Jumper No: 30
Height: 192 cm
Weight: 95 kg
DOB: 5 June 1979
Recruited From: Geelong U18

Metallica_Man
6th June 2007, 21:21
This weeks edition of 'Scarlo Says'

The new "hands in the back" rule has been talked about a lot lately, and while I've only had two or three frees paid against me, I'm really not a big fan.

I just don't think it's in the spirit of the game.

We all saw two weeks ago what happened with "Richo", and I think everyone felt pretty shattered for him because he's played AFL for 14, 15 years and he's always taken a mark like that.

I just don't think the rule has been working this year. I think they should have trialled it first and they didn't, and I think the people who change these rules really need to listen to the players.

I'm pretty sure nearly 100 per cent of players would want it changed back to the old rule. The players should definitely get more of a say in it.

You have to be so careful when the ball is in the air. You can't hold your opponent out, and they reckon it's promoting more contested marking, but I think it's taking it away because you can't really hold the forward out and go for the ball.

You just stand there and wrestle your bloke and the ball hits the ground. The skill to be able to hold the forward out, or for the forward to hold the back out, you just can't do that now. They changed the rule for more marking – and it's not happening.

It's second nature to hold the man out with your hands. It's just a silly rule; even the forwards don't think it's great either. They have to hold the defender out as well, they're getting a few frees but they're giving them away too, so I don't think anyone likes it.

To mix it up this week, we did all our match review stuff down at Jan Juc on Monday morning - the day after it snowed down there.

I read the paper and they got one centimetre of snow on Sunday. I didn't get any at my place, which is only two minutes away, but it was pretty cold. They made us get in the water for about 20 minutes, which wasn't great.

It was freezing. We had to get our whole bodies in there, and none of the boys were too happy about that.

Apparently, the cold water shuts the body down and heals all injuries and stuff. That's what they reckon anyway, and we just do what we're told and jump in. It's not much fun though.

Every now and again, we might go somewhere else for our review. It's refreshing for the mind, just knowing that we don't have to go into the club. It almost felt like a day off. About once a month, they look to change venues, which is good.

We were all down there and in different groups, and we had to jump in the water and then we had a massage.

We also had a barbeque, and then we had about an hour and a half off before we did our review, which was at 3pm, and that went for about an hour. It was a good day, good to change venues, and get away from the club for the day.

A few of the boys were brave enough to go surfing before recovery started. Cameron Ling and Tim Callan were out there for a couple of hours. They're pretty crazy, those guys.

Lingy thinks he's a pretty good surfer, but I'm not sure if he's that good. He really enjoys it and he goes out most days. He reckons he's great but I haven't seen him. He's also trying to look like a surfer, he's grown his hair and tries to tip it blond, which is pretty funny.

I'm not sure about this twilight timeslot. It's a bit weird. We had to drive back to Geelong after the game, so I'd much rather play during the day. Even night games are better, because with twilight, you don't know what to do with yourself during the day.

You don't know what time to get up, or whether to have a little snooze before the game. It's a strange time, but we've been winning them, so I guess we must be doing something right.

This week, we face another massive test. It's maybe not "The Test", but it's another big one – ultimately, just another game for us though.

The Crows are obviously a great side and they're going to look to bounce back after a loss, but we're really looking forward to it. We've been playing some good footy, and now we'll see how we go against a quality side.

Big Nasty
7th June 2007, 12:10
My fav player for the cats. In All Australian form and hopefully get his 3rd AA this year. We have such depth we could cover any position this year through injury, however if Scarlett got injured or suspended (god forbid) then we would loose our drive out of defence and look a second rate backline, he is the general after all.

Metallica_Man
10th June 2007, 18:04
AFL Round 11 v Adelaide
In All Australian form, kept Welsh goal less and did lots up the ground. Teamed up well with Milburn in defence

Big Nasty
11th June 2007, 12:29
AFL Round 11 v Adelaide
In All Australian form, kept Welsh goal less and did lots up the ground. Teamed up well with Milburn in defence
im sick of other teams not aknowledging Scarlett as the as the better Full Back this season. Will be robbed if he keeps up this form and dosen't get AA.

Metallica_Man
11th June 2007, 13:17
im sick of other teams not aknowledging Scarlett as the as the better Full Back this season. Will be robbed if he keeps up this form and dosen't get AA.
All this shit about Brian Harris, WOW he got 24 uncontested marks and kicks on the half back flank, All Australian full back guaranteed for that!

Big Nasty
11th June 2007, 13:35
All this shit about Brian Harris, WOW he got 24 uncontested marks and kicks on the half back flank, All Australian full back guaranteed for that!
I know it's a joke. Rodney Eade should get tool of the week by Saying Harris is the best Full Back in the competition. :thumbsd:

Metallica_Man
17th November 2007, 16:23
AA Back Pocket
Congrats Scarlo

Scarlett Letter
27th November 2007, 21:45
G' Day Scarlett Letter here, looking forward to a big season 2008 for the Geelong Football Club, and the continued dominance of the Australian Football League's number one defender, our own Matthew Scarlett.

I'll be championing this thread, and will hopefully make it without counterpart the most thorough and in depth player thread on the Geelong board.

Included will be some interesting off- field and on- field stats of the great man, weekly match reviews, story updates, some personal blogs of mine, the continuation of 'Scarlo Says' from the GFC website, pictures and much more.

I can't wait to get back into the thick of things and bring to you a more enlightened perspective of the Cat's last line champion.

Updating soon,
Scarlett Letter

Last Line Hero
11th March 2008, 20:37
Source-
GEELONG ADVERTISER

Item-
Updated News

Cats Matthew Scarlett ready to return
Bradley Green
29Feb08

http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/images/uploadedfiles/editorial/pictures/2008/02/28/matthew_scarlett.jpg
Matthew Scarlett is fit and ready.

ALL-AUSTRALIAN defender Matthew Scarlett is almost certain to make his first appearance of the year in Geelong's final practice match next week.

Scarlett has again been rested from tonight's hit-out against the Brisbane Lions, but Cats assistant coach Ken Hinkley said he was virtually a definite starter against Richmond at Skilled Stadium next Friday evening.

Scarlett has not played all pre-season after having minor knee surgery late last month.

It was initially feared that the operation could have forced Scarlett to miss the start of the regular season, but the club yesterday insisted his recovery had gone smoothly.

Scarlett is among a host of Cats' stars missing tonight's game.

Premiership stars Brad Ottens, Cameron Ling, Gary Ablett, Darren Milburn and Cameron Mooney are also being rested.

Captain Tom Harley, Brownlow Medallist Jimmy Bartel, Norm Smith Medallist Steve Johnson and David Wojcinski return while goalkicking midfielder Paul Chapman plays his first pre-season match.

Hinkley said the changes were part of the club's pre-season rotation policy to ensure the majority of their players gain valuable match-time in the lead-up to the season.

``If it was an AFL game on this weekend, we'd be playing most of those blokes but we're just making sure that the ones who are rested are fully ready to go in a couple of weeks,'' Hinkley said.

The Cats squad of 29 had a light training session at Carrara's Gold Coast Stadium last night and Hinkley said the players were expecting a good, solid hit-out from the Lions.

``The last couple of rounds of the NAB Cup, sides try to get somewhere back to near their best side and Brisbane have brought back some quality players like (Simon) Black and (Jonathan) Brown so we expect it to be a very solid game for both sides,'' he said.

``For us, it's all about preparing for round one and getting the conditioning into the team. There are plenty of them who are desperate to get a game come round one and let's hope some can push for that opportunity this week.''

Rookie Brodie Moyles will also make his first senior appearance tonight and Hinkley said the coaching staff were interested to see how the young Tasmanian would handle the step up.

``He's had an interrupted pre-season with some knee problems but the last few weeks he's shown that he can play good VFL football so it will be good to have a look at him at this level,'' Hinkley said.

Last Line Hero
11th March 2008, 20:46
Source-
GEELONG ADVERTISER

Item-
Updated News

Cats turn up the heat, with 11 premiership stars in VFL practice match
Michael Auciello
11Mar08

http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/images/uploadedfiles/editorial/pictures/2007/02/26/geelong-richmond-scarlett.jpg
Matthew Scarlett look set to take on Coburg.

GEELONG will play 11 of its AFL-listed players in Thursday's VFL practice match at Skilled Stadium.

The Cats will play four 20-minutes quarters from 3.30pm in what is expected to be 36-degree heat.

They yesterday applied to the AFL for Matthew Scarlett, Gary Ablett and Brad Ottens to play in what is supposed to be a game-free weekend for AFL players before the season opener next week.

VFL coach Leigh Tudor yesterday said he would be guided by the club's fitness staff as to how long he would play the premiership players in the heat against Coburg.

``I haven't talked to the fitness guys yet but we'll see what each individual needs to finish off their pre-season,'' he said.

``We'll have fans and ice vests and all that as well.

``They'll have a (training) session (today) and then be judged by the fitness guys about how much game time they need.

``The AFL guys need one more game before the start of the year, so we'll play them Thursday because we play (Port Adelaide) next Thursday.''

Clubs can apply to the league for players to take part in games this week if they have missed practice matches or training sessions throughout the pre-season.

Scarlett has had an interrupted pre-season after having minor surgery on his knee in January, while Ablett missed two matches after copping a knock during the NAB Cup opener against Melbourne on February 16.

Ottens has not played a game since the first NAB Cup match.

Among other AFL-listed players to play will be Simon Hogan, Dawson Simpson and rookies Brodie Moles, Chris Kangars, Jeremy Laidler and Liam Bedford.

The club will submit its final VFL list and rookie list to the league this week, and Tudor said Thursday would also be a good chance to really get the VFL's 2008 premiership campaign under way.

``It'll be good for the VFL guys, we've nutted out our list so now we can get our structures and game plans into place over the next couple of games,'' Tudor said.

Last Line Hero
24th March 2008, 15:33
Source-
HERALD SUN

Item-
Updated News

Cats cruel to be kind
Mike Sheehan
19Mar08

http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/images/uploadedfiles/editorial/pictures/2007/10/29/scarlett_wedding.jpg
Scarlett's off- field persona has transformed itself.

IN THIS edited book extract, the Cats reveal how being brutally honest with each other helped them win a flag.

"It's pretty hard sitting in front of 40 guys and basically get told what a wanker you are, it is really tough."

Matthew Scarlett's typically honest description of his peer assessment summed it up perfectly. The program introduced by leadership consultant Gerard Murphy was designed to generate a change in the club's culture, in particular the workings of the player group, and the full-back was No. 1 on the hit list.

Scarlett had always struggled with the notion of being a role model. Despite being arguably the club's best player and one of the oldest at 27, he preferred to stay out of the spotlight. He rarely gave interviews and lived by the mantra that actions speak louder than words.

Scarlett only saw black or white, nothing between. This had caused problems within the team, particularly with younger players coming in - they didn't know how to handle Scarlett's gruff and dismissive nature.

While he wasn't anywhere near Steve Johnson in the bad boy ratings, he'd had his share of run-ins with management over his after-hours activities.

Given his influence in the changerooms there was a feeling that if Scarlett embraced the peer assessments it would go a long way in selling it to the group. As part of the procedure, a player has to write down what he thinks his teammates will say of him. Scarlett got almost every point right.

"Mine was a lot of off-field stuff," Scarlett said.

"They wanted me to be more disciplined. When I am at training I am very professional and hard on guys to do the right thing. I am hard on everyone to train the way we play and I guess they just wanted me to be disciplined off the field."

The Mission by Scott Gullan. RRP $34.95. Order at Herald Sun shop and www.gfc.com.au (http://www.gfc.com.au/)

Last Line Hero
24th March 2008, 17:12
Source-
PERSONAL

Item-
Performance Review

Opponent-
Rnd 1 @ AAMI Stadium
v.
http://www.tasmaf.org.au/images/afl_pafc.gif

Statistics-
K: 11
H/B: 11
D: 22
M: 2
T: 1
CP: 1
DE%: 86.36
r50: 3

cp= contested possessions de%= disposal efficiency

Goals Conceded for the Match= 2
Goals Conceded for 2008= 2

Summary-
IT'S BEEN A TENDENCY of Matthew Scarlett in years past to take a couple of weeks "off", so to speak, upon the arrival of the new AFL season.

Thankfully, for the sake of Geelong fans and the Cats much anticipated premiership defence, Round 1 2008 was (for the most part) a different story.

Scarlett was amongst Geelong's best players in the season opening victory over the Power, as he picked up where he left off following his outstanding Grand Final performance against Port in 2007.

The full- back was a constant thorn in the side of every opposition attacking thrust on Thursday night, spending time on Warren Tredrea, Brett Ebert, Daniel Motlop and Brendan Lade, however it was talented, young full- forward Justin Westhoff who was forced to endure Scarlett's prescence for most of the evening. His only goal coming in the 4th quarter, off a costly lapse in judgement by Scarlett after the defender overran the ball attempting to make contact with an oncoming Motlop, the Hoff leaping on the loose spoils and finishing from short range.

Scarlett's one on one work was flawless yet again, not allowing a single mark to a direct opponent inside the attacking 50 and whilst he wasn't at his highest eb of attacking flamboyance, he was controlled and consumate in his marshalling of the back half, winning plenty of the ball and providing timely relief when Port looked threatening. Only some questionable disposal in the 2nd half marred an otherwise excellent defensive showing.

It was an impressive start by the champ coming off a limited pre- season after an arthroscope on his knee prior to the NAB Cup.

Big Nasty
24th March 2008, 19:10
Thanx for the info LLH. :thumbsu:
Scarlett is also my favourite player. How do you reckon he will go against Lloyd next week.

Last Line Hero
27th March 2008, 22:42
Source-
GFC.com

Item-
Matthew Scarlett's weekly column

Scarlo Says
Matthew Scarlett
26Mar08

http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/images/AFL/Geelong/Scarlo_toon246x316.jpg
Geelong champion Matthew Scarlett: Illustration by Paul Harvey

Matthew Scarlett will write exclusively for geelongfc.com.au regularly throughout the 2008 AFL season. This, his first column, was penned in the aftermath of Geelong's victory in the Grand Final re-match against Port Adelaide in round one.

IT WAS a great start by the boys.

It was always going to be difficult having to head interstate and play our first game against Port Adelaide.

They were always going to be fired up after last year’s Grand Final, so to go over there and beat them again was a very good win in the circumstances.

Bomber and the coaching staff were pretty happy with how we played, despite our second half not being as good as our first.

We got off to a good start to the game but just got a bit tired towards the end there, but still, it was a great way to kick off the year.

I think we probably went in with a few blokes a little bit underdone. I haven’t played a lot of footy, while Gazza’s (Gary Ablett's) preparation wasn’t as solid as it could have been either.

But it definitely wasn’t a fitness issue. We’ve had a really hard summer and we’re well prepared again for another good season.

It was just a matter of having a few guys underdone and we couldn’t really run out the game as well as we would have liked, which is to be expected when a couple of guys have had shorter preparations.

Port is such a skilful side. They’ve got a good forward line and a super-quick midfield, so I think they’ll definitely challenge strongly for the top four again.

It’s hard to know how much you can take out of the first few rounds though. It’ll probably take about a month before things settle down and you get a bit of a gauge on who’s going to be up near the top and who’s going to be lower.

I think Port will definitely finish near the top of the ladder again.

I’m not really expecting there to be any major movers, although St Kilda might be a bit of an improver. I think most of the sides that performed well last year will be around the mark again.

I think Port Adelaide will be strong, Hawthorn will be up there this year and Collingwood are always competitive.

Most people are expecting us to go all the way again, which is certainly a bit different to 12 months ago. And it’s fair to say there is a different feeling around the club than at the same time last year.

The monkey is off the back but, still, our own expectations are just so high. While there’s talk of outside pressures, we don’t worry about that.

We’ve got massive expectations on ourselves for this year.

The confidence in the group is just enormous. There’s just a different mentality at the club now. We just expect to win every week.

But while we now know what it takes to win a flag, that hasn’t changed how we approach any game. This week, we’re only focussed on the first quarter against Essendon.

I watched the Bombers at home on TV and they looked very good, very quick. They’re going to be a handful.

Scotty Lucas not being out there for the Bombers might result in a few less headaches for our backline. Although having said that, Essendon still kicked 19 goals and looked pretty dangerous going forward.

You never like seeing an opposition player injured, and you love to play against the best each and every week. Scotty, a former Geelong Falcon like me, is a great player and his loss is unfortunate for the Bombers as he’s done some damage against us in the past.

Still, they’ve got Matty Lloyd and a fair few others capable of kicking goals.

I’m sure it’s going to be a fantastic game.

Last Line Hero
31st March 2008, 19:00
Source-
PERSONAL

Item-
Performance Review

Opponent-
Rnd 2 @ Telestra Dome
v.
http://www.southernfootball.com.au/images/afl_ebfc.gif

Statistics-
K: 7
H/B: 5
D: 12
M: 4
DE%: 75.00
i50: 2

Goals Conceded for the Match= 0
Goals Conceded for 2008= 2

Summary-
SUNDAY AT THE DOME was a day which any defender would call a dream come true: when your side exhibits a relentless display of sheer dominance right across the ground and you win by 99 points. But nonetheless, it was just as satfying for full- back Matthew Scarlett, who was better than rock solid once again.

When taking on the Bombers, the Lloyd v. Scarlett duel has always been the key fixture, and one that I have enjoyed, in my lifetime, more than any other: the match-up between the game's best defender and the best full- forward of the 21st century. Despite having not gone head to head since 2005, their epic struggles will be remembered for many years to come. Scarlett's record against the Dons spearhead is more than impressive. In their 7 encounters since Round 1 of 2002, Scarlett has contained Lloyd to a well below career average of 3 goals a game, including being amongst Geelong's best in several of those matches. Yesterday, the trend continued, as Lloyd was held goalless, for the first time in 3 years and for the first time at Telestra Dome in 6 years.

Lloyd battled manfully all afternoon with very limited opportunity, but ultimately his influence was utterly blanketed by Scarlett. Lloyd finished with 8 marks for the match, only 1 of which was inside the attacking 50, and 3 behinds plus 2 on the fulls. But although it appears Lloyd had his chances to kick a handful, 2 of his shots were selfish snaps on the run from deep in the pocket, 2 were set shots from well outside 50, and one was a pressured soccer out of midair. For the most part the Bomber champ was simply not allowed and/or able to get into the match after his heroics of the previous round. Disappointing considering the hype that surrounded him leading into the battle, as the inspirational leader, set to pick up the slack for the injured Scott Lucas, and dominate once again as the focal point of the Baby Bombers lightining paced, no-holds-bareed playing philosophies. Well, lessoned learned.

In spite of the fact Scarlett's possession was at times sloppy, he instigated the terms right from the get go by dragging Lloyd out of his comfort zone and charging well up the field on attacking forays. This reulted in Scarlett setting up several scoring opportunities after winning possession his offensive side of the centre circle, which clearly caught the Bomber skipper a little off guard. From that point on it was all one way traffic, not only for Scarlo but the entire Geelong unit. Lloyd had to spend much of the day out from goals and the significant majority of his possessions where wasteful or up around the wing. The number of times Bomber midfielders hesitated coming forward due to Scarlett's tight checking on Lloyd leads was countless, and eventually had Lloyd mistiming his runs or moving to the wrong area, and going missing for long patches of the game. It was another job well done for the champion full- back.

Lloyd became a victim of the bronx cheers late in the fourth term.

Last Line Hero
3rd April 2008, 18:23
Source-
GFC.com

Item-

Scarlo Says
Matthew Scarlett
03Apr08

Geelong champion Matthew Scarlett: Illustrated by Paul Harvey

THE BOYS PLAYED PRETTY WELL last week against Essendon, so we can’t complain too much.

However, there were a few things that we’ve focussed on since the game that we need to improve if we’re going to get better.

We still might have managed to kick a lot of goals against the Bombers but our performance was far from perfect.

That’s what we strive for each week – to play the perfect game.

Last week might have looked silky smooth from the outside but some areas were a bit sloppy.

Our hardness at the ball and the man was great, but unfortunately we didn’t kick the ball that well to our tall forwards.

I really felt for guys like Moons last week as our delivery to him wasn’t up to our usual standard.

We’ve been working hard throughout this week to make sure we try to make it easier for him and the other boys up forward in the coming weeks.

My job was made pretty easy against Essendon and, I must admit I was pretty happy to have come away from Telstra Dome last week having kept one of the great full-forwards goalless.

I got some great help from our midfield, and I guess Lloydy probably didn’t get as much supply from his as he would have liked.

While things sort of fell my way at the weekend, to come away with a ‘clean sheet’ leaves you pretty satisfied.

I heard somewhere this week that it had been a while since Lloydy had been kept goalless, especially at the Dome.

Still, you can never rest, and straight away my mind has switched to this week’s job.

That’s the thing with being a defender. You’re only a week away from having a few goals kicked on you and being under the pump.

Now, I’m thinking about Melbourne and my next opponent.

I’ve played on David Neitz a lot in the past and am likely to get him again.

He’s obviously a great player and, being the skipper, he’ll be keen to fire them up as the Dees have had a pretty rough time of it lately.

I know we’re going to have to be right on our game this week.

We don’t care or take any notice about what’s being said in the papers this week – we’ve still got a game of footy to play and it’ll be a tough contest between two teams.

Everyone seems to think we’ve only got to turn up to win but we’re approaching this game exactly as we would any other. We don’t treat any game any differently to any other.

One thing that will be different about this week though will be what happens before we run out.

The unfurling of the premiership flag before the game will be a great occasion for all our supporters.

It’s more something we’ve got to do, although I’m sure for the boys that played in the Grand Final it’s a moment we’ll also really enjoy.

But it’s moreso a really big moment for the club and the supporters than the guys.

I know myself, and the other 21 guys standing beside me, will probably be more focussed on the game half an hour later than watching the 2007 premiership flag wave in the breeze.

Still, we’ll enjoy it going up and then focus on the game. We just can’t look at it and love it too much.

Because when the game starts against Melbourne, it won’t help us get the four points.

Crancon
3rd April 2008, 18:33
Magnificent work as usual LLH. :thumbsu:

Last Line Hero
7th April 2008, 20:49
Source-
PERSONAL

Item-
Performance Review

Opponent-
Rnd 3 @ Skilled Stadium
v.
http://www.tasmaf.org.au/images/afl_mfc.gif

Statistics-
K: 16
H/B: 4
D: 20
M: 5
T: 3
CP: 2
DE%: 85.00
r50: 1
i50: 3

Goals Conceded for the Match= 1
Goals Conceded for 2008= 3

Summary-
THERE WAS SOME CONCERN late in the pre- season over whether or not Matthew Scarlett would be physically ready to even play Round 1 let alone perform. These fears were then compounded by Scarlett's notorius habit of starting season's in lowly style.

