View Full Version : Brent Stanton Vs Nathan Foley
This was on the AFL Board without a Poll, so I thought I would put a poll with it.
Who is better?
RichosGuns
4 Jun 2007, 23:35
A good inside midfielder is hard to find. Whilst Stanton is a good player, he just isn't as valuable IMO, because there is just so many of his types in the AFL
Foley is the number 1 clearance player in the league.
vinnie_vegas69
5 Jun 2007, 00:24
Foley is probably a slightly better kick than Stanton, and considering that Foley is leading the league in clearances, while Stanton is primarily a receiver, I'd say that definitely tips the scales in Foley's favour.
Rocky Rambo
5 Jun 2007, 10:54
Foley is a hack
HAHA, good one!
At least Foley can get on the field unlike one Nathan Buckley.
Cassius_Clay
5 Jun 2007, 14:30
HAHA, good one!
At least Foley can get on the field unlike one Nathan Buckley.
Yep he must be better than Nathan Brown too.
Idiot.
Stanton by a mile.
thebigboy
5 Jun 2007, 15:39
Stanton.
May be biased though:p
dales.girl38
5 Jun 2007, 17:10
Stanton.
Yep he must be better than Nathan Brown too.
Idiot.
Stanton by a mile.
Foley is leading the league in Clearances. IDIOT!
Foley, hard in and under, much more valuable player.
Stanton is a no frills runner, a dime a dozen.
...a dime a dozen.
Just like your opinion.
greenlight
6 Jun 2007, 16:40
stanton
Coughlan
6 Jun 2007, 16:53
Foley is much better, gets the ball himself, uses it better, tougher.
Just plain better
benny_furs
6 Jun 2007, 17:38
Foley is much better, gets the ball himself, uses it better, tougher.
Just plain better
Hahah, just plain better!
DapperDon
6 Jun 2007, 17:55
Hahah, just plain better!
must be if all the Richmond supporters say so, the most unbiased group on BF:thumbsu:
bomberstomake8
6 Jun 2007, 18:01
Foley is the number 1 clearance player in the league.
based on this season i would probably rather foley, but we are only 10 rounds in and foley hasnt done a whole lot up until this season... could well just be a standout in a team down on form...
if foley is to keep his form up then he could well take over stanton but definately at the momment everyone who isnt biased would have to pick stanton
vinnie_vegas69
6 Jun 2007, 18:11
based on this season i would probably rather foley, but we are only 10 rounds in and foley hasnt done a whole lot up until this season... could well just be a standout in a team down on form...
He broke the record for clearances in a game last year...
Just because you didn't pay attention to him, doesn't mean he wasn't there.
lookkg386
7 Jun 2007, 07:59
Comparing to really different players, Foley is more an in and under player and is doing that well this year, Stanton is a runner and a ball carrier, both young players doing well. I believe Foley is having a more consistant season though.
samthemanlonergan
7 Jun 2007, 12:57
Weird poll.
Foley: In and under clearance machine.
Stanton: Gut busting runner
Totally different players.
Foley is a good young player, hard at it and can certainly extract the pill.
Stanton clocks up the k's and always presents as an option to move the ball in and out of defence. Has added goal kicking to his game this year too.
I refuse to vote, it is just too close.
Foley is probably a slightly better kick than Stanton, and considering that Foley is leading the league in clearances, while Stanton is primarily a receiver, I'd say that definitely tips the scales in Foley's favour.
Now these kind of comments frustrate me. Why do people continually say he is a bad kick of the ball? When he first got to the club he was average in this regard, but since then he has improved out of sight. Whilst he is still no Judd or Hodge, he is well ahead of the average player for kicking. Certaily ahead of Foley who bombs it a bit.
Why would you even pick this to argue with? Is Foely Harder at it? Yes. A better tackler? Certainly. So why argue something contentious?
Comparing to really different players, Foley is more an in and under player and is doing that well this year, Stanton is a runner and a ball carrier, both young players doing well. I believe Foley is having a more consistant season though.
