Fast Facts
Jumper No: 17
Height: 174 cm
Weight: 77 kg
DOB: 7 April 1984
Recruited From: Murray U18
Prismall32
7th June 2007, 12:51
Shannon, my boy - found you - on Page 2! You do some stunning things and run through packs like Monica but then take the one extra step and stuff it all up! Will you have the chance to redeem yourself? Many have already given you the thumbs down - prematurely, I think. (Please practise your kicking each day - and then go back and practise it again and again - you are a professional footballer, remember) As a small player you have stiff competition, Shannon.
darren forssman
7th June 2007, 13:54
Grand Final....20m out directly in front...Byrnes comes in...and....he has sprayed it and geelong has lost.
Rustybugles
7th June 2007, 14:25
Grand Final....20m out directly in front...Byrnes comes in...and....he has sprayed it and geelong has lost.
You are a cruel man! He's only a little bloke! Big heart though - he'll forgive you.
rizzo
9th June 2007, 17:42
VFL - 9th June Report
Shannon was ok. Kicked 2 goals. Still hasn't done enough to crack the seniors. Really needs to sort out his disposal.
Prismall32
20th June 2007, 12:28
Has been playing quite well in the VFL side - still fast in the wet against Tassie. Does some good things - I'd hope that he is not traded.
Selwood07
21st June 2007, 13:01
Can he kick straight yet? I heard he was OK in the VFL side again. I think we should start a "Restore Byrnesie" campaign - I fear he is being unfairly excluded from the senior team because he is a runt.;)
Metallica_Man
30th June 2007, 21:42
BOG in the VFL apparantley, and with a few injuries this week could be a chance to be back in the seniors. I would hope Prismall and others are ahead of him though
Bryceson
2nd July 2007, 11:59
Keep the faith!
He will be a great little wojinski-type player.....just give him time. He will sort out his kicking worrys.
darren forssman
2nd July 2007, 13:52
Keep the faith!
He will be a great little wojinski-type player.....just give him time. He will sort out his kicking worrys.
and matthew spencer will get a turn of speed and skill, charlie gardiner will start kicking bags of 6 goals and playfair will be all australian CHF.
cats2rise
2nd July 2007, 14:12
I talk to Shannon a bit and he is disapointed with his season to date and knows many young kids have past him.
Bryceson
2nd July 2007, 21:34
and matthew spencer will get a turn of speed and skill, charlie gardiner will start kicking bags of 6 goals and playfair will be all australian CHF.
id bet my house on it mate. u wait.
darren forssman
3rd July 2007, 08:27
geez, you sound convinced, and very well maybe homeless.
me, not so.
thehoff
3rd July 2007, 09:46
If you are even remotely serious, please get help. Mental Help!
Selwood07
30th July 2007, 16:26
Byrnsie - they're onto you again 142 posts on the Geelong Board. Stick at it and we'll stick with you. Post-Freo match and not a bad effort - but one or two slips and thee footy police are on your case.
darren forssman
27th August 2007, 08:33
was not a grand final but i was close.
Rustybugles
27th August 2007, 09:13
It is with deep regret that I announce the death of his chances of playing finals. Sad! Or should I be posting this under Travis Varcoe's name?
chapmanmagic35
27th August 2007, 11:47
It is with deep regret that I announce the death of his chances of playing finals. Sad! Or should I be posting this under Travis Varcoe's name?
With deep regret????
eliiiiza
27th August 2007, 13:57
Yes, because it was solely his fault that we lost, and that no one else is to blame for it.
Scapegoat board.
darren forssman
27th August 2007, 14:13
Yes, because it was solely his fault that we lost, and that no one else is to blame for it.
Scapegoat board.
please read my original post from 2-3 months ago.
he is renowned for missing these shots and not solely to blame for the loss but heck, he aint paid to miss them.
TheTimeCometh
27th August 2007, 14:34
scapegoat board???
if anything your post, eliiza, belongs in the "looking at it subjectively" board.
and cm35's stat of 16.35, if legit, is pretty damning.
i agree it wasn't his fault we lost - just that he never seems to do things to help us win.
Prismall32
27th August 2007, 15:20
Scapegoat board.
I think it was a set-up for you, eliiiza. Do you know the squealing girls in the Ablett Terrace who are turned on by him?
eliiiiza
27th August 2007, 16:38
I think it was a set-up for you, eliiiza. Do you know the squealing girls in the Ablett Terrace who are turned on by him?
God no! My friends like better players. :o
I do agree that his chances of playing finals (with the AFL side) are all but gone, but just answer this: if he had've kicked that goal, would people still be whinging as much as they are now?
Never does things to help us win? Sure we didn't win yesterday, but you're forgetting his run on the wing (and yes, his kick did hit its target, wow, fancy that) and that smother.
I'm not some idiot who thinks that he's amaaazing when he's not - contrary to what a lot of you think, I am capable of criticizing him even though I'm a fan of his.
FTW_
27th August 2007, 17:12
Wait if we're blaming people for missing goals then why aren't we blaming Mackie, Ottens, Dog, Stokesy or Wojcinski?
They all kicked points, that could have won us the game, at one point or another.
Yes, he is renowned for missing shots on goal, but we should have been good enough not to rely on one missed scoaring shot.
You're using him as a scapegoat... We all know we lost because of Playfair anyway! ;)
darren forssman
27th August 2007, 17:21
and cm35's stat of 16.35, if legit, is pretty damning.
FTW, if this stat is true, as TTC says, it is very damning for someone who predominatly plays as a forward.
freddy f
27th August 2007, 20:22
19 touches speed to burn an excitement machine when he runs which is often and creates plenty of opportunity for his team mates. I say go byrnesy a bag full is not far away.
TheTimeCometh
28th August 2007, 09:49
19 touches speed to burn an excitement machine when he runs which is often and creates plenty of opportunity for his team mates. I say go byrnesy a bag full is not far away.
hahaha! yep, yer right!
19 too many.
darren forssman
28th August 2007, 13:36
I say go byrnesy a bag full is not far away.
a bag full of what??
BluenWhiteHoops
29th August 2007, 13:49
He's a VFL player like Hank and Charlie, but for some reason Bomber seems to love him
chapmanmagic35
29th August 2007, 14:35
a bag full of what??
A bag full of games for Geelong West, Bell Park or any other local side in Geelong.
freddy f
29th August 2007, 21:19
Byrnes has played 8 games this year with an average of 16.5 disposals which is the 11th highest on average over these games. Heres a challenge average out the disposals of all players across the games they have played and see how Byrnesy shapes up? Keep going Byrnesy there is a heap of us out here that love watching you play.
Reg Hickey
29th August 2007, 22:39
Byrnes has played 8 games this year with an average of 16.5 disposals which is the 11th highest on average over these games. Heres a challenge average out the disposals of all players across the games they have played and see how Byrnesy shapes up? Keep going Byrnesy there is a heap of us out here that love watching you play.
Two points on your disposals stat - first, the team as a whole averages 17.4 disposals a game this year, and while that includes Bartel, Corey and GAJ it also includes Blake/King, Egan and N Ablett. So 16.5 is not really that impressive for a midfielder/small forward. Probably the only two blokes with a similar role right now are Dog, Kelly and Stokes - Dog gets more of the ball AND kicks more goals, Kelly gets more of the ball and kicks the same number of goals per game, Stokes gets about the same amount of the balls and kicks THREE TIMES as many goals per game. All of them (and Varcoe too - see further down) have him covered.
Second, disposals aren't everything - more important is what you do with them, and that is one of the areas where young Byrnesy falls down.
Yes, 16 goals and 35 behinds is correct for his career, and includes 4.8 from 8 games this year. And that doesn't include the out of bounds.
I think Byrnes should go, and here's why:
(1) For a bloke who is apparently quick, he doesn't use it. Rarely does he outrun a pursuer, and even more rarely does he run someone down from behind. Why? Woja does it. Varcoe does it. Yet Byrnes is supposed to be quicker than both of them. The answer I think is that he spends most of his time at 3/4 pace, which is a waste.
(2) He is too short. Height-wise he is the smallest bloke on our list, and it shows when the ball is in the air. Doesn't get near it. When you are that short everything else needs to be great (see Kerr, Wirrpanda, Harvey), and with him its not.
(3) He is too light, and has the shocking habit of jumping in the air when about to be tackled, which costs him all his leverage and as a result he gets body slammed every time. He needs to watch continuous video tape of G Ablett in the tackle.
(4) He doesn't kick enough goals, which is a bit of a problem when you play largely as a small forward. 41 games for 16.35 is dismal. Varcoe gets a lot of heat for not being as dangerous offensively as he is defensively, and his haul is 17 games for 15.7. Stokes has 25.10 from 17 games. I know who I'd rather have in my team.
(5) Field disposal - his left foot is OK, sometimes good, but he doesn't have a right side and his handballing is awful, especially under pressure. Three or four times against Port his handballs under pressure did not hit their targets, and that is not acceptable at this level. He tends to panic when about to be tackled and the ball more often than not goes straight up in the air or straight to ground.
On the positive side he works hard, is good on the lead and does get a bit of the ball. But that is not enough. In our forward line S Johnson, Stokes, Varcoe and Kelly all have him comfortably covered, and I suspect it won't be long before the likes of Gamble, Djerrkura, Hogan, Davenport and Owen do too.
Overall he is just not up to the level in terms of size, skills and presence. Sorry, but he's just not.
Rustybugles
30th August 2007, 09:45
Reg Hickey - a good summation of a disappointing player. Agree that he has not used his speed to his advantage. He's in the last page of my book of approval of Geelong players but I doubt that they will persist with him now. I was always waiting for the game which would redeem him but I think he's missed the boat now. Always had the feeling that he needed to prove himself as a little man and so went one step too far, tried the spectacular option rather than the safe one, and shot to ribbons the direct kick from within the 50m. He hasn't been a disaster by any means but he has not realised the potential so many saw in him.
year of the cat
30th August 2007, 15:34
Two points on your disposals stat - first, the team as a whole averages 17.4 disposals a game this year, and while that includes Bartel, Corey and GAJ it also includes Blake/King, Egan and N Ablett. So 16.5 is not really that impressive for a midfielder/small forward. Probably the only two blokes with a similar role right now are Dog, Kelly and Stokes - Dog gets more of the ball AND kicks more goals, Kelly gets more of the ball and kicks the same number of goals per game, Stokes gets about the same amount of the balls and kicks THREE TIMES as many goals per game. All of them (and Varcoe too - see further down) have him covered.
