View Full Version : Carlton - Most exciting team to watch
illegaleagle
3 Jun 2007, 17:04
they might not win too many games, but most games they play are high scoring and good to watch. For example Carlton - Essendon, Calrton - Kangaroos, Carlton -Collingwood, and today Carlton - Bulldogs. Refreshing to see a team that doesn't worry about playing defensive.
Carlton Brisbane wasn't bad either...
afl genius
3 Jun 2007, 17:12
also Geelong and Blues
DynamoUltra
3 Jun 2007, 17:22
Tend to agree. Good to see them kick high scores, and same with their opposition.
Stripes666
3 Jun 2007, 18:05
agreed. But it shows that attacking football still needs a strong defensive side to be sccessful
Ted Ed Fred
3 Jun 2007, 18:13
Very good to watch, have some good players like Carrazzo too
I'm sick of this notion that a game that is high scoring is great. All it shows is that neither team has a defence. I'd rather watch a close, low-ish scoring game with the backlines on top (note - this does not necessarily mean flooding), with every goal worth it's weight in gold, than a game where there are 50 goals scored between the two teams.
thats because you follow a non vic team and non vic teams get off over boring football
Evil Betty
3 Jun 2007, 22:05
I was very excited watching Carlton play Geelong earlier this season
Carl Spackler
3 Jun 2007, 22:14
Tend to agree. Good to see them kick high scores, and same with their opposition.
Got on them paying $21.00 for the highest score of the round :D
Carlton + Telstra Dome next week = Value Bet
A Living God
3 Jun 2007, 22:26
Carlton's backline has more holes than swiss cheese.
They have almost conceded what West Coast and Adelaide have combined.
bak2bak8889
3 Jun 2007, 22:46
pigs-ass
thats because you follow a non vic team and non vic teams get off over boring football
So a game with 40+ goals is an exciting contest?? :rolleyes:
And how are Vic teams going for premierships in the last 5 years? :rolleyes:
So a game with 40+ goals is an exciting contest?? :rolleyes:
And how are Vic teams going for premierships in the last 5 years? :rolleyes:
Only because we dont have drug enhanced blokes playin for us champ
fishbowl
5 Jun 2007, 00:53
They have the worst backline.
Blue Dawn
5 Jun 2007, 01:11
....and the second best forwardline.;)
fishbowl
5 Jun 2007, 13:45
Equally correct.
Solstice Raver
5 Jun 2007, 16:37
Which puts them in the bottom of the ladder. Food for thought:confused:
Eddie Vedder
5 Jun 2007, 16:40
Dunno bout most exciting, most error ridden team was the thought that come to mind
next 2 rounds will be intesting Port then Hawthorn 2 Winnable Games Especially HAwthorn we won't let them flood we'll make em play our style of footy :) expect 2 High Scoring Games we only had one game under double goal figure was against wCe had heaps of good starts of 5 goals or more 6 compared to 4 under 5 goals in certain games
Blues will beat the kissing cousins from Alberton this week
blues4flag
6 Jun 2007, 21:00
Whilst we might score higher than the vast majority of teams, 7 of the ten teams we've played have scored higher. Hate to bag my own club, but it might be a safer bet placing money on our opponent.
That said, I think we're a fair chance to get over the top of the Power.
bak2bak8889
6 Jun 2007, 22:27
pagan is coaching for his life.. pratt said he expected carlton to win at least 10 games at the start of the year..... or else...... now if you can't win you may as try to kick as many goals as possible to look as if you have created a good list...... analyses: no defence, can run, can create no polish, won't win 10.
EddieBettsIsAChamp
11 Jun 2007, 02:16
We may have the worst backline, but how bout the forward:P
they might not win too many games, but most games they play are high scoring and good to watch. For example Carlton - Essendon, Calrton - Kangaroos, Carlton -Collingwood, and today Carlton - Bulldogs. Refreshing to see a team that doesn't worry about playing defensive.
I haven't seen enough Carlton games this year to judge but I don't believe that high scoring necessarily = exciting to watch.
Games where each side kicks around 20 goals and one wins by a few goals can be annoying as there is no accountability and just a flood of meaningless goals each way. A bit like basketball where often it is only the last quarter of the game that matters.
A tough low scoring affair can be very entertaining to watch where each goal really means something.
DeadlyAkkuret
11 Jun 2007, 03:16
How exciting was the Geelong match yesterday? *snore*
PoidaCat
11 Jun 2007, 04:03
How exciting was the Geelong match yesterday? *snore*
Adelaide Crows Snorefest board.
It's a bit hard when they have a 15 man backline.
Bringing the game into disrepute. A victory for AFL that Geelong won and not Floodelaide.
NorWest Bomber
11 Jun 2007, 15:59
Dunno bout most exciting, most error ridden team was the thought that come to mind
I reckon there pretty good to watch and i like the way they play, At least i don't get chest pains like i do when i watch the Bombers in action;)
Carl Spackler
11 Jun 2007, 18:04
Well, did anyone listen to me and get on the Blues for highest score of the round again? Was 'only' paying $9.00 this week but I'm still smiling.
jrussell
11 Jun 2007, 18:30
I haven't seen enough Carlton games this year to judge but I don't believe that high scoring necessarily = exciting to watch.
A tough low scoring affair can be very entertaining to watch where each goal really means something.
Hawthorn v St Kilda - now there was exciting football:rolleyes:
lethalselbow
11 Jun 2007, 20:05
Yep. Good to watch! :thumbsu: