View Full Version : Northern Football League Div 1 - CLOSED
The Boof
6 Sep 2007, 11:12
Whustle80- I guess I’ll have to take the path of least resistance by advising that Federal and State Legislation supersedes NFL By-Laws / AFL Rules, Policies, Codes etc.
Fortunately, when it comes to issues such as this, a players ultimate playing destiny may not necessarily be decided by certain jurisdictions.
Thank God for the Westminster system!
Regards
PS… I don’t have to come down to umpires school to learn how to be bias and/or learn how to make frivolous and vexatious complaints/reports.
whistle80
6 Sep 2007, 11:44
You are now the second person on Big Footy to claim umpires are bias. A huge statement (yet we wait for evidence to back it up). You are going to have a very long finals series as the umpire you talk about will be back in A grade finals this week along with his fellow umpires who will impliment the rules the way the NFL have given instruction to.
Anyway..... lets move on. The way Heidelberg have played this year they could miss 5 Micky Gays and still win.
The game B/W the 2 Nth's will be very interesting. How far can Northcote Park go?
ifyoucandodgeawrench
6 Sep 2007, 11:49
(yet we wait for evidence to back it up)
Exhibit A:
You are going to have a very long finals series as the umpire you talk about will be back in A grade finals this week
whistle80
6 Sep 2007, 11:52
Exhibit A:
Please exaplin. Boof thinks the report was not there. The umpire did. He will continue to report players (from any team) who breaks the rules. How is this bias?
ifyoucandodgeawrench
6 Sep 2007, 12:04
Please exaplin. Boof thinks the report was not there. The umpire did. He will continue to report players (from any team) who breaks the rules. How is this bias?
"it'll be a long finals series"...
Well no, it will only be a long finals series if you're bloke keeps dishing up shit.
Now let's move on. :rolleyes:
The Boof
6 Sep 2007, 12:08
Whisle80 – It was bias because there were other(s), Heidelberg included, who significantly contributed to the melee more so than Mick. Pleeease don’t try and argue that perhaps Mick was the only one the umpire(s) observed.
The final series may be no longer for us as it may be for any umpire who wants to walk down the path of making a frivolous and vexatious complaints/reports against one of ours. Best be cashed up to defend his or her actions. We certainly are.
Happy to agree to disagree.
Regards
fattyslim09
6 Sep 2007, 12:42
Boof, Whistle let it go!!!!
Finals, thoughts???
Whistle80 -
… He was on the bench. He should not get involved in any part of a fight. As you said.....3 steps.
A. Disagree. Not enough room here to put up valid argument. However, there are precedents in a higher Court/Tribunal in relation to that.
If an umpire deams that it would be better to get the game going and give the yellow card at a later time then he may do so.
A. Speculation.
Good Communication
A. Speculation
It was never changed into a red card. Umpires can report on a yellow card and still offer the 2 weeks. I agree, the club did the right thing by not taking the 2.
A. Speculation.
A huge worry for Heidelberg is this umpire you speak of could end up doing the Div 1 GF so I hope he has his facts right.
A. More so for the umpire I would think.
… all I am saying is if he was on the bench and was involved in a flight (while a benched player) he needs to be reported. Every umpire in the NFL would have done the same thing. …
A. Speculation
Regards
the ins and outs of nfl tirbunal laws
no one cares
two blokes who wanna have an intellect contest on a public forum that is used as a waste of time for me at uni
no one cares
you can change the colour of the font to prove your point.
no one cares
talking tripe about football
people care.
observe.
go creek in 08
Regards
the kid
The Boof
6 Sep 2007, 12:53
Finals, thoughts???
Alright brother. The boys have been saying all year that this is probably going to be one of the closest finals for years. At this point in time I tend to agree.
One would think NP to beat North, however, when North played us to their credit they kept going and going and going. Never gave up.
Bunnies. Well, they have the memory of last year to motivated by.
One things for sure though it's going to be a great final series.
Who's your club?
Regards
The Boof
6 Sep 2007, 13:08
[quote=The_KID;8659277]the ins and outs of nfl tirbunal laws
Settle Kid, settle otherwise I’ll have to get the Sheriff to have words with ya regarding relevant rules, codes etc of gatekeeping.
Regards
Alter Ego
6 Sep 2007, 13:21
Finals, thoughts???
Apologies for starting the rabid banter in the first place.
With regards to finals, suspect the Cougars could be the dark horse - should have beaten H'Berg at Westgarth St but couldn't close out the game due to poor conversion. They have a good mix of lively colts and old heads and are well drilled by Whitty. North have stumbled slightly in the run home but as in 2005 can never de discounted.
The Tigers v Bunnies should be a cracker regardless of any injury/suspension issues (Howse still one to serve ?). Get there early enjoy the best that local football can showcase. Also pleasing to know that this year gate proceeds will actually end up in the league's pockets.
The Boof
6 Sep 2007, 13:33
[quote=Alter Ego;8659597]With regards to finals, suspect the Cougars could be the dark horse
Yep definately, for mine NP the dark horse.
Regards
Jewelsandbullet
6 Sep 2007, 14:46
One would think NP to beat North, however, when North played us to their credit they kept going and going and going. Never gave up.
Regards
I'm interested to learn: what are people basing it on that NP will account for Norf?
NP have not beaten a side in the four all year.
In fact they have been fairly pumped every time they played a top 4 side:
Lost to Norf by 64 then 37
H'Berg 49 then 29
Bulls 89 then 66
If you add to that Mont who beat them by 31 then 18 - I think it shows they have been good against the weaker sides - but can not stand up to the other top 3.
Norf will smash them (I think)
Jewelsandbullet
6 Sep 2007, 14:50
With regards to finals, suspect the Cougars could be the dark horse - should have beaten H'Berg at Westgarth St but couldn't close out the game due to poor conversion. They have a good mix of lively colts and old heads and are well drilled by Whitty.
Apologies Alter - I posted my question about the Cougars before I read this... but I still think the bulldogs will smash them...
