View Full Version : Northern Football League Div 1 - CLOSED

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

Kickass
11 Dec 2007, 11:39
We tend to stereotype others when we recognise faults in ourselves we project those faults onto others preferring to believe we are good and they are bad.

Regards

hey ya Boof,

Faults, What Faults ??? Theres nothing wrong with having a booze swill @ the Olympic.

And No ,I don't prefer to think that they are all Bad; But Yes, I do think i am Good - F.I.G.J.A.M! :cool:

DALE MORRIS
11 Dec 2007, 13:39
Any truth to the rumour that Craigieburn has been throwing plenty of cash at several quality nfl players.Is langborne still coaching there?

Kickass
11 Dec 2007, 14:35
[quote=DALE MORRIS;9652255]Any truth to the rumour that Craigieburn has been throwing plenty of cash at several quality nfl players.quote]

$ 200 k is their supposed Budget - I reckon you probably could get some quality with that kind of coin. :o

DALE MORRIS
11 Dec 2007, 14:53
[quote=DALE MORRIS;9652255]Any truth to the rumour that Craigieburn has been throwing plenty of cash at several quality nfl players.quote]

$ 200 k is their supposed Budget - I reckon you probably could get some quality with that kind of coin. :o
Any idea on which players have been approached from the nfl

The DUCK
11 Dec 2007, 15:12

maybe they should invest in some K-A it wouldnt be quality but it would free up sum room in our changerooms atleast, and they would experience the finest curried sauseges ever made thats another reason to go lol

TIGER ROCKET
11 Dec 2007, 17:00
guys i believe the fixture for next year is out,just that i couldn't download it.try the nfl home page

Yougotthat
11 Dec 2007, 20:00
[quote=The DUCK;9645948]2 things after bagging north heidelberg u hope they dont find where u live and secondly who injected a quarter of a million into monty i knew shultz was loaded but i dont think it all came from him what is going on down there any little suggestions boof ka or any1 for that matter???[/quote

Major sponsors may have decided to dig a little deeper than previous years, thus resulting in the club being able to get a few quality players?

looker
11 Dec 2007, 20:48
Any truth to the rumour that Craigieburn has been throwing plenty of cash at several quality nfl players.Is langborne still coaching there?

Can confirm of 2 guys they are talking with. Both guys now play NFL
Divvy 2, although were very handy players couple years back, both originating from West Preston. I have my suspiscions of who contacted whom, although with ex-west boys up at Crazyburn, it could be a direct approach. These guys can cut it in Divvy 1, although I would suggest would only have limited games in them. Cannot yet confirm price tags though.

whistle blower
11 Dec 2007, 20:57
have heard that NUGENT from west has been offered 900 a game,
he may be good but not worth that much kanga i would think.

dwyane WADE show
11 Dec 2007, 21:05

Yeah gav is still coaching there. Shane Jacobs has gone there too as he used to play for them and i think piggott from bundoora may have aswell

The DUCK
11 Dec 2007, 21:17
[quote=The DUCK;9645948]2 things after bagging north heidelberg u hope they dont find where u live and secondly who injected a quarter of a million into monty i knew shultz was loaded but i dont think it all came from him what is going on down there any little suggestions boof ka or any1 for that matter???[/quote

Major sponsors may have decided to dig a little deeper than previous years, thus resulting in the club being able to get a few quality players?

well from what iv hearde maybe not 100% but theres a 150,000 diff in player payments there thats not goin deeper in the pockets and a lil more than spare change but there lining up well from the way it looks will be interesting to see if its worth it!!

dons07
11 Dec 2007, 22:35
they have picked up shane harvery, also a giant ruckman from ballarat and also a youngster who growing up was always vice captain in the leagues and northern knights behind the recently drafted trent cotchin who was captain so they are looking strong at this point
what do you mean by north heidelberg are the key?

joshooaa
11 Dec 2007, 23:50
shane harvey sat on my head several times in under 10's. that kid looked like half a matchstick in a Preston RSL jumper but jeez could he play

Kickass
12 Dec 2007, 00:10
shane harvey sat on my head several times in under 10's. that kid looked like half a matchstick in a Preston RSL jumper but jeez could he play

He had a fair launching pad to aim for though didn't he Joshy??

BTW are you playing at all down Gippy way??

TIGER ROCKET
12 Dec 2007, 11:47
they have picked up shane harvery, also a giant ruckman from ballarat and also a youngster who growing up was always vice captain in the leagues and northern knights behind the recently drafted trent cotchin who was captain so they are looking strong at this point

definetly good news re the ruckmen,haven't really got a back up for jason dean and i knew harvey was playing but any name for this youngster?

Jewelsandbullet
12 Dec 2007, 12:40
and secondly who injected a quarter of a million into monty i knew shultz was loaded but i dont think it all came from him what is going on down there any little suggestions boof ka or any1 for that matter???

Hello Duck

Quater of a million :confused:

2007 season Mont paid $99,000 for player payments, which was less than the previous two years... so that has left a bit of room to spend on a few more players for 2008.... It's in our Annual Report.

While Shultz is a major contributor...Billings Long Construction is Mont's major sponsor (I'm sure Donga won't mind the plug)

I think some people are delusional about what we pay...

To Alter Ego = yep, been in hiding mate - but despite the result ... I'll be okay ;)

joshooaa
12 Dec 2007, 14:09
He had a fair launching pad to aim for though didn't he Joshy??

BTW are you playing at all down Gippy way??

a fair launching pad indeed Leigh.

I am no longer in Gippsland - infact i have down several sessions down at the Panther. I ran round for Whitehorse last year but home has been calling...

Kickass
12 Dec 2007, 15:24
I am no longer in Gippsland - infact i have down several sessions down at the Panther. I ran round for Whitehorse last year but home has been calling...

Awesome, it would be good to have a little nippy 6'5ft rover under my feet as i take on all in the ruck again this year.

P.S - Can you do a few extra runs to get fit for me, i might need you take a few taps around the ground as my fitness is......... well non existant really.:eek:

joshooaa
13 Dec 2007, 20:15
Awesome, it would be good to have a little nippy 6'5ft rover under my feet as i take on all in the ruck again this year.

P.S - Can you do a few extra runs to get fit for me, i might need you take a few taps around the ground as my fitness is......... well non existant really.:eek:

Actually the fact that you did some rucking this year came up in discussion the other day and the word is that you preformed admirably considering your vertical challanges.
Im sure I will slot right back into to a ruck roving position what with my zip around the packs and all - and you can continue your new number 1 ruckman status.
As for your fitness - have you ever tried watching Aerobics Oz Style of a morning? I find it works far better than any pre season training ever could.

dons07
19 Dec 2007, 20:42
everybody happy with there teams draws for next year i know ther is a few sunday games which im not really into but could draw bigger crowds to the games

M.O.T.H.
19 Dec 2007, 22:30
everybody happy with there teams draws for next year i know ther is a few sunday games which im not really into but could draw bigger crowds to the games

Don't know that there's any more Sunday games than any other season in 1 Division - there only seems to be NH v NP and MY v GR.

Question has to be asked is why NH v NP is always the first round????????

Check back on the history and I think you'll find that MY and GR were the first to play Sunday games. Perhaps in future the league should look at sharing this arrangement around.

The Boof
20 Dec 2007, 10:58

Yep. Particularly Round 1. It'll be interesing to see if Laor get the wind knocked out their sails :D

Regards

shoestring
22 Dec 2007, 10:05
Don't know that there's any more Sunday games than any other season in 1 Division - there only seems to be NH v NP and MY v GR.

Question has to be asked is why NH v NP is always the first round????????

Check back on the history and I think you'll find that MY and GR were the first to play Sunday games. Perhaps in future the league should look at sharing this arrangement around.

I check your history nth v N/Park were the 1st to play sunday games

M.O.T.H.
22 Dec 2007, 18:21
I check your history nth v N/Park were the 1st to play sunday games

In which year did they first start playing Sundays?
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon5.gif

Cole Trickle
23 Dec 2007, 17:26
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon5.gifI think 99 maybe 98 not 100% but one of the two

A Living God
23 Dec 2007, 18:37
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon5.gif
When did MM and GB start playing sundays?

M.O.T.H.
23 Dec 2007, 19:47
When did MM and GB start playing sundays?

The latest they started was 2000. I remember the first round of 2000 at The Nest when Mont were absolutely decimated with injuries but won. Very warm day, massive crowd and plenty of P155 drank.

I'm certain though that that wasn't the first year.

TIGER ROCKET
24 Dec 2007, 18:44
even though i don't know any of you personally(that i know of) enjoy logging on to read the banter and bulls..t that goes on.last post for a few weeks so have a good xmas and new year all...
except for those who have hung s..t on nth heidelberg throughout the year which means most of you:) so i guess that means 99 percent of you don't get my christmas wishes:p

bobo99
2 Jan 2008, 12:59
two all uheildberg boys your favorite bus driver timmy is going 2 live in albury he will be at reburs 2 nite if u want 2 say goodbye

Muttley
3 Jan 2008, 08:58
two all uheildberg boys your favorite bus driver timmy is going 2 live in albury he will be at reburs 2 nite if u want 2 say goodbye
That is a shame....he is kindly spoke of around these parts and will be sadly missed. Tell him to put in a good word for us as we plan to use Dyson's from here on in.

Bruce Almighty
10 Jan 2008, 10:34
Bergers have got a new recruit and if he is anything like his old man the bergers will not loose a game. Lachlan Byrne........look out.

Kickass
10 Jan 2008, 11:44
Bergers have got a new recruit and if he is anything like his old man the bergers will not loose a game. Lachlan Byrne........look out.

C'mon Brucey, we all know his old man is/was an absolute Hack :p.

Good luck to kid though :thumbsu:, doesn't it just make you feel so old :eek:

Mont Man
10 Jan 2008, 13:51
It's certainly going to need it - but the Para road sandpit is getting some help ...

Council has started preparation work to install 2 X 45,000L water tank at Montmorency Oval. The sites for the tanks have been excavated behind the cricket nets and the tanks have been installed. Additional water will be transported in to help establish the warm season grass. Once Council is satisfied that the grass has established the tanks will be transferred to other Banyule grounds to assist in the warm season grass conversion program.

M.O.T.H.
10 Jan 2008, 21:47
It's certainly going to need it - but the Para road sandpit is getting some help ...

Council has started preparation work to install 2 X 45,000L water tank at Montmorency Oval. The sites for the tanks have been excavated behind the cricket nets and the tanks have been installed. Additional water will be transported in to help establish the warm season grass. Once Council is satisfied that the grass has established the tanks will be transferred to other Banyule grounds to assist in the warm season grass conversion program.

Hope it's not going to make the nest too comfortable for the opposition. Should have heard them squealing and making excuses about the ground conditions for their performances when they lost last season. :rolleyes:

Seriously though a great effort by Banyule Council to try and get the ground up to an acceptable level for footy and cricket. How's the other grounds going that they've done the same thing to - Greensy, Banyule, Norf. Had a quick look at the nest about 9 last night (pretty dark at that time) and it looked a bit of a mess but saw from the car tonight driving along Para Rd that it had had a haircut. Hopefully some rain will improve things and hurry the new growth.

QLDFOOTY
10 Jan 2008, 22:01
COME TO WILSTON GRANGE!! - POSITIONS VACANT for
Local, QLD or Interstate Players!! - Move to sunny Brisbane!!! Jobs, housing assistance and $$$ available!!!!!!!!!
Just send me a private message with your contact details

The Boof
11 Jan 2008, 10:07

If it's what I think you're suggesting, congrats mate. Long live the Bergers!

Regards

fattyslim09
11 Jan 2008, 14:03
If it's what I think you're suggesting, congrats mate. Long live the Bergers!

Regards

I'll second that congrats mate, we'll have to have a couple to welcome him into the world!!!!

Jewelsandbullet
22 Jan 2008, 14:25
Well it certainly is ****en deserted around here at the moment ... what's the word?

While the rumour file is not as strong as it was last year, does anyone think we might have a delayed season again? We've had a bit more rain towards the end of this year... but if we don't get rain between now and the start of the season??

Can someone from Berger land (or the man himself) tell me the name of Liquorman's establishment in Albury??

Alter Ego
23 Jan 2008, 08:47
Happy New Year J & B.
Will crank up the rumour file as from next week as pre season gets into full swing post Xmas.
Liquorman's fine hostelery is the New Albury Hotel, Kiewa St Albury - incorporates Paddy's Irish Bar which is what some of the locals call it.
Heading up there myself in a couple of weeks time to wrestle a parma and pot (or five) with the Teddy Bear himself.

Jewelsandbullet
23 Jan 2008, 08:48
Perhaps Mont could divert from the Plenty River?? no one is going to really miss that water :rolleyes:

Great get for the bergers though ... and to gain some funding to complete the project, when they had been shipping in their own water... must be happy with that:

HEIDELBERG Football Club has been given permission to tap into the Yarra River to water its thirsty grounds.

Melbourne Water this month confirmed the club's temporary diversion licence, allowing it to draw water from the river to water Warringal Oval, had been approved.

The approval comes despite risks of bans on recreational groups taking water from the Yarra because of low water flow.

Heidelberg Football Club manager Greg Sheahan said the club was still working on the logistics of setting up a pumping system and installing tanks.

Last year the club trucked in recycled water from the Werribee treatment plant to bring relief from the drought.

edit.

Banyule Council gave Heidelberg Football Club $12,750 to buy pumping equipment, pump housing, power connection and two tanks.

Council leisure services co-ordinator Allison Beckwith said 11 Banyule sports fields could be watered twice a week under present 3A water restrictions.

Jewelsandbullet
23 Jan 2008, 08:52
Happy New Year J & B.
Will crank up the rumour file as from next week as pre season gets into full swing post Xmas.
Liquorman's fine hostelery is the New Albury Hotel, Kiewa St Albury - incorporates Paddy's Irish Bar which is what some of the locals call it.
Heading up there myself in a couple of weeks time to wrestle a parma and pot (or five) with the Teddy Bear himself.

Same to you AE

Thanks for that ...

Might be up there for work in the coming weeks so might swing by and say hi to the T-bear myself.

exhaddy
23 Jan 2008, 09:35
HEIDELBERG Football Club has been given permission to tap into the Yarra River to water its thirsty grounds.

Melbourne Water this month confirmed the club's temporary diversion licence, allowing it to draw water from the river to water Warringal Oval, had been approved.

The approval comes despite risks of bans on recreational groups taking water from the Yarra because of low water flow.

Heidelberg Football Club manager Greg Sheahan said the club was still working on the logistics of setting up a pumping system and installing tanks.

Last year the club trucked in recycled water from the Werribee treatment plant to bring relief from the drought.

edit.

Banyule Council gave Heidelberg Football Club $12,750 to buy pumping equipment, pump housing, power connection and two tanks.

Council leisure services co-ordinator Allison Beckwith said 11 Banyule sports fields could be watered twice a week under present 3A water restrictions.[/quote]
Wish my club, council and league were that proactive about beating the drought everybody seems to be sitting on their hands hoping for rain...we may never return to the rain of 10-15 years ago.

Party pooper
25 Jan 2008, 10:38
http://www.darebin.vic.gov.au/Page/Page.asp?Page_Id=325&h=1

This site may be of some interest to the people who want to know about the current safety of grounds in the Darebin area.

The Boof
29 Jan 2008, 19:09
Well it certainly is ****en deserted around here at the moment ... what's the word?

No more so than yourself J&B. The story I'm hearing is that Mont are really backing themselves this year. What's the story bro? A couple of recruits does not make a team.

Regards

M.O.T.H.
29 Jan 2008, 19:33
No more so than yourself J&B. The story I'm hearing is that Mont are really backing themselves this year. What's the story bro? A couple of recruits does not make a team.

Regards

Don't give it away J&B. Sounds like Boof's doing a bit of fishing for the HFC.

:cool:

Jewelsandbullet
31 Jan 2008, 10:08

Regards

Well it's exciting times mate... not generated by the recruits as much as; A new season, some new rooms half way through the year - and there has been really great numbers at training ... I would not got as far as saying "backing ourselves" as the Bergers are still the benchmark. However there is potential and promise ;)

M.O.T.H.
31 Jan 2008, 11:45
Well it's exciting times mate... not generated by the recruits as much as; A new season, some new rooms half way through the year - and there has been really great numbers at training ... I would not got as far as saying "backing ourselves" as the Bergers are still the benchmark. However there is potential and promise ;)

Also, don't forget the prospect of having a half decent playing surface. This rain can do nothing but good for the grass growth and hope it continues for a few days.

Party pooper
31 Jan 2008, 13:25
West Preston practice matches

March 15
Home vs Golden Square (A & B only)
March 29
Home vs Blackburn (all 3 grades)
April 5
Home vs Norwood (all 3 grades)

http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-3913-0-0-0&sID=58593&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=5030192&sectionID=58593

Kickass
31 Jan 2008, 13:26
Also, don't forget the prospect of having a half decent playing surface. This rain can do nothing but good for the grass growth and hope it continues for a few days.

Pft, don't kid yourself.

It will take more than rain to fix the Monty Park surface. I know the council have done some work , but it is remedial at best.

might help fill a few water tanks though.

Merks #17
31 Jan 2008, 13:38
Pft, don't kid yourself.

It will take more than rain to fix the Monty Park surface. I know the council have done some work , but it is remedial at best.

Nothing like eltham surface kickass, as you would agree. Ill go out on a limb and say eltham is now the best surface, viewing and access ground in the valley, due to the lack of wind (epping), and the central position of the ground. Even though the rooms are still pretty sh1thouse. Ana ivanovic is amazing to look at.

M.O.T.H.
31 Jan 2008, 13:45
Pft, don't kid yourself.

"but it is remedial at best" - since when have you become a horticultural expert leroy?

"might help fill a few water tanks though" WTF you on about????

Council believes that the summer grass sprigging process will be the saviour of the ground without going to the extravagant expense of completely refurbishing it. Similar process has been used at Shelley St, Banyule, Greensborough and I thinkmaybe a couple of other grounds. Mont's was one of the last done so it would be interesting to hear how the others are looking as they had a couple of week's start.

maybe
1 Feb 2008, 14:12
Just been informed that Ty Zantuck trained with Heidelberg last night. Massive pick-up for the Bergers. Them and Mont look like being the yard stick at this stage in terms of personnel. Bundoora may appear to go backwards with the losses of Howse, Ayres and Piggott (not really a loss). Haven't heard much at all on North. Anyone know how they are travelling in regards to ins and outs?

Alter Ego
1 Feb 2008, 14:33
Just been informed that Ty Zantuck trained with Heidelberg last night. Massive pick-up for the Bergers. Them and Mont look like being the yard stick at this stage in terms of personnel. Bundoora may appear to go backwards with the losses of Howse, Ayres and Piggott (not really a loss). Haven't heard much at all on North. Anyone know how they are travelling in regards to ins and outs?
Rumour has it that one S Caddy is back at the kennel along Shane Harvey and a quality tall as back up for Jason Dean. They will need them - Zantuck is not the only quality pick up for the River Rats and as you note Mont have also been very active on the recruitment front.

Jewelsandbullet
1 Feb 2008, 14:39
Pft, don't kid yourself.

Don't be so negative KA

Even if Mont is still a sandpit and panther park lush green, I think in 2008 it's time that we reverted back to the good old formula, the formula that served us well for so many years; Mont V Eltham twice .. Mont spank Eltham twice... as i told you last year: we've now concreted the Ken Hines trophy into the wall anyway :D

Jewelsandbullet
1 Feb 2008, 14:44
Nothing like eltham surface kickass, as you would agree. Ill go out on a limb and say eltham is now the best surface, viewing and access ground in the valley, due to the lack of wind (epping), and the central position of the ground. Even though the rooms are still pretty sh1thouse.

Looking forward to seeing how it's come up .. got to agree it's a nice ground for viewing, thought the 2006 elimination final was a great atmosphere.

Just on surfaces - Watsonia's looks great - especially compared to what it used to be...

maybe
1 Feb 2008, 14:55
Rumour has it that one S Caddy is back at the kennel along Shane Harvey and a quality tall as back up for Jason Dean. They will need them - Zantuck is not the only quality pick up for the River Rats and as you note Mont have also been very active on the recruitment front.

I have heard that Saul is going to Greenvale in the Essendon League. Apparently that is where Howse is off to as well.

Cole Trickle
1 Feb 2008, 16:16
I have heard that Saul is going to Greenvale in the Essendon League. Apparently that is where Howse is off to as well.I asked on EDFL moves if they were playing at Greenvale and it is all the talk over there.

TIGER ROCKET
1 Feb 2008, 17:09

north have picked up a tall.believed to be from the ballarat league and of course shane harvey.martello believed to have retired and chris stewart rumoured to be playing for coburg.

M.O.T.H.
1 Feb 2008, 21:33
north have picked up a tall.believed to be from the ballarat league and of course shane harvey.martello believed to have retired and chris stewart rumoured to be playing for coburg.

Only just picking up on this last posting but it's all about to hit the fan.

Who's in and who's out??

Bring it on!!!!!!

And by the way KA had another look at the nest and if Banyule Council can rejuvenate the nest for $30k (approx) compared to Nillumbik's $500k (approx) on Panther Park then I'm sure that there'll be a lot of happy Banyule rate payers out there.

footys back home
1 Feb 2008, 22:20
Only just picking up on this last posting but it's all about to hit the fan.

Who's in and who's out??

Bring it on!!!!!!

And by the way KA had another look at the nest and if Banyule Council can rejuvenate the nest for $30k (approx) compared to Nillumbik's $500k (approx) on Panther Park then I'm sure that there'll be a lot of happy Banyule rate payers out there.

It would not matter how much Banyule Coucil could spend on it, it would still be a dump :thumbsd:

slasher25
2 Feb 2008, 00:57

Gone back a few threads and cant find any info on Ayres. can you tell me where he has gone??

greatjudds
2 Feb 2008, 06:43
martello off to marby park to play only handful of games. has position at pies vfl side helping p. licuria...:D:D

stooge01
2 Feb 2008, 14:46
Hey leroy who are the ins and outs for panthers this year? And how many of those that played in the 3rds grand final will be ready for senior footy. Whrere do think you will finish.

TIGER ROCKET
2 Feb 2008, 16:50
martello off to marby park to play only handful of games. has position at pies vfl side helping p. licuria...:D:D

maybe i should have said retired from nfl:)
stewart a bigger loss anyway.when he wanted to he could really tear a team apart.
maybe M.O.T.H knows more than me,because a few posts he said it's going to hit the fan.not sure if he is referring to north.

Merks #17
2 Feb 2008, 19:20
stewart a bigger loss anyway.when he wanted to he could really tear a team apart.
maybe M.O.T.H knows more than me,because a few posts he said it's going to hit the fan.not sure if he is referring to north.

Josh jones and daniel bramich are also goin down coburg as well i have heard, so a few young dogs have changed colours this year apparently.

TIGER ROCKET
2 Feb 2008, 19:40
Josh jones and daniel bramich are also goin down coburg as well i have heard, so a few young dogs have changed colours this year apparently.

well then the doggies might be in a bit of trouble:)
but they were written off last year and was one game off a grand final,let's wait and see how they cope with their losses.
still some quality players but i don't want to mention names as the next thing you know they will be leaving too.:eek:

M.O.T.H.
2 Feb 2008, 22:04

No idea on what the North situation is.

My comment was relating to the moves (in and out) of all clubs. Clearances will start to be posted by NFL over the next week and should make for some interesting reading.

Kickass
3 Feb 2008, 01:51
Hey leroy who are the ins and outs for panthers this year? And how many of those that played in the 3rds grand final will be ready for senior footy. Whrere do think you will finish.

Thanks for your interest Shacks :).

Not in a position to name any names just at this stage but some promising recruits will be unveiled shortly.

There is some great stock to come out of the 3rds premiership team of this year and yes there are several ready to play players - most who have already had a taste of Div 1 senior footy and are now ready and eager to take the next step.

We still need a few Monsters to join the team though, because the only thing that has really stopped us from being a Good side is lack of height and big bodies, otherwise we can mix it with most teams.

Where does this place us??? Well exactly with every other club - a Finals contender - Perhaps,??

And , if we have No injuries, No bad umpiring decisions, No games against Heidelberg and we can find somebody to financially support the club to the tune of 300 -400k, I'd say we would probably go pretty darn close to hoisting the Flag in '08. :rolleyes:.

BTW, The big news about to break at the club though, is that I may only play 2 games this year - Both against my favorite opposition team, can you guess who !! F...k..g B...dy L.l.r :eek::eek::eek: ;)

stooge01
3 Feb 2008, 08:05
[quote=Kickass;9997529]Thanks for your interest Shacks :).

Not in a position to name any names just at this stage but some promising recruits will be unveiled shortly.

There is some great stock to come out of the 3rds premiership team of this year and yes there are several ready to play players - most who have already had a taste of Div 1 senior footy and are now ready and eager to take the next step.

We still need a few Monsters to join the team though, because the only thing that has really stopped us from being a Good side is lack of height and big bodies, otherwise we can mix it with most teams.

Where does this place us??? Well exactly with every other club - a Finals contender - Perhaps,??

And , if we have No injuries, No bad umpiring decisions, No games against Heidelberg and we can find somebody to financially support the club to the tune of 300 -400k, I'd say we would probably go pretty darn close to hoisting the Flag in '08. :rolleyes:.

BTW, The big news about to break at the club though, is that I may only play 2 games this year - Both against my favorite opposition team, can you guess who !! F...k..g B...dy L.l.r :eek::eek::eek: ;)

Where going along ok havent been down sydney cres much FRom what i here the boys are pumped. like the panthers a very young side looking for a big challange in div1.

slasher25
3 Feb 2008, 10:24
Hey guys hoping to get input from all divvy one clubs

A Divvy two club trying to change the culture of their players to divvy one. I think it is great although a long and hard road. A big job for the Coaching staff.

From my perspective I think it is also a supporter responsibility but would be really appreciative of your comments.

Is your supporter base strong during the pre season?
Is the Bar open during the training for these supporters?
Does the supporter base do anything to get involved at this boring time?

During the season proper

Thursday night is Thursday night and should always be busy.
What about Tuesday night are the supporters there?
Is the Bar open?
What do the supporters do to become involved with the players?

Cheers slasher

HULK HOGAN
3 Feb 2008, 12:21
Hey guys hoping to get input from all divvy one clubs

A Divvy two club trying to change the culture of their players to divvy one. I think it is great although a long and hard road. A big job for the Coaching staff.

From my perspective I think it is also a supporter responsibility but would be really appreciative of your comments.

Is your supporter base strong during the pre season?
Is the Bar open during the training for these supporters?
Does the supporter base do anything to get involved at this boring time?

During the season proper

Thursday night is Thursday night and should always be busy.
What about Tuesday night are the supporters there?
Is the Bar open?
What do the supporters do to become involved with the players?

Cheers slasher
The more people that are 100% committed to your club being a div 1 club the closer you will be starting from the Players attitudes and commitmant down to the scoreboard attendant alot of people at clubs speak commitment but dont follow it through!
good luck!

The Boof
3 Feb 2008, 12:55
Hey guys hoping to get input from all divvy one clubsA Divvy two club trying to change the culture of their players to divvy one.

The hardest thing to change in any organisation is its culture. Unfortunately, some have dug that hole that deep they’re finding it difficult to get out. Notwithstanding that, BUILD on a community of people that enjoy each others company off the field 12 months of the year, year after year. The fruit of that, amongst other things, will manifest on the field.

Regards

ps… KA are you blokes backing yourselves or what?

Kickass
4 Feb 2008, 00:32
T

Regards

ps… KA are you blokes backing yourselves or what?

LOL, No mate not backing ourselves. (the $$ are still on the Bergs atm.)

But quietly confident that we are still building to be a very good side. Young, Fit, Skillful and highly dedicated to each other.

If we can fill a few gaps (read - Need a few MONSTERS) in the big man area. we should go allright.

I think despite what has been said about several clubs and who they have recruited or have lost, '08 shapes up to be a very hotly contested season.

Can't wait to smell the Linoment, the Vb's and the party pies. :thumbsu:

vazie31
4 Feb 2008, 09:35
LOL, No mate not backing ourselves. (the $$ are still on the Bergs atm.)

But quietly confident that we are still building to be a very good side. Young, Fit, Skillful and highly dedicated to each other.

If we can fill a few gaps (read - Need a few MONSTERS) in the big man area. we should go allright.

I think despite what has been said about several clubs and who they have recruited or have lost, '08 shapes up to be a very hotly contested season.

Can't wait to smell the Linoment, the Vb's and the party pies. :thumbsu:

If only blokes like KA were 6-7 years younger. 6-7 Inches taller. 6-7 kg lighter.

Kickass
4 Feb 2008, 10:54
If only blokes like KA were 6-7 years younger. 6-7 Inches taller. 6-7 kg lighter.

Ha ha Thanks Mate,

I could still hold my own, but perhaps try 16-17 kgs lighter. :eek:

I can still remember the time I got on the scales and had hit/broke 100kg for the very first & last time.

Oh Yes , I have very fond memories of my 6th birthday! :rolleyes:

joshooaa
4 Feb 2008, 22:23
Ha ha Thanks Mate,

I could still hold my own, but perhaps try 16-17 kgs lighter. :eek:

I can still remember the time I got on the scales and had hit/broke 100kg for the very first & last time.

Oh Yes , I have very fond memories of my 6th birthday! :rolleyes:

I hope you plan on continuing to hold your own again this season KA?
One of my personal driving forces in returning under the trestle bridge would be to play on the same ground as the Panthers games record holder again.

liquorman
5 Feb 2008, 09:02
Rumour has it that one S Caddy is back at the kennel.

Does this mean that they will stop defacing his pictures in the clubrooms? And what about that team of the century business? Would be a big call for chopsewie to head back wouldn't it, or am I the only one that remembers all this happening?

Anyway boys, it's all a race for second this year anyway, after speaking to TB last week the bergs are going to be stronger this year than they were last, does that scare anyone?

When are you lads heading up the highway for a beer?:thumbsu:

Jonny Utah
5 Feb 2008, 11:15
Does this mean that they will stop defacing his pictures in the clubrooms? And what about that team of the century business? Would be a big call for chopsewie to head back wouldn't it, or am I the only one that remembers all this happening?

Anyway boys, it's all a race for second this year anyway, after speaking to TB last week the bergs are going to be stronger this year than they were last, does that scare anyone?

I don't think your the only one that remembers all that there has'nt been a week on bigfooty in three years that his name has'nt been brought up. He is playing at Greenvale and even if he thought of playing at north id be surprised.

Alter Ego
5 Feb 2008, 15:35

Liquor
As usual Saul is linked to a club in every league at this time of the year. My source says Norf (will check again) however EDFL & Western Region threads put him at Greenvale with Howsie.
Had a brief look at the reigning premiers train last week and they are purring along nicley. Note the O & M Tigers are pumping up your tyres in the Border Mail as the gun prodigal son returning.
Will be in your fine establishment at approx 3pm this Saturday to assess your pre season preparation.

liquorman
6 Feb 2008, 08:16
Liquor
As usual Saul is linked to a club in every league at this time of the year. My source says Norf (will check again) however EDFL & Western Region threads put him at Greenvale with Howsie.
Had a brief look at the reigning premiers train last week and they are purring along nicley. Note the O & M Tigers are pumping up your tyres in the Border Mail as the gun prodigal son returning.
Will be in your fine establishment at approx 3pm this Saturday to assess your pre season preparation.

Didn't Greenvale win the flag last year? Quickest way to develop a losing GF side is to put Howesy in it.

Mate pre-season is killing me at the moment, just recieved shock news that we have a practice match in 2.5 weeks, which as you will see Saturday I am in no shape for. But I suppose I haven't played in a practice match for 3 years, and haven't trained in February for about 6 years, so maybe I'm going ok.

Will be at Paddys from about 7 onwards on Sat night, make sure you come say hello so I can buy you a beer or two.....or twenty.

GO BERGS :thumbsu:

Alter Ego
6 Feb 2008, 08:40
Will be at Paddys from about 7 onwards on Sat night, make sure you come say hello so I can buy you a beer or two.....or twenty.
Deal - pints only.
Can't have you going into your first practice match under your normal playing weight.

liquorman
6 Feb 2008, 09:08
[
Can't have you going into your first practice match under your normal playing weight.[/quote]

Their will be no chance of that !

Tiger Champ
6 Feb 2008, 18:35
[
Can't have you going into your first practice match under your normal playing weight.

Their will be no chance of that ![/quote]

Is the great goal kicker playing this year.

liquorman
7 Feb 2008, 06:51
Yes Polly I'm going around again. Playing for Albury in the O & M, should be interesting.:thumbsu:

Abers08
7 Feb 2008, 12:37
Just got some news that will rock the nfl divvy 1 comp, so big you could almost put $ on lalor winning the flag, just spoke to an old wing man from lalor that has already won 4 divvy 1 flags back in his hay day, He tells me he is ready to give up being the runner and has backed him self to kick at least 50-60 goals this season in the 1st next to big red, so look out backman make sure you bring your a game lol

vazie31
7 Feb 2008, 14:08
Just got some news that will rock the nfl divvy 1 comp, so big you could almost put $ on lalor winning the flag, just spoke to an old wing man from lalor that has already won 4 divvy 1 flags back in his hay day, He tells me he is ready to give up being the runner and has backed him self to kick at least 50-60 goals this season in the 1st next to big red, so look out backman make sure you bring your a game lol

Wouldnt be Russel Jessop would it?

greatjudds
7 Feb 2008, 15:00
Wouldnt be Russel Jessop would it?
The ugly frog. He wont go near it. who's going to look after him, wayne cassar....dasha will prob line up for the bloods, they will be too small and young..:D:D

RiverRat
7 Feb 2008, 15:03

I wouldn't get ahead of yourself too much, you are playing the machine team round 1, no doubt it will be the bloods biggest test in a while.

Abers08
7 Feb 2008, 20:11
if you put your $ Shayne froggy watts then your correct can the large fella do it? might need to put some km in the old legs to get back to his to his past playing weight:D:D:thumbsu: on ya froggy

M.O.T.H.
7 Feb 2008, 21:36
if you put your $ Shayne froggy watts then your correct can the large fella do it? might need to put some km in the old legs to get back to his to his past playing weight:D:D:thumbsu: on ya froggy

"ABERS08". Certainly an interesting pseudonym!! Any connection to Aberfeldie FC in EDFL? :confused::confused::confused:

Mr Cannons
8 Feb 2008, 19:17
Big Jezza from whittlesea, signed with northcote park tonight.
Very handy pick up for the cougars.:thumbsu:

Doona2
8 Feb 2008, 20:58

King oath it is :thumbsu:

ringwodchef
9 Feb 2008, 11:14

Sad to see big Jezz leave the nest, was the best ruckmen in divvy 2 will do well in divvy 1 good luck to him

CHEF

Pheonix20
11 Feb 2008, 09:08
Looks like the bergers have finally got an under 19 team up and running although it will be interesting to see how long they last after their trip to Torumbury on the weekend.
One kid suffered alcoholic poisoning, another got flogged after throwing empty stubbies at a $100,000 malabu, another decided to take a cheap shot at a young bloke who just happened to be the son of a former heidelberg player and also the brother of a current player who then sought retribution and gave him a flogging and then as a drunken group they wanted to fight every person along the river at 4.00am.
Class act boys, where did you get that lot from.:thumbsd:

I am advised that the parents of some of them that were in the vicintiy were also rightly disgusted.:thumbsu:

looker
11 Feb 2008, 09:35
Looks like the bergers have finally got an under 19 team up and running although it will be interesting to see how long they last after their trip to Torumbury on the weekend.
One kid suffered alcoholic poisoning, another got flogged after throwing empty stubbies at a $100,000 malabu, another decided to take a cheap shot at a young bloke who just happened to be the son of a former heidelberg player and also the brother of a current player who then sought retribution and gave him a flogging and then as a drunken group they wanted to fight every person along the river at 4.00am.

I am advised that the parents of some of them that were in the vicintiy were also rightly disgusted.:thumbsu:

Lol. Now that's the type of reading I enjoy on this forum!

vazie31
11 Feb 2008, 09:38

These boys might be a good match up to northcote park under 19's.

The Boof
11 Feb 2008, 10:35

Pheonix stop throwing off in an attempt to shift the focus away from what is happening at Bundoora:) An unlikely story brother.

Regards

Pheonix20
11 Feb 2008, 12:07
Pheonix stop throwing off in an attempt to shift the focus away from what is happening at Bundoora:) An unlikely story brother.

Regards

Aryes Back at Bundoora

Pheonix20
11 Feb 2008, 12:10
Try the name Drapac, Boof and see what you get:cool:

stooge01
11 Feb 2008, 14:00

Regards

Hey boof can you give me whos in and whos out from the bergers for this season.