What Scarlett has typically done going in to every other season is train particularly hard leading in to the NAB Cup, then be forced to play almost every minute of the pre- season competition, travelling with the team and having to bother himself with how he performs. Then upon it's completion he has to wait out that two week lay-off before the real stuff begins. It isn't like Scarlett doesn't play good football in the NAB Cup, in fact his record is very good, however whether it's a case of burning himself out with over exertion or just the manifestation of tension and nerves waiting for the year proper to begin, it has not worked out well for him. Looking at the contrast to his 2008 lead- up and what has ensuingly transpired on field in the first 3 games, one would have to wonder if the Cats will continue to do the same with him in his veteran years.

Matty's knee arthroscope mean't he couldn't make an appearance in his side's brief NAB Cup campaign. This ensured he was able to pretty much purely focus on getting himself in excellent physical shape, without any unneccessary bruising or battering in the pre- season, and when he did play in the final practice match, he was utilised sparingly. Keeping him fresh and envigorated. Also, he made an appearance for the Geelong Reserves just one week out from Round 1, which would have no doubt helped to release some tension and get the match nerves in control.

Anyway, on to the game. Geelong was given a much needed physical test against a significantly improved Demons outfit on Sunday afternoon. Melbourne captain David Nietz looked dangerous early, helping to set up a goal after leading Scarlett to the ball and gathering beautifully across half forward, before releasing a sweeping handpass. He then lost Scarlett in traffic and managed to snare Melbourne's second goal on the run, before finally beating Scarlett on the lead and having a set shot, which he missed. Geez, all this within the first 10 minutes.

However, as great defenders do Scarlett stuck to his guns and quickly assumed control of the duel, in spite of Melbourne playing some good, tight, tough, pressure football, forcing alot of uncharacteristic turnovers in the middle of the ground. As Matthew Lloyd did last week, Nietz worked hard and created the contest, but ultimately he was all but entirely overshadowed by the game's premier defender. Like Denver Broncos cornerback Champ Bailey in the NFL, Scarlett has an inance knack for not allowing the ball to even be kicked his way and it was on show again yesterday, the Demons breaking down when going forward due to the fact they had to second guess so often. Nietz did not kick another goal.

"Gunner's Boy" was on the attack again yesterday also, great to see so early on in the season when he is typically intent on staying at home due to his lack of touch, prepared to move confidently forward of centre and launch the ball into attack. It was another very consumate all- round showing by the full- back.

Last Line Hero
7th April 2008, 23:09
http://bighugelabs.com/flickr/motivator.php

Last Line Hero
9th April 2008, 12:56
Source-
GFC.com

Item-

Scarlo Says
Matthew Scarlett
09Apr08

Geelong's Matthew Scarlett. Illustration by Paul Harvey

WE WERE under the pump early on against Melbourne but, in some ways, that wasn’t a bad thing.

Before the game, a lot of people outside of the club were talking up a 100-point win but we knew it wasn’t going to be that easy.

We haven’t been behind in a lot of matches in the past 12 months, but we were in the early stages of Sunday’s game.

So it was great to have a good, hard hit-out. While some of our fans might have left the ground thinking we didn’t win by as much as we should have, we were still really pleased to get the four points.

It was a tough hit-out against Melbourne and we knew it was always going to be. The Demons had come off a couple of rough games to start the year.

On the other hand, we probably needed one.

A week earlier against Essendon, we spent a lot of the day kicking goals and doing things on our own terms. But we can’t be looking to kick 20 or 30 goals every week.

Melbourne forced us to chase and tackle them after having a heap of the ball, which meant our backline - me included - was under more pressure than we have been for some time.

That can only help us reach our best form.

On Sunday, guys like Tommy Harley led from the front.

Tommy always does and I’ve said before that I feel more comfortable when he's back there with me. That hasn’t changed.

I guess we’ve played footy together for a long time and we just know each other inside out.

Tommy’s always there as a third man up if I’m about to get beaten and I always try to help him out too.

I guess our bond has come through time spent together since he arrived at Geelong. I’ve got enormous respect for him and each time I look over and see him standing beside me, I feel pretty comfortable.

Every defence needs guys like that.

This week, our back six will be put to the test against St Kilda.

While they have a lot of players capable of causing damage, some serious planning will go into their three high-quality forwards – Fraser Gehrig, Nick Riewoldt and Justin Koschitzke.

We’re going to need to be right on our game and be prepared to help each other out.

I think that has been one of our strengths, particularly in recent years.

We do help each other out really well.

I’m not sure who’s going to get who yet, although I usually get big Fraser.

He’s a pretty interesting character and a tough guy to play on.

He doesn’t usually say a lot, although he does wander around behind the posts and say g'day to the crowd occasionally.

I generally just stand out in front of him and let him do his own thing.

But as soon as the ball bounces, you’ve definitely got to be on your toes as he’s one guy who can really get St Kilda going.

When he kicks goals, the Saints seem to win. So whether it's me or a teammate that gets him on Saturday, he’s one to watch in a dangerous mix.

It’s a big game for us this week, but one we’ve been looking forward to.

We’re really fired up for this one, as we all love playing St Kilda.

They seem to bring out the best in us and I hope they do again.

Last Line Hero
13th April 2008, 13:05
Source-
GEELONG ADVERTISER

Item-
Updated News

Matthew Scarlett keen to tame tall St. Kilda forwards
Bradley Green
12Apr08

http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/images/uploadedfiles/editorial/pictures/2008/04/11/102scar2_(350_x_537).jpg
Matthew Scarlett at training during the week

GEELONG defender Matthew Scarlett admits St Kilda's potent forward set-up will be a good early-season test for the in-form Cats' defence this afternoon.

The top-of-the-ladder Geelong takes on the Saints at Telstra Dome. The two sides have enjoyed a healthy rivalry in recent seasons.

The All-Australian full back said he knows that nullifying the Saints' big guns in attack will be crucial to ensuring the Cats' unbeaten start to the season continues.

"While they have a lot of players capable of causing damage, some serious planning will go into their three high-quality forwards, Fraser Gehrig, Nick Riewoldt and Justin Koschitzke," Scarlett wrote in his weekly column on gfc.com.au.

Scarlett said he expected to have Gehrig as his opponent.

When the sides met at Telstra Dome in round 10 last year, the two-time Coleman medallist was held to two goals as Geelong belted the Saints by 10 goals.

"He's a pretty interesting character and a tough guy to play on," Scarlett said of Gehrig. "He doesn't usually say a lot, although he does wander around behind the posts and say g'day to the crowd occasionally.

"I generally just stand out in front of him and let him do his own thing.
But as soon as the ball bounces, you've definitely got to be on your toes as he's one guy who can really get St Kilda going.

"When he kicks goals, the Saints seem to win. So whether it's me or a teammate that gets him on Saturday, he's one to watch in a dangerous mix."

Scarlett said he believed the Cats would benefit from their hard hit-out against Melbourne last Sunday.

"Melbourne forced us to chase and tackle them after having a heap of the ball, which meant our backline - me included - was under more pressure than we have been for some time," he said.

"That can only help us reach our best form."

Dashing defender David Wojcinksi was a noticeable absentee as the Cats' fine-tuned their preparations with a light training run at Skilled Stadium yesterday morning.

Brent Prismall, who's been named first emergency, trained with the squad.

Last Line Hero
13th April 2008, 23:12
Source-
PERSONAL

Item-
Performance Review

Opponent-
Rnd 4 @ Telestra Dome
v.
http://www.adambarnett.com.au/images/stkfc_logo.gif

Statistics-
K: 15
H/B: 9
D: 24
M: 6 (2 contested)
T: 4
CP: 5
DE%: 79.17
r50: 6
i50: 1

Goals Conceded for the Match= 3
Goals Conceded for 2008= 6

Summary-
ST. KILDA FULL- FORWARD FRASER GERHIG would have been thinking long and hard about the intelligence of his decision to return to the AFL after retiring following his Round 4 performance against Geelong.

For Matthew Scarlett on the other hand it was business as usual, as he enjoyed arguably a best on ground showing upon the sunlight bathed Telestra Dome.

One must ponder that Scarlett's individual effort was perhaps no greater than the prior three games, however his standards were more grandly emphasised by the complete lack of intensity and accountability displayed by his lazy combatant, who gave little to no effort in shutting down Scarlett's greatest strengths: his dash and creativity.

Gerhig finished with 2 goals, which as the Herald Sun claimed "overstated his contribution". One came early in the 3rd term off a laces out pass from Brendan Goddard, the other came after the final siren when Scarlett had peeled off to pressure the ball carrier. Gerhig was forced to spend hefty portions of the match on the bench due to his inability to get involved. This mean't Scarlett also spent time on Justin Kositchke

Scarlett was simply dominant. He stood up grandly in the face of immense early pressure as the Saints dominated the midfield stakes, then lead the charge as his Cats assumed control. Often Gerhig looked insipid as Scarlett overpowered him in one-on-one contests (illegally according to some on this site. St. Kilda fans mostly surprise, surprise), outmarking him on several occassions. Too agile, too skilled and too smart would be the operative causes for the lop sided duel.

Matthew's run was once again at the forefront and made unacceptably easy by the St. Kilda power forwards who failed to respond in the face of criticism. He exploited Gerhig, as he has regularly done, for his waning work ethic and depleted fitness, winning the ball and aggressively pushing forward. His ability to not only find targets but find targets in dangerous positions who can then in turn attack forward also, was crucial to Geelong turning the game back in their favour, and has been the driving force behind Geelong's revitalised attacking style over the last year. Awesome.

Big Nasty
14th April 2008, 11:24
Bloody good insight mate. Your knowledge and the way you present your views of the game, makes me think you really should be a sports writer. You fair dinkum know your sh!t Last Line Hero. :thumbsu:

Big Nasty
14th April 2008, 16:49
Scarlett finally getting some recognition from the media. Ox & Dermie on SEN saying how he is far and away the best Full Back in the comp. :thumbsu:

GFCBack2Backin08
14th April 2008, 19:02
Well Done LLH Great Effort Mate!
Some of these reports on Scarlett's matches are quite professional
:thumbsu::thumbsu::)

Last Line Hero
17th April 2008, 16:48
Source-
GFC.com

Item-

Scarlo Says
Matthew Scarlett
17Apr08

IT'S BEEN a big few days in footy, that’s for sure.

The Barry Hall incident has been talked about everywhere and it’s been no different down at training.

All the guys were talking about it in the days after it happened, but not only because we’re up against the Swans this week.

I was at home watching the match, and Barry in particular, just before the incident occurred.

I have to say, the incident left me a little surprised. Barry has been so well behaved over the last few years, and has been in such good form recently, that to me, it just came out of the blue.

When I saw him punch Brent Staker, I was disappointed because I look forward to playing on guys like him and when he did it, I knew straight away that he wasn’t going to be playing against us.

I think the seven weeks he copped is a pretty reasonable penalty. Some people thought he’d get more and some thought he’d get less, so I think the AFL Tribunal did a fair job with it.

I think the tribunal got Cam Mooney’s tripping charge from last week right too. If he’d got a week for that it would have been, well, a bit soft I suppose.

Unfortunately Ryan Gamble will be missing this week after copping a one match suspension for striking.

It was a silly act from him and he knows that, even though it was out of character for him to do it.

I think something had happened just before Ryan’s incident, but that’s no excuse as the retaliator always gets caught.

So both us and the Swans will go into this week’s game missing a forward.

I guess without Barry Hall in the Swans side they won’t be as predictable as they might have been when they go inside 50.

They’ll obviously throw a few new things up at us this week.

I don’t know who’s going to come in for him. Maybe they’ll start a few small guys down in the forward line. Time will tell and we’ll have to be ready for anything.

The Swans could have their best 10 players out and they’d still be competitive, it’s just the club they are.

You’ve always got to prepare yourself for a really hard contest against Sydney. We know it’s going to be another huge test for us.

Some good news for the club this week was the number of Cats that were selected in squads for the AFL’s Hall of Fame tribute match on May 10.

It’s a great concept and the guys are really excited about it.

This State-of-Origin type of football hasn’t been around for quite a few years now, and the boys can’t wait to play in the game if they get their chance.

There’s 13 of us from Gee long, and I think all of us warranted selection.

I was really happy to make the Victorian squad and would love to get picked in the final team - although looking through the Dream Team’s forward line there’s a few scary blokes in there.

No, I seriously hope to get a run, as playing in a game like that would be sensational.

I think everyone would want to see or play in a game like this.

Last Line Hero
21st April 2008, 20:25
Source-
PERSONAL

Item-
Performance Review

Opponent-
Rnd 5 @ Skilled Stadium
v.
http://www.toywebb.net/images/swans-logo.gif

Statistics-
H/B: 7
D: 14
M: 1
DE%: 85.71
r50: 1

Goals Conceded for the Match= 2
Goals Conceded for 2008= 8

Summary-
FOR SCARLETT most of last Saturday afternoon against the Swans, would be best be described as 'stock standard.' Very good without being brilliant, a display of protypical lockdown defence with just a splash of attacking flair.

A great deal of interest was taken away from the duel between, as the media spun it "the game's best attack v. the game's best defence" (Really? I didn't know Geelong could play themselves) at Skilled after the abbhorent acts of Barry Hall the previous week, which saw him rightfully outed for 7 matches. The question of where the goals would come from for Sydney came down squarely on the shoulders of veteran full- forward Michael O'Loughlin, who entered the match amidst an impressive streak of form (booting 4 in Round 4 against West Coast).

Ofcourse he was never going to find it easy, as it was now he who would draw the 'short stick' and have the AFL's best defender standing by his side. As expected, life was made miserable for "Micky O". As he ended the game with a season low 7 disposals, 1 mark and most significantly just 1 behind (which came after the siren) to show for his efforts. His involvement as Garry Lyon labelled it "was negligible."

Although he shouldn't be viewed as Sydney's worst for of his seldom touches he did manfacture 3 goal assists, so at least he did bestow 'some' influence, even if it was the bare minimum.

Only a lack of respect when Scarlett found himself opposed to youngster Ed Barlow cost him a clean sheet for the day.

Where credit is most due for Scarlett was his supreme display of leadership in the final quarter. Both he and the simply awesome Gary Ablett Jnr. deserve first class credit for overpowering Sydney's defensive stranglehold, which had held the league's most potent attack to just 2 goals for the 2nd and 3rd quarters.

With the win up for grabs the full- back made several crucial plays which devestated dangerous Sydney thrusts that had to potential to turn the game on it's ear after Geelong had lead all afternoon.

The first when Ryan O' Keefe marked at half- forward and turned quickly to kick to O' Loughlin who was charging hard toward goal. With Scarlett and his opponent isolated in a pivotal 1-on-1, the defender forced a spoil on the ball and the Swans momentum. Geelong won the loose ball and were away.

The second when Adam Goodes centered a pass from the forward pocket. With the margin under two kicks, a pack conjured to contest, however it was Scarlett who emerged with the ball before, with poise and balance, he relieved trouble with precise delievery up field.

As champions do, after a consumate day Scarlett rose to the occassion, when his team needed him. Paul Chapman in a post match interview described him as "a genius player."

Hear, hear Chappy.

Last Line Hero
23rd April 2008, 20:54
Source-
GFC.com

Item-

Scarlett's Web
Matthew Scarlett
23Apr08

http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/images/AFL/AFL%20P-T/scarlettsWeb246.jpg
Scarlett's Web, with champion full-back Matthew Scarlett

WE'VE ONLY got six days – and a long flight to Perth – to prepare for this week’s game against Fremantle so it’s been pretty light on the track.

We don’t really do too much on the training track when we’ve got a shorter week.

Some people might not think one day can count for much, but after playing such a physical game it really does make a difference.

It’s always tough playing Sydney and, at the end of the day, to come away with a seven-goal win was a pretty fair result.

They’re a great footy club, the Swans, and they’re going to be pushing for the top four this year.

We only really played two good quarters of footy against the Swans and the other two weren’t great.

We haven’t been able to play four quarters for a while now, so hopefully we can do it this week.

We feel as though we’re not playing our best footy at the moment which is a bit frustrating, but at the same time we know we’ve got plenty of room for improvement.

Hawthorn is getting a lot of attention at the moment and that’s fine with us.

They haven’t lost a game and are playing some really good footy. In fact, they’re probably playing better footy than what we are at the moment.

Our main skills session this week was fairly brief in comparison to most weeks, as we know how important it is to recover for our Anzac Day clash with Fremantle.

Still, the boys have pulled up okay and we’re now looking forward to Freo.

Having said that, it’s never easy to travel – especially such a long way over to Perth.

Fremantle will provide an interesting challenge, even though their form has been a little bit indifferent so far this year.

They have decided to blood a few young guys in recent weeks, and those young blokes do look to be going alright.

At least travelling holds no fears for us.

It’s funny, it wasn’t so long ago that we couldn’t have thought of anything worse than an interstate trip.

We were shocking when we had to travel and our record on the road was terrible.

We tried all sorts of different routines in the hope of turning things around.

Unfortunately, nothing seemed to work. In hindsight, I think we just weren’t good enough. That was probably the main problem.

Now, we have our set routine.

This week we’ll arrive in Perth on Thursday, have a training run when we get there and then head back to the hotel.

Then we’ll have a team meeting, a massage and some guys will have their own treatments such as an ice bath.

We’ll have a pretty long wait before the game on Friday, so we’ll probably have some sort of activity session planned for us.We’ll either kick the soccer ball or get the baseball mitts out and throw the baseball around, just to keep us moving.

Then most guys will go for a walk or have a snooze in the afternoon.

I know I, and probably all the guys, will have the game in the back of my mind no matter what we do.

But it’s important not to laze around the hotel all day.

Gone are the days of the horror road trip for us. We now enjoy travelling and we expect to win.

Subiaco is also a big ground. We like to think we’re pretty fast and skilful, so we should be able to play some good footy over there.

Big Nasty
24th April 2008, 11:14
I've got an article here you might like LLH. http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/scarlett-fever/2008/04/23/1208743039538.html
I've noticed a lot in the media the past week have been talking up Scarlett as the potential greatest Full Back of all time. :thumbsu::)

Last Line Hero
25th April 2008, 13:21
Source-
The Age

Item-
Updated News

Scarlett Fever
Martin Blake
24Apr08

http://www.realfooty.com.au/ffximage/2008/04/23/wbAFLscarlett.jpg
Geelong's Matthew Scarlett eludes North Melbourne's Nathan Thompson.

His place among the present-day greats is assured, but Matthew Scarlett is making a case be considered the best full-back ever, writes Martin Blake.

COULD Matthew Scarlett become known as the best full-back who ever strapped on a boot? Phew, now there's a question!

But it's one worth pondering as Geelong's reclusive defender and all-Australian puts together another handsome season at Kardinia Park, most recently obliterating the ageing Fraser Gehrig and Michael O'Loughlin in crucial games.

The mere mention would cause apoplexy in Carlton circles, where the feted and much-loved designated full-back of the century, Stephen Silvagni, would doubtless get the vote. At West Coast, they might well argue that Darren Glass has Scarlett covered, while at Essendon, Dustin Fletcher is regarded as the club's greatest-ever full-back. Collingwood is still twitching at the omission of the late, great Jack Regan from the AFL's official team of the 20th century.

But, it is a bit like the time when Rod Marsh came out and said Richard Hadlee needed to be considered in the same light as Dennis Lillee among the fast-bowling fraternity. It jolted you bolt upright. Then, when you thought about it for a moment or two, and it didn't seem so trite.

Scarlett's claims are starting to gain some currency. He is 28 and has at least four more years remaining to complete his case. It is Silvagni, Carlton's scarcely-ever-beaten full-back from the 1980s, 1990s and into the 2000s, whom he has to beat. Silvagni was sometimes called "the octopus" for his method of strangling opponents deep at the back, but his curriculum vitae bulges with the considerable bonus that he kicked more than 200 goals as well, quite able to make the transition from key defender to attacker. Scarlett, with 16 career goals, can't get him there.

But people don't dismiss Scarlett in this company after his brilliant 2007 season, adding a premiership medal to his second all-Australian guernsey with 29 disposals from the back in Geelong's smashing of Port Adelaide.

Take this, from Barry Richardson, former Richmond full-back (who once kept Peter Hudson goalless) and renowned thinker on the game: "I think he probably is (as good), really. You judge people by finals as well.

Scarlett's record is very good, I think. He's pretty much complete. He's quick, he's tough, he gets a hand in when he needs to, he's proactive
when he needs to be, he's a beneficiary of the way the game's gone, he's probably faster than Silvagni and he's certainly a better kick."

Or from Barry Stoneham, the former Geelong forward who played on Silvagni at his peak. "From my point of view, and I'll put bias aside, I think he's right up with Stephen Silvagni, who we all know was a great player. I think Scarlett is certainly up there on an even par with Silvagni."

Hypothetically, if you added another flag to the current Geelong team and another strong game from Scarlett - he was third in Norm Smith Medal voting last year, and Geelong's best in many supporters' eyes - you have another chapter added to the case.

Here's a sample of how people in footy think about all this. Danny Frawley, card-carrying member of the Old Full Backs Association, is in Silvagni's camp. "He's a great player, Scarlett. He's tough, he's quick, his decision-making is elite, he's strong through the legs so he doesn't lose his footing.

"But the facts are that Silvagni consistently beat (Wayne) Carey, (Gary) Ablett, (Jason) Dunstall and (Tony) Lockett, and they're four of the best of all time. It's hard to compare them because Scarlett hasn't had to play against guys of that quality. I don't see too many Careys out there today. Maybe (Lance) 'Buddy' Franklin, but even Jonathan Brown doesn't compare with those guys, as good as he is. I still think there's a bit of a gap between them."

Matthew Richardson, Richmond's power forward and superstar, who played on both Silvagni and Scarlett, is happy to take them in the same light. "They're both obviously right up there as far as opponents go. I didn't play on Steve a lot, but obviously he was unbelievable. You could never get away from him, basically. He was the full-back of the century and I guess Scarlett is challenging him for that now. To win a premiership has probably put him up in that echelon."

As with all these things, the change of an era makes it difficult to judge. Silvagni was primarily a stopper at full-back, albeit a magnificent example of his trade. Scarlett, born in the era of running from the back, is undoubtedly more offensive, more creative, more attacking. That's because he can be, in Geelong's dominant team.

The Cats employ him in two ways. Firstly, as an old-style full-back if the match-ups require it; secondly, as a zone-off player if the likes of Tom Harley, Matthew Egan and Darren Milburn have all the options covered. This is the twin-edged method that makes Scarlett so good, because he can perform either way.

"In my era, your full-back was a stopper, essentially," said Barry Richardson. "If he got a kick, he'd done a good job. But the turnover rate was so high that when you kicked the ball down the ground, you weren't going to run down and make yourself available. It would have come back at a million miles an hour with your full-forward standing in the goal square. If you did that, a la Scarlett, you would have been chancing your arm to a huge extent.

"Silvagni was in the middle of those eras, a stopper, essentially. He was the octopus. He wasn't even a good kick. He was quite a poor kick. If he ran down looking to hit a target, chances were it'd come back over his head. With Scarlett, he's in a skilful side and he's confident it won't come back in a hurry."

One point Richardson and Frawley love about Scarlett is his proactive mentality. "There are two ways of playing full-back. One is if you're reactive. The ball comes down, you punch it or you punch his hands. Or secondly, you are proactive. I worked on the principle that if I got the ball then my opponent wasn't getting it. Silvagni was proactive in the air, but Scarlett is proactive in the air and on the ground. He works on the principle that if I've got the footy my opponent hasn't."

Says Frawley: "As a defender, you have to either win a contest or at least halve it. Scarlett wins more than he halves and that's always a good sign."

Frawley acknowledges that Scarlett has time on his side if he is to claim a mantle as the game's best in his area. At the moment, he rates Scarlett "a very close second" to Silvagni among full-backs. "For most of the key defenders, the prime of their careers is about 27 to 31. They play their best footy because you start backing yourself in. You're over that time when you wouldn't mind playing at centre half-back or something. You're thinking 'this is my lot now'. You're satisfied with doing a dirty, old job."

All of which brings us to round 17, Hawthorn versus Geelong. Will it be "Buddy versus Scarlett". It's a spine-chilling thought. "It's a shame to have to wait that long," said Frawley. "But it'd be great, wouldn't it?"

Last Line Hero
25th April 2008, 13:45
Source-
GFC.com

Item-
Updated News

Scarlett "The Best": Harley
Ben Broad
24Apr08

http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/images/AFL/AFL%20P-T/Scarlett_head_246.jpg
Matthew Scarlett deserves to be ranked as one of the best full-backs of all time, says Tom Harley

IT’S A pretty big wrap and the man lavishing the praise admits he might be a little biased when dishing it out.

But the fact Tom Harley was willing to agree with a suggestion that teammate Matthew Scarlett deserved to be rated as one of AFL’s greatest-ever full-backs speaks volumes for Geelong defender’s talents.

Scarlett has again been in superb form in 2008, and when asked about his good mate before departing for his side’s Anzac Day clash with Fremantle, Harley was singing the praises of man who wears the No.30 jumper for Geelong.

“That’s a fair call as far as I’m concerned,” Harley said when asked if Scarlett could be rated alongside the best defenders the game had seen.

“He’s the best I’ve seen.

“I’m the wrong person to ask because I’ve got a pretty biased opinion, but I think he’s one of the greatest players ever, for sure.”

Last Line Hero
1st May 2008, 00:22
Source-
PERSONAL

Item-
Performance Review

Opponent-
Rnd 6 @ Subiaco Oval
v.
http://www.tasmaf.org.au/images/afl_ffc.gif

Statistics-
K: 5
H/B: 6
D: 11
M: 1
DE%: 81.82
r50: 2

Goals Conceded for 2008= 9

Summary-
ONE WOULD HOPE that last Saturday's close encounter with a revitalised Fremantle in the west was a case of lesson learned for the Geelong coaching staff... hopefully.

Lesson learned in the sense that as long Matthew Egan, Geelong's All- Australian centre-half-back, is not availiable there are just some opponents that perennial full- back Matthew Scarlett simply must man. Matthew Pavlich is one of those.

Geelong coach Mark Thompson opted for first year prodigy Harry Taylor to go head to head with the Dockers champion early on, making the assumption his athletical capabilities would be better suited in curbing the often wide ranging forward. As it turned out it was a move that almost cost the Cats what was expected to be an otherwise comfortable victory.

As expected Pavlich did start up the ground, however began floating closer to goal trying to exploit his challengers lack of experience, after Scarlett's direct assignment Michael Johnson was dragging him well out of the play. The result, Pavlich with 2 majors next to his name after less than 10 minutes off inspirational contested grabs and the Dockers dominating proceedings.

The change was quickly made and the Cats number one defender had his man for the time being. Pavlich's influence was quickly settled.

Curiously enough, when the two teams ran to position to start the 2nd period it was Taylor once again by Pavlich's side, and again the decision proved costly, as Pavlich dragged Taylor up to the wing, lost him in traffic then charged back hard toward goal collecting an uncontested grab outside 50 after the Dockers won the contested footy, turning around, and slotting it on the bounce.

Scarlett needed to stand up, and whilst he failed to do so in his usual attacking sense, held unusually quiet, he did once again control Pavlich (after a 4th from a free kick) for the remainder of the 2nd and entire 3rd terms, outpointing him in numerous one out contests with supreme judgment and strength.

After storming into contention before half time when trailing by almost 7 goals the Cats again found themselves squandering by 3 quarter time. Thompson recognised the need to create some drive from the half back line and so Scarlett was freed from the rigours in order to open the game up. Whilst the move held up for much the final quarter, Pavlich reered his ugly head when it mattered, booting a 5th on Taylor after the Cats had seemed destined for a remarkable comeback victory.

Cometh the hour, cometh the man... well just about. Scarlett beat Pavlich in a final and pivatol contest in the Fremantle pocket with just minutes remianing, manufacturing a spoil and allowing Geelong to clear. They did so unsuccessfully and it was Pavlich who found himself with the chance to have the last laugh after a lace out gem from Rhys Palmer. Essentially his only clean and useful touch touch on Scarlett all evening. What a bitter- sweet moment.

Thankfully, but almost undeservedly, he missed. A 1- point win to saviour.

Last Line Hero
1st May 2008, 00:27
Source-
GFC.com

Item-

Scarlo Says
Matthew Scarlett
30Apr08

DESPITE being more than six goals down at one stage against Fremantle last week, I didn’t have any doubts at all that we’d be able to come back.

Our self belief is just so enormous at the moment that all the guys think we can win from pretty much any position.

To come back from that margin, and then come back again in the last quarter when we were down by more than four goals, is pretty unbelievable. It really says something about how far our group has come.

If we had been in a similar position a couple of years ago, the game would probably have been all over. But we just kept fighting. We knew we could kick goals in a hurry.

Luckily we were able to do that again and, despite only playing about a quarter of good footy, were able to scrape home.

Although when the ball floated onto Matthew Pavlich’s chest just a couple of steps in front of me, it’s fair to say I wasn’t feeling the best.

There wasn’t much I could do – it was a perfect kick that came into him and I had the sick feeling he was going to kick the goal and ruin our great comeback.

When the ball left his boot, I thought it was a goal.

It looked to be going straight through from where I was standing on the mark but then it tailed off at the last minute and hit the post.

I breathed a huge sigh of relief when that happened, and an even bigger one when the siren sounded and the ball was in big Harry Taylor’s hands after he’d taken a great, steadying mark.

I think a win like last Friday’s will give us even more confidence.

Having said that, we certainly don’t want to have to claw our way back like that too often.

We know we’ll need a much better effort against Brisbane if we’re to get the points.

It’s funny how things change over time. Not that long ago, the Lions were in their prime and we were just a young side trying to bring down the champs.

Now I suppose we’re the yardstick and they’re coming down this week to have a crack at us.

Brisbane are a very good side, and quite similar to us in the fact that they’re great at tackling and winning the contested ball.

They’ve also got a couple of top class forwards in Jonathan Brown and Daniel Bradshaw, who I reckon is a gun.

We’ll just continue in our attempt to play four quarters. Hopefully when we do that we might be able to have an easy win.

While we never look ahead, win or lose against Brisbane some guys will be getting a week off the following week.

I’ll have to wait and see whether or not I’m one of those, although I hope I’m selected to play in the Hall of Fame Tribute Match on May 10.

A few of the boys are talking about the match a little bit although Bomber, who’s coaching the Victorian side, hasn’t spoken about it to any of us.

If I play I don’t know (or maybe I don’t want to know) who I’d be on. There’s just so many good players in that Dream Team squad.

Everyone at our club that has been selected is desperate to get picked to play, and I’m sure it’s going to be a great game.

While I’m one of the eight Geelong guys picked in the Victorian squad, we’re also likely to have a couple of guys playing for the Dream Team side.

It’d be interesting having to come up against those guys as an opposition player.

But I’m sure if I get the opportunity to pull on the Big V I’d do so with a lot of pride.

And if those teammates wearing a Dream Team jumper happened to get in my way, well, I suppose I’d just have to take them out!

Big Nasty
1st May 2008, 12:52
Keep it coming mate. :thumbsu:
Love your reviews of his games.

Last Line Hero
4th May 2008, 14:42
Source-
PERSONAL

Item-
Performance Review

Opponent-
Rnd 7 @ Skilled Stadium
v.
http://www.doomben.com/brisbane_turf_club/images/logo_brisbaneLions.gif

Statistics-
K: 10
H/B: 10
M: 3
DE%: 90.00

Goals Conceded for 2008= 10

Summary-
YESTERDAY'S GAME once again underlined why Matthew Scarlett is the AFL's premier defender.

The champion entered the encounter against the Brisbane Lions with the weight of redemption on his shoulders, given his career worst showing the last time the two sides met in Rnd 22 of 2007.

This time around it wouldn't be Jonathan Brown creating the worry, but full- forward Daniel Bradshaw whose return to the playing arena since a knee reconstruction has been not just better than expected but outstanding.

Bradshaw, whom Scarlett labelled an "absolute gun" in his weekly column on GFC.com, hit Skilled Stadium with bags of 5, 5, 7, and 6 goals in his previous 4 outings, and 2nd place on the Coleman Medal table.

Thus there was little doubt that by continuing in such a vein and kicking goals on Scarlett, Brisbane would go a long way to causing an upset. The magnitude of the match- up was emphasised to an even greater degree when Bradshaw's partner in crime, Jonathan Brown was a late withdrawal. The underrated star had to deliver.

It was not to be. Scarlett: simply brilliant.

In yet another arguably best on ground performance to slot into the resume, the full- back rendered Bradshaw near enough to inept, finishing with just the solitary goal off 3 kicks and 2 marks.

The one goal ironically coming in the opening minutes of the game, off a Lions fast break generated by a mistake which saw Geelong captain Tom Harley momentarily opposed to Bradshaw. The ball ran over the back of the contest (Harley perhaps unlucky to not recieve an in-the-back decision) allowing the forward to stroll into an open goal.

Scarlett's display was made even more imperious due to the Geelong midfield's, at times, laxidasical play. Brisbane entered the forward 50 20 times in the first term alone, as a result of poor accountability and below par disposal.

However Scarlett held up manfully, his one on one work, again, almost flawless. At times it appeared it was Bradshaw who was the defender, scrounging from behind looking for position and even having to spoil in the 2nd quarter. In other instances Bradshaw appeared to find a rare opening and looked destined to get his hands on it only to have Scarlett kill the hope with an expertly timed fist.

The leadership of the big number 30 proved pivotal also, often the man the Cats looked to when struggling for fluid movement out of defence, which was common under some very agressive and disciplined Lions harrassment, but his impeccable effectiveness by hand or foot (aside from several lapses in the 4th term) ensured the Cats were in safe hands as per usual.

As good as Scarlett was, you wouldn't have known it going by the Foxtel commentary, whom clearly had hoped to see Bradshaw beat his fancied opponent. They shadowed their disappointment by never crediting the full- back.

Big Nasty
5th May 2008, 20:15
Source-
PERSONAL

Item-
Performance Review

Opponent-
Rnd 7 @ Skilled Stadium
v.
http://www.doomben.com/brisbane_turf_club/images/logo_brisbaneLions.gif

Statistics-
K: 10
H/B: 10
M: 3
DE%: 90.00

Goals Conceded for 2008= 8

Summary-
YESTERDAY'S GAME once again underlined why Matthew Scarlett is the AFL's premier defender.

The champion entered the encounter against the Brisbane Lions with the weight of redemption on his shoulders, given his career worst showing the last time the two sides met in Rnd 22 of 2007.

This time around it wouldn't be Jonathan Brown creating the worry, but full- forward Daniel Bradshaw whose return to the playing arena since a knee reconstruction has been not just better than expected but outstanding.

Bradshaw, whom Scarlett labelled an "absolute gun" in his weekly column on GFC.com, hit Skilled Stadium with bags of 5, 5, 7, and 6 goals in his previous 4 outings, and 2nd place on the Coleman Medal table.

Thus there was little doubt that by continuing in such a vein and kicking goals on Scarlett, Brisbane would go a long way to causing an upset. The magnitude of the match- up was emphasised to an even greater degree when Bradshaw's partner in crime, Jonathan Brown was a late withdrawal. The underrated star had to deliver.

It was not to be. Scarlett: simply brilliant.

In yet another arguably best on ground performance to slot into the resume, the full- back rendered Bradshaw near enough to inept, finishing with just the solitary goal off 3 kicks and 2 marks.

The one goal ironically coming in the opening minutes of the game, off a Lions fast break generated by a mistake which saw Geelong captain Tom Harley momentarily opposed to Bradshaw. The ball ran over the back of the contest (Harley perhaps unlucky to not recieve an in-the-back decision) allowing the forward to stroll into an open goal.

Scarlett's display was made even more imperious due to the Geelong midfield's, at times, laxidasical play. Brisbane entered the forward 50 20 times in the first term alone, as a result of poor accountability and below par disposal.

However Scarlett held up manfully, his one on one work, again, almost flawless. At times it appeared it was Bradshaw who was the defender, scrounging from behind looking for position and even having to spoil in the 2nd quarter. In other instances Bradshaw appeared to find a rare opening and looked destined to get his hands on it only to have Scarlett kill the hope with an expertly timed fist.

The leadership of the big number 30 proved pivotal also, often the man the Cats looked to when struggling for fluid movement out of defence, which was common under some very agressive and disciplined Lions harrassment, but his impeccable effectiveness by hand or foot (aside from several lapses in the 4th term) ensured the Cats were in safe hands as per usual.

As good as Scarlett was, you wouldn't have known it going by the Foxtel commentary, whom clearly had hoped to see Bradshaw beat his fancied opponent. They shadowed their disappointment by never crediting the full- back.
He was bloody fantastic on the weekend yet again. I fully agree with ya about the commentary, Healey managed to squeeze a compliment in at the dying minutes, Parkin wouldn't want to take any hype away from Silvagni, by acknowleging Scarlett.
Great job Last Line Hero.

Big Nasty
5th May 2008, 21:40
Alot of people bag Robert Walls, but I find even though he's a Carlton supporter he has a lot of Respect for Scarlett & is always acknowledging how great he's been during a game, unlike a lot of Forward obsessed commentators (actually most of them are forward obsessed.
On another note, that was a pisser on the weekend when Scarlo tossed the ball into the goal umpires head. :D

Last Line Hero
8th May 2008, 15:24
Matthew Scarlett working out for the Big V...

http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/140263.jpg

http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/140313.jpg

It's been announced Scarlo will wear his Number 30 during the Hall of Fame Tribute match.

Last Line Hero
8th May 2008, 16:00
Source-
Sportal.com

Item-
Updated News

Big V bond for Waite, Scarlett
Angus Morgan
08May08

http://sportal.com.au/site/_content/leadimage/00019927-image.jpg
Jarrad Waite and Matthew Scarlett at Victorian training.

VICTORIAN DEFENDERS Jarrad Waite and Matthew Scarlett were surprised and excited to discover they will share a special link that spans 37 years if they're selected to take on the Dream Team at the MCG on Saturday night.

Gary Ablett's withdrawal from the Hall of Fame Tribute match with a calf strain leaves 25-year-old Waite and Scarlett, 28, as the only second generation members of the Victorian squad.

Their fathers, the late Vin Waite and Geelong's John Scarlett played one game each for Victoria - in the same match - against South Australia at the MCG in 1971.

Rugged and uncompromising in his 153 games for Carlton which included two premierships, Vin Waite, who made headlines that day for landing a 'Liverpool kiss' on the forehead of Croweaters forward Malcolm Greenslade, lined-up in a back pocket right alongside Scarlett senior in the Vics' 30-point win.

Both sons, who co-incidentally inherited the No.30s Vin and John sported for the Blues and Cats, were aware their fathers had once worn the Big V with pride, but were hazy on the details until approached by Sportal after a light training run at the MCG on Thursday morning.

"I spoke to (dad) a while ago about it, but it's that long ago I don't think he can remember," Scarlett said of his father who played 183 games for Geelong between 1967 and 1977 and 29 for South Melbourne in 77-78.

Waite, who was drafted into the 30-man Victorian squad on Sunday, was thrilled to discover his connection to Scarlett.

"It's pretty amazing when you look at it like that," Waite said.

"I was at my sister's house when I found out (about my selection) and she had dad's old (Big V) jumper and got it out."

"He didn't really speak about it that much, I sort of knew he had (represented Victoria), but it's pretty exciting having that family history."

Both Waite and Scarlett will be a chance for the job on Hawthorn sensation Lance Franklin, though with Matthew Pavlich, Cam Mooney, Brett Burton and Matthew Richardson, amongst others, to attend to, there will be nowhere to hide in the Vics' backline.

”He's a freak, he's a very good player and very talented and whoever gets him is going to have their hands full," said Scarlett of Franklin.

"There hasn't been that buzz about a player for a long time, I reckon, I really can’t remember one."

"Because they're in a new side they might not gel as well as he does for Hawthorn; I'm banking on that a little bit."

Scarlett, who said he was a big fan of State of Origin matches and would like to see them reinstated annually, dismissed any prospect of developing nerves ahead of Saturday's clash.

His most recent appearance at the MCG - last year's grand final - had gone so well, he reasoned, what's there to fret about?

Waite, in contrast, admitted to feeling some apprehension as the week's progressed but was pleased that Carlton team-mates Chris Judd and Brendan Fevola were along for the ride.

"We're playing against the best players in the land and it's not going to be easy - the defence are going to have to … help each other out and support each other," he said.

"The chance to even run out on Saturday night is a tremendous honour and I'll take whatever I can get."

"It's one of those things that might not happen again and you've just got to take your opportunities."

Big Nasty
8th May 2008, 17:39
Hey LLH how do you think Scarlo would go on Franklin?

Last Line Hero
9th May 2008, 20:51
Source-
The Australian

Item-
Updated News

Scarlett to Orbit with Shooting Stars
Chip Le Grand
09May08

http://www.thecattery.com.au/Images/MScarlettR182004_3.jpg
Scarlett has the chance to make his mark in the Hall of Fame match.

ROBERT MURPHY has only one regret about playing for Victoria tomorrow night; he won't be able to sit in the MCG stands and watch Matthew Scarlett take on Lance Franklin. If State of Origin football is about stars colliding, then this is the big bang everyone in football has been waiting all year to see.

As of yesterday, Scarlett didn't know whether he would be given the job on Franklin. The greatest dilemma facing Victoria coach Mark Thompson is the outrageous talent within the Dream Team's shock-and-awe forward line.

Had he the genetic capabilities, Thompson would ideally take four clones of his trusted full-back into the match.

The way Scarlett sees it, he will probably get the chance to play on all of them at various times; Franklin, Matthew Pavlich, Matthew Richardson and Cameron Mooney.

But however entertaining the thought of Scarlett v Richo or two Geelong bulls locking horns, it is Scarlett against Franklin that holds the greatest intrigue.

Due to an anomaly in this year's draw, Geelong doesn't play Hawthorn until round 17. This means the two best teams won't meet until the end of July; four months into the regular season. It also means the final great test for Franklin, a date against the best counter-attacking defender in the game, is still 10 weeks away.

Like everyone else in the AFL, Scarlett is an unabashed admirer of Franklin and in particular, how he has played this year.

"There hasn't been this buzz about a player for a long time," Scarlett said yesterday.

"I really can't remember one."

For other aspiring defenders, watching how Scarlett approaches his task will be compulsory viewing.

Unfortunately for Thompson, busting Buddy is just one thing on his to-do list if Victoria is to have any chance of winning this match. One of his best midfielders, Gary Ablett, has withdrawn with a torn calf and Western Bulldogs captain Brad Johnson is carrying a similar complaint.

Victoria captain Jonathan Brown, promoted as the face of the 'Big V' by the AFL, negotiated training yesterday but will have to pass a fitness test today.

Dream Team coach Mark Williams, looking very much like the coach who'd got the cream, fronted the cameras yesterday alongside his power forwards and made no attempt at modesty.

"I don't think the AFL has ever seen a star-studded line-up like this in any forward line," Williams said.

"I am sure there will be some sort of competition amongst the guys to see who can take the biggest mark, kick the longest goal and lay the biggest tackle. Oh, that's right. You blokes don't tackle, do you?"

If Williams is to be believed, knocking up goals against Victoria should be as easy as knocking over skittles; something the Dream Team tried yesterday when it went tenpin bowling.

His confidence was shared by Richardson, who joked: "We have already discussed that if we don't kick goals or we don't kick a winning score it won't be our fault; it will be the midfielders' fault."

The bloke in blue who will have most to say about this is Scarlett. Where Thompson has other capable defenders in Geelong's Darren Milburn and Hawthorn's Trent Croad and Campbell Brown, Scarlett is a two-time club champion and three-time All-Australian defender with the speed, height and strength to match Franklin. He is also a passionate advocate for State of Origin football.

Scarlett's father John played one match for Victoria against South Australia in 1971.

Scarlett said he had talked to his dad about that match and formed his own views on State of Origin football watching Gary Ablett, Tony Lockett and Jason Dunstall play for Victoria.

"State of Origin footy back then was huge," Scarlett said. "It is a bit disappointing it has been such a long time since it has been in. It is the one thing that has been missing. I used to go to the state games and see Gary Ablett Sr and Plugger and Dunstall and those guys.

"It was really sad not getting to play for Victoria the last couple of years. I used to love going to the games. It used to be so big.

"It was the best game of the year to watch. It was even better than the grand final for me."

The irony is that Scarlett now has some idea what those hapless South Australian defenders must have felt in 1989, when they ran on to the MCG, before more than 90,000 people, to be confronted with the combined talents of Lockett, Dunstall and Ablett, the three greatest goal-kickers of the modern era.

Scarlett described Franklin as a "freak" and has equal respect for Richardson and Pavlich, but was less complimentary about Mooney.

"I play on him at training all the time and always towel him up," Scarlett says. "He knows."

For his part, Mooney is merely happy to have safety in numbers. "If you look at these three boys, I think I am probably last in line so I don't think

I will get Scarlo," he said. "Thank Christ for that."

Last Line Hero
9th May 2008, 20:57
Source-
The Age

Item-
Updated News

Scarlett to give Dream Forwards a Nightmare
Karen Lyon
09May08

http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,5382590,00.jpg
Scarlett faces a huge challenge containing the 'Awesome- Fouresome'

IT IS being billed as one of the greatest forward lines assembled, the Dream Team's potent combination of Lance Franklin, Matthew Richardson, Matthew Pavlich and Cameron Mooney. But, for the man unchallenged as the best full-back in the game today, Matthew Scarlett, the superstar quartet holds little fear.

In the best form of his career, the Geelong full-back is undaunted at the task of lining up on any of the Dream Team's forwards.

"They have a great forward line but we have got a pretty good back line as well. It's going to be a hard challenge, but hopefully the midfield do the right thing and put pressure on the kicks coming in," he said yesterday.

A battle between the premiership defender and the in-form Hawthorn glamour forward Franklin presents as the most tantalising match-up of the game. With the Cats not drawn to meet Hawthorn until round 17 of the AFL competition, such a battle is a big selling point for the Hall of Fame match.

Scarlett, for his part, is not sure whether Franklin will be his opponent. He points to the ability of the on-fire Richardson, Fremantle's captain Pavlich or even his Geelong teammate Mooney as potential rivals.

But Franklin is the man of the moment and Scarlett would only admit that "it will be a good challenge" to face the flying Hawk.

"Whoever they assign me to, I will do my best, whether it's 'Buddy', or 'Moons' or Pavlich. As I said, it would be a great challenge to play on (Franklin), he is playing great footy, he is a freak, he is a very good player, he is very talented. So whoever gets him is going to have their hands full."

The media-shy Scarlett is more effusive when talking about the prospect of playing against his premiership teammate, Mooney. There will, he suggests, be no favours even for teammates.

"It will be a little strange at the start, but once you are out on the ground, I am playing for Victoria, so if he is in my way, I will have to take him out. He is not my teammate tomorrow."

The 191-game veteran will emulate his father John when he wears the Big V for the first time. It is an honour Matthew Scarlett has dreamt about all year. "Everyone wanted to play. Regardless of what people think, everyone that I know wanted to play for Victoria. I know last week's game I was really keen to do well so that I would get picked, it was definitely a motivational factor this year," he said.

"I wish there was this every year, it is a great concept and hopefully they can keep it in and every year we can do this."

Last Line Hero
10th May 2008, 17:20
Source-
The Herald Sun

Item-
Updated News

Brothers In Arms
Mike Sheahan
10May08

http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,6030658,00.jpg
Matthew Scarlett and Darren Milburn

THEY have played side by side for 10 years at Geelong, the foundation stones of the Cats' defence.

Tonight, Matthew Scarlett and Darren Milburn will be brothers in arms in the Big V in their first appearance on the MCG since the 2007 premiership triumph.

They have played in the same Geelong team 175 times in 11 seasons. Which means Milburn has been with him in all but 16 of Scarlett's 191 games.

Each has absolute faith in the other.

Those who know them best say they have a similar sense of (dry) humour and they love American sports, particularly football and basketball.

Milburn is a Boston Celtics man, Scarlett prefers the Detroit Pistons.

They spend a lot of time together, on and off the field, often on computers checking sports results from overseas.

They're teammates, best mates and fierce competitors. With each other, too, which leads to plenty of lively banter.

SCARLETT ON MILBURN:
WE go back to 1998 when I started at Geelong. I was playing at the (Geelong) Falcons and got a few games in the reserves, and he was really good to me.

You come into an AFL club and you're pretty nervous, intimidated by a lot of guys.

You remember the blokes who were good to you when you were young.
We just formed a great bond. We're great mates now. Best mates on and off the field.

We hang around a lot, but obviously he's got his family and I've got mine.

As a footballer, he's got white-line fever. Very competitive, very tough, and he's skilful. He's just the complete package, I reckon.

He doesn't get the credit he deserves. He did last year with his All-Australian selection, but he was a good player before that. I think he's only the 22nd or 23rd player to play 200 games with Geelong.

The best thing about his footy is his hardness, his mental approach. You just know he's always going to be there for you. If something happens on the field, you know he's not going to be far away.

When the siren sounded in the Grand Final I was closest to Harls (Tom Harley), but I think Dasher was there as well. We're pretty tight, the older guys.

Occasionally, I have to try to calm him down a bit. He can be pretty fiery. He talks back to the umpires a little bit too much and I'm the only one who can get through to him.

He's totally different off the ground. Very quiet, reserved. He's a very funny guy, loves his family. Pretty simple guy, really.

He'd be the first teammate picked if I was picking the team. He'd definitely be No. 1.

I go around to his joint occasionally for a couple of quiet drinks. Not all that often any more. He loves his beers, we both do. He's pretty good (at drinking), good endurance.

We've played a bit of golf together. He's a bit erratic, he can hit a long ball, but I've got him covered. I don't think he's ever beaten me.

I don't play a lot any more, but I was off 11. He could be off 10, or he could be off 30. He loses so many balls off the tee.

I reckon Dasher could play another two or three years. He's still going all right and he doesn't over-train, he's pretty good at sneaking under the guard there.

I'm sure we'll play more golf and stay friends after footy.

Our wives (Mila Scarlett, Tania Milburn) are good friends and our kids will be friends as well.

Things have changed a bit. We used to get up to a bit of shenanigans after hours, but it's quietened down now with our kids . . . and a bit more maturity.

MILBURN ON SCARLETT:
WE just made a connection as soon as he arrived. Got along pretty well straight away and we've become great friends on and off the ground.

Basically look after each other. We've got the same sorts of interests.

The footy, American sports and golf.

The kids have made us tighter. He's a very honest bloke, straight to the point, doesn't mess around.

He says what he believes. He just steps up and pulls people into line. He's the one that always gets on the front foot. If blokes aren't pulling their weight, he'll tell them.

He settles me down a bit, too. Last week, he had a couple of words to me when I got a bit chatty (to the umpires). He just pulls me into line and tells me what's going on.

Sometimes you just need a kick in the a--- to put you back on the right track.

Sometimes you get a bit chirpy when you probably shouldn't. It's something I've got to get out of my game and I think Scarlo's trying to help me do that.

He just tells me to pull my head in, says I could cost the team a goal or cost us the game.

He's one of the best players I've played with. Probably nearly at the top, I'd say. We've had some great players at the club. I just got here when Gary (Ablett) Sr was playing, but I never played in the same team.

Obviously Gary would be No. 1, but Scarlo wouldn't be too far behind.

He very rarely gets beaten. You know you can just trust his judgment. He knows exactly where he has to be and what he has to do.

Even when he looks out of a contest, he seems to get his hand in or he gets his body in.

He rarely gets beaten in one-on-one contests and when he does, he never drops his head, he just keeps going, he knows he can do better the next time.

He's very competitive. That's probably why me and him hit it off. We give 100 per cent 'til we drop.

Off the ground, we've probably got the same sort of humour. We don't take each other too seriously, have a bit of a gag.

We like the NFL, basketball, stuff like that.

He likes his golf, too. I reckon I had him early doors, but he seemed to get out on the course a bit more than me.

I'm very hit or miss. Good on my day, pretty long off the tee, but spray 'em.

That's not right about me throwing clubs. Sometimes you feel like doing it, but I don't think I've let too many go. It's a frustrating sport, though.

We're close on the ground. On Grand Final day, the ball was in the backline when the siren sounded. Scarlo or Harls (Tom Harley) had it and we were basically working the clock down. He was amazing that day.

Me, Scarlo and Harls have spent a lot of time together.

After the siren, the thing I remember best is getting together on the ground into the huddle and singing the (theme) song.

That was the ultimate.

I probably see as much of him as I do of my wife. We spend a lot of time at the club and then there's the interstate travel.

We've never had a big blue, just a couple of heated arguments. No fists or anything like that. Just about footy. That's part of being mates.

He got married at the end of last year and we all went up to Hamilton Island for a couple of weeks.

Even though he's definitely my best mate at the club, he always rooms with Corey Enright and I usually mix them up. I'm never too far away.

After we finish, we'll definitely stay mates. We're always talking so I wouldn't see that changing.

Last Line Hero
12th May 2008, 19:55
Source-
The Herald Sun

Item-
Updated News

Mooney: "Thanks for putting Scarlo on me"
Rebecca Williams
12May08

http://geelong.keldar.net/Images/MScarlettWizard2004R2_01_smaller.jpg
Cam Mooney found out first hand just how good Scarlett is.

GEELONG forward Cameron Mooney has a new appreciation of the defensive skills of premiership teammate and All-Australian full-back Matthew Scarlett after Saturday night's Hall of Fame match.

But don't expect Mooney to thank Victorian and Geelong coach Mark Thompson for the match-up on his fellow Cat.

The Dream Team forward said he had found it hard lining up on teammate Scarlett, who was among the best for the Big V at the MCG.

"I didn't play a great game," Mooney said. "I found it quite difficult playing against Scarlo and Dash (Darren Milburn) and the boys.

"I thought there might have been a chance (I would play on Scarlett), but I didn't really think he'd start on me.

"But that's 'Bomber' being a jerk, I guess, putting the best full-back in the world on me."

Mooney, who kicked one goal in an all-star forward set-up for the Dream Team, said the tribute match had given him more admiration for Scarlett's defensive prowess.

"I've had a couple of praccy games on him, but they are praccy games," he said.

"I probably got the full force of him and he really is an amazing defender."
Mooney said that ribbing during the match between the Cats teammates had been restricted to social planning.

"We were just more talking about where we're going for a beer afterwards. I think that was a more important thing for us," he said.

The All-Australian forward said the week spent with the Dream Team had changed his perception about some opposition players.

"The whole week was about getting to know these guys," Mooney said.

"I had a perception of certain players that I thought weren't great, but by the end of the week those guys are probably some of the best guys I've ever met.

"That's probably the best thing I got out of it."

Geelong's 10 representatives in the match now turn their focus to Saturday's clash against Richmond at the MCG.

Despite sitting unbeaten at the top of the ladder, Mooney said the Cats had not been playing their best football this year.

"We're playing pretty good football, but we're not playing the best football that we can play," he said.

"At the moment we're getting over the line so that's the most important thing."

Metallica_Man
12th May 2008, 20:08
"But that's 'Bomber' being a jerk, I guess, putting the best full-back in the world on me."

Haha :p

Big Nasty
12th May 2008, 20:11
LOL Mooney wasn't impressed with Bomber for putting the best Full Back in the world on him. :p Loved that part.

Last Line Hero
15th May 2008, 15:51
Source-
The Herald Sun

Item-
Updated News

Pace, creativity make Scarlett No. 1
Glenn Archer
15May08

http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,6039470,00.jpg
Matthew Scarlett: Better than Silvagni?

IS MATTHEW Scarlett the best full-back of the last 20 years, if not ever? What a question and virtually impossible to answer.

It’s difficult to take players of different eras, say South Melbourne’s Fred Goldsmith with the prince of full-backs Jack Regan, and compare their worth to Carlton’s Stephen Silvagni and even St Kilda’s pillar Max Hudghton, because the game evolves so quickly.

Indeed, it’s ridiculous.

If you were to pluck Scarlett from today and transport him back to 1955, when Freddy Goldsmith won the Brownlow Medal - the only one ever by a full-back - I’m tipping Scarlett would’ve got 22 three votes.

And if we can continue the ridiculousness, Scarlett would not have been playing full-back, anyway.

He would have been a dominating midfielder or running centre half-forward, and pity the poor bugger trying to keep up with him.
So cross-generation is not my go.

In my opinion, Scarlett is the most complete full-back I have seen and played against.

His attributes make him the standout; he beats his man in the air, he marks one-on-one, he’s sensational on the deck, has clean hands when he gathers the ball and runs it out of defence.

Scarlett has been able to develop a peerless one-two combination coming out of defence.

That means he runs with the ball, handballs to a stationary teammate (which was once a big no-no in footy) and then receives it back, runs through centre half-back and then pinpoints a pass to a midfield teammate.

If I was coaching against Geelong, one of my first instructions to my players would be to hit Scarlett, take him out of the contest, so he does not get the return handball.

Still, no one has been able to do it. Scarlett is so nimble on his feet, not many forwards can keep up with him on the rebound.

What makes him the best is he plays in a pro-active mode. It’s like he’s the full-forward. Have you noticed how many times he marks in front of his opponent?

He reacts so quickly to the bloke who has the footy, his reading of the play is second to none as a defender.

Geelong coach Mark Thompson is blessed. Every week, with an empty magnet board in front of him, Bomber simply has to throw Scarlett’s name at full-back and be confident Scarlett will win his position 95 per cent of the time.

What a luxury. And, meanwhile, the other coaches in the league are spending their days trying to work out who and how many players are going to play on Buddy Franklin.

Like everyone else, I can’t wait for the Round 17 clash between the Cats and Hawks.

Already, it brings back memories of the Wayne Carey-Glen Jakovich days.
This, of course, is not about denigrating the great Stephen Silvagni, who was named full-back of the century ahead of blokes like David Dench, Goldsmith, Chris Langford and Kelvin Moore.

SOS was a star, an amazing player. I love him. And he played in an era when the full-forwards had one thing in common: brilliance.

They came in all shapes and sizes too: Tony Lockett, Jason Dunstall, Gary Ablett, Carey, Tony Modra, John Longmire, Matthew Lloyd, Matthew Richardson and Rocca S.

Indeed, he played on nine of the top 25 goalkickers of all time.

He was a champ, no doubt. He could spoil like no other, mark, use his body and hands and had superb footy nous and timing.

And when the Blues needed a lift, they would send him forward to kick goals.

Speaking of hands, what makes defending so different these days to the past, is that you can’t use them.

SOS was the master at scragging, pushing his opponent under the ball, hitting his opponent’s arms and using his hands on his opponent’s back to hold his position.

And because the game was more physical during the late ‘80s and early to mid-’90s, it allowed SOS to crash into opponents, which today would be deemed a free kick.

Had you taken these weapons out of his armoury could he have adjusted like Scarlett has?

We will never know, but one thing is for sure, in 2020 we will be comparing Scarlett to the next gun full-back and debating whether he could have adjusted to the 2020 game.

Scarlett in 2008 vs SOS, to me, equals Scarlett by a nose.

Last Line Hero
15th May 2008, 16:03
Source-
GFC.com

Item-

Scarlett's Web
Matthew Scarlett
15May08

http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/images/AFL/AFL%20P-T/scarlettsWeb246.jpg
Scarlett's Web, with champion full-back Matthew Scarlett

EVEN though 11 of us played in the Hall of Fame Tribute match on the weekend, I think all the guys are feeling a lot fresher than we usually would in a ‘normal’ week.

The boys trained really well at our main session. We haven’t trained as well for ages, which is a good sign ahead of our game against Richmond on Saturday.

It was a great experience to play in Saturday night’s match, although I must admit it was a bit weird having to play on big Moons for most of the game.

You want to play well, especially when you’re playing for the Big V, but I was also kind of mindful not to hurt a teammate.

At the end of the game I swapped my jumper with the big fella.

I was rapt to do that. Moons is one of my great mates, so I’ll get him to sign it and I’ll put that up at home when I can find the time.

I thought I went all right on the night, after we were under a bit of pressure early on.

At the moment I reckon I’m playing as well as I ever have, which is a good thing I suppose.

My body and my confidence levels are really good.

I’m always pretty confident and the body’s feeling great at the moment.
But when you’re playing at full-back you’re always only a week away from disaster, and that’s a good thing always being under pressure.

I never allow myself to sit back and think I’m going that well because obviously there’s always a pretty good player just around the corner, waiting to pull my pants down and make me look silly.

Full-back’s a spot where you just can’t get too comfortable. But I think that’s what I love about it.

After a week off we’re all really looking forward to getting back into it, although this week the boys have taken a bit of a hit with the news of Matty Egan’s injury.

To miss such a massive amount of footy would be devastating, and all the boys are pretty shattered.

I’ve been really lucky throughout my career. In 11 years, I’ve only ever missed the odd game here or there through suspension or the flu or something minor.

Ego, however, has the world at his feet after being All-Australian last year, so to be forced to sit out for this long is a huge blow.

I left him a message earlier this week and have texted him a few times, which he’s responded to.

But I haven’t annoyed him too much as I know if it were me I’d probably like to be left alone for a while.

However I do know if there’s one bloke who’ll come back from this it is Ego. He’s a pretty resilient guy and we all can’t wait for the day he comes back.

He missed out on last year’s grand final win and we were hoping he’d be part of our push for a premiership this year.

We now know he won’t be back this year.

Last year when he got injured, he was always in the back of our minds and we were trying to win it for him, as well as ourselves and everyone else.

Now, unfortunately, it’ll be the same kind of focus of doing it for him and we’ll carry on our quest for back-to-back flags.

That’ll give us a fair bit more motivation. I know we’ll be a good side for a while yet, so hopefully when he does come back he can be part of whatever success we might be lucky enough to have.

But we can’t go getting ahead of ourselves. This week, it’s the Tigers, and they’ll be tough to beat as their last month of footy has been good.

They’re playing really good footy at the moment with their tackling and chasing, and they’re a lot more competitive than what they have been in the past.

We’re going to have to look out for them and watch their intensity because all their young guys are really having a go.

I hope we win, and I hope my pants stay up.

Last Line Hero
19th May 2008, 20:22
Source-
PERSONAL

Item-
Performance Review

Opponent-
Rnd 8 @ MCG
v.
http://www.tasmaf.org.au/images/afl_rtfc.gif

Statistics-
D: 13
DE%: 69.23

Goals Conceded for 2008= 11

Summary-
ALONG WITH the Round 6 encounter with the Fremantle Dockers, Saturday's game at the G' produced Scarlett's poorest output.

However, it is indicative of just how well Scarlett is travelling at the current time that even on a down day he can still be regarded by many amongst the Cats best.

For several of Geelong's stars, last weeks Hall of Fame tribute match provided them with with their first taste of football at the MCG since their historic 2007 premiership victory. But Saturday's slug fest with a much improved Richmond was the maiden appearance of the Geelong Football Club at the ground for 08.

Scarlett and his Cats hit the hallowed turf of Australia's sporting mecca seeking their 8th consecutive victory but were not greeted with any favours from mother nature.

As the torrential rain bucketed down on all present, the boys from the Cattery appeared sluggish to start off, an issue that continues to plague their quest for a second consecutive premiership, but it was Scarlett who provided some valuable solidarity down back. With Tigers lifeforce Matthew Richardson spending much of the afternoon away from the attacking 50, Scarlett found himself starting on young prodigy Jack Riewoldt, and the youngster, as one would expect failed to make an impact.

Scarlett's defence was strong early, consumately spoiling several Tiger air raids with a timely fist and finding himself in the right spot at the right time on several occassions as he swept up balls on the last line before clearing with delicately expert proficiency.

His attack on the football was first rate also and much like he had done a week earlier representing Victoria, it was his daring gallops from defence that got the ball rolling for an otherwise stagnant outfit. In several instances the full- back even found himself getting on the end of possession forward of centre and pumping the ball deep inside 50.

Unfortunately after a promising first half which saw him collect 12 possessions Scarlett went missing as Geelong assumed control. "Missing" is perhaps harsh considering the Cats back half saw little to no action in the final 2 quarters of the match. Scarlett's final possession, which came early in the 3rd term, was a clanger handball in search of Josh Hunt. He also gave up a goal whilst opposed to Joel Bowden after a momentary lapse in accountability.

It appears that it was Scarlett's lack of a genuine quality opponent across the day that may have caused him to perhaps to lose some focus and take his mind off the primary objectives of his game. Since he was denied having to defend a man as rigorously as he is used to, he seemed to just be floating about uninterested in the 2nd half. His disposal by foot was at times was very lacklustre.

Still, such a day for any other full- back might well be considered a great game, such are the standards of Matthew Scarlett.

Big Nasty
20th May 2008, 17:05
I thought it was funny when Scarlett had a stab at goal & missed, then Mooney had a go at him and Scarlett pretty much told him where to go. :p It was as if he was sending a message to say "well you blokes aren't kicking goals, i may as well have a crack".

Big Nasty
20th May 2008, 17:07
Source-
PERSONAL

Item-
Performance Review

Opponent-
Rnd 8 @ MCG
v.
http://www.tasmaf.org.au/images/afl_rtfc.gif

Statistics-
D: 13
DE%: 69.23

Goals Conceded for 2008= 11

Summary-
ALONG WITH the Round 6 encounter with the Fremantle Dockers, Saturday's game at the G' produced Scarlett's poorest output.

However, it is indicative of just how well Scarlett is travelling at the current time that even on a down day he can still be regarded by many amongst the Cats best.

For several of Geelong's stars, last weeks Hall of Fame tribute match provided them with with their first taste of football at the MCG since their historic 2007 premiership victory. But Saturday's slug fest with a much improved Richmond was the maiden appearance of the Geelong Football Club at the ground for 08.

Scarlett and his Cats hit the hallowed turf of Australia's sporting mecca seeking their 8th consecutive victory but were not greeted with any favours from mother nature.

As the torrential rain bucketed down on all present, the boys from the Cattery appeared sluggish to start off, an issue that continues to plague their quest for a second consecutive premiership, but it was Scarlett who provided some valuable solidarity down back. With Tigers lifeforce Matthew Richardson spending much of the afternoon away from the attacking 50, Scarlett found himself starting on young prodigy Jack Riewoldt, and the youngster, as one would expect failed to make an impact.

Scarlett's defence was strong early, consumately spoiling several Tiger air raids with a timely fist and finding himself in the right spot at the right time on several occassions as he swept up balls on the last line before clearing with delicately expert proficiency.

His attack on the football was first rate also and much like he had done a week earlier representing Victoria, it was his daring gallops from defence that got the ball rolling for an otherwise stagnant outfit. In several instances the full- back even found himself getting on the end of possession forward of centre and pumping the ball deep inside 50.

Unfortunately after a promising first half which saw him collect 12 possessions Scarlett went missing as Geelong assumed control. "Missing" is perhaps harsh considering the Cats back half saw little to no action in the final 2 quarters of the match. Scarlett's final possession, which came early in the 3rd term, was a clanger handball in search of Josh Hunt. He also gave up a goal whilst opposed to Joel Bowden after a momentary lapse in accountability.

It appears that it was Scarlett's lack of a genuine quality opponent across the day that may have caused him to perhaps to lose some focus and take his mind off the primary objectives of his game. Since he was denied having to defend a man as rigorously as he is used to, he seemed to just be floating about uninterested in the 2nd half. His disposal by foot was at times was very lacklustre.

Still, such a day for any other full- back might well be considered a great game, such are the standards of Matthew Scarlett.
Exactly right. people are