View Full Version : Northern Football League Div 1 - CLOSED
Kickass
14 Apr 2008, 15:26
That's funnny becuase it was confirmed that the Eltham coach could not hear it so he may have been on the 16th Green.
Na, Not true. He was in looking for a lost ball in the thickets of tea tree and sand dunes. Not very easy to hear (or see) anything in there :eek:
liquorman
14 Apr 2008, 15:27
Just a freindly reminder of what's on this weeks game TeddyBear .... I think I might be a chance of getting back some of the cans I lost to Bruce last year ....
I love the start of the seaon JB, when you are always so full of optimism. Wanna double it?
Jewelsandbullet
14 Apr 2008, 15:34
I love the start of the seaon JB, when you are always so full of optimism. Wanna double it?
What.. you're going to give me 80 points in???
bong pocket
14 Apr 2008, 15:39
just wanting top get some opinions
should vfl listed players be available to their " home" clubs ?
if so
allow only when not selected by vfl team ?
allow except for vfl team bye ( possibly going on the selection the week before) ?
allow under any circumstance ?
allow but the player/s must have qualified to a "homes club" rule that they have played 50 or more games with the club ?
There were a number of vfl listed players running around due to byes on the weekend some with bnorthern league clubs they have no tie to at all
Jewelsandbullet
14 Apr 2008, 15:40
Yeah okay 40 points .... two slabs. Done and witnessed (not sure how smart it is getting into a betting war for cans with a publican who calls himself the liquorman.. but I am on a winner this week!)
The Boof
14 Apr 2008, 15:46
Yeah okay 40 points .... two slabs.
Bruce, if you're in for a slab I'm in for a slab. That's 4 slabs J&B. Are we on?
Regards
Jewelsandbullet
14 Apr 2008, 15:50
Bruce, if you're in for a slab I'm in for a slab. That's 4 slabs J&B. Are we on?
Regards
Settle down Boof ... Teddy Bear owns the pub not me. I believe in sharing the wealth.. there are plenty of other Mont people on this forum... how bout you donate some slabs to them.
The Boof
14 Apr 2008, 16:03
Settle down Boof ... Teddy Bear owns the pub not me. I believe in sharing the wealth.. there are plenty of other Mont people on this forum... how bout you donate some slabs to them.
Fair enough J&B. We'll wait and see if anyone else at Mont want to sponsor the Heidelberg FC for Round 2.
Regards
GoalSneak38
14 Apr 2008, 16:41
The Cougars had a good win first up. Seemed to be cruising until the Dogs fought back in the 3rd quater. BJ kept us in the game and with the final quarter going goal for goal it took a couple on the trot for the cougars to see the finish line.
Best players: BJ, Marlon (exciting new recruit) Gazza in the last quater
Shocking ground, Cougars had 3 rolled ankles Shocking fans too. Went to watch a mate and couldn't believe some of the racist comments and try hard tough guys running around. Is the whole league like this?
SCARFACE
14 Apr 2008, 16:54
____, how can they say they didn't hear the siren. I heard the siren all the way from 15th green of the Beach course at 13th beach Golf Course!!
But shit happens. boro won. Panthers will regroup and will learn to close out games so that this is no longer an issue.
Hurts like buggery though especially when they snatched a game in controversial circumstances last year when awarded a goal clearly touched by at least two players moments before the siren sounded.
I think the slime have now used up all their "get out of jail cards". Panthers will get retribution later in the season.
But postitives to come out of it were (as reported back to me)- Massive Crowd, Great display of skillfull local Footy and Sportsmanship between 2 fierce (but freindly) rivals.
Exactly what the NFL should be all about. ( The Loss still ____en hurts though)
All this garbage about the umpires not hearing this and not hearing that, is a non issue as far as im concerned, if eltham were as good as they claim to be they never would have put themselves in that situation especially playing at home on a new surface and clubrooms, big home crowd quite dissapointing i would be looking closer to home and evaluating urselves first before othershttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon6.gif
Kickass
14 Apr 2008, 17:10
All this garbage about the umpires not hearing this and not hearing that, is a non issue as far as im concerned, if eltham were as good as they claim to be they never would have put themselves in that situation especially playing at home on a new surface and clubrooms, big home crowd quite dissapointing i would be looking closer to home and evaluating urselves first before othershttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon6.gif
Fair Comment mate. :thumbsu:
Amongst my usual drivel I did say
" the Panthers will regroup and will learn to close out games so that this is no longer an issue.".
Still 17 rounds of Footy to go and we do get a chance to make amends.
to many cans young fella.Stick to the softys next week!:confused:
I only had one! haha It might have been the activities the night before that effected my judgement. But in all honesty, he played with my bro growing up and he was soft then, soft now!
Blacky18
14 Apr 2008, 18:14
elthams facilites are shit they dont even have a siren that the umpires can hear. good club
Got grass on the ground though.
stringa
14 Apr 2008, 19:38
who was out?
*griggs from east burwood (can play)
*Budgie (skipper this year)
*Jigsy,Ruddell,M.Mitchell,brown
king gary
14 Apr 2008, 19:50
Very true, Eltham had plenty of chances to close out the game but didnt put the nail in the coffin from a spectators point of view anyway. All though as I have said previously, Greensborough do match up very well against Eltham, dont right Eltham off just yet SCARFACE, give the young Panthers some time to gel together as there are alot of new faces and they may be better than people's predictions. All the best. :thumbsu:
partyguts
14 Apr 2008, 21:51
well said scarface,great win to boro,great to win away an start the 2008 ball rolling 4 the slime.:thumbsu:
partyguts
14 Apr 2008, 22:08
Fair Comment mate. :thumbsu:
Amongst my usual drivel I did say
" the Panthers will regroup and will learn to close out games so that this is no longer an issue.".
Still 17 rounds of Footy to go and we do get a chance to make amends.
kickass! do you reckon that bloke from boro who got red carded will or should get weeks? did u see what happend??
Shocking fans too. Went to watch a mate and couldn't believe some of the racist comments and try hard tough guys running around. Is the whole league like this?
It was pretty sad maybe get onto the other side of the fence and show us your footy skills
Kickass
15 Apr 2008, 01:24
kickass! do you reckon that bloke from boro who got red carded will or should get weeks? did u see what happend??
sorry mate, missed seeing probably my 2nd game in past ten years due to a badly timed bout of R&R . Who the ____ organises a bloody Golf weekend away during the footy season :confused:
somebody i spoke with who was at the game and is unafflialiated to either side, said there wasn't much in it.
condelini
15 Apr 2008, 02:11
Fair enough J&B. We'll wait and see if anyone else at Mont want to sponsor the Heidelberg FC for Round 2.
Regards
yeah boof I'll take two slabs off you,I saw you guy's when we played last time at heidelberg! You were lucky...Coats off on saturday.
footys back home
15 Apr 2008, 07:46
Its the responsibility of both teams to enter their correct teamsheets and scores. The NFL has nothing to do with entering that stuff.
Yes it is the responsibility of the clubs. But what happens when the information is entered then unable to be processed by the sportingpulse software until monday, as was the case last weekend. That is the reason best players and goalkickers were unavailable. Two weeks in a row now
:thumbsd:
footys back home
15 Apr 2008, 08:09
I dont think we claim to be that good yet. That will take time.
Yes true we should not have been in that situation to start with. 9 of the 14 greensborough goals were kicked in time on periods. We have got to learn to play out each quater fully, When that happens we may be able to claim we are a finals contender. You will find that not one Eltham person on here is disputing the result. It should not have happened.
It was not the hearing of the sirens. It was the decisions leading up to that that killed us at that time. Umpires - ordinary for both sides
footys back home
15 Apr 2008, 08:23
I heard the siren. The Umpires heared the siren. the dispute was whether the ball was kicked before or after, and that unpires did not have a clue.
They did not have a clue all day!!
Facilties? You sound like a mont supporter. What a s.. thole dive that place is over there - It is well known as "Mount Misery"
yellowman08
15 Apr 2008, 11:28
[quote=footys back home;10672752]I heard the siren. The Umpires heared the siren. the dispute was whether the ball was kicked before or after, and that unpires did not have a clue.
\quote]
Didn't take long for the boots to be dug into the umpires. From all accounts it was a well fort out game of old fassion footy with the umpiring having little impact.
The Boof
15 Apr 2008, 11:29
yeah boof I'll take two slabs off you,I saw you guy's when we played last time at heidelberg! You were lucky...Coats off on saturday.
Dream on condelini. Are you going to fairdinkum back the boys or do you want the 40 points and play it safe like J&B. Your Terms and Conditions are?
J&B is condelini good for the 2?
Regards
I heard the siren. The Umpires heared the siren. the dispute was whether the ball was kicked before or after, and that unpires did not have a clue.
Facilties? You sound like a mont supporter. What a s.. thole dive that place is over there - It is well known as "Mount Misery"
Most Eltham supporters would also remember it as "the house of pain"given the fact you have only ever beaten us once in 28 years.see you in round 17 where we can show you the Ken Hines sheild you have rarely seenhttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gif
Jewelsandbullet
15 Apr 2008, 11:54
Dream on condelini. Are you going to fairdinkum back the boys or do you want the 40 points and play it safe like J&B. Your Terms and Conditions are?
Regards
Hey! I'm not playing it safe .. I'm just accepting the terms as offered.
As for condelini - hard to vouch as he is new to the forum - but if he is a Mont person, I'm sure he will be good to his word :thumbsu:
(not that it will matter Boof as you will be paying him)
Jewelsandbullet
15 Apr 2008, 11:58
I can't believe you got sucked in by that dribble..... if you bite at every post fbh .. we are certainly going to be hearing from you often!
Sleezy Rooster
15 Apr 2008, 12:13
West Preston = GONE Went to the game, terrible skills.. Long year ahead!
The Boof
15 Apr 2008, 12:24
[quote=yellowman08... Didn't take long for the boots to be dug into the umpires...quote]
Yep! that’s bigfooty YELLA. Regardless, recognition though knowing that you and your colleagues are actually out there (be it a positive or negative stress experience for all concerned) having a crack while others are not physically and/or psychologically capable. Not that many umpires going around.
Regards
The Boof
15 Apr 2008, 12:28
but if he is a Mont person, I'm sure he will be good to his word :thumbsu:
Good enough condelini.
Kickass
15 Apr 2008, 13:31
Most Eltham supporters would also remember it as "the house of pain"given the fact you have only ever beaten us once in 28 years.see you in round 17 where we can show you the Ken Hines sheild you have rarely seenhttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gif
No Ippa, Mont has not been a happy hunting ground for the Panther over far too many years.
I don't know about it being called Mt Misery or House of Pain but i do know it was so sandy there last year, we wouldn't have been able to dig ourselves out even if David Hassellhoff and Pammy and her inflatables were in our team.
I do have to correct you though and advise you we did in fact win 2 showdowns in a row so in the very least are familiar with the K.H.S and hopefully we will become more acquainted with it in R 8 31/5.:thumbsu:
Kickass
15 Apr 2008, 13:59
Re: Specialty Moderator for Northern FL boards
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey there I.M.S,
I would like to nominate The Boof to the position of speciality BF Moderator for NFL thread pages.
This is because he Knows Big words and stuff. and he likes to moderate others opinions into Heidelberg propaganda - so being the appointed moderator he can have his cake and eat it too.
Cheers
K.A
15 Apr 2008, 14:15
No Ippa, Mont has not been a happy hunting ground for the Panther over far too many years.
I don't know about it being called Mt Misery or House of Pain but i do know it was so sandy there last year, we wouldn't have been able to dig ourselves out even if David Hassellhoff and Pammy and her inflatables were in our team.
I do have to correct you though and advise you we did in fact win 2 showdowns in a row so in the very least are familiar with the K.H.S and hopefully we will become more acquainted with it in R 8 31/5.:thumbsu:
Bad news Kickey..The $750k plans for the new rooms include a reinforced concrete room to store the Kenny Heines Shield permanantly...Plus a dungeon to throw drunk opposition supporters in....
Kickass
15 Apr 2008, 14:25
Bad news Kickey..The $750k plans for the new rooms include a reinforced concrete room to store the Kenny Heines Shield permanantly...Plus a dungeon to throw drunk opposition supporters in....
LOL, Lead me straight to the the Dungeon..;)
Thanks for the correction kicka see you in round 8 on that lovely ground of yours!http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon12.gif
KrunchNKans
15 Apr 2008, 14:58
LOL, Lead me straight to the the Dungeon..;)
Funny you say that... I think Zac was designing a customised cell for a certain chubby Panther onballer....Good news....It will include a Plazzie....and Teddy Bear's old chip fryer:thumbsu:
Alter Ego
15 Apr 2008, 15:06
and Teddy Bear's old chip fryer
KNK
I believe Albury Football Club would make an offer.
Pity the big fella won't be at Para Rd this week. Canteen sales will certainly suffer.
M.O.T.H.
15 Apr 2008, 15:39
To other Clubs? I so, good. That's the way we like it.
M.O.T.H.
15 Apr 2008, 15:42
Welcome back KNK. HAven't heard from you for a while.
KrunchNKans
15 Apr 2008, 16:30
KNK
I believe Albury Football Club would make an offer.
Pity the big fella won't be at Para Rd this week. Canteen sales will certainly suffer.
Yes Mont had to make two of the canteen staff redundant when the big former Subiaco forward moved up to Albury.
Apparently his nickname up there is North Albury.....:rolleyes:
magpie#18
15 Apr 2008, 16:47
West Preston = GONE Went to the game, terrible skills.. Long year ahead!
agree
just ask!!!
15 Apr 2008, 17:11
agree
Magpie how can you say gone after 1 game? Where were they missing targets or skills just that bad. As an avid Rooster supporter it would be good to know leading into this week against Eltham.
partyguts
15 Apr 2008, 17:34
sorry mate, missed seeing probably my 2nd game in past ten years due to a badly timed bout of R&R . Who the ____ organises a bloody Golf weekend away during the footy season :confused:
somebody i spoke with who was at the game and is unafflialiated to either side, said there wasn't much in it.
u missed a ripper mate,good hard contest al day.. yeah i dont reckon much in it at all.. he should get off,was no barry hall... cheers mate.:cool:
Kickass
15 Apr 2008, 17:43
u missed a ripper mate,good hard contest al day.. yeah i dont reckon much in it at all.. he should get off,was no barry hall... cheers mate.:cool:
Hey PG,
You wouldn't happen to be a former panther player who once ashtrayed a fellow club legend (who was suffereing alcoholic poisioning) at a buck's weekend away at Echuca would you ???? ;)
partyguts
15 Apr 2008, 17:58
Hey PG,
You wouldn't happen to be a former panther player who once ashtrayed a fellow club legend (who was suffereing alcoholic poisioning) at a buck's weekend away at Echuca would you ???? ;)
nah mate u got the wrong bloke there,never played a game for u blokes just against ya,besides i didnt know there was any ledgends at eltham.:p
bobcobb
15 Apr 2008, 22:15
agree
west preston are finished. i know its only round 1 but they are pathetic. they are selfish and have terrible skills. they dont look like they are willing to do the 1%. long, long year ahead down west.
From the recent reports, could West Preston be an early front runner for relegation? When was the last time they played Div 2 footy? Back in about '96? Or did they drop back one more time after that year, and play in '98? Used to be the yo-yo team, much liked your beloved Eltham, KA.
Only differance, is that West have won a Divvy 1 flag, post yo-yo era.
Kickass
15 Apr 2008, 23:45
From the recent reports, could West Preston be an early front runner for relegation? When was the last time they played Div 2 footy? Back in about '96? Or did they drop back one more time after that year, and play in '98? Used to be the yo-yo team, much liked your beloved Eltham, KA.
Only differance, is that West have won a Divvy 1 flag, post yo-yo era.
I take it you mean yo-yo in an endearing kind of way ??
Yep, Character building times have been experienced by the Eltham sides of era 89 - 2002 . Five x 2nd Divy Flags and 4 x relegations - But all have helped to awaken the Sleeping Panther Giant.
As for WP, you have to remember that they did amalgamate (WP/RL) so not so sure you could compare them to Eltham.
Other Teams to have a couple of Dip ups and below in more recent times include my 2nd favorite NFL Team (Bullshit) Lalor, Creek, Eppin' and the Slimes as well.
Have A Crack
16 Apr 2008, 09:33
To All Lalor Supporters Out There !!
Scotty Morrison (2 - Time Cancer Survivor & Ex Lalor Player) Is Currently Doing The Great Walk To Beijing (The Wall) With Olivia Newton John & Others To Raise Money For A New Cancer Centre At The Austin Hospital.
It Is Very Inspiring To Watch These Guys Bust Their Arses To Raise Money For A Fantastic Cause.
You Can DONATE And Watch Their Journey Through The Website
www.greatwalktobeijing.com (http://www.greatwalktobeijing.com)
GO SCOTTY !!!:)
facts_rite
16 Apr 2008, 11:44
Have you guys started yet??
If so, how's me old mate Shane Harvey going over there?? Tearing it up or what??
king gary
16 Apr 2008, 13:29
Have you guys started yet??
If so, how's me old mate Shane Harvey going over there?? Tearing it up or what??
Indeed the NFL is up and running, from all reports and from the game in which I watched (Eltham vs Greensborough) the standard was fairly good across the board. As for 'your mate' Shane Harvey, kicked 5 on the weekend in a losing side, also kicked 7 in a practice match not to long ago against Whitlesea I think it may have been, correct me if I am wrong. So obviously going along nicely. :thumbsu:
Kickass
16 Apr 2008, 13:37
As per usual I'm having a very busy day at work ;) , but have just had time to scan the NFL clearnces listing.
A couple of clearances to catch my eye from recent days were:
Abdul-wahed Bassman - transferring from West Coburg back to West Preston, and then in same day clearance was processed 15/4 applied for a cleareance back to West Coburg - WTF ??
Brett Jeffrey - Cleared from Northcote Park (collective sigh of relief from all other NFL clubs except NORF who would be spewing it's few days too late!) to Boort.
Josh Shackleton (who, I hear you all groan .he he) - Aka as Big Footy's own Stooge01, has been cleared from Lalor to Fitzroy Stars.
Brett Jeffrey [/COLOR]- Cleared from Northcote Park (collective sigh of relief from all other NFL clubs except NORF who would be spewing it's few days too late!) to Boort.
Massive loss for us at the Cougars but he has left a legacy just need some of the younger fellers to step up and show the coach we can cover BJ.
*If the travel is too far, he will be back*
As per usual I'm having a very busy day at work ;) , but have just had time to scan the NFL clearnces listing.
Abdul-wahed Bassman - transferring from West Coburg back to West Preston, and then in same day clearance was processed 15/4 applied for a cleareance back to West Coburg - WTF ??
Brett Jeffrey - Cleared from Northcote Park (collective sigh of relief from all other NFL clubs except NORF who would be spewing it's few days too late!) to Boort.
Josh Shackleton (who, I hear you all groan .he he) - Aka as Big Footy's own Stooge01, has been cleared from Lalor to Fitzroy Stars.
You may find that Josh is Stooge01's brother.
TIGER ROCKET
16 Apr 2008, 15:41
F..K if only that clearance from b jeffrey had of come through before sunday's game,north would have started with a win,as he was clearly the difference between winning and losing
stooge01
16 Apr 2008, 20:51
Your not getting rid of me that easily leroy, thats my little bro im a lalor boy for life.
stooge01
16 Apr 2008, 20:53
To All Lalor Supporters Out There !!
Scotty Morrison (2 - Time Cancer Survivor & Ex Lalor Player) Is Currently Doing The Great Walk To Beijing (The Wall) With Olivia Newton John & Others To Raise Money For A New Cancer Centre At The Austin Hospital.
It Is Very Inspiring To Watch These Guys Bust Their Arses To Raise Money For A Fantastic Cause.
You Can DONATE And Watch Their Journey Through The Website
www.greatwalktobeijing.com (http://www.greatwalktobeijing.com)
GO SCOTTY !!!:)
well done scotty:thumbsu: hows he gona go when they interview him when every second word is fu ck
HULK HOGAN
16 Apr 2008, 20:59
Your not getting rid of me that easily leroy, thats my little bro im a lalor boy for life.