Alter Ego
6 Sep 2007, 15:02
No probs J & B.
Pity the Para Rd Magpies aren't in the mix.
Would liked to have seen "Woolly Watson" in full flight at Cramer St.
Jewelsandbullet
6 Sep 2007, 15:08
No probs J & B.
Pity the Para Rd Magpies aren't in the mix.
Would liked to have seen "Woolly Watson" in full flight at Cramer St.
yes well - in the end we probably didn't deserve it.
Wool was great on the w/end wasn't he - him rolling his ankle in the third was probably a key factor in not holding on.
Alter Ego
6 Sep 2007, 16:08
Hope he decides to go round again only next pre season tell him to stay away from the beer and pie diet he adhered to last summer.
yes well - in the end we probably didn't deserve it.
Wool was great on the w/end wasn't he - him rolling his ankle in the third was probably a key factor in not holding on.
J & B , when you find out during the off season, unless you know now, please tell me that Monty will be securing the talent of one D.Ciavola again. Also is Frosty not able to pull the boots on again? Those two and Watto in the guts would be a formidable on ball division.
I did hear, and assume it correct, that Heff gave Bergs the heads up on chasing Dee. I'd rather see him in the black'n'white than yellow'n'black. Now that's someone i wouldn't mind seeing in full flyght at Cramer St.
I may be late on this news, i am not sure. I was told today that Jazzy has died. If this is true, does anyone know when, and how?
And more importantly, did she groom an understudy?
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/statusicon/user_online.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/report.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/report.php?p=8663631) http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/misc/progress.gif
I may be late on this news, i am not sure. I was told today that Jazzy has died. If this is true, does anyone know when, and how?
And more importantly, did she groom an understudy?
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/statusicon/user_online.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/report.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/report.php?p=8663631) http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/misc/progress.gif
jazzy as in jazzy o?
Hilarious half time speech in local seniors footy. Dunno what club it is, but its gold.
Lwq5cMFPkK8
http://http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lwq5cMFPkK8[/quote]
While he is playing dot to dot with himself, does Phil dream up such inspirational speehes as this one to get the Bergs over the line?
Cole Trickle
6 Sep 2007, 22:36
Hilarious half time speech in local seniors footy. Dunno what club it is, but its gold.
Lwq5cMFPkK8
http://http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lwq5cMFPkK8
While he is playing dot to dot with himself, does Phil dream up such inspirational speehes as this one to get the Bergs over the line?[/quote]
What a pearler. I wish someone had of taped Grant Wilmont talk he would have left that geiser for dead.
While he is playing dot to dot with himself, does Phil dream up such inspirational speehes as this one to get the Bergs over the line?
What a pearler. I wish someone had of taped Grant Wilmont talk he would have left that geiser for dead.[/quote]
Overated Ra Ra, How did they go I wonder? Win the game on this occasion, competitive for the 1st 3 minutes then pumped. Win 2 games for the year. He didn't appear the most tactical coach on the planet. No doubt there is a place for Ra Ra but I reckon talent, rehearsals (training) and game plan are by far the most important ingredients to success. The modern player who is immersed in the AFL through Tv, Radio (SEN) and the papers expects a degree of professionalism be brought to the table from there coach. Whats your coach like? Ra Ra Coach, Tactical or tripper coach? Then there's the coach that has the big budget and could be skiing at Mt Buller whilst his team was playing and the team would still win - the promised land - retirement.
Always interesting discussion.
The Boof
7 Sep 2007, 09:15
Get with the program boys. It's a standard pre game motivational video thats been around for years. Recommed it's use to attract potential sponsors! For those of you who want to witness how effective it can be watch the Seniors and Reserves totally dominate their opponents on Sunday.
Regards
PS... KA - I want that bloke signed-up by the end of the season.
fattyslim09
7 Sep 2007, 09:16
Lwq5cMFPkK8
http://http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lwq5cMFPkK8
While he is playing dot to dot with himself, does Phil dream up such inspirational speehes as this one to get the Bergs over the line?[/quote]
I find it interesting that so many people bag Phil Plunkett, he might have some serious depth but individuals never won f*ck all, Plunks has developed that team and Heidelberg's team spirit to new levels.
A champion team will always beat a team of champions, fair enough there are alot of good individuals on the bergers team but there are almost double that number who are willing to put their head over the ball and do the 1% for their team mates. Was watching the video highlights (boof) on the website and even though it seems the bergers always waltz away with the ball, take a look in the background at whats going on behind the play, they protect each other like no one else.
They seem to be a great bunch of blokes and although they appear arrogent, I don't think they are, just sumpremely confident in themselves as a team and as individuals.
Plunks, from what I have heard from different quarters has a lot to do with that, he is not the ra ra coach and probably never will be, but I have listened to a couple of speechs and he commands attention when he speaks, the players seem to be fully focussed on what he is saying. there are a few out there though who don't rate him, all I can say is please explain?
Boof, not affliated to any club, get down and watch the bergers whenever i can, not as often as I would like though.
The Boof
7 Sep 2007, 10:44
[quote=fattyslim09;8669710]
I believe Plunks has a similar temperament to Hunts. Perhaps that’s why the transition from last year to this regarding coach(s) to player(s) relationships is so effective across the board.
No excuses. I expect a significant contribution from you starting with a thousand over the bar for the players come GF night.
Regards
Alter Ego
7 Sep 2007, 10:52
Plunks has done a fair job given he was second choice when the R Hyde/EFL package fell over. Whilst he has some impressive cattle there are the standard player/ego management issues that occur.
Hard judges would suggest that anything less than a flag would be deemed a failure.
The Boof
7 Sep 2007, 11:07
Plunks has done a fair job given he was second choice when the R Hyde/EFL package fell over. Whilst he has some impressive cattle there are the standard player/ego management issues that occur.
Hard judges would suggest that anything less than a flag would be deemed a failure.
AE - Whilst I agree somewhat in principle I lean towards evaluating success on not how many flags a club wins but longevity. Remaining competitive over a long period of time. And that, as I’ve said in the past can only happen when a club, like Heidelberg, has a ‘winning culture mentality’ win lose or draw.
