View Full Version : Draft Smokeys - 07
eastlakes rule
7 Jun 2007, 14:08
this thread is aimed at targeting/ mentioning players who wont fill in the top 10 bracket of the draft, rather those in the 3rd + 4th rounds of the draft.
eg. players that have potential and that maybe developed further in the AFL system, or even possible rookie list options/or players that could be plucked from anywhere
cat_fanatic_21
7 Jun 2007, 14:12
Prismall might last, probably be second round though.
eastlakes rule
7 Jun 2007, 16:13
this is who i am thinkn will get pickd up from each TAC Cup side or who has a chance;
Nth Ballarat
- Matt Austin
-Ryan Hobbs
-Clayton Hinkley
-Kyle Cheney
Gippsland
- James Bristow
-Tristain Fracis
-Jackson Hall
-Brent Connelly
Calder Cannons
-jeremy laidler
-James Polkinghorne
_adam maric
- Dylan Joyce
-Travis Dulic
-Darcy Daniher
-Mitchell Farmer
-Dean Putt
-Tom Duyndum
- Ash Arowsmith
Geelong Falcons
- Chris Lynch
-Lachy Henderson
-Chris Kangas
-Jaxon Barham
-Guy okeefe
-Justin baxter
Eastern Rangers
-matt Lobbe
-michael Deaquilla
Western jets
-Nik Dimartino
-rhyce Pismall
Murray Bushrangers
-Ryan Normington
-Tim Macintyre
-Matt Beckmans
-Ash Hockey
-Matt Deledio
-Dean Terlich
-Ben McEvoy
-Dawson Simpson
Oakliegh
-harry Croft
-Hugh Sandilands
Bendigo
-robbie Tarrent
-jayden Donaldson
-Scott Sellwood
Dandenong
-jarrad Grant
-steve Gaertner
Sandy
-matt suckling
-John Shaw
Northern Knights
-Matty Kruezer
-Pat Veszpremi
-Trent Cotchin
-Jack Grimes
-Tim Bongetti
-Luke Stanton
-Chris Sanflippo
-
Big Echuca
7 Jun 2007, 17:57
:confused:this is who i am thinkn will get pickd up from each TAC Cup side or who has a chance;
Nth Ballarat
- Matt Austin
-Ryan Hobbs
-Clayton Hinkley
-Kyle Cheney
Gippsland
- James Bristow
-Tristain Fracis
-Jackson Hall
-Brent Connelly
Calder Cannons
-jeremy laidler
-James Polkinghorne
_adam maric
- Dylan Joyce
-Travis Dulic
-Darcy Daniher
-Mitchell Farmer
-Dean Putt
-Tom Duyndum
- Ash Arowsmith
Geelong Falcons
- Chris Lynch
-Lachy Henderson
-Chris Kangas
-Jaxon Barham
-Guy okeefe
-Justin baxter
Eastern Rangers
-matt Lobbe
-michael Deaquilla
Western jets
-Nik Dimartino
-rhyce Pismall
Murray Bushrangers
-Ryan Normington
-Tim Macintyre
-Matt Beckmans
-Ash Hockey
-Matt Deledio
-Dean Terlich
-Ben McEvoy
-Dawson Simpson
Oakliegh
-harry Croft
-Hugh Sandilands
Bendigo
-robbie Tarrent
-jayden Donaldson
-Scott Sellwood
Dandenong
-jarrad Grant
-steve Gaertner
Sandy
-matt suckling
-John Shaw
Northern Knights
-Matty Kruezer
-Pat Veszpremi
-Trent Cotchin
-Jack Grimes
-Tim Bongetti
-Luke Stanton
-Chris Sanflippo
-
haha your a disgrace mate,
Normington, McEvoy and Hockey are the only chances of getting drafted from Murray, Deledio and Simpson are duds and I don't think Beckmans has what it takes to play league footy.
:confused:
haha your a disgrace mate,
Normington, McEvoy and Hockey are the only chances of getting drafted from Murray, Deledio and Simpson are duds and I don't think Beckmans has what it takes to play league footy.
Who's the disgrace the guy who gives his honest opinion or a cowardly keyboard sniper.
eastlakes rule
7 Jun 2007, 19:07
simpson t 205-6 cms and Vic Country, good skills 4 a player of his hieght, why shouldnt he be considered a smokey or a rookie/ late round draft pick.
beckmans is new 2 ha system, and has the potential 2 develop, has hieght and running capacity + goal kicker/ attacking player.
Deledio could be a rookie chance, has imporved significantly
darcytiger
7 Jun 2007, 21:55
no otten from chargers?
Ben Considine from Calder
Daniel Noy from Eastern
Dale Walker from Eastern
Chris Hoegel from Oakleigh
Scott Simpson from Dandenong
Ash Smith from Dandenong
Gilly1972
8 Jun 2007, 01:00
Ben Considine from Calder
Daniel Noy from Eastern
Dale Walker from Eastern
Chris Hoegel from Oakleigh
Scott Simpson from Dandenong
Ash Smith from Dandenong
Ash Smith 2008, I'm starting to feel like the ineligible police around here :D
Or perhaps I need a list of who is not available at this years draft. Damn D.O.B's! :cool:
http://taccup.footballvic.com.au/_content/document/00052048-src.xls :cool:;)
Vic Crow
8 Jun 2007, 13:23
beckmans is new 2 ha system, and has the potential 2 develop, has hieght and running capacity + goal kicker/ attacking player.
I didn't mind the look of Beckmans when I saw him. Would be a long shot at best for an AFL list. I don't know anything about him, but if he's new to the system he might have some scope for improvement. Seems like he can launch a ball. I saw him relay a wet ball for a down field free kick about 60m off one step.
what about Nick Suban of the Rebels and Mitch BAnner from the Jets?
blues2010
8 Jun 2007, 14:20
what about Nick Suban of the Rebels and Mitch BAnner from the Jets?
They are both good footballers but not eligible, expecially Banner (just needs to grow a bit)
This forum is for 2007 not 08
eastlakes rule
8 Jun 2007, 17:19
I didn't mind the look of Beckmans when I saw him. Would be a long shot at best for an AFL list. I don't know anything about him, but if he's new to the system he might have some scope for improvement. Seems like he can launch a ball. I saw him relay a wet ball for a down field free kick about 60m off one step.
i think he is from wagga wagga in sthrn NSW..what game did you see of his Vic Crow? could he be a possible rookie spot?
Interested because he is a top age and from NSW? Therefore possibly scope for improvment might be possible?
Snoop Dog
8 Jun 2007, 20:34
Cameron Josiah - QLD fwd
Very much in the Davey / Dick mould of very gifted indigenous kids. Late to rookie draft. Will need to continue to show something but at this stage well in the frame and flying under a few radars I suspect.
Gilly1972
8 Jun 2007, 23:22
Daniel Savage is another midfielder from QLD that could be worth tracking in the champs...at 179 is a tad on the small side but is very bottom aged IIRC.
Snoop Dog
8 Jun 2007, 23:32
Daniel Savage is another midfielder from QLD that could be worth tracking in the champs...at 179 is a tad on the small side but is very bottom aged IIRC.
QLD have a truckload of these kids - I also like Kyle Marchant.
Vic Crow
8 Jun 2007, 23:48
Cameron Josiah - QLD fwd
Very much in the Davey / Dick mould of very gifted indigenous kids. Late to rookie draft. Will need to continue to show something but at this stage well in the frame and flying under a few radars I suspect.
Seen Josiah a couple of times and was very impressed. Rookie list seems an accurate assessment (if anything). I am most impressed by the way he can cleanly pick the ball up from ground level at full speed. The fluency and pace he does it at is a very rare combination.
Yeah, I reckon Savage goes alright. If he's bottom aged that holds him in fairly good stead to develop a bit more for the 08 draft.
is there anyone from Sandy (bar those two blokes above) that look like they may scrap in... or even a couple of the first years that would be up for 2008?
Daniel Havelberg, would only be 18-19, playing league at centrals here in adelaide. Is a big forward with a good set of hands, kicked 4 in a losing side on the weekend, is well developed too and could see a club taking a risk on him with a late pick.
carn_the_cattas
11 Jun 2007, 13:40
Adam Donohue (Geelong Falcons) would be a chance on the fact he is eligible for F/S to Geelong.
motorvinnie
11 Jun 2007, 14:16
The suprise packet this year to be drafted is Sam Beckham from Parkmore. His an absolute freak.. plays in the 1s and is being looked at by talent scouts... his not playing dor dandenong stingrays because he wants to play footy with his mates:thumbsu: I tip him to go around pick 70
MasterOfRoc
14 Jun 2007, 12:27
to the guys that have seen Bendigo this year...
Think forward to End of 2008 season...(hes still got another year of pioneers)... Young Torin Petrie look like being a chance?
micky_11
14 Jun 2007, 16:32
to the guys that have seen Bendigo this year...
Think forward to End of 2008 season...(hes still got another year of pioneers)... Young Torin Petrie look like being a chance?
is he related to drew petrie?
eastlakes rule
14 Jun 2007, 23:03
any other thoughts on players fellers
The suprise packet this year to be drafted is Sam Beckham from Parkmore. His an absolute freak.. plays in the 1s and is being looked at by talent scouts... his not playing dor dandenong stingrays because he wants to play footy with his mates:thumbsu: I tip him to go around pick 70
So let me understand this. He wants to play league footy, but doesn't have the dedication to play at state u18 level?
I guess he fits the criteria of the thread though - he is a roughie. Most clubs would put a big cross next to the criteria called 'Attitude'.
eastlakes rule
14 Jun 2007, 23:20
matt laidlaw??
prefered to play for carey rather then vic metro!!!
Vic Crow
14 Jun 2007, 23:32
any other thoughts on players fellers
Here's a genuine smokey - Adrian Totino. Has been in great form recently. I'd be inclined to say that size is the only thing that saw him miss VM standing only a shade over 170. Will certainly go against him come draft day but I also think there's a lot to like about him.
eastlakes rule
14 Jun 2007, 23:42
pottsy could also be a bit of a smokey!! has now made VM tho
i think dawson simpson could be as well as well as perhaps jackson hall
eastlakes rule
17 Jun 2007, 18:14
how many do you guys think could possibly go from Vic country?!
and do u think are there any players who could get picked in order to be developed, players who are a bit raw atm?!!
Gilly1972
17 Jun 2007, 18:58
Here's a genuine smokey - Adrian Totino. Has been in great form recently. I'd be inclined to say that size is the only thing that saw him miss VM standing only a shade over 170. Will certainly go against him come draft day but I also think there's a lot to like about him.
Don't say that within earshot of HBF, he will run up and give you a hug :eek:
ROFL.
Only seen him once, and this was at the challenge cup last week, but Zane Murphy would have to be a huge chance of being drafted.
we'retalkinfooty
17 Jun 2007, 20:14
Here's a genuine smokey - Adrian Totino. Has been in great form recently. I'd be inclined to say that size is the only thing that saw him miss VM standing only a shade over 170. Will certainly go against him come draft day but I also think there's a lot to like about him.yer good one. theres too many gunz bein rapped up here. smokys r mean to be ruffies.
eastlakes rule
17 Jun 2007, 21:47
yeh good point.....
is trent zomer a chance 2 go in the draft or is a more likely rookie list chance???
Vic Crow
17 Jun 2007, 22:05
Haha, you a Totino fan HBF? I think I mentioned in the thread about him a few weeks ago that he's one of my favourites. I was at Bendigo today and he was fairly good. Probably a step back from his recent form, but certainly a solid contributer.
eastlakes rule
18 Jun 2007, 16:47
michael thompson is also a chance as well as steven stroobants i think..both could offer something 2 an afl club
TFLUA-Tiger
18 Jun 2007, 19:40
Tom Collier from the Devils would be a big chance
LukeHodge15
19 Jun 2007, 09:06
My 2 smokeys from Gippsland Power
Haelen Kay #17
Dan McKenna #12
And a couple of personal favorites. :D
blues2010
19 Jun 2007, 09:10
Haelen Kay #17
Dan McKenna #12
I wouldn't call Mckenna a smokey, put him down as a certainty
Haha, you a Totino fan HBF? I think I mentioned in the thread about him a few weeks ago that he's one of my favourites. I was at Bendigo today and he was fairly good. Probably a step back from his recent form, but certainly a solid contributer.
Gilly has kind of set me up here VC. I do like the way he goes about things, but unfortunately, at 172cm, he's going to struggle to get drafted. Like a few others (Joyce, Nye), they clearly have the talent, however, I am a firm believer that you have to have something fairly special at this height to be drafted.
Haelen Kay #17
Dan McKenna #12
I wouldn't call Mckenna a smokey, put him down as a certainty
I agree. McKenna would be a certainty to be drafted. One of the better players for VC in the trial game against VM a week and a half ago.
LukeHodge15
19 Jun 2007, 09:23
I agree. McKenna would be a certainty to be drafted. One of the better players for VC in the trial game against VM a week and a half ago.
Mate, have no idea where players are ranked in this years draft. Thus why i have stayed away from this forum. Sucked in this morning for a quick look at a couple of threads that wont have me pre-judging players be4 i get a look at themselves for myself.
McKenna might be rated top 20 for all i know, Real AFL potential.
Mate, have no idea where players are ranked in this years draft. Thus why i have stayed away from this forum. Sucked in this morning for a quick look at a couple of threads that wont have me pre-judging players be4 i get a look at themselves for myself.
McKenna might be rated top 20 for all i know, Real AFL potential.
I'll start off by saying that I have seen alot more the the VM guys so far this year, so me rating the VC guys is a little harder. However, I have seen McKenna a couple of times, and both times he has impressed. A good pair of hands, and is always presenting himself as an option. Have also heard that he can go back as well, as he played his junior footy as a backman.
Will have a much better idea of where he is placed at the Champs, however, a top 20 selection might not be out of the realms of possibility.
eastlakes rule
19 Jun 2007, 11:17
Gippsland may have a few in the mix to be drafted this yr..
with the likes of bristow, connelly, jackson hall, McKenna all likely candidates. i laos believe michael todd maybe a rookie list chance which is not out of the question!!
Aaron Kite from Calder. Only played a couple of games this year. Played a couple last year as a 16 year old. represented Vic Metro u/16 last year. 190+ cm, good skills, athletic, 18 in January 2008. Some of the 19 year olds are going pretty well in the TAC and VFL- Rockefellar, Anderson, Gazzo are three that stand out. Fanning, Limbach, Iacabucci and Cartledge may find themselves back in the AFL system with some luck.
eastlakes rule
19 Jun 2007, 16:08
surely rockefella will get a chancel his form for werribee has been fantastic, not sure if he playd in the U23 game a few weeks ago, although he has been a consistent player in the VFL to follow up from his TAC Cup form of last yr...
jdubs#18
19 Jun 2007, 18:45
Michael Hurley : Northern Knights
Brett Meredith : Northern Knights
Chris Hoegel : Oakleigh Chargers
Vic Crow
19 Jun 2007, 20:00
Hurley is too young and is on track to be a top 20 pick in 2008.
I'd suggest he is easily on track for a top 20 selection in 2008. Could go a bit higher than that as well. Next year is looking like a pretty good draft already.
Footy08
19 Jun 2007, 20:20
Gilly has kind of set me up here VC. I do like the way he goes about things, but unfortunately, at 172cm, he's going to struggle to get drafted. Like a few others (Joyce, Nye), they clearly have the talent, however, I am a firm believer that you have to have something fairly special at this height to be drafted.
number 14 for eastern?? he is a gun.. everytime he gets his hands on the ball he damages oppositions, reads the play well and has an awesome left foot.. how tall is he? i thought he would have to be a chance in the draft...
MasterOfRoc
19 Jun 2007, 21:10
is he related to drew petrie?
Not sure mate, ill try to find out tomorrow for ya
beyond50
22 Jun 2007, 12:59
an under the radar player that could get drafted from geelong, nik orvis, hes 195 and fairly solid. a definate long term prospect
sketch09
24 Jun 2007, 09:12
i think he is from wagga wagga in sthrn NSW..what game did you see of his Vic Crow? could he be a possible rookie spot?
Interested because he is a top age and from NSW? Therefore possibly scope for improvment might be possible?
yer you are correct in saying his from wagga wagga i think his chance of being drafted has diminished a little bit after not being selected in the under 18 nsw/act side and also with the fluctuation in form that his been showing in the tac cup. At club level he dominates for Turvey Park although for some reason can never carry it to a higher standard is a roughie for the draft although somewhat of a long shot
TacupWatcher
26 Jun 2007, 11:36
this is who i am thinkn will get pickd up from each TAC Cup side or who has a chance;
Nth Ballarat
- Matt Austin
-Ryan Hobbs
-Clayton Hinkley
-Kyle Cheney
Gippsland
- James Bristow
-Tristain Fracis
-Jackson Hall
-Brent Connelly
Calder Cannons
-jeremy laidler
-James Polkinghorne
_adam maric
- Dylan Joyce
-Travis Dulic
-Darcy Daniher
-Mitchell Farmer
-Dean Putt
-Tom Duyndum
- Ash Arowsmith
Geelong Falcons
- Chris Lynch
-Lachy Henderson
-Chris Kangas
-Jaxon Barham
-Guy okeefe
-Justin baxter
Eastern Rangers
-matt Lobbe
-michael Deaquilla
Western jets
-Nik Dimartino
-rhyce Pismall
Murray Bushrangers
-Ryan Normington
-Tim Macintyre
-Matt Beckmans
-Ash Hockey
-Matt Deledio
-Dean Terlich
-Ben McEvoy
-Dawson Simpson
Oakliegh
-harry Croft
-Hugh Sandilands
Bendigo
-robbie Tarrent
-jayden Donaldson
-Scott Sellwood
Dandenong
-jarrad Grant
-steve Gaertner
Sandy
-matt suckling
-John Shaw
Northern Knights
-Matty Kruezer
-Pat Veszpremi
-Trent Cotchin
-Jack Grimes
-Tim Bongetti
-Luke Stanton
-Chris Sanflippo
-
Bristow, Cheney & Donaldson didn't make the Vic Country team. (Donaldson named in squad). Do you think that hurts there chances of being drafted?
Bongetti will not get drafted. Mcaffer last years leading goalkicker had all Bongetti's attributes but was quick fit and not fat, and only just managed to get rookied.
Deledio is a much improved player. outside rookie chance.
Watched Andy Otten play on a couple of occasions now and hes a pretty versitile player with alot a good football brain, i would think his name will come into calculations come draft day.
Malibu#27
26 Jun 2007, 12:16
Louis Hadden may be a smokey .... one of those kids thats played a lot of country footy, and only just made a move to play in town.
If memory serves he stitched up Bryce Gibbs in a school game... and has played several years of senior (A Grade) footy in Barossa - and I think may even have won a club A Grade B&F as a 15yo.
Haven't seen him play for a few years so dont know how serious hes taking it, but I did notice him listed in the SA U18 squad.
missionpossible
26 Jun 2007, 13:59
The advertiser should be shot for that list. I dont know what they were thinking but basically it looks like they have combined the under18's and under 20's lists together and call it the under 18 squad.
Gilly1972
26 Jun 2007, 15:23
The advertiser should be shot for that list. I dont know what they were thinking but basically it looks like they have combined the under18's and under 20's lists together and call it the under 18 squad.
Mission you might be able to answer this...one smokey I thought might have been building some momentum towards the end of last year was Zac Hier. Any idea where he is playing at the moment and how his form is?
Cheers
Malibu#27
26 Jun 2007, 16:54
Mission you might be able to answer this...one smokey I thought might have been building some momentum towards the end of last year was Zac Hier. Any idea where he is playing at the moment and how his form is?
Cheers
I can tell you that we played cricket against his side soon after Christmas ... and I'm guessing but .... perhaps he doesn't have the dedication to make it at an AFL side ?
Gilly1972
26 Jun 2007, 17:04
I can tell you that we played cricket against his side soon after Christmas ... and I'm guessing but .... perhaps he doesn't have the dedication to make it at an AFL side ?
Thanks Malibu. I suppose that is something to always consider, and something we don't always think about as mug punters, but then again not something you would know unless you were part of a recruiting team.:thumbsu:
Malibu#27
26 Jun 2007, 17:15
Thanks Malibu. I suppose that is something to always consider, and something we don't always think about as mug punters, but then again not something you would know unless you were part of a recruiting team.:thumbsu:
Its not gospel, just a possibility given my experiences.
Gilly1972
26 Jun 2007, 17:39
Its not gospel, just a possibility given my experiences.
understood mate :thumbsu:
borderbarry
26 Jun 2007, 18:35
Somebody previously mentioned Zane Murphy. Is'nt he the son of champion Swan, David Murphy? And if so, has'nt St.Kilda taken him up under the NSW cadetship thing?
Does anyone know what weight is placed on the NSW cadetship, as far as given the host club a right to select him? And would the father/son situation outweigh it?
Gilly1972
26 Jun 2007, 18:39
Somebody previously mentioned Zane Murphy. Is'nt he the son of champion Swan, David Murphy? And if so, has'nt St.Kilda taken him up under the NSW cadetship thing?
Does anyone know what weight is placed on the NSW cadetship, as far as given the host club a right to select him? And would the father/son situation outweigh it?
Zane Murphy is from TAS...must be a different Murphy.
bigcalls!!
27 Jun 2007, 17:42
Bristow, Cheney & Donaldson didn't make the Vic Country team. (Donaldson named in squad). Do you think that hurts there chances of being drafted?
Bongetti will not get drafted. Mcaffer last years leading goalkicker had all Bongetti's attributes but was quick fit and not fat, and only just managed to get rookied.
Deledio is a much improved player. outside rookie chance.
Watched Andy Otten play on a couple of occasions now and hes a pretty versitile player with alot a good football brain, i would think his name will come into calculations come draft day.
word was that bristow was good enough, however due to previous injuries was lacking the endurance to go with the heavy sceduled carnival of frequent games. Cheney wasnt a real standout in trials and other similar sized midfield/flank type players deemed worthier selections. Donaldson A little surprised not to see this fella in the side but did make the squad. these three players will be affected by not being selected for the country team, but a consistent second half from them should see them all getting a taste in the afl system.
Agree with most you say re Bongetti vs McAffer but am certain Bongetti will get an opportunity somewhere next year. Yes he is a bit slow for my liking but has great hands, is a proven goalkicker and can play at both ends when required. Also shows good leadership out on the park.
Tayte pears - East perth
192/90 in the 18's squad for W.A Very strong CHB Worth a look
*bump*
anyone got any other smokeys?
TFLUA-Tiger
7 Aug 2007, 17:39
Tayte pears - East perth
192/90 in the 18's squad for W.A Very strong CHB Worth a look
Pears isn't a smokey I wouldn't think - Many people have him in their prospective top 20's, me included.
S.Barnes#11
7 Aug 2007, 17:43
Nth Ballarat
- Matt Austin
-Ryan Hobbs
-Clayton Hinkley
-Kyle Cheney
Gippsland
- James Bristow
-Tristain Fracis
-Jackson Hall
-Brent Connelly
Calder Cannons
-jeremy laidler
-James Polkinghorne
_adam maric
- Dylan Joyce
-Travis Dulic
-Darcy Daniher
-Mitchell Farmer
-Dean Putt
-Tom Duyndum
- Ash Arowsmith
Geelong Falcons
- Chris Lynch
-Lachy Henderson
-Chris Kangas
-Jaxon Barham
-Guy okeefe
-Justin baxter
Eastern Rangers
-matt Lobbe
-michael Deaquilla
Western jets
-Nik Dimartino
-rhyce Pismall
Murray Bushrangers
-Ryan Normington
-Tim Macintyre
-Matt Beckmans
-Ash Hockey
-Matt Deledio
-Dean Terlich
-Ben McEvoy
-Dawson Simpson
Oakliegh
-harry Croft
-Hugh Sandilands
Bendigo
-robbie Tarrent
-jayden Donaldson
-Scott Sellwood
Dandenong
-jarrad Grant
-steve Gaertner
Sandy
-matt suckling
-John Shaw
Northern Knights
-Matty Kruezer
-Pat Veszpremi
-Trent Cotchin
-Jack Grimes
-Tim Bongetti
-Luke Stanton
-Chris Sanflippo
-
Cant see Cristian Sanfillipo getting drafted and the same with Luke stanton, who if next years draft is a little weak he might get a gig. I would have zaharakis in before them two
Matt Murder
7 Aug 2007, 18:05
Steven Browne from West Perth
Steve Stroobants from pioneers?
What about Hebbard, Saker and Warnett from Murray as smokeys
Hebbard and Saker both 19yr olds, continually impress
Warnett 18yr old currently getting alot of the ball
Stroobants? will he be to small also gets alot of the ball
over the top
8 Aug 2007, 18:36
oakleigh chargers - glenn chivers
Patrick McArthy
n knights - c sanflippo
vinnie_vegas69
8 Aug 2007, 19:26
Anybody else think that Brad Gilder from Sandy is any chance?
He's having a pretty good season in the TAC Cup, and he's a reasonable size. Haven't really seen his name mentioned around.
Just a few guys from Rangers that i have seen a bit of.
I wouldnt expect all of these guys to be drafted , most may not get a look in and none are really early picks but some of these guys may get looked at late or for the rookie draft.
Brad Jones - Runs all day and knows how to find the footy . His kicking can be a bit hit and miss and often he tries to do more by foot than his ability allows. Isnt a really long kick but is effective if he sticks within his limits. Isnt overly quick but does get through traffic reasonably well.
Matt Lobbe - Tallish CHF who can read the play well and take a grab when he is playing well. Has played ruck as well but Renton has pushed him out of that position. He is a pretty relaible kick. What he does need to do is get involved more often. He has shown h can be very effective at certain times during games but a lot of the time he looks like he is waiting for things to happen rather than making them happen. Looks like his mindset is often stuck in under 16 mode where he can just stand around taking grabs over people.
Kris Nye - Broke his leg at the wrong time but sides could do a lot worse than look at him as a rookie pick . He was the spark in the Rangers side before he went down with the side playing good footy and being the engine room man that got things going. He can run pretty much all day and knows where to go on the field to find the footy. He isnt overly quick and his foot skils are ok rather than outstanding. Bring his team mates into the game well. He likes to work forward and kick a goal. In the Metro trail game he was ok when he was in the midfield but didnt do a lot when resting at half forward.
Trent Zomer - Bit of an everywhere guy this year. Has played back , in the ruck and up forward. Is too short for the ruck at AFL level. Has done well recently as a forward. Is a big bodied kid who can kcik a long goal. Not overly blessed with pace.
Andrew Renton - Probably the one out of the group who will be drafted. His tap work is pretty good and when he does actually jump he is hard to beat in the ruck. Needs to find a lot around the ground but clubs will like his size (202cm) and the fact he can get first hands on the footy. he has pretty reasonable skills and is a good kick of the footy.
Shaun Dixon - Has been playing fullback and doing a good job but at 186cm will be considered too small for that role in the AFL. He has got an uncanny ability to spoil all sizes of opposition forwards and rarely gets beaten. Reads the play well. He has an ordinary kicking action but he does hit targets. Outside chance for a rookie spot.
Micheal Dell Aquila - Half forward who is running into good form in recent weeks. Knows where the goals are and works well up forward.
Daniel Noy - Was on fire early in the year before getting injured. His form hasnt been as hot since he came back. Still he was very good on the wing ealry on and worked in well as the link man.
I wouldnt expect all of these guys to be drafted , most may not get a look in and none are really early picks but some of these guys may get looked at late or for the rookie draft.
Brad Jones - Runs all day and knows how to find the footy . His kicking can be a bit hit and miss and often he tries to do more by foot than his ability allows. Isnt a really long kick but is effective if he sticks within his limits. Isnt overly quick but does get through traffic reasonably well.
Matt Lobbe - Tallish CHF who can read the play well and take a grab when he is playing well. Has played ruck as well but Renton has pushed him out of that position. He is a pretty relaible kick. What he does need to do is get involved more often. He has shown h can be very effective at certain times during games but a lot of the time he looks like he is waiting for things to happen rather than making them happen. Looks like his mindset is often stuck in under 16 mode where he can just stand around taking grabs over people.
Kris Nye - Broke his leg at the wrong time but sides could do a lot worse than look at him as a rookie pick . He was the spark in the Rangers side before he went down with the side playing good footy and being the engine room man that got things going. He can run pretty much all day and knows where to go on the field to find the footy. He isnt overly quick and his foot skils are ok rather than outstanding. Bring his team mates into the game well. He likes to work forward and kick a goal. In the Metro trail game he was ok when he was in the midfield but didnt do a lot when resting at half forward.
Trent Zomer - Bit of an everywhere guy this year. Has played back , in the ruck and up forward. Is too short for the ruck at AFL level. Has done well recently as a forward. Is a big bodied kid who can kcik a long goal. Not overly blessed with pace.
Andrew Renton - Probably the one out of the group who will be drafted. His tap work is pretty good and when he does actually jump he is hard to beat in the ruck. Needs to find a lot around the ground but clubs will like his size (202cm) and the fact he can get first hands on the footy. he has pretty reasonable skills and is a good kick of the footy.
Shaun Dixon - Has been playing fullback and doing a good job but at 186cm will be considered too small for that role in the AFL. He has got an uncanny ability to spoil all sizes of opposition forwards and rarely gets beaten. Reads the play well. He has an ordinary kicking action but he does hit targets. Outside chance for a rookie spot.
Micheal Dell Aquila - Half forward who is running into good form in recent weeks. Knows where the goals are and works well up forward.
Daniel Noy - Was on fire early in the year before getting injured. His form hasnt been as hot since he came back. Still he was very good on the wing ealry on and worked in well as the link man.
Did my homework on TAC site and seen abit of the ranges play this yr:
Jones has some impressive stats on the tac cup site ave. around 24 disposals or so and is just hard at it and hard working... dellaquill has ran into good form and fitness accumulating high possesions and kicking bags... Noy will be the one to be picked up the earliest in the group because of his blistering pace and athletisism... zomer is a freak athlete with a basketball background which will hold him in good stead... Nye was ripping it up until injured...Lobbe was in sensational form at the start of the season and is a great athlete with high work rate, would b a excellent late pick prospect... not sure bout the rest though
The question is where do they all fit
john mcarthy - dandenong
luke potts - dandenong
scott simpson- dandenong (definate draft)
Snoop Dog
8 Aug 2007, 22:36
Yeah I am a Noy fan - he is a really terrific kid and would fit the 'no d**khead policy'. Would be latish though.
Steve Stroobants from pioneers?
What about Hebbard, Saker and Warnett from Murray as smokeys
Hebbard and Saker both 19yr olds, continually impress
Warnett 18yr old currently getting alot of the ball
Stroobants? will he be to small also gets alot of the ball
nah warnett is no chance he talks himself up too much
TacupWatcher
9 Aug 2007, 07:49
Toby Thoolen from Bendigo Pioneers. Big Tall Athletic and Skillfull bottom age ruckman/key position. His potential is enormous!!
Matt Murder
9 Aug 2007, 10:11
Tony Notte from Swan Districts. Built like Josh Thurgood's long lost anorexic cousin but has a great pair of hands and from 8 games this season has kicked bags of 8 , 7 , 5 , 4 and 3.
Gilly1972
9 Aug 2007, 10:43
Tony Notte from Swan Districts. Built like Josh Thurgood's long lost anorexic cousin but has a great pair of hands and from 8 games this season has kicked bags of 8 , 7 , 5 , 4 and 3.
Funny I was just thinking I might make a post about Notte as I was waiting for this page to load.....ticks all the right boxes, but as you say, most recruiters will probably get the Thurgood jitters....just doesn't look to have the frame to accomodate sufficient bulking up. I"m sure somebody ill take a punt on him, I suppose where he falls just depends on how grave these concerns are.
bomberandy
9 Aug 2007, 15:08
Is Mitch Banner from the Jets eligible this year?
footyfan2007
9 Aug 2007, 15:16
Hey guys whats your thoughts on tom frawley and justin beugelaars chances in the draft?? They both had pretty average under 18 carnivals but stood out in the under 16's Frawley racking up nearly 30 possie's each game and beugelaar kicking 6 goals first game, 3 in the second and racking up 20 disposals and a goal from defensive in the last!!
Is Mitch Banner from the Jets eligible this year?
Nope
bomberandy
9 Aug 2007, 16:40
Cheers. You reckon he'll go very high next year?
I really like him, but given his height he'll be up against it next year. Really hope he gets picked up, but I wouldn't think it'd be too early.
bomberandy
9 Aug 2007, 16:48
No worries. Thanks mate
S.Barnes#11
9 Aug 2007, 18:13
Does any one think Chris Hoegal from Oakley Chargers will get picked up?
I know alot of people say no because he is soft, but he gets space easily and is good around the goals. Got a state screening last year, so has obviously impressed a few people. speed is an issue tho for a bloke his height
Jungle Josh
11 Nov 2007, 17:34
any information on Harry Crof? and what about Brad Hanchette...outside chance??? josh,
bigfella7
11 Nov 2007, 21:08
jarrad boumann-Dandenong
lets_fly_up
11 Nov 2007, 21:34
Does anyone have any info about matthew Westhoff
Dave The Man
14 Aug 2008, 00:13
Toby Thoolen from Bendigo Pioneers. Big Tall Athletic and Skillfull bottom age ruckman/key position. His potential is enormous!!
I bloody Hope So:thumbsu:
electrobeets
14 Aug 2008, 13:41
Definantly Ryhs Okeffe SA MVP, most possies in the tournamentn for SA, most hard ball gets to. Gun Utility Played the last two games of the eighteens in the midfield an played for the first 3 as a running half back. over here in SA he play as a full back/back pocket ever on a big foward or a small foward he can do it all. Big possibilty for a high pick.
biglance18
14 Aug 2008, 14:46
mitchell brown would have to be a chance playing for mentone grammar in th ags had a super year at chf and is playing for sandy dragons atm is a very talented player very courageous and a super mark could be a smokey:thumbsu:
RangaInTeal
14 Aug 2008, 14:52
Does anyone have any info about matthew Westhoff
Matthew Westhoff is on the Port list
cmndstab
14 Aug 2008, 15:23
Matthew Westhoff is on the Port list
That post was from last year.