Second, disposals aren't everything - more important is what you do with them, and that is one of the areas where young Byrnesy falls down.
Yes, 16 goals and 35 behinds is correct for his career, and includes 4.8 from 8 games this year. And that doesn't include the out of bounds.
I think Byrnes should go, and here's why:
(1) For a bloke who is apparently quick, he doesn't use it. Rarely does he outrun a pursuer, and even more rarely does he run someone down from behind. Why? Woja does it. Varcoe does it. Yet Byrnes is supposed to be quicker than both of them. The answer I think is that he spends most of his time at 3/4 pace, which is a waste.
(2) He is too short. Height-wise he is the smallest bloke on our list, and it shows when the ball is in the air. Doesn't get near it. When you are that short everything else needs to be great (see Kerr, Wirrpanda, Harvey), and with him its not.
(3) He is too light, and has the shocking habit of jumping in the air when about to be tackled, which costs him all his leverage and as a result he gets body slammed every time. He needs to watch continuous video tape of G Ablett in the tackle.
(4) He doesn't kick enough goals, which is a bit of a problem when you play largely as a small forward. 41 games for 16.35 is dismal. Varcoe gets a lot of heat for not being as dangerous offensively as he is defensively, and his haul is 17 games for 15.7. Stokes has 25.10 from 17 games. I know who I'd rather have in my team.
(5) Field disposal - his left foot is OK, sometimes good, but he doesn't have a right side and his handballing is awful, especially under pressure. Three or four times against Port his handballs under pressure did not hit their targets, and that is not acceptable at this level. He tends to panic when about to be tackled and the ball more often than not goes straight up in the air or straight to ground.
On the positive side he works hard, is good on the lead and does get a bit of the ball. But that is not enough. In our forward line S Johnson, Stokes, Varcoe and Kelly all have him comfortably covered, and I suspect it won't be long before the likes of Gamble, Djerrkura, Hogan, Davenport and Owen do too.
Overall he is just not up to the level in terms of size, skills and presence. Sorry, but he's just not.
Great summary. You don't have to apologise. He is clearly not up to it.
FTW_
30th August 2007, 15:46
(1) For a bloke who is apparently quick, he doesn't use it. Rarely does he outrun a pursuer, and even more rarely does he run someone down from behind. Why? Woja does it. Varcoe does it. Yet Byrnes is supposed to be quicker than both of them.
Disagree with this bit.
Against Port, in I think the 3rd qtr (or maybe 4th) he absolutely bolted, perfect example of why being able to run fast is important.
Bryceson
30th August 2007, 16:47
FTW, if this stat is true, as TTC says, it is very damning for someone who predominatly plays as a forward.
He shouldn't be playing forward. We could use him better running of a wing. Exept we allready have a strong midfield so he ends up going forward in the ones. This is half the problem.
sarah.13
30th August 2007, 17:13
Disagree with this bit.
Against Port, in I think the 3rd quater (or maybe 4th) he absolutely bolted, perfect example of why being able to run fast is important.
Yes it was in the 4th and the player was Brenden Lade twice!!:eek::eek:
Selwood07
30th August 2007, 17:49
Was it here that someone suggested he be given one last hurrah - on Brown? He's named on the interchange bench.
Reg Hickey
30th August 2007, 21:57
Disagree with this bit.
Against Port, in I think the 3rd qtr (or maybe 4th) he absolutely bolted, perfect example of why being able to run fast is important.
That's why I said "rarely" rather than "never". That was one of the very, very few times I've seen him do it, and I have seen pretty much all of his 41 games.
FTW_
1st September 2007, 21:41
Shannon had a good gaaaaaaame tonight.
Ner ner ner ner ner!
:D
Slick Dog Johnson
1st September 2007, 22:21
Were you watching the same game?
FTW_
1st September 2007, 22:40
C'mon compared to how he usually plays he had a good game.
Compared to say Enright or Ottens he didn't, but guys, it's Shannon Byrnes! For him that was a good game IMO.
Selwood07
2nd September 2007, 11:53
Credit where it's due, boys. He was really effective last night. Zippy without trying to do too much and coming unstuck. A very good game.:thumbsu:
freddy f
2nd September 2007, 13:51
Credit where it's due, boys. He was really effective last night. Zippy without trying to do too much and coming unstuck. A very good game.:thumbsu:
Its good to see your fair comments Byrnesy had a good night in my home town of Bris Vegas. The cats were impressive and it was only through the efforts of a magnificent player in Jonathan Brown that the Lions hung in there. I was there it was a great night and the crowd loved it.
Reg Hickey
2nd September 2007, 22:33
Even I have to admit that last night was one of his better efforts. Two goals, got a bit of the ball, won some hard ones and generally used it OK. I reckon I've seen just about all of his 42 games and that would have been easily in his top 10.
That said, I still believe he is a very average footballer with no future in the AFL. He still makes a lot of poor errors and seriously sh!ts himself when under pressure. Those of you who have the tape, have a look at a piece of play with a bit over 6 minutes to go in the third (from memory). Shannon gets himself into trouble on the flank but has Kelly in support, but instead of feeding a flat handpass to him he stacks his dacks and flips it up in the air, Kelly has to move towards him to get it, and by the time it comes down is surrounded by three Lions and it is turned over. That to me is symptomatic of what is wrong with S Byrnes as an AFL footballer.