Regards
can someone confirm or deny the stripper death rumour? a mate of a mate may be interested in what she passed away from, and if it is contagious. lol.
Alter Ego
7 Sep 2007, 11:27
Boof
Agree wholeheartedly however longevity can be as elusive as the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. There has been plenty of discussion on this thread re the "boom and bust" cycles of the past (Creek, Lalor, Northcote Park et al) and they will always occur however, as we know, the trick is to sustain excellence over time. Traditionally Bundoora and North Heid have been perennial contenders, largely based on a solid junior foundation. If we look at benchmarks in other leagues (Vermont immediately springs to mind) they have similar structures.
Heidelberg definitely have a winning mentality no better illustrated by their rousing victory last week and are making strong inroads into re building their junior structure. The future looks bright but blink and you are back with the pack.
The Boof
7 Sep 2007, 12:12
can someone confirm or deny the stripper death rumour? a mate of a mate may be interested in what she passed away from, and if it is contagious. lol.
KID – I suspect you’re actually the 'mate of a mate'. Assuming this is the case I hope you weren’t engaging in unprotected activities while dancing with the devil in the deep blue sea. Tell me you didn’t kiss her on the lips as you delivered your manhood into the pearl of great pri$e. If so, best not drink out of GF cup with boys if and when the opportunity presents.
You’re a naughty, naughty little boy!
Regards
Get with the program boys. It's a standard pre game motivational video thats been around for years. Recommed it's use to attract potential sponsors! For those of you who want to witness how effective it can be watch the Seniors and Reserves totally dominate their opponents on Sunday.
Regards
PS... KA - I want that bloke signed-up by the end of the season.
No worrie Boof.
At great expense I have tracked said coach down.
He will cost us a pretty penny though as we have to relocate him from UK (this was filmed as he was coaching in the London League - hence the heavy investment by sponsors CUB/VB).
We should have on board (or in our case on-line) by early November in time for the Bigfooty.com preseason.
Cheers
K.A
P.S - When I offered him the job, he gave me a simple stare before retorted. Go a **** Yourself, You Mother ****ing, **** Sucking, Cretin. and then said I would love to coach you **** Suckers! :p
Apparently her last know whereabouts was having been seen hoping into a car with the Sherrif!
:eek:
The Boof
7 Sep 2007, 17:32
KA - Excellant job. I was thinking along the lines of getting him to also coach the under 10. If nothing else, they'll learn effective communication skills and that playing footy in the Valley is not for the faint hearted. Bless their little hearts.
Regards
footy luver
7 Sep 2007, 18:21
Apologies for starting the rabid banter in the first place.
With regards to finals, suspect the Cougars could be the dark horse - should have beaten H'Berg at Westgarth St but couldn't close out the game due to poor conversion. They have a good mix of lively colts and old heads and are well drilled by Whitty. North have stumbled slightly in the run home but as in 2005 can never de discounted.
The Tigers v Bunnies should be a cracker regardless of any injury/suspension issues (Howse still one to serve ?). Get there early enjoy the best that local football can showcase. Also pleasing to know that this year gate proceeds will actually end up in the league's pockets.
i wonder if the sherriff will be on the gate this weekend at cramer st. at least he doesnt have to sling floydy anymore....oh how many$$$$$$$$ were embezzled
Samuri Pizza Cat
7 Sep 2007, 22:41
Word around the streets is that...
* Mick gay has injured himself once again (left tricep)
* Blair has a strained hairline (out 1-2 weeks)
* Dean sheriff will make a show for the Bulls after kicking 1.4 in the mcgoos last week
* Harrison cannot attend the game because he supporting long time fried Matt Seiter (goof) bid to become australias next Top model
*Matt Seiter (goof) cannot attend due to a modelling contract
Samuri Pizza Cat
7 Sep 2007, 23:54
* Dean sheriff will make a show for the Bulls after kicking 1.4 in the mcgoos last week
* Harrison cannot attend the game because he supporting long time fried Matt Seiter (goof) bid to become australias next Top model
nice to see big goof make his first apperence on big footy, congratulations big fella, dont go making me look like a clown otherwise i can **** you up in weeks to come! haha remember i have a whole heap of photos from your 2nd trip to thiland. Especially the one's with you, monkey and the lady boys in your hotel room
The Boof
8 Sep 2007, 20:17
SPC - Ya had me worried until you mentioned Goof and the modelling contract!
J&B - NP dissapointing. Competed first half of the third only. You were spot on.
Regards
Cole Trickle
9 Sep 2007, 20:11
Went down to cramer st today Heidelberg to good. I think Heidelberg are the real deal Bundoora have 'nt got the cattle to beat them. Nth on the other hand might be able to run them off there legs not a real running side and nth clearly are. Should be a corker this week Nth and Bundoora match up well i think the bunnies in a tight match 3 to 5 points.
i think they done pretty well actually, and believe they can beat hiedelberg i think they lack alot of structure when piggot is not playing he is a big presence and makes their foward line structure alot better.
the bulls should get over north with not much of a problem then back for the rematch against the bergers again. good game off footy though!
The Boof
9 Sep 2007, 20:51
i think they done pretty well actually, and believe they can beat hiedelberg i think they lack alot of structure when piggot is not playing he is a big presence and makes their foward line structure alot better.
the bulls should get over north with not much of a problem then back for the rematch against the bergers again. good game off footy though!
mattry - During the first, with the wind, Bulls should have put more score on the Bergers. Bulls had to play catch-up footy from then on. Not a good position to be in when playing this particular Heidelberg team. However, the boys should account for North next week provided injuries are not a concern.
Regards
tradebate6
9 Sep 2007, 20:52
Northcote park very dissapointing on sat, didn't even try in the first half, they were about 80 points down halfway through the second quarter. Showed a bit in the end, but no where near competitive enough for finals footy. Didn't get to see the game today, but got to see our 2's against heidleberg. Fairly competitive but heidleberg's in accuracy kept us in it. Should be an interesting final when we make it.
party boy
9 Sep 2007, 22:19
Yes very much agree. Northcote park were s@#$. West smashed North H last week in all areas. Its just really disappointing that they make forth spot and put in an effort like that. If they didint want to have a crack give forth spot to someone that was going too!!
The Boof
9 Sep 2007, 22:56
KA - Impressed with u19 today. Got there late in the second. To see the boys keep their composure after that unsavoury incident and go on to win easily is a credit. Can they go all the way?
Regarding this Vas guy. Any video highlights?
Regards
chopsewie
9 Sep 2007, 23:06
Well I thought bundoora looked pretty good as the boof said just did'nt use the wind in the first quater. I think Bundoora could walk away from today with a bit of confidence of matching it with Heidelberg in the big one. No 18 for bundoora was a real stand out for mine and if Nolan goes back to chb and stands him i think he'll show nolan up as we know Nolan reads the play but if bundoora use him it could be the difference. Hall well it seems if the ball does'nt come in lace out he hardly gives a contest. I think from the opportunitys he gets playing in that side he is under acheiving and as ive said before i question his ability to fire in the big games. The man of the moment at Heidelberg is Mark Favrin with his six goals he was the difference today every goal he kicked he worked his ar$e off and made something out of nothing just a beautiful kick of the footy. Murphy just a class above and sets them up well. Next week bundoora are getting a few back in Howse and Piggot and as Me little mate Matty r said another target in the forward line is going to be a real concern for nth and Heidelberg. I think its a worry that Heidelberg are yet to lose because they are beatable and as history shows anything can happen in a GRANDFINAL.
Samuri Pizza Cat
9 Sep 2007, 23:59
todays game really showed that bundoora can beat heidelberg when they play their own game as they did in the 3rd qtr. Only 2 goals down at 3/4 time and with most playing like shit i supposed can be looked at as a positive. heidelberg are a class team and have too many classy ballwinners. Bundoora cant blanket all of these blokes and i reckon they were to pre occupied worrying about tagging these blokes for large chunks of the game.
However Bundoora have a massive challenge next week against the dogs. Im pretty sure most involved at the club would agree more then 3/4 of the 22 today were well down on how they would have expected to play. The beauty of finishing 2nd is the double chance and the chance to redeem themselves next week.
Kickass
10 Sep 2007, 00:36
KA - Impressed with u19 today. Got there late in the second. To see the boys keep their composure after that unsavoury incident and go on to win easily is a credit. Can they go all the way?
Regarding this Vas guy. Any video highlights?
Regards
G'day Boof,
Yes the Panther Kids were nothing short of sensational.
No where near as big or for that matter as talented as Bundoora, but showed massive ticker and desire for the ball.
I can't say they are dead certs for the flag, but they will give any team a run for their money.
No Highlights of the Vas just yet. Perhaps he might appear soon on Youporn.com. :eek:
Cheers
K.A
fattyslim09
10 Sep 2007, 08:46
Heidelberg were only tested for about 15 mins cumulatively either side of 3quarter time. The rest of the time they seemed to be cruising without playing particularly good football.
Will there be room for the 3 6 foot 5ers to come back into the team, noticed that the 3 of them were up in the stats room yesterday. Big Goof, Deano and Irish might struggle to get back into a team that didn't do a whole lot wrong yesterday, have been told that they are assurred of their spot but I for one am unconvinced.
Any thoughts?
trilogy_1
10 Sep 2007, 09:16
G'Day Kickass,
I was at the ground yesterday, had a pretty good view of the incident during the 19's.
How is the young lad that copped the blow.
Will he be OK to play next week?:thumbsu:
The Boof
10 Sep 2007, 10:16
Any thoughts?
Fatty – Who is going to play in the GF (Seniors & Reserves) for mine would not be entirely easy decision(s). It goes without saying the selectors will put who they believe to be the best teams(s) on the park on the day.
The nature of footy dictates that everyone is an expert (coach, selector, ruckman, umpire etc) but at the end of day decision(s) will be made that may not be congruent with the experts. It’s how the experts behave, win or lose, which can ultimately have a negative impact on the Club as a whole that I take issue with.
Trust the selectors! Have faith in the players! Support the umpires (that one’s for you Whistle80).
Regards
Bruce Almighty
10 Sep 2007, 10:30
I think its great that everyone thinks North and Bundoora are a chance and S*itcan Heidelberg for coasting along.Someone said that they they are the real deal.Thats a pretty good observation.They have beaten Bundoora twice now by 10 goals and gave North a belting by 13 goals.What planet is everyone on.This is not being biased but an observation after watching all year tells me that Heidelberg would have to have the worst day ever to drop the last.Bundoora will not win next week as they have lost a few players and have some very tired boys.North will get in but havent got the players to match Heidelberg .Chops even you could not take marks when the ball is coming in at 100 mile an hour with the wind behind it.You should be concentrating on your GF this week.:D
Alter Ego
10 Sep 2007, 10:37
Keeping a low profile after Whitty's Cougars pulled the coat on me. Still I had a 50% strike rate with Heidelberg & Collingwood winning (Northcote Park & Wangaratta going down).
Couldn't make the game yesterday due to family commitments but would be interested in appraisals of Chris Hall's contribution (or lack of according to Chops).
Just to note I tried to follow the game on Plenty Valley FM but I wasn't quite sure what game the two commentators "Bill & Ben The Flowerpot Men" were watching or what language they were speaking.
Kickass
10 Sep 2007, 11:17
G'Day Kickass,
I was at the ground yesterday, had a pretty good view of the incident during the 19's.
How is the young lad that copped the blow.
Will he be OK to play next week?:thumbsu:
Hey Tril :thumbsu:
I can't speak with too much authority on his current condition, but I do believe he was up and raring to have another crack at Bundoora not long after the "incident".
He is a pretty tough Kid and he loves his Footy and as such, I would think it would take quite a bit to stop him from wanting to play in nexts week's prelim.
I also saw the incident fairly closely and heard much feedback from supporters of both sides participating as well as others (h'berg / WP ) , with many suggesting they have not seen anything like it for many years. The initial contact was quite ugly and something that you do not want to see repeated in the new NFL or any league for that matter.
I would suggest that it will get plenty of airtime at the tribunal and would expect that the alledged Offender will get a fairly lengthy holiday from Footy.
This aside, ! was very proud of how the young Pride of Panthers acquitted theirselves both during and after this event.
Cheers
K.A
The Boof
10 Sep 2007, 11:34
[quote=Kickass;8707614]The initial contact was quite ugly and something that you do not want to see repeated in the new NFL or any league for that matter.
KA - Was it an elbow or a fist? I heard the impact, however, my line of sight prevented me from seeing the point of contact clearly.
While I'm not entertaining the thought of offering-up a defence, can you or someone else provide me with the framework of the charge? Interested.
Regards
Kickass
10 Sep 2007, 11:44
[quote=Kickass;8707614]The initial contact was quite ugly and something that you do not want to see repeated in the new NFL or any league for that matter.
KA - Was it an elbow or a fist? I heard the impact, however, my line of sight prevented me from seeing the point of contact clearly.
While I'm not entertaining the thought of offering-up a defence, can you or someone else provide me with the framework of the charge? Interested.
Regards
Thanks for you interest mate, but I think it be best that I stay clear of this one in as far as I have not directly seen what the framework of charge/s is. I do believe more than 1 umpire reported it although i'm not sure whether it was captured on video. If it was, no defence will get alledged offender off, not even one that you dear Boof could script.
I could tell you exactly what happened, how far off the ball it occurred, how unnecessary it was , how stupid it was, and what I think should be a just penalty for it. But I'd much prefer we let the due process be followed and I have faith in the system to sort it all out.
Cheers
K.A
Alter Ego
10 Sep 2007, 12:05
Well I thought bundoora looked pretty good as the boof said just did'nt use the wind in the first quater. I think Bundoora could walk away from today with a bit of confidence of matching it with Heidelberg in the big one. No 18 for bundoora was a real stand out for mine and if Nolan goes back to chb and stands him i think he'll show nolan up as we know Nolan reads the play but if bundoora use him it could be the difference. Hall well it seems if the ball does'nt come in lace out he hardly gives a contest. I think from the opportunitys he gets playing in that side he is under acheiving and as ive said before i question his ability to fire in the big games. The man of the moment at Heidelberg is Mark Favrin with his six goals he was the difference today every goal he kicked he worked his ar$e off and made something out of nothing just a beautiful kick of the footy. Murphy just a class above and sets them up well. Next week bundoora are getting a few back in Howse and Piggot and as Me little mate Matty r said another target in the forward line is going to be a real concern for nth and Heidelberg. I think its a worry that Heidelberg are yet to lose because they are beatable and as history shows anything can happen in a GRANDFINAL.
Didn't see your name in the Colts goalkickers from the weekend's Prelim Chops - mail is an ankle injury might have hindered your accuracy or are you just trying to lull the Spotty boys into a false sense of security for the big one ?
The Boof
10 Sep 2007, 12:06
[quote=Kickass;8707984][quote=The Boof;8707827]I could tell you exactly what happened, how far off the ball it occurred, how unnecessary it was , how stupid it was, and what I think should be a just penalty for it. But I'd much prefer we let the due process be followed and I have faith in the system to sort it all out.
I appreciate your position.
Regards
trilogy_1
10 Sep 2007, 12:17
KA,
Whilst I have no affiliation with either club, I believe that it was not as a lot of Bulls supporters suggest a shoulder that made contact. The blow definatly came from another part of the Bulls players body. It was a sickening sight. I also believe that the Tribunal should deal with this matter in the appropriate manner, with the appropriate penalty being handed down. There was a camera oprating at the time, but dont know who the camera person was, he was there all day.
One would hope that this type of incident does not appear again in the new Football league.:thumbsu:
Kickass
10 Sep 2007, 12:33
KA,
Whilst I have no affiliation with either club, I believe that it was not as a lot of Bulls supporters suggest a shoulder that made contact. The blow definatly came from another part of the Bulls players body. It was a sickening sight. :thumbsu:
Confirm same - Definately not Shoulder !
Obviously the Bundoora Bulls-Hite will have their own propaganda and opinions. Those who think or say it came from a shoulder are either delirious, are putting up a front or did not actiually see the incident correctly.
I have absolutely no doubt in my mind what happened and what its intention was. Lets leave it at that!
trilogy_1
10 Sep 2007, 12:43
Good idea KA
devil's advocte
10 Sep 2007, 13:00
Sad to hear KA, I hope the kid is ok. But surely he will have to miss this week on medical grounds alone. And if he does play, doesn't that make a mockery of any investigation by the league?
My mail is there was also an incident on the saturday in the reserves that the league isnt happy about, nor for that matter Mont either. Mont player taken away in ambulance when they are 10 goals up and well into last quarter. Boro have no chance of winning so go the snipe/king hit.
In both incidents it is the leagues chance to show some muscle about finals and making sure they send a clear message to the remaining clubs for the rest of the finals series. f*#k up and you have a very long holiday
MACCACROWS
10 Sep 2007, 13:25
I was watching the under 19's game and i believe that bloke that copped a hit/bump is around 16/17. i didnt actually see the hit so i cant say much about it. i beleive the kid came back on about half an hour later but im not 100% of what injuries he suffered...
The Boof
10 Sep 2007, 13:26
Sad to hear KA, I hope the kid is ok. But surely he will have to miss this week on medical grounds alone. And if he does play, doesn't that make a mockery of any investigation by the league?
In both incidents it is the leagues chance to show some muscle about finals and making sure they send a clear message to the remaining clubs for the rest of the finals series. f*#k up and you have a very long holiday
Devil - If the Kid is cleared by a medico so be it.
Lets not forget that such incidents ultimately come down to intention, recklessness and negligence. With this in mind, before an informed decision can be made regarding consequences the evidence has to be tested. Wouldn’t like to see, under the circumstances, the Tribunal actions being motivated by sending ‘a clear message’.
Regards
devil's advocte
10 Sep 2007, 13:49
Devil - If the Kid is cleared by a medico so be it.
Wouldn’t like to see, under the circumstances, the Tribunal actions being motivated by sending ‘a clear message’.
Regards
I agree that if the medico clears him then all is ok, thats not my point. For all the whinging at the bulls, if the player goes back on the ground as has been reported by someone here then it does imply the contact was not as vicious as made out. A players condition and further impact on the game is taken on board by the tribunal.
Other codes and the afl weight finals more heavily at the tribunal when it comes to punishment, and rightly so, look how other codes have cleaned up since the weighted penalties. While there will always be a player that gets white line fever no matter what the consquences or the education put out there, the league needs to send a clear message to every one, especially if it wants to remove the stench of the old dvfl tribunal that the finals need to be a showcase, not a royal rumble.
Kickass
10 Sep 2007, 14:10
I agree that if the medico clears him then all is ok, thats not my point. For all the whinging at the bulls, if the player goes back on the ground as has been reported by someone here then it does imply the contact was not as vicious as made out..
I hear what you are saying Dev, and agree to an extent.
But, I, as does the Law (correct me if I am wrong Boof), see Attempted Murder just as seriously as Murder itself.
Maybe the young fella was not as hurt as he possibly could have been or what was at first feared (thank Goodness), I would suggest that this was only by good luck and a testament to the lad himself rather than anything else. Does not excuse the actions of the alledged offender in any way.
BTW, I can't recall that he did come back on. I think Maccacrows may have been confused, as he had a few Brittany Spears in the lead up to the game.
Agree with earlier forum poster. I too attempted to listen to the Sunday game via 88.6. I gave up after about 10 minutes of less than enthralling commentating. Good work to those who give up their time (it is still voluntray unpaid work, isn't it?) and i am sure there are some happy listeners out there. I just can't claim to be one.
Is Heff out of favour with the one's this year at Heid? Will he get a gearnsy in the one's come GF, or be left in the two's?
I hear what you are saying Dev, and agree to an extent.
But, I, as does the Law (correct me if I am wrong Boof), see Attempted Murder just as seriously as Murder itself.
Maybe the young fella was not as hurt as he possibly could have been or what was at first feared (thank Goodness), I would suggest that this was only by good luck and a testament to the lad himself rather than anything else. Does not excuse the actions of the alledged offender in any way.
Agree 100%. Based on intent, not outcome.
Having said that, attempt murd is exteremly hard to prove. Hence the regualr practise of the charge being lessened to grevious bodily harm. Easier to prove, sustain and fullfill. That is, once the plea bargining has run its course.
Weather that is relevent to this case, i dont know.
Alter Ego
10 Sep 2007, 14:18
Heff will be in if his dad has anything to say about it (and doesn't he say plenty!)
May depend on conditions, team balance and any injury concerns. It was Dale Nolan's first game for several weeks so it will be interesting to see how he pulls up. There are also the three quality talls who sat out yesterday's game.
Kickass
10 Sep 2007, 14:18
and i am sure there are some happy listeners out there. I just can't claim to be one.
ha ha,
Thats why you are Looker not Listener.
I don't mind looking at pretty women either, but boy do i hate having to listen them.
ha ha,
Thats why you are Looker not Listener.
I don't mind looking at pretty women either, but boy do i hate having to listen them.
Good call. Too bright for me!
The Boof
10 Sep 2007, 14:20
Other codes and the afl weight finals more heavily at the tribunal when it comes to punishment, and rightly so, look how other codes have cleaned up since the weighted penalties. While there will always be a player that gets white line fever no matter what the consquences or the education put out there, the league needs to send a clear message to every one, especially if it wants to remove the stench of the old dvfl tribunal that the finals need to be a showcase, not a royal rumble.
Devil - Have to disagree that more ‘weight’ is placed on finals regarding consequences of actions in relation to intention, recklessness and negligence. Stand to be corrected though if you can point me to the literature.
Regards
chopsewie
10 Sep 2007, 14:31
I think its great that everyone thinks North and Bundoora are a chance and S*itcan Heidelberg for coasting along.Someone said that they they are the real deal.Thats a pretty good observation.They have beaten Bundoora twice now by 10 goals and gave North a belting by 13 goals.What planet is everyone on.This is not being biased but an observation after watching all year tells me that Heidelberg would have to have the worst day ever to drop the last.Bundoora will not win next week as they have lost a few players and have some very tired boys.North will get in but havent got the players to match Heidelberg .Chops even you could not take marks when the ball is coming in at 100 mile an hour with the wind behind it.You should be concentrating on your GF this week.:DBugalugs ive been playing in the western region mate that was a still day compared to out in the west. Fully concentrated on saturdays granny mate should be a corker. Alter ego played the first half at CHF kicked 1goal 3 and rested the ankle as the game was over.The score yesterday did'nt give a true indication of the game Bugsy you would have to agree you guys kicked away in junk time.Please put Hally back to chb he is useless down forward.:D
Jewelsandbullet
10 Sep 2007, 14:44
My mail is there was also an incident on the saturday in the reserves that the league isnt happy about, nor for that matter Mont either. Mont player taken away in ambulance when they are 10 goals up and well into last quarter. Boro have no chance of winning so go the snipe/king hit.
I saw this one.. was very average - think Banks hit on Rhy-Jones. Fairly poor effort :thumbsd:
What were peoples thoughts on Cramer st? I enjoyed the day on Saturday - think it could be a great atmoshpere the next two weeks. Thumbs up for me.
missingtorsoe
10 Sep 2007, 14:47
I saw this one.. was very average - think Banks hit on Rhy-Jones. Fairly poor effort :thumbsd:
What were peoples thoughts on Cramer st? I enjoyed the day on Saturday - think it could be a great atmoshpere the next two weeks. Thumbs up for me.
i agree..awsome ground! has an awsome atmosphere when it attracts a large crowd
Kickass
10 Sep 2007, 14:57
hey J&B,
Venue at Cramer St was sufficient and atmosphere was great. Facilities were perfect, but I do have a couple of :thumbsd: though
The ****ing wind - might aswell played @ Epping.
Police presence was I think insufficient or non present at least in early games and may need to be reviewed as we all know Finals can be emotional for Players and spectators alike
A large number of people were watching from outside the ground without paying their dues and I seen at least 6 people jump the fence to gain free entry
The cost of food was exhorbitant and lacked quality, but then again thats what happens when you have a captive audience, and Fat ****s like me need their Food
The Boof
10 Sep 2007, 15:00
[quote=Kickass;8709723]But, I, as does the Law (correct me if I am wrong Boof), see Attempted Murder just as seriously as Murder itself.
KA - It is viewed in context with the mens rea (motive) and the actus rea (action) in mind. There are certain elements of proof that have to be satisfied before one gets charged with attempted murder or murder. Because the punishment is more severe from one to the other more elements of proof have to be satisfied.
Keep in mind criminal matters are dealt with in accusatorial jurisdictions. The prosecution has to prove beyond reasonable doubt. Our Tribunal is an inquisitorial jurisdiction. It only has to be proved on the balance of probabilities. That’s why my comment regarding the Mick Gay matter. Notwithstanding the fact that the umpire failed to get the framework of the charge right which is another issue, I along with many others believe if it wasn’t for the video evidence no GF for Mick this year.
That’s why I’m saying, regarding the incident we’re talking about, the severity of punishment I believe will ultimately come down to intention, recklessness and negligence.
Regards
Kickass
10 Sep 2007, 15:02
[quote=Kickass;8709723]
That’s why I’m saying, regarding the incident we’re talking about, the severity of punishment I believe will ultimately come down to intention, recklessness and negligence.
Regards
Yep, I agree. But without so many Big words. :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
The Boof
10 Sep 2007, 15:23
[quote=The Boof;8710502]
Yep, I agree. But without so many Big words. :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
Sorry about that boys. It's just when people attempt to mitigate by using words such as 'hip and shoulder' contact it matters not now when a player comes in contact with an opponents head.
Regards
Jewelsandbullet
10 Sep 2007, 15:43
Just had word from the Secretary, Mont have signed former pie and saint Mark McGough for season 2008- younger brother Jarrod had a great year this year, 19 years old and came 4th in the best & fairest.
devil's advocte
10 Sep 2007, 15:46
Well done Boof in disseminating the difference between the judicary and the trubunal.
However, as to your comment that there should be no "weight" added to finals...I put this to you for comment.
scenario 1.....team is ahead by 10 goals with ten minutes to go in an elimination final. Team that is losing decides it is time to make sure they do as much damage as possible to the victor. They maim a player from the winning team illeagally and the player misses the opportunity to play in GF. The accused then only gets 2 weeks while the other player misses a GF he has trained for all year........no weighting necessary???
scenario 2.... Favrin has kicked 4 goals to 3 quater time and is keeping h'berg ahead in the GF. with 10 minutes to go Hberg in front but favrin gets king hit and misses the rest of the game. H'berg lose by a point.....Do you want blood?? the player only gets 2 weeks but gets a medallion. Fair? Should it be weighted now?
Now we know H'berg will not lose the GF, the opposition would need the H'berg team helicopter to crash on the warringal park club rooms and wipe out everyone, as H'berg this year could win the flag with their medics, waterboys and runners filling in.
My point is you say no weighting......the nrl brought the rules in to prevent a blood bath grandfinal, as have the afl
The Boof
10 Sep 2007, 16:00
My point is you say no weighting......the nrl brought the rules in to prevent a blood bath grandfinal, as have the afl
Devil - I'm not at this stage putting up an argument about would or should. Like I said I'll stand corrected. Can you point me to the relevant rule/code etc you refer to (no disrespect).
Regards
TIGER ROCKET
10 Sep 2007, 16:09
from reading the posts on here i guess bundoora and north should just pack up and go home.
don't get me wrong heidelberg are a great side but i have seen it too often in not just footy but other sports were the team has gone undefeated through the year and then the pressure of winning on the final day has got to them.
loved cramer st.thought it was a great venue personally.had a bite to eat before i got there so can't really comment on food prices.
north v bundoora should be a great game.north's forward line functioned very well on sat but bundoora had a lot of players down and i wouldn't expect them to have two bad games in a row.let's hope so though:)
did whitnall and maironia even play?
hard listening to it on radio.would rather face the dentist drill.
final comment.umpiring was very good on sat.hardly noticed them at all
WiseOne
10 Sep 2007, 16:12
hey J&B,
Venue at Cramer St was sufficient and atmosphere was great. Facilities were perfect, but I do have a couple of :thumbsd: though
The ****ing wind - might aswell played @ Epping.
Police presence was I think insufficient or non present at least in early games and may need to be reviewed as we all know Finals can be emotional for Players and spectators alike
A large number of people were watching from outside the ground without paying their dues and I seen at least 6 people jump the fence to gain free entry
The cost of food was exhorbitant and lacked quality, but then again thats what happens when you have a captive audience, and Fat ****s like me need their Food
Thanks, I was wondering how the crowds were at Cramer St. I watched a mate play for Greenvale yesterday and the crowd at Windy Hill was huge. It was nice to hear supporters chanting for their team rather than abuse.
Too many dry areas though.
trilogy_1
10 Sep 2007, 16:16
Hey J&B,
have to agree, the atmosphere was great, good venue, plenty of space and if needed there was plenty of cover.
Sunday there wasa bit of wind, but not as bad as Epping.
Cramer Street facilities for participanmts were next to none. Plenty of room to warm up etc.
From a viewing point of view, plenty of vantage points around the ground.
As said befoe, the next 2 weeks will be good, with Div 2 GF this Sat, then final 2 weeks of Div 1 becoming very interesting.:thumbsu:
Kickass
10 Sep 2007, 16:25
I just thought of something (clunk clunk)
Was very happy to see cordinated Gatekeepers working at Cramer Street for yesterdays games and the use of (albeit of supermarket bought generic brand) entry tickets.
It would be nice if NFL posted attendance figures on their website so that there is total clarity given what has occurred in the past.
They don't have to necessarily state $ taken but total numbers would indeed be of interest me thinks.!
TIGER ROCKET
10 Sep 2007, 16:28
I just thought of something (clunk clunk)
Was very happy to see cordinated Gatekeepers working at Cramer Street for yesterdays games and the use of (albeit of supermarket bought generic brand) entry tickets.
It would be nice if NFL posted attendance figures on their website so that there is total clarity given what has occurred in the past.
They don't have to necessarily state $ taken but total numbers would indeed be of interest me thinks.!
was thinking the same thing myself when at game,was wondering exactly how many were there?
stand on sat was pretty empty but lots of good vantage points to watch game from.helps living five minutes from ground too:)
SCARFACE
10 Sep 2007, 17:31
todays game really showed that bundoora can beat heidelberg when they play their own game as they did in the 3rd qtr. Only 2 goals down at 3/4 time and with most playing like shit i supposed can be looked at as a positive. heidelberg are a class team and have too many classy ballwinners. Bundoora cant blanket all of these blokes and i reckon they were to pre occupied worrying about tagging these blokes for large chunks of the game.
However Bundoora have a massive challenge next week against the dogs. Im pretty sure most involved at the club would agree more then 3/4 of the 22 today were well down on how they would have expected to play. The beauty of finishing 2nd is the double chance and the chance to redeem themselves next week.
Hey conda the end result was 50 points and and u say bundoora can beat heidelberg? get ur head out of ur ass mate they are streets ahead of u guys, the only team that could pull the miracle off would be norf but i dont see that happening either.
the G train #9
10 Sep 2007, 18:01
I was watching the under 19's game and i believe that bloke that copped a hit/bump is around 16/17. i didnt actually see the hit so i cant say much about it. i beleive the kid came back on about half an hour later but im not 100% of what injuries he suffered...
I can tell you that the kid (Tim Chapman) was an Under 17s player who has been playing up for most of the year. Was dominating the game at the time he was taken out. He was stretchered off but walked back out onto the ground at 3/4 time to be in the huddle with his team-mates and then spent the rest of the game sitting on the bench. Did not actually go back on the ground during play. Was a bit groggy but should be right for next week.
Jonny Utah
10 Sep 2007, 19:06
Hey conda the end result was 50 points and and u say bundoora can beat heidelberg? get ur head out of ur ass mate they are streets ahead of u guys, the only team that could pull the miracle off would be norf but i dont see that happening either.He knows less than you scarface you fagg8t.
SCARFACE
10 Sep 2007, 19:39
He knows less than you scarface you fagg8t.
Here he is the peter whore of bigfooty, why dont u reveal who u are instead of telling me how mad u are in ur weak pm's that u will never live up to, u are a weak c$#t who should have been all over ur old lady's back f$@k off.http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon6.gif
party boy
10 Sep 2007, 20:20
Was at the game sunday and it was an absolute disgrace that Mick Gay got best on. All he does is stand in the middle of the ground. I dont think he got out of a slow walk all day. also watched his opponents who worked really hard all day taking numerous marks and battled well all over the groung in attack and defence!!
the G train #9
10 Sep 2007, 20:35
Was at the game sunday and it was an absolute disgrace that Mick Gay got best on. All he does is stand in the middle of the ground. I dont think he got out of a slow walk all day. also watched his opponents who worked really hard all day taking numerous marks and battled well all over the groung in attack and defence!!
I saw the 1st qtr of the game and he would have racked up 10-15 possessions, not all in the middle of the ground and from what i saw he was good. Didn't mind selling a bit of candy for a 7"0 bloke either !
very good g train...gay sold more candy than christina aguiliera does..
SCARFACE
10 Sep 2007, 21:08
I saw the 1st qtr of the game and he would have racked up 10-15 possessions, not all in the middle of the ground and from what i saw he was good. Didn't mind selling a bit of candy for a 7"0 bloke either !
7"0? i think thats a little ambitious with salt and pepper.
Jonny Utah
10 Sep 2007, 22:43
7"0? i think thats a little ambitious with salt and pepper.Will you shut up you silly bastard im getting sick of you hanging sh@t on everyone. You obviously no nthing about footy so pi$$ off stoooge.
party boy
10 Sep 2007, 23:06
yes he might have got a few touches but what makes a good ruckman is how much presence he has on the ground i.e marking. Not getting little handballs in the centre of the ground. plus for a bloke his size he should be taking about 15 contested marks a game, which he doesnt!!
The Boof
11 Sep 2007, 00:15
For any doubting Thomas’ regarding Mick Gay see video highlights of the second semi final Heidelberg v Bundoora @ www.heidelbergfc.com.au (http://www.heidelbergfc.com.au/) Actions speak louder than words boys.
Regards
Factual
11 Sep 2007, 08:35
yes he might have got a few touches but what makes a good ruckman is how much presence he has on the ground i.e marking. Not getting little handballs in the centre of the ground. plus for a bloke his size he should be taking about 15 contested marks a game, which he doesnt!!
As a nuetral observer, he played like a gun, sold candy, racked up possessions, knocked players over (presence), gave options forward and didn't spend much time of the ball. BOG by a mile, but Favrin kicking 6 as a small forward was pretty good as well. Very surprised after seeing how much of the ball GAY had in the 1st quarter he was permitted to just run free all day. He should have been made at least to earn contested possession around the ground.
Bruce Almighty
11 Sep 2007, 08:54
Come back to earth champ.Stay of the pills till after the game or leave the brekky bongs alone.Your opinion is out of this world.
The Boof
11 Sep 2007, 09:30
I suspect Sharky has reinvented himself as Party Boy.