View Full Version : Bombers a chance to knock over league leaders

greenlight
4 Jun 2007, 13:54
Essendon have knocked of 4 finalists from last year...adelaide, freo, stkilda and now sydney....with west coasts bad record at telstra you gotta think they could maybe knock over another giant....go bombers i hope you can....:thumbsu:

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
4 Jun 2007, 17:13
Let's not get too ahead of ourselves. Their midfield is the best in the comp and Kerr is coming back.
This is how I see it:
Backs:Ours is better
Mids:WC S**ts all over ours.
Forwards:Slight edge in our favour
Rucks:WC S**ts all over ours.
I think it's going to be won through our backline, so we have to have a 2nd ruckman in Laycock or Bradley so that we can leave Ryder in the backline, because he is a massive aprt of our defence!

havoc_planet
4 Jun 2007, 20:43
Oh and you are forgetting, We have to pay the umpires Again too!
Apparently thats what we are doing according to the rest of BF

swansrule100
4 Jun 2007, 20:53
very big chance, essendon kind of have nothing to lose, they wont be expected to win and no one will be down on them if they dont beat the eagles really. If hird keeps weaving his magic you have a chance for one. The midfield is constantly improving, you have a solid defence, the eagles (as awesome as they are) arent the best forward line out there. You also have proven forwards to go to.

Might be worth a tip to try and pinch the lead in the work tipping

wce4premiership
4 Jun 2007, 22:46
Let's not get too ahead of ourselves. Their midfield is the best in the comp and Kerr is coming back.
This is how I see it:
I think it's going to be won through our backline, so we have to have a 2nd ruckman in Laycock or Bradley so that we can leave Ryder in the backline, because he is a massive aprt of our defence!
Glass, water, hunter and brett jones are an extremely good backline, i think you underrate them.

DapperDon
4 Jun 2007, 22:53
Glass, water, hunter and brett jones are an extremely good backline, i think you underrate them.

not underrating them at all, but I think Fletch, Mal, McPhee and Ryder are in excellent form this year and are better than your backline.

You guys wont win it from your forwards kicking goals, you'll need you midfields kicking them, which can be done quite easily for you guys. We need all our mid's to stand up this week and play out of their skin for any chance of victory.

hinders
4 Jun 2007, 23:03
im sorry are you all on pills? essendon are a bottom 4 side sure they beat sydney but they are also a bottom 4 side. i picked them to finish 13th and i stand by that. we will win easily.

DapperDon
4 Jun 2007, 23:06
im sorry are you all on pills?

you go for........ nah too easy.

Jono B
5 Jun 2007, 00:29
im sorry are you all on pills? essendon are a bottom 4 side sure they beat sydney but they are also a bottom 4 side. i picked them to finish 13th and i stand by that. we will win easily.
Wow we are a bottom four side because Hinders said so.:rolleyes:

Cuzz09
5 Jun 2007, 00:42
Eagles will win by 22 points.

Solid backline, super mids and forward line capable of kicking 17+ on the fast Telstra Dome track.

Bombers will no doubt try dirty tactics like usual when we play there.

Blue Dawn
5 Jun 2007, 01:16
laughs knowingly.:rolleyes:

DapperDon
5 Jun 2007, 15:00

If you know of any other way to keep Judd quiet we'd like to hear it.

Ari
5 Jun 2007, 16:10

Mr Hinders.... Sir. Should Essendon bother showing up? :o

Ari
5 Jun 2007, 16:12
Eagles will win by 22 points.

Solid backline, super mids and forward line capable of kicking 17+ on the fast Telstra Dome track.

You're right. Better keep an eye on those eye-gouging bombers hey!!!!!

johnnyhoward
5 Jun 2007, 16:14
The Bombers are 6-4. Pretty good record for a bottom 4 side.

Essendon should win this game, West Coast suspect on the road this year while the Bombers aren't as bad as we think - they seem to lift against the better sides, but lose to teams like Carlton and (almost) Richmond.

kidgorgeous
5 Jun 2007, 16:16
If you know of any other way to keep Judd quiet we'd like to hear it.

Put Mark Bolton on him.:rolleyes:

HotDog
5 Jun 2007, 16:29
This is how I see it:

Interesting.
I would rate our backline better then essendons, by far.
but agree with the rest.

Anything could happen. Essendon are playing real good football ATM.
But Eagles by 40 points

Ari
5 Jun 2007, 16:43
Interesting.
but agree with the rest.

But Eagles by 40 points
Ironically, I had a Swans supporter tell me Swans by 40pts last week. He absolutely bonfied guaranteed it to me. hehehe ;)

Cuzz09
5 Jun 2007, 17:04

Not guilty board.

donsman4eva
5 Jun 2007, 20:31
Interesting.
but agree with the rest.

But Eagles by 40 points
:thumbsd: You gotta be kidding right? Sure, You have Glass, and maybe hunter if he playes there, but then what?

Weve got 6 premierships experience, god knows how many AA's and a rising star nominee to boot. All you have is an AA, and a guy that plays good when he goes forward. Well done.

Cuzz09
5 Jun 2007, 20:53
:thumbsd: You gotta be kidding right? Sure, You have Glass, and maybe hunter if he playes there, but then what?

Weve got 6 premierships experience, god knows how many AA's and a rising star nominee to boot. All you have is an AA, and a guy that plays good when he goes forward. Well done.

Mate, you obviously dont watch too many West Coast games then do you.

Glass and Hunter are there sure but guys like Brett Jones, Chick, Wirra, Selwood, Waters and Hurn have more than held their own this season. You probably will look at those names and laugh - lets hope your players do the same - then we will see what happens.

Killer eagle
5 Jun 2007, 20:53
This is how I see it:

Backs: West Coast is a lot better.
Eagles points against is 718
Bombers points against is 942

Mids:WC Shits all over the bombers.

Rucks:WC Shits all over bombers.

Forwards: Slight edge in the bombers favour.
Eagles points for is 930
Bombers points for is 1011

A lot of Eagles goals comes from there midfield, but Lynch is slowly starting to fire again. Kerr is going to also be back after being well rested on a 2 week break, and would be itching to fire up again. I suspect hes gonna have a huge game.

West Coast by 3 goals.

donsman4eva
6 Jun 2007, 00:12
Mate, you obviously dont watch too many West Coast games then do you.

Glass and Hunter are there sure but guys like Brett Jones, Chick, Wirra, Selwood, Waters and Hurn have more than held their own this season. You probably will look at those names and laugh - lets hope your players do the same - then we will see what happens.
Wirra has played forward alot this season, there is no point trying to deny that. Selwood, Hurn and Waters will have minimal impact as defenders against us because we have a tall forward line, they wont be able to hold our extra talls like Laycock, Hird and maybe Bradley, who has been killing it in the VFL playing CHF.
Backs: West Coast is a lot better.
Eagles points against is 718
Bombers points against is 942

Mids:WC Shits all over the bombers.

Rucks:WC Shits all over bombers.

Forwards: Slight edge in the bombers favour.
Eagles points for is 930
Bombers points for is 1011

A lot of Eagles goals comes from there midfield, but Lynch is slowly starting to fire again. Kerr is going to also be back after being well rested on a 2 week break, and would be itching to fire up again. I suspect hes gonna have a huge game.

West Coast by 3 goals.
WCE's mids DO shit all over Essendons, and thats where we lose games. Our defence is one of the best in the League, if not THE best. But there isnt much they can do if the ball is getting pumped inside 50 about 60 times a game. You need to look at defence on the impact it has on games aswell as points against. Essendons defence if FAR more influential that WCE's defence. We set up alot of our plays through defence, so the defenders are our most important players in the game. The midfielders are your most important players, and so you change your gameplan accordingly, as we do to suit our style.

bak2bak8889
6 Jun 2007, 02:04
I'll tip james hird best on ground... 6kicks 4handballs 10frees for 0 against

mantis
6 Jun 2007, 02:09

Like he gets that many frees every week. F*** you dawks supporters are obsessed with the Bombers. :rolleyes:

EagleMan87
6 Jun 2007, 02:16
Yes, this'll be interesting.

Watch for the umpires to look embarassed when they pay a free:

"Sorry Hirdy, Judd paid me $50k more this week."

Barry Zuckercorn QC
6 Jun 2007, 02:32
This is how I see it:

Spot on! Break even. I was quietly disapointed it wasnt an Eagles Bombers granny in 06 :(

Barry Zuckercorn QC
6 Jun 2007, 02:35

One hardball get during a pivotal part of the game ought to do the trick for Sir James.

lethalselbow
6 Jun 2007, 08:01
Disagree. I think Essendon are playing above themselves. They have a crap midfield and are pretty slow all over the park.

Essendon are:

A pack of plodders with a sprinkle of dying talent.

greenlight
6 Jun 2007, 13:05
Disagree. I think Essendon are playing above themselves. They have a crap midfield and are pretty slow all over the park.

Essendon are:

A pack of plodders with a sprinkle of dying talent.

essendon at there best vs hawthorn at there best...i know who id pick....go bombers

Ari
6 Jun 2007, 13:12
I love the WCE confidence.

Essendon had no chance of beating Adelaide in Rd1, Crows would run them off their feet. They won.
Essendon had no chance of beating Fremantle in Rd2, they're a top4 team and way too good. They won.
Essendon had no chance of beating Brsiabne in Rd8, Brown would tear em a new one.. again. They won.
Essendon had no chance of beating Sydney in Rd10, too fast too good and at home. They won.
Essendon HAVE no chance of beating WCE in Rd11.

DapperDon
6 Jun 2007, 13:49
I love the WCE confidence.

Essendon had no chance of beating Adelaide in Rd1, Crows would run them off their feet. They won.
Essendon had no chance of beating Fremantle in Rd2, they're a top4 team and way too good. They won.
Essendon had no chance of beating Brsiabne in Rd8, Brown would tear em a new one.. again. They won.
Essendon had no chance of beating Sydney in Rd10, too fast too good and at home. They won.
Essendon HAVE no chance of beating WCE in Rd11.

don't forget we had no chance beating St Kilda, as their midfield is too good;)

lethalselbow
6 Jun 2007, 15:46
essendon at there best vs hawthorn at there best...i know who id pick....go bombers

Hawthorn by a country mile. Think we've toweled your lot up 4-5 times in a row now.

Any talent at your team has is about to retire.

greenlight
6 Jun 2007, 16:45
Hawthorn by a country mile. Think we've toweled your lot up 4-5 times in a row now.

we were farrrrrr from our best last time...at our best we would thump yr asssessss

Ari
6 Jun 2007, 17:16

Who won the last final between Essendon and Hawthorn?

In a game that mattered, I know where I'd have my money.

Anyways... it's all just "my team's better than your team" schoolyard crap.

lethalselbow
6 Jun 2007, 17:25
we were farrrrrr from our best last time...at our best we would thump yr asssessss

Yep. We made you look ordinary.

You Essendon lot sure have a lot of excuses. Fair dinkum, cop it on the chin and don't sook. Pathetic stuff coming up with excuses like that. You're beginning to sound like Richmond or St Kilda.

Pathetic.

DapperDon
6 Jun 2007, 17:34

You Essendon lot sure have a lot of excuses. Fair dinkum, cop it on the chin and don't sook. Pathetic stuff coming up with excuses like that. You're beginning to sound like Richmond or St Kilda.

Pathetic.

so pathetic we are only a game behind your team of champions:thumbsu:

kane249
6 Jun 2007, 17:41

Whats the matter? disappointed you don't have Solomon running in and sniping the Eagles midfielders like he did last year?

greenlight
6 Jun 2007, 17:58

Pathetic.

i was being honest we played terrible that day...certainly not at our best....no excuses here..what i did say is that i think essendon are a better team thats all...

kane249
6 Jun 2007, 18:04

Didn't really think that one through did you? Considering we won the flag last year I dare say we could muster 6 players with premiership expereince if we have to as well ;)

As for Rising Star nominees?
D.Chick 1996
A.Selwood 2005
B.Staker 2004
B.Waters 2004

You may want to note Glass and Hunter aren't on that list :p

True none this year, but if he keeps his form up Shannon Hurn should score one by the end of the year

As for your 'god knows how many All-Australians' its only two, Fletcher and McPhee

DapperDon
6 Jun 2007, 18:11
As for your 'god knows how many All-Australians' its only two, Fletcher and McPhee

someone else didn't think this one through either,:p

Hird, Lloyd, J.Johnson. could add Campo too;)

ams4crows
6 Jun 2007, 18:12
wouldn't suprise me if Essendon got up in this one!

kane249
6 Jun 2007, 18:13
Wirra has played forward alot this season, there is no point trying to deny that. Selwood, Hurn and Waters will have minimal impact as defenders against us because we have a tall forward line, they wont be able to hold our extra talls like Laycock, Hird and maybe Bradley, who has been killing it in the VFL playing CHF.