How did you go on sunday??
condelini
17 Apr 2008, 01:28
[quote=The Boof;10673779]Dream on condelini. Are you going to fairdinkum back the boys or do you want the 40 points and play it safe like J&B. Your Terms and Conditions are?
Well big fella i'm certainly backing the boys, and yes i'm good for it,
i'll take your cocky 40 points, who wouldn't look a gift horse in the mouth, but, hmmm,how interesting asking for terms and conditions,
one gets the feeling that. Well, i dont really have to say it, because your already questioning. because you, you have a feeling....you know....c'mon then !
Pheonix20
17 Apr 2008, 09:53
Just spoke to a bundy parent who tells me Brown who was belted last year and broke his sternum has had chest surgery and may be able to play football again one day. Good kid too!:thumbsu:
Kickass
17 Apr 2008, 09:57
Just spoke to a bundy parent who tells me Brown who was belted last year and broke his sternum has had chest surgery and may be able to play football again one day. Good kid too!:thumbsu:
Good News - But what was the story behind this one??
went past diamond creeks ground this morning and notice it was all riped upso where will they be playing there games
The Boof
17 Apr 2008, 12:05
[quote=condelini;10697375 Well big fella i'm certainly backing the boys [/quote]
Terms and Conditions
1. Forget the 40 points (that's between liquorman and J&B)
2. 1 slab of VB (2 if Bruce wants in)
3. Delivery to change rooms immediately after winning players sing club song
You're either UNCONDITIONALLY prepared to back the boys (unlike J&B) or you are not. I suspect not :p Take it or leave brother :)
Regards
Kickass
17 Apr 2008, 13:40
Slightly off the topic a bit.
Just noticed that there is a fixture up on NFL site for the inaugural season of the NFL Netball.
There appears to be 6 teams represented - Eltham, Diamond Creek, Lalor, Epping, Mernda & Mernda B.
Just interested who the Ins and Outs are and which team has the most talent. Can anyone shed some light??
BTW - I'm Not at all interested in what their netballing ability is, coz i don't care
Kickass
17 Apr 2008, 13:51
went past diamond creeks ground this morning and notice it was all riped upso where will they be playing there games
I'm pretty sure they are playing some or all of their home fixtures at the old Hurstbridge High (or whatever it is now called) ground.
Not a very attractive ground, they have to regularly chase cattle off it before play and it is riddled with rabbit holes and dog shit. (perhaps slighly embellished but you will know what i mean)
To be perfectly honest, it would be like combining Norf's ground at Shelley st with Bundoora's Yulong. - Hard, full of potholes and No ____ing atmosphere. :D
Jewelsandbullet
17 Apr 2008, 14:05
I'm pretty sure they are playing some or all of their home fixtures at the old Hurstbridge High (or whatever it is now called) ground.
Not a very attractive ground, they have to regularly chase cattle off it before play and it is riddled with rabbit holes and dog shit. (perhaps slighly embellished but you will know what i mean)
To be perfectly honest, it would be like combining Norf's ground at Shelley st with Bundoora's Yulong. - Hard, full of potholes and No ____ing atmosphere. :D
Kicka – any truth to this one doing the rounds:
Creek agreed to let Panther play the majority of your home games at Creek last year, on the understanding that when their ground was being developed the following season, they could use yours.
When this season commenced Creek went to the Eltham committee and asked them to make good on the agreement – whereby the Panther hierarchy reneged on the agreement citing too much traffic on their lovely surface :eek: and advised Creek they would need to make other arrangements...
Any truth to this?
Kickass
17 Apr 2008, 14:36
Creek agreed to let Panther play the majority of your home games at Creek last year, on the understating that when their ground was being developed the following season, they could use yours.
When this season commenced Creek went to the Eltham committee and asked them to make good on the agreement – whereby the Panther hierarchy reneged on the agreement citing too much traffic on their lovely surface :eek: and advised Creek they would need to make other arrangements...
Any truth to this?
Hi J&B,
As for playing the majority of our games at Creek last year, that is untrue. We played Creek there twice and Smashed Monty there once :p.
We also had to play games at Hurstbridge, Watsonia, Heidelberg ( who were most accomodating :thumbsu:), Greensborough, Epping and we also played 2 games at the Porter St Ground at Templestowe.
So really, the only help we were offered (sorry let re phrase that) the only assistance we got from Creek was to A) play an otherwise away fixture against us at their Home ground and B) a large neutral venue (and we also paid the umpires off of course) to beat the Mont.
I think there was discussion around playing both Eltham V Creek games at Panther Park this year and possibly some other fixtures in return so there is possibly some truth to it, but I'm really not sure for certain.
However, Any veto of such a gentleman's agreement would have been purely and simply been enforced by the Nillumbik council as opposed to EFC.
BTW - WTF is this Roarcon Stadium Bus?? I hope you blokes aren't getting too far ahead of yourselves ;)
Jewelsandbullet
17 Apr 2008, 14:47
BTW - WTF is this Roarcon Stadium Bus?? I hope you blokes aren't getting too far ahead of yourselves ;)
Just giving the sponsors more value for their $$
Forward thinking :thumbsu:
(we got to pay Kingy somehow :rolleyes:)
Jewelsandbullet
17 Apr 2008, 14:54
Hi J&B,
As for playing the majority of our games at Creek last year, that is untrue. We played Creek there twice and Smashed Monty there once :p.
I got to say - not unhappy that Creeks ground is out of action.. haven't won there since they have come back up.
FOOTYBOSS
17 Apr 2008, 15:32
Bloods stay positive
Greg Gliddon
16Apr08
MOVING back up to Division 1 was always going to be a baptism of fire for Lalor.
Up against a rampaging premier, it was just about mission impossible.
That is the way it turned out with Heidelberg kicking off its Northern Football League premiership defence in style with a comprehensive 89-point win, 20.21 (141) to 7.10 (52) at Northcote Park on Saturday.
Despite Lalor's young side giving its all, the Bloods were unable to get the score on the board early, which would come back to hurt them as the Tigers lifted a cog.
Coach Stephen Easton said despite the lopsided nature of the scoreboard at the end of the game, there were some positive signs for his side.
"It's a situation where we can go away from the game and know that we don't need to go out and recruit eight or nine players because we've got the talent there to match it with the top sides," he said.
"For the first 12 minutes there were no goals kicked from each side, so we knew we could match it with them.
"In the end our young guys physically couldn't go with them, but we can take something away from the game by knowing how we can improve next time.
"A lot of these kids were playing second division under-18s football last year. It's a massive step to get your first taste of senior football in Division 1 against the premiership side."
Former Carlton captain Lance Whitnall returned to the Bloods line-up and was solid, if not spectacular in his first match back, booting a goal and helping to set up others.
"Lance never has a bad day and to have him come back to the club because he loves this club can only help us going forward," Easton said. "Having played at the top level in the hardest position on the ground for 11 years, obviously it's taken a toll on his body, but he's going to have days where he kicks goals, gives them off and sets up others."
Lalor clashes with Diamond Creek on Saturday.
"We see that as a winnable game," Easton said. "I think it's pretty important for us this season that we can get a win in the next week or so, that way we can really say we belong in Division 1."
inside info man
17 Apr 2008, 16:03
has there been any more news on the inter league match? have they released the captain and coaches or the squads?
Alter Ego
17 Apr 2008, 16:16
Coach Stephen Easton said despite the lopsided nature of the scoreboard at the end of the game, there were some positive signs for his side.
Full marks to the young Bloods who made a lively contest of it early assisted by some wayward kicking by the Heidelberg forwards but were eventually worn down by the bigger Tiger bodies. Good contributor all day was the only player with any body size in Lalor's back 50 - can't remember his number but has the most individual hairstyle/color since Roddy Waddell graced the park for Lalor.
The Boof
17 Apr 2008, 17:19
Under the circumstances, like to think Creek can play home games at Heidelberg if they wanted.
Regards
Boromania
17 Apr 2008, 17:51
Well i haven't been back to bigfooty for a while but it is great to see the usual BS and entertainment remains. As the mighty slime are underrepresented here i thought i would jump back on to help spread the good vibes!
Was standing 15 meters from the siren and i could barely hear it through the roar of the Greensy crowd as Grubby ran in to slam home the sealer!
A conversation was had with the most senior umpire after the game and not one of the 6 (field, boundary or goal) heard it.
Was an absolutely fantastic game, great atmosphere and the better team won (sorry KA). By the way Drew Wilson got off the charging report- was nothing in it (just the umpires getting sucked in by the eltham supporters).
I believe that's three in a row over the Panthers now- Go Slime!
Moving on....
The NFL were kind to Greensborough with the fixturing for the following weeks:
Round 2- Norf
Round 3- Bundy
Round 4- Bergers
Think the percentage may take a fair whack! Might just rest the guns :) in readiness for the later rounds against lesser opposition! Ha Ha
Good on ya Monty for knocking off those Bundy scumbags on their own dunghill- hopefully you can keep the momentum going until you run in to the might of the slime!
Predictions for Round 2 (for what it is worth):
Boro by 5 goals over Norf (i wish:))
Creek over Lalor by 8 goals
Monty on that postage stamp to upset Bergers by 4 goals
Cougars to inflict Bundy's second loss for the year- 2 goals:rolleyes:
Lakies to knock off the Panthers- 15 goals :D (don't go nuts KA)
stringa
17 Apr 2008, 20:09
Well i haven't been back to bigfooty for a while but it is great to see the usual BS and entertainment remains. As the mighty slime are underrepresented here i thought i would jump back on to help spread the good vibes!
Was standing 15 meters from the siren and i could barely hear it through the roar of the Greensy crowd as Grubby ran in to slam home the sealer!
A conversation was had with the most senior umpire after the game and not one of the 6 (field, boundary or goal) heard it.
Was an absolutely fantastic game, great atmosphere and the better team won (sorry KA). By the way Drew Wilson got off the charging report- was nothing in it (just the umpires getting sucked in by the eltham supporters).
I believe that's three in a row over the Panthers now- Go Slime!
Moving on....
The NFL were kind to Greensborough with the fixturing for the following weeks:
Round 2- Norf
Round 3- Bundy
Round 4- Bergers
Think the percentage may take a fair whack! Might just rest the guns :) in readiness for the later rounds against lesser opposition! Ha Ha
Good on ya Monty for knocking off those Bundy scumbags on their own dunghill- hopefully you can keep the momentum going until you run in to the might of the slime!
Bundy scumbags hey! You slime have a win and your off and running. Settle down sunshine you beat a good ordinary side with a good ordinary side, wait untill you beat someone with some ability before you get too carried away.Consider yourselves lucky that west are going to be of the mark this year otherwise it would have been one up to the slime in the race for relagation boxhead:p
Boromania
17 Apr 2008, 20:24
Bundy scumbags hey! You slime have a win and your off and running. Settle down sunshine you beat a good ordinary side with a good ordinary side, wait untill you beat someone with some ability before you get too carried away.Consider yourselves lucky that west are going to be of the mark this year otherwise it would have been one up to the slime in the race for relagation boxhead:p
Didn't take long for me to make an impact!
Stringa if you removed your head from your rectum and actually read the post properly you would see that i talked about the game being a fantastic one to watch and yep i was happy that we won. Aside from that i never bragged about Greensy being superstars and in fact i do believe i said we would probably get belted the next few weeks (including against Bundy). The rest is just tongue in cheek:D!
Perhaps you should just focus your mind on the fact that Bundy ain't that good any more and may indeed just be making up the numbers in the four if they make it at all!
And yes no matter what (aside from a few people) Bundy are scumbags and i hope Northcote give you a pasting!:D
stringa
17 Apr 2008, 20:54
Didn't take long for me to make an impact!
Stringa if you removed your head from your rectum and actually read the post properly you would see that i talked about the game being a fantastic one to watch and yep i was happy that we won. Aside from that i never bragged about Greensy being superstars and in fact i do believe i said we would probably get belted the next few weeks (including against Bundy). The rest is just tongue in cheek:D!
Perhaps you should just focus your mind on the fact that Bundy ain't that good any more and may indeed just be making up the numbers in the four if they make it at all!
And yes no matter what (aside from a few people) Bundy are scumbags and i hope Northcote give you a pasting!:D
you really are a tool !
i hope brownie does make a comeback he is a good footballer and a good bloke
Was an absolutely fantastic game, great atmosphere and the better team won (sorry KA).
Mate, yep no argument you won the game, I was very very close to siren and...........don't matter 4 pt to the slime and good for you, yep it was a great game and a great crowd.
As for you selections, mate for what its worth here is my tips for the weekend:
Slime will get up over Norf, 20 pts (back yourself mate)
Creek by 10 goals
Bergers by 40 pts over Mont (and 5 reports in the game)
Bunnies over parkers by 40 pts
Sorry mate but we will beat WPL and easy.....I reckon again 40 pts
But the biggest tip is KA will actually be at the game this weekend.......oh to have him grace our presence afetr the snub last weekend, how he sleeps at night I don't know.
Can't wait
partyguts
17 Apr 2008, 23:56
ONE MORE WIN THAN U SUNSHINE... OH YEAH...:D
M.O.T.H.
18 Apr 2008, 00:25
Mate, yep no argument you won the game, I was very very close to siren and...........don't matter 4 pt to the slime and good for you, yep it was a great game and a great crowd.
As for you selections, mate for what its worth here is my tips for the weekend:
Slime will get up over Norf, 20 pts (back yourself mate)
Creek by 10 goals
Bergers by 40 pts over Mont (and 5 reports in the game)
Bunnies over parkers by 40 pts
Sorry mate but we will beat WPL and easy.....I reckon again 40 pts
But the biggest tip is KA will actually be at the game this weekend.......oh to have him grace our presence afetr the snub last weekend, how he sleeps at night I don't know.
Can't wait
"Bergers by 40 pts over Mont (and 5 reports in the game)"
You really are full of it. Not talking about your tip and the margin but about the reports.:mad:
"Bergers by 40 pts over Mont (and 5 reports in the game)"
You really are full of it. Not talking about your tip and the margin but about the reports.:mad:
Quite possibly but this is obviously the game most reckon could be the GF, both teams know that as well and so do the umpires, there will be some tough play and they will try and stamp the "new" image onto the game by reporting any rough play.
Kickass
18 Apr 2008, 02:08
Can't wait
LMAO, Yes mate i will be there. Those green cans aren't gonna drink themselves you know.
BTW, I don't sleep at night. Too many Big Footy postings to catch up on :rolleyes:
Boromania, Welcome back - your post was fine mate. No need to get sucked in by stringa, I think you'll find the only person to like him here is himself.
condelini
18 Apr 2008, 02:55
Terms and Conditions
1. Forget the 40 points (that's between liquorman and J&B)
2. 1 slab of VB (2 if Bruce wants in)
3. Delivery to change rooms immediately after winning players sing club song
You're either UNCONDITIONALLY prepared to back the boys (unlike J&B) or you are not. I suspect not :p Take it or leave brother :)
Regards
Aah boof i'm a bit concerned, yes Mont will win. But i sense hesitation with you! A Questioning. Like at the crossroads, sure the conditions you state, ha, so agreeable, and yep leaving me a slab sounds a fine idea, but have you really thought this through, i know your a bit confused and uncertain,and putting on a brave face, well thats admirable, good on you fella, keep your chin up, but are you making the right choice.
Hmm, know i'll take it. brother
stringa
18 Apr 2008, 07:28
ONE MORE WIN THAN U SUNSHINE... OH YEAH...:D
OH look out weve got another live one here! Get back in that little hole you crawled out from Slime boy:confused:
KA, I thought you would slot straight back into the forward line, or maybe you cant get a game with all those young blokes biting at your ankles.
You should probably save yourself for the game against your mates Lalor. ;)
Boromania
18 Apr 2008, 10:49
OH look out weve got another live one here! Get back in that little hole you crawled out from Slime boy:confused:
Cheers KA- Good luck at the wide expanses of Lakies.
Another weekend of ripping NFL footy coming up- all matches should provide a good contest.
After driving past Monty last night i would like to adjust the margin out to 10 goals in Monty's favour- that ground is so rough Heidelberg may not even come out to play.............
Stringa your mother really should have swallowed.:D
Go Slime:thumbsu:
Jewelsandbullet
18 Apr 2008, 11:18
Tips:
Norf 33 over the Slime
Mont 39 over the Bergers
Lalor 1 pt over creek
Bull 30 over NP
Panthers 24 over West
Alter Ego
18 Apr 2008, 11:51
Mont 39 over the Bergers
Just enough to annoy the Teddy Bear and get the cigar J & B.
A Living God
18 Apr 2008, 13:12
Monty by a goal over the bergers
Panthers by 8 goals over WP
Bulls by 3 goals over NP
Creek by 5 goals over the bloods
Slime by 2 goals over North
The Boof
18 Apr 2008, 13:14
But i sense hesitation with you!
Perhaps this may help change that perception
1) 1 slab Heidelberg Seniors over Mont
2) 1 slab Heidelberg Seniors, Reserves & U19 over Mont
Number 1, Number 2 or Both
North
Creek
Naturally
Bulls
Eltham
Regards
Perhaps this may help change that perception
1) 1 slab Heidelberg Seniors over Mont
2) 1 slab Heidelberg Seniors, Reserves & U19 over Mont
Number 1, Number 2 or Both
North
Creek
Naturally
Bulls
Eltham
Regards
Make sure you purchase condelinis slabs at mont dont bring your ownhttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gif
The Boof
18 Apr 2008, 13:36
Make sure you purchase condelinis slabs at mont dont bring your ownhttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gif
Of course! Only a cad would entertain otherwise:D
Regards
Pheonix20
18 Apr 2008, 14:37
Norf over the Boro by 15 (a bit dissappointed in Norf last week i thought they had more
Mont over the Tigers by 7
Lalor over creek by 5
Bundy over NP 26
Panthers over West 48
liquorman
18 Apr 2008, 15:53
Just enough to annoy the Teddy Bear and get the cigar J & B.
JB is dreaming. Good luck to all the Berger boys for the weekend. Just want to know who will take over the role of the Teddy Bear by heckling all those Mont Maniacs on the hill? I throw the challenge out to anyone. Only prerequisite for the role is that you must enjoy being called names all day, tell em how many goals you've kicked after you kick each one, and be able to dodge cans and chips (or eat em). It also helps to kick six or seven.
Get into em boys. GO BERGS :thumbsu:
fattyslim09
18 Apr 2008, 17:17
JB is dreaming. Good luck to all the Berger boys for the weekend. Just want to know who will take over the role of the Teddy Bear by heckling all those Mont Maniacs on the hill? I throw the challenge out to anyone. Only prerequisite for the role is that you must enjoy being called names all day, tell em how many goals you've kicked after you kick each one, and be able to dodge cans and chips (or eat em). It also helps to kick six or seven.
Get into em boys. GO BERGS :thumbsu:
Might have to leave that role to hally, shears, although the big D9 might take up your mantle yet. alot of quiet confidence about the bergers...we will have to wait and see how tomorrow goes, should be a cracker!!!!
footys back home
18 Apr 2008, 17:17
Creek agreed to let Panther play the majority of your home games at Creek last year, on the understanding that when their ground was being developed the following season, they could use yours.
Any truth to this?
The Panthers in fact I think played three games at Creek only one against Mont a Home game, the other two of these being Creek Home games, the only agreement was that Creek would have both games against Eltham in 2007 as home games for Creek and 2008 Both Eltham v Creek games would be home games for Eltham.
Facts
Council decides who plays on Elthams ground not the Club. At the present time that is a council decision
Kickass
18 Apr 2008, 17:35
The Panthers in fact I think played three games at Creek only one against Mont a Home game, the other two of these being Creek Home games, the only agreement was that Creek would have both games against Eltham in 2007 as home games for Creek and 2008 Both Eltham v Creek games would be home games for Eltham.
Facts
Council decides who plays on Elthams ground not the Club. At the present time that is a council decision
Thanks for the clarity FBH, i already said the same in an earlier reply. :thumbsu: