View Full Version : Brett Thornton - thoughts??
Mervyn Beasley
6 Jun 2007, 10:33
I was mad keen in the off season to get Brett Thornton.
How hard we tried to get him seems to have been forgotten already.
If he was at the club, whose spot would he be taking, or would he have a spot at all?
How well has be been playing for the Blues?
In hindsight is it better that we dont have him?
Few questions. Interested in peoples thoughts.
philhawk
6 Jun 2007, 10:36
He would have proven excellent when Danny was injured.
Right now, where do you fit him in?
Brown Gilham Jacobs
Smith Croad Birchall
Phil McCreviss
6 Jun 2007, 10:41
Happy without him. Brown has been a revelation this season and has actually given us an attacking defender. Thornton is more of a conventional full back and would probably take Gilhams role. In effect, the club has won out. They would be paying Gilham a lot less for similar return IMO
Mervyn Beasley
6 Jun 2007, 10:49
Brown Gilham Jacobs
Smith Croad Birchall
Yeah. Without really knowing how he is going this year, my thoughts were that we would paying a lot of money for a bloke who might not be a definite starter, because its hard to see him getting a game ahead of the 6 you have mentioned there.
Also like to say this not an anti Thornton thread. Hope for his sake he is doing well
Blues ended up paying him more than what we were offering (which was a significant increase on what he was getting) ha ha. We did need him at that period last year, now with Campbell and gilham really stepping up, not needed. Good player though
He'd be handy when Croad is injured though.
Nightwolf
6 Jun 2007, 11:24
Gilham plays the exact role Thornton would have... But heaps cheaper..
kirbatron
6 Jun 2007, 11:26
I certainly would want him right now and i think he'd be a shoe in for the best 22. Imo he would just solidify our backline a bit more..
Brown Thornton Gilham
Birchall Croad Guerra
Jacobs/Guerra on off the bench if matchups arent right.
edit: not really bothered we didnt get him, Gilham has stepped up and we have Zac in the Pipe to come through.
he would add that bit of depth to our backline, but gilly seems to play in a similar way. while browny has taken a huge step up this year, I dont think he's been "a revelation" the blokes been bleeding hawthorn & playing consistant, tough footy for years. Does anyone know when he (brown) was dropped for a form slump.
Bennycoff
6 Jun 2007, 12:17
Well we were offering Pick 24 and Boyle? Now look how good Boyle is hehe.
Phil McCreviss
6 Jun 2007, 12:40
he would add that bit of depth to our backline, but gilly seems to play in a similar way. while browny has taken a huge step up this year, I dont think he's been "a revelation" the blokes been bleeding hawthorn & playing consistant, tough footy for years. Does anyone know when he (brown) was dropped for a form slump.
Sorry I meant a revelation in the sense of the types of players he is now playing on and consistently beating ie Brown, Pavlich, Lucas etc
HawkFan15
6 Jun 2007, 13:10
I wouldnt have minded him if the trade was right, eg pick 24 and 33. But im happy with Renouf/Morton and that by not getting him blokes like steve gilham/brown have really stood up in a thornton style role
cschreuder61
6 Jun 2007, 13:14
No doubt we'd be a better side with him in, but with Gilham coming on it hasn't mattered.
I was dead keen on it at the start, if asked now... not sure, probably wouldn't as Renouf slipped to 24 and is a future CHB option for when Croad retired in the medium term future.
Thornton is a good player, but we didn't expect Brown and Gilham to be playing quite so well IMO.
Don't even know why we're talking about this ancient history....
spudley14
6 Jun 2007, 14:51
Brown Gilham Jacobs
Smith Croad Birchall
i think he would be at CHB and Croad would be in the Forward line
Go The Mores # 2
6 Jun 2007, 16:58
i think he would be at CHB and Croad would be in the Forward line
Dont forget that means you gotta take one out of the forward line. Whos that gonna be ?
Sorry I meant a revelation in the sense of the types of players he is now playing on and consistently beating ie Brown, Pavlich, Lucas etc
no worries phil, benny made a good point though about giving up boyle & 24!
we'd be looking at another shane tuck senario. still does anyone know when browny was last out for anything other than injury or suspension?
spudley14
6 Jun 2007, 18:03
Dont forget that means you gotta take one out of the forward line. Whos that gonna be ?
true, Roughead
Collins-Langford-Ayres
6 Jun 2007, 18:55
edit: not really bothered we didnt get him, Gilham has stepped up and we have Zac in the Pipe to come through.
Zac certainly does fit in that pipe !
Cheeseman
6 Jun 2007, 19:23
Thornton is the central figure in a defensive 6 that concedes the most goals per game on average, I'm happy with how it's turned out.
mulhollanddrive
7 Jun 2007, 00:46
Best thing that happened was Carlton to be too greedy. Gilham has stepped up and has had a better season than Thornton, and has held the likes of Darcy/Kositske/Cox/Neitz all to 2 goals or less.
The apparent 'holes' in our team have allowed Boyle/Gilham/Taylor/McGlynn to prove their worth when otherwise a Thurstans/Cartlidge/Thornton/Fergerson would have been 3 years older than our guys and have probably performed worse and kept out our 4 guys who have more potential.
Mitchell Madness
7 Jun 2007, 08:41
Gilham plays the exact role Thornton would have... But heaps cheaper..
and dont forget, Gilly just likes playing footy, we need heaps of players like that - and we have a few, Sewell, McGlynn players liek that. They are the players that stay true to your club through thick and thin. Thornton was too much about the Money and limelight to play to full potential.
cradle of filth
7 Jun 2007, 13:41
Brown Gilham Jacobs
Smith Croad Birchall
i think it's pretty obvious what i would do.
philhawk
7 Jun 2007, 14:36
Drop Hodge, bring in Thornton, appoint Jacobs as captain. ;)
:D :thumbsu: