View Full Version : Northern Football League Div 1 - CLOSED
Cole Trickle
14 Aug 2007, 17:16
6 players have come from our juniors.Unfortunately the clubs juniors folded for a period about 10 years ago.The club has rebuilt the juniors over time or should I say some very dedicated people have so hopefully players will start coming through again.What s*it's me about everyone's perception about being a money club is this.Should we have just layed down and died and been non competitive,maybe dropped to 2 division.With some very committed people we have focussed on being competitive and successful.This is not a crime.As for being good the last 4 years I Played from 1990 to 2005 and we were good then just didnt have huge amounts of success but were still strong.As for our captain some people are just born to lead.You dont pick captains they pick themselves.Our Captain has been outstanding.He is not perfect but neither is anyone else andhe goes about the job with great passion.Why dont you come down Cole you may find what agreat club this is.
As for Bundoora I watched the Bundoora and North game and be honest Bundoora just grinded away and when North stopped running in the last Bundoora struck.Nothing is in the bag but dont you think Heidelberg are aware of history .Do you not think they are not pushing to be the best they can at the right time of the year.Although there have been some average games they have won on average by over ten Goals every game.Whether they losse one or not beleive me the focus is on Winning the first final and then hopefully the big one and if we do you are all welcome to come down and have drink even you sharky00 you D*ck.If we loose you can still come down but there will be a twenty dollar cover charge .CheersThats good to hear Brucey i just hope the kids coming through get a fair go. Will trevor ever pull up on the recruiting and say enough is enough and we ll stick with the side we've got and let some kids come through or will he keep grabbing the football mercenries? I think i have worked out who you are and i respect the way you and some of your mates have stuck by the club. pS I NEVER BAGGED YOUR CAPTAIN JUST THINK A CAPTAIN SHOULD BE AT THE CLUB FOR AT LEAST FOUR YEARS BEFORE HE IS NAMED CAPTAN AND A FOOTBALL CLB THAT NAMES ONE IN THEIR SECOND SEASON IS'NT MUCH OF A CLUB. I think you would agree with that seeing how you were a captain at one stage of your career. (if Dale Byrne is the bloke im thinking of) Did yoy use to wear no24
MISTER X
14 Aug 2007, 17:21
I am no heidelberg fan, but i am right with you on this one. Good on you guys for running a great club, you are the measuring stick. As for peanuts like this guy from eltham no need to worry about him, eltham have been fighting out of their weight division for a few years. they pay top dollar to a coach who until this year had only beaten a top 4 side on 3 occasions. Now they have two lucky wins in a year against norf and mont and they reappoint him and call him god. this idiot wants to talk about spending money? I bet Eltham pay the most of any club for the coach, and have been for some years now....and they still lose! how about getting some home grown talent to coach and spend the money on some players that have heart.
I dont follow any side, i am just a football lover. What i dont get is how people get on these forums and bag the likes of Elthams or West Prestons (maylin and larkin) coaches simply because they made the top level. I'm pretty sure they dont have the best lists in this comp, but would probably also be 15-0 if they were in charge of Heidelberg.
Jewelsandbullet
14 Aug 2007, 17:25
I NEVER BAGGED YOUR CAPTAIN JUST THINK A CAPTAIN SHOULD BE AT THE CLUB FOR AT LEAST FOUR YEARS BEFORE HE IS NAMED CAPTAN AND A FOOTBALL CLB THAT NAMES ONE IN THEIR SECOND SEASON IS'NT MUCH OF A CLUB.
I don't get this Cole...
If they appointed him in his second year, but then he stays as long as he has, and considering just how good he has been (week in and out) since the appointment - does that not justify the original decision.. and make your argument a little redundant. I think there is always an exception to every rule. Just a thought
Kickass
14 Aug 2007, 17:40
I don't get this Cole...
If they appointed him in his second year, but then he stays as long as he has, and considering just how good he has been (week in and out) since the appointment - does that not justify the original decision.. and make your argument a little redundant. I think there is always an exception to every rule. Just a thought
Yep agree J & B,
Panthers are out to recruit Chris Judd next year and he can have Captaincy straight away :D.
The Boof
14 Aug 2007, 17:42
I dont follow any side, i am just a football lover. What i dont get is how people get on these forums and bag the likes of Elthams or West Prestons (maylin and larkin) coaches simply because they made the top level. I'm pretty sure they dont have the best lists in this comp, but would probably also be 15-0 if they were in charge of Heidelberg.
Yes and No X. Example. I believe because a certain number of people at Bundoora have both overtly and covertly not supported Vinnie this has indirectly contributed to a specific mindset at the club which ultimately manifests itself on the field come crunch time.
Regards
devil's advocte
14 Aug 2007, 17:47
Yep agree J & B,
Panthers are out to recruit Chris Judd next year and he can have Captaincy straight away :D.
Actually he has signed with mont, he said the ground reminded him of scarborough beach.
The Boof
14 Aug 2007, 17:50
I don't get this Cole...
Exactly. If it aint broke don't fix it. However, the opposite is true also.
Or either, let's keep doing what we've always been doing because that's the way we've always done it. I don't think so! Not at Heidelberg.
Start thinking outside the Diamond Valley Box people. Fail to plan. Plan to fail.
Regards
Yes and No X. Example. I believe because a certain number of people at Bundoora have both overtly and covertly not supported Vinnie this has indirectly contributed to a specific mindset at the club which ultimately manifests itself on the field come crunch time.
Regards
we speak english in australia!
regards
Kickass
14 Aug 2007, 18:01
we speak english in australia!
regards
Yes Matty we do,
But this be bigfooty.com where we all speaka da 1 language. - Bull$hit :p
Kickass
14 Aug 2007, 18:02
Actually he has signed with mont, he said the ground reminded him of scarborough beach.
:thumbsu::thumbsu: Monty out quoted $$$$ us again
Bruce Almighty
14 Aug 2007, 19:38
Thats good to hear Brucey i just hope the kids coming through get a fair go. Will trevor ever pull up on the recruiting and say enough is enough and we ll stick with the side we've got and let some kids come through or will he keep grabbing the football mercenries? I think i have worked out who you are and i respect the way you and some of your mates have stuck by the club. pS I NEVER BAGGED YOUR CAPTAIN JUST THINK A CAPTAIN SHOULD BE AT THE CLUB FOR AT LEAST FOUR YEARS BEFORE HE IS NAMED CAPTAN AND A FOOTBALL CLB THAT NAMES ONE IN THEIR SECOND SEASON IS'NT MUCH OF A CLUB. I think you would agree with that seeing how you were a captain at one stage of your career. (if Dale Byrne is the bloke im thinking of) Did yoy use to wear no24
You are correct .Why did everyone attack no.24.Could never work it out.
Other than Murphy,Franchina,sheils,dobson,Dowdy,Mick Finn, who has only been playing Aussie rules for 3 years every other player has been there from 4 to 11 years.Our good run did not happen overnight.Every club has mercenries just as long as they do the right thing by the club so be it.Our recruits have turned out to be great people and enjoy the club . I am tipping we will always try to recruit .If you dont and just rely on home grown talent you will get left behind.Every local club goes out to recriut and has done for 100 years.As for our Captain this has been justified to be the best decision so I dont get your angle.Finally this is a real club and always has been with some great people.How often can you go to a club and find 4 or 5 ex coaches enjoying themselves having a beer.Once you have been at Heidelberg you never leave and if you do you are always welcome back no matter what.
whistle blower
14 Aug 2007, 21:49
surely we can talk about more than just h/berg on here , its becoming so boring.
as for the slagging of the umps on sunday, for all those that criticise ,put yourself in their position & make snap decisions,i dont know who did the game ...but who cares.
i for 1 have seen many a clanger from players like you wouldnt believe, but they get a reprieve cos they "play the game"
just a thought from someone neutral.
TIGER ROCKET
14 Aug 2007, 21:57
surely we can talk about more than just h/berg on here , its becoming so boring.
as for the slagging of the umps on sunday, for all those that criticise ,put yourself in their position & make snap decisions,i dont know who did the game ...but who cares.
i for 1 have seen many a clanger from players like you wouldnt believe, but they get a reprieve cos they "play the game"
just a thought from someone neutral.
agree with you're point about heidelberg,not so much the people from heidelberg but others who seem obsessed with talking down the club when if it was there own club having that much success they would be telling everyone to get over it.
can't comment on the umpiring on sunday but talked with some bundoora supporters who actually said they got the better run from the umps but north did do a few undisciplined things.
footy luver
14 Aug 2007, 22:17
thats good for elthams future..montmorencys ground is a digrace and shouldnt be played on in the nfl. what do others think???
ITS DEPRESSING JUST DRIVING PAST IT AND ITS SHATTERING DRIVING IN KNOWING YOU WILL BE PLAYING ON IT..THE WORST GROUND IN VICTORIA:thumbsd:
Cole Trickle
15 Aug 2007, 00:13
Other than Murphy,Franchina,sheils,dobson,Dowdy,Mick Finn, who has only been playing Aussie rules for 3 years every other player has been there from 4 to 11 years.Our good run did not happen overnight.Every club has mercenries just as long as they do the right thing by the club so be it.Our recruits have turned out to be great people and enjoy the club . I am tipping we will always try to recruit .If you dont and just rely on home grown talent you will get left behind.Every local club goes out to recriut and has done for 100 years.As for our Captain this has been justified to be the best decision so I dont get your angle.Finally this is a real club and always has been with some great people.How often can you go to a club and find 4 or 5 ex coaches enjoying themselves having a beer.Once you have been at Heidelberg you never leave and if you do you are always welcome back no matter what.I think your skipper has done a great job and yes it probably has been a great decision but ill give you an eg next year do you think David Rodant would be in the mix to captain port adelaide it sounds a bit silly when the bloke was playing for richmond last year. As i have said before you guys have done a top job in creating sucess. Its like building a house Brucey you can build the biggest beautiful house in the street but if the foundations are'nt solid enough the house will get cracks and thats the way i see Heidelberg. I'll also ask you this Brucey no doubt back in the 90's you blokes were a good side and a very tight bunch of blokes but do you think the side you have now is any where near as tight as you blokes were and you guys only won one flag together (90)
BERGER KING
15 Aug 2007, 07:53
Look its been a while since I coached but there are some funny signs at our great club Heidelberg. Russ Lee dominates first qtr then rested for most of second qtr ....not a happy player. Young Laing left one out at full back against a really good full forward--no help from coach as other defenders such as Heff,Haydock,Lowther,Sheilds just chase kicks with no regard for their team mate.The selected team included 5 ruckmen-- no regard for team balance. No taggers--Franchina used to agood one at Carlton but doesnt look that interested and is really out of touch.Its time to get fair dinkum and pick the best team regargless of reputations /maybe have alook at the regular bests in the twos?
FINAL COMMENT. Look the coach has done a good job with his prize cattle. Just thought he was a little off the boil last week .Thats OK'.The 2s player I had in mind was Zac an absolute stand out for the whole season .The fact that he is aWILLIAMS should attract the interest of the selectors.All the best.
The Boof
15 Aug 2007, 09:31
Forfot to ask. What was the crowd numbers like at the Mont / Borough game?
Regards
A Living God
15 Aug 2007, 09:48
Forfot to ask. What was the crowd numbers like at the Mont / Borough game?
Regards
Good not great.
Two reason for that would be the weather and Monty's u'15s and u'17s were both playing Borough in the prelim at the same time.
whistle80
15 Aug 2007, 11:44
agree with you're point about heidelberg,not so much the people from heidelberg but others who seem obsessed with talking down the club when if it was there own club having that much success they would be telling everyone to get over it.
can't comment on the umpiring on sunday but talked with some bundoora supporters who actually said they got the better run from the umps but north did do a few undisciplined things.
No umpire go into a game deciding who is going to get the most free kicks. The team who are in front (first to the ball) will 99% of the time get more free kicks. The free kick count is not supposed to be even.
Nth. Were in control for most of the game on Sat, and thats why they would have got more frees.
We have hit rock bottom in umpiring stocks and need clubs to understand that the more they yell and abuse the more umps we will loose. Word is no umpires will be supplied for B grade next year.
A Living God
15 Aug 2007, 12:18
Could you tell me the what the umpires (Field, Boundary and Goal) get paid for all grades, age groups and division?
We have hit rock bottom in umpiring stocks and need clubs to understand that the more they yell and abuse the more umps we will loose. Word is no umpires will be supplied for B grade next year.
Is that Field, Boundary and Goal umpires all not being supplied? Surely that would need to provide at least 1 field umpire.
SWANNEES
15 Aug 2007, 12:19
Other than Murphy,Franchina,sheils,dobson,Dowdy,Mick Finn, who has only been playing Aussie rules for 3 years every other player has been there from 4 to 11 years.Our good run did not happen overnight.Every club has mercenries just as long as they do the right thing by the club so be it.Our recruits have turned out to be great people and enjoy the club . I am tipping we will always try to recruit .If you dont and just rely on home grown talent you will get left behind.Every local club goes out to recriut and has done for 100 years.As for our Captain this has been justified to be the best decision so I dont get your angle.Finally this is a real club and always has been with some great people.How often can you go to a club and find 4 or 5 ex coaches enjoying themselves having a beer.Once you have been at Heidelberg you never leave and if you do you are always welcome back no matter what.
the german agrees port douglas is great go bergers
devil's advocte
15 Aug 2007, 17:06
Imagine a norf v dimo game with no umpire!!!
for that matter imagine any game at norf with no umpire
At least norf would be undefeated at home!!!!
devil's advocte
15 Aug 2007, 17:17
Once you have been at Heidelberg you never leave and if you do you are always welcome back no matter what.
Surely this is true of all clubs, and thats what makes suburban footy so good. What makes Heidelberg different at the moment is that they have all their s**t together and are a powerful unit. You only have to go back to 2002 & 2003 and Monty smashed heidelberg by 110 points + on both occasions at mont. Since then Heidelberg have 2 cups and mont 0, and heidelberg have relatively the same core that have developed. So some people here need to look back only 4 years when the bergers were whipping boys and realise that they wanted to do something about poor performance and they have. Good on them, no looking for excuses, they just got the job done
i wish my team could do the same!
Jewelsandbullet
15 Aug 2007, 17:35
i wish my team could do the same!
And that team is?
You've always denied that is was Mont
devil's advocte
15 Aug 2007, 18:07
And that team is?
You've always denied that is was Mont
I thought it was obvious....it says collingwood on the profile!! and wish the pies could win one! But I digress, Though I never played my juniors at mont, I did want too because they wore the collingwood jumper, so i guess i do have a soft spot for mont, just like their ground
The Boof
15 Aug 2007, 18:17
Imagine a norf v dimo game with no umpire!!!
for that matter imagine any game at norf with no umpire
At least norf would be undefeated at home!!!!
What a spectacle! A game with only goal umpires. Not for the faint hearted I would suggest. What do u think? Would anyone be willing to have a crack?
Regards
whistle80
15 Aug 2007, 19:20
Could you tell me the what the umpires (Field, Boundary and Goal) get paid for all grades, age groups and division?
Is that Field, Boundary and Goal umpires all not being supplied? Surely that would need to provide at least 1 field umpire.
It would be all umpires that would be not supplied for B grade. Like the Amos. At the moment guys are doubling up u/19's and B grade just to make up the numbers.
U/10 Field - $40 .......... A Grade Field $105
Boundary U/17 $33 .......... A Grade Bounday $65
Goal U/17 $30 ..................A Grade Goal $55
You can fill in the gaps. Divsion 1 and 2 get paid the same. So an umpire who gets a game in Division 2 is not "dropped". in fact this week the best game is in Div 2. Lalor and T/Town.
whistle blower
15 Aug 2007, 22:11
give us a clue as to who you are .
might see you 2morro
Jewelsandbullet
16 Aug 2007, 11:36
It would be all umpires that would be not supplied for B grade. Like the Amos. At the moment guys are doubling up u/19's and B grade just to make up the numbers.
U/10 Field - $40 .......... A Grade Field $105
Boundary U/17 $33 .......... A Grade Bounday $65
Goal U/17 $30 ..................A Grade Goal $55
For the amount of sh1t they cop, that seems like chicken feed. I wonder what eastern pay A grade umpires?
joe_average
16 Aug 2007, 11:42
Saw this entry on the Div 2 thread (as an Epping person was trying to familiarise myself for next year)
START
3 ticks for your mail.
Looks like 2 teams going up from D2 to D1, so Epping are safe
Fawkner Park gone
Reservoir coaching job currently being advertised
END
Just wondering if anyone has heard anything similar or can confirm, deny or speculate?
whistle80
16 Aug 2007, 11:54
For the amount of sh1t they cop, that seems like chicken feed. I wonder what eastern pay A grade umpires?
These rates are from the "Floyd" days and were not touched in 2007. A pay proposal will be prepared for 2008. They are way under what other comps get.
The Boof
16 Aug 2007, 14:18
Exactly. Hopefully the NFL will be transparent and publish a financial report. That way everyone can see where the money is being spent and on whom. With this in mind, our delegates would be in a position to make informed decisions when it comes to managing the economics of THEIR / OUR league.
Regards
joe_average
16 Aug 2007, 14:36
Saw this entry on the Div 2 thread (as an Epping person was trying to familiarise myself for next year)
START
3 ticks for your mail.
Looks like 2 teams going up from D2 to D1, so Epping are safe
Fawkner Park gone
Reservoir coaching job currently being advertised
END
Just wondering if anyone has heard anything similar or can confirm, deny or speculate?
Update from th other thread:
START
Correctamundo.....The good mail is that D1 will be 12 teams next year,
thus Epping are safe and 2 teams from D2 will be promoted.
I can't say anything else as I know the powers that be the management of the NFL read these threads on a daily basis if you know what I mean
Watch this space
END
A Living God
16 Aug 2007, 16:15
And it is about the same as the minium payment for a Division 1 player.
Depending on the clubs the 44 players could be earning over of $10,000 for the match it seems so insignficant
Would a considerable increase in pay increase the umpire particpation
I feel these would be better relfection of the work they the umpire do
A grade - Division 1
Field - $250
Boundary - $150
Goal - $100
A grade - Division 2
Field - $200
Boundary - $120
Goal - $100
B and C grade
Field - $150
Boundary - $100
Goal - $80
Junior
Field - $60 (u'10s - u'12s)
Field - $100 (u'13s - u'17s)
Boundary - $70 (u'17s)
Goal - $50 (u'17s)
Would cost about an extra $550 per match for an A grade Division 1 match and the difference between division 1 and 2 would amount to performanced based pay.
A person who umpired both 19's and reserves and then was Goal umpire the first would earn $400 for 8 hours work.
The Boof
16 Aug 2007, 16:32
Excellant point G. Payments should be performance based.
Regards
A Living God
16 Aug 2007, 16:53
Does anybody know what, for each, club on average pays thier players eack week and what is the minium amount they pay and what does the highest played player earn?
whistle80
16 Aug 2007, 16:55
Excellant point G. Payments should be performance based.
Regards
Performance based pays are not a bad idea, however you would need to charge Div 1 clubs more to cover the costs.
Also what happens when the game of the round IS IN DIV 2. Say Macleod and Whittlesea are playing (and in Div 1. Its all one sided games) could you leave this game to your number 11th and 12th best umpires?
I am not sure your top 5 umpires would be happy to take a pay cut to do this game.
A better way of doing it is maybe to have 2 panels.
Panel 1 has you top 10 umpires and they get paid the top rate no matter what game they do and Panel 2 has the rest and they need to improve to get onto panel 1.
Any thoughts?
The Boof
16 Aug 2007, 17:08
Performance based pays are not a bad idea, however you would need to charge Div 1 clubs more to cover the costs.
Also what happens when the game of the round IS IN DIV 2. Say Macleod and Whittlesea are playing (and in Div 1. Its all one sided games) could you leave this game to your number 11th and 12th best umpires?
I am not sure your top 5 umpires would be happy to take a pay cut to do this game.
Panel 1 has you top 10 umpires and they get paid the top rate no matter what game they do and Panel 2 has the rest and they need to improve to get onto panel 1.
Any thoughts?
It's just a matter of number crunching mate. No big deal. Finding the status quo I would suggest is best left to you guys to flesh out.
Perhaps the administrators at the NFL should be placed on Performance Based Management CONTRACTS for say 3 years. If nothing else, it would prevent nepotism and corruption.
Regards
ROMPERMFC
16 Aug 2007, 20:39
Any thoughts?
the Macleod/Lalor game this year was builts as the game of the round and we had 2 umpires down from divvy 1 who were disgraceful(hope your werent one whistle) they were not happy umpiring divvy 2 and made it perfectly clear to a few of the players that they were "second division scum" as one put it.
i dont mind poor umpiring if it even but the crap that was dished up that day was a joke, even the Lalor guys i spoke to after the game said that we should complain to the league for the one sided crap.
i know a few letters we sent to the league, but as expected no response... anyone would think that Floydy was still running things....
chopsewie
16 Aug 2007, 22:29
Thats good to hear Brucey i just hope the kids coming through get a fair go. Will trevor ever pull up on the recruiting and say enough is enough and we ll stick with the side we've got and let some kids come through or will he keep grabbing the football mercenries? I think i have worked out who you are and i respect the way you and some of your mates have stuck by the club. pS I NEVER BAGGED YOUR CAPTAIN JUST THINK A CAPTAIN SHOULD BE AT THE CLUB FOR AT LEAST FOUR YEARS BEFORE HE IS NAMED CAPTAN AND A FOOTBALL CLB THAT NAMES ONE IN THEIR SECOND SEASON IS'NT MUCH OF A CLUB. I think you would agree with that seeing how you were a captain at one stage of your career. (if Dale Byrne is the bloke im thinking of) Did yoy use to wear no24
Well Cole it seems you know your footy but Blair Harvey was named captain in his third year so its probably not a bad club decision after all. I think at the time Heidelberg named Stinger captain there was'nt many young up and comers at the club and he was the obvious choice what a choice they made he looks like captaining his third flag. I don't think that Heidelberg would be as sucessful now if he was'nt there. The bloke goes there to train 5 to 6 days a week and if one of the boys needs a bit of extra training he helps and pushes them until they either drop off or need a rest he is arguabley the most fitest bloke in the comp. I don't really agree with the way Heidelberg is run either but they have'nt had juniors for a long time and to keep the club a live its one of the ways you could go about it. From what i have been told this year is the first year that the players have been a little selfish and un social but with the money flying around that will always happen as most of the blokes that only play for the money have familys and find it hard to get away. Eltham will come good soon cole if they can hold on to the kids. You probably would already have a couple of d 1 flags if you could have kept all the kids that have come thru the juniors and ended up at other clubs.
whistle80
16 Aug 2007, 22:39
the Macleod/Lalor game this year was builts as the game of the round and we had 2 umpires down from divvy 1 who were disgraceful(hope your werent one whistle) they were not happy umpiring divvy 2 and made it perfectly clear to a few of the players that they were "second division scum" as one put it.
i dont mind poor umpiring if it even but the crap that was dished up that day was a joke, even the Lalor guys i spoke to after the game said that we should complain to the league for the one sided crap.
i know a few letters we sent to the league, but as expected no response... anyone would think that Floydy was still running things....
I want to clear one thing up. There is no such thing as a Div 1 umpire. We had an umpire who did three Div 1. G/F's in a row. During the year of his third Div 1. he did more Div 2 home and away games than Div 1. The best umpires go to the best games. That is not always in Div 1.
Are you saying that the umpires made a decision before the game to "cheat" for Lalor?
You will not be happy then this week, looking through the appointments list, you have a one of the same umpires this week who did that game.
I will say one thing about division 2. I persoanaly have no issue with Div 2. I understand the quality of football is not as high, however professionalism is something that any club can work on. I find when I umpire Div 2. you do cop more abuse and complaining from the players. They have less knowlage of the rules and seem to find it difficult to handle top umpires doing the game.
A Living God
16 Aug 2007, 22:45
Any thoughts?
Division 1 is were the crowds are and were the money is.
It will be div 1 clubs that are paying for it and hence they deserve the best umpires.
whistle80
16 Aug 2007, 22:49
Division 1 is were the crowds are and were the money is.
It will be div 1 clubs that are paying for it and hence they deserve the best umpires.
Agree. That will keep ROMPERMFC happy, he can cop crap umpires each week. Seems he is not happy with his "divvvvy 1" umpires.
ROMPERMFC
17 Aug 2007, 00:10
Agree. That will keep ROMPERMFC happy, he can cop crap umpires each week. Seems he is not happy with his "divvvvy 1" umpires.
i obviosly didnt get my point across, i dont have a problem with the umps, 99% of them do a great job, this is not afl standard footy so we dont expect AFL standard umpiring, the real disapointment the day we played lalor was the umps attatude towards the players(of both sides) and the administrations head in the sand aproach when it was raised with them.
reading your posts you sound like a fair minded bloke who understands that the umpires like all clubs have good quality people with a few ratbags mixed in and i am sure that as most clubs try to weed out the less desirable blokes as the umpire numbers grow you to will be able to rest the guys that need to be rested.
hey just wondering if the league gives any prizemoney for winning a premiership and wonder if div 2 clubs get anything???????
someone told me you do if you win a flag but i had never heard of it before?
