View Full Version : If I was picking my team now for the finals...
Collins-Langford-Ayres
5 Jun 2007, 19:50
Assuming fitness and form:
FF: Williams...Roughead...Hodge
HF: McGlynn....Boyle.....Franklin
C: Sewell.......Lewis....Bateman
HB: Birchall.....Croad......Ladson
FB: Brown......Gilham......Jacobs
R: Campbell
RR: Mitchell
Ro: Crawford
I/C: Taylor, Vanders, Smith, Young
Apologies to Clarke, Goo and Dicko.
philhawk
5 Jun 2007, 19:57
Pipe Dream Team (injury excluded and form assumed at optimum by that time):
FB: Jacobs Gilham Brown
HBF: Smith Croad Birchall
C: Vandenberg Mitchell Bateman
HFF: Crawford Boyle Franklin
FF: Dixon Roughead Williams
R: Campbell Hodge Lewis
I/C: Taylor McGlynn Young Clarke
(Got the nagging feeling that i've forgotten someone)
Hodge2Franklin
5 Jun 2007, 20:06
I/C: Taylor McGlynn Young Clarke (Got the nagging feeling that i've forgotten someone)
Not disagreeing with your team but the ones you haven't put in are ...
Osborne
Guerra
Ladson
Murphy
Moss
Ellis
Thorpe :D
Renouf :D
I/C: Taylor McGlynn Young Clarke
(Got the nagging feeling that i've forgotten someone)
yeah u were right u forgot sewell.
:eek:That's what i was gonna say! Unforgivable exclusion! Shame on yourselves;)
Hodge2Franklin
5 Jun 2007, 20:27
Not disagreeing with your team but the ones you haven't put in are ...
Osborne
Guerra
Ladson
Murphy
Moss
Ellis
Thorpe :D
Renouf :D
AND Sewell ... Hey am I quoting my own post :p
Brown Gilham Guerra
Lewis Croad Birchall
Bateman Crawford Vandenberg
McGlynn Franklin Clarke
Boyle Williams Hodge
Foll: Campbell, Mitchell, Sewell
Interchange: Young, Taylor, Ladson, Jacobs
note: :o i couldn't squeeze hodge into a more suitable spot but he can play anywhere
Osborne shouldn't be in the side, roughead's form has been iffy all year and his lack of intensity would be shown up more so in the finals, Smith's poor under pressure/indecisive (clearly not an attribute for finals football). I could see Dixon having a stinker in the finals and Ellis' is still just a boy.
I just pray we can make the finals and have a good 90% of the squad able to choose from!
Mervyn Beasley
5 Jun 2007, 21:57
Didnt realise we were in the finals yet, but assuming we are, and assuming injuries and form are not a problem, i dont think there is any way possible for Tim Clarke to force his way back into this side, especially not ahead of Ladson and Guerra as some have suggested.
If Roughead and Dixon are both fit they will be battling for the one spot.
There are a lot of old Dicko fans and a lot of new Rough fans. Objectively I cannot split them. They are both worth a potential 3 goals and 5-10 possessions on recent form(and 2 or 3 easy dropped marks sadly!). Experience and tackling, along with keeping ball in fwd zone would have coaches going with Dicko I reckon.
I have faith in Roughy getting there, but if he wants to cement a potential finals spot he's gonna need to really go for it in the next few months.
Gary Shadforth
5 Jun 2007, 23:36
Crikey, CLA, my mouth is watering.
bak2bak8889
6 Jun 2007, 00:36
AND Sewell ... Hey am I quoting my own post :pGood on ya.... lucky wallet hasn't seen this!!!!
Collins-Langford-Ayres
6 Jun 2007, 03:32
Crikey, CLA, my mouth is watering.
It's already looking handy on paper without a number of the young kids like Ellis and Thorpe, who should be in our top ten in the next year or two.
onebrown onegold
6 Jun 2007, 14:00
Didnt realise we were in the finals yet, but assuming we are, and assuming injuries and form are not a problem, i dont think there is any way possible for Tim Clarke to force his way back into this side, especially not ahead of Ladson and Guerra as some have suggested.
If Roughead and Dixon are both fit they will be battling for the one spot.
There are a lot of old Dicko fans and a lot of new Rough fans. Objectively I cannot split them. They are both worth a potential 3 goals and 5-10 possessions on recent form(and 2 or 3 easy dropped marks sadly!). Experience and tackling, along with keeping ball in fwd zone would have coaches going with Dicko I reckon.
I have faith in Roughy getting there, but if he wants to cement a potential finals spot he's gonna need to really go for it in the next few months.
Mervyn you are obviously incredibly intelligent and a keen following of our great game, there cannot be anyway that Tim Clarke could get another game at senior level!
C: Young Mitchell Bateman
HFF: Vandenberg Franklin Crawford
FF: Dixon Boyle Williams
I/C: Taylor McGlynn Sewell Clarke
kirbatron
6 Jun 2007, 16:09
B. Brown Gilham Jacobs
HB. Guerra Croad Birchall
C. Bateman Lewis McGlynn
HF. Franklin Thorpe Sewell
F. Williams Boyle Crawford
R Campbell Hodge Mitchell
I/C Vandenberg Roughead Taylor Smith
There's something about the name Thorpe that just fits in our best 22, so i put him in.
In reality though, stick Roughie in and put Clarke on the bench.
The Messenger
6 Jun 2007, 16:17
If we make finals Guerra has to play. He probably has the most finals experience on the list he has played finals footy with both the Power and the Saints. If finals comes around load the team with experience because there the one's that will get us over the line.
Herbs hawks
6 Jun 2007, 16:32
Just about spot on maybe Guerra for Smith?
Agree Clarke and Dicko would be very stiff to miss
Chrissie90
6 Jun 2007, 18:49
Mervyn you are obviously incredibly intelligent and a keen following of our great game, there cannot be anyway that Tim Clarke could get another game at senior level!
I really think that Timmy is one of our best players - as he has shown us all in the last 2 years. But my dad reckons that he is no good and the reason we are winning at the moment is cause Tim and Vanders are not in the team so we have heaps less turnovers without them.