View Full Version : Most important player?

shotta
4 Jun 2007, 19:39
Sewell, Brown or Boyle would have to be a massive loss to our structure, I know we are are very even team but who can we least afford to lose?

Alex_au
4 Jun 2007, 19:44
I think if we were to gain injuries suddenly then I would rather it happen to our midfield or defenders. As we have plenty of backup in Murphy, Dawson, Ellis, Muston, Moss, Kennedy.

I would stick Boyle in as our best player that we couldn't afford to lose. With Dicko and Willo out injuried wouldnt it be a blow if Boyle was out of the team. Can you imagine ? Our forward line would be relying on our two kids Franklin and Roughead.

Boyle = most important player to our team this season.

Badga
4 Jun 2007, 20:01
Campbell

Buddy Hero
4 Jun 2007, 20:29
Start of the year i probably would have said Williams... :thumbsu:

Ranno
4 Jun 2007, 20:52
Jeez guys........? Boyle..............? That's a tad over the top. firstly he's played what....20 odd games. He's kicked 20+ goals which is really solid but we can afford to lose him. If Williams were in the side he'd just be another forward....we've got Thorp, Murphy, Dowler, Little etc if need be (worst comes to worst). Campbell is great but not the most important. Hodge is by far the most important. His leadership and composure to our young side (if lost) would be irreplaceable. He's so level-headed and calm and a great example to the rest of the team. We put him where we need him when we need it. If he's in the midfield we win in that department, if he defends he steadies us and as we have seen he can kick goals. His disposal rarely misses the mark either.

kidneyhawks
4 Jun 2007, 22:01
You would have to go the players who can turn the game off there own boot like a Buddy or Hodge, the players that really in 1 quarter win you a game.

Binxy
4 Jun 2007, 22:05
Too easy - Luke Hodge.

boozeDragon
4 Jun 2007, 22:19
I reckon Mitchell is the most crucial guy, really adds polish...... having said that....McGlynn and Lewis aren't bad either. :confused:

Thing is about hawks this season is we have multiple players for each position - decent players that seem to grow with every game they play.

buddy23
4 Jun 2007, 22:21
Robert Campbell.

Chrissie90
4 Jun 2007, 22:39
It has to be the captain, Richie VDB. He is the leader on and off the field - and if he were missing, we would miss him most.

Cheeseman
4 Jun 2007, 22:47
This thread was made once before, my response then was Jordan Lewis, my response now is Jordan Lewis.

Hodgey havin a dog day? No worries, Jordan will make up for it.

Mitch gettin shut down? no stress Lewie will cover it.

Need to drop a mid into the HF line to get us a goal? Stand up Chief.

Our captain's out injured and we lack percieved grunt? Guess who fills the role?

Im biased of course, loved the bloke the first day he pulled on the jumper, and my feeling were reinforced when in his first season, he stepped into a stoush with Michael Voss, and made Vossy think twice about pushin his weight around.

At this stage, he's the premier midfielder of the 2004 draft, and he's all ours. :thumbsu:

macdaddio
4 Jun 2007, 23:02
taylor and campbell

also hodge, mglynn, ,mitchell, crawf, lewis, young, birchall, swelle, ghilim,

oh hell the whole team is just too dam important i just cant make up my mind

go you all mighty hawks

HawkFan15
4 Jun 2007, 23:02
Simple. Croad over the last 3 years has been the one bloke we can't afford to loose and similar to williams with the development of players around him he probably isnt the most important.

Boyle/Croad/Franklin/Crawford/Williams/Jacobs(Because of the players he releases by being in defence) and dare I say loosing either Taylor/Cambell would be huge losses.

I know no one will agree with me on this

But I think the player we can't afford to loose is Ben Mcglynn. He gets alot of the footy and can break lines but so can many others in the midfield. His role though of breaking to the space when we have no one to kick to is just unbelievable.

The reason I say this is in previous years guys like hodge/birchall/jacobs/guerra have looked up for someone to kick to and have instead had to go backwards by hand or foot or make a risky handball to a man under pressure. Because we have had absolutley no one to kick to. Ben Mcglynn is the man who runs into that space this season. When he gets it he runs with it and can kick it long and accurate. This running into space between half back and half foward can't be underestimated. This is evident by the number of inside 50's he has this season. Also he loves to play on and loves snagging a goal which is also good.

macdaddio
4 Jun 2007, 23:29
Simple. Croad over the last 3 years has been the one bloke we can't afford to loose and similar to williams with the development of players around him he probably isnt the most important.

Boyle/Croad/Franklin/Crawford/Williams/Jacobs(Because of the players he releases by being in defence) and dare I say loosing either Taylor/Cambell would be huge losses.

But I think the player we can't afford to loose is Ben Mcglynn. He gets alot of the footy and can break lines but so can many others in the midfield. His role though of breaking to the space when we have no one to kick to is just unbelievable.

The reason I say this is in previous years guys like hodge/birchall/jacobs/guerra have looked up for someone to kick to and have instead had to go backwards by hand or foot or make a risky handball to a man under pressure. Because we have had absolutley no one to kick to. Ben Mcglynn is the man who runs into that space this season. When he gets it he runs with it and can kick it long and accurate. This running into space between half back and half foward can't be underestimated. This is evident by the number of inside 50's he has this season. Also he loves to play on and loves snagging a goal which is also good.

totaly agree:thumbsu:

HawkFan15
5 Jun 2007, 00:10

Quickly becoming a favourite poster of mine.

Main Man
5 Jun 2007, 00:21
Hodge!

Roughie
5 Jun 2007, 01:01
Hodge!

Agreed at the moment he is our only real game winner with Franklins goal kicking letting him down. Hodge's leadership in the absence with out the Berg has been so important, his ability to take players on, use his incredible footskills and find the best options is so vital to the team!

delirious1
5 Jun 2007, 01:04
Hodge IMO, leadership he brings,

MinerBoy
5 Jun 2007, 10:44
Too easy - Luke Hodge.

Ditto.

Hawk Dork
5 Jun 2007, 11:18
In Order
Hodge
Sewell
Mitchel
McGlyn
Brown
Boyle

Croad is massively important too

Binxy
5 Jun 2007, 12:55

Quickly becoming a favourite poster of mine.Get a room. ;)

HawkFan15
5 Jun 2007, 19:04
Get a room. ;)

Hahahahahaha

chrismew
5 Jun 2007, 19:10
before this year I would have said the rifleman

but now I think the most important players are buddy, mitchell and hodge

mitchell was fantastic on the weekend

shotta
23 Jul 2007, 21:13
Jeez guys........? Boyle..............? That's a tad over the top. firstly he's played what....20 odd games. He's kicked 20+ goals which is really solid but we can afford to lose him. If Williams were in the side he'd just be another forward....we've got Thorp, Murphy, Dowler, Little etc if need be (worst comes to worst). Campbell is great but not the most important. Hodge is by far the most important. His leadership and composure to our young side (if lost) would be irreplaceable. He's so level-headed and calm and a great example to the rest of the team. We put him where we need him when we need it. If he's in the midfield we win in that department, if he defends he steadies us and as we have seen he can kick goals. His disposal rarely misses the mark either.

I think we are missing Boyle much more than our skipper, no one has been able to fill his spot. He is very much in our most important players.

ricta
23 Jul 2007, 21:31
sam "the magnet" mitchell IMO would be, what a massive loss he would be to the team, Hodgey next of the rank with crawf right behind