View Full Version : Northern Football League Div 1 - CLOSED

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

ifyoucandodgeawrench
6 Jun 2007, 10:52
Division One talk only.... :thumbsu:
For those sick of hearing about Thomastown, Sth Morang & Wastonia etc.....

hugs_dancer
6 Jun 2007, 11:17

very good idea!
thank god!

What happened to heidleberg on the w/e anyway?
struggling against epping? what happend?
Epping arent as bad as what ppl are saying?
20 questions lol

Jewelsandbullet
6 Jun 2007, 11:27

Great iniative dodge :thumbsu:

had been thinking about doing this myself ...

Maybe we will get some of the old bigfooty warriors like GYTM back (even though his boys are in DIV 2)

Jewelsandbullet
6 Jun 2007, 11:32
very good idea!
thank god!

What happened to heidleberg on the w/e anyway?
struggling against epping? what happend?
Epping arent as bad as what ppl are saying?
20 questions lol

Epping looked very good in the last 15 minutes against Mont, I was thinking if they carried that form into the following week they might only get beaten by 8 goals... but they did even better!

Would have been great for the comp had they knocked them over.

Boro must be the headcases of DIV one - how can you beat Eltham then lose by 20 + goals to North H?

ifyoucandodgeawrench
6 Jun 2007, 11:57
From what I could see, there was some poor decision making throughout the game. Epping where very good at stoppages and we struggled getting past half way going forward.

harryhawaii
6 Jun 2007, 12:07
From what I could see, there was some poor decision making throughout the game. Epping where very good at stoppages and we struggled getting past half way going forward.
eppings king dominated the centre and fed the ball to his young group of rovers who then moved the ball quickly to their forwards. a very small side but ran and harassed. i hate saying it that but as we all know you take dale nolan out of the backline it gives the opposition an even chance .eppings young blokes just outran us and it took a super human effort by danny nolan , stinger and russ lee keep the team in the game and then overrun them.why king went of the ground we will never know but it changed the game .good to see the opportunist fav get 5 .

hugs_dancer
6 Jun 2007, 13:23
5 rounds in.....

Anyone wanna have a crack at an interleague side even though there is no game, which there should b! would b good to see the NFL VS EFL like 2 or 3 years ago.

someone have a go?

Jewelsandbullet
6 Jun 2007, 14:02
5 rounds in.....

Anyone wanna have a crack at an interleague side even though there is no game, which there should b! would b good to see the NFL VS EFL like 2 or 3 years ago.

someone have a go?

here ya go.. I've started one, did it in a bit of a rush and yet to name a fullback... have to get back to work ...... but it's a start (odd position might be out & some bias)

B McIntosh (Bund) ....... Haydock (Heid)

HB Fricker (Mont) Nolan (Heid) Nolan (Heid)

C Martelo (Nt H) Gutterson (Mont) Murhpy (Heid)

HF Bongetti (Eltham) Dean (Heid) Stanley (Mont)

F Howse (Bundora) Hall (Heid) Franchina (Heid)

Foll Jeffery (NP), Harvey (Heid), Ayres (Bund),

I/C Piggot (Bund) , T Waston (Mont), Carelli (WP), Keenan (Mont), Gay (Heid)

Runner: Bruce Almighty

mase06
6 Jun 2007, 14:28
not bad j and b

to hard to pick a team during my smoko break so just had a squad.

tried to put a few from each team except from greensy and diamo, didnt really know any of there players

rucks: king - epp, jefferys - nrth park, nugent - west

on ballers: murphy,lee,harvey - heidelberg, carelli - west, hollow - epping, contessa,minney - eltham, howse,ayres,mitchell,mcintosh - bund, gutto,kennan - mont

forwards - shaun ryan - north, hall,dean -heidelberg, jacobs - epping, baker - west, piggot - bund.

backs - kingy,moore - north, nolans,haydock,lowther - heid, fricker - mont, gloury,grossman - bund, richardson brothers - eltham.

a few epping boys in there hahahaha,old teammates. interesting to see what you think.

FOOTYBOSS
7 Jun 2007, 09:55
not bad j and b

to hard to pick a team during my smoko break so just had a squad.

tried to put a few from each team except from greensy and diamo, didnt really know any of there players

rucks: king - epp, jefferys - nrth park, nugent - west

on ballers: murphy,lee,harvey - heidelberg, carelli - west, hollow - epping, contessa,minney - eltham, howse,ayres,mitchell,mcintosh - bund, gutto,kennan - mont

forwards - shaun ryan - north, hall,dean -heidelberg, jacobs - epping, baker - west, piggot - bund.

backs - kingy,moore - north, nolans,haydock,lowther - heid, fricker - mont, gloury,grossman - bund, richardson brothers - eltham.

a few epping boys in there hahahaha,old teammates. interesting to see what you think.

Is Troy Carrick playing at all this year?

Pheonix20
7 Jun 2007, 10:44
This week is shaping up to be the best round of the season with all teams that are close to each other on the ladder playing against each other. Creek V Park 9 v 10 (Creek)
Norf v Bundy 2 v 3 (Bund)
Eppin v West 6 v 8 (Eppin)
Grensy v Mont 7 v 4 Traditional rivals (Mont last chance Mont)
Heid v Eltham 1 v 5 (Tigers) but the panthers starting to click, should be a good one after tigers poor performance last week.
This will be the best indicator yet as to where the season should unfold unless the competition really is starting to even out then 'll be buggered if I know who's going to win.
:rolleyes:

fig9
7 Jun 2007, 14:34
Phoenix have a little faith mate.. Mark my words we will not lose to Epping this week..:thumbsu:
As for the interleague side, if your going on form, where is Andy Gill (west) and Damien Smith (west)??????? Come On!;)
Should be a fantastic match up this week, with big Damien 'Subway' Smith against big Daniel King..... ............ f#*k i love saturdays, bring it on:D

Big Ump
7 Jun 2007, 15:37
Phoenix have a little faith mate.. Mark my words we will not lose to Epping this week..:thumbsu:
As for the interleague side, if your going on form, where is Andy Gill (west) and Damien Smith (west)??????? Come On!;)
Should be a fantastic match up this week, with big Damien 'Subway' Smith against big Daniel King..... ............ f#*k i love saturdays, bring it on:D

Damiem Smith made the interleague side when playing for Heathcote 2 years ago. He has a great leap good set of hands and can kick only thing i noticed while playing for Heathcote he doe's tend to duck his head when going for a mark:thumbsu:

magpie#18
7 Jun 2007, 16:15
Damiem Smith made the interleague side when playing for Heathcote 2 years ago. He has a great leap good set of hands and can kick only thing i noticed while playing for Heathcote he doe's tend to duck his head when going for a mark:thumbsu:

r u sure it was him!

from what ive seen this yr!....the boy can play!

magpie#18
7 Jun 2007, 16:16

we are all pumped:)

Big Ump
7 Jun 2007, 16:31
r u sure it was him!

from what ive seen this yr!....the boy can play!

If it's Damiem Smith from West Preston he can play alright he was heads above anyone in the HDFL I was only making a point about his marking u watch him next time contest for a mark not only a great player great bloke also :thumbsu:

fig9
7 Jun 2007, 23:44
WOW:eek: What's going on at Heidelberg??? Heard a rumour tonight that the great Brendan Billy McCormak, former Fitzroy player and Donvale coach has been approached to coach the tigers next year?? Is this another move to help them move east? Or has Plunkett not lived up to expectation? Brucey Boy what's going on???:confused:

8 Jun 2007, 00:29
Also heard Big Corey named on the Pine this week.

Boromania
8 Jun 2007, 03:31
Epping looked very good in the last 15 minutes against Mont, I was thinking if they carried that form into the following week they might only get beaten by 8 goals... but they did even better!

Would have been great for the comp had they knocked them over.

Boro must be the headcases of DIV one - how can you beat Eltham then lose by 20 + goals to North H?

It definately is a mind game! Want more evidence- we were 7 goals up on Epping and lost by 3. You switch off in Div 1 and that's what happens!

With all due respect to Eltham, from what i've seen North must have been well off their game against them- they certainly were back on it against greensy.

Eltham did it to us again though and pipped Monty- should be intersting to see if we can give a more competitive showing and how mont will respond?

Jewelsandbullet
8 Jun 2007, 09:35
It definately is a mind game! Want more evidence- we were 7 goals up on Epping and lost by 3. You switch off in Div 1 and that's what happens!

With all due respect to Eltham, from what i've seen North must have been well off their game against them- they certainly were back on it against greensy.

Eltham did it to us again though and pipped Monty- should be intersting to see if we can give a more competitive showing and how mont will respond?

Everyone is pumped about this week... it's a must win game for all three teams.

And we sure do hate the slime ;)

However, - the 1s have quite a few injuries.. but no excuses on the day ... I'm just not predicting a huge margin mate.

ALLDAY18
8 Jun 2007, 12:08

Eltham just had a bad day against Gboro & they played well, just like in the Heidelberg vs Epping game last week! It was the wake up the Panthers needed..

Jewelsandbullet
8 Jun 2007, 12:13
Eltham just had a bad day against Gboro & they played well, just like in the Heidelberg vs Epping game last week! It was the wake up the Panthers needed..

Yeah - I'm starting to think it is maybe the Panthers that can be a bit jekyll and hyde

They seem to get themselves up, and play better against the better sides.. but then can drop the odd game against teams they really should beat.

ALLDAY18
8 Jun 2007, 12:22
Yeah - I'm starting to think it is maybe the Panthers that can be a bit jekyll and hyde

They seem to get themselves up, and play better against the better sides.. but then can drop the odd game against teams they really should beat.

When you lack key position talls its hard to put any team away, every game is a tight tussle & the opposition often stays in it right to the end.
Is a very even comp this year too, no easy games!
Conditions & where game is played will decide a lot of games this season...

Jewelsandbullet
8 Jun 2007, 12:30
Conditions & where game is played will decide a lot of games this season...

Good point....

I'm not sure how much involvement they have had in it - but the scheduling of games has fallen to the advantage of the Panthers so far.

North H at the smaller Hurstbridge ground... perfect... then if you could choose any ground to have Mont at, I'd say you'd want them at the wide open spaces at Creek...

Might be just luck- but if the club has had any say in it - then it's smart work.

ALLDAY18
8 Jun 2007, 13:40
Good point....

I'm not sure how much involvement they have had in it - but the scheduling of games has fallen to the advantage of the Panthers so far.

North H at the smaller Hurstbridge ground... perfect... then if you could choose any ground to have Mont at, I'd say you'd want them at the wide open spaces at Creek...

Might be just luck- but if the club has had any say in it - then it's smart work.

Has worked out well but only because we've won.
We are playing 2-3 sides twice at their home grounds which isnt good,
e.g our game against Heid this week is a home game @ Heid..
Im pretty sure we're just getting put wherever they can fit us that won't affect that grounds condition too much, hence not being allowed to play at Watsonia last week!
Much rather have our home ground but we'll be right J&B! :thumbsu:

liquorman
8 Jun 2007, 15:08
What does everyone think of Watsonia / Thomastown / King Lake / Macloeds chances of winning this year. Oh sorry, that's right, who gives a ****?

Nice work dodge, love the new divvy 1 thread.

Hey JB, geez mont are particularly crap this year, whats the story mate?

Go Bergs :thumbsu:

Jewelsandbullet
8 Jun 2007, 15:42
What does everyone think of Watsonia / Thomastown / King Lake / Macloeds chances of winning this year. Oh sorry, that's right, who gives a ****?

G'day T-bear...

We are re-building ;)

I think it was said last night Mont have 13 blokes who played in last years prelim that are either injured or have left... having said that we did get pumped in that game by you blokes anyway

We'll be ok with a few more back .... I hope

Bruce Almighty
8 Jun 2007, 16:10
WOW:eek: What's going on at Heidelberg??? Heard a rumour tonight that the great Brendan Billy McCormak, former Fitzroy player and Donvale coach has been approached to coach the tigers next year?? Is this another move to help them move east? Or has Plunkett not lived up to expectation? Brucey Boy what's going on???:confused:

Not going anywhere,Plunks is doing a good job and everyone is just focusing on the games at hand.With the results coming through at the moment and Epping just about beating us I think everyone could be in for some quality games.Eltham this week should be a beauty i said the bergers by 38 points but i think it will be very close.What about WP when are they going to get in the 4....:D

Bruce Almighty
8 Jun 2007, 16:42
here ya go.. I've started one, did it in a bit of a rush and yet to name a fullback... have to get back to work ...... but it's a start (odd position might be out & some bias)

B McIntosh (Bund) ....... Haydock (Heid)

HB Fricker (Mont) Nolan (Heid) Nolan (Heid)

C Martelo (Nt H) Gutterson (Mont) Murhpy (Heid)

HF Bongetti (Eltham) Dean (Heid) Stanley (Mont)

F Howse (Bundora) Hall (Heid) Franchina (Heid)

Foll Jeffery (NP), Harvey (Heid), Ayres (Bund),

I/C Piggot (Bund) , T Waston (Mont), Carelli (WP), Keenan (Mont), Gay (Heid)

Runner: Bruce Almighty

Jb thanks for the inclusion.Back in this week after a hammy strain.Its as close as I can get to the footy these days.Just hope that hangover doesnt follow me around again as it does most Saturdays.

Jewelsandbullet
8 Jun 2007, 16:51
Jb thanks for the inclusion.Back in this week after a hammy strain.Its as close as I can get to the footy these days.Just hope that hangover doesnt follow me around again as it does most Saturdays.

only way to guarantee that.. is to stay away from the lower tonight ... perish the thought :eek:

magpie#18
8 Jun 2007, 17:08

read the name of thread mate

mattyr
8 Jun 2007, 18:03
read the name of thread mate

read his post mate :thumbsu:

Boromania
9 Jun 2007, 17:45

North beat Bundoora. Looks like we played them back into form:D!!!

Shows North are a pretty good team when up and running (as they clearly were against us!).

Northcote Park beating Diamo is also a big result for the relegation battle (would have though Diamo would have set themselves for a win especially at home!).:thumbsu:

Heidelberg,Eltham result as expected.

Don't know what happened with Epping v West.

Go the Slime- give it to those Monty scumbags! (JB)! LOL!:D:cool:

magpie#18
9 Jun 2007, 18:27

Shows North are a pretty good team when up and running (as they clearly were against us!).

Northcote Park beating Diamo is also a big result for the relegation battle (would have though Diamo would have set themselves for a win especially at home!).:thumbsu:

west won:)

magpie#18
9 Jun 2007, 18:31
read his post mate :thumbsu:
woops!

lol

sorry mate

A Living God
9 Jun 2007, 18:34
Are Diamo going back to divi 2?

Probably the only other team in contention for relegation would be Epping and I don't see the Diamo beating Epping.

junior29
10 Jun 2007, 09:18

dont try to justify your loss last week boro boy, hope you get boned today you cocky fuc##rs.

magpie#18
10 Jun 2007, 21:40
good wins by both the u19s and seniors at west!!..both hopefully looking at a final series if the work rate is maintained!

superselector
10 Jun 2007, 21:53
Has the NFL ( Sporting Pulse) site got it wrong again or did Boro beat Monty by 13 today? If so things must be looking pretty grim at Monty and Rosy at War memorial!!!!:)

A Living God
11 Jun 2007, 08:28
Has the NFL ( Sporting Pulse) site got it wrong again or did Boro beat Monty by 13 today? If so things must be looking pretty grim at Monty and Rosy at War memorial!!!!:)
All 3 monty teams are struggling, 1st and 2nds 3W 3L, the thirds are 1 and 5.

AndyBoy
11 Jun 2007, 10:23
Are Diamo going back to divi 2?

Probably the only other team in contention for relegation would be Epping and I don't see the Diamo beating Epping.

Hope for the clubs sake they don't go back.....

The one's are just not clicking.... No game plan..... No forward setup.... No defensive zone.....

Seems to be some problems at the top.... The committee don't seem to be around helping and just want to 'bag' people....

A bit white anting by the 19's coach is a strong rumour round the place....

Are cowboy's (great bloke so i hope not) days numbered??? Who could step in and improve the sides performance??? It's not the coaches out there kicking the sherrin around!!!!!

Boof Head
11 Jun 2007, 10:26
top idea dodge was getting sick of hearing about those prawns

junior29
11 Jun 2007, 17:24
top idea dodge was getting sick of hearing about those prawns
My bet says both of you (dodge and boof) have already checked out the div 2 site and will every now and then!!!!! Now lets be honest have yours????

ifyoucandodgeawrench
11 Jun 2007, 17:26
My bet says both of you (dodge and boof) have already checked out the div 2 site and will every now and then!!!!! Now lets be honest have yours????

Only to see how you've been playing jack :thumbsu:

devil's advocte
12 Jun 2007, 09:13
J & B

After this weekends' results are we to believe Monty = Gone?
6 games 3 and 3 with the top 3 still to play. Your guys could make the turn potentially at 3 and 6. What has happened? All the hype was north being the team to fall away, now by the look of it Monty has fallen big time.

How do the players lift from here? Hows the mood down there at magpie land?

Jewelsandbullet
12 Jun 2007, 10:40
J & B

After this weekends' results are we to believe Monty = Gone?
6 games 3 and 3 with the top 3 still to play. Your guys could make the turn potentially at 3 and 6. What has happened? All the hype was north being the team to fall away, now by the look of it Monty has fallen big time.

How do the players lift from here? Hows the mood down there at magpie land?

Don't believe the hype! I guess that is the lesson...

The disappointing thing is that in each of the three loses Mont have been in a position of control at some stage.

Gutterson's 4th quater goal put us ahead by 21 points I think.

Not sure if it's switching off, or what it is.....

Anyway, can still put what is going to be an evenly contested season back on track with a win this week, have a fantastic record against North H at home.

Having said that - we really are not the same side at the moment - lots of personal changes.. although we do get a few back this week... & we need them!

Still getting good performances from our better players: Bomber, Gutterson etc were all good on Sunday ... depth is where we are a little bit worse off this year.

Can't give up Devil .. i think we are still in the four!

ps. What a fantastic crowd on Sunday - the roar when Boro hit the front must have given the slime players a great lift - I hope we get the benefits of the large bar/canteen takings on the return leg

yerba
12 Jun 2007, 12:55
whats wrong with monty is the coach . thats all that needs to be siad

greatguy
12 Jun 2007, 13:41

At least there is a competition going on for the Grand Finalists, what has D1 got? the same (yawn) two sides--Bundoora and Heidelberg, with the relegation already decided, and this is entertaining!

Jewelsandbullet
12 Jun 2007, 14:34
=greatguy;7814778]At least there is a competition going on for the Grand Finalists, what has D1 got? the same (yawn) two sides--Bundoora and Heidelberg, with the relegation already decided, and this is entertaining!

What are you talking about ??? The results are more even than they have been in years. Bundoora got beaten on the weekend and sit below North H on the ladder.

Eltham have beaten North H.

I wouldn't say that means Bundoora have a grand final spot just yet. :confused:

A Living God
12 Jun 2007, 15:06
At least there is a competition going on for the Grand Finalists, what has D1 got? the same (yawn) two sides--Bundoora and Heidelberg, with the relegation already decided, and this is entertaining!
Heidelberg are clearly the best
Diamo are cleary the worst

North Heid beat Bundy
Eltham beat North
Greensy beat Eltham
Epping beat Greensy
Mont beat Epping
West beat Mont
Northcote beat West.

The other 8 team are fairly even and Heidelberg arn't invincible, top 4 and the grandfinalist are wide open.

Compared to Division 2 , division 1 is miles ahead in terms of enternaiment and closeness of the competion
Macleod (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197705&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 19.20-134
def
Watsonia (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197686&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 5.7-37

Thomastown (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197712&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 24.18-162
def
Parkside (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197721&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 11.8-74

Heidelberg West (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197702&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 23.10-148
def
Kinglake (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197692&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 8.9-57

Lalor (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197688&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 24.18-162
def
South Morang (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197697&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 12.8-80

Macleod (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197705&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 43.29-287
def
Wallan (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197694&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 6.4-40

Lower Plenty (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197695&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 19.14-128
def
Watsonia (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197686&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 2.8-20

Whittlesea (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197716&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 17.18-120
def
Wallan (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197694&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 7.4-46

Lower Plenty (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197695&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 29.20-194
def
Wallan (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197694&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 5.10-40

Lalor (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197688&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 28.35-203
def
Kinglake (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197692&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 1.5-11

Watsonia (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197686&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 22.16-148
def
Wallan (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197694&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 9.7-61

Macleod (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197705&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 40.12-252
def
Kinglake (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197692&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 6.8-44

Lalor (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197688&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 27.27-189
def
Heidelberg West (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197702&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 5.4-34

Whittlesea (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197716&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 39.22-256
def
Kinglake (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197692&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 2.6-18

Macleod (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197705&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 31.23-209
def
Hurstbridge (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?id=5197706&c=1-3913-0-52013-0) 11.6-72

ALLDAY18
12 Jun 2007, 16:12

Go back to the Div2 thread & talk about it then!

As you obviously have no idea about Div1 footy!

Boromania
12 Jun 2007, 16:22
dont try to justify your loss last week boro boy, hope you get boned today you cocky fuc##rs.

Managed to wedge your foot clear of your mouth yet- I bet that really stung! Go the mighty Boro!

JB- couldn't agree more- the crowd was fantastic and the roar was inspiring! Hopefully the return game sees another bumper crowd and another great close match. (of course with a Boro win:D)

As for the tosser from Divvy 2 trying to justify their existence. Don't disgrace our forum with your presence. There hasn't been an interesting Divvy 2 game yet. The only one will be Lalor v Macleod (and let's hope Lalor smash em so a few of those chokers from Macleod go hiding back in their holes).

One game separates 2nd - 7th and Heidelberg only just got over Epping- it is a hell of a lot closer than you think.

Try watching a Divvy 1 game before embarrassing yourself with stupid comments- it is faster, has more skill, is harder, is far more competitive and interesting, and the crowds sh1t on Divvy 2.

If you step out of your little Divvy 2 world you would realise just how insignificant it really is and no-one really cares.:thumbsd:

Probably the most significant stat is that in Divvy 1 there has been almost twice as many results decided by 25 points or less then there has been in Divvy 2- which by my reckoning makes Divvy 1 twice as interesting or Divvy 2 two times more boring!

3 more very interesting games this week
Mont v North- Look for a much closer result than people expect
Northcote v Epping- An important game for both teams in terms of getting clear of the relegation battle
West v Eltham- what can Eltham pull out of the bag this week?

SCARFACE
12 Jun 2007, 16:45

Great win by the the boro boys on the weekend, wont be the last time this season that its s@$t canners eat there own.

RiverRat
12 Jun 2007, 17:05
3 more very interesting games this week
Mont v North- Look for a much closer result than people expect
Northcote v Epping- An important game for both teams in terms of getting clear of the relegation battle
West v Eltham- what can Eltham pull out of the bag this week?

How will the borough fair against Heidelberg this week mate?

Boromania
12 Jun 2007, 17:09
How will the borough fair against Heidelberg this week mate?

Obviously it will be a battle this week, don't think anyone is kidding themselves there but in the years before Div 2 we were always pretty competitive with them so i think if we can be competitive (obviously like epping were) then that is a good start.

Go the Slime:D

fig9
12 Jun 2007, 20:31
West Preston vs Eltham match of the round this week??
If other games go to plan Tigers vs Slime and Monty vs Norf;) these two teams are playing for fourth spot.. Bring it on! Go Roosters!:D

fig9
12 Jun 2007, 20:36
One more thing;divvi 2 is a disgrace and doesn't deserve a mention in the same breath as divvi 1. The league needs to introduce a third division next year, or teams will keep dropping away and folding. Go Roosters:D

Boof Head
12 Jun 2007, 21:01
Nah havn't had a look and prob won't

Boof Head
12 Jun 2007, 21:05
Are u serious mate? this is the closest div 1 has been for ages? so boot off

ifyoucandodgeawrench
12 Jun 2007, 21:09
What gives?? 4 pages in and blokes are already talking about Div 2 :(

BobbyBurritto
12 Jun 2007, 21:37
Try watching a Divvy 1 game before embarrassing yourself with stupid comments- it is faster, has more skill, is harder, is far more competitive and interesting, and the crowds sh1t on Divvy 2.

If you step out of your little Divvy 2 world you would realise just how insignificant it really is and no-one really cares.:thumbsd:

I'm sure you and your supporters cared the last few seasons! How quickley they forget!

Had the pleasure of wandering down and watching the Bourgh v Mont game and while entertaining I was actually disappointed with the standard. Bourgh have gone up a notch from last year but that was definately not the Mont of years gone by. Seen my share of Div 1 games in the last 10-15 years (mainly finals) it it looks like the sides may not be as good as in the past. Has the standard dropped or is the comp just evening up? Or both maybe?

Bruce Almighty
12 Jun 2007, 23:07
One more thing;divvi 2 is a disgrace and doesn't deserve a mention in the same breath as divvi 1. The league needs to introduce a third division next year, or teams will keep dropping away and folding. Go Roosters:D

Well said Mr Nugent.Its strange how you find things out...but another cat told me.

magpie#18
12 Jun 2007, 23:11
West Preston vs Eltham match of the round this week??
If other games go to plan Tigers vs Slime and Monty vs Norf;) these two teams are playing for fourth spot.. Bring it on! Go Roosters!:D

set to be a cracker!!!

Go Roosters!!!!:thumbsu::thumbsu:

fig9
13 Jun 2007, 09:40
Well said Mr Nugent.Its strange how you find things out...but another cat told me.
Thanks Bruce, always a pleasure.. I hear things from cats everyday..;)

Boromania
13 Jun 2007, 10:14
I'm sure you and your supporters cared the last few seasons! How quickley they forget!

Had the pleasure of wandering down and watching the Bourgh v Mont game and while entertaining I was actually disappointed with the standard. Bourgh have gone up a notch from last year but that was definately not the Mont of years gone by. Seen my share of Div 1 games in the last 10-15 years (mainly finals) it it looks like the sides may not be as good as in the past. Has the standard dropped or is the comp just evening up? Or both maybe?

There is only one game in Divvy 2 that matters- the rest is just a ridiculous procession (a la all the lopsided results) and i think you will find that is the only game anyone really cares about because that is the only game that gets them out of that crappy division!

As for your comment about the overall standard of the competition- i think that your perception stems from the closeness of the competition this year. There are more teams who are evenly matched and this therefore can create some very high pressure games in which more mistakes are bound to be made (if this is what you are intimating) but the overall matches are still at a much higher standard, they are quicker and therefore in the end they are more entertaining.

Plus remember that the smaller grounds like Monty and Boro mean that a free running game is nearly never possible because of the lack of space and therefore the game is played in tight and close. Whereas the bigger grounds (like the finals venue of Epping) allow for a higher skilled, less physical free running game.

ALLDAY18
13 Jun 2007, 11:01
set to be a cracker!!!

Go Roosters!!!!:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Indeed it is!

Go Panther!!!:D

magpie#18
13 Jun 2007, 11:52
Indeed it is!

ITS ON! HAHA:)

junior29
13 Jun 2007, 12:46
[quote=Boromania;7816550]Managed to wedge your foot clear of your mouth yet- I bet that really stung! Go the mighty Boro!

As for the tosser from Divvy 2 trying to justify their existence. Don't disgrace our forum with your presence. There hasn't been an interesting Divvy 2 game yet. The only one will be Lalor v Macleod (and let's hope Lalor smash em so a few of those chokers from Macleod go hiding back in their holes).
How do you figure chokers boro where a much better side last year. 04,05 is what you call choking....

superoo8
13 Jun 2007, 14:34
There is only one game in Divvy 2 that matters- the rest is just a ridiculous procession (a la all the lopsided results) and i think you will find that is the only game anyone really cares about because that is the only game that gets them out of that crappy division!

As for your comment about the overall standard of the competition- i think that your perception stems from the closeness of the competition this year. There are more teams who are evenly matched and this therefore can create some very high pressure games in which more mistakes are bound to be made (if this is what you are intimating) but the overall matches are still at a much higher standard, they are quicker and therefore in the end they are more entertaining.

Plus remember that the smaller grounds like Monty and Boro mean that a free running game is nearly never possible because of the lack of space and therefore the game is played in tight and close. Whereas the bigger grounds (like the finals venue of Epping) allow for a higher skilled, less physical free running game.

Hey ev1 i'm new to the site but been in and around DVFL for 35 odd years. I was at the Boro V Mont game on sunday and it was one of the biggest and loudest i had seen in years. Boro's side is very very young so if they can keep the kids and build a bit they will be back up where they belong, it also explains the up and down form (normaly happens with very young sides).
Cant wait to see how they match up against the tigers this week. cheers.
Go Burras

Hunters Host #3
13 Jun 2007, 14:52
Indeed it is!

Promises to be a close encounter...
If North knock off Mont then the winner will move to fourth, so plenty to play for. Especially when Mont have a tough 2 following weeks against Heidelberg and Bundy.

Notice Chris Varsamakis has played the last 2 games for the panthers and was in their best.. Has he been playin in the guts or up forward? And is he in this week?

fig9
13 Jun 2007, 15:09
Hey, just want to get the opinions from other valley followers about a 3rd being introduced? Good or Bad idea?

Jewelsandbullet
13 Jun 2007, 15:30
Hey, just want to get the opinions from other valley followers about a 3rd being introduced? Good or Bad idea?

3rd what figstar?

ALLDAY18
13 Jun 2007, 15:34
Promises to be a close encounter...
If North knock off Mont then the winner will move to fourth, so plenty to play for. Especially when Mont have a tough 2 following weeks against Heidelberg and Bundy.

Notice Chris Varsamakis has played the last 2 games for the panthers and was in their best.. Has he been playin in the guts or up forward? And is he in this week?

Been playing mainly on the wing & will be playing this week..

superselector
13 Jun 2007, 15:39
Three Divisions have been talked about for at least ten years good in principle but the league is shrinking and not growing, would be good if some Juniour clubs thought about fielding a couple of senior sides or an amateur side or two joined plus the two who dropped out came back !!!3 teams of 10 would be ideal.Lets remember a super metro league is still very much on the cards especially if the Afl have Reserves again.

ALLDAY18
13 Jun 2007, 15:44

Surely a good idea.
Clubs would be playing in more competitive games each week with a realistic chance of finals footy, which must be better for the clubs to be able to attract new sponsors & players to ensure their futures.
Also, more enjoyable for their current players!

ippa
13 Jun 2007, 15:47
you would be a highly decorated two's player i reckon yerba

Pheonix20
13 Jun 2007, 15:49
Went along to a pleasant sunday match at the burra on Sunday and saw what appeared to be the Northern League version of the Sydney Swans. Burra shut the game down and slowed it to their level not allowing Mont to kick away then ran over them in the last quarter. It's an interesting style of play but will take a power of discipline to maintain it. And it is good to have the slime back in the one's and build on those traditional rivalries that only come from local footy.
Also spoke to the bundy boys and they tell me that Saddington is back, Harrison and Hunt which almost brings them back to last years playing list.
Mont are in big trouble three big games which I can't see them winning one.
North are obviously the real deal, so much for the off season bagging they copped but if they keep getting locked up they won't have a team to present, besides, at some stage they will eat their own.
West and Eltham ....Hmmmmm
Let's see what happens this week. Still to be convinced about west.

Pheonix20
13 Jun 2007, 15:51
Three Divisions have been talked about for at least ten years good in principle but the league is shrinking and not growing, would be good if some Juniour clubs thought about fielding a couple of senior sides or an amateur side or two joined plus the two who dropped out came back !!!3 teams of 10 would be ideal.Lets remember a super metro league is still very much on the cards especially if the Afl have Reserves again.

If the AFL decide to go with reserves then the VFL are going to need another ten to fifteen players each to top up, that can only be a drain on local footy not a bonus.

Jewelsandbullet
13 Jun 2007, 15:57
Mont are in big trouble three big games which I can't see them winning one.

What odds a Mont win this week Pheonix? &

Are you taking bets?:cool:

wonderman
13 Jun 2007, 16:04

And who cares about the NFL,still the same abuse from spectators especially the parents of the Under 19's,the behind the play hits, the elbows flying everywhere even when you are running past..... past...that;s right the NFL can't accept that the 70's, 80's and 90's are gone...slogan for the NFL should be Northern Football League''"Still living in the 70's"".

And how about the exciting after match show on Saturday nights, gees it's well run...

Jewelsandbullet
13 Jun 2007, 16:10
And who cares about the NFL,still the same abuse from spectators especially the parents of the Under 19's,the behind the play hits, the elbows flying everywhere even when you are running past..... past...that;s right the NFL can't accept that the 70's, 80's and 90's are gone...slogan for the NFL should be Northern Football League''"Still living in the 70's"".

And how about the exciting after match show on Saturday nights, gees it's well run...

As tempting as it is to reply to wonder women's crap, I suggest we try and ignore boys.

If you look at his post history he has tried this before

He is a serial "birds nest" looking to get a rise... ignore and the little sissy will go away.

superoo8
13 Jun 2007, 16:18
Good advice Jewels, wonder sounds like an umpire to me.

fig9
13 Jun 2007, 16:27
3rd what figstar?
sorry j&b 3rd division:eek:

Jewelsandbullet
13 Jun 2007, 16:41
sorry j&b 3rd division:eek:

Thought you might have meant umpire - was going to say .. yeah great idea -a third orange fool, who is blind, clueless, slow, and constantly spoiling a good game... great idea :thumbsu:.. bring it on :D

mattyr
13 Jun 2007, 17:12

no1 listen to this #### he talks absulute dribble!

BobbyBurritto
13 Jun 2007, 17:27

Agree that it is a much higher standard but not as good as I have seen it. There have been close seasons in the past and hopefully this year is no different with up to 6-7 teams a chance to play finals.

Can only be good for the new NFL!

Good luck for the year Boromania but I still hate you c**ts!

ippa
13 Jun 2007, 18:10
whats wrong with monty is the coach . thats all that needs to be siad
you would be a highly decorated two's player yerba for sure

Drederick Tatum
13 Jun 2007, 18:56
Just got on to big footy. Didn't see any games over the weekend at all.........was wondering if anyone can give me an insight into what happened in the Bundy v Nth game on Saturday? Heard the Bulls last qtr cost them the 4 pts?

chopsewie
13 Jun 2007, 20:26
Just got on to big footy. Didn't see any games over the weekend at all.........was wondering if anyone can give me an insight into what happened in the Bundy v Nth game on Saturday? Heard the Bulls last qtr cost them the 4 pts?I went down and watched nth vs bundy. Nth should of won by six to eight goals Bundoora did'nt really work for there goals where nth really had a hard time getting their majors. Bundoora looked a little scared and got pushed around all day. Bundoora looked like they had a lot of blokes playing for themselves rather than for the jumper and was some on feild arguments among team mates Nth are super quick and on a big ground are going to be very hard to beat they will beat mont this week by ten to fifteen goals on a small ground and i nth have'nt won a game there for at least ten years. The only thing going against nth is there is'nt much depth.

wonderman
14 Jun 2007, 14:23
As tempting as it is to reply to wonder women's crap, I suggest we try and ignore boys.

If you look at his post history he has tried this before

He is a serial "birds nest" looking to get a rise... ignore and the little sissy will go away.

The truth does hurt...doesn't it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Samuri Pizza Cat
14 Jun 2007, 19:11
Just got on to big footy. Didn't see any games over the weekend at all.........was wondering if anyone can give me an insight into what happened in the Bundy v Nth game on Saturday? Heard the Bulls last qtr cost them the 4 pts?
yeah i saw the match too dred's and i thought bundy lost the game, more so than nth won it. Bull's smashed them in the 1st 10 mins of the match and took the foot off after that. to the dogs credit they stuck at it all day and got the chockies.

I wouldnt expect bundy to put in another lazy performance like that again for a while.

David_02
15 Jun 2007, 09:20
yeah i saw the match too dred's and i thought bundy lost the game, more so than nth won it. Bull's smashed them in the 1st 10 mins of the match and took the foot off after that. to the dogs credit they stuck at it all day and got the chockies.

I wouldnt expect bundy to put in another lazy performance like that again for a while.

north also upto old tricks

junior29
15 Jun 2007, 10:47
north also upto old tricks
what kind of old tricks david?????

yerba
15 Jun 2007, 14:14
you would be a highly decorated two's player yerba for sure
mate . i did play twos a couple of times.
whether your a twos or ones player you still know if a coach is good or not .
Larko was the best coach ive seen at mont ... he was a great coach
well organised at training , good drills and football smarts. what he does outside football is his business. it didnt effect his coaching
the stupidity of mont to get rid of him still amazes me.
but i suppose he didnt work with a hammer which seems to be all the vogue at mont .
for some reason at mont there seems to be a correlation between hammering and football knowledge

fig9
15 Jun 2007, 14:33
well organised at training , good drills and football smarts. what he does outside football is his business. it didnt effect his coaching

Larko has fitted in brillantly down at the roosters. Couldn't agree more, football smarts, well organised, and what do you know, he's actually a top bloke too.:thumbsu: Go Roosters!

Ps 3 more weeks and the White Wolf 5 is back..........:D

devil's advocte
15 Jun 2007, 15:06
mate . i did play twos a couple of times.
whether your a twos or ones player you still know if a coach is good or not .
but i suppose he didnt work with a hammer which seems to be all the vogue at mont .
for some reason at mont there seems to be a correlation between hammering and football knowledge

Dont know alot, but I do know for sure Mont did not want Larko to leave. Larko told me personally one night in Molly Blooms that he was only staying for 3 years, and he did exactly that, and that was in his first year of coaching down there.
So you work that out..Hammering? I think not. I know he would be welcome down at the nest any time and the game in round 1 between west and mont @ mont, larko was treated like he was still part of the Para rd crowd.

SCARFACE
15 Jun 2007, 15:26

Just face it when the heat gets turned on by a competitive opposition a few of the bulls turn into cats

magpie#18
15 Jun 2007, 17:41

Larko has fitted in brillantly down at the roosters. Couldn't agree more, football smarts, well organised, and what do you know, he's actually a top bloke too.:thumbsu: Go Roosters!

Ps 3 more weeks and the White Wolf 5 is back..........:D

white wolf!

going to be a huge 2nd half of yr!

see ya tomroro mateee!

Samuri Pizza Cat
15 Jun 2007, 18:57
Just face it when the heat gets turned on by a competitive opposition a few of the bulls turn into cats
Yeah ok ScareFace, just like the second half when they pumped the slime balls. They just got lazy and complacent, but mark my word they are a much better team then the dogs on there day. Bulls and Bergers are by far and above the rest of the comp. Well done to who ever finishes 3rd cos you are the best of the loosers

SCARFACE
15 Jun 2007, 19:29
Yeah ok ScareFace, just like the second half when they pumped the slime balls. They just got lazy and complacent, but mark my word they are a much better team then the dogs on there day. Bulls and Bergers are by far and above the rest of the comp. Well done to who ever finishes 3rd cos you are the best of the loosers

Well my friend u are only as good as ur last game!!!!!