View Full Version : History between the Bombers and the Eagles!!
Hi Essendon fans!
Good luck against the Eagles on Friday night, I reckon you're a huge chance at the Dome where you have played pretty well this year.
I am interested in looking back at the history between these 2 clubs because I know they're great rivals because of a number of famous incidents involving Sheedy and the jacket and then Sheedy again with Mitchell White.
Could someone please tell me what years these two incidents occured in and if there any other well known episodes that have shaped these two clubs being arch rivals.
Thanks
Newton.
Hi Essendon fans!
Good luck against the Eagles on Friday night, I reckon you're a huge chance at the Dome where you have played pretty well this year.
I am interested in looking back at the history between these 2 clubs because I know they're great rivals because of a number of famous incidents involving Sheedy and the jacket and then Sheedy again with Mitchell White.
Could someone please tell me what years these two incidents occured in and if there any other well known episodes that have shaped these two clubs being arch rivals.
Thanks
Newton.
For those of us who were there- you don't get a better relaxing afternoon at Windy Hill than in 1989, second half of the year, the Dons kicked about 25 goals. The eagles managed one- yes one. They only beat us once at Windy Hill by the way.
For those of us who were there- you don't get a better relaxing afternoon at Windy Hill than in 1989, second half of the year, the Dons kicked about 25 goals. The eagles managed one- yes one. They only beat us once at Windy Hill by the way.Jesus Christ, that is a belting. :eek:
Bombs Away
5 Jun 2007, 11:42
Hi Essendon fans!
Thanks
Newton.
Cant tell you about mitchell white but a sea gull must have got in the stadium that night and knocked down mark johnson ( i think) about 70 metres from the ball.
That night also famous for Doc Peter larkins making the biggest ******** of himself ever and losing respect for ever. Hird had hurt his foot and it was around the time when realising that needs screws etc to fix. Me and a few mates see doc larkin walking behind us and ask about hirdy, he turns to us (doesn't know who we are mind you) and says oh he is soft. Since that day I have hated that prick.
donsman4eva
5 Jun 2007, 11:43
As for the year the incidents occured, I thnk the jacket was either 1993 or 1994 (I was too young to remember :D) and the Mitchell White Incident was 2001 I think, but I stand to be corrected
Boris_Bewick
5 Jun 2007, 12:19
Yeah it was '93, second half of the season. Salmon kicked like 27 behinds before he kicked his first and only goal to win the match by 2 or 3 points.
Not sure about Mitchell White
Hirds magnificent efforts in 2004 to win the game basically of his own boot. That was the game when Essendon kicked the first 7 goals was it not?
The Friday night game last year was great as well
Boris_Bewick
5 Jun 2007, 12:52
Hirds magnificent efforts in 95 to win the game basically of his own boot. That was the game when Essendon kicked the first 7 goals was it not?
The Friday night game last year was great as well
I can't remember too much of '95. But in '04 Ess kicked the first 8 goals of the game, WCE came back, and Hirdy kicked the winning goal, after having 15 touches in the last quarter, to finish with 34 (famously didn't get a vote). Lloyd kicked 8, Mercuri probably played his last good game with 3 goals. Was also Ricky Dyson's first game, and he played pretty well, kicked a goal.
I doubt that's the one you're referring to because of 9 years difference, but this game deserves to be in this group.
sen entertainment bloke
5 Jun 2007, 13:03
The eagles managed one- yes one. They only beat us once at Windy Hill by the way.
Essendon suffered a heap of injuries during the game and finished with less than 18 fit players on the groumd.
The Mitchell White thing would have been 2000.
Sheedy coaching from the bench in the rain was a bit of good history.
Bombs Away
5 Jun 2007, 14:40
The Mitchell white thing was 2000 and as I said at the telstra dome
I remember that ---- Matera going nuts on a friday night at the G, think it was '98 or '99. Won the game on his own.
Thanks Boris I was thinking of 2005 great game none the less Hirdy's last quater was unreal and the last passage of play when he cleared the ball from a stoppage ran down and then kicked the winning goal fromt he boundary line was unbelievable
For those of us who were there- you don't get a better relaxing afternoon at Windy Hill than in 1989, second half of the year, the Dons kicked about 25 goals. The eagles managed one- yes one. They only beat us once at Windy Hill by the way.
I was in the little league that day! Playing for West Coast. We kicked about 5 or 6 goals and when we were walking off people were shouting "Keep them on". :D
Chris Lewis kicked there only goal from memory.
There was also a final at the Dome where Lloyd was KO'd early in the piece. Think it was '02
Scotty Lucas was brilliant that day!
Hird's game in the final of 95 was a standout! I think we won by 70 odd points & he jagged a goal on Sumich from Full Back.
I also agree that Sheeds in the rain was good - we took it right up to West Coast that night.
The jacket waving was Harvey's 150th I believe (Rnd 16/18 ish? 1993)
The Windy Hill loss was also a good game - early 90s? - yep definitely down to 16 fit men or less at the end of the match. Somerville took a screamer late in the match.
Scotland
5 Jun 2007, 16:19
Ahem. It wasn't just any one goal performance, it was 1.12. :)
Also the jacket waving, the Kevin Sheedy-Mitchell White gesture, the 1996 finals series where we finished higher and won, you lost and then we met at the 'G (a game we lost) because of the MCC rule, Matera beating Essendon by himself on a cold Friday night at the 'G, Round 4 1999 when the Eagles kept the Bomber to 3 goals and won by 74 points the week after Lloyd had kicked 15 himself, Round 3 2004 (HIRD!), even last year when the then struggling Bombers nearly toppled the eventual premier. Never a dull moment.
Other than Port Adelaide who we have only played 14 times, Essendon are the only team in the AFL with a postive record against West Coast.
You can be guaranteed Sheedy will come up with something. Whether it's an obscure match up, or a change to the gameplan, or comments during the week pumping you/us up or playing our/your chances down, or even commenting on how pretty our newsreaders are in Perth. There is always something.
Gee when you think about it there's been some fb matches between the two.
Another great couple was in round one of 1993 & 1994 when we won by three points over at Subiaco in 1994 after losing by a couple of kicks the year before, when Bewick got 8 I think.
That '02 final when Lloydy knocked himself out is a favourite of mine, Fish tumbling over and kicking a goal before running off with the double fist pump to the crowd when he got to the bench.
Sam Hunt kicking across the ground straight to a WCE player who ran into goal is another memory from that day, so much so that my brother and I have since referred to the risky kick across the ground as a 'Sam Hunt'.
bOmBeR_BoY1
5 Jun 2007, 18:32
The 1995 game was an absolute ripper. We had started the year off superbly (5-1-1) by this stage, and the Eagles were 5-2 and coming off an 80 point win in their first game over their new neighbours, the Dockers. They were also obviously the reigning premiers and were yet to lose a game at home. James Hird was sensational and we over run them in the final quarter for our finest win of that season.
West Coast 7.3 9.5 12.9 13.12 (90)
Essendon 6.2 9.3 12.7 16.12 (108)
Date: Sun 21-May-1995 (Round 8) Att: 35,135 Venue: Subiaco
I also remember the 1995 Qualifying Final which we won by about 3 goals after trailing at half time. We kicked 6 goals to one in the 3rd quarter, in a low scoring contest, to win. I also vividly remember not scoring in the last quarter.
Matthew Lloyd, I believe in his first season and and in just his fourth game booted 2 goals and played quite well. I remember my Dad and I saying that it looked like he was going to make it. How right we were.
Pawtucket Patriot
5 Jun 2007, 21:15
Thanks Boris I was thinking of 2005 great game none the less Hirdy's last quater was unreal and the last passage of play when he cleared the ball from a stoppage ran down and then kicked the winning goal fromt he boundary line was unbelievable
One of the best quarters of footy by any player I have ever seen (on T.V.).
Longy413
5 Jun 2007, 21:28
Essendon suffered a heap of injuries during the game and finished with less than 18 fit players on the groumd.
The courage and pride shown that day was incredible.
There was also a final at the Dome where Lloyd was KO'd early in the piece. Think it was '02
Scotty Lucas was brilliant that day!
Definately 2002. It was the week Dick Reynolds passed, there was a minutes silence before the game.
No one has mentioned Sheeds tieing down the windsock. That was against the Eagles.
Bomber32
5 Jun 2007, 21:31
The game at Windy Hill in 1991 which the Eagles just won. We had only 15 or 16 fit players and were applauded off the ground by the supporters, deservedly so because it was a gutsy effort.
I think that was the game where Sheeds had the wind sock tied down, much to the disgust of the Eagles hierarchy.:D
Black JuJu
6 Jun 2007, 05:49
Great rivalry with Essendon, one of my favourites. I have a lot of respect for your great club, it's champions and Sheedy. Of course because we have more often than not been on the losing end of the rivalry means I also hate your bloody club and all it stands for! ;):thumbsu:
Should be a cracker on Friday aye, I'm looking forward to it.
Kaiser Powser
6 Jun 2007, 11:56
I know we have a staggering finals record against them from memory we beat them in:
93, 95, 96 & 2002 in finals.
Have we lost to them in finals?
The jacket wave was 93' salmon kicked a goal after about seven straight behinds and we won by two points, it was a season defining moment in a premiership year, so i don't think Sheeds would regret it.
The game at Windy Hill in 1991 which the Eagles just won. We had only 15 or 16 fit players and were applauded off the ground by the supporters, deservedly so because it was a gutsy effort.
I think that was the game where Sheeds had the wind sock tied down, much to the disgust of the Eagles hierarchy.:Dtell us a bit more about this, what was his thinking behind this again?
Kaiser Powser
6 Jun 2007, 12:15
I am fortunate enough to have been in attendance at:
93' final win (at the pinacle of West Coasts might)
95' final win (the emergence of Lloyd out at Waverley), 96' final win (70 odd point spanking, Wanganeen destroying rising star cousins, Hird goaling from full back with Sumich trundling after him, jacket waving #2)
2002' final win (Lloyd knocked out, Hunt kick across goal, Troy Wilson being so big yet so useless)
2004' H&A game (the fairy tales complete game, a corker of a game)
All are brilliant memories.
hayesy_27
6 Jun 2007, 15:38
would have to be the hird quarter as the best memory. Most complete quarter by a player ever.
The 2002 one was another good one, Lloyd knocked out, lucas and hird starring, the emergance of Judd and the fletcher trip on judd which ment we were without lloyd and fletch the following week.
2000 with the mitchell white incident and the Ken Judge playing defenseive to not get belted by the awesome bombers.
Even last year when we took it up to the eagles and nearly beat them and ofcourse the dean cox goal last year where he played like a small man lol.
I remember not sure what year it was when cox was back up ruck to gardiner and wondering who is this guy he will never make it and few years later he is all australian.
Another one is Hirds return to subiaco after smashing his face that one was against the eagles too.
Cant tell you about mitchell white but a sea gull must have got in the stadium that night and knocked down mark johnson ( i think) about 70 metres from the ball.
It was in play and it was later proven to be Dustin Fletcher who got Johnson with some friendly fire.
Speaking of Fletcher the other one i remember was a couple of years ago when in a marking contest McDougall got knocked and a result cannoned into Fletcher knocking his teeth out, nasty stuff
Hands & Heels
6 Jun 2007, 18:01
I am fortunate enough to have been in attendance at:
93' final win (at the pinacle of West Coasts might)
95' final win (the emergence of Lloyd out at Waverley), 96' final win (70 odd point spanking, Wanganeen destroying rising star cousins, Hird goaling from full back with Sumich trundling after him, jacket waving #2)
2002' final win (Lloyd knocked out, Hunt kick across goal, Troy Wilson being so big yet so useless)
2004' H&A game (the fairy tales complete game, a corker of a game)
All are brilliant memories.
If my memory serves me correctly, we also knocked em out by about 10 goals in the 1990 prelim out at Waverley.
Bomber32
6 Jun 2007, 21:56
tell us a bit more about this, what was his thinking behind this again?
Well, the Eagles had a fabulous run in 91 winning all of their first 12 games. Sheeds tried to get any advantage possible over the Eagles. Somehow the groundkeeper "accidentally" forgot to untie the wind sock leaving the Eagles not knowing which way the wind was blowing, so to speak.:D
SydneyBomber
6 Jun 2007, 22:55
It was in play and it was later proven to be Dustin Fletcher who got Johnson with some friendly fire.
really?
not saying I don't believe it, but tell me more about this proof?
Speaking of Fletcher the other one i remember was a couple of years ago when in a marking contest McDougall got knocked and a result cannoned into Fletcher knocking his teeth out, nasty stuff
that was pretty bloody nasty - I remember the commentators talking about him putting a bunch (not a couple!) of teeth in milk until after the game so they wouldn't die.
was it 2004?
from memory there was a dentist (eagle supporter) in the crowd who came down during the game and offered his assistance which was gratefully accepted.
nice that.
BomberAce7
6 Jun 2007, 23:05
Yeah it was '93, second half of the season. Salmon kicked like 27 behinds before he kicked his first and only goal to win the match by 2 or 3 points.
Not sure about Mitchell White
Yep that was the win where Sheeds came out of the coaches box and waved his jacket above his head! 14 years on and the jackets still get waved after a Bombers v Eagles match!
Fantastic rivalry between the clubs, a fair bit of hatred too but that's healthy!
We have played you guys in five finals and lost every one :(
sen entertainment bloke
9 Jun 2007, 00:41
The scarf is dying.
Big John
9 Jun 2007, 01:11
Add 2007, round 11, eagles top team and flag favourites, smashed the bombers in the 1st quarter, but the bombers stood up and fought back to win by 1 point in a nailbiting finish.
donsman4eva
9 Jun 2007, 01:22
The scarf is dying.
Yeah I noticed that, it was a bit disappointing I thought. Oh well, if it doesnt happen next game, we can relish that we were the last ones to wave them :D
As a passionate Eagles fan can I say...
Well done Essendon - I will always respect you and your coach in particular.
I also like Sheeds in how he clearly respects the Eagles culture and you can sense he has a lot of time for John Worsfold too.
Great win, you are our most feared, respected and hated (in the footy sense) rival.
Well done once again... yet another incredible chapter in this rivalry.
George_A_Romero
9 Jun 2007, 02:21
Yeah I noticed that, it was a bit disappointing I thought. Oh well, if it doesnt happen next game, we can relish that we were the last ones to wave them :D
Not quite - seeing as they weren't waved tonight, dare I say that we were the last to wave them?
Bomber32
9 Jun 2007, 02:22
As a passionate Eagles fan can I say...
Well done Essendon - I will always respect you and your coach in particular.
I also like Sheeds in how he clearly respects the Eagles culture and you can sense he has a lot of time for John Worsfold too.
Great win, you are our most feared, respected and hated (in the footy sense) rival.
Well done once again... yet another incredible chapter in this rivalry.
Great post. Well done to the Eagles and their supporters, always gracious in victory or defeat.:thumbsu:
donsman4eva
9 Jun 2007, 02:25
They were waved enough for us to claim it - barely.
B-Bomber
9 Jun 2007, 02:45
I was waving my jacket feriociously!
windyhill
9 Jun 2007, 02:47
I still spew on c.lewis kicking that one goal. Now that was a great day.
Scotland
9 Jun 2007, 03:07
You can be guaranteed Sheedy will come up with something. Whether it's an obscure match up, or a change to the gameplan, or comments during the week pumping you/us up or playing our/your chances down, or even commenting on how pretty our newsreaders are in Perth. There is always something.
Bolton on Braun. W.T.F?
Braun had very little influence on the game, props for this one.