View Full Version : Northern Football League Division 2 - CLOSED

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27

Force
6 Jun 2007, 12:29
For anyone who wants to talk about NFL division 2, and to keep ifyoucandodgeawrench from complaining!

Just some topics to start us off:

Hows your team looking?
Any new recruits?
Who will win the leagues B & F?
Who is going to make the final top 6?
Who will be playing in the premiership?
Who will win the premiership?
How did your team go on saturday?

Would be nice if we can talk about some decent topics rather then verbally bashing the other teams! Lets see how we go!!

mase06
6 Jun 2007, 12:36
played thomo on the weekend and i think thomo will make the top 6.

played very well for 1 and a half quarters. but then we played our best football all year.

also thomo had out barry mcdonald,steve soloymn,stefan berak and andy cummodo. capeci had an off day as well. so they will be good.

my top six in no particular order

WHITTLESEA GO EAGLES (obviously)
lower plenty
lalor
macleod
thomostown

and either south morang (if they can keep up there good form) or watsonia.

Force
6 Jun 2007, 12:47
My top 6 in no particular order:
Watsonia Go Saints (obviously)
Lower Plenty
Whittlesea
Macleod
Lalor
Thomastown

ifyoucandodgeawrench
6 Jun 2007, 12:55
Thanks Force! :thumbsu::thumbsu:
;)

GHOST WRITER
6 Jun 2007, 13:12
Went to see the Lower vs Morang game on Saturday and it proved to be a lot more entertaining and competitive than I thought it would. Poor kicking at goal certainly cost South Morang early and they should have been about 2 goals in front at half time. Lower certainly had their chances to win late in the game but full credit must go to the home team. Better players for Morang were Jerram and Snowden, whilst for Lower Parsons and Mckenzie were prominent.
PS The new rooms at Lakes look fantastic and full credit to South Morang who put on a good spread at half time too.
I'm sure Lower will be keen to atone for their loss and this week's game against Thomastown shapes as being a good one.

GHOST WRITER
6 Jun 2007, 13:15
Top 6 (in No Order):

Macleod
Lalor
Lower
Thomastown
South Morang
Parkside (smoky)

leskie
6 Jun 2007, 13:17
Lower Plenty
Whittlesea
Macleod
Lalor
Thomastown
playing of in the grand final will be macleod and lalor???
how slack are the nfl with there scores being put in the paper i think they should lift there game abit what's everyone thoughts on that?

mase06
6 Jun 2007, 13:18
ghost couldnt find a spot for whittlesea. hahahahahaha

about morang, bunch of young blokes that have a red hot crack.

just wondering if there ground has the biggest home ground advantage (i have never played there) but i have heard from a lot of people it is the windiest ground they have played on.

GHOST WRITER
6 Jun 2007, 13:30
mase - Parkside is my smoky, although 6th spot could conceivably be filled by a number of clubs, including the eagles.
The Mill Park Lakes ground is becoming a fortress for Morang early on. By its design it is very open and exposed to the elements and, as such, it will always be windy. Morang have a definite advantage here.
Mase - I note you played on the weekend. Did you play in the seniors and who did you play on? How did your two's and U19's fair? Looks as though Thomastown had a few out you reckon?

mase06
6 Jun 2007, 13:44
yeah mate played on saturday. yeah played okay on the grand stand wing (defensive wing). probably about half way through the 2nd quarter we were down by 3 goals. we just turned it on. kicked 10 of the next 11 goals and it was game over.

2's they lost but only just and 19's won with two of their best players playin seniors.so all is good at the moment.:)

gotta go, hope thats enough info ghost.

leskie
6 Jun 2007, 13:45

just wondering if there ground has the biggest home ground advantage (i have never played there) but i have heard from a lot of people it is the windiest ground they have played on.
i think they have the must be used to the wind by now?

LOOK AT THE DUKES
6 Jun 2007, 14:04

Gday boys,

Re the ground very very different to any ground in the league I think very open more a circle then a oval. As for the wind I suppose we are getting used to it but it is still pretty hard because come tues or thurs there is no wind it comes down to game day and the more we start to play on it the better we will became using it to our advantage. Thats what we want as every other club would new ground new facilities what to make it as hard as possible for other clubs to win. I think the six will be

Macleod
Lalor
Thomastown (need to pull finger out)
Lower Plenty
Whittlesea
South Morang

mase06
6 Jun 2007, 15:32
boys divi 1 thread trying to put a fantasy rep squad team together. anyone want to try and put one together. i can't as have only played against 4 clubs this year. and ill probably be biast towards whittlesea.

leskie
6 Jun 2007, 15:51
boys divi 1 thread trying to put a fantasy rep squad team together. anyone want to try and put one together. i can't as have only played against 4 clubs this year. and ill probably be biast towards whittlesea.
for divvi 2 players only

mase06
6 Jun 2007, 16:06
yes for divi 2 players only

leskie
6 Jun 2007, 16:39
yes for divi 2 players only
this is just a sqaud
carey.box panton hill
hockey parkside
pow,wood heidleberg west
curran mernda
carmusciano,elkins,smith lalor
brant,a.bennet,j.bennet,shaw,cottier macleod
mclaughlin,parsons,monga,knee lower
smith,wall,capeci thomastown
gillchrist,eifermann,fitzgerald whittlesea
gibson,wittison watsonia

just a start boys and girls

Force
6 Jun 2007, 17:13
this is just a sqaud
carey.box panton hill
hockey parkside
pow,wood heidleberg west
curran mernda
carmusciano,elkins,smith lalor
brant,a.bennet,j.bennet,shaw,cottier macleod
mclaughlin,parsons,monga,knee lower
smith,wall,capeci thomastown
gillchrist,eifermann,fitzgerald whittlesea
gibson,wittison watsonia

just a start boys and girls

Whats the ruckmans name from Whittlesea he goes pretty well??

looker
7 Jun 2007, 08:42
After 5 rounds 2nd divvy looking quite competitive. Lower and Thomastown dropping games during the weekend against teams that have not yet impressed, place ??'s over there capabilities. Suprising wins by both W'sea + Sth M, gives them both unpredicatability, and some credit.
Watsy seems to have hit the scoreboard in a big way over the past couple of weeks, albeit over dubious opposition. Parkside have been the suprise packet of the divvy. Seem to have won games, convincingly, yet it would look like their real test will come during the next 5 weeks, starting with Mernda away. Mernda are nortorious slow starters. Perhaps this season is no different. P.Hill may have lost touch with the top 6 during the past 2 weeks losses. It seems that H'bridge have lost their home ground advantage on their show-box ground, which will not set them in good stead once they start travelling away. Wallan and K'lake seem to be the cellar-dwellers this year. Good to see Wallan motoring thru hard times. Also good to see K'Lake get a pasting for their squibish team, after their pitiful/lacklustre decision to call off their game couple of weeks back. Just above these teams H.West, who have shown competitve form so far, yet not much goal-kicking power with Pow out of the team. At the moment MacLeod and Lalor seem to have lived up to pre-season hype. Looking to be a great game in Rd 10, when these 2 teams would expect to match-off, undeafeated.
Team Stayers = Lalor & MacLeod
Almost stayers = T'town & Lower P
Suprise Packets = Parkside
High potential = W'sea & Sth Morang
Bit of the Unknown = Watsy & Mernda
Dissapointments = H'bridge & P.Hill
Competitive = H.West
Cellar Dwellers = Wallan & Kinglake

Short season this year will not allow teams to make a late surge. It will also give those teams who burst out of the blocks, a chance to have a lull mid-season, with consequences perhaps not being as severe.
Looking forward to what the next couple of weeks bring, which will answer some of the questions, and no doubt rasie many more.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/statusicon/user_online.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/report.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/report.php?p=7729395) http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/misc/progress.gif

matchwinner
7 Jun 2007, 10:13
Whats the ruckmans name from Whittlesea he goes pretty well??

Can only go on the one game I saw of him, and he may have had an off day, but Super gave him a fair touch up in Round 1 when we played them.

URSINFOOTY
7 Jun 2007, 10:41
Gday boys,

Re the ground very very different to any ground in the league I think very open more a circle then a oval. As for the wind I suppose we are getting used to it but it is still pretty hard because come tues or thurs there is no wind it comes down to game day and the more we start to play on it the better we will became using it to our advantage. Thats what we want as every other club would new ground new facilities what to make it as hard as possible for other clubs to win. I think the six will be

Macleod
Lalor
Thomastown (need to pull finger out)
Lower Plenty
Whittlesea
South Morang

Look at the Dukes; I would agree with you about the ground that it's more of a circle than an oval.
What is your feeling when you walk off after you game, thought the crowed.
I like;
Lalor
Macleod
Lower
Sth Morang
Thomastown
I believe It's only a 5 not a 6 this season????

URSINFOOTY
7 Jun 2007, 10:45
Can only go on the one game I saw of him, and he may have had an off day, but Super gave him a fair touch up in Round 1 when we played them.

He's name is Jeremy Page.

Force
7 Jun 2007, 10:51

Its their same ruckman from last year yeah? If it is, your bloke must go alright then. I like the whittlesea bloke as he is not your typical 1 dimensional tap ruckman he also covers the whole ground like a midfielder and gathers up kicks as well.

Here's a question who would be the best ruckman in divvy 2?

FOOTYBOSS
7 Jun 2007, 10:53
played thomo on the weekend and i think thomo will make the top 6.

played very well for 1 and a half quarters. but then we played our best football all year.

also thomo had out barry mcdonald,steve soloymn,stefan berak and andy cummodo. capeci had an off day as well. so they will be good.

my top six in no particular order

WHITTLESEA GO EAGLES (obviously)
lower plenty
lalor
macleod
thomostown

and either south morang (if they can keep up there good form) or watsonia.

Hey mase,

You mentioned a few weeks ago that Whittleseas would be having a big signing in the coming weeks, who was it?

By the way, how is Guy Booker and Ace Curran going this year?

matchwinner
7 Jun 2007, 11:44
Its their same ruckman from last year yeah? If it is, your bloke must go alright then. I like the whittlesea bloke as he is not your typical 1 dimensional tap ruckman he also covers the whole ground like a midfielder and gathers up kicks as well.

Here's a question who would be the best ruckman in divvy 2?

I would think Super or Mafilovski from Lalor.

mase06
7 Jun 2007, 11:48
macca,

the signing i was talking about was ben fitzgerald from bundoora.

and mac troy carrick did his knee last year and i think will be right to play in the 2nd half of the year.
see ya mate.

bearfan
7 Jun 2007, 12:00
For anyone who wants to talk about NFL division 2, and to keep ifyoucandodgeawrench from complaining!

Just some topics to start us off:

Hows your team looking?
Any new recruits?
Who will win the leagues B & F?
Who is going to make the final top 6?
Who will be playing in the premiership?
Who will win the premiership?
How did your team go on saturday?

Would be nice if we can talk about some decent topics rather then verbally bashing the other teams! Lets see how we go!!

Force,

Good idea.

Lower looking OK although like all teams I think it will come down to who has the best run with injuries particularly come finals.

Probably have about 5 new recruits all who are going OK. Couple are Lower blokes who havent played for a couple of years.

B&F - Parso, Brandt

Top 6 (in no particular order)
Lower
Macleod
Lalor
Thomastown
Morang
W'Sea or Wats

GF will be Macleod & Lower with Lower winning

We had a shocker on Saturday with both 1's & two's getting rolled. Might be a bit of a wake up call and expect them to bounce back this week in a tough game against Thomastown at home.

Hunters Host #3
7 Jun 2007, 12:21
Bearfan.

How's Kane Tenace travelling this year? Playing on the ball im guessing ;)

leskie
7 Jun 2007, 12:39
Force,

Good idea.

Lower looking OK although like all teams I think it will come down to who has the best run with injuries particularly come finals.

Probably have about 5 new recruits all who are going OK. Couple are Lower blokes who havent played for a couple of years.

B&F - Parso, Brandt

Top 6 (in no particular order)
Lower
Macleod
Lalor
Thomastown
Morang
W'Sea or Wats

GF will be Macleod & Lower with Lower winning

We had a shocker on Saturday with both 1's & two's getting rolled. Might be a bit of a wake up call and expect them to bounce back this week in a tough game against Thomastown at home.
i think kane shaw will win the b&f this year and macleod for the flag to

GHOST WRITER
7 Jun 2007, 13:04
Bearfan - watching your game last week against South Morang you certainly had chances to win it late in the last quarter. Taking nothing away from Sth Morang, I imagine some of the players that were missing would have made a difference? What chance are they of returning this week? Your Reserves losing was a bit of a turn up for the books as well. They seemed to be travelling nicely until last week. Is this just a reflection of your injuries at the moment?

LOOK AT THE DUKES
7 Jun 2007, 13:59
Look at the Dukes; I would agree with you about the ground that it's more of a circle than an oval.
What is your feeling when you walk off after you game, thought the crowed.

Not a big fan of walking throught the crowd because anything could happen after a spiteful game. But what can you do there is not way of changing that with hte way the facilities are setup.

I can only comment on our team as I have not seem that many teams yet oviously.

Tennant back after a yr or 2 off backs a big difference in our side. Nick Snowden has also been in very good form.

bearfan
7 Jun 2007, 14:32
Bearfan.

HH#3,

Kane travelling very nicely. Is very dedicated to his footy with extra weights sessions etc. He will continue to improve as he fills out. Good skills, hard at it and reads the play well.

bearfan
7 Jun 2007, 14:39
Bearfan - watching your game last week against South Morang you certainly had chances to win it late in the last quarter. Taking nothing away from Sth Morang, I imagine some of the players that were missing would have made a difference? What chance are they of returning this week? Your Reserves losing was a bit of a turn up for the books as well. They seemed to be travelling nicely until last week. Is this just a reflection of your injuries at the moment?

Ghost,

Certyainly had our chances by all reports. I wasnt at the game. We were missing Ruckman, CHF, FB and our BnF from last year. also CHB was injured very early. FF and replacement CHF probably shouldn't have played due to niggling injuries. With a full side I am confident we can beat Morang however they would have had players out so who knows.

First time we have had a few missing and it certainly tests a clubs depth.
BnF and CHF will be back this week but not sure about the rest. May also have lost a couple from last weeks game so it will be tough.
Quyite surprised with reserves, thought we have a very good team. Morangs 2's will be thereabouts at the end of the year.

Force
7 Jun 2007, 15:09
Ghost,

Certyainly had our chances by all reports. I wasnt at the game. We were missing Ruckman, CHF, FB and our BnF from last year. also CHB was injured very early. FF and replacement CHF probably shouldn't have played due to niggling injuries. With a full side I am confident we can beat Morang however they would have had players out so who knows.

First time we have had a few missing and it certainly tests a clubs depth.
BnF and CHF will be back this week but not sure about the rest. May also have lost a couple from last weeks game so it will be tough.
Quyite surprised with reserves, thought we have a very good team. Morangs 2's will be thereabouts at the end of the year.

With all those players out in your 1s, surely that would have effected your 2's? Not taking anything away from South Morang but a few of the better players in the 2s surely would have stepped up to fill the void, making your 2s a less stronger team? Unless you had other players coming back from injuries who stepped straight into the 1s with the ressies unchanged?

leskie
7 Jun 2007, 22:30
2 big ins this week at macleod in the 2's sean ayres and swanny good to see them back and having a crack and helping out the club hope to see u in the 1's soon boys might have to play puffa in the 2's to make room for the both of u.

looker
8 Jun 2007, 07:55
2 big ins this week at macleod in the 2's sean ayres and swanny good to see them back and having a crack and helping out the club hope to see u in the 1's soon boys might have to play puffa in the 2's to make room for the both of u.

Interesting. If they get into the seniors, MacLeod may have potentially a stong goal kicking forward line, but probably the slowest going around. In years gone by, they have been quick, young and fast, all over the ground. I spose their game plan may change. I have seen many good teams get caught out with slow forward lines during the finals, and the last to win the granny, with a slow forward line was H'Bridge vS Lalor. Will be interesting if they do push into the 1st's team.

bigman2007
8 Jun 2007, 11:10
Hey Guys
Bit new to the competition but thought I would put my two bits in !
Force is it true that your firsts have a few out this week ? I presume you are from Watsonia ?

Force
8 Jun 2007, 13:11
Hey Guys
Force is it true that your firsts have a few out this week ? I presume you are from Watsonia ?

Maybe..... but I really dont want to give any information away before the big game. There are a few South Morang boys on this thread so I'd like to keep things on the down low.;)

Force
8 Jun 2007, 13:15
Not a big fan of walking throught the crowd because anything could happen after a spiteful game. But what can you do there is not way of changing that with hte way the facilities are setup.

I can only comment on our team as I have not seem that many teams yet oviously.

Tennant back after a yr or 2 off backs a big difference in our side. Nick Snowden has also been in very good form.

Dukes is it true that your big forward Stuart Fraser of the past few years is now playing in the magoos? What the go with that, cant find room for him in the 1s forward line:confused:

URSINFOOTY
8 Jun 2007, 13:17
Hey Guys

I beleive Morang have some players out also, heard some had booked a cricekt trip this weekend as the first draw had this weekend off.

URSINFOOTY
8 Jun 2007, 13:21
Dukes is it true that your big forward Stuart Fraser of the past few years is now playing in the magoos? What the go with that, cant find room for him in the 1s forward line:confused:

Force, I heard he had his knee looked at a few weeks ago & may head back to the ones very soon!!!

Force
8 Jun 2007, 13:40
Force, I heard he had his knee looked at a few weeks ago & may head back to the ones very soon!!!

Soon as in this weekend? Due to the fact some of your boys booked a cricket trip as well?

URSINFOOTY
8 Jun 2007, 14:13
Soon as in this weekend? Due to the fact some of your boys booked a cricket trip as well?

Can't let out to much info. :cool:

LOOK AT THE DUKES
8 Jun 2007, 14:18

Correct Force Stuart Fraser has been playing in the magoos but cannot mention what changes have been made this week but yes the cricket trip is on this weekend but not many 1's players going. Also what i will mention though is Big Stuart Fraser not so big any more. Looks fantastic.

Good luck on the weekend force should be a cracker.

URSINFOOTY
8 Jun 2007, 14:27
Correct Force Stuart Fraser has been playing in the magoos but cannot mention what changes have been made this week but yes the cricket trip is on this weekend but not many 1's players going. Also what i will mention though is Big Stuart Fraser not so big any more. Looks fantastic.

Look at the Dukes ; Will we see you running around, if yes 1st or 2nd's.
I agree will be a cracker, may head that way myself.

Force
8 Jun 2007, 15:15

I heard he dropped a bit of weight, good on him.

Thanks Dukes, hope its a good contest!

GHOST WRITER
8 Jun 2007, 15:23
Watched Thomastown train on their ground last night and the surface looks a picture. They were split up into 3 main groups - forwards, defenders and onballers I believe. They certainly looked very sharp and by all accounts are keen to atone for last week.
The onball group were busy working on clearances whilst the other 2 groups were doing general kicking drills. The group opposite to the library end had a number of tall players running around and they could pose some problems for the Lower defence.
The game against Lower should be a beauty and will head down that way to see how it pans out.

URSINFOOTY
8 Jun 2007, 15:32
Couple of good games to watch,
Lower v T/Town - Lower
Wats v Sth Morang - Not sure
Merda v Parkside - Menda at home
Macleod v Hurst - Macleod
P/Hill will need to be switch on.

What does anyone else think.

ROMPERMFC
8 Jun 2007, 15:53
Couple of good games to watch,
Lower v T/Town - Lower
Wats v Sth Morang - Not sure
Merda v Parkside - Menda at home
P/Hill will need to be switch on.

What does anyone else think.
Lower v T/Town - T/Town
Wats v Sth M - Sth M
Mernda v Parkside - Mernda
P/Hill v Wallan - P/Hill but good luck to Wallan
Lalor v H/ West - Lalor
Whitlesea v Kinglake - Whitlesea

Hats off to Roy Harper
8 Jun 2007, 16:16
I reckon Kinglake are a chance in the local derby! anyone wanna put some money on it? is no 9 playing this week? or are his shoulders stuffed after years of work as a plumber digging trenches? or from swinging cut lunches.. on ya cheapy

LOOK AT THE DUKES
8 Jun 2007, 17:24
Look at the Dukes ; Will we see you running around, if yes 1st or 2nd's.
I agree will be a cracker, may head that way myself.

I will be running around in the 2's unfortunately but we are travelling nicely in the margoos so happy to keep playing their.

watthe
8 Jun 2007, 19:16
Bearfan.

huneters kaneo is going ok, not the start to the season he would of liked, still a gun player but i think he is a tad frustrated, when on song though can carve up any team, hopefully he will be back to his best this week against thommo

URSINFOOTY
8 Jun 2007, 19:52
I will be running around in the 2's unfortunately but we are travelling nicely in the margoos so happy to keep playing their.

Have you had a chance to play in the ones this season, what possie do you play.

BobbyBurritto
9 Jun 2007, 21:34

Both very unfit but showed plenty today. I pity West Heidelberg 2nds next week as their progresion to senoir selection continues. Could see the likes of Coxon, Gosling and Beevr lining up next week too if my mail is correct! At least 8 out of the senoirs as it is and if you add the above five to that equation it spells one massive night at Macleod in Sept!!!!

RiverRat
9 Jun 2007, 22:47
Puffer 60 goals after 6 games, 200 is on.

tommahawk
10 Jun 2007, 13:01
Both very unfit but showed plenty today. I pity West Heidelberg 2nds next week as their progresion to senoir selection continues. Could see the likes of Coxon, Gosling and Beevr lining up next week too if my mail is correct! At least 8 out of the senoirs as it is and if you add the above five to that equation it spells one massive night at Macleod in Sept!!!!

dont know about one of the names u mentioned bobby im quite happy watching you and your massive mate ayresy running around.. good to see you havent lost that delicate kick of yours mate..
there is a rumor floating around that we might have a little bald guy from macleod cricket club running around in the 2s this week aswell.. could be a massive pick up!!

Illektro
10 Jun 2007, 13:12
Puffer 60 goals after 6 games, 200 is on.
How many did he kick on the weekend? Didn't get a chance to see the game.

Worm4
10 Jun 2007, 17:54
dont know about one of the names u mentioned bobby im quite happy watching you and your massive mate ayresy running around.. good to see you havent lost that delicate kick of yours mate..
there is a rumor floating around that we might have a little bald guy from macleod cricket club running around in the 2s this week aswell.. could be a massive pick up!!

no way in hell he will play. And after seeing Ayresy play, he should retire as well. he has better form in the stands.

junior29
11 Jun 2007, 10:31
How many did he kick on the weekend? Didn't get a chance to see the game.

tommahawk
11 Jun 2007, 11:54

hey jumior how are you mate? just want to know your thoughts about sean ayres, do u think he will get back in the ones this year? would be pretty powerful forward line with him or puff or do u think it would make the forward line extreamly slow? good game on saturday mate

junior29
11 Jun 2007, 14:45
hey jumior how are you mate? just want to know your thoughts about sean ayres, do u think he will get back in the ones this year? would be pretty powerful forward line with him or puff or do u think it would make the forward line extreamly slow? good game on saturday mate
who knows mate, going on his performance i very much doubt it. But who knows after a few more matches anything could happen. What about the little bold man love to see him with the boots on i bet he doesnt though after a few cans everyone likes to think there playing next week... what about them putty cats loven it harley had a fair game ablett just special, no one is playing shit its awesome. You going sat night??

GHOST WRITER
12 Jun 2007, 14:07
Watched the Battle of the Bears on Saturday (Lower vs Thomastown in case there are those who don't know).The game certainly lived up to expectations and was an entertaining battle for most of the 4 quarters. Thomastown played an exciting game of football and were deserved winners by the end of it. They had good players right across the ground. Speaking with a few of the spectators in front of the canteen, Lower certainly had a number of key players still missing. Whilst this is not an excuse, injuries make a difference. Having said that, there were 1 or 2 players that I couldn't see for Thomastown either. So the same goes for both sides. As I have said before, both of these teams should see September action.
Bearfan - Perhaps you can shed some more light on Saturday's contest? I noticed your Reserves were beaten badly also? What is the story at the moment?

matchwinner
12 Jun 2007, 14:31
Watched the Battle of the Bears on Saturday (Lower vs Thomastown in case there are those who don't know).The game certainly lived up to expectations and was an entertaining battle for most of the 4 quarters. Thomastown played an exciting game of football and were deserved winners by the end of it. They had good players right across the ground. Speaking with a few of the spectators in front of the canteen, Lower certainly had a number of key players still missing. Whilst this is not an excuse, injuries make a difference. Having said that, there were 1 or 2 players that I couldn't see for Thomastown either. So the same goes for both sides. As I have said before, both of these teams should see September action.
Bearfan - Perhaps you can shed some more light on Saturday's contest? I noticed your Reserves were beaten badly also? What is the story at the moment?

Yeh Thommo just a touch better for most of the day. And from what i saw of the 2's, they looked far superior. Certainly struggling with injuries at present. Waddles, who has been on fire so far this season, will spend a fair bit of time on the sidelines. Were also missing chf - Gill and chb - Elmore and also Canals. And Bandera played virtually no part. Unfortunately it is all the big blokes, who are hard to cover. Thought our kicking for goal was terrible as well. Noticed they were missing Berak and Fleming - and maybe couple others??? Was very impressed with Macdonald for them. We are now 2 games off top couple, so will be tough to make up.

GHOST WRITER
12 Jun 2007, 14:54
Matchwinner - Tks for the update. Noticed that Mcclaughlin was one of your missing players. Obviously trying to cover for key position players is not easy. Still early days though and, whilst making up ground won't be easy, there is still a long way to go.
Only caught the last quarter of your Reserves match. Is there any big blokes running around that could help fill your void? Spotted Newbegin playing in the 2's, is he a chance?

mase06
13 Jun 2007, 12:53
just wanted to say a quick good luck to kinglake for the rest of the year. and this isnt a go at them.
know quite a few of the boys (jimmy walks,bangas,chick,andy kelly,watto,clampy, frosty and puppet) and are a good bunch of blokes.

they should be congratulated for fielding 2 teams each week and the boys should be congratulated on not jumping ship, which would be pretty easy to do.

good luck for the rest of the year lakers.

junior29
13 Jun 2007, 15:51
mase06 i heard a rumor beny fitz only come back because he wanted to have a kick with his brother chris and i see chris played in the 2s, how is he traveling? anychance for the 1s in the near future? Also what possy has fitzy (ben) been playing??

fig9
13 Jun 2007, 16:13
Hey guys, just want the opinions from divvy 2 followers about a 3rd division being introduced? Good or bad idea?

junior29
13 Jun 2007, 16:41
Hey guys, just want the opinions from divvy 2 followers about a 3rd division being introduced? Good or bad idea?
Definatly a great idea, i dont see why anybody wouldnt be for it.

mase06
13 Jun 2007, 16:45
junior.

fitzy been playing half back,half forward to get fitness up, then unleash on him on the ball.
i dont know why he came back but i dont care, just glad to have him on board.

i think its the other way round though because ben fitz came back 1st then his brother played on sat. but couldnt really tell ya. cheers im off

Force
13 Jun 2007, 18:27

Yeah I think a 3rd division would make alot of sense. There is too much of a difference between the top half and the bottom half. Would also give the lower echelon a chance to play finals and be a bit more competitive. The only problem i think there might be is getting players and trying to find sponsors??

fig9
13 Jun 2007, 18:57
Yeah I think a 3rd division would make alot of sense. There is too much of a difference between the top half and the bottom half. Would also give the lower echelon a chance to play finals and be a bit more competitive. The only problem i think there might be is getting players and trying to find sponsors??

Seems to work well in the eastern footy league. It has to be introduced in the next couple of seasons.

junior29
13 Jun 2007, 19:08
just like to send my regards to a young talanted football player at macleod in mitch hancock the poor young fella coped a bump on saturday (in just his 3rd senior game) and unfortantly spent the night in intensive care and had his spleen removed so he may not get to play footy ever again, i also hear his twin brother who also was playing seniors is going to hang the boots up. Lets hope everything goes good for him on the road to recovery he will be sadly missed on the footy feild at macleod.

Tyrone Biggums
13 Jun 2007, 19:41
I m pretty sure Mitch has already had a problem with his spleen after a bump in a junior game . So very unlucky.

junior29
13 Jun 2007, 19:45
I m pretty sure Mitch has already had a problem with his spleen after a bump in a junior game . So very unlucky.
im pretty sure that was his brother in the junior days, thats why his called it quits as well.

mase06
14 Jun 2007, 09:07
hey boys need to tell your canteen to sell salad rolls on saturday.
out of 6 games only lower has so far. wonder what peoples thoughts are because it was a bit of a shock to me. ha ha ha ha
does hurstbridge sell salad rolls or is it byo. and what is there ground like, i have never played there. heard its small but thats about it.
are hurstbridge good, cant get a good form line, nerely beat lalor then got pumped by mcleod.
any thoughts?

Tank36
14 Jun 2007, 10:25
out of 6 games only lower has so far. wonder what peoples thoughts are because it was a bit of a shock to me. ha ha ha ha
does hurstbridge sell salad rolls or is it byo. and what is there ground like, i have never played there. heard its small but thats about it.
are hurstbridge good, cant get a good form line, nerely beat lalor then got pumped by mcleod.
any thoughts?

Macleod -vs- Hurstbridge (my thoughts)
Although I didn't see too much of the game as I was floggin VB'S all day,
firstly I gotta say that we're very hard to beat at the "slope". We jumped them in the 1st 1/4, and although we kicked 6.11, it should have been more like 10.6. Hurstbridge were done in 15 minutes and didn't give a yelp after that. Macleod just too quick and although not known as a tall team, made Hurstbridge look slow and small.

I actually think Hurstbridge pumped themselves up for the Lalor game and played their hearts out and were primed for a beating. They've had a rough draw and they now come up against the minnows.

Think they will miss the top 6 just, but will beat most teams outside.
NFL seriously need 3 division

FRUMPY
14 Jun 2007, 10:37
any thoughts?

Hurstbridge used to sell Subway rolls, not sure if they do now.

Rumour has it Hurstbridge have been suffering a lot of injuries, up over 20 open age players out injured with majority able to play ones footy.

Tank36
14 Jun 2007, 10:38
who knows mate, going on his performance i very much doubt it. But who knows after a few more matches anything could happen. What about the little bold man love to see him with the boots on i bet he doesnt though after a few cans everyone likes to think there playing next week... what about them putty cats loven it harley had a fair game ablett just special, no one is playing shit its awesome. You going sat night??

The little bald man is apparently training tonight. It's gonna be funny watching 36 yo hamstrings get twanged on his 1st night of training.
Could be the beginning & the end of a legend !

URSINFOOTY
14 Jun 2007, 11:27
Hurstbridge used to sell Subway rolls, not sure if they do now.

Rumour has it Hurstbridge have been suffering a lot of injuries, up over 20 open age players out injured with majority able to play ones footy.

Yeh I have heard a few blokes have given the game away & Big Joffa is un well.
If that's the case all, the best Big Joffa.:thumbsu:

Force
14 Jun 2007, 12:46
just like to send my regards to a young talanted football player at macleod in mitch hancock the poor young fella coped a bump on saturday (in just his 3rd senior game) and unfortantly spent the night in intensive care and had his spleen removed so he may not get to play footy ever again, i also hear his twin brother who also was playing seniors is going to hang the boots up. Lets hope everything goes good for him on the road to recovery he will be sadly missed on the footy feild at macleod.

All the best to the young fella and hope he has a speedy recovery. It is sad to hear these things happen, wouldn't wish it upon anybody.

tommahawk
14 Jun 2007, 18:30
All the best to the young fella and hope he has a speedy recovery. It is sad to hear these things happen, wouldn't wish it upon anybody.

goods stuff force thats a good thing to hear from other teams! much respect for that the young fella is doing ok just got out of hospital and is out for the season thats for sure but his health comes first so whatever wants to do the club is right beind him.. good luck this week force.. :thumbsu:

junior29
14 Jun 2007, 22:48
im sorry guys made a mistake his twin brother rob is still going to have a kick good on him. also mitch gets out of hospital tomorow and is traveling well. good work force (i still hate watsey though) cheers mate.

junior29
15 Jun 2007, 10:16
Lower Plenty
Whittlesea
Macleod
Lalor
Thomastown
my top 6 in order macleod,lalor,w/sea,l/plenty,s morang,t/town. and any of the top 4 could play in the g/f....

Force
15 Jun 2007, 12:15
im sorry guys made a mistake his twin brother rob is still going to have a kick good on him. also mitch gets out of hospital tomorow and is traveling well. good work force (i still hate watsey though) cheers mate.

Ha ha nothing wrong with a little bit of respectful rivalry! Good to hear his brother is kicking on.

Force
15 Jun 2007, 12:18
goods stuff force thats a good thing to hear from other teams! much respect for that the young fella is doing ok just got out of hospital and is out for the season thats for sure but his health comes first so whatever wants to do the club is right beind him.. good luck this week force.. :thumbsu:

Good to hear the kids ok. Thanks mate, and good luck to you drinking a can every goal puffah kicks! Might need to get your stomach pumped if you finish it off!:thumbsu:

Hats off to Roy Harper
15 Jun 2007, 19:34
hows the lakers going? apparently an ex plumber playing for em is trying to get lured down to st bedes mentone in the ammos and re live the good old days.. any chance of that happening.. there could be a nice office job for you back in murrumbeena to look after those sore poor battered shoulders

stooge01
16 Jun 2007, 09:27
hows the lakers going? apparently an ex plumber playing for em is trying to get lured down to st bedes mentone in the ammos and re live the good old days.. any chance of that happening.. there could be a nice office job for you back in murrumbeena to look after those sore poor battered shoulders

that wouldnt happen to be pugs would it.

Cole Trickle
16 Jun 2007, 22:40
Have they made a mistake on the dv website did Puff only kick one ? and lalor got beat what is going on ? If true those lower sides would strugle in the under fifteen competition to kick 11 one week and 1 the next is an absolute fast.

A Living God
16 Jun 2007, 22:45
anybody know the lower vs kinglake score?

Iceman27
17 Jun 2007, 11:13
Speaking to Pedo the Lalor coach last night and he tells me he got reported for abusing the umpire after the ump only gave a yellow card to a Parkside player who King hit a Lalor player from behind.

watthe
17 Jun 2007, 11:43
anybody know the lower vs kinglake score?
lower won by 12 or so goals, it was that foggy it was disgraceful, the 2s got cancelled because of the fog, kinglake should be out of the NFL pretty ordinary having to cancel games up there when everyone else gets to play

silvergun69
17 Jun 2007, 14:43
lower won by 12 or so goals, it was that foggy it was disgraceful, the 2s got cancelled because of the fog, kinglake should be out of the NFL pretty ordinary having to cancel games up there when everyone else gets to play
totally agree they are a waste of every bodies time as for the ground and fog please dont get me started on that.....

stooge01
17 Jun 2007, 15:09
totally agree they are a waste of every bodies time as for the ground and fog please dont get me started on that.....

whats going on mate how have you been.

matchwinner
17 Jun 2007, 15:11

When I rocked up at about 12, you couldnt see more than about 10 metres onto the ground. We were certain we werent going to get on, and then it cleared all of a sudden with about 20 minutes to spare before the game was due to start. I couldnt see who was kicking our goals up the other end though. We won by 9 goals 22 points in the end i think - 76 points.

It isnt a great situation. If we were to get 2 points each and hypothetically miss out on the finals by 2 points, then it makes a mockery of the whole competition.

looker
17 Jun 2007, 16:55
Speaking to Pedo the Lalor coach last night and he tells me he got reported for abusing the umpire after the ump only gave a yellow card to a Parkside player who King hit a Lalor player from behind.

I travelled out to Parkside ground yesterday. Went to see how good Lalor are, and if Parkside were the real deal or not.
Firstly let me clear up your statement Iceman27. During the 2nd Qtr, the ball was kicked to a lead fro P'Side's FF. A lalor player backing into the hole, and was collected by the FF. Not 'king-hit' as this Pedo feller supposedly told you. No harm was done, and the P'Side player was duely and correctly given a yellow card. During this, the Lalor coach was verbally abusing the umpires, P'Side players, andyone who he could see and attempt to name. I was standing on that side of the ground, and could hear him quite clear. He continued to verbally abuse the umpires, when an umpire ran from the middle of the ground to ask who he was, he answered the coach, and was duely given a yellow. He continued abusing the umpire, and was then quickly given the red, and asked to get on the other side of the fence. I must add, that there was a barrage of abuse coming from the Lalor box, and when the ump approached, it was funny to see every single Lalor staff shut-up, and look out into the field, as if not to even notice the ump was approaching. Anyway, i assume that Pedo didnt tell you about the very next incident that occured? Once the game was re-started, the Lalor player took his free, turned it over, and the ball was kicked back into P'side forward line. P'Side player took a mark running back with flight, and was collected front on. Lalor player was duely given the yellow and sent from the field. All this in a matter of minutes. Apart from these incidents, which from a spectator view were not dirty, or vengeful, it was quite a great game to watch. It irritaes me when some-one mentions 'king-hit' or other similar pharses, when infact it couldnt be further from the truth. I would only assume that cause he was asked to leave the field, his views would be tainted. Take it from me, both incidents deserved a yellow card, and neither team remonstrates in any way, as if an unsavoury incident occured. It was a grreat game to watch, with a very large, vocal crowd, and two very impressive teams.

Iceman27
17 Jun 2007, 17:03
I travelled out to Parkside ground yesterday. Went to see how good Lalor are, and if Parkside were the real deal or not.
Firstly let me clear up your statement Iceman27. During the 2nd Qtr, the ball was kicked to a lead fro P'Side's FF. A lalor player backing into the hole, and was collected by the FF. Not 'king-hit' as this Pedo feller supposedly told you. No harm was done, and the P'Side player was duely and correctly given a yellow card. During this, the Lalor coach was verbally abusing the umpires, P'Side players, andyone who he could see and attempt to name. I was standing on that side of the ground, and could hear him quite clear. He continued to verbally abuse the umpires, when an umpire ran from the middle of the ground to ask who he was, he answered the coach, and was duely given a yellow. He continued abusing the umpire, and was then quickly given the red, and asked to get on the other side of the fence. I must add, that there was a barrage of abuse coming from the Lalor box, and when the ump approached, it was funny to see every single Lalor staff shut-up, and look out into the field, as if not to even notice the ump was approaching. Anyway, i assume that Pedo didnt tell you about the very next incident that occured? Once the game was re-started, the Lalor player took his free, turned it over, and the ball was kicked back into P'side forward line. P'Side player took a mark running back with flight, and was collected front on. Lalor player was duely given the yellow and sent from the field. All this in a matter of minutes. Apart from these incidents, which from a spectator view were not dirty, or vengeful, it was quite a great game to watch. It irritaes me when some-one mentions 'king-hit' or other similar pharses, when infact it couldnt be further from the truth. I would only assume that cause he was asked to leave the field, his views would be tainted. Take it from me, both incidents deserved a yellow card, and neither team remonstrates in any way, as if an unsavoury incident occured. It was a grreat game to watch, with a very large, vocal crowd, and two very impressive teams.

He did not mention the 2nd incident, and I omly used the phrase King hit cause thats what he told me. Anyway looks like Parkside could be the real deal, they have certainly surprised me this year.

looker
17 Jun 2007, 17:14
I wanted to mention the Parkside Vs Lalor game. I travelled out there, to see how good Lalor are, and if ParkSide were the real deal. Lalor are a very good, quick, young side. Most times they went forward, they got a score on the board. Although Parkside were better, quicker, harder when it mattered, and a much more potent forward line, than Lalor, or than i actually gave them credit for. P'side kicked away in the first. Each of their 6.6 score came from the boot of a P'side player, and it could have quite easily been 9 or 10 goals. Lalor played very well during the 2nd and 3rd Qtrs. They had an obvious game plan, keeping their half forward-line open, allowing their runners to sprint into it. They seemed quicker, and P'Side seemed to be 2nd to the ball. During the 4th, when the game was in the balance, it was Parkside that stood up, and actually showed up Lalor. Lalor's game plan went to water, while Parkside's game went up a level on intensity. P'side were harder, much more full of run, and had the forward line that actually looked like it was going to win the game. Lalor played like a team that had been worn down, and out of answers. Lalor forwardline consisted of 1 x young feller, and Dasher. (I couldnt pick the lalor players, they were wearing DV jumpers.) Dasher was well held, and became frustrated, actually pushing some P'Side players to ground, and was very lucky to get away with it.
It was one of the best games of Divvy 2 i have watched in a while. Both sides were quick, clean, fair, fast, hard and moved the ball very well. When there were body clashes, or hard fair tackles, both teams took it well, and moved on with the next contest. Lalor's crowd were very vocal, although they were out pointed by the large Parkside contingent.

I walked away from that game with the following points.
* Do Lalor have any other forwards? If not they wont kick winning scores. I assume they do not, cause of their game plan. It did allow Levi to kick 3 goals,(from the wing) only because he sprinted forward, and was able to latch onto a quick kick forward.
* Did Lalor have some onballers out? Parkside demolished them on-ball, and when the game was there for the taking, Parkside gave Lalor a pasting. It seemed as tho Lalor only had a couple of guys to move thru the centre. Parkside has many.
* Parkside moved the ball thru the middle, and into their forward line, as well as a 1st divvy team. Only differance would be that Physical nature of the bodies. IE 1st divv = Men , 2nd Divvy = Young Men
* I am not yet convinced that Parkside are the real deal, however they are bloody close. Lalor will be there during finals time.

I now know which game i am going to go watch next week. And its played at MacLeod.

looker
17 Jun 2007, 17:17
He did not mention the 2nd incident, and I omly used the phrase King hit cause thats what he told me. Anyway looks like Parkside could be the real deal, they have certainly surprised me this year.

Yeah, both incidents deserved yellow cards. Both guys could have stopped, but i would imagine that they both thought 'We'll make him earn this mark' If i had to choose which was more severe, i would choose the Lalor hit. Only cause the P'Side guy was running with the flight of the ball. But keep in mind, neither team remonstrated, and both players we able to take their kick. In essence, all they were were late bumps.

silvergun69
17 Jun 2007, 18:06
whats going on mate how have you been.
goin well buddy quiet this weekend lasts wwekend bender took its toll on me. i see u got into the best this week i think a re-call into the 1st's next week might be on the cards? what ya get up to last night?

stooge01
17 Jun 2007, 18:29
goin well buddy quiet this weekend lasts wwekend bender took its toll on me. i see u got into the best this week i think a re-call into the 1st's next week might be on the cards? what ya get up to last night?

first half was a shocker got my hands on it heaps very ordinary disposal, but pretty good second half. The 1st were pretty ordinary on the weekend, dont think i the 1st is in the question i cant train thur night cause of work and pedo wont play me if i dont train. Quiet one last night still off the piss.

Brutal
17 Jun 2007, 20:27
Have they made a mistake on the dv website did Puff only kick one ? and lalor got beat what is going on ? If true those lower sides would strugle in the under fifteen competition to kick 11 one week and 1 the next is an absolute fast.

Heard that Puffer limped off the ground with a suspected knee injury, perhaps someone from MacLeod could confirm and let us know the extent of it.