But anyway, credit where credit is due, he did OK last night.
Bryceson
3rd September 2007, 20:30
Byrnesy played well on Saturday. He got a fair bit of the ball, he was exciting, and his ball use was efficient. He also managed to nail 2 goals from set shots.
Maybe now people might get off his back?
eliiiiza
3rd September 2007, 20:47
Keep wishing!
Like I said, people moan about how he misses set shots, and when he gets them, "oh, he should be getting them anyway so we shouldn't be giving him any credit". :thumbsd::thumbsd:
chapmanmagic35
3rd September 2007, 21:26
Keep wishing!
Like I said, people moan about how he misses set shots, and when he gets them, "oh, he should be getting them anyway so we shouldn't be giving him any credit". :thumbsd::thumbsd:
He should kick them though. He is woeful in front of goals.
eliiiiza
3rd September 2007, 21:45
Are you trying to prove my point that the whole lot of you are never satisfied?
darren forssman
4th September 2007, 13:48
Keep wishing!
well, he should be getting them, i dont understand.
because he slots a few in one game after failing to do so numerous times he is now a star?
he played well, but is still a fringe player.
eliiiiza
4th September 2007, 14:45
Did anyone here say that he was a star?
It's called giving credit when it's due, which is something a lot of you struggle to do when it comes to Byrnes.
darren forssman
4th September 2007, 15:14
he played well, but is still a fringe player.
SEE ABOVE QUOTE
eliiiiza
4th September 2007, 15:31
I wasn't referring to you...
I think I get a bit too carried away when it comes to defending him. It's not a fun job, but someone has to do it! :(
Reg Hickey
4th September 2007, 21:23
Did anyone here say that he was a star?
It's called giving credit when it's due, which is something a lot of you struggle to do when it comes to Byrnes.
Full credit for his effort on Saturday night.
He's still not an AFL-standard footballer.
Does anyone think he'd have any trade value at all? Could we use him to upgrade a draft pick by a few spots?
Reg Hickey
4th September 2007, 21:24
I think I get a bit too carried away when it comes to defending him. It's not a fun job, but someone has to do it! :(
I just wonder whether you're doing it for the "wrong" reasons. Were you a big fan of Koula, Spriggsy and others as well??
eliiiiza
4th September 2007, 21:34
I just wonder whether you're doing it for the "wrong" reasons. Were you a big fan of Koula, Spriggsy and others as well??
Nope and nope.
Sure, he's good looking, but I don't think he's as crap a player as everyone thinks. I'm capable of criticizing him as well, I just think that his game on Saturday was more than decent, and it pisses me off when people hang shit on him for it.
crosby123
4th September 2007, 22:11
Nope and nope.
Sure, he's good looking, but I don't think he's as crap a player as everyone thinks. I'm capable of criticizing him as well, I just think that his game on Saturday was more than decent, and it pisses me off when people hang shit on him for it.
With you on this one. Far too much Byrnes bashing when he really doesn't do that much wrong. He isn't as good as most of the rest of the best 22, but someone has to be the 22nd player, and if it has to be Shannon, I'm not too unhappy.
freddy f
5th September 2007, 19:21
Full credit for his effort on Saturday night.
He's still not an AFL-standard footballer.
Does anyone think he'd have any trade value at all? Could we use him to upgrade a draft pick by a few spots?
What your opinion about Trading Varcoe rather than Byrnes. Without trying to bag Travis 3 touches in the game last Saturday night is hardly acceptable. If we go into a final series with Travis its as good as playing with a 3 man bench
freddy f
5th September 2007, 19:43
shannon is the quickest player in the AFL over 25 metres not a bad asset to have in the bag. keep defending him because our game is built around running players and if we keep him in the midfield he will deliver the goods
Bryceson
5th September 2007, 19:49
What your opinion about Trading Varcoe rather than Byrnes. Without trying to bag Travis 3 touches in the game last Saturday night is hardly acceptable. If we go into a final series with Travis its as good as playing with a 3 man bench
Why would we trade varcoe its only his 2nd year at the club and his first playing afl footy?
neither of them should be traded, but byrnes should be playing ahead of varcoe atm.
rizzo
5th September 2007, 19:57
Shannon is shit, Trav is not.
Nothing that Shannon will do will see him be close to a regular 22 spot. He just doesn't have what it takes.
May as well pass him off now before the rest of the league catches on, because he still has a few cats supporters bluffed
rizzo
5th September 2007, 20:00
In fact compare him to the much maligned kent kinglsey
Kent has an accuracy of 56%
Shannan has an accuracy of 33%
:o
FTW_
5th September 2007, 20:05
Haaaaarsh and I don't agree with you at all.
rizzo
5th September 2007, 20:07
Haaaaarsh and I don't agree with you at all.
Not harsh just fact. What league footballer could get a regular spot in the 22 as a small forward with a 33% accuracy!
Bryceson
5th September 2007, 20:08
Everyone is way too harsh. The kid is no where near as bad as you would think he is by reading these forums. Too many people have made up their minds on him and no matter what he does now they will still say he is a dud. Give the kid a chance!!!! Believe it or not he actually played well on the weekend!
rizzo
5th September 2007, 20:11
Everyone is way too harsh. The kid is no where near as bad as you would think he is by reading these forums. Too many people have made up their minds on him and no matter what he does now they will still say he is a dud. Give the kid a chance!!!! Believe it or not he actually played well on the weekend!
A few good games means diddly. Gotta be consistently good. Shannon never will.
Bryceson
5th September 2007, 20:19
A few good games means diddly. Gotta be consistently good. Shannon never will.
varcoe hasnt been consistently good. no one bags him.
wojcinski hasnt been consistently good. no one bags him.
nath hasnt been consistently good. everyone LOVES him!
and ur writing byrnesy off allready. why won't he be consistent in the future?
rizzo
5th September 2007, 20:25
varcoe hasnt been consistently good. no one bags him.
wojcinski hasnt been consistently good. no one bags him.
nath hasnt been consistently good. everyone LOVES him!
and ur writing byrnesy off allready. why won't he be consistent in the future?
Varcoe spent last year recovering from a foot injury. He is pretty much a first year player.
Woja, has been consistently good. And if hes not, at least he adds something to the team.
Nath is different. KPP always take longer. Besides he did come from BFL under 18s onto a AFL list. He can be inconsistent.
Because he has spent years on the list and has shown nothing to say he will. By his age he should be playing consistent football.
FTW_
5th September 2007, 20:31
Would you play well at AFL level is most of the fans from your team didn't even want you there?
Just watch what you say, the players do have internet you know.
I'm not going to say too much but when I did talk to Shannon one of the things he said was that Geelong fans turn on you like no others.
What does that tell you? We can criticize them but when you're saying he's sh!t I think it's a bit over the top, hey?
Bryceson
5th September 2007, 20:32
Varcoe spent last year recovering from a foot injury. He is pretty much a first year player.
Woja, has been consistently good. And if hes not, at least he adds something to the team.
Nath is different. KPP always take longer. Besides he did come from BFL under 18s onto a AFL list. He can be inconsistent.
Because he has spent years on the list and has shown nothing to say he will. By his age he should be playing consistent football.
i dont expect varceo to be consistent, but if hes not playing well he should still be dropped. first year player isnt an excuse for a few weeks of lenience. its afl football. u still gotta earn ur spot.
nath is no different. this is his 3rd year so he has had plenty of time in the system. im not saying he shouldn't b in the side, cos he should, hes our 2nd best key forward atm. but he still has to perform like evryone else.
i agree woja adds something to the team, but so does byrnes.
my point is people write of byrnes and dont give him a chance. the same rules apply for the whole 44, not different rules for diffferent players. everyone has gotta play well to keep there spot. byrnesy played well last week so he should be given another crack. if he plays shit this week then drop him.
freddy f
5th September 2007, 20:33
Not harsh just fact. What league footballer could get a regular spot in the 22 as a small forward with a 33% accuracy!
leave him on the wing and let him run "catch me if you can" and guess what no one is quick enough over 25metres
Bryceson
5th September 2007, 20:35
leave him on the wing and let him run "catch me if you can" and guess what no one is quick enough over 25metres
exactly.
freddy f
5th September 2007, 20:37
i dont expect varceo to be consistent, but if hes not playing well he should still be dropped. first year player isnt an excuse for a few weeks of lenience. its afl football. u still gotta earn ur spot.
nath is no different. this is his 3rd year so he has had plenty of time in the system. im not saying he shouldn't b in the side, cos he should, hes our 2nd best key forward atm. but he still has to perform like evryone else.
my point is people write of byrnes and dont give him a chance. the same rules apply for the whole 44, not different rules for diffferent players. everyone has gotta play well to keep there spot. byrnesy played well last week so he should be given another crack. if he plays shit this week then drop him.
you are absolutely correct
rizzo
5th September 2007, 20:37
Would you play well at AFL level is most of the fans from your team didn't even want you there?
Just watch what you say, the players do have internet you know.
LOL! If he cares what i say he is mentally weak! bahaha thats funny. Poor shannons heart might break...
While Varcoe doesn't get a lot of the ball his intensity inside 50. He lead the AFl for tackles inside 50. As a young player you have to allow for inconsistency.
I think you underestimate the amount of difference between BFL and TAC Cup is. Besides 3 years for a tall is not long. There isn't many Lance Franklins.
What does byrnes add?
rizzo
5th September 2007, 20:39
He can run 25m and kick it to the opposition. TO which the ball will go to his direct opponent.
Bryceson
5th September 2007, 20:44
LOL! If he cares what i say he is mentally weak! bahaha thats funny. Poor shannons heart might break...
While Varcoe doesn't get a lot of the ball his intensity inside 50. He lead the AFl for tackles inside 50. As a young player you have to allow for inconsistency.
I think you underestimate the amount of difference between BFL and TAC Cup is. Besides 3 years for a tall is not long. There isn't many Lance Franklins.
What does byrnes add?
u dont allow for inconsistency just cos hes a young player. everyone goes by the same rules.
on saturday night:
byrnes-16 disposals 88% effective 2 inside 50 1clearance 1 clanger 3 tackles 2 goals 3 assists
varcoe-3 disposals 100%effective 1 inside 50 0 clearances 1 clanger 2 tackles 0 goals 0 assists
who do you think deserves a game more???
im not underestimating anything when it comes to nath. but he is still a player on the list and the rules are no different for him as they are for anyone else just cos he didnt play in the tac cup.
Bryceson
5th September 2007, 20:45
He can run 25m and kick it to the opposition. TO which the ball will go to his direct opponent.
he had 88% effectiveness including 2 goals from set shots on saturday night.
freddy f
5th September 2007, 20:46
Shannon is shit, Trav is not.
Nothing that Shannon will do will see him be close to a regular 22 spot. He just doesn't have what it takes.
May as well pass him off now before the rest of the league catches on, because he still has a few cats supporters bluffed
the only thing that is shite are your comments. For example Travis collected 3 possessions on Saturday night and Shannon collected 16 and slotted 2 goals. I really dont want to bag Travis but I think you have the wrong player in your sights.
rizzo
5th September 2007, 20:48
u dont allow for inconsistency just cos hes a young player. everyone goes by the same rules.
on saturday night:
byrnes-16 disposals 88% effective 2 inside 50 1clearance 1 clanger 3 tackles 2 goals 3 assists
varcoe-3 disposals 100%effective 1 inside 50 0 clearances 1 clanger 2 tackles 0 goals 0 assists
who do you think deserves a game more???
im not underestimating anything when it comes to nath. but he is still a player on the list and the rules are no different for him as they are for anyone else just cos he didnt play in the tac cup.
Yes you do. Its impossible for a young player to be consistent. Other wise young players would be dropped every second week.
I didn't. Both will be dropped this week. But Varcoe would be selected first. has 10 times more upside.
You need patience with Nath. People have to much expectation. Infact he is playing great footy considering where he has come from.
FTW_
5th September 2007, 20:51
He's not mentally weak - far from it, but c'mon no one likes having crap spoken about them unless you name is, er, Kiki Kannible (anyone with MySpace should know what that is).
Byrnes adds pace, most of you don't agree with this because you close your eyes in fear when he gets the ball.
Maybe if you looked in the background a bit you'd notice he runs around and chases his opponent.
We all know he shanks some of his kicks... But wait, who else shanks a lot of their kicks especially under pressure? Hmm, Joel Corey.
I don't see any of you saying he should be dropped and such because he's an important part of our midfield.
Shannon could be important too, if he had time to settle in!
Judging someone on one game is wrong and misleading, hence why I still think Shannon needs improvement.
If I'd never seen Shannon play before and I was to judge him on Saturday nights performance I'd think he's great. But he's not the best right now.
Once he performs consistently well over a couple of game then I'll say that, but guess what he needs to show that he can play well? To be in the side.
We need to play around a bit, find what position plays his best footy in, etc.
If he loses a game for us then maybe it's fair to say he should be traded/dropped/whatever.
But he hasn't done that and he's done nothing but add goals, depth and a little bit of pace to our side.
Funny thing is, if he has another couple of good games you guys will say it was just a fluke etc.
Maybe it was just a fluke that Varcoe had a few good games?
Anyone that's saying Byrnes should be dropped ahead of Varcoe is kidding themselves.
Why do you guys hate him so much that you need to pick on his every mistake like the rest of the team is perfect and doesn't make mistakes?
rizzo
5th September 2007, 20:51
the only thing that is shite are your comments. For example Travis collected 3 possessions on Saturday night and Shannon collected 16 and slotted 2 goals. I really dont want to bag Travis but I think you have the wrong player in your sights.
he had 88% effectiveness including 2 goals from set shots on saturday night.
You guys are insane! One game doesn't make a player. Besides you cant even compare disposals they play a different type of role in the forward line.
rizzo
5th September 2007, 20:58
He's not mentally weak - far from it, but c'mon no one likes having crap spoken about them unless you name is, er, Kiki Kannible (anyone with MySpace should know what that is).
Byrnes adds pace, most of you don't agree with this because you close your eyes in fear when he gets the ball.
Maybe if you looked in the background a bit you'd notice he runs around and chases his opponent.
We all know he shanks some of his kicks... But wait, who else shanks a lot of their kicks especially under pressure? Hmm, Joel Corey.
I don't see any of you saying he should be dropped and such because he's an important part of our midfield.
Shannon could be important too, if he had time to settle in!
Judging someone on one game is wrong and misleading, hence why I still think Shannon needs improvement.
If I'd never seen Shannon play before and I was to judge him on Saturday nights performance I'd think he's great. But he's not.
Once he performs consistently well over a couple of game then I'll say that, but guess what he needs to show that he can play well? To be in the side.
We need to play around a bit, find what position plays his best footy in, etc.
If he loses a game for us then maybe it's fair to say he should be traded/dropped/whatever.
But he hasn't done that and he's done nothing but add goals, depth and a little bit of pace to our side.
Funny thing is, if he has another couple of good games you guys will say it was just a fluke etc.
Maybe it was just a fluke that Varcoe had a few good games?
Anyone that's saying Byrnes should be dropped ahead of Varcoe is kidding themselves.
Why do you guys hate him so much that you need to pick on his every mistake like the rest of the team is perfect and doesn't make mistakes?
So why say that he plays shit because he cops shit? If it worrys him that much he is weak.
Of course he does, but thats all he adds. Nothing else except for his pace is valuable to the team.
Joel Corey may shank under pressure, Shannon does under no pressure. Corey also gets double the amount of possessions. He also gets clearances, he can also play down back.
Shannon has missed his midfield opportunity. He wont play there again. He is a forward with poor disposal and can't kick a goal. All he has is pace. Woj has pace, Mackie has pace, Varcoe has pace. We have enough pace.
Shannon will never settle in. he will never EVER be in the 22.
Bryceson
5th September 2007, 20:58
Yes you do. Its impossible for a young player to be consistent. Other wise young players would be dropped every second week.
I didn't. Both will be dropped this week. But Varcoe would be selected first. has 10 times more upside.
You need patience with Nath. People have to much expectation. Infact he is playing great footy considering where he has come from.
Impossible for a young player to be consistent???Joel Selwood was one of our ost consistent players this year!!
I dont wanna bag varcoe, but byrnes would CLEARLY be selected ahead of him atm and if u cant see that then ur mind is obvioudly made up about him all together and ur just writing him off.
rizzo
5th September 2007, 21:01
Impossible for a young player to be consistent???Joel Selwood was one of our ost consistent players this year!!
I dont wanna bag varcoe, but byrnes would CLEARLY be selected ahead of him atm and if u cant see that then ur mind is obvioudly made up about him all together and ur just writing him off.
Selwood is an exception. He is a star. Look at other young players and you will see.
Depends what the team wants? Hard Tackling player or a pacey lead up goal sneak.
Bryceson
5th September 2007, 21:02
So why say that he plays shit because he cops shit? If it worrys him that much he is weak.
Of course he does, but thats all he adds. Nothing else except for his pace is valuable to the team.
Joel Corey may shank under pressure, Shannon does under no pressure. Corey also gets double the amount of possessions. He also gets clearances, he can also play down back.
Shannon has missed his midfield opportunity. He wont play there again. He is a forward with poor disposal and can't kick a goal. All he has is pace. Woj has pace, Mackie has pace, Varcoe has pace. We have enough pace.
Bloody shannon haters give me the shits.....
Shannon Byrnes is not a forward with poor diposal. He is a midfielder/wingman who adds pace and run and drive to the team. And clearly he CAN kick a goal. He kicked 2 on saturday!
You need to be open minded. Believe it or not, the kid can play football!!!!
Bryceson
5th September 2007, 21:04
Selwood is an exception. He is a star. Look at other young players and you will see.
Depends what the team wants? Hard Tackling player or a pacey lead up goal sneak.
Hard tackling player? He laid 2 tackles on saturday! Once again i dont wanna bag varcoe, but it proves my point that you won't give byrnes a chance.
rizzo
5th September 2007, 21:04
Bloody shannon haters give me the shits.....
Shannon Byrnes is not a forward with poor diposal. He is a midfielder/wingman who adds pace and run and drive to the team. And clearly he CAN kick a goal. He kicked 2 on saturday!
You need to be open minded. Believe it or not, the kid can play football!!!!
Haha you gotta be kidding. Shannon is not a midfielders asshole! he hasn't played there for ages!
He can CLEARLY kick a point a career total of 18 goals 35 points sums it up doesnt it.
My mind is open. Ive seen 42 games of shannon, i dont want anymore.
rizzo
5th September 2007, 21:06
Hard tackling player? He laid 2 tackles on saturday! Once again i dont wanna bag varcoe, but it proves my point that you won't give byrnes a chance.
Stop basing your opinions on ONE game. Varcoe lead the AFL, yes AFL for tackles inside 50.
Bryceson
5th September 2007, 21:08
Haha you gotta be kidding. Shannon is not a midfielders asshole! he hasn't played there for ages!
He can CLEARLY kick a point a career total of 18 goals 35 points sums it up doesnt it.
My mind is open. Ive seen 42 games of shannon, i dont want anymore.
so im an asshole for giving my opinion am i? u clearly have no idea.
he is a midfileder. just because he hasnt had alot of oppurtunities to play ther in the afl does not mean he is not one.
if your mind was open you would be saying maybe he can turn around that career tally, lets see if he can play some good consistent football, not that u dont want him to play another game.
rizzo
5th September 2007, 21:11
so im an asshole for giving my opinion am i? u clearly have no idea.
he is a midfileder. just because he hasnt had alot of oppurtunities to play ther in the afl does not mean he is not one.
if your mind was open you would be saying maybe he can turn around that career tally, lets see if he can play some good consistent football, not that u dont want him to play another game.
Did i say u were? no! i said he isnt a midfielders asshole. :rolleyes:
How can you be a midfielder if you dont play there. Its like saying nathan is a CHB, but because we have Ego he cant play there.
No, i am just realising the facts. People are to optimistic. If you follow this view then you must give Charlie Gardiner a chance. Will you?
Bryceson
5th September 2007, 21:11
Stop basing your opinions on ONE game. Varcoe lead the AFL, yes AFL for tackles inside 50.
I'm not just basing it on one game, but it does play a major part. The last game a player played is the best indicator of the form they are in.
rizzo
5th September 2007, 21:14
I'm not just basing it on one game, but it does play a major part. The last game a player played is the best indicator of the form they are in.
You can't base form on one game. Do you think Mooney was in bad form after the Port game?
Bryceson
Did i say u were? no! i said he isnt a midfielders asshole. :rolleyes:
How can you be a midfielder if you dont play there. Its like saying nathan is a CHB, but because we have Ego he cant play there.
No, i am just realising the facts. People are to optimistic. If you follow this view then you must give Charlie Gardiner a chance. Will you?
No because he hasn't played well enough in the vfl to warrant a spot in the afl. Byrnes has played well enough in the vfl, earned himself a spot, and in my book has done enough to keep it!
Bryceson
You can't base form on one game. Do you think Mooney was in bad form after the Port game?
i said it was the best indicator, not the only indicator.
FTW_
5th September 2007, 21:16
Here we go...
I wasn't, I was merely suggesting that no one likes being talked about like that and maybe it does play a very small part - but it's no excuse for a bad game.
So he doesn't add depth? If Stokes and Varcoe got injured who would be bought in?
I've seen Joel Corey shank under no pressure. That set shot on goal a few months back? There was no pressure on him because that goal wasn't overly important IIRC.
Shannon has missed his midfield opportunity. He wont play there again.
Maybe he doesn't play his best footy in the midfield then?
He is a forward with poor disposal and can't kick a goal.
He kicked not just one, but two goals on Saturday night. It's not like he's never kicked a goal before. I'm not denying he kicks a lot of points and he needs to work on it but he does kick goals and to say he can't is incorrect.
All he has is pace. Woj has pace, Mackie has pace, Varcoe has pace. We have enough pace
Wojo has a dodgy knee and Varcoe isn't up to AFL standard right now. We need depth, don't we?
Are you psychic? Or are you making a silly assumption?
I'm a 13 year old that looks up to players as hero's.
Sorry if it's hard for me to criticise them in such a way, but they do their best and sometimes it's not enough and sometimes it is, they're always going to have their good and bad days and IMO Shannon has more on the good side rather than bad.
In a nutshell I'm just saying I'd prefer Shannon to Travis any day of the week because I could rely on Shannon to get the ball in the first place.
I'm in no way saying Shannon is a player as good as Gary Ablett or anything like that, but he's handy to have as depth and he is no where near as bad as you make him out to be.
Next year it might be a different story, who knows.
rizzo
5th September 2007, 21:17
No because he hasn't played well enough in the vfl to warrant a spot in the afl. Byrnes has played well enough in the vfl, earned himself a spot, and in my book has done enough to keep it!
What on earth are you talking about! Charlie has kicked 35 goals. Including some big bags. What has he doen to keep it?
Bryceson
5th September 2007, 21:21
What on earth are you talking about! Charlie has kicked 35 goals. Including some big bags. What has he doen to keep it?
But he hasn't played well enough to warrant a spot ahead of Mooney or Nath who are the players who he is fighting for a spot with.
Byrnes has definetly played well enough to keep his spot. If you can't see that then you have totally made up ur mind on him for the worst. Open your eyes.
rizzo
5th September 2007, 21:24
Here we go...
I wasn't, I was merely suggesting that no one likes being talked about like that and maybe it does play a very small part - but it's no excuse for a bad game.
It shouldnt play ANY part at all.
So he doesn't add depth? If Stokes and Varcoe got injured who would be bought in?
Id rather Djerkurra, Gamble, Gardiner, Prismall before Shannon
I've seen Joel Corey shank under no pressure. That set shot on goal a few months back? There was no pressure on him because that goal wasn't overly important IIRC. Mate, Joel Corey is my favourite player,
Maybe he doesn't play his best footy in the midfield then?
Yes, but he doesn't do it consistently like shannon. Well I was refering to Brycsons comment about him being a idfielder. But further proves my point, you need more then 18 goals from a forward. Unless he is a defender :rolleyes:
[SIZE=2][SIZE=2]
He kicked not just one, but two goals on Saturday night. It's not like he's never kicked a goal before. I'm not denying he kicks a lot of points and he needs to work on it but he does kick goals and to say he can't is incorrect.
Wojo has a dodgy knee and Varcoe isn't up to AFL standard right now. We need depth, don't we?
Big deal he has kicked two! he has also kicked ONLY 18 goals in 42 games! is that something you want in the team. Even Charlie has kicked more. Its not incorrect its fact.
Wojo's knee is fine. We need depth, i agree, we have it. We don't need shannon. And if shannon is just depth, why argue he can be in our 22?
FTW_
5th September 2007, 21:27
And if shannon is just depth, why argue he can be in our 22?
I'm not, if we had no injuries then I'd be fine if he wasn't playing.
I'm arguing that he should be in the side ahead of Varcoe and you're making him out to be worse than he is.
rizzo
5th September 2007, 21:28
But he hasn't played well enough to warrant a spot ahead of Mooney or Nath who are the players who he is fighting for a spot with.
Byrnes has definetly played well enough to keep his spot. If you can't see that then you have totally made up ur mind on him for the worst. Open your eyes.
Charlie Isn't a tall forward mate. People need to learn that. In fact he plays the same role as "the Hack" (formally known as shannon byrnes) Leading forward come forward pocket.
Before last week he hadn't kicked a goal since round 18. ****n great form that.