Scott Blesing
Woodville-West Torrens:
Sam Davoren
Jared Petrenko
Sam Fairclough
Cody Hicks
Matthew Broadbent
Lee Staple
Few things - Solid depth yet unspectacular side, wouldn't be as strong as last years, no absolute stars like Gibbs and Sellar, yet still full of good players and a couple of standouts, 5 main ones and 2 top liners.
Ones to watch very briefly:
Harlett
Ebert
McNamara
Fairclough
Holmes
with blokes like Jaensch, Wark, Petrenko, Anderson, Jessen, Wundke being the next teir down to watch. Have seen all these guys play but there are a few names in there that I've heard of but havent seen in the flesh. Thompson if he is who I think he is is one pretty quick abo type.
Fairclough I think will captain and he is the most experienced player there, has the most SANFL games including a league premiership in a very strong side. Top shelf ROVER but I don't think he is the type to really go on at AFL level. Good talent and all but kicking can let him down. Will most likely end up as a gun SANFL player who can't quite break out at next level.
Ebert and Hartlett are the two, **** these kids can play, both rack up the footy use it well make good decisions and have pure natural talent. Eberts hands are terrific.
Tom Holmes, well u all know I love this kid, if he wasn't injured and was perhaps 5cm taller he'd be rated as the best player. Just such a smooth mover, brilliant off both feet, plays like Crawford a fair deal.
Wunke is the gun forward of the side, I rekon he is better than his older bro, def one to watch when on song.
Wrighty is a ball magnet, but skills can let him down. Bit of a Scott West type perhaps, another solid as rover type who may not make next step.
Anderson played last year, good solid backman with SANFL experience. Unspectacular but does the job.
Jessen, solidly built blonde forward, can be brilliant or terrible. My mate killed him everytime he played on him....attitude as well.
More on others later when I have time!
EDIT:
Sorry Macca didn't see ur thread!!!!! maybe keep ur one for general discussion and this one for any changes or gameday performances
betterthanu
6 Jun 2007, 19:25
Ive seen Arron Day at 1st 18 level when he was in yr ten for SHC and he looked very good. Was one of the better players in the Kilmore match that year. Will be interesting to see how he developed.
Thunderstruck
6 Jun 2007, 20:56
Yer Day goes alright, been getting a few SANFL league games this year, not seen him in flesh in 07 but has potential anyways.
Just browsing Tom Holmes's stats for 2007, been very effective in Glenelg ressies averaging around 11 kicks 11 handballs 7 marks and around 2 goals a game, often in the best. Hell I love that kid, he is small but god he is a class act.
Really looking forward to seeing Hartlett play, but correct me if I am wrong, but he's not available until next year?
Thunderstruck
6 Jun 2007, 21:06
Yer he aint eligible, DOB 14/8/90. Youngest player in the squad and is in the best 3 players. Super talent.
I reckon I used to play against Matty Wright and Henry White in junior footy. Could've beaten us by themselves, althought their team was simply awesome as well. Anything sub 20 goals was a great effort.
Yer he aint eligible, DOB 14/8/90. Youngest player in the squad and is in the best 3 players. Super talent.
Is he still playing cricket over in Adelaide as well, or is he concentrating on footy?
Ramsgate>>Filth>>Sandbar
6 Jun 2007, 21:20
u think fairy will captain, ive played with him, you think captain material?
what you think of cody hicks chances of getting drafted? good skills, and good athlete, knows how to find the pill. is dominating in ressies.
Thoughts on Henry White, TS?
big rams
6 Jun 2007, 21:50
second youngest slattery is born in december of 1990...i think
Watch out for Levi Greenwood. A mate of mine used to play with him back at Whyalla and reckons he is AFL quality.
He was also Ports BOG against North last week.
Watch out for Levi Greenwood. A mate of mine used to play with him back at Whyalla and reckons he is AFL quality.
He was also Ports BOG against North last week.
I was also told to keep an eye out for Greenwood as well.
Is he still playing cricket over in Adelaide as well, or is he concentrating on footy?
just given up mate, played his last came for sacred heart at the end of term 1. was supposed to play for west adelaide in the under 19s but chose to play school cricket instead cos footy was only a trial game.
zac millar is certainly still in the squad, i know from someone in the squad, the list just went out without his name on it by mistake
Snoop Dog
8 Jun 2007, 09:21
Ebert is a special talent - already in a mans body, beaut skills, poise and seems to make good decisions.
Greenwood also very good. Can play in and out mid and skills are pretty good.
Both will be top top 20 if not top 10.
Greenwood is a Michael Wilson/Shannon Hurn type well built back flank/wing/midfielder. At something like 185cm and 90kg he is built like a brick outhouse. Maybe a touch slow but he finds the footy and would run through a brick wall if you asked him. Strange ball drop but his skills are good. I rate him very very highly.
Came into the Magpies league side a few weeks back and has basically been in the best players, at league level, in every game hes played.
Ebert is another who has seriously impressed. Hes a lot more well known than Greenwood. Played 2 league games and been in the best players both matches – including best player last week.
Tim Walsh is a 197cm ruckman. Skinny but has a lot of talent. Reasonably quick, ultra courageous (willing to throw himself backwards into an oncoming pack) and has good tapwork.
Casey Carr is another small defender/midfielder who has decent skills and pace.
Im surprised Kerren Hall from the Magpies couldn’t get a gig at Full Back, especially given the general undersized nature of the squad.
Of other clubs, I agree Tom Holmes, Mcnamara and Hartlett are ones to keep an eye on. Jaensch as well has a lot of talent and has come a long way this year. I also agree that Fairclough at 175cm, probably doesn’t have that extra something to push him firmly into recruiters minds at AFL level. He’ll be a gun SANFL player though.
Snoop Dog
8 Jun 2007, 20:24
Greenwood is a Michael Wilson/Shannon Hurn type well built back flank/wing/midfielder. At something like 185cm and 90kg he is built like a brick outhouse. Maybe a touch slow but he finds the footy and would run through a brick wall if you asked him. Strange ball drop but his skills are good. I rate him very very highly.
Came into the Magpies league side a few weeks back and has basically been in the best players, at league level, in every game hes played.
Ebert is another who has seriously impressed. Hes a lot more well known than Greenwood. Played 2 league games and been in the best players both matches – including best player last week.
Tim Walsh is a 197cm ruckman. Skinny but has a lot of talent. Reasonably quick, ultra courageous (willing to throw himself backwards into an oncoming pack) and has good tapwork.
Casey Carr is another small defender/midfielder who has decent skills and pace.
Im surprised Kerren Hall from the Magpies couldn’t get a gig at Full Back, especially given the general undersized nature of the squad.
Of other clubs, I agree Tom Holmes, Mcnamara and Hartlett are ones to keep an eye on. Jaensch as well has a lot of talent and has come a long way this year. I also agree that Fairclough at 175cm, probably doesn’t have that extra something to push him firmly into recruiters minds at AFL level. He’ll be a gun SANFL player though.
Quicker than Wilson and not quite as big as Hurn. I would actually liken him more to Brock McLean type. Still agree with your assessment. Fine prospect and when he hits the champs a lot of people will lift him in their ratings. I have him top 15 at present.
Thunderstruck
8 Jun 2007, 21:36
Yer Greenwood is the one I'm dying to see a tape of. Heard of him but never seen him in the flesh and been rackin adel mates to get more info. Sounds a freakin good prospect. Good to see Ebert carving league up, he's already AFL ready that kid, built like a tank.
Yer Jaensch has smashed every level he's played and he kicks goals too, def one to watch.
Snoop Dog
8 Jun 2007, 21:55
Yer Greenwood is the one I'm dying to see a tape of. Heard of him but never seen him in the flesh and been rackin adel mates to get more info. Sounds a freakin good prospect. Good to see Ebert carving league up, he's already AFL ready that kid, built like a tank.
Yer Jaensch has smashed every level he's played and he kicks goals too, def one to watch.
Actually you have reminded me who Greenwood is very much like. He is like Ebert but more a natural midfielder obviously.
they played a combined eagles reserves and league side yesterday, dont know the result or best players unfortunately though
Ramsgate>>Filth>>Sandbar
11 Jun 2007, 15:24
they played a combined eagles reserves and league side yesterday, dont know the result or best players unfortunately though
no they played state under 20 team, but was hardly the best under 20s in the state, and 18s smashed em
yer realised that after i posted it, tad hungover today.
yer a lot of the best 20s players played league, so it wasnt much of a match.
Alberton_Magpie
11 Jun 2007, 19:41
How many Slatterys are there? :eek:
not brother of the others thats all i know, he is waynes son, bery lucky to be in the squad if you ask me
Got these details off the North website:
SANFL U18 State Squad 16.10.106
SANFL U20 State Team 7.15.57
SANFL U18 Best Players:
J Petrenko (WWTFC)
M Broadbent (WWTFC)
Z Millar (NAFC)
D Christie (NAFC)
L Staple (WWTFC)
T Holmes (GFC)
H White (NAFC)
SANFL U18 Goal Kickers:
A Kinal (SFC) 4
D Jesson (CDFC) 3
Z Millar (NAFC) 3
H Hartlett (WAFC) 2
N Murphy (SAFC) 1
T McNamara (SAFC) 1
L Staple (WWTFC) 1
G Cornish (WAFC) 1
SANFL U20 Best Players:
D Cunningham (NAFC)
S Miles (SFC)
Todd Pfeiffer (NAFC)
Steven Summerton (PAMFC)
Louis Hadden (CDFC)
Angus Lally (GFC)
SANFL U20 Goal Kickers:
D Peglar (SAFC) 3
L Hadden (CDFC) 1
S Miles (SFC) 1
S Summerton (PAMFC) 1
X Watson (PAMFC) 1
2007 STATE YOUTH MATCH MEDALS:
U18 Best Player: Jared Petrenko (Woodville West Torrens FC)
U20 Best Player: Damian Cunningham (North Adelaide FC)
Snoop Dog
12 Jun 2007, 22:31
Really pleased to see Zac Miller in the best. I have him in my probables list for this year. Has he been added to the SA squad yet?
Thunderstruck
12 Jun 2007, 23:13
They actually played both the Under 20 side and the eagles ressies/under 19's an Under 17's. Belted both. Matty Wright kicked 6 from the midfield in the eagles game plus a good case of leather poisoning as he always does.
Yer that Under 20 side certainly could have been better tho so could have the Under 18 side. Mind you I would honestly expect the Under 18's to win more often than not due to the fact that a bulk of them are the BEST under 18's we have and many go to AFL, the Under 20 state team is the shell that is leftover after the draft plus a few surprises. Summerton, Pfieffer and Cunningham are 3 I'd have worthy of AFL and Uern was stiff to miss the Under 20 side, carving the under 19's.
Cornish is back in the squad!
Ramsgate>>Filth>>Sandbar
12 Jun 2007, 23:20
They actually played both the Under 20 side and the eagles ressies/under 19's an Under 17's. Belted both. Matty Wright kicked 6 from the midfield in the eagles game plus a good case of leather poisoning as he always does.
Yer that Under 20 side certainly could have been better tho so could have the Under 18 side. Mind you I would honestly expect the Under 18's to win more often than not due to the fact that a bulk of them are the BEST under 18's we have and many go to AFL, the Under 20 state team is the shell that is leftover after the draft plus a few surprises. Summerton, Pfieffer and Cunningham are 3 I'd have worthy of AFL and Uern was stiff to miss the Under 20 side, carving the under 19's.
you love uern dont ya
Thunderstruck
12 Jun 2007, 23:41
you love uern dont ya
Haha yer I know him, good player tho, versatile and an absolutely thumping kick.
He's just started making the reserves side in the last couple of weeks but unfortunately I haven't been early enough to have a look.
Thunderstruck
28 Jun 2007, 12:58
OK here is the final 25 man squad, must say looking at it here it aint that bad at all, quite even after the first few standouts and it is capable of winning the championships, but they will have to play their best footy to knock off the VICS.
Central:
Dylan Jesson
North:
Henry White
Matthew Wright
Kriston Thompson
Zac Millar
Dean Christie (vc)
James Wundke
Port:
Brad Ebert (c)
Levi Greenwood
Casey Carr
Tim Walsh
Rhys Clinton
West:
Hamish Hartlett
Scott Blesing
Tyson Slattery
Eagles:
Jared Petrenko
Sam Fairclough
Cody Hicks
Matthew Broadbent
Lee Staple
Glenelg:
Tom Holmes
Aaron Day
Sturt:
Alex Kinal
South:
Nick Murphy
Tom McNamara
I'll write a bit more on a few afterwards, about to head out. Didn't have Matthew Wright in my top 5 to watch but bloody hell this kid has a go, he just finds the footy, workrate is very impressive. Def one to watch.