View Full Version : Northern Football League Div 1 - CLOSED
Was it Dale Nolan?
Dale Nolan injured his shoulder during the game & from all reports will miss the remainder of the season.
devil's advocte
17 Jul 2007, 16:58
Dale Nolan injured his shoulder during the game & from all reports will miss the remainder of the season.
Thats sad, he is a quality player.
Would the game have been the split round weekend we gave up to fit the season in, and would H'berg have been playing if it had been a split round?
Aussie rules is tough on the body to play so many consecutive weeks without rest.
Good luck Dale, hope its not season ending
SCARFACE
17 Jul 2007, 17:48
i dont think goof will make it back into the bergers team as i have heard the club is unhappy because he has been talking to bundoora and boro bout a possible move next season.
apparently the big fella had a meeting on sat night at a bundoora players house with the coaching staff in attendence. He apparently sited that his lack of game time was not enough for a premiership player.
How do u know this ,because u were there pulling the strings?
Drederick Tatum
17 Jul 2007, 17:53
Is Goof the one who looks like a bald retarded Jarryd Roughead from Hawthorn?
snakebite
17 Jul 2007, 18:21
no thats vinnie . and goof is the one studying law at uni .
Samuri Pizza Cat
17 Jul 2007, 19:04
no thats vinnie . and goof is the one studying law at uni .
really os that what he tells everyone. well he is talking shit to the heidelberg faithfull bout more then where he wants to continue playing footy.
and yes dreders he is the big bald bloke that looks just as ugly as roughead.
Pheonix20
18 Jul 2007, 10:50
Kreuzer back in on Saturday Fig. It's not too late to pull a hammy and make smithy do all the running.:thumbsu:
Is there any grass on the track at lakeside?
RiverRat
18 Jul 2007, 12:20
No, thats your mother. Goof is the solid bloke about 6'5 who held down the number one ruck position for Heidelberg in last years Final series with gusto. Would I be correct in saying Goof has one more premiership medal than Bundooras ruckman?
WiseOne
18 Jul 2007, 14:36
That Bundoora ruckmen will probably get his premiership medal this year playing in Heidelbergs twos
SCARFACE
18 Jul 2007, 17:26
really os that what he tells everyone. well he is talking shit to the heidelberg faithfull bout more then where he wants to continue playing footy.
and yes dreders he is the big bald bloke that looks just as ugly as roughead.
He might not want to play at heidelberg any more, but why would he go to bundoora for honestly?
SCARFACE
18 Jul 2007, 17:29
No, thats your mother. Goof is the solid bloke about 6'5 who held down the number one ruck position for Heidelberg in last years Final series with gusto. Would I be correct in saying Goof has one more premiership medal than Bundooras ruckman?
ha ha ha thats gold:thumbsu:
snakebite
18 Jul 2007, 18:07
That Bundoora ruckmen will probably get his premiership medal this year playing in Heidelbergs twoseveryone seems to get goofs game in the second semi mixed up with the grand final. he only lasted one quarter in ruck in grand final.deano changed the game when he went into the ruck for the tiges. and injuries will tell who plays where and who gets what medals this year. micky gay looked good at training last night so its not him . as i say lets keep winning and well this is the rumour and innuendo site.go tiges.
Drederick Tatum
18 Jul 2007, 18:18
I never said anything about premierships or Bundoora, and there is definitley no need for my mother to be on this forum......just pointing out a new nick name I have heard around the traps..... so why don't you get over yourself knob.
One thing that does intrigue me Rat. What has happened to Goof this year? I watched enough footy last year to know he can play, and also have seen him up close enough to know how big he is.........so why cant he get a game?
Drederick Tatum
18 Jul 2007, 18:20
He might not want to play at heidelberg any more, but why would he go to bundoora for honestly?
Well, he would at least go somewhere where they can talk properly.....right Scarface?
RiverRat
18 Jul 2007, 18:27
I never said anything about premierships or Bundoora, and there is definitley no need for my mother to be on this forum......just pointing out a new nick name I have heard around the traps..... so why don't you get over yourself knob.
One thing that does intrigue me Rat. What has happened to Goof this year? I watched enough footy last year to know he can play, and also have seen him up close enough to know how big he is.........so why cant he get a game?
I dont want to speculate as to why the bloke wasn't playing ones from the first bounce, but theres a good chance he will be back this week where he belongs.
Drederick Tatum
18 Jul 2007, 18:35
I dont want to speculate as to why the bloke wasn't playing ones from the first bounce, but theres a good chance he will be back this week where he belongs.
Thanks Rat. Lets hope so, I dont mind the big Goof, good luck to him.
SCARFACE
18 Jul 2007, 18:37
Well, he would at least go somewhere where they can talk properly.....right Scarface?
I apologise honest mistake ok william shakespeare.
snakebite
18 Jul 2007, 18:56
Thanks Rat. Lets hope so, I dont mind the big Goof, good luck to him.
goof only got a game last year cos the big mick was injured. he can only play ruck. nothings changed.at least white can play other positions. its a shame but goofs in the seconds.once finn is back its even harder.its a long season though. also goof did little preseason so thats why he had troubles early.
Samuri Pizza Cat
18 Jul 2007, 19:54
goof only got a game last year cos the big mick was injured. he can only play ruck. nothings changed.at least white can play other positions. its a shame but goofs in the seconds.once finn is back its even harder.its a long season though. also goof did little preseason so thats why he had troubles early.
yeah personally i dont know why the bulls are chasing him so hard. he really isnt much chop. i know there is a connection with harro somehow but not really sure why bundy are throwing money at him.
on the upside of goof he would make sure of another good act at the 2008 man-o-man night.
Samuri Pizza Cat
18 Jul 2007, 19:56
I apologise honest mistake ok william shakespeare.
Scareface you are a pesent. you know **** all and talk like you've played 300 A grade matches. So when are you gunna pull the boots on again???
SCARFACE
18 Jul 2007, 20:05
Scareface you are a pesent. you know **** all and talk like you've played 300 A grade matches. So when are you gunna pull the boots on again???
Thats coming from a bloke who wears his mums come **** me boots when he plays crickethttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon6.gif
Kreuzer back in on Saturday Fig. It's not too late to pull a hammy and make smithy do all the running.:thumbsu:
Is there any grass on the track at lakeside?
Hey mate, Bring on Kreuzer! Looking forward to it, the grounds looking ok, the rain has helped heaps.... Go Stars!!:D
TIGER ROCKET
19 Jul 2007, 19:06
tips for round 12
north by plenty over epping
heidelberg by eight over nthcote park
borough over eltham by a goal
west preston over bundoora by less than a goal
and finally the upset of the round the creek to beat monty
devil's advocte
20 Jul 2007, 00:54
tips for round 12
and you are saying west over bunnies isnt an upset????????
Northern Tiger
20 Jul 2007, 09:59
tips for round 12
My big attempt at tips this week,
North by 47 over Epping
Heidelberg by 20 points over Ncote Park
Eltham by 8 points over Greensborough
Bundoora by 14 points over West
Mont by 4 points over Diamond Creek
Cheers......
Boof Head
20 Jul 2007, 10:20
Good one boof! The only thing turbo will be playing this week is poker on thursday night.. :p I heard Mark Turnball is playing in the one's this week? Any truth?;)
he was very close but very buckley like his hammy is giving him trouble again i think vinny is trying to preserve him till finals
Boof Head
20 Jul 2007, 10:29
thats not what goof told us, he said big micky was struggling for form and that goof was always going to replace micky, goof 100% at bundoora next season, or so he says?
Pheonix20
20 Jul 2007, 11:32
Surely I must be winning this tipping competition, some of you blokes have been tipping like absolute spuds.
Mont narrowly over Creek - Sage is the only consistent bloke they have.
Norf wil smash eppin - Norf too fast across the ground will be a worry come finals.
Heidelberg over Parks - enough said bring on the finals
Eltham just over Greensborough - Greensy starting feel the effects of a long season in Div 1 but will improve next year, But then again Eltham were crap last week?)
Bundoora by twelve goals over West - Pray for rain Fig9 it's the only thing that will slow them down. (have a good game Go Stars)
Bruce Almighty
20 Jul 2007, 11:44
thats not what goof told us, he said big micky was struggling for form and that goof was always going to replace micky, goof 100% at bundoora next season, or so he says?
Highly unlikely.Stick with proven performers not could haves or should haves.Just quietly everyone at Heidelberg is strugling.Strugling to find some decent opposition..........:D
liquorman
20 Jul 2007, 16:27
Highly unlikely.Stick with proven performers not could haves or should haves.Just quietly everyone at Heidelberg is strugling.Strugling to find some decent opposition..........:D
You are always struggling with your sanity Bruce. :eek:
tommahawk
20 Jul 2007, 16:56
you are a dead set goose bruce!
TIGER ROCKET
20 Jul 2007, 16:58
and you are saying west over bunnies isnt an upset????????
yes it is but i thought creek beating monty would be a bigger upset.
TIGER ROCKET
20 Jul 2007, 17:01
Surely I must be winning this tipping competition, some of you blokes have been tipping like absolute spuds.
Mont narrowly over Creek - Sage is the only consistent bloke they have.
Norf wil smash eppin - Norf too fast across the ground will be a worry come finals.
Heidelberg over Parks - enough said bring on the finals
Eltham just over Greensborough - Greensy starting feel the effects of a long season in Div 1 but will improve next year, But then again Eltham were crap last week?)
Bundoora by twelve goals over West - Pray for rain Fig9 it's the only thing that will slow them down. (have a good game Go Stars)
i don't if you are winning but i haven't got one wrong for about a month now.this week may be different in i have tipped greensborough,diamond creek and west preston.
A Living God
20 Jul 2007, 18:04
yes it is but i thought creek beating monty would be a bigger upset.
Monty losing an away a game they really should win is not much of an upset.
chopsewie
20 Jul 2007, 19:02
Highly unlikely.Stick with proven performers not could haves or should haves.Just quietly everyone at Heidelberg is strugling.Strugling to find some decent opposition..........:DBrucey Brucey Brucey I would have thought you of all the heidelberg people would'nt get to carried away with it all. Just think back to 05 Granny about twenty minutes into the last quater when saw you with your head buried in your hands hold that thought because finals are a different game and history shows the favorite rarely wins. Heidelberg will be hard to beat but its not in the bag Brucey.
RiverRat
20 Jul 2007, 19:24
Brucey Brucey Brucey I would have thought you of all the heidelberg people would'nt get to carried away with it all. Just think back to 05 Granny about twenty minutes into the last quater when saw you with your head buried in your hands hold that thought because finals are a different game and history shows the favorite rarely wins. Heidelberg will be hard to beat but its not in the bag Brucey.
You had to bring that up didn't you?:mad:
It was clearly tongue in cheek, Bruce is the biggest realist of them all!
chopsewie
20 Jul 2007, 21:24
You had to bring that up didn't you?:mad:
It was clearly tongue in cheek, Bruce is the biggest realist of them all!Brucey is a great bloke and his last post did'nt sound like something that Bugsy would say. I thought i just might remind him how it feels to lose.
The Boof
21 Jul 2007, 00:25
Brucey is a great bloke and his last post did'nt sound like something that Bugsy would say. I thought i just might remind him how it feels to lose.
Them that live in the past have no future
Regards
Kickass
21 Jul 2007, 02:04
Regards
Boof,
Them that get too far ahead of themselves get Kick in the Ass.:D
chopsewie
21 Jul 2007, 11:13
RegardsIs that why you reply to your own posts
Regards
The Boof
21 Jul 2007, 12:30
Is that why you reply to your own posts
Regards
I suspect players will be focussing on winning not the 05 GF.
Regards
TIGER ROCKET
21 Jul 2007, 18:57
Monty losing an away a game they really should win is not much of an upset.
but if monty really should win and they lose is that not an upset?
TIGER ROCKET
21 Jul 2007, 19:00
saw first half of west v bundoora and west were terrible.how can you kick goals going from one side of the ground all the way to the other side?
obviously they made a better effort in second half,but who cares,game was over by then.
good to see creek beating monty.knew they would,have more heart than monty.any excuses monty fans?
The_KID
21 Jul 2007, 19:22
great day to be creekside. all three sides knocking off mont with convincing margins. mont didnt look interested in the seniors. ud think they would have learned after last yr when creek kncoked em.
surely the relegation battle is now over? cant see epping winning three in my humble opinion. big turn around when blokes were on here saying it was over and creek were down no more than 6 weeks ago.
does anyone have an opinion on who is the second best side in the twos? looking through it today and recent results make it hard to pick.
hope we all had a good day
KID
TIGER ROCKET
21 Jul 2007, 19:35
great day to be creekside. all three sides knocking off mont with convincing margins. mont didnt look interested in the seniors. ud think they would have learned after last yr when creek kncoked em.
surely the relegation battle is now over? cant see epping winning three in my humble opinion. big turn around when blokes were on here saying it was over and creek were down no more than 6 weeks ago.
does anyone have an opinion on who is the second best side in the twos? looking through it today and recent results make it hard to pick.
hope we all had a good day
KID
relegation battle is over.would say you are safe.epping are gone!
actually thought west preston's seconds were good today,not sure if they are second best but showed a lot more than their seniors.
chopsewie
21 Jul 2007, 21:17
I suspect players will be focussing on winning not the 05 GF.
RegardsYou have got no idea have you? This all started from Bugsy getting a bit in front of him self its got nothing to do with focusing on anything. Have a read of what has been said properly before writing un related topics. Ps get rid of that ugly looking head i just feel like smashing it.
Well done to creek on the weekends win, and good work to the borough, for their season so far. Sitting equal 4th (6th) on % in the 1's, and 2nd in the 2's. Fair effort so far, for their 1st yr bk in 1st divvy.
Here is a change of topic for those who are not fully engrossed with teams for this yrs finals, or for those who give a damn.
ATM looks like Epping will be relegated. I would like to here guys opinions on the following. - I think they will loose all their top players to other 1st divvy clubs. Esp B.Hollow. Way too good for 2nd divvy. This will set the club back a couple of years. ALthough in time, would tip them to regain, due to having healthy juniors who will come through. Similiar to G'Borough.
With the new 'open clearance' rule, Epping will not be able hold their players, through 'required player', and i am sure that the better players would like to stay in divvy 1. No doubt those at 1st divvy clubs, who keep an eye on the future of their own club, will have some Epping players in their sights.
Any thoughts on this?
Any Epping guys on this forum? Only bloke i see posting about them is Mase. And he plays for W'Sea.
The Boof
22 Jul 2007, 11:21
You have got no idea have you? This all started from Bugsy getting a bit in front of him self its got nothing to do with focusing on anything. Have a read of what has been said properly before writing un related topics. Ps get rid of that ugly looking head i just feel like smashing it.
I belive it ALL did not start from Bruce getting a bit in front of himself. Futermore, it was ALL about you attempting to atagonise. I'm simply stating the obvious, "Heidelberg approaching each week as it comes."
Regards
just ask!!!
22 Jul 2007, 11:56
I belive it ALL did not start from Bruce getting a bit in front of himself. Futermore, it was ALL about you attempting to atagonise. I'm simply stating the obvious, "Heidelberg approaching each week as it comes."
Regards
saw mont and creek yesterday....another loss for mont....injuries and young kids again i suppose...bottom line is mont are ...what is that song ????? THE GREAT PRETENDERS
The_KID
22 Jul 2007, 12:11
yeah epping are in some genuine trouble. monty really struggle on the big ground. interesting twos game next week being heidelberg creek. creek have won their last five by fair margins as well (40+ points). heidi apparently have some injuries. thoughts form the berg brigade on here?
creek should win a couple more in the run home, hopefully the second yr blues are behind us.
Bruce Almighty
22 Jul 2007, 13:49
Brucey Brucey Brucey I would have thought you of all the heidelberg people would'nt get to carried away with it all. Just think back to 05 Granny about twenty minutes into the last quater when saw you with your head buried in your hands hold that thought because finals are a different game and history shows the favorite rarely wins. Heidelberg will be hard to beat but its not in the bag Brucey.
This years flag race is more open than ever before
Very much tounge in cheek mate.You Know better than most what i am like.As for 05 apart from being dissapointed I was happy to see you jag one which is something I never got to do.
That drink is long overdue to........If you can get hold of the record from yesterday check out tiger tales you will have a laugh.Say hello to your old man for me and will catch up soon.
I am realist and am suffering from a really big hangover to day
Cheers mate:thumbsu:
liquorman
22 Jul 2007, 13:57
Mate a hangover implies you've been to bed. Who are you trying to kid?
Bruce Almighty
22 Jul 2007, 14:00
Mate a hangover implies you've been to bed. Who are you trying to kid?
Answer your phone but this is better .Yes I did get a few hours kip but it wasnt that crash hot.
gazza35
22 Jul 2007, 17:42
Chopsewie i heard a few rumours about where you will be playing next year are you staying at colts or moving on to the EDFL
chopsewie
22 Jul 2007, 19:39
Chopsewie i heard a few rumours about where you will be playing next year are you staying at colts or moving on to the EDFLRumours make the world go round mate. Definately no thought into next season as i am just starting to get over the ankle and other injuries the body is just starting to come good and im looking forward to a big finals series hoping to make it three in a row. I know the club your talking about but as i have said to them the diamond valley is where the heart is and thats probably where ill play.I really enjoy the colts and if i was single i would stay but its a big ask for my family to travel down there every week (it takes over an hour to get there) but you treat every game like your last as you could do a knee or something and at the moment the flag is the only football issue on my mind.
chopsewie
22 Jul 2007, 19:46
This years flag race is more open than ever before
Very much tounge in cheek mate.You Know better than most what i am like.As for 05 apart from being dissapointed I was happy to see you jag one which is something I never got to do.
That drink is long overdue to........If you can get hold of the record from yesterday check out tiger tales you will have a laugh.Say hello to your old man for me and will catch up soon.
I am realist and am suffering from a really big hangover to day
Cheers mate:thumbsu:Yeah thats what i said to stinger and we both thought it was out of character for you to be talking like that. Big night last night was it Marto s and Crossy's 30 th. Mate you know me im always up for a drink.If there was a side so far that really stands out as a danger to you blokes who would it be?
sharky00
22 Jul 2007, 20:43
Im just a old head from the who used to watch abit of the Diamond Valley then moved up to Brisbane for work. I have been reading these pages from all you fellas and quite frankly it is a load of rubbish. It is obvious that Heidelberg are going to win this years grand final no team will come close to them and hopefully they do make this so called move to the Eastern league that they have been talking about, they have always been a big bunch of morons.
Chopsewie who the hell are you and what club do you play for? You sure have alot to say, you seem to have a comment on everything. You must be Michael Voss or something by the way you talk.
Im just a old head from the who used to watch abit of the Diamond Valley then moved up to Brisbane for work. I have been reading these pages from all you fellas and quite frankly it is a load of rubbish. It is obvious that Heidelberg are going to win this years grand final no team will come close to them and hopefully they do make this so called move to the Eastern league that they have been talking about, they have always been a big bunch of morons.
Chopsewie who the hell are you and what club do you play for? You sure have alot to say, you seem to have a comment on everything. You must be Michael Voss or something by the way you talk.
thank god u fcked off to brisbane. just jump on and think u own the joint why dont you.
TIGER ROCKET
22 Jul 2007, 21:58
thank god u fcked off to brisbane. just jump on and think u own the joint why dont you.
good call.
TIGER ROCKET
22 Jul 2007, 21:59
and they thought they were home in 2005 too and got rolled.
we know we all speak rubbish but that's half the fun.
liquorman
23 Jul 2007, 10:18
Chopsewie i heard a few rumours about where you will be playing next year are you staying at colts or moving on to the EDFL
Please mate, I know we just love talking about where Saul is playing around here, but fu_ck it's a bit early isn't it.
2005 is a long time ago boys, I'm pretty sure we learnt our lesson that year, and I'm pretty sure we won't let it happen again. Fair dinkum though, who will beat us? We definitely know that even when Bundoora have a better side than us they can't play GF's, and the rest of you sides are crap. Just being honest, would like to hear all your thoughts. :D
junior29
23 Jul 2007, 10:28
Please mate, I know we just love talking about where Saul is playing around here, but fu_ck it's a bit early isn't it.
2005 is a long time ago boys, I'm pretty sure we learnt our lesson that year, and I'm pretty sure we won't let it happen again. Fair dinkum though, who will beat us? We definitely know that even when Bundoora have a better side than us they can't play GF's, and the rest of you sides are crap. Just being honest, would like to hear all your thoughts. :D
my thort is that your a arrogant peice of shi#. you should always respect your oppisition which you obviousaly dont. Remember its just 1 game of football and 1 i hope you lose now through that comment.
Northern Tiger
23 Jul 2007, 11:12
Well done to creek on the weekends win, and good work to the borough, for their season so far. Sitting equal 4th (6th) on % in the 1's, and 2nd in the 2's. Fair effort so far, for their 1st yr bk in 1st divvy.
Here is a change of topic for those who are not fully engrossed with teams for this yrs finals, or for those who give a damn.
ATM looks like Epping will be relegated. I would like to here guys opinions on the following. - I think they will loose all their top players to other 1st divvy clubs. Esp B.Hollow. Way too good for 2nd divvy. This will set the club back a couple of years. ALthough in time, would tip them to regain, due to having healthy juniors who will come through. Similiar to G'Borough.
With the new 'open clearance' rule, Epping will not be able hold their players, through 'required player', and i am sure that the better players would like to stay in divvy 1. No doubt those at 1st divvy clubs, who keep an eye on the future of their own club, will have some Epping players in their sights.
Any thoughts on this?
Any Epping guys on this forum? Only bloke i see posting about them is Mase. And he plays for W'Sea.
I've already said my piece regarding Epping previously in this thread. They will get relegated and will struggle in divison 2 as well. Unfortunately they will be divison 2 for a while, but is the only way they can rebuild the club properly. Btw, what divison 1 club would want Epping's players anyway?
Jewelsandbullet
23 Jul 2007, 11:38
Btw, what divison 1 club would want Epping's players anyway?
I don't know about their entire list - but from what I have seen Santoro and King would definitely be wanted by DIV 1 clubs.
The Boof
23 Jul 2007, 12:28
my thort is that your a arrogant peice of shi#. you should always respect your oppisition which you obviousaly dont. Remember its just 1 game of football and 1 i hope you lose now through that comment.
Now Junior, don't be to harsh on the Liquorman he is a bit of a legend around the HFC. Like I've said it would seem Heidelberg are approaching each week as it comes. However, on the balance of probabilties Heidelberg will play in the GF. I believe they will play Mont.
More the point, while walking out of Northcote Park with one of the old stallworts from the club he was using all sorts of expletives to educate me, I guess, on the finer points of umpiring. It was at that point in time I had an epiphany regarding how cruel team sports can be.
During the last half of the fourth Northcote Park got a sniff. I think within 3 points. Then in true Heidelberg fashion they buried Northcote Park (no disrespect) using amongst other things good old guts and determination to the very end. It must have been agonising for all concerned given they really had a crack. Good on ya Northcote Park.
If Heidelberg had not respect for their opposition I believe they may have lost the game.
Regards
devlish1
23 Jul 2007, 12:44
You could be the most annoying thing i've ever encountered
TIGER ROCKET
23 Jul 2007, 13:15
Now Junior, don't be to harsh on the Liquorman he is a bit of a legend around the HFC. Like I've said it would seem Heidelberg are approaching each week as it comes. However, on the balance of probabilties Heidelberg will play in the GF. I believe they will play Mont.
More the point, while walking out of Northcote Park with one of the old stallworts from the club he was using all sorts of expletives to educate me, I guess, on the finer points of umpiring. It was at that point in time I had an epiphany regarding how cruel team sports can be.
During the last half of the fourth Northcote Park got a sniff. I think within 3 points. Then in true Heidelberg fashion they buried Northcote Park (no disrespect) using amongst other things good old guts and determination to the very end. It must have been agonising for all concerned given they really had a crack. Good on ya Northcote Park.
If Heidelberg had not respect for their opposition I believe they may have lost the game.
Regards
mont won't make the four so find it hard to see how they will play in the grand final
joe_average
23 Jul 2007, 13:27
I don't know about their entire list - but from what I have seen Santoro and King would definitely be wanted by DIV 1 clubs.
Agree with those 2 + Hollow and Jacobs (either NFL Div 1 or other leagues) are others they may lose
snakebite
23 Jul 2007, 14:50
Regards ah boofie. please you are giving the tiges a bad name.we have to get use to football without lofty . old fashioned guts hmmmm , i think it was more like old fashioned shocking kicking for goals by the cougars that kept us in front .i hope we learnt that we need to help our team mates with our bodies not waiting for kicks.as bad as the 3rd quarter was we still won. boof please enough baiting of the rest they already hate us.ps we missed our number 8 and number 23 also.
ah boofie. please you are giving the tiges a bad name.we have to get use to football without lofty . old fashioned guts hmmmm , i think it was more like old fashioned shocking kicking for goals by the cougars that kept us in front .i hope we learnt that we need to help our team mates with our bodies not waiting for kicks.as bad as the 3rd quarter was we still won. boof please enough baiting of the rest they already hate us.ps we missed our number 8 and number 23 also.
Spot on snake bite. The cougars had as by the short and curly ones. A great burst of 15 minutes got us over the line. Shocking third quarter, worst all year. Not helped by Bryan Morrison and his 1975 dress sense and Richie Homo Dimenia putting on the worst display of umpiring ever seen. Memo to the umpires people don't turn up to watch you nerds try and make names for yourself. Possible 10 walkups not running around on Saturday. I don't think anyone inside of Heidelberg thinks it's in the bag. Injury, form, anything can go wrong.
Bruce Almighty
23 Jul 2007, 17:29
Yeah thats what i said to stinger and we both thought it was out of character for you to be talking like that. Big night last night was it Marto s and Crossy's 30 th. Mate you know me im always up for a drink.If there was a side so far that really stands out as a danger to you blokes who would it be?
Definately the doggies got plenty of pace but cant match our height and then Bundoora who have got players coming back every week and are out
to prove something...Better being the hunter than the hunted as you know.
Another team is Greensborough.caught my eye with there attack on the ball and have got a couple of big blokes.I think they will sneak in.
Mont have imploded and dont have enough leaders to get them back together and Eltham are just to small and a couple of good players short but are building and should be up there in a couple of years if they stay together.West well I said they wont make the four after round 2 and the rest well Northcote should have beaten us just some poor kicking and Epping had us on the ropes as well.
It is alot closer than everyone thinks .......going to be great to see how it all unfolds.
devil's advocte
23 Jul 2007, 17:49
looks like no one wants 4th spot at the moment. Both eltham and mont could have sured it up this week. Its good for the comp though, the final four has been decided by round 12 the last 5 or so years
Jewelsandbullet
23 Jul 2007, 18:07
looks like no one wants 4th spot at the moment. Both eltham and mont could have sured it up this week. Its good for the comp though, the final four has been decided by round 12 the last 5 or so years
Who is your tip??
The Boof
23 Jul 2007, 19:10
ah boofie. please you are giving the tiges a bad name.we have to get use to football without lofty . old fashioned guts hmmmm , i think it was more like old fashioned shocking kicking for goals by the cougars that kept us in front .i hope we learnt that we need to help our team mates with our bodies not waiting for kicks.as bad as the 3rd quarter was we still won. boof please enough baiting of the rest they already hate us.ps we missed our number 8 and number 23 also.
I hear ya Snake, however, the facts in issue are the boys were playing the umpires as well. I'm not one for bagging the umpires. They need to be encouraged also. I don't know what the stats are, perhaps someone else can provide, but the free kicks against us I would suggest is quite high. Sure the boys will take a lot out of that game but you have to admit under the circumstances most other teams would have imploded. That's what I meant regarding G&D.
Yes I do miss Jake, Russ and Lofty and other notables but you raise a salient point. There's a lot of depth at the club.
Regards
p.s Do they love to hate us or hate to love us?
slasher25
23 Jul 2007, 20:45
I hear ya Snake, however, the facts in issue are the boys were playing the umpires as well. I'm not one for bagging the umpires. They need to be encouraged also. I don't know what the stats are, perhaps someone else can provide, but the free kicks against us I would suggest is quite high. Sure the boys will take a lot out of that game but you have to admit under the circumstances most other teams would have imploded. That's what I meant regarding G&D.
Yes I do miss Jake, Russ and Lofty and other notables but you raise a salient point. There's a lot of depth at the club.
Regards
p.s Do they love to hate us or hate to love us?
NA MATE THEY JUST HATE YA
BUT I CAN REMEMBER BACK NOT TOO LONG AGO WHEN EVERYONE HATED NORTHCOTE PARK, WINNING FOUR IN A ROW?? I THINK. SO SOAK IN THE GLORY WHILE YOU CAN AND ENJOY IT. LIKE EVERYTHING THE WHEEL GOES AROUND AND IT WILL BE SOMEONES ELSES TURN FOR EVERYONE TO HATE. GOD KNOWS THAT BLOODY WHEEL IS TURNING SLOWLY THOUGH.
The Boof
23 Jul 2007, 21:13
Here ya go boys. Just read match comments and saw video highlights regarding game from Heidelberg Website. Read and see for yourself http://www.heidelbergfc.com.au/
DB: “... free kick tally was 13 – 40.“
Regards
Cole Trickle
23 Jul 2007, 22:12
NA MATE THEY JUST HATE YA
BUT I CAN REMEMBER BACK NOT TOO LONG AGO WHEN EVERYONE HATED NORTHCOTE PARK, WINNING FOUR IN A ROW?? I THINK. SO SOAK IN THE GLORY WHILE YOU CAN AND ENJOY IT. LIKE EVERYTHING THE WHEEL GOES AROUND AND IT WILL BE SOMEONES ELSES TURN FOR EVERYONE TO HATE. GOD KNOWS THAT BLOODY WHEEL IS TURNING SLOWLY THOUGH.Spot on. No matter how much money is avilable you have to rebuild at some stage. There are some aging body's down at tiger land so a rebuild will be about 2 or three years away.
The Boof
23 Jul 2007, 22:39
Spot on. No matter how much money is avilable you have to rebuild at some stage. There are some aging body's down at tiger land so a rebuild will be about 2 or three years away.
Have to disagree Trick. The building is in train as we speak. A work in progress.
Regards
devil's advocte
24 Jul 2007, 10:10
Who is your tip??
well with 6 rounds to go I see the battle for 4th this way:
next round eltham lose to norf, boro lose to bulls, mont beat pingers
r14 mont def eltham, norf def boro
r15 mont def boro, tigers def eltham
that will mean with 3 rounds to go, mont 9 wins, eltham 6, boro 6
last 3 rounds eltham play wp , n park & d creek should win 2
boro play heidelberg, wp, & n park maybe win one
mont play norf, bulls, heid may lose all.
if eltham do win all 3 and mont lose all 3 then % decides
All this depends on rounds 14 & 15 when mont plays both eltham & boro. Lose to either of those and Mont's season is over. Who ever beats mont in 14 & 15 will most likely make finals
could be the first finals series in living memory where a team could get in woth only 9 wins
the only smokey could be Northcote Park, if they get on a roll they could potentially end up on ten wins. It will be intersting to see what the equation is with 3 rounds to go.
Jewelsandbullet
24 Jul 2007, 10:23
well with 6 rounds to go I see the battle for 4th this way:
next round eltham lose to norf, boro lose to bulls, mont beat pingers
r14 mont def eltham, norf def boro
r15 mont def boro, tigers def eltham
that will mean with 3 rounds to go, mont 9 wins, eltham 6, boro 6
last 3 rounds eltham play wp , n park & d creek should win 2
boro play heidelberg, wp, & n park maybe win one
mont play norf, bulls, heid may lose all.
if eltham do win all 3 and mont lose all 3 then % decides
All this depends on rounds 14 & 15 when mont plays both eltham & boro. Lose to either of those and Mont's season is over. Who ever beats mont in 14 & 15 will most likely make finals
could be the first finals series in living memory where a team could get in woth only 9 wins
the only smokey could be Northcote Park, if they get on a roll they could potentially end up on ten wins. It will be intersting to see what the equation is with 3 rounds to go.
Yeah I agree with that summation.
Looking at the draw Northcote could easily when four - if other results go how you suggest that would leave Eltham, Mont and North P all on the same points (with Borough a game behind if Northcote beat them)
I guess there are a few X factors - one of them being Mont's inconsistency - lost both earlier games to Eltham and Borough - but then beat Norf and Bulls :confused:
Anyway each club really has their own density in their own hands - good finish to the season.
harryhawaii
24 Jul 2007, 13:23
Here ya go boys. Just read match comments and saw video highlights regarding game from Heidelberg Website. Read and see for yourself http://www.heidelbergfc.com.au/
DB: “... free kick tally was 13 – 40.“
Regards
i'm sorry to see bruce writing that stuff up.maybe if the club spent some time teaching goof not to push the other rucks out all the time . not sure how many frees he gave but would have been at least 6. the cougars were in for the ball first under the packs while our receivers bar danny nolan waited out for the easy balls . ya cant blame the umps for everything. mind ya they did miss a few our way.abusing dont help , its hard enuff to get them god bless their little hearts.i've seen the same people abusing the umps when we are murdering sides, nothing changes, get on with it. boof advertise something positive not negative.
Bruce Almighty
24 Jul 2007, 13:49
i'm sorry to see bruce writing that stuff up.maybe if the club spent some time teaching goof not to push the other rucks out all the time . not sure how many frees he gave but would have been at least 6. the cougars were in for the ball first under the packs while our receivers bar danny nolan waited out for the easy balls . ya cant blame the umps for everything. mind ya they did miss a few our way.abusing dont help , its hard enuff to get them god bless their little hearts.i've seen the same people abusing the umps when we are murdering sides, nothing changes, get on with it. boof advertise something positive not negative.
Why are you sorry.It had no bearing on the game.Umpiring in the Valley is accepted regardless how bad it is.If Northcote kicked straight they would have won.Simple.Another thing alot if heidelberg people have to much to say on here about in house things.Goof played his best game of the year and you shit can him about rucking.Pull up I say.
harryhawaii
24 Jul 2007, 15:29
Why are you sorry.It had no bearing on the game.Umpiring in the Valley is accepted regardless how bad it is.If Northcote kicked straight they would have won.Simple.Another thing alot if heidelberg people have to much to say on here about in house things.Goof played his best game of the year and you shit can him about rucking.Pull up I say. talk to boof hes the one promoting ya.and noone shit cans as good as you if they dont agree with you.keep to the running.
talk to boof hes the one promoting ya.and noone shit cans as good as you if they dont agree with you.keep to the running.
You changed sides since last year Harry? Were definately a Bundoora poster last year, but who would blame you.
For those talking about big Goof, thought he played an excellent game on Saturday in a position he wouldn't be too used to playing in. :thumbsu:
Bruce Almighty
24 Jul 2007, 15:46
talk to boof hes the one promoting ya.and noone shit cans as good as you if they dont agree with you.keep to the running.
Who the h*ll are all these people.Opinions and comments would be treated differently if the people making them stop hiding behind names.Then I can shi*can a few more people to there faces....:D
harryhawaii
24 Jul 2007, 15:53
You changed sides since last year Harry? Were definately a Bundoora poster last year, but who would blame you.
For those talking about big Goof, thought he played an excellent game on Saturday in a position he wouldn't be too used to playing in. :thumbsu:
hey goof was good . no doubt. i'd play him every week.takes no shit and goes in like a buffalo.
Bruce Almighty
24 Jul 2007, 17:13
hey goof was good . no doubt. i'd play him every week.takes no shit and goes in like a buffalo.
Just worked it out.God bless your little heart is the giveaway.Stick to teaching people how to light fires Richie..:D
Samuri Pizza Cat
24 Jul 2007, 18:09
goes in like a buffalo cos he has no brain and doesnt think bout the consequences.
will be good for the bulls next year.
SCARFACE
24 Jul 2007, 19:21
goes in like a buffalo cos he has no brain and doesnt think bout the consequences.
I doubt it very much!
whistle blower
24 Jul 2007, 22:55
hi all ,been a long time on here.
CAN confirm the div 1 & 2 granny to be at preston city oval on SUNDAY whatever date it is.
more info.bottom side will be relegated,but in the not to distant future watch out for division of 8 not the current 10.
look out those fringe sides in div 2.
next years granny to be held 2 weeks shy of afl granny.
nfl have struck a deal with preston curator for this year only.
watch for further info
RiverRat
25 Jul 2007, 00:26
Id hate to walk into a club ive just beaten in consecutive grand finals. Wouldnt that be awkward...;)
Northern Tiger
25 Jul 2007, 10:30
hi all ,been a long time on here.
CAN confirm the div 1 & 2 granny to be at preston city oval on SUNDAY whatever date it is.
more info.bottom side will be relegated,but in the not to distant future watch out for division of 8 not the current 10.
look out those fringe sides in div 2.
next years granny to be held 2 weeks shy of afl granny.
nfl have struck a deal with preston curator for this year only.
watch for further info
Disgraceful move by the NFL if what your saying is true. The preston ground is a disgrace. Been that way for a while now. Went past it the other day and the centre was like a massive muddy glue pot and it was patchy everywhere else. Surely there are other options within the NFL grounds. I'm sure that the grand finals sides are going to be happy playing on a Sunday. Can't really celebrate properly after the game.
Bruce Almighty
25 Jul 2007, 12:40
Tragic day for all bomber fans......Trevor B. rang me before said he is going after Sheeds
Luva Chat
25 Jul 2007, 14:10
Any thoughts on this?
Does Epping have the strength to go down the Diamond Creek & Greensborough path of rebuilding through development of juniors. They appear to be in the Boom / Bust routine that claimed Lalor. Throwing buckets of cash at the problem is always just a short term solution. It will be interesting if they end up with a big name coach and a few high paid recruits next season lifting them back to Div 1 or they are prepared to travel the Development road and benefit for a lot longer period say 5 - 10 years.
The Boof
25 Jul 2007, 14:55
Tragic day for all bomber fans......Trevor B. rang me before said he is going after Sheeds
Bruce, can it be. I'm having another epiphany. Next year bigger than this. I can read it now. Chief Recruitment Officer Kevin Sheedy. Is it possible Sheeds actually walked away due to favorable negotiations with Heidelberg? Go TB. SCANDALOUS!
Regards
Northern Tiger
25 Jul 2007, 15:26
Does Epping have the strength to go down the Diamond Creek & Greensborough path of rebuilding through development of juniors. They appear to be in the Boom / Bust routine that claimed Lalor. Throwing buckets of cash at the problem is always just a short term solution. It will be interesting if they end up with a big name coach and a few high paid recruits next season lifting them back to Div 1 or they are prepared to travel the Development road and benefit for a lot longer period say 5 - 10 years.
I think Epping would be better off going down the long term development path. Besides I don't think judging by their current list they will have the funds available to "buy" their way back into divison 1.
joe_average
25 Jul 2007, 15:36
Stating my interest - I am a current Epping supporter and was in the past a very mediocre player thus these insights are not from a brilliant football scholar
But - I think they need a combination of the elements you mention:
There are a number of youngens they can and should develop in the medium to long term but I think may need to pay for a "proven" rather than big name coach to really develop both those individuals and the Epping team and more importantly player culture. It will probably need a few recruits next season to keep them competitive as it is hard to develop if you are losing constantly.
The other element is the actual club and the benefit it receives in terms of $ and members if they are winning more than they are losing. I agree they need to develop long term but it can be a delicate balancing act for those in charge.
Luva Chat
25 Jul 2007, 15:39
Stating my interest - I am a current Epping supporter and was in the past a very mediocre player thus these insights are not from a brilliant football scholar
But - I think they need a combination of the elements you mention:
There are a number of youngens they can and should develop in the medium to long term but I think may need to pay for a "proven" rather than big name coach to really develop both those individuals and the Epping team and more importantly player culture. It will probably need a few recruits next season to keep them competitive as it is hard to develop if you are losing constantly.
The other element is the actual club and the benefit it receives in terms of $ and members if they are winning more than they are losing. I agree they need to develop long term but it can be a delicate balancing act for those in charge.
Do they have as much trouble off field as on field?
Northern Tiger
25 Jul 2007, 16:17
Do they have as much trouble off field as on field?
My answer would be maybe "yes". There has got to be a reason why so many players have left the club and they fail to attract real talent. And may I add they also sacked a coach mid season. If he wasn't the right person for the job why didn't they change coaches at the end of last season.
Boromania
25 Jul 2007, 16:32
Yeah I agree with that summation.
Looking at the draw Northcote could easily when four - if other results go how you suggest that would leave Eltham, Mont and North P all on the same points (with Borough a game behind if Northcote beat them)
I guess there are a few X factors - one of them being Mont's inconsistency - lost both earlier games to Eltham and Borough - but then beat Norf and Bulls :confused:
Anyway each club really has their own density in their own hands - good finish to the season.
Not a bad guestimate.
However don't bank on Northcote beating Boro, It's at the slime pit and Boro are extremely tough to beat there. Boro to beat Northcote and WP, and (fingers crossed) to knock off mont by the barest of margins at the Para Road Sand Pit! That gives them 9 wins by seasons end......:D
However, Boro will not make the finals as they have a poor percentage (and with games against Norf, Heidelberg and Bundy to come it may take a bit more punishment). They need to win 4 games but at best i only see 3 wins. :(
The same is true for Eltham who's percentage isn't very flash. :D
I still say Mont are in the box seat though because their percentage is far healthier than the others and is practically worth a game.
Certainly some entertaining football to come...................
As for the talk about Heidelberg rebuilding if (& when) the money dries up, it is pretty hard to do it when they don't have any under 19's (which is a disgrace for Division 1 football)......although wouldn't surprise if Barrot just starts buying 18 year old kids to start a team and really *****s the competition!:)