View Full Version : Northern Football League Div 1 - CLOSED
Talking with a current long standing NFL/DVFL Ump, the Umps are struggling for numbers. There have been a couple of recruits, however none of experience. Have lost several to higher ranks, so Ump division have tried contacting some ex-umpries to see if they are interested in blowing the whistle another year. Post their meeting over a week ago I have not heard anything more.
Perhaps whistleblower could provide some more insight into the matter.
joshooaa
9 Apr 2008, 18:02
LOL, not quite accurate Joshy. ;)
The lad you are thinking of played for Dimmies per possession. It is probably fair to say that the "kid" got a fair few possies during that that stint and he almost ran Marathon (dims sims) out of business. :p
Another rumour suggests that the same kid may well have run through an Ex-AFl legend who was coaching the Oaks at the time because he stole one of the kids Dimmies! BTW, that Ex-AFL Legend has an iconic mullet, a Mo and 2 sons currently playing at AFL clubs and another at a VFL club. :rolleyes: I wonder who that was ?
Gee, i didnt realise that Dipper's sons had made it onto AFL lists ;)
whistle blower
9 Apr 2008, 18:04
yes all the above may be true.
however time will be the key here.
we have not been looked after to well during the off season,(multiple training grounds to name a few).
watch this space & please advise in a nice way if the umpiring is just treading water or in fact it improves.
The Boof
9 Apr 2008, 19:09
yes all the above may be true.
however time will be the key here.
we have not been looked after to well during the off season,(multiple training grounds to name a few).
watch this space & please advise in a nice way if the umpiring is just treading water or in fact it improves.
I'm confident all will go well Whsitle provided the umpires keep their egos in check.
Regards
Just Lookin In
9 Apr 2008, 21:14
who would b expecting to take the points in the round 1 clashes for this week?
and who would b the game of the round that everyone should b keepin an eye on?
yellowman08
9 Apr 2008, 22:56
I'm confident all will go well Whsitle provided the umpires keep their egos in check.
Regards
Wait to see the uniforms.........
Kevin S is trying to do his best in very bad conditions. However bring on ROUND 1!
footys back home
9 Apr 2008, 23:53
Kevin S is trying to do his best in very bad conditions. However bring on ROUND 1!
Ordinary effort so far.
A Living God
9 Apr 2008, 23:53
In the DV leader it has all the in's and out's for the div 1 teams.
Monty's out are listed as Jake Hume and Ryan Hocking, who the fcuk are they?
footys back home
9 Apr 2008, 23:54
Why would you hold back club orders of jumpers, so the Umpires get their gear on time. The umpires surely could wear last years gear.
Clubs are desperately short of jumpers
I have heard some teams may have to forfeit in Junior grades because of uniforms not arriving after being on order for 3 months
who would b expecting to take the points in the round 1 clashes for this week?
and who would b the game of the round that everyone should b keepin an eye on?
Cougars game on sunday should be a cracker bit of a crowd heading down I heard
yellowman08
10 Apr 2008, 08:11
Why would you hold back club orders of jumpers, so the Umpires get their gear on time. The umpires surely could wear last years gear.
Clubs are desperately short of jumpers
I have heard some teams may have to forfeit in Junior grades because of uniforms not arriving after being on order for 3 months
That decision would have been the NFL not Kevin. The umpires and Kevin are focused on umpiring. In fact we prefer the old uniforms (quality and look) and had little to do with the making of the new uniforms.
Pheonix20
10 Apr 2008, 10:26
Round One, the big game will obviously be Mont V Bundy. A win for Mont would indicate that they are on the right track, a loss would confirm that they still wear their collars a bit tight making breathing difficult.:eek:
Jewelsandbullet
10 Apr 2008, 10:33
Round One, the big game will obviously be Mont V Bundy. A win for Mont would indicate that they are on the right track, a loss would confirm that they still wear their collars a bit tight making breathing difficult.:eek:
and that coming from a Bulls man:confused::eek:
king gary
10 Apr 2008, 10:41
Here is my predictions for Round 1:
Bundoora to bring Mont back down to earth by 21pts
Eltham to have to much legs for Greensborough by 30pts
West Preston to big and strong for the young Creek boys by 36pts
Heidelberg to shut up the critics and welcome Lalor to div 1. by 66pts
North Heidelberg to skillful for the Cougars by 29pts
Just an opinion, if anyone else cares to put there views also it would be interesting to read.
Jewelsandbullet
10 Apr 2008, 10:45
Here is my predictions for Round 1:
Bundoora to bring Mont back down to earth by 21pts
Eltham to have to much legs for Greensborough by 30pts
West Preston to big and strong for the young Creek boys by 36pts
Heidelberg to shut up the critics and welcome Lalor to div 1. by 66pts
North Heidelberg to skillful for the Cougars by 29pts
Just an opinion, if anyone else cares to put there views also it would be interesting to read.
Mont over Bulls 15 pts
Slime to bring Panther back down to earth 21 pts
West over creek
Bergers 10 goals of the bloods
Norf 10 goals over Cougars
bong pocket
10 Apr 2008, 10:53
Mont over Bulls 15 pts
West over creek
MONT TO BEAT BUNDOORA 59 PTS
ELTHAM TO BEAT GREENSBOROUGH 43 PTS
WEST PRESTON TO BEAT DIAMOND CREEK 49 POINTS
HEIDELBERG TO BEAT LALOR 103 PTS
NORTH HEIDELBERG TO BEAT NORTHCOTE PARK 71 PTS
READ EM AND WEAP
king gary
10 Apr 2008, 12:42
Mont over Bulls 15 pts
West over creek
Very amusing J&B, like I said it is only my opinion, no need to get your back up against the wall becuase somebody tipped against your beloved Mont, I just think after all the recruiting they have done and all the hype surrounded around Mont that Bundoora may just bring them back to humanity, especially at Bundoora. If at Mont different story, but not at Bundoora sorry J&B. All the best for this week though, and like I say only an opinion, glad you had yours. :thumbsu:
TIGER ROCKET
10 Apr 2008, 12:45
i see in todays heraldsun that the doggies have lost chris stewart and josh jones to coburg vfl. with martello going and gadget retiring its all gotta be making it hard for this year.hey boof are you going saturday to gisborne if you are i'll see you there.go tiges.
the club has lost the aforementioned players.as well casey brown has gone to fitzroy stars,with a host of others and shannon green has also pullled up stumps to play elsewhere.
lots of new guys at nth,from country leagues and if they click earlier than expected,will give competition a big shake.
I won't name them as they aren't big name players except for s harvey,but i have seen the new guys play and they are up to nfl senior standard.
A Living God
10 Apr 2008, 12:55
Monty by 10 points over the Bundoora
Eltham by 5 goals over the slime
West Preston by 10 goals over Diamo
Nth by 6 goals over Northcote
and in massive upset Lalor by 3 points over Heidelberg, the big red to kick 12.
Jewelsandbullet
10 Apr 2008, 12:56
Very amusing J&B, like I said it is only my opinion, no need to get your back up against the wall becuase somebody tipped against your beloved Mont, I just think after all the recruiting they have done and all the hype surrounded around Mont that Bundoora may just bring them back to humanity, especially at Bundoora. If at Mont different story, but not at Bundoora sorry J&B. All the best for this week though, and like I say only an opinion, glad you had yours. :thumbsu:
Back's not up against the wall KG ... and there certainly has been some pumping up of the Panther tyers and there quality youth on these pages of late too.- For what's its worth I reckon the Slime might surprise this week. I think they match up well against Eltham, they did have an unexpected win over you blokes last year?
All the best too:thumbsu:
The Boof
10 Apr 2008, 13:05
Over to you KA. Conspicuous by your absence I note.
Regards
Pheonix20
10 Apr 2008, 13:06
and that coming from a Bulls man:confused::eek:
At least we wait for the granny to choke:D
Mont over Bulls by 7 points
Eltham over Boro by 22 points
West Preston over creek by 48
heidelberg over lalor by 23
Norf of NP by 56
Jewelsandbullet
10 Apr 2008, 13:10
I guess that's some consolation for you...
Still a bit early to go for the throat call after round 1....
Wanna wager Pheonix?
Pheonix20
10 Apr 2008, 13:14
I guess that's some consolation for you...
Still a bit early to go for the throat call after round 1....
Wanna wager Pheonix?
Sorry jewels my personal interest is out for two years so i'm in it for the beers
The Boof
10 Apr 2008, 13:15
"New Coach Ray Shaw: We're not worrying about other teams at the moment." (Whittlesea Leader 8 April 2008)
Regards
Jewelsandbullet
10 Apr 2008, 13:17
Sorry jewels my personal interest is out for two years so i'm in it for the beers
Fair enough mate .. you can buy me one after ... win or lose :D
ifyoucandodgeawrench
10 Apr 2008, 13:51
How so Dodge, will you still be allowed to whack blokes, (not in the underbelly sense);)
Apparently so, just ask this bloke :D
http://www.nobleparkfsc.com.au/clubs/bulls07/img/players07/HOSKIN.jpg
Seriously though.... they have a different interpritation of holding the ball, don't expect AFL style push in the backs and defenders will get a fair go. Not saying that the latter two are different currently in the NFL, just a couple of things I noticed from the umps in the praccy game.
The Boof
10 Apr 2008, 15:48
What can happen when the Yarra opens up. North eastern view of the den. Club house below centre left.
http://www.heidelbergfc.com.au/images/Flood_400px.jpg
liquorman
10 Apr 2008, 16:10
Hey Lads,
Haven't posted for a while, but have been reading the usual dribble over the last couple of weeks. Here are my predictions for the upcoming season.
Bergers will go through undefeated again, win the granny by a record 200 points (over who I don't care), and all you blokes will whinge all year about how much we pay players
Mont will be the usual insipid retards they are every year, would really love to see them be the ones we beat by 200, but probably won't make four
Umpires will be as crap as they are every year, and sorry to burst your bubble whistle blower but we hate you guys even when you umpire well
Lalor to finish on the bottom and be relegated, will probably try to blame heidelberg for it somehow again
Chris Hall to win goal kicking with 124 for the year
Blair Harvey to win Smith medal with record 50 votes
Albury to win O&M premiership (not that any of you guys care)
Last but not least, Bugsy's head will actually explode in the early hours of a Sunday morning, somewhere in Melbourne
Only my opinion boys, good luck to you all.
GO BERGS :thumbsu:
P.S Late prediction just in.... the North Heidelberg F.C to have a fight in the club rooms every saturday night of the season, and 15 cars will be knocked off from car park.
yellowman08
10 Apr 2008, 16:12
Hey Lads,
Haven't posted for a while, but have been reading the usual dribble over the last couple of weeks. Here are my predictions for the upcoming season.
Bergers will go through undefeated again, win the granny by a record 200 points (over who I don't care), and all you blokes will whinge all year about how much we pay players
Mont will be the usual insipid retards they are every year, would really love to see them be the ones we beat by 200, but probably won't make four
Umpires will be as crap as they are every year, and sorry to burst your bubble whistle blower but we hate you guys even when you umpire well
Lalor to finish on the bottom and be relegated, will probably try to blame heidelberg for it somehow again
Last but not least, Bugsy's head will actually explode in the early hours of a Sunday morning, somewhere in Melbourne
P.S Late prediction just in.... the North Heidelberg F.C to have a fight in the club rooms every saturday night of the season, and 15 cars will be knocked off from car park.
Well after the tripe you should not post again for a while.
Hey Lads,
Quality as always Liquorman :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Jewelsandbullet
10 Apr 2008, 16:37
Hey Lads,
Don't forget our bet
Bruce Almighty
10 Apr 2008, 17:03
Hey Lads,
Great work Sheepy.Can you ring me on my mobile.lost my phone to a very scared Indian cab driver who took off when I was getting money for him at the ATM.I must admit I was very p**sed and giving him grief so he took his chance when he had it to avoid the final slaughter only my jacket and phone was still in cab.I think it was a Curry in Hurry .
king gary
10 Apr 2008, 17:15
Back's not up against the wall KG ... and there certainly has been some pumping up of the Panther tyers and there quality youth on these pages of late too.- For what's its worth I reckon the Slime might surprise this week. I think they match up well against Eltham, they did have an unexpected win over you blokes last year?
All the best too:thumbsu:
J&B, you are very correct in saying that the Slime did indeed have an upset victory over the Panther last year, and yes I do agree that they match up very well, just like the Panthers, the Slime will be very quick and with alot of youth. Makes for a good contest, lets hope its open free flowing football and plenty of goals are kicked at either end. :thumbsu:
M.O.T.H.
10 Apr 2008, 17:57
"New Coach Ray Shaw: We're not worrying about other teams at the moment." (Whittlesea Leader 8 April 2008)
Regards
If isn't worrying about other teams then what was he doing down at Mont training last week? :confused:
upncomer
10 Apr 2008, 20:54
Hey Lads,
Come on mate that last thing you said about North was not funny at all. The Melbourne Comedy festival is on at the moment i suggest you leave the comedy to those blokes coz your not too good at it.
whistle blower
10 Apr 2008, 22:41
hey liquorman,after what was said of umpiring(slagging as usual).
did you not in a post a while ago say that the umps on their trip put paid to a few clubs on end of season trips .were the best drinkers at your establishment.
its all tongue in cheek stuff i know.
might even go on a trip this year & see what all the fuss is about .
best of luck all those playing (or attempting too)
wb
Kickass
11 Apr 2008, 01:04
Over to you KA. Conspicuous by your absence I note.
Regards
Sorry to have disappointed ya Boof, I only read and post on BF 363 days of the year .
Surely i'm entitled to miss a day or two.
:D
Jewelsandbullet
11 Apr 2008, 10:27
Help me with a bit of a benchmarking exercise, can you advise what your club charges for:
a) Pots
b) Cans
Cheers
bearfan
11 Apr 2008, 11:01
J&B,
LPFC
Heavy Cans $3
Light Cans $2.50
At hurstbridge last week noticed that Heavies were $3.30 and Light $2.80.
Might be the year that a few clubs bite the bullet and put the prices up.
Lot of mucking around with small change though
The Boof
11 Apr 2008, 12:52
Well after the tripe you should not post again for a while.
Be not too harsh YELLA. You’ll cum to appreciate lick her man all in good time.
Mont
Eltham
Creek
Of Course
North
Regards
TIGER ROCKET
11 Apr 2008, 19:49
Hey Lads,
after this post we all hope it's a while since you decide to post again.
what a load of dribble.
my tips for round one
bundoora to upset the monty applecart
eltham
d creek
heidelberg
north
Manboobssafrez
11 Apr 2008, 20:02
Just got back after 10 years in WA, see its no longer the DVFL, just some information on a couple of Heidelberg Players if they are still running around stood out back in the mid to late 90's. No.5 a young bloke called Barry Walker or similar about 6 foot 2 with a big black flat top use to show a bit at CHB. An a big hefty full back #11 for HFC a big young country boy in a man's body had thighs on him like Leigh Matthews. Any information be much appreciated. Might head down for a look tomorrow see how much it has changed...
Bruce Almighty
12 Apr 2008, 00:52
Just got back after 10 years in WA, see its no longer the DVFL, just some information on a couple of Heidelberg Players if they are still running around stood out back in the mid to late 90's. No.5 a young bloke called Barry Walker or similar about 6 foot 2 with a big black flat top use to show a bit at CHB. An a big hefty full back #11 for HFC a big young country boy in a man's body had thighs on him like Leigh Matthews. Any information be much appreciated. Might head down for a look tomorrow see how much it has changed...
Funny you say that because at the same time there was a bloke that never spoke a word yet was allways happy and kept clapping his hands.His name started with "H"
If you remember there numbers Then you should know but Let me tell you.One is a drunk and has a chest like Austin powers and the other chaged his name after a couple of stints at North Melbourn and Fitzroy .He changed his name from Mellon to Lemon
liquorman
12 Apr 2008, 01:00
Go to bed Dale :confused:
Bruce Almighty
12 Apr 2008, 01:00
Winners
Without even Knowing Who is playing I will say this
Heidelberg by 34
bundoora by 4
Nth Heid by 28
Bruce Almighty
12 Apr 2008, 01:01
Go to bed Dale :confused:
You first .You are playing footy today
Bruce Almighty
12 Apr 2008, 01:03
Winners
Without even Knowing Who is playing I will say this
Heidelberg by 34
bundoora by 4
Nth Heid by 28
The rest make up the numbers of this comp.Sorry but pick your game up and only then will we talk about .
Mont can try as much as they like but they miss the sole ingredient of what it is all about. You dont have any one in the club that is around now that was sucsessful so you try to copy everyone else's idea of spending lot's of money.The right characters will get you there but you insist on blizt players who Cannot produce.
liquorman
12 Apr 2008, 01:07
I know, just got home from work. It was the Albury Gold Cup today, pub is full of drunk glamours, you would have loved it my friend.
Just caught the last quarter of the footy, geez those bombers are soft mate.
Better go to bed, cause some poor full back from Yarrawonga is in for a long day tomorrow.
Good luck to the berger boys :thumbsu:
Bruce Almighty
12 Apr 2008, 01:27
I know, just got home from work. It was the Albury Gold Cup today, pub is full of drunk glamours, you would have loved it my friend.
Just caught the last quarter of the footy, geez those bombers are soft mate.
Better go to bed, cause some poor full back from Yarrawonga is in for a long day tomorrow.
Good luck to the berger boys :thumbsu:
Good luck.You are going to need it.The advertisemnet to my left suggest that there is some lesbian singles in my area but that means jack when you dont have ther number.....
Funny you say that because at the same time there was a bloke that never spoke a word yet was allways happy and kept clapping his hands.His name started with "H"
If you remember there numbers Then you should know but Let me tell you.One is a drunk and has a chest like Austin powers and the other chaged his name after a couple of stints at North Melbourn and Fitzroy .He changed his name from Mellon to Lemon
Lol, I like it..
went and watched themont vs bundy game.
good game, good crowd, but that is the worst ground i have ever. nfl needs to do something. plus i dont know if any one else was at the game but i think there should be clash jumpers. could hardly tell the difference.
any thoughts?
A Living God
12 Apr 2008, 18:16
went and watched themont vs bundy game.
good game, good crowd, but that is the worst ground i have ever. nfl needs to do something. plus i dont know if any one else was at the game but i think there should be clash jumpers. could hardly tell the difference.
any thoughts?
Good game and a good win by Monty. Don't really agree on the clash jumpers, I dont find the clash that bad. Also shane Whitnal is carrying a lot of weight, he doesn't look fit enough to be playing a-grade football.
stringa
12 Apr 2008, 19:48
Good game and a good win by Monty. Don't really agree on the clash jumpers, I dont find the clash that bad. Also shane Whitnal is carrying a lot of weight, he doesn't look fit enough to be playing a-grade football.
Yeah that may be the case at the moment. The big fella had knee surgery 4 weeks ago though...so not a bad effort to be back on the field.
Mont are a good side but will need to get the cheque book out again if they think they are gonna win a flag...the may have one by 6 but were at full strength just about. Bundoora had 4 starting players out...time will tell I guess, just how good they both are. :cool:
Go the Bulls!!:D
Just remember that was at bulls home ground, if its was played at mont it could have been an even bigger margin, bulls ground is in shocking condition needs alot of work!
RiverRat
12 Apr 2008, 20:34
Bergers on top in all three grades, who would of thought?
Made4September
13 Apr 2008, 00:04
anyone know what the go is with Brett Jeffrey? still Boort bound?
Yeah that may be the case at the moment. The big fella had knee surgery 4 weeks ago though...so not a bad effort to be back on the field.
Mont are a good side but will need to get the cheque book out again if they think they are gonna win a flag...the may have one by 6 but were at full strength just about. Bundoora had 4 starting players out...time will tell I guess, just how good they both are. :cool:
Your lucky it was only 6,if the umpires didnt bring you back into the game in the third it would have been more.Maybe Bundoora needs to bring out the cheque book because you certanly havent won a flag recently by recruiting yarrambat ,millpark juniors and preston seconds.see you in round 10 for a good dose of the same this time with some atmosphere at the nest.For the record you guys have choked the last "two games"http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gif
Also sad to here the panther going down to the slime by the barest of margins on what could only be descrided as a ground that you could eat your "dinner off" or would that be your "own shit"http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon12.gif
BlindedByTheLight
13 Apr 2008, 10:42
Your lucky it was only 6,if the umpires didnt bring you back into the game in the third it would have been more.Maybe Bundoora needs to bring out the cheque book because you certanly havent won a flag recently by recruiting yarrambat ,millpark juniors and preston seconds.see you in round 10 for a good dose of the same this time with some atmosphere at the nest.For the record you guys have choked the last "two games"http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gif
who played well for monty? the nfl website doesnt have any of that information, and most matches dont have all the best players and goal kickers. pretty poor effort by the nfl administration!
did brayden shaw play as he isnt listed amongst the bundoora players and if he did how did he go?
LLmoose
13 Apr 2008, 10:51
who played well for monty? the nfl website doesnt have any of that information, and most matches dont have all the best players and goal kickers. pretty poor effort by the nfl administration!
did brayden shaw play as he isnt listed amongst the bundoora players and if he did how did he go?
Its the responsibility of both teams to enter their correct teamsheets and scores. The NFL has nothing to do with entering that stuff.
Bergers on top in all three grades, who would of thought?
you played lalor for starters,.... and its round one. your under 19s will not be top for long
BlindedByTheLight
13 Apr 2008, 11:20
Quote:
Originally Posted by ippa http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=10643934#post10643934)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlindedByTheLight http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=10644381#post10644381)
Its the responsibility of both teams to enter their correct teamsheets and scores. The NFL has nothing to do with entering that stuff.
thanks but a big strange that more than half the clubs havent bothered to enter the information and no numbers against the players that they have listed. are the clubs fined for this? how can people who dont see the match know who played well?
so who did play well for monty and did shaw play for bundoora?
A Living God
13 Apr 2008, 11:34
thanks but a big strange that more than half the clubs havent bothered to enter the information and no numbers against the players that they have listed. are the clubs fined for this? how can people who dont see the match know who played well?
In the record it said they where having problems with the away teams entering their stats for the match.
so who did play well for monty and did shaw play for bundoora?
Best Players for Monty
Dizzy, King, McGough, Santaro, Fino, Curtly
Goal kickers:
Dizzy and Gutto kicked a handful each, Cusack kick a couple, Josh(the big one) kicked one, sagey may have got one
I think shaw did play but not certain.
king gary
13 Apr 2008, 11:35
Does anyone know the result of the North Heidelberg vs Northcote Park game? Who were the better players, who kicked goals and how did both teams look?
A Living God
13 Apr 2008, 11:50
Does anyone know the result of the North Heidelberg vs Northcote Park game? Who were the better players, who kicked goals and how did both teams look?
Sunday match, it hasn't been played yet.
So for those at the Eltham/Boro game, do you think the siren went before the Greensborough bloke booted the ball or not.
Honestly, I thought the siren went between he let the ball go, and before he kicked it, but it would have been so difficult for umpires to decide, if it were AFL there would be a Sirengate injunction.
Rocky Hutchison
13 Apr 2008, 12:02
i see Brett Jeffrey has returned to N'cote Park. just a 1 week thing? or is he back?
So for those at the Eltham/Boro game, do you think the siren went before the Greensborough bloke booted the ball or not.
Honestly, I thought the siren went between he let the ball go, and before he kicked it, but it would have been so difficult for umpires to decide, if it were AFL there would be a Sirengate injunction.
Siren went off before the kick, but it was close and the Ump did not have a chance to react.
Yes it would have been difficult for the Umps to decide.
Made for interesting watching though, even as a Eltham supporter
Would be interested to here what the Radio commentators were saying, they were right next to the siren and would have known that it had sounded prior to the kick
A Living God
13 Apr 2008, 12:51
The game doesn't end when the siren is blown, the game end when the umpires signals the game to end. So the siren may of sounded but it takes the umpire a couple of second to react to the game actually hasn't ended.
M.O.T.H.
13 Apr 2008, 13:18
Thank god the Bundoora v Montmorency game didn't end in the same way. Could barely hear the siren all day unless I'm going deaf.
The game doesn't end when the siren is blown, the game end when the umpires signals the game to end. So the siren may of sounded but it takes the umpire a couple of second to react to the game actually hasn't ended.
Which in essence I believed true Living God until "Sirengate" where St Kilda where stripped of the 2 points they got for a draw as the game was deemed stopped when the siren was sounded Not when the umps heard it 20 seconds later
yellowman08
13 Apr 2008, 18:40
Which in essence I believed true Living God until "Sirengate" where St Kilda where stripped of the 2 points they got for a draw as the game was deemed stopped when the siren was sounded Not when the umps heard it 20 seconds later
In fact, whistle blower should be able to confrim, but the game ends when the umpire (or any umpire on the gound) "hears" the siren, not when they signal becuase at times they dont have time to signal.
Was is loud? I am guessing that a large crowd on the hill with a 5pt ball game at the time would have made some noise.
A Living God
13 Apr 2008, 18:55
In fact, whistle blower should be able to confrim, but the game ends when the umpire (or any umpire on the gound) "hears" the siren, not when they signal becuase at times they dont have time to signal.
Was is loud? I am guessing that a large crowd on the hill with a 5pt ball game at the time would have made some noise.
10.4.2 Siren Heard by Field Umpire
Play in each quarter shall come to an end when any one of the field
Umpires hears the siren.
10.4.3 Signal
A field Umpire shall signal that he or she has heard the siren by
blowing a whistle and holding both arms above his or her head.
If immediately before hearing the siren, a field Umpire is of the
opinion that a Player should be awarded a Free Kick or a Mark,
the field Umpire shall signal that play has come to an end and then
award the Free Kick or Mark to the Player. A Free Kick will not be
awarded where the football has been kicked and, after the field
Umpire has heard the siren, lands out of bounds on the full.
I think your correct.
It was loud but I was in very close proximity of it. There was a fair crowd but I reckon they heard it but it was close to when he kicked it and they had no idea what to do.
yellowman08
13 Apr 2008, 19:19
It was loud but I was in very close proximity of it. There was a fair crowd but I reckon they heard it but it was close to when he kicked it and they had no idea what to do.
Well they either heard it or they didn’t. I am not sure what you mean by they didn’t know what to do.
A mate who was there said that many supporters closer to the Eltham coaches box said they didn’t hear it and where wondering why the greensy bench where moving onto the ground.
stringa
13 Apr 2008, 19:34
[quote=ippa;10643934]Your lucky it was only 6,if the umpires didnt bring you back into the game in the third it would have been more.Maybe Bundoora needs to bring out the cheque book because you certanly havent won a flag recently by recruiting yarrambat ,millpark juniors and preston seconds.see you in round 10 for a good dose of the same this time with some atmosphere at the nest.For the record you guys have choked the last "two games"http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gif
i agree with that, they have fallen over at the last hurdle but you must have a short memory pal !.Obviously you wern't at monts finals appearances a few years back.As for ground conditions I'll bring my bucket and spade for a day out at the mont beach later in the year!:confused:
BlindedByTheLight
13 Apr 2008, 20:41
Siren went off before the kick, but it was close and the Ump did not have a chance to react.
Yes it would have been difficult for the Umps to decide.
Made for interesting watching though, even as a Eltham supporter
Would be interested to here what the Radio commentators were saying, they were right next to the siren and would have known that it had sounded prior to the kick
heard the last few minutes on the radio and from what I could hear as they talked over each other was that they said that the siren went before the boro player kicked the ball.
also does anyone know why the nth heid vs ncote park match wasnt on the radio today? it usually is. will any of the sunday matches be on the radio?
TIGER ROCKET
13 Apr 2008, 20:44
full credit to nthcote park today.ran harder,more accountability and we couldn't stop the monster b jeffery.
too much left to too few for the north boys.
Brayden Shaw played for bundoora. However, i don't reckon i saw him get one tough ball. Every time he had it (which wasn't much) he was miles away from anyone. Needs to borrow some balls if he wants to be a good player in the NFL!
stringa
13 Apr 2008, 22:01
Brayden Shaw played for bundoora. However, i don't reckon i saw him get one tough ball. Every time he had it (which wasn't much) he was miles away from anyone. Needs to borrow some balls if he wants to be a good player in the NFL!
to many cans young fella.Stick to the softys next week!:confused:
Siren DID sound before boro player kicked the ball, this result should now be refered to the NFL for investigation.
Did Eltham tape the game? This would provide evidence that needs to be produced to the NFL. This would be the only way that this result could be changed.
Great crowd at Eltham for the first game back, this could have also been Elthams down fall as the siren couldn't be heard over the crowd.
Maybe time to invest in a louder siren!
who was out?
Radio commentators were of the opinion that the siren hd souded, prior to player kicking the ball. However, they were commentating from the timekeepers box, and were sitting a mere metre away from the siren.
It was either Kouta, or the new commentor that was adamant that the ball was kicked after the siren, and he voiced his opinion several times prior to the umps getting together, and finally singalling the all clear.
I concur with the opinion that it is 'when the ump hears the siren', as opposed to when he/she signalls end of game.
Secondaly, there was an interested on-looker at the Bundy vs Monty clash on Sat. The one and only Micky McGuane. Where is the lad coaching nowadays? I didn't think he was involved with either club this year.
I thought that the ground centre would resemble a dust bowl, And I wasn't mistaken. Each time the ball was fought for in the centre, it took a good minute before the dust settled, and the game looked more like AFL, than a bad western movie. I was quite impressed with what I saw of the Mont boys.
onthepunt
13 Apr 2008, 22:54
Radio commentators were of the opinion that the siren hd souded, prior to player kicking the ball. However, they were commentating from the timekeepers box, and were sitting a mere metre away from the siren.
It was either Kouta, or the new commentor that was adamant that the ball was kicked after the siren, and he voiced his opinion several times prior to the umps getting together, and finally singalling the all clear.
I concur with the opinion that it is 'when the ump hears the siren', as opposed to when he/she signalls end of game.
Secondaly, there was an interested on-looker at the Bundy vs Monty clash on Sat. nowaThe one and only Micky McGuane. Where is the lad coaching days? I didn't think he was involved with either club this year.
I thought that the ground centre would resemble a dust bowl, And I wasn't mistaken. Each time the ball was fought for in the centre, it took a good minute before the dust settled, and the game looked more like AFL, than a bad western movie. I was quite impressed with what I saw of the Mont boys.
Mick Mcguane coaching Keilor in EDFL
Dont Know What Game You Were Watching? But Brayden Shaw And David Mitchell Were Clearly Bundy's 2 Best Players. And We Will See How Good Mont Really Are Next Week When The Play The Game Of The Round Against The Bergers. Should Be A Ripper.
Go Kingy You Good Thing.
And The Freo Game Last Year Was Only Reversed Because They Had Indepandendant And Impartial Video Footage. Even If Eltham Can Provide Video Footage I Think They Will Struggle. The Footage Could Be Tampered (not Suggesting Anything) With Or Probably Wont Be As Good As The Channel 9 Stuff.
RiverRat
14 Apr 2008, 00:20
What do the mont faithful anticipate will happen this week? Heidelberg last lost in 2006 so it will be a huge win if they can get up.
Pheonix20
14 Apr 2008, 09:33
Mont / Bundy probably the worst game I've seen in years, skills on both sides were crap, Bund couldn't take a mark in the forward 50 to save themselves, Donald Trump I mean King got his hands on it a lot in the ruck but was ineffective most of the day McGough was crap, whitnal and Harro were lucky as they apparently have a leather allergy and went the match unaffected. If it had not been for daniel Sage and brayden Shaw I would have stayed in the bar at halftime. It's gunna be a long year but I'm staying on Mont and why not I went over to the 3/4 time huddle and they gave me $20. Too much money being wasted on players boys, I'm worth more than that.
Changed my tip Either sage or shaw for B & F.:thumbsu:
devil's advocte
14 Apr 2008, 10:49
what goes around comes around.
last year Eltham beat Mont by a couple of points after the umpire awarded a mark to eltham in the goal square after the siren blew to end the 3rd quarter.....
Also the league would jump up and down on any club that went off publically at the umpires, yet the radio commentators who are on the league payroll were quite rude to the umpires...is that double standards?
yellowman08
14 Apr 2008, 11:15
last year Eltham beat Mont by a couple of points after the umpire awarded a mark to eltham in the goal square after the siren blew to end the 3rd quarter.....
Also the league would jump up and down on any club that went off publically at the umpires, yet the radio commentators who are on the league payroll were quite rude to the umpires...is that double standards?
Easy for the commentators as they were sitting in the box where the siren is blown. From what I am told none of the umpires heard the siren so they made the correct dicision. The other question is why did the timekeepers not keep blowing it until signled by the field umpire?
I guess the major thing here is do we need to audit all sirens that they are loud enough.
On the weekend we know Eltham and Bundoora were no good. There are others.... Diamond Creek is poor. Can anyone think of others?
The Cougars had a good win first up. Seemed to be cruising until the Dogs fought back in the 3rd quater. BJ kept us in the game and with the final quarter going goal for goal it took a couple on the trot for the cougars to see the finish line.
Best players: BJ, Marlon (exciting new recruit) Gazza in the last quater
Shocking ground, Cougars had 3 rolled ankles
king gary
14 Apr 2008, 12:43
Easy for the commentators as they were sitting in the box where the siren is blown. From what I am told none of the umpires heard the siren so they made the correct dicision. The other question is why did the timekeepers not keep blowing it until signled by the field umpire?
I guess the major thing here is do we need to audit all sirens that they are loud enough.
On the weekend we know Eltham and Bundoora were no good. There are others.... Diamond Creek is poor. Can anyone think of others?
Eltham vs Greensborough was a great contest, plenty of youth running around for both teams with quality skill level for most parts of the game. Alot of people had tipped Eltham to get over Boro quite easily, but some teams just match up well against each other and Eltham who are extremely quick and fit could not shake Boro, and credit to Boro for winning what was really a fantastic game regardless of what happened before, on or after the siren (who knows?). As for saying Eltham and Bundoora were no good, well I think its a bit early to be writing them off and saying they are no good, indeed Eltham didnt play to potential but still showed good signs that they can potentially match it with the big guns, and Bundoora met a rejuvinated Mont outfit which we have all heard good things about. And as for saying Creek are poor, well they have 4 points on the board and beat a team that many thought would walk it in against them. Few upsets over the weekend, or are they upsets? Only time will tell, but I have a feeling the competition may be alot closer between all teams this year unlike previous years where it was Heidelberg, daylight, Bundoora, Mont, North Heidelberg and the rest making up numbers.
King Gary, when yellowman08 said they were poor, I believe he was refering to the siren and not the actual team itself.
Northcote Park facilities were magnificent. The ground is in absolute A1 condition and the home club changerooms are as good as any i've seen.:thumbsu:
ALLDAY18
14 Apr 2008, 13:24
You must have a very exciting life if you can remember things like that mate! :rolleyes:
I played for Eltham v Greens & not one of our team (coaching staff & players) disputed the call, I heard the siren & thought it was a goal, end of story... Wouldve taken it if they said no goal tho! :D
Pheonix20
14 Apr 2008, 13:45
Allright I'll fess up I got two winners on the weekend.:eek:
Kickass
14 Apr 2008, 14:11
____, how can they say they didn't hear the siren. I heard the siren all the way from 15th green of the Beach course at 13th beach Golf Course!!
But shit happens. boro won. Panthers will regroup and will learn to close out games so that this is no longer an issue.
Hurts like buggery though especially when they snatched a game in controversial circumstances last year when awarded a goal clearly touched by at least two players moments before the siren sounded.
I think the slime have now used up all their "get out of jail cards". Panthers will get retribution later in the season.
But postitives to come out of it were (as reported back to me)- Massive Crowd, Great display of skillfull local Footy and Sportsmanship between 2 fierce (but freindly) rivals.
Exactly what the NFL should be all about. ( The Loss still ____en hurts though)
king gary
14 Apr 2008, 14:15
King Gary, when yellowman08 said they were poor, I believe he was refering to the siren and not the actual team itself.
Northcote Park facilities were magnificent. The ground is in absolute A1 condition and the home club changerooms are as good as any i've seen.:thumbsu:
Thanks for clearing that up maybe, obviously a misinterpretation of what yellowman was saying. Apologies yellowman. :thumbsu:
yellowman08
14 Apr 2008, 14:37
Yes I was talking about the siren, not creek.
yellowman08
14 Apr 2008, 14:41
____, how can they say they didn't hear the siren. I heard the siren all the way from 15th green of the Beach course at 13th beach Golf Course!!
That's funnny becuase it was confirmed that the Eltham coach could not hear it so he may have been on the 16th Green.
Jewelsandbullet
14 Apr 2008, 15:05
Your joking J&B, surely? I'll give you 40 points in both games, slab on each?
Just a freindly reminder of what's on this weeks game TeddyBear .... I think I might be a chance of getting back some of the cans I lost to Bruce last year ....
Kickass
14 Apr 2008, 15:24
Just a freindly reminder of what's on this weeks game TeddyBear .... I think I might be a chance of getting back some of the cans I lost to Bruce last year ....
Gee, Mont not only giving away plenty of $$$, they are also giving away free beer as well :D
I think you are gonna turn Brucey into an Alcoholic J&B, Oppps far too late, he already is. :rolleyes: