View Full Version : James Frawley
The MaTRiX
5 Jun 2007, 01:00
How many more games do you guys expect him to play?
This is a Dream Team related question.
Thanks
stickman11
5 Jun 2007, 07:45
How many more games do you guys expect him to play?
This is a Dream Team related question.
Thanks
Email The Prez
Bartram_Class
5 Jun 2007, 10:32
Probably 5-6 more this year I'd reckon.
His pace has surprised me.
Theseventhhamster
5 Jun 2007, 11:10
I think he's got a spot for life he looks like the answer to our backline prayers. Maybe replace think with hope.
master bate
5 Jun 2007, 11:39
Rivers in, Frawley out
But when that will happen I have no idea, but Frawley doesn't look like getting a heap of possesions so not the best dream teamer anyway.
The MaTRiX
5 Jun 2007, 13:01
Rivers in, Frawley out
But when that will happen I have no idea, but Frawley doesn't look like getting a heap of possesions so not the best dream teamer anyway.
I am not looking at him as a starting player, just as a back up if I have 2 players down. Jesse Smith is my first back up.
thats because he is quick for a guy his size. quicker than most midfielders in terms of sprinting results.
cantmarkcantkick
7 Jun 2007, 00:32
He looks good, good size at his age good height i think and hope he has a big future at the dees.
Rivers? what the does he still play, did he win the rising star award? what happened injuries ? finished ?
Go-Ricky15
7 Jun 2007, 00:55
He looks good, good size at his age good height i think and hope he has a big future at the dees.
Rivers? what the does he still play, did he win the rising star award? what happened injuries ? finished ?
Anyone actually know the extent of his (Rivers) injury? first his hammy, now his back, and although it's not the most credible source in the world - i overheard some geezer on the train the other day on the way home from the game last was saying now he's got OP? His expected weeks till return seems to get longer every week...wtf!! - aren't those numbers supposed to decrease as time goes forward?:D
master bate
7 Jun 2007, 11:43
He has the old back related hamstring problem and maybe slight OP, danners said he might have it then Fagan denied it. One thing is for sure even if he does play this season he wont be at his best.
We're building a shocking list of players who have / did have / might have OP.
Demons 21
7 Jun 2007, 21:23
Yer we need to do something about player management there is to much OP.
deeman12
8 Jun 2007, 18:44
We wasted a pick on him. he will be a good player but he will only ever be a tall running backman, i doubt he will be a full back. We shouldve got james sellar, he couldve replaced neitz. but frawley will be a good player, and the phantom draft said he would go pick 60, so we shouldve waited a bit.
bringbackschwarter5
8 Jun 2007, 18:53
We wasted a pick on him. he will be a good player but he will only ever be a tall running backman, i doubt he will be a full back. We shouldve got james sellar, he couldve replaced neitz. but frawley will be a good player, and the phantom draft said he would go pick 60, so we shouldve waited a bit.
Have to agree with you there
demonfan9
8 Jun 2007, 19:46
He has played two games, how can you judge him yet?
goDees22
8 Jun 2007, 22:04
i wanted sellar as well. Frawley seems to be a bit undersized to play KP, as do Bate and Dunn, although maybe he could take a leaf out of Leo Barrys book
deeman12
8 Jun 2007, 22:46
i wanted sellar as well. Frawley seems to be a bit undersized to play KP, as do Bate and Dunn, although maybe he could take a leaf out of Leo Barrys book
Dunn and Bate are very good kicks, and are very fast so that works to their advantage, frawley has speed, but what good is that if you have bad finishing skills. Dunn and Bate could be menacing aorund the goals and could take alot of lead marks. Sellar was the way to IMO.
Sylvia Saint
10 Jun 2007, 17:03
That's rubbish - West Coast were ready to pounce at 16 and a couple of other clubs (one was Geelong, I forget the other one) were also very keen.
Besides, we apparently almost took Ricky P at 12 so it all worked out good in the end.
Frawley's gonna be a good player.
deeman12
10 Jun 2007, 17:08
That's rubbish - West Coast were ready to pounce at 16 and a couple of other clubs (one was Geelong, I forget the other one) were also very keen.
Besides, we apparently almost took Ricky P at 12 so it all worked out good in the end.
Frawley's gonna be a good player.
They took Mitch Brown who IMO is going to be much better, we shouldve taken Sellar, or Brown. Craig Cameron is a weird man, he makes really weird draft choices such as Luke Molan.
melbournemartin
10 Jun 2007, 17:19
I'll admit that I was looking at Brown and Sellar in the draft more than Frawley but, give the guy a chance. He's had 2 games and he showed a fair bit in the Adelaide one. I don't think that he'll solve our full back worries (at least yet) but that doesn't mean he won't develop into a good young player.
dutchy12
10 Jun 2007, 17:23
At the time it did seem a strange choice but obivoulsy Cameron knows a little bit more about it all than we do. So you know what can u do?
deeman12
10 Jun 2007, 17:34
I'll admit that I was looking at Brown and Sellar in the draft more than Frawley but, give the guy a chance. He's had 2 games and he showed a fair bit in the Adelaide one. I don't think that he'll solve our full back worries (at least yet) but that doesn't mean he won't develop into a good young player.
No doubt he will devolop into a good player, the thing is we needed a ruckman or a replacement for david neitz, frawley will be a good defender but we really needed a full forward.
CaptainDavey
10 Jun 2007, 18:08
Really wanted Brown. Seems like a top notch player but Frawley should be alright. I sometimes get the impression we picked him taking into account his name as well, but thats just a hunch.
Will be a good player though, no doubt. Have too much faith in Cameron to stuff anything up big time.
...Still Brown though, shiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit, nah it's all good
davey_magik
10 Jun 2007, 18:31
Oh FFS, they haven't even played out a full year of AFL, let's judge them after 3-4 seasons.
melbournemartin
10 Jun 2007, 18:34
No doubt he will devolop into a good player, the thing is we needed a ruckman or a replacement for david neitz, frawley will be a good defender but we really needed a full forward.
Hard to blood anyone with Robbo and Neitz still there and in good form. Newton deserves a go before he dies and Dunn still has FF potential.
Optimax
10 Jun 2007, 21:41
Nathan the fullback (Collingwood)
Or Mitch the CHF (wc).
Both look good mitch has the flair. Wouldnt worry bout Frawley though looks good from what ive seen of him, better than his uncle anyway (and that is something).
melbournemartin
10 Jun 2007, 21:49
Mitch. I knew that Nathan wouldn't be around.
Theseventhhamster
10 Jun 2007, 23:01
We needed a tall backman and that's exactly what Frawley is. He isn't an athlete that may pan out to be one he IS a defender. I admit I haven't seen a ton of him but from what I've seen he is a natural like Rivers. I'm really happy so far and think he'll be great once he puts some more muscle on.
master bate
10 Jun 2007, 23:47
Totally agree with T7H, our backline is our weakness and a high pick quality player is what we needed. And to say he isn't an athlete is selling him short, he has good pace for his size.
stickman11
11 Jun 2007, 10:09
Hard to blood anyone with Robbo and Neitz still there and in good form. Newton deserves a go before he dies and Dunn still has FF potential.
HNeitz is in ok form - Newton should be in the side regardless. We have the second worst attack and our defence is also near the bottom of the afl clubs. Neitz could break down at any time - we need to seriously change things.
Theseventhhamster
11 Jun 2007, 11:39
Totally agree with T7H, our backline is our weakness and a high pick quality player is what we needed. And to say he isn't an athlete is selling him short, he has good pace for his size.
I didn't mean to say he isn't an athlete, the point I was making was that he is a footballer first and athlete second.
The Great Gabsby
11 Jun 2007, 13:03
I didn't mean to say he isn't an athlete, the point I was making was that he is a footballer first and athlete second.
I think this is the point a few people here are missing. There is far too much emphasis nowadays put on the physical attributes of a player, and not enough on their footy nous.
Its all well and good for a bloke to be 195cm and 95kg, but is that really relevant if they're a terrible kick or can barely read the play? Hell, if we're going to recruit soley on on body size we may as well recruit Andre the giant.
Take Ben Holland for example, he is one solid unit, but runs around out there like a chook without its head.
Give me a natural footballer anyday.