View Full Version : Bendigo vs. Coburg

GoDons
3 Jun 2007, 15:33
Bendigo up by 14 points at quarter time. Slow start but realed them in the second half of the quarter.

The score is 5.2.32 to 3.0.18.
Goalkickers: Cloke 2, Lee, Weekes, Camporeale

Jason Cloke's been very good as has Camporeale.

High Ryder
3 Jun 2007, 15:36
Rama been good as has Hislop..

Bradley leading well, just cant kick.

Johns doing a good job on Riewoldt.

Charliebrow 16
3 Jun 2007, 15:38
Is there a radio station commentating it? or is it on TV?
Be interesting to finally watch a Bendigo Game!

High Ryder
3 Jun 2007, 15:41
http://www.radio1611.com.au/

Listen to it via them.

Charliebrow 16
3 Jun 2007, 15:44
Cheers:thumbsu:

KING-JAMES
3 Jun 2007, 15:47
Hislop sounds like his going really well. Getting involved in the hard stuff same as Lonergan.

Charliebrow 16
3 Jun 2007, 15:50
Hislop sounds like his going really well. Getting involved in the hard stuff same as Lonergan.

I'd like to see Hislop get a game in the seniors... played exceptionally well in most Bendigo games.
Campo and Cloke also playing very well.

donsman4eva
3 Jun 2007, 16:04
Sounds like Heff is going OK aswell.

Charliebrow 16
3 Jun 2007, 16:07
20 point Half Time lead.
Good half by the boys, considering Coburg are 3rd on the ladder.
Cloke proving to be a real handful at FF kicking 4 goals.

donsman4eva
3 Jun 2007, 16:10
If Cloke continues along his merry way, do you think he is a chance of being picked up in the PSD?

Also, Bradley is playing well. Why cant he do that in the AFL?

retroparty
3 Jun 2007, 16:14
If Cloke continues along his merry way, do you think he is a chance of baing piked up in the PSD?

Because some players were meant for the VFL. They look really good in the VFL but cant to the job in the AFL.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
3 Jun 2007, 16:21
If Cloke continues along his merry way, do you think he is a chance of baing piked up in the PSD?

Because he hasn't really played forward at AFL level so he hasn't been able to show that. We havn't seen Bradley play AFL since he was moved to the forward line in the BB side so we havn't been able to see if he's improved, but i think he'll have to wait a while to get a game still.

Campo seems to be carving it up in the VFL, i think we should bring him back to play against the Eagles, even if it's only for that game, i just think we need a classy midfielder with excellent disposal who is good in traffic, and Campo's that man.

Lance Uppercut
3 Jun 2007, 16:30
This is turning into one of those weekends :thumbsu:

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
3 Jun 2007, 16:32
Jason Cloke injured, what a shame, i was hoping he'd kick a massive bag! :(

Charliebrow 16
3 Jun 2007, 16:36
Jason Cloke injured, what a shame, i was hoping he'd kick a massive bag! :(

He had an excellent first half, i wouldn't be surprised if a team picked him up in the PSD because when he is going he's hard to stop.
Coburg had nobody who could go with him.

Rama is starting to get a bit of the ball also:thumbsu:

donsman4eva
3 Jun 2007, 16:45
Good to hear Johns is going OK in defence. I was one that doubted him in defence, but maybe it might be his calling.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
3 Jun 2007, 16:47
Cloke is back on the ground, that's wierd because the commentators said he was injured badly. Hmmm, maybe that's why they are VFL commentators!

Charliebrow 16
3 Jun 2007, 16:47
Campo deserves his spot back in the team next week.
Played a bloody good game so far...
Bendigo just keep kicking further in front.

donsman4eva
3 Jun 2007, 16:48
Cloke is back on the ground, that's wierd because the commentators said he was injured badly. Hmmm, maybe that's why they are VFL commentators!
That and they keep calling Simon Rosa Matt Rosa. He plays next week you clowns! :D

Charliebrow 16
3 Jun 2007, 16:52
Three Quarter Time

Bendigo: 13.6.84
Coburg:6.8.44

Bendigo by 40 points.

ManWithNoName
3 Jun 2007, 16:54
Please god no-one give Sheeds the idea of picking up Jason Cloke.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
3 Jun 2007, 16:54
Did Hislop or Lonergan get a touch that quarter?

donsman4eva
3 Jun 2007, 16:55
Hislop did, the 1 im thinkin of was a clanger though. Dunno about Lonergan.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
3 Jun 2007, 17:03
Hislop did, the 1 im thinkin of was a clanger though. Dunno about Lonergan.
I wonder if he played the full quarter, because if he did, that's pretty disapointing.

EssendonPride
3 Jun 2007, 17:11
CJ to fullback to take over Michaels role after next year? :P

I'd much prefer to see him forward though... Can't help but think he'll have a breakthrough sooner or later.

Charliebrow 16
3 Jun 2007, 17:29
Near Full Time

Bendigo: 19.10.124
Coburg:10.12.72

Great result by the boys, game hasnt ended yet though!

donsman4eva
3 Jun 2007, 17:32
Hislop. Reimers and Rama lookin good in final term.

bomberstomake8
3 Jun 2007, 17:54
CJ to fullback to take over Michaels role after next year? :P

I'd much prefer to see him forward though... Can't help but think he'll have a breakthrough sooner or later.

dont you think mal will play on again?? he seems to be enjoying things out there why wouldnt he?

EssendonPride
3 Jun 2007, 18:36
dont you think mal will play on again?? he seems to be enjoying things out there why wouldnt he?

I can see him playing out 2008, but not sure after that.
I guess alot will depend on where the club is currently at, and whether he is still able to contribute as well as he has been.

Ideally I'd love him to stay on, so long as he's playing as well as he is now.

Yes, he has weaknesses, but the freedom he's given Fletch is invaluable.

The extra time to develop Key backs would be nice as well. Hopefully at least one of Dick and Chartres come on.

ant555
3 Jun 2007, 20:18
Bendigo 19.10.124 def Coburg 10.12.72

Pretty scrappy game in the first half with plenty of mistakes but we pretty much out ran them in the end.

Ricky Dyson - Had a different role in defence today. Played on Danny Meyer for the first three quarters and was beaten easily with Meyer kicking three goals and getting plenty of the ball. Made a few runs from defence himself and was better in the last quarter but overall disapointing.

Scott Campereale - was pretty good today. Used the ball pretty well and was creative. Was in our best 6.

Kepler Bradley - Presented well again and took a few marks. Missed a few goals he should have kicked but was pretty good.

Adam Ramanauskas - Was good today. Probably his best game back. Spent some time in the midfield and showed he can still find the footy and use it well.

Courtney Johns - Played in defence on Riewoldt and had a solid game as Riewoldt only had around 13 possesions and most where well up the ground where he wasnt effective. Took some strong marks at times.He worked forward a few times during the game but needs to continue lifting his workrate.

Chris Heffernan - not really a great day for Heff. Was very quiet early and when he did find the ball he seemed to make plenty of mistakes.

Richard Cole - Ran hard and straight and played well. Had a couple of bad clangers by foot but overall it was a good game from him at half back.

Andrew Lee - Started ok taking some early marks but still looks out of sorts. Played as a forward and struggled to take marks at times.

Tom Hislop - Steady game. Got involved a lot but needs to improve his kicking. Wasnt one of our best but was good all the same.

Sam Lonergan - Started very well getting a number of kicks and ran hard. Was a bit quiet in the third quater but he was doing a taging job at that stage. Finished the game of well with plenty of in and under stuff.

Kyle Reimers - Steady early but finished of with a really good last quarter. Progressing very well.

Dean Dick - went off in the second quarter with a shoulder injury. hadnt done much to that stage.

Danny Charters - played mainly in the ruck and was very good. plenty of run and drive. great game.

Lachlan McKinnon - Steady performance. Wasnt great but wasnt totaly bad either.

Jason Cloke was best on the ground despite him having an ankle injury.
Simon Rosa was also very good.
Ben jolley did his usual hard work and was good.
Weeks was pretty handy for us as was Atkinson

Pawtucket Patriot
3 Jun 2007, 20:23
Ant did anyone perform well enough today to force their way into the game against the eagles?

ant555
3 Jun 2007, 20:25
Ant did anyone perform well enough today to force their way into the game against the eagles?

Sam was the best of the young blokes and Campo the best of the older brigade.

EssendonPride
3 Jun 2007, 20:26

Pretty scrappy game in the first half with plenty of mistakes but we pretty much out ran them in the end.

Ricky Dyson - Had a different role in defence today. Played on Danny Meyer for the first three quarters and was beaten easily with Meyer kicking three goals and getting plenty of the ball. Made a few runs from defence himself and was better in the last quarter but overall disapointing.

Scott Campereale - was pretty good today. Used the ball pretty well and was creative. Was in our best 6.

Kepler Bradley - Presented well again and took a few marks. Missed a few goals he should have kicked but was pretty good.

Adam Ramanauskas - Was good today. Probably his best game back. Spent some time in the midfield and showed he can still find the footy and use it well.

Courtney Johns - Played in defence on Riewoldt and had a solid game as Riewoldt only had around 13 possesions and most where well up the ground where he wasnt effective. Took some strong marks at times.He worked forward a few times during the game but needs to continue lifting his workrate.

Chris Heffernan - not really a great day for Heff. Was very quiet early and when he did find the ball he seemed to make plenty of mistakes.

Richard Cole - Ran hard and straight and played well. Had a couple of bad clangers by foot but overall it was a good game from him at half back.

Andrew Lee - Started ok taking some early marks but still looks out of sorts. Played as a forward and struggled to take marks at times.

Tom Hislop - Steady game. Got involved a lot but needs to improve his kicking. Wasnt one of our best but was good all the same.

Sam Lonergan - Started very well getting a number of kicks and ran hard. Was a bit quiet in the third quater but he was doing a taging job at that stage. Finished the game of well with plenty of in and under stuff.

Kyle Reimers - Steady early but finished of with a really good last quarter. Progressing very well.

Dean Dick - went off in the second quarter with a shoulder injury. hadnt done much to that stage.

What about Chartres? I only heard a bit of the game, at that time he was playing in the ruck. Commentators were saying a couple of nice things about him.

ant555
3 Jun 2007, 20:29
What about Chartres? I only heard a bit of the game, at that time he was playing in the ruck. Commentators were saying a couple of nice things about him.

Oops left Danny off :o
Danny Charters - very good. Rotated in the ruck and gave us heaps all day.

DaSawx
3 Jun 2007, 20:29
Good win without Gumby or Neagle :thumbsu:

ant555
3 Jun 2007, 20:31
Good win without Gumby or Neagle :thumbsu:

And with Johns in defence we had none of the tragets we had early in the year.

DaSawx
3 Jun 2007, 20:33
And with Johns in defence we had none of the tragets we had early in the year.

Yep, and I quite like the Johns in defence experiment and/or learning curve.

EssendonPride
3 Jun 2007, 20:38
Oops left Danny off :o
Danny Charters - very good. Rotated in the ruck and gave us heaps all day.

Ahh, good to hear.

Having not seen any of Bendigo this year, your reports have been great, thanks.

If he makes it into the AFL, what are your thoughts on where he'll play?
Obviously too short for the ruck at 194cm.

With our wealth of forwards, hopefully we see him as more of a backmen? Think i've heard before but can't be sure.

ant555
3 Jun 2007, 20:40
Ahh, good to hear.

Having not seen any of Bendigo this year, your reports have been great, thanks.

If he makes it into the AFL, what are your thoughts on where he'll play?
Obviously too short for the ruck at 194cm.

With our wealth of forwards, hopefully we see him as more of a backmen? Think i've heard before but can't be sure.

Wont have enough size to play on the big forwards but i think he will be able to play as running backman similar to what Wellman used to play.

EssendonPride
3 Jun 2007, 20:42
Wont have enough size to play on the big forwards but i think he will be able to play as running backman similar to what Wellman used to play.

Cheers.

Sounds like a handy type to have sitting around on the rookie list.

Any insite as to why he wasn't picked up in previous drafts?

ant555
3 Jun 2007, 20:44
Cheers.

Sounds like a handy type to have sitting around on the rookie list.

Any insite as to why he wasn't picked up in previous drafts?

Not really sure , i think there was some question marks on his pace and fitness but he has done nothing but improve since he has been over here.

Astute Observer
3 Jun 2007, 20:44

Ant: 1. Reimers
2. Hislop
3. Lonergan

Who's the most developed/performing this year and ready for an opportunity....??

ant555
3 Jun 2007, 20:49
Ant: 1. Reimers
2. Hislop
3. Lonergan

Who's the most developed/performing this year and ready for an opportunity....??

Lonergan just in front of Hislop for mine.Lonergan is a bit better finisher. Both are good at getting the hard ball.
Reimers isnt quite at Sam and Tommy's level yet but he is coming along very well.Kyle hasnt played as much in the midfield as the other two but he is a bit of a hard nut who has plenty of dash.

KING-JAMES
3 Jun 2007, 20:54
Lonergan just in front of Hislop for mine.Lonergan is a bit better finisher. Both are good at getting the hard ball.
Reimers isnt quite at Sam and Tommy's level yet but he is coming along very well.Kyle hasnt played as much in the midfield as the other two but he is a bit of a hard nut who has plenty of dash.

I agree with that, Reimers is doing extreemly well though. Probably passed what the club expected so far considering they think he has the most upside out of anyone in the draft. His very light but gutsy and has a go. Good user of the ball to, i think he plays like the dogs Ryan Griffen a bit.

Hislop and Lonergan will both get games soon one would think.

Astute Observer
3 Jun 2007, 20:56

Cheers Ant - Liked the look of Reimers in terms of pace and prefer Tom's height advantage over Sam if they are in a similar position in terms of progression.....

Astute Observer
3 Jun 2007, 21:17
Cheers Ant - Liked the look of Reimers in terms of pace and prefer Tom's height advantage over Sam if they are in a similar position in terms of progression.....

They didnt make this list though.......

Round 8 SCORES TEAMS TIME/VENUE
19.10-124 Bendigo Bombers
def.
10.12-72 Coburg Tigers

Bendigo Bombers
Goal Kickers: J. Cloke 4, G. Weeks 3, K. Bradley 2, J. Flaherty 2, S. Camporeale, B. Jolley, S. Geary, J. Atkinson, A. Lee, T. Hislop, K. Reimers, D. Chartres
Best Players: K. Bradley, S. Rosa, B. Jolley, C. Johns, R. Cole, S. Camporeale
Coburg Tigers
Goal Kickers: A. Krakouer 3, J. Riewoldt 2, R. Anderson, A. Horne, M. Sewell, D. Meyer, J. Oakley-Nicholls
Best Players: A. Horne, J. Silvester, K. Moore, A. Krakouer, D. Connors, C. Hughes

donsman4eva
3 Jun 2007, 21:20
Any chance of Chartres getting promoted at the end of the year? Seems to be playing good footy. Already looking forward 2 next year. Reimers' number could well end up on my jumper.

mercs
3 Jun 2007, 21:32

Danny Charters - played mainly in the ruck and was very good. plenty of run and drive. great game.

Thanks Ant great summary but was Atkinson, young Jarrod Atkinson who is orginally from Shepparton

The Dustbin
3 Jun 2007, 21:49

As always nice work Ant. :thumbsu:

Jaymin
3 Jun 2007, 21:58
Who played on Krakouer for those who went?

donsman4eva
3 Jun 2007, 22:11

Meyer only kicked 1 goal ;)

I think you are just trying to turn more people against Dyson, aren't you :cool: Well I'm on to you Ant.

Charliebrow 16
3 Jun 2007, 22:24
Bendigo Bombers

I don't agree with that...

Tonche
3 Jun 2007, 23:52
Geez, at this rate, we'd have to be looking at Cloke for next year, surely?

Been in the best every bloody week.

DapperDon
4 Jun 2007, 00:06
Geez, at this rate, we'd have to be looking at Cloke for next year, surely?

no, no, no, no and NO!

donsman4eva
4 Jun 2007, 00:30
I reckon we should have a look at him. Having said that, he is known to be a very good VFL player, but not so sure at AFL. Hopefully he has matured enough to be able to contribute at AFL level. If he was on our list ATM, there is no doubt he would be in our team.

ant555
4 Jun 2007, 09:56
They didnt make this list though.......Round 8 SCORES TEAMS TIME/VENUE
19.10-124 Bendigo Bombers
def.
10.12-72 Coburg Tigers

Bendigo Bombers
Goal Kickers: J. Cloke 4, G. Weeks 3, K. Bradley 2, J. Flaherty 2, S. Camporeale, B. Jolley, S. Geary, J. Atkinson, A. Lee, T. Hislop, K. Reimers, D. Chartres
Coburg Tigers
Goal Kickers: A. Krakouer 3, J. Riewoldt 2, R. Anderson, A. Horne, M. Sewell, D. Meyer, J. Oakley-Nicholls
Best Players: A. Horne, J. Silvester, K. Moore, A. Krakouer, D. Connors, C. Hughes

If you base your opinion on the best players list then you wont always get the full picture. It was one of those games where 8 or 9 players could have made the best 6 ;)

ant555
4 Jun 2007, 09:57
Who played on Krakouer for those who went?