THE GOW
17 Aug 2007, 08:24
hey just wondering if the league gives any prizemoney for winning a premiership and wonder if div 2 clubs get anything???????
I dont know if they do pigmy but I dont think Heidelberg really need it do they do
devil's advocte
17 Aug 2007, 10:10
All clubs that compete in finals get a "purse" from the league. It depends on haw many teams and how far they progress as to how much the purse is.
This money is not paid to the clubs, rather it comes off the next years fees to the league, or at least that is the way it happened in the old dvfl
whistle80
17 Aug 2007, 11:20
i obviosly didnt get my point across, i dont have a problem with the umps, 99% of them do a great job, this is not afl standard footy so we dont expect AFL standard umpiring, the real disapointment the day we played lalor was the umps attatude towards the players(of both sides) and the administrations head in the sand aproach when it was raised with them.
reading your posts you sound like a fair minded bloke who understands that the umpires like all clubs have good quality people with a few ratbags mixed in and i am sure that as most clubs try to weed out the less desirable blokes as the umpire numbers grow you to will be able to rest the guys that need to be rested.
It would be great if we did have enough umpires to weed out the bad ones. The fact is we have some umpires doing 'A' grade who 5 years ago wouldnt have got a game in B grade.
The concern I have is looking back at the appointment lists the 2 guys that did that game (Lalor vs Macleod) are generally very good umpries (one did last years Div 1 'A' GF). It's a worry if they did say those things, and as I said you have one of them again this week.
I can understand the frustration clubs have when they do complain about the umpires and nothing happens. However I am sure the NFL get complaints every week and can't seperate the legit ones from the wingers. It must be said though that umpires complain about clubs and nothing seems to happen.
The Boof
17 Aug 2007, 11:50
Perhaps an umpire in question and a club administrator from each game, using the NFL website FOR ALL TO SEE NOT COMMENT ON, can raise issue(s) with each other about the game. Umpiring decisions, player supporter behaviour etc. Under the circumstances, transparency and open dialogue I believe is the best way forward.
Regards
devil's advocte
17 Aug 2007, 11:56
J&B
I was just looking at your website just now and saw a new article about premierships. Just goes to show Mont back in the 70's did what heidelberg are doing today as what Northcote Park did in the late 90's. I guess the premiership is just a cycle after all
Kickass
17 Aug 2007, 14:42
Perhaps an umpire in question and a club administrator from each game, using the NFL website FOR ALL TO SEE NOT COMMENT ON, can raise issue(s) with each other about the game. Umpiring decisions, player supporter behaviour etc. Under the circumstances, transparency and open dialogue I believe is the best way forward.
Regards
Boof,
your idea is good, but do you really think an Umpire or an administrator or whoever, is going to give Honest info on a forum which is accessible by all and sundry ?? I think not! - (Imagine Campbell Brown raising issue about Chris Judd - Lies, all lies)
Anyway, it would take the fun out of people posting opinions, sh*t and factually correct and incorrect statements here on the bigfooty.com forums.
THE NFL would likely censor this information in any case.
Cheers
K.A
Jewelsandbullet
17 Aug 2007, 14:50
J&B
I was just looking at your website just now and saw a new article about premierships. Just goes to show Mont back in the 70's did what heidelberg are doing today as what Northcote Park did in the late 90's. I guess the premiership is just a cycle after all
True enough. Interesting article - I think the cockroach himself did a fair bit of that research...
Mont were very close to having that mix in 2002/3 - but we missed our chance:(
The Boof
17 Aug 2007, 15:42
Boof,
your idea is good, but do you really think an Umpire or an administrator or whoever, is going to give Honest info on a forum which is accessible by all and sundry ?? I think not! - (Imagine Campbell Brown raising issue about Chris Judd - Lies, all lies)
Anyway, it would take the fun out of people posting opinions, sh*t and factually correct and incorrect statements here on the bigfooty.com forums.
THE NFL would likely censor this information in any case.
Cheers
K.A
It's just a matter of the proforma the NFL use. Not a thread like this. Definately no names. That would negate defamation issues.
Accurate information would contribute to more discussions on threads like this. For those who want can put whatever spin they want on a piece of information. Think about it.
Regards
Kickass
17 Aug 2007, 18:04
It's just a matter of the proforma the NFL use. Not a thread like this. Definately no names. That would negate defamation issues.
Accurate information would contribute to more discussions on threads like this. For those who want can put whatever spin they want on a piece of information. Think about it.
Regards
Yes Boof , I have thought about it. And again, I do agree that it would be a great idea except I have reservations as to how well it would be used and what purpose it would serve
You mention - No names to negate defamation. If the information was correct and accurate in the first place, then Defamation could never be claimed.
Defamation : noun
1. a false accusation of an offense or a malicious misrepresentation of someone's words or actions 2. an abusive attack on a person's character or good name
If you want Clarity, then People should put names to it and put in the real issues in full details effecting the NFL not simply what the NFL want to hear.
Again, any real issues brought to bear will somehow still be swept under the carpet as they have always been.
The Boof
17 Aug 2007, 19:07
KA- Keep in mind the NFL is a quasi bureaucracy. Poor mans public service so to speak. (no disrespect to guys at the NFL). As such, they don’t like to take risks. Therefore, they would not accept the potential risk of defamation action. I’m sure you, like I, can appreciate their position. Let’s face it Australia is becoming a nation of litigants like the Americans. You know what I mean. “Poor me, the world owes me a living.”
Certainly the umpire or administrator should put their name to the comment and provide his or her view on the game, day and issues but not mention any names.
In relation to anyone from the NFL engaging in ‘damage control strategies’ I believe they would do so at their own peril as word would get around and the delegates would sought it.
Or when all else fails bring in the good boys from Heidelberg who don't mind putting their money where their mouth is. Haven't heard anyone yet thank Heidelberg for indirectly contributing to a certain administrator soon to be, as Chopper would say, "another bare bum in the shower".
Regards
SCARFACE
17 Aug 2007, 19:13
Well Cole it seems you know your footy but Blair Harvey was named captain in his third year so its probably not a bad club decision after all. I think at the time Heidelberg named Stinger captain there was'nt many young up and comers at the club and he was the obvious choice what a choice they made he looks like captaining his third flag. I don't think that Heidelberg would be as sucessful now if he was'nt there. The bloke goes there to train 5 to 6 days a week and if one of the boys needs a bit of extra training he helps and pushes them until they either drop off or need a rest he is arguabley the most fitest bloke in the comp. I don't really agree with the way Heidelberg is run either but they have'nt had juniors for a long time and to keep the club a live its one of the ways you could go about it. From what i have been told this year is the first year that the players have been a little selfish and un social but with the money flying around that will always happen as most of the blokes that only play for the money have familys and find it hard to get away. Eltham will come good soon cole if they can hold on to the kids. You probably would already have a couple of d 1 flags if you could have kept all the kids that have come thru the juniors and ended up at other clubs.
Get out of stingas ar$e big fella
The Boof
17 Aug 2007, 19:45
Bit harsh Facial, bit harsh. Not sure what Stinga would think of that after all he's a little fella.
Regards
The Boof
18 Aug 2007, 10:46
Creek
Epping
Heid
Mont
Eltham
Regards
Samuri Pizza Cat
18 Aug 2007, 19:35
get out of buzz' arse woody
TIGER ROCKET
18 Aug 2007, 21:19
saw nth and monty today.obviously monty don't want to play finals after what i saw.very ordinary knowing a win would all but secure a finals birth.
any chance of manning jarrod king up today?
Cole Trickle
18 Aug 2007, 21:46
saw nth and monty today.obviously monty don't want to play finals after what i saw.very ordinary knowing a win would all but secure a finals birth.
any chance of manning jarrod king up today?I think everyone knows mont are chokers. They can foget about finals footy cause even if they do make it which is highly unlikely they will be beaten by ten + goals in the first semi. The mighty panthers tryed hard again but just need some big strong targets around. I hope we can find a couple over the next couple of months and we'll have a really strong out fit next year. Jarrod King gee he causes greif for every side i think come finals Bundoora and Heidelberg will put very strong tags on him. Chopsewie i know your mates with Blair Harvey and i was'nt knocking him i was just stating that it must not be much of a club if they do that sort of thing. Does anyone know the bundoora diamo result.
The_KID
18 Aug 2007, 22:20
diamo won......... the twos and nineteens lol
seniors: bundy won by 70 points. Looked good. very sharp foot skills
RiverRat
18 Aug 2007, 23:15
I think everyone knows mont are chokers. They can foget about finals footy cause even if they do make it which is highly unlikely they will be beaten by ten + goals in the first semi. The mighty panthers tryed hard again but just need some big strong targets around. I hope we can find a couple over the next couple of months and we'll have a really strong out fit next year. Jarrod King gee he causes greif for every side i think come finals Bundoora and Heidelberg will put very strong tags on him. Chopsewie i know your mates with Blair Harvey and i was'nt knocking him i was just stating that it must not be much of a club if they do that sort of thing. Does anyone know the bundoora diamo result.
So you are knocking 130 years of history?? Carlton arent much of a club either under your theory then for naming Kernahan as captain in his second year & I'm sure there are hundreds of other examples. Blair is a born leader and probably the fittest bloke running around in the comp.
Cole Trickle
18 Aug 2007, 23:21
So you are knocking 130 years of history?? Carlton arent much of a club either under your theory then for naming Kernahan as captain in his second year & I'm sure there are hundreds of other examples. Blair is a born leader and probably the fittest bloke running around in the comp.Kernahan was'nt playing for another club the year before. Its past your bed time ni ni. No more talk about this its getting a bit old now.
RiverRat
18 Aug 2007, 23:29
Kernahan was'nt playing for another club the year before. Its past your bed time ni ni. No more talk about this its getting a bit old now.
Speaking of old I recall you saying "Heidelberg are slow and old" did you see today's game champ? Goodnight by the way.
TIGER ROCKET
18 Aug 2007, 23:36
Speaking of old I recall you saying "Heidelberg are slow and old" did you see today's game champ? Goodnight by the way.
all i know is heidelberg are going to be very very hard to beat but i think i can give myself the captain obvious award for that.
they are a good side but one can only hope 2005 repeats itself
Cole Trickle
19 Aug 2007, 10:25
Speaking of old I recall you saying "Heidelberg are slow and old" did you see today's game champ? Goodnight by the way.I'm praying nth or bundy knock you cocky bastar ds off don't get to excited you beat a side today that are rebuilding and hopefully will knock you guys off next year. River Rat looking at all your posts you don't have a real understanding of the game do you are you the big fella that works in the canteen?
Bruce Almighty
19 Aug 2007, 10:49
Depth is the key at this time of the year.Did Howsey get reported and one big fella do a shoulder at Bundoora.If true this will strain the Bunnies as they are already strugling for depth.
Can someone do the figures on Northcote park on what they have to win by to get there % over Mont Because Mont will not win another game having Bund and Heid.Northcote cold possibly get there having Eltham and Greens to go.
Cole give me clue who you are.
A Living God
19 Aug 2007, 11:04
Depth is the key at this time of the year.Did Howsey get reported and one big fella do a shoulder at Bundoora.If true this will strain the Bunnies as they are already strugling for depth.
Can someone do the figures on Northcote park on what they have to win by to get there % over Mont Because Mont will not win another game having Bund and Heid.Northcote cold possibly get there having Eltham and Greens to go.
Cole give me clue who you are.
If Northcote win Both and Monty lose both, Northcote will make it.
If Northcote loses one:
Monty get beaten a toal 20 goals in the two games and Nortchote beat one of the teams by 40 point and loses the other game by a point, Monty will play finals.
If Monty's losing score is greater than 20 goals or Northcote wins by more then 8 goals, northcote will play finals.
If Monty win one:
If monty wins by 10 point and loses 10 goals and Northcote wins both by a total of 100 points, Monty will make it.
If Monty's losing score is greater than 10 goals or Northcote wins both with a total margin greater than then 100 points, Northcote will play finals.
Bruce Almighty
19 Aug 2007, 11:19
If Northcote win Both and Monty lose both, Northcote will make it.
If Monty win one or Northcote loses one:
Monty get beaten a toal 20 goals in the two games and Nortchote beat one of the teams by 40 point and loses the other game by a point, Monty will play finals.
If Monty's losing score is greater than 20 goals or Northcote wins by more then 8 goals, northcote will play finals.
Having just played greens and eltham I think Northcote can win both.They have some old wise players at northcote whereas Greens and Eltham have some great young players but are a few years away yet.Montmerency have appointed there coach for another 2 years .This seems a bit premature considering there ordinary year.There must be some trouble developing down there.Thanks for the stats.:thumbsu:
FlyTheFlag
19 Aug 2007, 12:58
[quote=Bruce Almighty;8451446]Depth is the key at this time of the year.Did Howsey get reported and one big fella do a shoulder at Bundoora.If true this will strain the Bunnies as they are already strugling for depth.
Howse did get reported in the second quarter...... Nothing really in it compared to the punches thrown in other dust ups.....
Harrison left the ground with a shoulder injury which didnt look to good.....
Bruce you are correct with the lack of depth at Bundoora..... The twos had a couple of handy blokes but one got reported and should get weeks... At one stage it was i think 16 v 16 in the 2's game..... Lots of old blokes running around helping diamo and bun out.....
Can't believe that heid v borough game was a draw in the 2's.......
A Living God
19 Aug 2007, 14:34
Having just played greens and eltham I think Northcote can win both.They have some old wise players at northcote whereas Greens and Eltham have some great young players but are a few years away yet.Montmerency have appointed there coach for another 2 years .This seems a bit premature considering there ordinary year.There must be some trouble developing down there.Thanks for the stats.:thumbsu:
I think Greensy will be a better chance than Eltham due to actually having a Home ground and hence a home ground advantage.
The Boof
19 Aug 2007, 15:06
Viewed the video highlights of the Heidelberg / Greensborough game. The video highlights indicate 4.4.28 to 25.26.182 however the NFL website results indicate 4.4.28 to 25.27.177. See for yourself @ http://www.heidelbergfc.com.au (http://www.heidelbergfc.com.au/)
1. What was the actual score?
2. How does Heidelberg get the video highlights up so quickly?
Regards
A Living God
19 Aug 2007, 15:32
Viewed the video highlights of the Heidelberg / Greensborough game. The video highlights indicate 4.4.28 to 25.26.182 however the NFL website results indicate 4.4.28 to 25.27.177. See for yourself @ http://www.heidelbergfc.com.au (http://www.heidelbergfc.com.au/)
Regards
25.26 is 176 not 182, so I guess the NFL is right.
Regards
I'm pretty sure it was 25.27 177 at the end of the game.
Regards
Boof, is it true you have absolutely nothing to do with Heidelberg?
Secondly, it isn't hard there is a thing called youtube these days.
RiverRat
19 Aug 2007, 17:15
I'm praying nth or bundy knock you cocky bastar ds off don't get to excited you beat a side today that are rebuilding and hopefully will knock you guys off next year. River Rat looking at all your posts you don't have a real understanding of the game do you are you the big fella that works in the canteen?
Yeah I know **** all but that doesn't mean I can't get on here and talk shit. And why the need to make personal attacks about my weight just cause I replied to your flawed theory. The canteen keeps the club going.
The Boof
19 Aug 2007, 17:29
Boof, is it true you have absolutely nothing to do with Heidelberg?
Secondly, it isn't hard there is a thing called youtube these days.
Just try to pluck a thistle and plant a flower wherever the flower would grow in thought and mind.
Regards
Cole Trickle
19 Aug 2007, 19:17
Cole give me clue who you are.I am just a supporter down at the panthers i met you years ago on a job in nth melbourne where i was laying the bricks and you were doing the carpentry. I have just kept an eye on your career since as you were only about 25 26 at the time. You would'nt remember me but next time we play you ill come and introduce myself.
The Boof
19 Aug 2007, 20:06
I am just a supporter down at the panthers i met you years ago on a job in nth melbourne where i was laying the bricks and you were doing the carpentry. I have just kept an eye on your career since as you were only about 25 26 at the time. You would'nt remember me but next time we play you ill come and introduce myself.
TRICKLE – If you think you’re getting into the club and celebrating with us on GF day for FREE just because you know Bruce, forget it. Not after what you’ve said. A big MAYBE, if you put a thousand over the bar and apologise to the canteen staff. ;)
Regards
Cole Trickle
20 Aug 2007, 00:29
TRICKLE – If you think you’re getting into the club and celebrating with us on GF day for FREE just because you know Bruce, forget it. Not after what you’ve said. A big MAYBE, if you put a thousand over the bar and apologise to the canteen staff. ;)
Regards Who said anything about coming down there anyway. Next time Eltham play Heid i'll introduce myself and as Bruce said anyone is welcome. Only asked if he worked in the canteen.
I Hope Greensborough Have Got Some Coin.
I Was Speaking To An Ex Afl Player On Sat Night And He Told Me He Was Haveing Meetings With Greensy And Heildelberg Next Week.
Interesting To See Who He Chooses? We Know Who Will Ofer Him More Coin! Hahahahahahahahahaha.
And Abe Williams Is A Gun And Is A Good Bloke To Boot
ernieburger 11
20 Aug 2007, 14:14
mick gay = small
inside info man
20 Aug 2007, 14:54
I Hope Greensborough Have Got Some Coin.
I Was Speaking To An Ex Afl Player On Sat Night And He Told Me He Was Haveing Meetings With Greensy And Heildelberg Next Week.
Interesting To See Who He Chooses? We Know Who Will Ofer Him More Coin! Hahahahahahahahahaha.
And Abe Williams Is A Gun And Is A Good Bloke To Boot
who was the ex-afl player you spoke to? if you don't want to name him what club did he play for?
The Boof
20 Aug 2007, 15:27
mick gay = small
Do you know something most don't? See video highlights for yourself http://www.heidelbergfc.com.au/
Regards
ifyoucandodgeawrench
20 Aug 2007, 15:46
Do you know something most don't? See video highlights for yourself http://www.heidelbergfc.com.au/
Regards
Boofman you love those highlights don't you... :thumbsu:
Kickass
20 Aug 2007, 16:17
Boofman you love those highlights don't you... :thumbsu:
Boof takes a camera with him everywhere he goes. - To work, to the footy and even to bed!! And the only highlights he ever gets on film happen to be the footy. Thank God for that :eek:
Kickass
20 Aug 2007, 16:22
Who said anything about coming down there anyway. Next time Eltham play Heid i'll introduce myself and as Bruce said anyone is welcome. Only asked if he worked in the canteen.
Trickle, please give me a clue as to who you are mate.
The only ones I currently have are:
You love the Panther :thumbsu:
You hate Heidelberg :thumbsu:
You love giving Shit to Mont, Bunnies, Norf :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
You root (lay) bricks:confused:
Mate, I have narrowed you down to Umm, 1 of about 300 likely suspects :D
Are you by any means - Action J.....n ?
cheers
K.A
sharky00
20 Aug 2007, 18:34
Bruce you big clown how are you my fine friend? Im hoping like crazy that you tools choke in the big one again this year it couldnt happen to a better bunch of sucks.. im back in Melbourne next thursday so i might even pop down so you can buy me a beer..
The Boof
20 Aug 2007, 21:45
Boof takes a camera with him everywhere he goes. - To work, to the footy and even to bed!! And the only highlights he ever gets on film happen to be the footy. Thank God for that :eek:
Don't have a camera, however, going to buy one for thursday night in the event sharky and his cuz turns up at the club.
Regards
Kickass
21 Aug 2007, 01:57
Don't have a camera, however, going to buy one for thursday night in the event sharky and his cuz turns up at the club.
Regards
LOL.
Don't leave it in the car then Boof, coz Sharky might rat it to supplement his social security benefits.
:)
ifyoucandodgeawrench
21 Aug 2007, 10:30
Bruce you big clown how are you my fine friend? Im hoping like crazy that you tools choke in the big one again this year it couldnt happen to a better bunch of sucks.. im back in Melbourne next thursday so i might even pop down so you can buy me a beer..
I sure the rest of BIG FOOTY is with me when I say.. I hope your plane crashes. :D
Boromania
21 Aug 2007, 13:32
It's been a while.......
Good to see there is still a simmering hatred of the Slime with a few regular posters- Particularly the Eltham boys finding it hard to swallow their pride after 2 losses to the Slime this year.
Greensy have a bit of coin floating around and are interviewing for a new coach so it will be interesting to see what the off season brings.......
It will be a North v Heidelberg Grand Final. From what i've seen they are the two best teams, North have skill and pace to burn however Heidelberg go one better and have skill, pace AND height to burn...
And just a point off topic it was good to see many of heidelbergs two's were in the rooms at half time of the ones and likewise at games end many of their one's made the effort. All bagging aside at least they are making the effort to socialise with opposition teams, something teams like the Datoli led bundoora are very poor at....
Then again we should never expect much from Datoli, moron coach who choked last year, half his club despise him and he's a bloke with little to no morals. Are Bundy in the market for a new coach next year, after Datoli's last two years surely they have to be...........:D
Heard a little rumour that this may be stingers last year at Heidelberg with the desire to coach perhaps leading him away?????????????
who was the ex-afl player you spoke to? if you don't want to name him what club did he play for?
HE IS STILL PLAYING AT THE MOMENT AND I DONT THINK HE HAS TOLD HIS CLUB THAT HE IS LEAVING YET SO I WILL TELL YA WHEN HIS SEASON IS OVER, WHICH COULD BE THIS WEEKEND. ASK BOROMANIA HE SHOULD KNOW AND SOMEONE FROM HEILDELBERG WOULD KNOW AS WELL?
Sleezy Rooster
21 Aug 2007, 14:01
So with two games to go in the home and away season. Who would be the top 3 or 4 leading your b&f? Any surprises this year?
For something different for those that have time.
If the northern footy league where going to have a rep side this year; Name the side postion by position..:thumbsu:
Kickass
21 Aug 2007, 14:55
If the northern footy league where going to have a rep side this year; Name the side postion by position..:thumbsu:
Its all so hard to pick a NFL Playing Rep side - So I have taken the easy option of picking a Bigfooty.com NFL Div1 thread Rep side, which I would think , would line up something like this:
The Team
B) Just Ask Samuri Pizza Cat, Tiger Rocket
HB) A Living God Phoenix 20 , Scarface
C) RiverRat Allday18 , Boromania
HF) The Kid Chopsewie , Fig9
F) Urple Liquorman ifyoucandodgeawrench
R) Kickass Cole Trickle Maybe
Int: From - Mattyr, Looker, BMW22, The Gow, Pigmy, 141397, Sleezy Rooster, Superoo 08, Hunters Host #3, Boof Head,magpie#18
Coach - Vinnyd (ha ha ha)
Football Manager - Devil's Advocte (dis how e spell!)
Runner (s) - Bruce Almighty & Jewelsandbullet
Public Relations: - The Boof
Umpires: - Whistleblower, Whistle80
Vs
The Opposition side
Sharky00 & wonderman
A Living God
21 Aug 2007, 15:04
So with two games to go in the home and away season. Who would be the top 3 or 4 leading your b&f? Any surprises this year?
For something different for those that have time.
Monty:
Andrew Owens
Tim Watson
Daniel Sage
Daniel Keenan
Jewelsandbullet
21 Aug 2007, 15:05
HF) The Kid Chopsewie , Fig9
F) Urple Liquorman ifyoucandodgeawrench
R) Kickass Cole Trickle Maybe
[
That's a handy looking forward line even away from BigFooty - Fig9 & Chopsewie across half foward - with the T-Bear playing out of the square...KA you might even get some cheap sausage rolls with the likes of them three to crumb off (that is if the T-bear doesn't eat them all himself)
Kickass
21 Aug 2007, 15:11
That's a handy looking forward line even away from BigFooty - Fig9 & Chopsewie across half foward - with the T-Bear playing out of the square...KA you might even get some cheap sausage rolls with the likes of them three to crumb off (that is if the T-bear doesn't eat them all himself)
You are right :thumbsu:,
But I'm sure the Runners instructions would be to keep the forward line open and to never get in the way of a Hungry Teddy Bear. :)
The Boof
21 Aug 2007, 15:11
I sure the rest of BIG FOOTY is with me when I say.. I hope your plane crashes. :D
Now there's a thought Dodge. Perhaps I can get my hands on the "black box" footage and give it to the video guy. He might be able to edit in some shots and interviews of Sharky's 'friends' from BF standing at the Heidelberg bar having a beer waiting for him and his cuz.
Of course, my post would read words to the effect, "Sharky's final post. Even Noble couldn't save him this time. Actions speak louder than words. See video highlights for yourself @ http://www.heidelbergfc.com.au"
Regards