View Full Version : Northern Football League Div 1 - CLOSED
Played in that game .We threw it so Lalor would get relegated to second division.I think we got about 15 barrels from lower so they could stay up.:D
I remember this well Bruce. It was a big talking point through the valley. Only suspicions though. What was the full story? How did Heid go about losing the match? Rest players? Play players out of position? Were the players aware of the plan? Or was it kept in house?
These stories of the past always make good talking points once the dust has settled.
Alrite guys. All this talk of footy is great. But there are two things we all play for. Premierships and footy trips. Where is your team heading this year? One yr went to the popular place of Surfers, and we were greeted by 3 other Valley teams when we arrived. Adelaide is usually the other popular destination. N.Park had a novel idea couple of yrs back, taking the boating life. Some stories from that trip which are not fit for any forum.
sharky00
4 Aug 2007, 10:47
......Peek - a - boo.......I am not coming out till Noble and his cousin have gone! Its just to risky.
Listen here you piece of shit you parents must of been cousins or your mum was a dead set ****! Im not going anywhere, I just cant be bothered with all this banter trying to get me going... how is your mum going anyway i remember she made a appearence at the ressa rooms one night and boy we butchered her up...
Bruce Almighty
4 Aug 2007, 11:27
Listen here you piece of shit you parents must of been cousins or your mum was a dead set ****! Im not going anywhere, I just cant be bothered with all this banter trying to get me going... how is your mum going anyway i remember she made a appearence at the ressa rooms one night and boy we butchered her up...
She loves that....Listen give it up mate .Your intelligence is far too great for me .The only thing you could get going is your hand on your C**k.Have you anything else other than hanging sh*t on Heidelberg or my Mum.This all means shit unless you come forward.Its easy to type away and hang sh*t .How about something on Nth Heidelberg and Football or is this out of your brain capacity.
Bruce Almighty
4 Aug 2007, 12:03
hshgsgfdf
The Boof
4 Aug 2007, 12:05
Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.
sharky00
4 Aug 2007, 12:28
She loves that....Listen give it up mate .Your intelligence is far too great for me .The only thing you could get going is your hand on your C**k.Have you anything else other than hanging sh*t on Heidelberg or my Mum.This all means shit unless you come forward.Its easy to type away and hang sh*t .How about something on Nth Heidelberg and Football or is this out of your brain capacity.
Listen here Dale Byrne its alright when you Heidelberg yuppies give people shit but once it comes back on you all hell breaks loose. You say talk about North Heidelberg, I have nothing but respect for that club the way they go about it, They dont go out and buy all there players like you ******s. I would like to know how many of your seniors are players who came through the juniors?
Bruce Almighty
4 Aug 2007, 18:47
Listen here Dale Byrne its alright when you Heidelberg yuppies give people shit but once it comes back on you all hell breaks loose. You say talk about North Heidelberg, I have nothing but respect for that club the way they go about it, They dont go out and buy all there players like you ******s. I would like to know how many of your seniors are players who came through the juniors?
Never once have I hung sh*t on opposition clubs .I have nothing but respect for all clubs and players I played against and are great friends with all of them.You comment on Heidelberg Like you know everyone personally.That sh*t you dish up saying we are scum and C*nts is personal.I have great respect for North as well and had many a tussel but for you to keep on with this sh*t is boring.What do want me say .I would love to have more juniors come through but unfortunatley we are still 2 years away.Should we not recruit at all and just dwindle down to second division.Get with it sharky its competition and we want to win.I played in a period that was a constant battle so dont give me a lecture on home grown talent.There are 8 juniors in the senior team and all playing well.You Know me so who are you........and where does this yuppie thing come from.
A Living God
4 Aug 2007, 19:00
Great game by Hayes to kick 10 goals for Monty.
TIGER ROCKET
4 Aug 2007, 19:11
went to the kennel and after a very slow start nth just smashed greensborough.nth might have some concerns as i didn't see shaun ryan the entire second half.
although the borough are getting smashed in a few games i really like how they are going about it playing a lot of youngsters.think in a few years they can really do some good things.
north are a great running side but teams like monty and bundoora might worry them for height in defence.
jarrod king had about a million kicks.when will teams learn they need to tag him even if he is a defender?
TIGER ROCKET
4 Aug 2007, 19:13
good effort no doubt.mont look like they are starting to play some good footy but a very tough run home.earlier losses to diamond creek and eltham might come back to hurt them
I haven't seen much of Hayes before, but Wow. This bloke fair dinkum killed us. Not only was it that he kicked a lazy 10, but it was the way he did it.
He played mostly in the ruck with a few spells down forward,. Most of his goals came from 50-55m roosts.
He was far too tall and powerful for us allday and he just couldn't be stopped.
I'm starting to think that he could be the bloke that Aker was referring to in this weeks paper????
No excuses from me J&B, Mont too good on the day. Only real positive was we had the chance to blood a couple of young blokes and they both did do allright.
FlyTheFlag
5 Aug 2007, 12:18
Great effort by diamo twos to be 3 goals down with 5 mins to go and win the game with the last kick of the game.
Super goal from deep in the pocket. The siren sounded as the ball hit the ground next to the goal umpire.
Keeps there finals chances alive. Second half of the season has seen them beat 2nd, 3rd, 4th and lose to heid by 8 pts.
devil's advocte
6 Aug 2007, 12:18
Does anybody know when the last time a club was undefeated through the season and also won the Grand final? We all know what happened to Bundoora last season and I remember Norf lost a GF in the 90's after being undefeated all year. But has there been a Premiers and Champions in div 1? and will heidelberg do it this year?
devil's advocte
6 Aug 2007, 12:34
the finals equations
Eltham = gone for 2007, need to win next 4 to make it and have Heidelberg this week
Greensborough = almost gone. Mathmatically can make it but must win all 4 same as eltham and have to play Mont this week at Mont then Heidelberg the week after. Sorry slime you are gone
Mont still in hunt. Must win 2 of last four to secure a spot. Next game is against boro at mont, then last 3 away, norf, bulls, bergs. Can they win 2? if they lose this week then season should be over
Northcote Park must win last 4 as 3 wins will see them miss out by percentage if mont win only one game for rest of year. if mont win 2 then parkers are out also on percentage. But the run home suggests they will win all four, diamond creek @ home, epping away, eltham most likely home and boro away.
If eltham and boro show spirit then they can shape the finals and that should be something that they should play for. And always, the last game of the season throws up surprises as everyone plays hard as if there is no tomorrow especially if finals are already gone and in boro's case it is a last game at home for the year.
Historian
6 Aug 2007, 14:47
Does anybody know when the last time a club was undefeated through the season and also won the Grand final? We all know what happened to Bundoora last season and I remember Norf lost a GF in the 90's after being undefeated all year. But has there been a Premiers and Champions in div 1? and will heidelberg do it this year?
I think that Reservoir way back in 1947 was the last team to go through a season undefeated.
footy luver
6 Aug 2007, 22:30
i will take your'e word for it but if it's anything like what i saw a few weeks ago,well i guess there is still a few weeks till the finals.
i am not complaining about the ground as a venue,will be fantastic and not minus ten like at epping but was a little concerned about the centre square area
centre square is barren and hard and will muddy up with rain. the curator needs to utalise the covers.
footy luver
6 Aug 2007, 22:37
nortcote park lost one game in 97 and won the flag.this is the closest i know of.
i think lalor lost 1 game in 98 aswell, it was to north also and i think from memory the parkers loss was to north.
chopsewie
7 Aug 2007, 11:14
i think lalor lost 1 game in 98 aswell, it was to north also and i think from memory the parkers loss was to north.
Lalor lost to heidelberg in 98
Pheonix20
7 Aug 2007, 12:37
4 to go and I see it this way.
Heidelberg WWWW
North LWLW
Bund WWWW
Mont WLLL
N Park WWLL
Eltham LLLW
Which means Mont will scrape in by the skin of their teeth.
:cool:
devil's advocte
7 Aug 2007, 16:22
I think that Reservoir way back in 1947 was the last team to go through a season undefeated.
Well done, checked up the annual reports of the league which has all that info and you are right, they are the last team to do it and the only team to do it since 1946, the league doesnt have the record prior to that.
Reservoir won 32 games straight, next best is Heidelberg on 25 straight which was from round 8 2004 till round 12 2005. As we know the only other game Heidelberg lost in 2005 was the Grand Final
Bruce Almighty
7 Aug 2007, 17:55
Lalor lost to heidelberg in 98
I think we smashed them and everyone else in the four by ten Goals and failed to win the flag.....regrets ,regrets I will take them to my grave.It was your second year I think
footy luver
7 Aug 2007, 18:13
4 to go and I see it this way.
Heidelberg WWWW
North LWLW
Bund WWWW
Mont WLLL
N Park WWLL
Eltham LLLW
Which means Mont will scrape in by the skin of their teeth.
:cool:
northcote park play diamo at home epping away eltham at templestowe and borough away.they are a fair chance to win all 4 and sneak in.
Mr Cannons
7 Aug 2007, 18:22
northcote park play diamo at home epping away eltham at templestowe and borough away.they are a fair chance to win all 4 and sneak in.
Templestowe, as in Porter st Templestowe?
sharky00
7 Aug 2007, 21:05
I think we smashed them and everyone else in the four by ten Goals and failed to win the flag.....regrets ,regrets I will take them to my grave.It was your second year I think
Hopefully that is very soon tough man...
gadget kicked the winner after mezzatesta took a hanger at the scoreboard end, gee it was a good day.
TIGER ROCKET
7 Aug 2007, 21:38
Hopefully that is very soon tough man...
jeez bruce almighty it almost seems like sharky doesn't like you.:)
TIGER ROCKET
7 Aug 2007, 21:41
centre square is barren and hard and will muddy up with rain. the curator needs to utalise the covers.
when i saw the state of the ground a few weeks ago,the first thing i thought of was why weren't any covers on.just have to pray there isn't a lot of rain between now and the finals.
Dear Bruce AM Bugalugs
Please get a message (serious) to either Har or Plunks to advise of my availability for a run this w/e. Think we have the Panthers and if they need someone to sit on KA, let them know I'm happy enough to do it if Gerry Power doesn't want the job. Been running the beach for 2 weeks solid and should be able to stick close. Also pls be present as this is the game that will surpass your current games record.http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.gif
Advise Malts all is OK with the Manang aparrel. It's in transit from Denpasar as we speak. While we're on the matter if anyone on here has a contact for a decent chartered coach service pls PM me with details as Moreland Bus Co. has pulled the pin after 6yrs, due to their new "no pi ss policy".http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/smilies/rolleyes.gif
Has T E Bear had the kid yet? If so, what make and model?
Also, Congrats to Rhino on the birth of young Ethan a couple weeks back.
From your friend and mine. Ya Bintang
Muttley
ROMPERMFC
8 Aug 2007, 15:42
Templestowe, as in Porter st Templestowe?
thats the one
chopsewie
8 Aug 2007, 16:27
I think we smashed them and everyone else in the four by ten Goals and failed to win the flag.....regrets ,regrets I will take them to my grave.It was your second year I thinkThats right brucey it was my second year i was eighteen. We had some good times ill never forget the torpie you you kicked from 70 out to put us in front against mont.We just missed second spot and got rolled by northcote park in the prelim and had that massive punch up at three quater time it was on for young and old.The footy was a much better standard back then. I dont know if it was just me but the bodies were a lot bigger and stronger compared to now thought?
Northern Tiger
8 Aug 2007, 16:29
when i saw the state of the ground a few weeks ago,the first thing i thought of was why weren't any covers on.just have to pray there isn't a lot of rain between now and the finals.
You would think that either the council or whoever is responsible for the ground would start getting serious about looking after it properly, especially if it is going to be the future venue for NFL finals. Maybe they need to look into that wicket area situation more closely.
HULK HOGAN
8 Aug 2007, 22:15
A packed Cramer st ground would be a sensational atmosphere just like the old preston VFA days of the 80's when I was a lad.
TIGER ROCKET
8 Aug 2007, 23:41
A packed Cramer st ground would be a sensational atmosphere just like the old preston VFA days of the 80's when I was a lad.
couldn't agree more.used to watch preston and it was huge.
heidelberg v nth would be huge.
RiverRat
9 Aug 2007, 01:09
couldn't agree more.used to watch preston and it was huge.
heidelberg v nth would be huge.
Yes it would & something that all Heidelberg supporters are praying for. Speaking of huge this weeks game could decide second spot. I think the Bulls may snatch it.
Pheonix20
9 Aug 2007, 09:46
Yes it would & something that all Heidelberg supporters are praying for. Speaking of huge this weeks game could decide second spot. I think the Bulls may snatch it.
Have to agree rat, it appears as if the bulls have timed their run quite well and confidence is high.
The Boof
9 Aug 2007, 13:50
Heidelberg got a new website! It appears they have another new website. Could this be in preparation for the finals? Have a look for yourself. http://www.heidelbergfc.com.au/
Regards
TIGER ROCKET
9 Aug 2007, 21:26
have to agree that bundoora are starting to play some very good footy but doggies not doing too much wrong.bundoora had a big chance at the kennel and wouldn't want to drop this one.
are heidelberg praying for north in granny because of what transpired in 2005 grand final?
RiverRat
10 Aug 2007, 00:43
have to agree that bundoora are starting to play some very good footy but doggies not doing too much wrong.bundoora had a big chance at the kennel and wouldn't want to drop this one.
are heidelberg praying for north in granny because of what transpired in 2005 grand final?
A little revenge to help ease the pain of 2005 wouldn't go astray, but in saying that I think we will be highly vulnerable on the 23rd of September to any team. A week's rest didn't do much to help 2 years ago.
Jewelsandbullet
10 Aug 2007, 14:17
Tips please
Bulls by 23 p's
H'berg by 88
N Park by 41
West by 37
Mont by 22
KA - The architect in charge of drafting the plans for the clubroom renovations, has been instructed to find appropriate wall space- so we can permanently concrete in the The Ken Hines Shield ... not too keen on giving it back... ever :D
TIGER ROCKET
10 Aug 2007, 16:03
tips for rd 15
heid by sixty
nthcote park by thirty
west preston by fourty
monty by 18
bundoora by two points
The Boof
10 Aug 2007, 17:03
Bundoora
Heidelberg
Creek
Preston
Mont
The Boof
10 Aug 2007, 17:06
A little revenge to help ease the pain of 2005 wouldn't go astray, but in saying that I think we will be highly vulnerable on the 23rd of September to any team. A week's rest didn't do much to help 2 years ago.
Perhaps a practice match in between? Long list of quality players to step-up in the event of any injuries.
Regards
Kickass
10 Aug 2007, 17:26
KA - The architect in charge of drafting the plans for the clubroom renovations, has been instructed to find appropriate wall space- so we can permanently concrete in the The Ken Hines Shield ... not too keen on giving it back... ever :D
Hey J&B,
Thanks for taking it easy on me mate. I have been dreading all week when and what you were going to say. :o
If what you say is true, (and don't get too cocky because we will returne stronger than ever in 2008) just make sure its not over the brick Woody & Zac were trying to sell me.
Mind you, If I did put in for one of your Monty bricks, I pretty sure those felons would probably have it inserted into the urinal so that all of Monty could sprinkle over Kickass :(
Cheers
K.A
It will still be better
Some may say they were unlucky losses but i believe if u are good enough of a side u will win , even when on any given day whether u have injuries or play like shit good teams always find a way to get the job done and eltham just cant cut the mustard.
eltham are better than the slime and u know it! boot off scarface. wwwoooooowww
RiverRat
10 Aug 2007, 18:59
Heidelberg got a new website! It appears they have another new website. Could this be in preparation for the finals? Have a look for yourself. http://www.heidelbergfc.com.au/
Regards
Same website Boof, just a new skin.
inside info man
11 Aug 2007, 10:52
eltham are better than the slime and u know it! boot off scarface. wwwoooooowww
it shows how much intelligence u have vinnie u say eltham r better than greensborough but the slime have beat eltham both times. and u r still coachin!
RiverRat
11 Aug 2007, 22:05
Hally - magnificent today.
the G train #9
12 Aug 2007, 16:08
Hally - magnificent today.
Yeah 11 goals was a fair effort. The delivery he got wasnt bad either! Thought the Panthers were good in patches aswell. It was a fair effort to be only a goal behind at halftime and about 5 or 6 at 1 stage in the last before heidelberg kicked away. Eltham had 9 players on the park who are still eligible for the Under 19s aswell, one being Josh Merkel who kicked 7 and was quite impressive.
just ask!!!
12 Aug 2007, 19:15
Yeah 11 goals was a fair effort. The delivery he got wasnt bad either! Thought the Panthers were good in patches aswell. It was a fair effort to be only a goal behind at halftime and about 5 or 6 at 1 stage in the last before heidelberg kicked away. Eltham had 9 players on the park who are still eligible for the Under 19s aswell, one being Josh Merkel who kicked 7 and was quite impressive.
thats good for elthams future..montmorencys ground is a digrace and shouldnt be played on in the nfl. what do others think???
Drederick Tatum
12 Aug 2007, 20:27
Great to see a whole bunch of Norf tiprats at Bundoora yesterday yelling and screaming their ugly feral rat heads off for 3 and a bit quarters until they got run over by the Bulls.........dont mind a bit of banter but some of the sh!t coming out of a few people was a disgrace.
RiverRat
12 Aug 2007, 20:34
Who won today??
mont were up by about 7 goals half way through last quarter when i left i think.
just ask!!!
12 Aug 2007, 20:46
mont were up by about 7 goals half way through last quarter when i left i think.
yeah think it blew out a bit in the end. as i said before the ground is a disgrace esp when you bounce the ball and it doesnt come back. should have taken the beach towel. how do they get away wih it when eltham cantuse their ground.
BERGER KING
12 Aug 2007, 22:24
Look its been a while since I coached but there are some funny signs at our great club Heidelberg. Russ Lee dominates first qtr then rested for most of second qtr ....not a happy player. Young Laing left one out at full back against a really good full forward--no help from coach as other defenders such as Heff,Haydock,Lowther,Sheilds just chase kicks with no regard for their team mate.The selected team included 5 ruckmen-- no regard for team balance. No taggers--Franchina used to agood one at Carlton but doesnt look that interested and is really out of touch.Its time to get fair dinkum and pick the best team regargless of reputations /maybe have alook at the regular bests in the twos?
Bruce Almighty
12 Aug 2007, 22:58
Look its been a while since I coached but there are some funny signs at our great club Heidelberg. Russ Lee dominates first qtr then rested for most of second qtr ....not a happy player. Young Laing left one out at full back against a really good full forward--no help from coach as other defenders such as Heff,Haydock,Lowther,Sheilds just chase kicks with no regard for their team mate.The selected team included 5 ruckmen-- no regard for team balance. No taggers--Franchina used to agood one at Carlton but doesnt look that interested and is really out of touch.Its time to get fair dinkum and pick the best team regargless of reputations /maybe have alook at the regular bests in the twos?
Would this be the best way to air your opinion.I think you should talk to the coach if you are disapointed in selections instead of dragging this sh*t out for all to see.If you have coached before then maybe you could have some tips for Plunks .Dont hide behind a name and stir up sh*t.If you have a problem then speak to him face to face dont be the problem.You are obviously a Young and Laing fan after seeing other posts.Just a thought.......
The Boof
12 Aug 2007, 23:24
While I respect your views I agree with Bruce. Best not to air dirty laundry. It's not the Heidelberg way (no disrespect).
I believe it's unreasonable to expect every member of a team to play to their best ability every game. However, for entertainment value, I hope that happens on GF day and a particular team is on the receiving end.
Regards
devil's advocte
13 Aug 2007, 10:20
yeah think it blew out a bit in the end. as i said before the ground is a disgrace esp when you bounce the ball and it doesnt come back. should have taken the beach towel. how do they get away wih it when eltham cantuse their ground.
Well Eltham have had the ground resurfaced at a huge amount of council money so there is a bedding time given so the surface lasts. Lower Plenty went though that a few years ago. Monty is a sandpit, has had no money invested in the surface and has not been watered except for rain since last year. All grounds that havent been watered are a disgrace, but at least monty has a soft sand surface and not rock hard like other grounds earlier in the year.
Would you have preferred no football this year? short memories when the rain falls now about what all the clubs went through even getting the season going. Anyone complaining about a ground now should really talk to thier committe about what was done at season start, then have good long hard look at themselves as the season we have had has been fantastic with so many teams having a shot at the finals this year
Jewelsandbullet
13 Aug 2007, 10:40
Eltham can't use there's because it's being resurfaced.
Devil - clear and concise as usual. - FYI mate... believe we've got a significant grant to upgrade to "summer grass" not a resurface as such but will make it better.
hugs_dancer
13 Aug 2007, 11:23
Was at bundoora v North on saturday! and what a game! for those who ever questioned bundoora that they could not come back from being behind got there answer! bundoora were better all day. north came out upto there old tricks. hitting players behind the play. but luckily the umpired go on top of the quickly. then the last quarter was just wonderful to see! well done bundoora.
was also at the mont v gboro game.
u could almost say the umpires were cheating for mont. discraceful.
just ask!!!
13 Aug 2007, 11:59
Was at bundoora v North on saturday! and what a game! for those who ever questioned bundoora that they could not come back from being behind got there answer! bundoora were better all day. north came out upto there old tricks. hitting players behind the play. but luckily the umpired go on top of the quickly. then the last quarter was just wonderful to see! well done bundoora.
was also at the mont v gboro game.
u could almost say the umpires were cheating for mont. discraceful.
IM GLAD SOMEONE ELSE THOUGHT THATY ABOUT THE UMPIRES.....IT WAS SO OBVIOUS SOME OF THE DECISIONS THAT WERE MADE. THEY ALWAYS SEEM TO GET A GREAT RUN OFF THE UMPIRES.
Jewelsandbullet
13 Aug 2007, 12:27
IM GLAD SOMEONE ELSE THOUGHT THATY ABOUT THE UMPIRES.....IT WAS SO OBVIOUS SOME OF THE DECISIONS THAT WERE MADE. THEY ALWAYS SEEM TO GET A GREAT RUN OFF THE UMPIRES.
Yeah clearly the umpires were the difference :rolleyes:
just ask!!!
13 Aug 2007, 12:30
Yeah clearly the umpires were the difference :rolleyes:
BORO MADE A BIT OF A RUN IN THE THIRD AND THEN A FEW IFFY AND I MEAN IFFY FEW KICKS SEEMED TO GO MONTS WAY....ANYONE ELSE THINK THE SAME???
M.O.T.H.
13 Aug 2007, 12:43
BORO MADE A BIT OF A RUN IN THE THIRD AND THEN A FEW IFFY AND I MEAN IFFY FEW KICKS SEEMED TO GO MONTS WAY....ANYONE ELSE THINK THE SAME???
Agree Mont probably did get the better off the umps yesterday but Borough really can't whinge after Round 6. Umpiring that day certainly had a bigger impact on the result than yesterday. What turns around comes around.
just ask!!!
13 Aug 2007, 12:47
Agree Mont probably did get the better off the umps yesterday but Borough really can't whinge after Round 6. Umpiring that day certainly had a bigger impact on the result than yesterday. What turns around comes around.
I RECKON THE UMPIRES THAT UMPIRED YESTERDAY THINK THEY ARE THE BEST GOING AROUND.....IF THEY ARE THAT GOOD I WOULD ASSUME THEY SHOULD HAVE BEEN UMPIRING NTH AND BUNDOORA. ESPECIALLY THAT DARK HAIRED BLOKE WHO THINKS HES THE BEST....
devil's advocte
13 Aug 2007, 15:05
interesting...I was at the same game....the slime got a good goal then the umps called a free to boro as the ball was being rreturned to the centre and they were gifted a second goal through the same umpire you are bagging. From the position i had, which was very close, closer than the boro supporters at the visitor end of the ground, loney was pinned for pushing in the chest, the ump said too high! .......... Considering Boro only got 3 goals in the 3rd then that must have been boro's run, and the umps helped there too!
When you lose by more than 10 goals or more the umps arent the problem:rolleyes:
whistle80
13 Aug 2007, 15:20
I RECKON THE UMPIRES THAT UMPIRED YESTERDAY THINK THEY ARE THE BEST GOING AROUND.....IF THEY ARE THAT GOOD I WOULD ASSUME THEY SHOULD HAVE BEEN UMPIRING NTH AND BUNDOORA. ESPECIALLY THAT DARK HAIRED BLOKE WHO THINKS HES THE BEST....
As an independant umpire at the ground yesterday (there were a few of us there as one of the goal umpires was celebrating his 400th 'A' grade game) I agree there were a couple of iffy free kicks. As there are in every game.
However you are right in saying they are the best going around. They both did last years 'A' Div 1. Grand Final. Greensborough lost by over 10 goals, not sure how the umpiring influenced the win for mont. In the second half Greensy lost the plot once they knew they couldn't win. Back chatting, arguing with each other. There is a massive dif between the top 4 and the rest in terms of professionalism.
Keep in mind that players make many more mistakes in a game compared to umpries. If you can do better...... come and join us.
devil's advocte
13 Aug 2007, 15:28
As an independant umpire at the ground yesterday (there were a few of us there as one of the goal umpires was celebrating his 400th 'A' grade game) I agree there were a couple of iffy free kicks. As there are in every game.
However you are right in saying they are the best going around. They both did last years 'A' Div 1. Grand Final. Greensborough lost by over 10 goals, not sure how the umpiring influenced the win for mont. In the second half Greensy lost the plot once they knew they couldn't win. Back chatting, arguing with each other. There is a massive dif between the top 4 and the rest in terms of professionalism.
Keep in mind that players make many more mistakes in a game compared to umpries. If you can do better...... come and join us.
Well said...are you sure you are an umpire...that sounds too intelligent....and I hate agreeing with umpires:D
Kickass
13 Aug 2007, 15:48
Well said...are you sure you are an umpire...that sounds too intelligent....and I hate agreeing with umpires:D
Stop replying to your own posts Devil or is that Whistle. Like most umpires you are operating under different personalities. 1 good / 1 bad.
Just not sure which one is best :rolleyes:
Oh, And I love umpires too. Ha Ha
devil's advocte
13 Aug 2007, 16:13
Stop replying to your own posts Devil or is that Whistle. Like most umpires you are operating under different personalities. 1 good / 1 bad.
Just not sure which one is best :rolleyes:
Oh, And I love umpires too. Ha Ha
pmsl....dont know if you just insulted me or not:D
but call me anything, just dont call me an umpire:eek:
whistle80
13 Aug 2007, 16:26
We do have a few Nuf Nuf's at the umpires, but the majority are there becuase they love NFL Footy.
Both the Bundoora game and the Mont game basicly had our top 4 umpires. So if people are not happy with them, then we are in big trouble.
Finals are a different ball game. You will see our best 18 umpiring U/19's to 'A' Grade, including the 2 at Mont on Sunday.
Feel free to post umpiring questions on this forum and I will answer if I have time.
devil's advocte
13 Aug 2007, 16:34
We do have a few Nuf Nuf's at the umpires, but the majority are there becuase they love NFL Footy.
Both the Bundoora game and the Mont game basicly had our top 4 umpires. So if people are not happy with them, then we are in big trouble.
Finals are a different ball game. You will see our best 18 umpiring U/19's to 'A' Grade, including the 2 at Mont on Sunday.
Feel free to post umpiring questions on this forum and I will answer if I have time.
I have one for you whistle.....first tell KA you are not me!!!!
second, i know the blood rule means the ump has to wait till the player coming onto the field takes his position before play can start.
Is this the same for the yellow card? can play start as soon as the player leaves the field or do the umps have to wait till the new player takes his position.? i saw the umps wait at the mont boro game and one time it cost mont a goal.
A Living God
13 Aug 2007, 16:43
Boro's 3 goals in the third all came from free kicks
Kickass
13 Aug 2007, 17:00
I have one for you whistle.....first tell KA you are not me!!!!.
L.O.L - I'm still not convinced :p
I do like ya work though Devil
Cheers
K.A
SCARFACE
13 Aug 2007, 17:27
thats good for elthams future..montmorencys ground is a digrace and shouldnt be played on in the nfl. what do others think???
Disgrace wouldnt let me dog run on it.
snakebite
13 Aug 2007, 18:27
imagine bagging a coach who has won 15 in a row.five ruckemn , i thought one was chb , mick finn played good, and marcus dean at chf, grand final hero from last year and great player this year, goof who everyone wanted in the side and went good as normal, mick gay club hero and controllinmg ruck and whitey who showed why he is back up. shielsy played his best game and dock was dock, all time legend and best and fairest super star. plunks came into the job late , had nothing to win as they team was expected to win everything, lets get together and see what happens. go tiges
anyone can buy premierships..how about developing some young guns??..nah f*** it will buy premierships..your a joke heidelberg
The Boof
13 Aug 2007, 18:45
When you see the video highlights of the Heidelberg/Eltham game it appears the Eltham coach was not happy at the end of the third. I thought Eltham had a crack. See video highlights for yourself http://www.heidelbergfc.com.au/
Regards
RiverRat
13 Aug 2007, 19:51
Hmmm bit harsh berger, can only keep winning. I'd be suprised if Youngy was not named in the seniors this week. As for Hally's 11 let's remember he had multiple opponents for the majority of the game.
RiverRat
13 Aug 2007, 19:52
anyone can buy premierships..how about developing some young guns??..nah f*** it will buy premierships..your a joke heidelberg
Not anyone champ, Heidelberg.
imagine bagging a coach who has won 15 in a row.five ruckemn , i thought one was chb , mick finn played good, and marcus dean at chf, grand final hero from last year and great player this year, goof who everyone wanted in the side and went good as normal, mick gay club hero and controllinmg ruck and whitey who showed why he is back up. shielsy played his best game and dock was dock, all time legend and best and fairest super star. plunks came into the job late , had nothing to win as they team was expected to win everything, lets get together and see what happens. go tiges
Mick Gay is your club's hero ???? WHY ???
cause he is a cheater like them..Steriods..would of been grous to see that bunch of washed up wankers go..that aint a footy club..how hey roll is.. come play..get 150000000 a game and go home..No club whatsoever there..they probably couldnt name half there own team..
RiverRat
13 Aug 2007, 20:46
cause he is a cheater like them..Steriods..would of been grous to see that bunch of washed up wankers go..that aint a footy club..how hey roll is.. come play..get 150000000 a game and go home..No club whatsoever there..they probably couldnt name half there own team..
STFU you asshole, another one to fall victim to the tall poppies?. I could name every player you bottom dweller. Bitter Eltham supporter? You will have a gun side in a year or two with those young blokes coming through despite being coached by a prick.
True.Etlham will eventuallt be a gun side.They have developed those young blokes very well.For example that young blonde headed ruckmen has been only playing football for 3 years and he has come so far in a short time.It would be much better to see heidelberg use there cash towards younger players with potential rather then washed up reputations.
Bruce Almighty
13 Aug 2007, 21:58
True.Etlham will eventuallt be a gun side.They have developed those young blokes very well.For example that young blonde headed ruckmen has been only playing football for 3 years and he has come so far in a short time.It would be much better to see heidelberg use there cash towards younger players with potential rather then washed up reputations.
Why did BMW22 cross the road?
Because he had his d*ck stuck in the chicken...........
Come up with something new mate.When we first got most of our players they were young but Grandfinals and premeirships have aged them a little.Some have developed sore necks and bad Knees from getting up on the podium to receive there Premiership medals.Something your young gun team may find out about one day.:D
The Boof
13 Aug 2007, 22:15
In the end it's not the years in your life that count. It's the life in your years.
Regards
devil's advocte
13 Aug 2007, 23:41
STFU you asshole, another one to fall victim to the tall poppies?. I could name every player you bottom dweller. Bitter Eltham supporter? You will have a gun side in a year or two with those young blokes coming through despite being coached by a prick.
I am no heidelberg fan, but i am right with you on this one. Good on you guys for running a great club, you are the measuring stick. As for peanuts like this guy from eltham no need to worry about him, eltham have been fighting out of their weight division for a few years. they pay top dollar to a coach who until this year had only beaten a top 4 side on 3 occasions. Now they have two lucky wins in a year against norf and mont and they reappoint him and call him god. this idiot wants to talk about spending money? I bet Eltham pay the most of any club for the coach, and have been for some years now....and they still lose! how about getting some home grown talent to coach and spend the money on some players that have heart.
Cole Trickle
13 Aug 2007, 23:52
Why did BMW22 cross the road?
Because he had his d*ck stuck in the chicken...........
Come up with something new mate.When we first got most of our players they were young but Grandfinals and premeirships have aged them a little.Some have developed sore necks and bad Knees from getting up on the podium to receive there Premiership medals.Something your young gun team may find out about one day.:DBrucey how many players have you got playing in your senior side that played juniors at Heidelberg? You guys have only been any good the last four years and the sides average age would be 28 and thats being generous i would'nt say getting players at twenty four would be rookie recruits. Any club that names a captain in his second year at the club is a very average club. You've got the runs on the board but watching you guys on the weekend i'd be a little worried about the finals series as Bundoora looked a lot better than you blokes. I think berger king has hit the nail right on the head looks a lot like 90% of your side worry about there own performances rather than team sucess eg Haydock Nolan. I saw the highlights on your website who ever put it together made it look like you guys pushed us around a bit imo i thought our guys never took a backward step and considering the av age of our side it was a top effort. I'm just a supporter but what Heidelberg are doing at the moment is good for the comp but probably not for your own club if things ever go wrong like they do at one time or another i think you blokes will find it a lot harder than a club that trys to blood its own youth.
Bruce Almighty
14 Aug 2007, 00:23
Brucey how many players have you got playing in your senior side that played juniors at Heidelberg? You guys have only been any good the last four years and the sides average age would be 28 and thats being generous i would'nt say getting players at twenty four would be rookie recruits. Any club that names a captain in his second year at the club is a very average club. You've got the runs on the board but watching you guys on the weekend i'd be a little worried about the finals series as Bundoora looked a lot better than you blokes. I think berger king has hit the nail right on the head looks a lot like 90% of your side worry about there own performances rather than team sucess eg Haydock Nolan. I saw the highlights on your website who ever put it together made it look like you guys pushed us around a bit imo i thought our guys never took a backward step and considering the av age of our side it was a top effort. I'm just a supporter but what Heidelberg are doing at the moment is good for the comp but probably not for your own club if things ever go wrong like they do at one time or another i think you blokes will find it a lot harder than a club that trys to blood its own youth.
6 players have come from our juniors.Unfortunately the clubs juniors folded for a period about 10 years ago.The club has rebuilt the juniors over time or should I say some very dedicated people have so hopefully players will start coming through again.What s*it's me about everyone's perception about being a money club is this.Should we have just layed down and died and been non competitive,maybe dropped to 2 division.With some very committed people we have focussed on being competitive and successful.This is not a crime.As for being good the last 4 years I Played from 1990 to 2005 and we were good then just didnt have huge amounts of success but were still strong.As for our captain some people are just born to lead.You dont pick captains they pick themselves.Our Captain has been outstanding.He is not perfect but neither is anyone else andhe goes about the job with great passion.Why dont you come down Cole you may find what agreat club this is.
As for Bundoora I watched the Bundoora and North game and be honest Bundoora just grinded away and when North stopped running in the last Bundoora struck.Nothing is in the bag but dont you think Heidelberg are aware of history .Do you not think they are not pushing to be the best they can at the right time of the year.Although there have been some average games they have won on average by over ten Goals every game.Whether they losse one or not beleive me the focus is on Winning the first final and then hopefully the big one and if we do you are all welcome to come down and have drink even you sharky00 you D*ck.If we loose you can still come down but there will be a twenty dollar cover charge .Cheers
whistle80
14 Aug 2007, 10:53
I have one for you whistle.....first tell KA you are not me!!!!
second, i know the blood rule means the ump has to wait till the player coming onto the field takes his position before play can start.
Is this the same for the yellow card? can play start as soon as the player leaves the field or do the umps have to wait till the new player takes his position.? i saw the umps wait at the mont boro game and one time it cost mont a goal.
Good Question Devil. (We are not the same person)!
The new directive this year from the NFL is whenever a player is sent from the ground for whatever reason (Card or Blood) we need to wait for the new player to take up his position on the field.
Now where it gets tricky is when players make moves while waiting for the player to leave the field, and the new player takes up a diff position on the field. In this case the umpires needs to use common sense and start the game when he feels the player is happy in the position they have taken up.
We see this mostly when a player who is in the middle after a goal is sent off. Most times a player will come off the wing to make 4 players in the middle and then the new player takes up the wing position. However if the new player wanted to play on the ball, he would be allowed to enter the centre without the boundary umpire pinging him for entering the square before the bounce.
whistle80
14 Aug 2007, 11:12
Boro's 3 goals in the third all came from free kicks
Correct. On a small ground you are going to have a larger amount of goals from free kicks.
There has never ever been covers placed on the centre wicket of Cramer St oval during winter, this only gets done during cricket season as rain does not prevent football from getting played.
I was at the oval on Sunday and although it was the worst I had seen it, in years. It still is alot better then most NFL clubs grounds. By the time finals comes around this ground will be looking good and will have a great atmosphere with a big crowd.
Talking to people around the Bullants club, they think its a great idea. The bullants will get all canteen takings, but the league will get all beer sales and gate entry fees.
Kickass
14 Aug 2007, 13:33
[QUOTE=devil's advocte;8402090]I eltham have been fighting out of their weight division ... they pay top dollar to a coach
Very misinformed Devil.
Yes Eltham fight out of weight division but improving all the time. Kids really starting to blossom..
Maylin worth every cent of what is not as much as you think he is getting.
He brings more to the table than n e 1 outside the club will ever know.
There are less credentialed and under performed coaches out
There gettn paid more..
Btw, you can't buy heart
Kickass
14 Aug 2007, 13:42
[QUOTE=whistle80;8404338]Good Question Devil. (We are not the same person)!
How are you Moorey?? Nice to have you on here.
The Boof
14 Aug 2007, 14:28
[quote=devil's advocte;8402090]I eltham have been fighting out of their weight division ... they pay top dollar to a coach
Very misinformed Devil.
Yes Eltham fight out of weight division but improving all the time. Kids really starting to blossom..
There gettn paid more..
Btw, you can't buy heart
I believe the strategic approach Maylin took to beat Heidelberg on the weekend was the best so far.
Regards
Kickass
14 Aug 2007, 15:14
[quote=Kickass;8405753]
I believe the strategic approach Maylin took to beat Heidelberg on the weekend was the best so far.
Regards
Except it didn't or couldn't stop Hall.
devil's advocte
14 Aug 2007, 16:03
[quote=devil's advocte;8402090]I eltham have been fighting out of their weight division ... they pay top dollar to a coach
Very misinformed Devil.
There gettn paid more..
Btw, you can't buy heart
you are right KA i am very misinformed, or so the mrs keeps telling me.
glad to hear the eltham people feel maylin is worth every penny and that he brings "more" to the table...though i'm sure after a few years you would prefer "more" to be wins by now.
and you are also right that you cant buy heart, I think i meant passion, but i was tired last night!
I was reacting to the tosser bmw22 that snipes instead of bringing value to the forum
Jewelsandbullet
14 Aug 2007, 17:06
There has never ever been covers placed on the centre wicket of Cramer St oval during winter, this only gets done during cricket season as rain does not prevent football from getting played.
I was at the oval on Sunday and although it was the worst I had seen it, in years. It still is alot better then most NFL clubs grounds. By the time finals comes around this ground will be looking good and will have a great atmosphere with a big crowd.
Got to say I agree with Urple on this one - it will be a great change of atmosphere... and I like the idea of playing finals at a neutral "show case" venue. Other leagues do it with success.
I just hope we roll Norf this week and guarantee ourselves a spot amongst the action :)