Stanton is second in the league for kicks, I would have thought he was having a pretty consistant year.
vinnie_vegas69
7 Jun 2007, 13:11
Now these kind of comments frustrate me. Why do people continually say he is a bad kick of the ball? When he first got to the club he was average in this regard, but since then he has improved out of sight. Whilst he is still no Judd or Hodge, he is well ahead of the average player for kicking. Certaily ahead of Foley who bombs it a bit.
Why would you even pick this to argue with? Is Foely Harder at it? Yes. A better tackler? Certainly. So why argue something contentious?
Because A) You're biased, and you're overrating Stanton's kicking, and B) the fact that it is even possible to make a reasonable argument that Foley's disposal is as good as Stanton's, and then Foley is much, much harder and skilled in close makes it impossible to pick Stanton.
bomberstomake8
7 Jun 2007, 13:54
He broke the record for clearances in a game last year...
Just because you didn't pay attention to him, doesn't mean he wasn't there.
no i did pay attention to him i actually had him in dreamteam for a while.... one good game doesnt make a player good... ive seen many players have a won off awesome game and do nothing else for their career.. point is at their careers so far stanton has done so much more.... foley needs to keep going well to be able to be ahead of stanton
Stanton is primarily a receiver, I'd say that definitely tips the scales in Foley's favour.
Dont underestimate the "outside" players vinnie.
Have you forgetten your comment last week regarding a certain other player at Essendon who you called a outside player that ended up being bog for essendon on the weekend?
;)
samthemanlonergan
7 Jun 2007, 17:34
Because A) You're biased, and you're overrating Stanton's kicking, and B) the fact that it is even possible to make a reasonable argument that Foley's disposal is as good as Stanton's, and then Foley is much, much harder and skilled in close makes it impossible to pick Stanton.
Did you read the rest of my post? I had them on level pegging.
I did not ask you to change your vote, just to consider your comment about Foley apparently being a better kick.
Considering they have virtually had the same amount of the ball this year (Foley 1 disposal more) with Foley having also had more tackles, would it be reasonable to assume that with Stanton sitting 11th in Supercoach rankings, and Foley 48th that Stanton must be doing something right with his kicking?
I know these stats aren't everything, but they give a reasonable indication. I have Foley in my Supercoach team so I do watch his game each week with extreme interest, so i notice that he bombs a lot nd clangs a few.
benny_furs
7 Jun 2007, 19:34
no i did pay attention to him i actually had him in dreamteam for a while.... one good game doesnt make a player good... ive seen many players have a won off awesome game and do nothing else for their career.. point is at their careers so far stanton has done so much more.... foley needs to keep going well to be able to be ahead of stanton
Mate Foley has had more than 1 good game.
He is the best in the AFL at centre cearances this year, with a poor ruckman too. That shows consistency whether you watch him or not.
Just don't post if you have NFI who the other player is. Admit it - you have only seen Foley once and have never really heard of him before that, right?
About the inside vs outside argument I don't think they are exactly one dimensional or anything.
Foley is as fast as Deledio guys, that's what has me excited. He goes in hard and wins a heap of the ball but he's also an awesome run and bounce player. I know that Foley will become a better outside player in time, I'm not sure how much better Stanton can get at being an inside player, but it's not that important I guess.
However, he's not damaging enough to be in the top 100 players in the AFL yet imo. He is consistently great (averages 25+ possies this year) but unlike Daniel Kerr (similar style player) he doesn't single handedly turn games yet (except for setting up other players to turn the game).
motorvinnie
7 Jun 2007, 19:47
id take foley any day of the week ahead of Stanton! Foley gets the hard footy and stanton is a frontrunner theres heaps of them out there;)
RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
7 Jun 2007, 21:06
I don't think so, Stanton has only had 20 Clanger kicks for the year whilst Foley has had nearly double at 37. Stanton has improved his kicking dramatically since he has been at the club and I believe is pretty decent kick of the footy if you ask me, the stats speak for themselves. Clanger are very costly in today's modern game so I think it is a very important stat.
Having said that, I hate to say it, but I think that Foley is fractionally better just because of the fact he is a clearance machine!, BUT ONLY FRACTIONALLY!
Jobe Watson is also a clearance machine, but Stanton is still a better player. He's also better than Foley.
RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
9 Jun 2007, 11:44
Stanton was the only midfielder in our team matching it with the Eagles in the 1st quarter, until he got injured. Very good player!
Essendon_2000
9 Jun 2007, 21:45
Stanton:cool:
Woewodin#1
11 Jun 2007, 18:27
Both have like the same amount of disposals.
Foley is a clearence king.
Stanton is a running king.
Both important players.
But Foley can get clearences, no point in getting clearences because his clanger rate is high. While Stanton's is much lower.
Stanton any day.
BTW how old is Foley?
Calcium Man
11 Jun 2007, 19:07
Both have like the same amount of disposals.
Foley is a clearence king.
Stanton is a running king.
Both important players.
But Foley can get clearences, no point in getting clearences because his clanger rate is high. While Stanton's is much lower.
Stanton any day.
BTW how old is Foley?
Foley is 21 :thumbsu:
Woewodin#1
11 Jun 2007, 21:24
Ok same age.
Both will be guns. If not argubaly both are in the top 20 midfielders for this season :cool:
benny_furs
30 Jun 2007, 23:31
Foley is a superstar.
Tonight's game showed why he is among the top 10 midfielders in the comp atm.
His clearances winning the ball then bursting out of the centre square and kicking goals from 50 are some of the greatest pieces of play by any Tiger this year.
He would have to be ahead of Daniel Kerr for AA midfielder this year surely, probably on the bench at this rate (not effective enough yet to get a starting position in the midfield).
BudddddyLove
30 Jun 2007, 23:50
Foley is so much better than Stanton it's not funny.
He was the standout tonight in an otherwise disappointing tiger midfield (Deledio, Johnson and Tambling did absolutely nothing).
I loved those two runs through the middle resulting in goals - reminded me abit of Judd.
DonMania#5
1 Jul 2007, 00:05
This poll in the first place was stupid. A inside clearance player v an outside runner.
They are both very different types of players and can't be compared.
I would rather Foley because clearance players are rare and more important than outside recievers.
benny_furs
1 Jul 2007, 00:16
This poll in the first place was stupid. A inside clearance player v an outside runner.
They are both very different types of players and can't be compared.
I would rather Foley because clearance players are rare and more important than outside recievers.
Hasn't Foley had the most bounces in the AFL?
Foley plays inside and outside now (he never used to). For example those Judd goals tonight which involved winning the ball from under a pack, evading his opponent then burst into space, 2 bounces, kick running goal from 55.
I mean all I'm saying is they're not totally incomparable since Foley plays outside as well. Maybe their outside games should only be compared? I haven't seen enough of Stanton to really judge as well as I'd like, all I know is that Foley's pace and running/bouncing style of game means he's not just an "inside clearance player" :)
DonMania#5
1 Jul 2007, 00:53
Well then, Stantons outside game >>>>> Foleys outside game.
danzan22
1 Jul 2007, 00:56
Hasn't Foley had the most bounces in the AFL?
Foley plays inside and outside now (he never used to). For example those Judd goals tonight which involved winning the ball from under a pack, evading his opponent then burst into space, 2 bounces, kick running goal from 55.
I mean all I'm saying is they're not totally incomparable since Foley plays outside as well. Maybe their outside games should only be compared? I haven't seen enough of Stanton to really judge as well as I'd like, all I know is that Foley's pace and running/bouncing style of game means he's not just an "inside clearance player" :)
Maybe thats because he bounces the ball after 2 steps.
jbomb3000
1 Jul 2007, 01:54
I'm starting to rate Foley, he seems to be using the ball alot better than he was at the start of the year.
Bond.ShaneBond
1 Jul 2007, 03:10
Foleys goals today were brilliant
bLuEbOy1984
2 Jul 2007, 18:03
foley is way ahead of him.. stanton is a a dreadfull player
DapperDon
2 Jul 2007, 18:28
foley is way ahead of him.. stanton is a a dreadfull player
Foley is ahead, but why is Stanton a dreadful player?
Axel has hit the lead.
Stanton(67)-Foley(71).
Keep Voting People.
Would like to think of what people think of Nathan after his performance against the Saints last weekend.
DapperDon
4 Jul 2007, 16:12
Axel has hit the lead.
Stanton(67)-Foley(71).
Keep Voting People.
Would like to think of what people think of Nathan after his performance against the Saints last weekend.
I was at that game and it changed my vote, Foley will take the league by storm if he keeps this form going.
absolute gun, what pick did you get him with?
I was at that game and it changed my vote, Foley will take the league by storm if he keeps this form going.
absolute gun, what pick did you get him with?
He was a Rookie pick.
I think he might of been the 3rd or 2nd Round Rookie Pick.
DapperDon
4 Jul 2007, 18:15
He was a Rookie pick.
I think he might of been the 3rd or 2nd Round Rookie Pick.
that's awesome, I love it when players not many gave a chance come out and say stuff you. You build teams around players like him.
I don't think so, Stanton has only had 20 Clanger kicks for the year whilst Foley has had nearly double at 37. Stanton has improved his kicking dramatically since he has been at the club and I believe is pretty decent kick of the footy if you ask me, the stats speak for themselves. Clanger are very costly in today's modern game so I think it is a very important stat.
Maybe Foley has had more clanger kicks but Stanton gets the un-contested possessions which makes it easier to control your kicks.
I think Foley is a better player, however Stanton is very good.
steainsy
5 Jul 2007, 13:18
Interesting to see Foley is winning.
Both fantastic talents, however I would rather Stanton at Magpie land.
Now the season has finished what do people think?
BudddddyLove
29 Oct 2007, 14:14
Now the season has finished what do people think?
Foley by a fair margin
I don't rate either. Foley plays well when he doesn't have an opponent. Put an opponent on him (e.g. V Weagles) and he's hopeless. Stanton is an outside endurance type midfielder, with ordinary skills, and a lack of burst speed. Again, nothing special. :)
Foley was not doing that well against a tagger because it is his first year being the No.1 midfielder, as he progresses he will definetly have the ability to break a tag alot easier, just look at the St.Kilda match this year where he had Luke Ball on him but still managed 2 fantastic goals just by using his smarts to get to the ball.
smiddaz123
30 Oct 2007, 19:30
What has Gibbs done that Foley hasn't?
Coughlan
30 Oct 2007, 20:34
Yet he would have won you're best and fairest by an absolute mile:)
BTW parrot when will you be returning to this thread? (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=391165)
Funny you get proved to be wrong again and you go AWOL.
blues4flag
1 Nov 2007, 12:25
Foley, without a doubt.
Yet he would have won you're best and fairest by an absolute mile:)
BTW parrot when will you be returning to this thread? (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=391165)
Funny you get proved to be wrong again and you go AWOL.
I thought you didn't want me to post there, now you do. lol. You need to make your mind up. I just made the point that next year the Tiges will have a suprising number of 30yo+ types in their starting lineup. Your senior side is actually not that young. :)
Coughlan
1 Nov 2007, 14:46
I thought you didn't want me to post there, now you do. lol. You need to make your mind up. I just made the point that next year the Tiges will have a suprising number of 30yo+ types in their starting lineup. Your senior side is actually not that young. :)
Thats a pathetic back peddle, even for you.
You said that about 1/4 of our list was over 30, when in fact it is only 3 players.
Their is only .6 of a year difference between Richmond and Carlton, take out our 3 players over 30 and it would be just about dead even.
If our side isn't that young then neither is you're.
Not suprised that a fan of Bwyce Gibbs would pull out of a contest:)
The Royal Sampler
2 Nov 2007, 08:45
Thats a pathetic back peddle, even for you.
You said that about 1/4 of our list was over 30, when in fact it is only 3 players.
Their is only .6 of a year difference between Richmond and Carlton, take out our 3 players over 30 and it would be just about dead even.
If our side isn't that young then neither is you're.
Not suprised that a fan of Bwyce Gibbs would pull out of a contest:)
Don't get caught up in parrot's assault on the English language, it's "backpedal", as in to pedal your bicycle backwards.
Foley's obviously better at the moment and probably in the future too BUT the B-man was injured alot this year with the ankle so it's kind of unfair to compare on recent form.