he was good. His problem always seems to be that sometimes he drifts off his man, but I think the coaching staff want him to be an offensive defender and are willing to accept that he'll make a mistake every now and then. But his opponent(s) didn't have much of an influence, and I thought he showed good composure rebounding out of defence (ie. no heart in the mouth stuff) and I was particularly happy with the crunching tackle he laid.

This week I'm back on the bandwagon.:D

TheBrownDog
3 Jun 2007, 14:14
I thought he was good. His problem always seems to be that sometimes he drifts off his man, but I think the coaching staff want him to be an offensive defender and are willing to accept that he'll make a mistake every now and then. But his opponent(s) didn't have much of an influence, and I thought he showed good composure rebounding out of defence (ie. no heart in the mouth stuff) and I was particularly happy with the crunching tackle he laid.

Did plenty of good things I'll admit.

But I don't know whether its just a perception thing, but when his man appears to get the better of him it generally appears to be due to a lack of effort and caring on Jared's part.

He just seems so apathetic sometimes. Whereas with Merrett if his man gets the better of him, it generally isn't because of a lack of effort on Daniel's part.

As I said, it may be an illusion based on misinterpreting his body language, but there just seems to be significant periods of every game where Brennan is just not mentally switched on.

Grimreepah
3 Jun 2007, 14:35
Did plenty of good things I'll admit.

But I don't know whether its just a perception thing, but when his man appears to get the better of him it generally appears to be due to a lack of effort and caring on Jared's part.

He just seems so apathetic sometimes.

This description reminds me of what people said about Mark Waugh his whole career. Not saying Brennan is that good just that there is a similar focus on style.

Warwick
3 Jun 2007, 14:44
This description reminds me of what people said about Mark Waugh his whole career. Not saying Brennan is that good just that there is a similar focus on style.
Yep. Thought of him when I read that as well.

Some sportspeople carry on when they look to have done something wrong, others look like they don't give a damn - Waugh, Martyn, Mal Michael. It's not necessarily a bad thing.

xplo
3 Jun 2007, 15:53

Make room, Grim. Me too.

Best game out of JBizzy for a couple of months I thought. Neither Kingsley nor Shulz had any impact on the game. Shulz kicked 5 or 6 against us a couple of years back, is bigger and can take a big grab.

Nullified opponent, 13 disposals 8 marks and kept a cool head. Frightens the willies out of me whenever he gets it, but and seems to lope far too slowly to avoid tackles but they rarely laid a hand on him when he had the pill last night.

notting18
4 Jun 2007, 03:25
I'm sorry but i have been on a different Brennan bandwagon for a long time, and i think im stuck there at the moment. He can 'look' like anything if he plays good footy. I would argue against the point that has been made that Brennan was a rebounding defender so can be beaten occasionaly by his man having a little space. Brennan would be in touch with his opponent and then lose him, not due to trying to rebound, but due to i dont know what. Just to find another example from the game on the weekend (trying to find at least some people to stick with the anti-brennan bandwagon) a ball was kicked into a 70-30(mismatched marking) contest 30m out from richmonds goal. Brennan's opponent was lost outside 50 and Brennan stood alone 5 metres away without even looking like helping out his mate Leppa style....

irel
4 Jun 2007, 08:22
No need to shout it out. In this instance it only shows you up as being biased, prejudiced and in the Richmond (I’ll eat my own) mould.

IMO Brennan had one of his better games for the season. In a game where simple football skills such as kicking and hand passing to your teammate was deficient by a significant margin HE and Drummond stood out like beacons in a storm. He was given a task on two opponents Shultz and Kingsley and neither had any influence for Richmond. Brennan not only nullified their impact but managed to get the ball and be creative when he had it in possession, or at least he didn’t spray it to the opposition like most of his team mates.

This Brennan bashing is getting out of control. Even when the guy has a good game it appears that he will forever be the one isolated for some to vent their spleen.

Give him a break. He is making some significant progress at CHB. Personally I’d rather he be in my team than carving us up in another jumper in a year or two.

POBT
4 Jun 2007, 10:45
IMO, there needs to be a Brennan bandwagon for those who are fans and some sort of caboose for those who waver from week to week!

Back on topic, I have been a little worried about Riska for a few weeks now. I think that it is easy to perceive that he is slow but, in reality, I think it is his decision making and then execution which highlights the fact that he is not a jet. When he is at his best, he seems to find an option as soon as he gets the ball - and you don't notice the fact that he is not super quick. A bit like West, Black and Bartel. Right now, he hasn't got that "speed of thought" and it makes him look slow.

The Flying Belgian
4 Jun 2007, 11:36
IMO, there needs to be a Brennan bandwagon for those who are fans and some sort of caboose for those who waver from week to week!

Back on topic, I have been a little worried about Riska for a few weeks now. I think that it is easy to perceive that he is slow but, in reality, I think it is his decision making and then execution which highlights the fact that he is not a jet. When he is at his best, he seems to find an option as soon as he gets the ball - and you don't notice the fact that he is not super quick. A bit like West, Black and Bartel. Right now, he hasn't got that "speed of thought" and it makes him look slow.

My, you took the sensible pills this morning...

xplo
4 Jun 2007, 11:43

I rewatched the round 2 Saints game and there's nothing wrong whatsoever with his pace. He was running blokes down and breaking clear of congestion all game. He's not an elite 'drag car' like Judd or the Davey's but he'd have to be in the top half in the comp -- that's nothing to brag about, but it's not a concern either.

As POBT said, his decision-making and execution are not quite there at the moment. If you set up twice to give off a handball, but instead keep the ball each time, eventually those blokes that are tracking you arrive. I think he's just looking for a perfect shining option and when it's not there, he gets caught. He needs to simplify things a bit.

Earlier in the year we were more prepared to tap, soccer, shovel, bump or whatever it took to get the ball forward and tried our luck.

astro_toby
4 Jun 2007, 11:57
the tigers will take him. thanks!:)

POBT
4 Jun 2007, 12:08
My, you took the sensible pills this morning...
Are you saying that I'm not normally sensible? :p

POBT
4 Jun 2007, 12:09
I rewatched the round 2 Saints game

I reckon Lethal should get the team to do the same.

Grimreepah
4 Jun 2007, 12:10
As POBT said, his decision-making and execution are not quite there at the moment. If you set up twice to give off a handball, but instead keep the ball each time, eventually those blokes that are tracking you arrive. I think he's just looking for a perfect shining option and when it's not there, he gets caught. He needs to simplify things a bit.

I'd be interested to see stats for players caught holding the ball most, because I think Riska would be right up there. I actually like the fact that he is prepared to run and he is prepared to take a bit of extra time to assess his options, but he needs to improve his awareness if he is going to get away with that.

The Flying Belgian
4 Jun 2007, 14:59
Are you saying that I'm not normally sensible? :p

No comment.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=7735686&postcount=14

POBT
4 Jun 2007, 15:45
No comment.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=7735686&postcount=14
A bit of history never hurt. I am hoping one of our school aged posters completes an assignment on the good emperor. PM me guys if you need any further info.

BigCat2
4 Jun 2007, 16:36
Rischa may be carrying an injury, I don't know. IIRC he and Stiller had knee & ankle (can't remember which) complaints, but they were passed fit to play. I suppose it is possibly that he's carrying a niggle.

I don't think Rischa is slow - I think he's a bit quicker than Black. His main problem at the moment is that he spends too long to deciding what to do / carrying out his disposal after he's got the football, giving time for opposition to nail him. Earlier on in the season he was at the bottom of backs and feeding out quick handballs to teammates. No such problem then.

I'm sure he'll come back.

greendiesel
5 Jun 2007, 12:42
Riska is a talented footballer, but not only do young footballers get physically fatigued, they also get mentally fatigued, and Riska's situation is mostly that.
Once this issue is overcome, and I'm not quite sure how to do it in a hurry, he'll be back to his best.
In horse racing terms, he needs to be freshened up, given a spell etc.

Grimreepah
5 Jun 2007, 13:09
Riska's injury never got much coverage, but when McGrath did his knee (grade 1 medial tear IIRC) it was reported it was the same injury as what Riska had, who didn't miss a game. Perhaps this is what affected his pace rather than a form slump.

don vito of fitzroy
5 Jun 2007, 20:30
Rischitelli has been extremely slow in his decision making. He lacks confidence in his own judgement and he also handballs too often. If he is going to run with the ball and bounce it a few times, he must back himself. He must take risks but he doesn't need to come to an absurd halt and look around like a lost chook.

He needs some time in the reserves and hopefully when he does make the senior side again, he can return to form.