WCE's mids DO shit all over Essendons, and thats where we lose games. Our defence is one of the best in the League, if not THE best. But there isnt much they can do if the ball is getting pumped inside 50 about 60 times a game. You need to look at defence on the impact it has on games aswell as points against. Essendons defence if FAR more influential that WCE's defence. We set up alot of our plays through defence, so the defenders are our most important players in the game. The midfielders are your most important players, and so you change your gameplan accordingly, as we do to suit our style.

If your going to rely on Kepler Bradley to come in and make an impact on the team you could be in bigger trouble then i originally thought :p

If your defense was so great they should be able to cope with getting the ball pumped into their forward line so much and wouldn't have conceeded so many points this year.

As for the Eagles defense not setting up attacks again your not watching too many games. The run out of defense from the likes of Hurn, Selwood and Brett Jones is the reason we've done well thus far. Tony Shaw even said he had Brett Jones in contention for an All Australian place this year so he must be doing something right.

As for height, Staker (196cm), B.Jones (189), Waters (188) and Selwood (189) have proven themselves more then capable of playing on tall opponents in the past so it's not as big an issue as you think

kane249
6 Jun 2007, 18:14
someone else didn't think this one through either,:p

Hird, Lloyd, J.Johnson. could add Campo too;)

He said in the backline champ, you might want to read his original post ;)

lethalselbow
6 Jun 2007, 18:33
i was being honest we played terrible that day...certainly not at our best....no excuses here..what i did say is that i think essendon are a better team thats all...

Mate, that line about not playing well on the day is a clayton's excuse. You pretend not to be sooking and making excuses, but it is just one big excuse.

Usually a side looks terrible when it's being beaten.

Cop a loss on the chin. Be brave. Quit sooking.

lethalselbow
6 Jun 2007, 18:34
so pathetic we are only a game behind your team of champions:thumbsu:

Wasn't calling the Dons pathetic, chief. Just the squealing excuses.

Ari
6 Jun 2007, 19:34
Whats the matter? disappointed you don't have Solomon running in and sniping the Eagles midfielders like he did last year?

Actually, we send our bad eggs packing for another club.

So do you.

Packing on holiday... then pay their bills. Then bring them home ready to go again.

kane249
6 Jun 2007, 19:39

So do you.

Packing on holiday... then pay their bills. Then bring them home ready to go again.

Almost beleivable, apart from the fact you drafted Ty Zantuck which kinda blows your whole arguement out of the water :p

bzparkes
6 Jun 2007, 19:49

So do you.

If you kept abreast of things, you'd know that Cousins has to pay the club back the whole amount for his rehab.

Ari
6 Jun 2007, 19:53
Almost beleivable, apart from the fact you drafted Ty Zantuck which kinda blows your whole arguement out of the water :p

Damn! :o

....I almost made it though!!!!!!!!! ;)

Ari
6 Jun 2007, 19:54
If you kept abreast of things, you'd know that Cousins has to pay the club back the whole amount for his rehab.

Indian givers!!!!!!!!!!!!! :p

halfbackflanker
6 Jun 2007, 22:06
Comparing backlines on the basis of each team's back six doesn't account for the ammount of work WC midfielders do to assist their backs. We saw it against Sydney at Telstra in the 1st round, playing a team which relies heavily on a small number of key forward targets. I'd expect the same philosophy against the Bombers, who are similiar in this respect. In other words, don't expect anything like a shootout but more likely a real grinding battle. As a result it should be a really tight contest - see what the odds are of getting either side under 15.5pts - might be worth the wager.

WC had an appalling record at Telstra some seasons ago, but I think they've won something like 4 of their last 5 matches there since 05, so it may not be quite the ace in the hand that Bombers fans think. Still, to my mind it does make a more even money bet, and the last game there was extremely tight - I think WC just ran over the top of the them in the last quarter, and part of that was thanks to the efforts of Embley and Cousins - neither of whom will be there on Friday.

Like all WC/Ess games, should be a great contest.