Charters had him for a while when he was in defence but Cole had him for most of the day when Krakouer was in the forward line..

ant555
4 Jun 2007, 09:58
Thanks Ant great summary but was Atkinson, young Jarrod Atkinson who is orginally from Shepparton

Yes it is. He is playing pretty well at the moment.:thumbsu:

ant555
4 Jun 2007, 10:04
Meyer only kicked 1 goal ;)

I think you are just trying to turn more people against Dyson, aren't you :cool: Well I'm on to you Ant.

Well that is why you dont trust the VFL reports ;) Meyer definately kicked more than one goal. It is not the first time they have stuffed the goal kickers up as the gave Gumby a couple of Keplers goals early in the year .....
Anyway back to Dyson i am not trying to turn anyone. I have given my opinion on him. I am hugely disapointed as i really liked him but thats all i have done. No where have i continued in the debate or told people how they should judge him.I am not trying to tun anyone. I really hope Rick does turn it around.
He was thrashed by Myer today. End of story. And if you want another opinion on his game have a look at the other Bendigo review on Bomber Blitz.
Maybe you need to stop being so precious !

donsman4eva
4 Jun 2007, 11:52
LOL, i think you need 2 stop taking things so seriously. I was just kidding mate.

whirl
4 Jun 2007, 12:27
Yes it is. He is playing pretty well at the moment.:thumbsu:

He's bloody quick and can kick it a fair way from what little I've seen. Do we know how old he is? I've seen him listed in two places but they had different birth dates, in one he was about 19 and the other about 23 iirc.

kelvin_sheedy
4 Jun 2007, 12:43
Good to see Bradley, Johns and Cole in the bests. :thumbsu:

Bradley almost deserves another run in the seniors.... as a forward.

ant555
4 Jun 2007, 14:45
LOL, i think you need 2 stop taking things so seriously. I was just kidding mate.

Well i dont see any grins ;)
As far as goals go i see they have Riewoldt down for 2 and he definatly only kicked 1 . Never trust the VFL stats if they dont know they just make them up ;)

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
4 Jun 2007, 16:41
With Dick getting injured in the VFL, and Rama playing an alright game, Rama may just be the one who is promoted onto the senior list!

goodgolly24
4 Jun 2007, 21:15
He's bloody quick and can kick it a fair way from what little I've seen. Do we know how old he is? I've seen him listed in two places but they had different birth dates, in one he was about 19 and the other about 23 iirc.

he's 23 next Feb.

ant555
5 Jun 2007, 16:38
Have to give Dyson a bit more of a tick than i previously did. After seeing the stats (and presuming they are close to correct) He had 26 possessions. Didnt seem like he had it that much on the day.
Was still well beaten by Meyer in the first three quarters but he must of got a bit more of the footy than i noticed in the last quarter.:thumbsu:

donsman4eva
5 Jun 2007, 17:03
Ah, good to see my incesant stat keeping of Dyson is atleast having SOME effect.

deanos_28
5 Jun 2007, 17:29
i know this isnt really to to with bendigo or essendon, but i saw andrew horne got best on for coburg, obviously played a good game? what do you reckon his chances are of being rookied this year if he keeps his form up to a decent standard throughout the year.
personally i thought hed be drafted or rookied last year.

ant555
5 Jun 2007, 19:09
Ah, good to see my incesant stat keeping of Dyson is atleast having SOME effect.

You have to give credit where it is due :thumbsu: He played a bit better than i first thought . Having said that and speaking to others who also saw the game we all thought it wasnt one of his better days.
Lets hope he can get another 2 or 3 games at some stage before the end of the year to prove he still has something to offer :thumbsu:

stander
5 Jun 2007, 21:18
Have to give Dyson a bit more of a tick than i previously did. After seeing the stats (and presuming they are close to correct) He had 26 possessions. Didnt seem like he had it that much on the day.
Was still well beaten by Meyer in the first three quarters but he must of got a bit more of the footy than i noticed in the last quarter.:thumbsu:

Very disappointing Oracle- don't go to sleep in the last quarter, footy is a four quarter game. Who can we rely on now for all the incisive assessments ?

ant555
6 Jun 2007, 10:38
Very disappointing Oracle- don't go to sleep in the last quarter, footy is a four quarter game. Who can we rely on now for all the incisive assessments ?

LOL yeah i will have to lift my game. Guess i got stuck watching the guys who may be in line for senior selection in the last quarter. Particlary Lonergan and Hislop.