View Full Version : Ruck Prospects 2007 NAB Draft

The Royal Sampler
8 Jun 2007, 09:50
Who are they, how tall, and what round do you expect them to go?

Thanks! :)

bigrayohall20
8 Jun 2007, 10:59
Who are they, how tall, and what round do you expect them to go?

Thanks! :)

kruezer. #1
thats about all i know about him. apparently he goes alright.

moore than a game
8 Jun 2007, 11:01
bellchambers 201cm will go early

DanA
8 Jun 2007, 12:18
Name - Height - Weight - Estimated pick
Matthew Kruezer 199cm 91kg - No.1
Tom Bellchambers 201cm 92kg - Top 10
Ben McEvoy 199cm 90 kg - Top 20
James Wundke 197cm 84kg - Top 20 (Ruck/Forward)
Brent Connelly 199cm 84kg - Top 25
James Mulligan 199cm 87kg - Top 25
Dean Putt 202cm 88 kg - Top 40
Dawson Simpson 205cm 97 kg - Good chance
Will Sullivan 202cm 95kg - Good Chance
Andrew Renton 202cm 94 kg - Good chance

Boy from the West
8 Jun 2007, 13:22
Naitanui from Swan Districts is an outstanding talent. Incredible leap but unsure how an AFL club would view him - Ruck or KPP. Dfinite drafting in a high position

brown_2000au
8 Jun 2007, 14:44
Richmond will take Kruezer at pick 1, McEvoy at pick 18 and Putt as a rookie thanks.

sydney eagle
8 Jun 2007, 17:26
Richmond will take Kruezer at pick 1, McEvoy at pick 18 and Putt as a rookie thanks. While you may well get Kruezer I think that the Eagles might be interested in McEvoy at pick 16 !:)

The Royal Sampler
8 Jun 2007, 17:58
Naitanui from Swan Districts is an outstanding talent. Incredible leap but unsure how an AFL club would view him - Ruck or KPP. Dfinite drafting in a high position
In order to save Gilly some grey hairs, I think the player you're referring to is ineligible for this year.

Thanks to everyone for their info so far :)

Gilly1972
8 Jun 2007, 18:24
In order to save Gilly some grey hairs, I think the player you're referring to is ineligible for this year.

Much appreciated RS ;):thumbsu:

Boy from the West
8 Jun 2007, 18:25

You positive on that? I checked this out before and thought that he snuck in by a couple of days. Can you confirm his DOB lease mate? Happy to cop what you're telling me.

Snoop Dog
8 Jun 2007, 20:10

Not sure I see Wundke as a ruck prospect. I think he will be a FF or a FB.

The ruck prospect I am really excited by is James Mulligan. The kid has a lot of development left and a heap of natural ability.

HavUEvaSeenTheRain
8 Jun 2007, 20:30
While you may well get Kruezer I think that the Eagles might be interested in McEvoy at pick 16 !:)
You will have to take him at 15 if you want him

The Royal Sampler
8 Jun 2007, 22:59
You positive on that? I checked this out before and thought that he snuck in by a couple of days. Can you confirm his DOB lease mate? Happy to cop what you're telling me.
I can only go on what Gilly1972 was saying in another thread, so in short, I can't confirm it.

David Hill BOG against the Northern Territory in the Challenge Cup today, a young ruckman playing his first game at this level. May come into contention...?

Gilly1972
8 Jun 2007, 23:15
I can only go on what Gilly1972 was saying in another thread, so in short, I can't confirm it.

David Hill BOG against the Northern Territory in the Challenge Cup today, a young ruckman playing his first game at this level. May come into contention...?

Naitanui listed as 4th May 1990 on ais site, I'm pretty sure makes him ineligible by not much.

Will be going along on Monday and will keep an eye on Hill.

The Royal Sampler
9 Jun 2007, 00:43
Thanks mate. :thumbsu:

It would be amusing if Essendon picked him up :p

Boy from the West
9 Jun 2007, 01:53

Thanks Gilly. Will save him for next year when he is a top 5er.

malcolm
9 Jun 2007, 08:58
[QUOTE=Snoop Dog;7778975]Not sure I see Wundke as a ruck prospect. I think he will be a FF or a FB.

I agree - although he has played ruck @ north adelaide he looks much better as a full forward or CHF - I suspect the crows will try to draft him and have Sellar & Wundke ready to play in 2009.

DanA
9 Jun 2007, 10:07
[quote=Snoop Dog;7778975]Not sure I see Wundke as a ruck prospect. I think he will be a FF or a FB.

I agree - although he has played ruck @ north adelaide he looks much better as a full forward or CHF - I suspect the crows will try to draft him and have Sellar & Wundke ready to play in 2009.

That will mean that Adelaide have 3 guys at that in between height (Tippett, Sellar, Wundke). None are quite Ruckmen but all are very tall KPP's. I don't reckon that is desirable.

eminbee
9 Jun 2007, 10:22
Why wouldn't Naitanui be eligible now, when he's already playing colts for Swans? My information (and I've not seen him) is that he's a natural personality, tremendously athletic, Fijian origins with dreadlocks and once drafted, a cult figure in the short term. The last may not be a good thing.

Boy from the West
9 Jun 2007, 12:42
Why wouldn't Naitanui be eligible now, when he's already playing colts for Swans? My information (and I've not seen him) is that he's a natural personality, tremendously athletic, Fijian origins with dreadlocks and once drafted, a cult figure in the short term. The last may not be a good thing.

There is a certain age you have to be before you are eligible. Assuming that Gilly has the right birth day (and he's rarely wrong) he misses by a few days - similar to Masten last year.

What you say about him is spot on. Star of the future.

KING-JAMES
9 Jun 2007, 14:45

Would not surprise me at all. Seem's a Sheedy kinda player.

The Royal Sampler
9 Jun 2007, 16:10
I was referring to David Hill, of Queensland, who was BOG on Friday. Two David Hill(e)'s would give the callers nightmares, especially as they're both ruckmen. :D

jezza
9 Jun 2007, 17:59
Richmond will take Kruezer at pick 1, McEvoy at pick 18 and Putt as a rookie thanks.

I highly doubt we'll use 2 early picks on rucks, and take 3 rucks overall. I think at this stage we'd take Kreuzer and we'd look at another ruck on the rookie list if we decide to replace Graham. I think we have too many other pressing needs to spend that much on rucks this draft. I think it's more likely we'll target a ruckman who can play straight away through a trade or the PSD rather than load up on 3 rucks who won't play in the ruck for 3 or 4 years.

KING-JAMES
9 Jun 2007, 19:17
I was referring to David Hill, of Queensland, who was BOG on Friday. Two David Hill(e)'s would give the callers nightmares, especially as they're both ruckmen. :D

Oh haha that would be a hard call. Would be funny to see him at Essendon rotating ruck with the other David Hille

FrediKanoute
12 Jun 2007, 01:01
What about Ayce Cordy....he's about 200cm. Where do people see him going?

DanA
12 Jun 2007, 01:09

Is he the Xav's boy. I reckon he will go in the 30-50 mark

Weaver
12 Jun 2007, 09:12
The ruck prospect I am really excited by is James Mulligan. The kid has a lot of development left and a heap of natural ability.

Agreed. Has the athleticism certainly and is quite skilled - booming kick. Just have to see if he can actually play some good footy. Would certainly be a keenly sought project player at the absolute worst.

bringbacblight
12 Jun 2007, 13:33
Agreed. Has the athleticism certainly and is quite skilled - booming kick. Just have to see if he can actually play some good footy. Would certainly be a keenly sought project player at the absolute worst.

Has anyone seen another queenslander, Jake Spencer? if so how's he going?

Trizzy
12 Jun 2007, 20:13
from Geelong Falcons/Geelong College. ineligible this year but guarantee he will go to WB next yea runder father son. very good player

Vader
13 Jun 2007, 14:00
[quote=malcolm;7782734]

That will mean that Adelaide have 3 guys at that in between height (Tippett, Sellar, Wundke). None are quite Ruckmen but all are very tall KPP's. I don't reckon that is desirable.

Actually, Tippett is 202cm in height and the second tallest player on Adelaide's list. Perfect height for a ruckman, whether or not he'll make it as a KPP or not is another matter.

Agree though that Wundke & Sellar would both be "in between height".

megladon
26 Jun 2007, 02:15

When the Knights play the jets who takes the ruck honors Kreuzer or Sullivan and how do McEvoy and Putt fair against them.

KING-JAMES
26 Jun 2007, 08:53
When the Knights play the jets who takes the ruck honors Kreuzer or Sullivan and how do McEvoy and Putt fair against them.

Kreuzer does. Both get a lot of hitouts but Kreuzer covers him everywhere else easily.

lionsrock9
26 Jun 2007, 15:03
Has anyone seen another queenslander, Jake Spencer? if so how's he going?

Here is what Quigley had to say about on the QLD vs Tas game.

Spencer – DOB 9/10/89 Ht 203 Wt 93

Was the best of the Qld rucks against Tasmania. He dominated when matched up on the reserve Tas ruck in Milne and generally held his own against Bellchambers. He is a palm ruck who directed some nice ball down the throat of his on-ballers. He was clearly the tallest player on the field and as you might imagine is still pretty lightly built despite coming in at 93kgs. He moves pretty well for a big man and gets around the ground well. Unlikely to ever be a high possession type ruck but could be one who will win a lot of ball for a club. I don’t know why he didn’t start ahead of Hill (bottom aged) who was taken to the cleaners by Bellchambers and yet still played most of the match prior to getting injured in the last.

mjp
26 Jun 2007, 16:28

Sullivan wins hitouts, Kreuzer wins around the ground. He is a lot further along in his football development than Sullivan.

If you look at the tape from earlier this year, it was Sullivan's ruck work at centre bounces that really got Western going in the last quarter and enabled them to run over the Knights.

megladon
26 Jun 2007, 19:36
Sullivan wins hitouts, Kreuzer wins around the ground. He is a lot further along in his football development than Sullivan.

If you look at the tape from earlier this year, it was Sullivan's ruck work at centre bounces that really got Western going in the last quarter and enabled them to run over the Knights.

The Vic's in perth on the weekend were absolute Kreuzer will play CHF, Natanui has dominated in the 4 trail games against league players, will be interesting to see how long they leave Kreuzer at CHF if they're getting beaten in the ruck

HBF
26 Jun 2007, 21:05
I've actually liked the form of Dawson Simpson this year. At 205cm, he gets his hand to the ball first the majority of the time. And, he is pretty good around the ground as well.

Footy08
26 Jun 2007, 22:07
I've actually liked the form of Dawson Simpson this year. At 205cm, he gets his hand to the ball first the majority of the time. And, he is pretty good around the ground as well.

Big dawson has actually now hit 207cm and has been playing well.. his game at lavinton against eastern was great.. he was chasing down guys and got them holding the ball about 3 times in the forward line..

year of the cat
26 Jun 2007, 22:17
Is Lachlan Henderson considered more key forward than ruckman? Where is he likely to go in the draft?

The G Man
26 Jun 2007, 22:42
Tom Bellchambers is the best young ruckman in the land, he is unbelievable, i cant see why he wouldnt go top ten, his contested marking this year has been good also

HBF
26 Jun 2007, 23:08
Big dawson has actually now hit 207cm and has been playing well.. his game at lavinton against eastern was great.. he was chasing down guys and got them holding the ball about 3 times in the forward line..

I saw him on Sunday at Preston, and the guy is a beanpole. The thing that impresses me the most with him is his all round game. He is mobile for a big man, his skills are pretty good, and i've seen him pick the ball up from below his knees.

CjohnsRun
27 Jun 2007, 12:10
Queensland Ruckman Jake Spencer is going to be good with more game time.. Three years ago couldn't kick had no weight and was just at 6' tall.. he has grown heaps and his skills and fitness has really picked up. His tap work is fantastic and has the use of both hands. He has a pretty good motor for a big bloke with a 3.2km time of 12:17 at the start of preseason training. He now has really good skills on both sides. I think will be a very good prospect if given more game time.

Vic Crow
27 Jun 2007, 12:38
I've only seen him the once this year and I reckon he's a pretty good prospect.

southjoy
27 Jun 2007, 16:12
Matthew Breen from WA is the other ruckman very clever, positions well and hasn't played Colts as he has been playing in the League team.
Will be very hotly looked at!

The Royal Sampler
22 Jul 2007, 14:07
Okay, so far we've got these guys, and also;

David Hill
Jake Spencer
Michael Griffiths (23 yo)
Matthew Breen

From what I can gather; Wundke, McEvoy and Mulligan may be more KPP than ruckmen.

Any further developments, players, or draft estimates?

bomberandy
22 Jul 2007, 14:33
Reece Phoenix?

The Royal Sampler
22 Jul 2007, 15:23
Oh yeah, forgot him. :o Thanks.

mick4
23 Jul 2007, 22:52
I saw him on Sunday at Preston, and the guy is a beanpole. The thing that impresses me the most with him is his all round game. He is mobile for a big man, his skills are pretty good, and i've seen him pick the ball up from below his knees.

Do you think that he will be the Max Bailey of this years draft??

Snoop Dog
25 Jul 2007, 21:24
Okay, so far we've got these guys, and also;

David Hill
Jake Spencer
Michael Griffiths (23 yo)
Matthew Breen

From what I can gather; Wundke, McEvoy and Mulligan may be more KPP than ruckmen.

Any further developments, players, or draft estimates?

For pure ruckmen I would go;

Kruezer
Bellchambers
Simpson
Sullivan
Spencer
Renton
Mulligan - crap champs has him stumbling for me along with his skills.

A very left field would be Martin from NSW, 203cm moves well and was v good at Champs IMO.

Couch Coach
6 Aug 2007, 14:00
Has anyone got an opinion on John Shaw from Sandy?
Averages seem ok at 33 hit outs and 11 possessions but haven't seen him play.

Weaver
6 Aug 2007, 14:15
Has anyone got an opinion on John Shaw from Sandy?
Averages seem ok at 33 hit outs and 11 possessions but haven't seen him play.

John Shaw misses many of these lists because he is 19 and played as well last season. Being overlooked in a draft with weaker ruck prospects is not a good sign.

For all that I think on merit you'd have to have him as the best TAC Cup ruckman this year. He regularly beats his opponents. Gets taps, is competitive around the ground.

Problem is there is nothing in the least bit special about him. He doesn't do anything particularly well. At 197cm he ain't super tall, he is not overly quick, he doesn't tackle and win stoppages like Kreuzer. He isn't the forward thread that other guys are. He is just a ho-hum run-of-the-mill solid player.

To me he is very Cain Ackland. You probably don't really care one way or another if he is your AFL list. A good competitive back-up who might play and occasional good game - but will never be in your best 30 players over a season. And this year I think the competition might be too fierce for him to get taken.

Couch Coach
6 Aug 2007, 14:23
Thanks Weaver.

Just on the doesn't tackle part his stats for 12 games show 54 tackles. (Kreuzer 11 games 47 tackles) Obviously not having seen him play I don't know what context these tackles are in though.

borderbarry
6 Aug 2007, 15:01
Where would Reece Phoenix fit in the mix?

Quigley
6 Aug 2007, 15:33
Where would Reece Phoenix fit in the mix?
I don't see Pheonix as a ruck at AFL level. He is another that is only 197 and quite frankly his ruck skills are virtually non-existant. He got smashed at Div 2 level and that doesn't bode well for your chances of getting picked up. If he gets picked I think it will be on the basis that someone thinks they can make a key position out of him. He is pretty athletic.

Campbell's Chunky
6 Aug 2007, 15:34
Lachlan Button.

sharks19
9 Aug 2007, 01:03
Quigley makes some good points about Phoenix however I believe his skills are definatly above non existent. Due to this being his first carnival under this sort of pressure I believe that may have contributed. I have seen quite alot of him and his skills are extremely good for a big man and can take a big pack contested mark. His athletisism is his real feature as he is able to run 14 + beep tests and covers the ground extremely well. Wouldnt be surprised to see a club take the punt on the man.

footyfan2007
9 Aug 2007, 15:25
I don't see Pheonix as a ruck at AFL level. He is another that is only 197 and quite frankly his ruck skills are virtually non-existant. He got smashed at Div 2 level and that doesn't bode well for your chances of getting picked up. If he gets picked I think it will be on the basis that someone thinks they can make a key position out of him. He is pretty athletic.

yes and no he has a great set of hands and has no hesitations of going back with the flight in defense. Could be turned in to a luke darcy ruckman who pushes forward to play that key position.

bomberandy
9 Aug 2007, 16:54
Is his broken leg gonna affect his draft prospects tho?

borderbarry
14 Aug 2007, 16:22
I have taken the liberty of trying to put together a list of all available ruckmen for this years draft. Can anyone add or alter the height for them, and also give them a ranking as to where they may go please.

Ben McEvoy 200cm 90 kg - Top 20
Brent Connelly 202cm 84kg - Top 25
James Mulligan 201cm 87kg - Top 25
Dawson Simpson 206cm 97 kg - Good chance
David Hill
Michael Griffiths 206 cm
Matthew Breen
Jake Spencer
Lachlan Henderson
Reece Phoenix 197cm
Stefan Martin 198cm

Boy from the West
14 Aug 2007, 22:05
What about a bloke who missed last year - Luke Nugent. Went OK at 06 Nationals and then was injured. Could not believe that he missed a rookie berth. Watched the WA v SA game again and he stitched Jacobs up.

He left East Freo and went to Perth. Played some league and went all right. Smashed Breen at Peel in a night game. Been injured but I happened to catch him in the ressies last week. Perth member told me that he is coming back and not fully fit but he had 27 hit outs and 20 possessions and rucked all day against 3 blokes one of whom was Michael Embley. former WCE rookie).

Any thoughts?

The Royal Sampler
14 Aug 2007, 23:41
I remember hearing his name last year, sounds like he's been keeping himself on the radar this year...

Missing Doogs
15 Aug 2007, 00:12
Just interested to hear how people rate Kreuzer against Leunberger (sp?)?

Missing Doogs
17 Aug 2007, 19:39
Just interested to hear how people rate Kreuzer against Leunberger (sp?)?
Anyone?

gussy5
17 Aug 2007, 20:05
what do people think of luke lowden?very tall and skinny at the moment but i reckon will fill out and make a fantastic player.i no he is only 16 but does he have what it takes to make it to the big league?

Quigley
17 Aug 2007, 20:09
I am probably going to be a bit biased here but I rate Leuenberger higher. Both look like good prospects but for me if I wanted a ruckman likely to dominate the competition I would be going with Leuenberger. Kreuzer might have the better endurance of the two and will keep running and presenting all day and although Leuenberger is above average in this capacity too I feel that Kreuzer edges him. Both are very good skill wise and below the knee and not much separates them in this regard.

The big difference for me though is actually likely to be in the ruck. Leuenberger quite simply looks like he is going to dominate in this area given another couple of years to develop. He is extremely clean in his ruck work and is going to make his mids jobs much easier. He is also 203 cms which is a very nice size for a ruck. Kreuzer on the other hand is probably only ever likely to be serviceable in the ruck contest. Certainly not the worst but certainly not amongst the elite. At 199cms he is bottom sized for a modern ruck and he hasn't dominated in the ruck at aged level. At the Champs this year he was only third in hit outs and I thought some of the counts he got were generous. The quality of his tap work is nowhere near that of Leuenberger.

I hope that helps.

Missing Doogs
17 Aug 2007, 20:12
I am probably going to be a bit biased here but I rate Leuenberger higher. Both look like good prospects but for me if I wanted a ruckman likely to dominate the competition I would be going with Leuenberger. Kreuzer might have the better endurance of the two and will keep running and presenting all day and although Leuenberger is above average in this capacity too I feel that Kreuzer edges him. Both are very good skill wise and below the knee and not much separates them in this regard.

The big difference for me though is actually likely to be in the ruck. Leuenberger quite simply looks like he is going to dominate in this area given another couple of years to develop. He is extremely clean in his ruck work and is going to make his mids jobs much easier. He is also 203 cms which is a very nice size for a ruck. Kreuzer on the other hand is probably only ever likely to be serviceable in the ruck contest. Certainly not the worst but certainly not amongst the elite. At 199cms he is bottom sized for a modern ruck and he hasn't dominated in the ruck at aged level. At the Champs this year he was only third in hit outs and I thought some of the counts he got were generous. The quality of his tap work is nowhere near that of Leuenberger.

I hope that helps.
Thanks mate that's a great write up.

I've got a mate who plays for Nothern and says that Kreuzers tapwork is fairly good, but it sounds as though that is not the strongest part of his game.

Perhaps in hindsight, Carlton should've taken Leuenberger last season and picked up a midfielder this year.

S Wrench
18 Aug 2007, 00:38
what do people think of luke lowden?very tall and skinny at the moment but i reckon will fill out and make a fantastic player.i no he is only 16 but does he have what it takes to make it to the big league?

pretty tall but thats about all hes got going for him at the moment, hes only young though i think u16?

The Royal Sampler
14 Oct 2007, 23:34
Have people's thoughts changed at all after Draft Camp? There was so little information coming out on heights and weights...

All I've heard with regard to rucks is that Smouha did really well in the 3km and the Beep test, but he's around the 196cm mark.

Richmond and the Bulldogs having Picks #18 and #19 shapes for some interesting selections, the Bulldogs also having #35 and #43. Bellchambers and Simpson might fall to those two clubs.

Sainters08
15 Oct 2007, 09:21
4 teams are available since their coaches havent been online or posted yet...

- Carlton
- Hawthorn
- Kangaroos
- Western Bulldogs

Join here >> and read the rules on page 1 before starting
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=9203699#post9203699

Artful_Dodger
15 Oct 2007, 13:05
Someone might look at David Fanning (Port Melbourne) played very well all year.

Joseph Fieschi from Oakleigh Chargers should be added to that list 200+cm beanpole might be rookied by someone.

Big kid from Queensland played before Challenge Cup Daniel Webb 200+cm didnt get a run at the champs but showed some promise in the game I saw.

Tallan Ames from Swans Districts might get a go this year after training at AFL clubs in the past.

The Royal Sampler
16 Oct 2007, 14:49
Sainters08, go spam your own thread, clown. :thumbsd:

borderbarry
16 Oct 2007, 17:50
Would anyone like to help me out here with what round you think these ruckmen will go?

Tom Bellchambers 201cm 92kg - 2nd round
Ben McEvoy 200cm 90 kg - 1st round
James Wundke 197cm 84kg - 4th.round. Maybe taken as forward.
Brent Connelly 202cm 84kg - 3rd round
James Mulligan 201cm 87kg - 3rd round
Dean Putt 202cm 88 kg - 5th round
Dawson Simpson 206cm 97 kg -2nd /3rd round
Will Sullivan 202cm 95kg - 2nd/3rd round
Andrew Renton 202cm 94 kg - 4th round
David Hill No idea
Michael Griffiths 206 cm Wont be picked up
Matthew Breen No idea
Jake Spencer No idea
Reece Phoenix 197cm 3rd round of rookie draft
Stefan Martin 198cm 5th round
Joel Smouha 196cm 3rd/4th round

jezza
16 Oct 2007, 18:38
Richmond and the Bulldogs having Picks #18 and #19 shapes for some interesting selections, the Bulldogs also having #35 and #43. Bellchambers and Simpson might fall to those two clubs.

Very unlikely we'll use pick 18 on a ruckman. This year is so deep that there will be plenty available come rookie draft time, and after Kruezer and McEvoy, there doesn't seem to be a whole lot between the rest of them.

Ryder Is God
16 Oct 2007, 19:51
I'd like to see Essendon pick up Dean Putt with a later pick as a project ruckman.

knighters08
16 Oct 2007, 20:08
i wouldnt mind taking dawson simpson, 205 cm would make a world of difference to the team who he plays for.

borderbarry
16 Oct 2007, 20:11
B]Re: Ruck Prospects 2007 NAB Draft[/B]
Would anyone like to help me out here with what round you think these ruckmen will go?

David Hill No idea
Matthew Breen No idea
Jake Spencer No idea
Nobody interested?[

bomberandy
16 Oct 2007, 20:17
I'd like to see Essendon pick up Dean Putt with a later pick as a project ruckman.

I'd rather Reece Phoenix.

ford_dealer
17 Oct 2007, 20:36

David Hill No idea
Matthew Breen No idea
Jake Spencer No idea

Maybe listing them in the order you think they will be drafted

1. Kreuzer
2. McEvoy
3. Tom Bellchambers
4. James Mulligan
5. Will Sullivan
6. Dawson Simpson
7. Andrew Renton
8. James Wundke
9. Brent Connelly
10. Joel Smouha (Not necessarily as a ruck prospect)
11. Dean Putt
12. Stefan Martin

the rest i dont believe will be drafted

sinepari
17 Oct 2007, 20:46
I reckon Dawson Simpson will go earlier than predicted on here.

ford_dealer
17 Oct 2007, 21:16
I reckon Dawson Simpson will go earlier than predicted on here.

I wouldnt have him any earlier than a 4th round pick.

I know there is the arguement that there is an upside to him and all that, but i've seen him play 4 times

once in 2006 - hopeless couldnt mark the ball and was one of the worst players on the ground

three times in 2007 -
1st time - didnt take much notice of him, but it was against the jets and i thought McEvoy > Sullivan > Simpson, both around the ground and in ruck contests

2nd time - Best i'd seen him play, didnt get much of the ball but laid some alright tackles and got the ball off the ground and got it out once or twice in a congested situation. probably had just a good a day as Renton

3rd time - grand final on tv, i thought he did next to nothing

He seems to work hard out on the ground, but just doesnt have a football brain which i think is critical to having when your that tall and immobile

TFLUA-Tiger
18 Oct 2007, 21:45
I reckon Simpson is a second round pick. Probably a late one.

Streaker
19 Oct 2007, 18:56
What about Wes Lammie.

199cm Ruck who tagged Morton out of the game in the Colts Grand Final.

sinepari
19 Oct 2007, 19:05
Is Wes only 199cm Streaker? I had him +200.

His performance in the final won't go un-noticed, especially considering Morton has tremendous endurance. The fact that a ruckman could outplay Morton is a good sign for him and a bad sign for Cale.

I'm hoping he slides and WC rookie-list him. Ideal rookie-list candidate I think.

T-I-G-E-R-M-A-N
19 Oct 2007, 22:57
JOEL BROADHURST!

very under the radar.. magnificent year at narre warren in the 1s only 19 has been training at tigerland and will be picked up in the rookie draft.. just decided to play at a club this year after giving up motorcross bike riding. 207 cms and 111 kgs could not believe anyone has mentioned him

Vic Crow
19 Oct 2007, 23:27
JOEL BROADHURST!

very under the radar.. magnificent year at narre warren in the 1s only 19 has been training at tigerland and will be picked up in the rookie draft.. just decided to play at a club this year after giving up motorcross bike riding. 207 cms and 111 kgs could not believe anyone has mentioned him
Can't blame us for having never heard of someone who is very under the radar as you say! 207cm and 111kg. :eek:

Can he kick a footy?

Sherminator.
19 Oct 2007, 23:58
Hopefulyl Brisbane take Simpson as a project ruck.

Sherminator.
19 Oct 2007, 23:58
JOEL BROADHURST!

Get him and name him Hercules, gigantic boy.

motorvinnie
20 Oct 2007, 13:52
Can't blame us for having never heard of someone who is very under the radar as you say! 207cm and 111kg. :eek:

Can he kick a footy?

joel broadhurst is a man mountain! a gun footballer played seniors for narre warren this year smashed everyone that came up against him first year of football will put on more weight as well the big fella will keep bulking up. joel played a few games late in the narre warren reserves probably trying to keep him under wraps and it has certainly worked! fantastic kick and grab as well has to work on his stamina a bt but that will come:thumbsu:

its game on
20 Oct 2007, 15:28
JOEL BROADHURST!

Mate that's one serious motorcross bike:D

GrimeyStain
22 Oct 2007, 13:31
Is Wes only 199cm Streaker? I had him +200.

His performance in the final won't go un-noticed, especially considering Morton has tremendous endurance. The fact that a ruckman could outplay Morton is a good sign for him and a bad sign for Cale.

I'm hoping he slides and WC rookie-list him. Ideal rookie-list candidate I think.

The last time he was measured he came in at 201cm

HavUEvaSeenTheRain
22 Oct 2007, 14:09
Mate that's one serious motorcross bike:D

Haha that's what i was thinking. The riders are usually 5'8 and about 70kg

Streaker
23 Oct 2007, 18:52
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22631607%255E20322,00.html

After six months of secret training sessions, Sydney has activated a little-known and rarely used clause to sign a skyscraping Brisbane teenager who has never played for a registered Aussie rules club.

Jake Orreal, 18, who stands 205cm, has landed a two-year rookie list contract with the Swans, despite playing just three games of Aussie rules.

flyin'high
24 Oct 2007, 20:11
ive seen joel broadhurst play,he fell on guy nd broke the guys arm
he is a good player nd got some good skills for a bigman

motorvinnie
24 Oct 2007, 20:16
ive seen joel broadhurst play,he fell on guy nd broke the guys arm
he is a good player nd got some good skills for a bigman

yeh he is flyin high rela mobile and hapy to have him at tigerland! if he gets the gig in the pre-season/.rookie draft

sinepari
24 Oct 2007, 20:29
Not another one?

Flyin'high and Motorvinnie do tend to quote each other a fair bit...often only 5 mins apart.

:D

bigbunyip14
28 Oct 2007, 00:27

Dont forget, that these stats were taken at the start of the year, an put into the TAC team lists then. So Most of the boys would have grown, an gotten heavier, an maybe taller.

TheBigUnit
28 Oct 2007, 01:33
How good is McEvoy's and Bellchambers' tapwork?

From what I've read, Bellchamber's is a good tap ruckman, but is lacking in his ability as an onballer, while McEvoy is more noted for his work as an onballer/forward (particularly marking skills) than his ruckwork (no-one really seems to make much mention of it). Is this correct? Is McEvoy's tapwork an issue that may not see him reach his full potential as a ruckman and have him end up as a KPP, or is he a solid tap ruckman without being outstanding?

bigbunyip14
28 Oct 2007, 01:51
How good is McEvoy's and Bellchambers' tapwork?

From what I've read, Bellchamber's is a good tap ruckman, but is lacking in his ability as an onballer, while McEvoy is more noted for his work as an onballer/forward (particularly marking skills) than his ruckwork (no-one really seems to make much mention of it). Is this correct? Is McEvoy's tapwork an issue that may not see him reach his full potential as a ruckman and have him end up as a KPP, or is he a solid tap ruckman without being outstanding?

I would have mcevoy as a KPP, as he is much better at that, than the ruckwork. but he excels in both clearly. bellchambers is a very good tap ruckman, but lacks the intensity around the ground, and doesnt have as much affect on the game at ground ball. unlike mcevoy, or kreuzer...

The Royal Sampler
28 Oct 2007, 09:43
Dont forget, that these stats were taken at the start of the year, an put into the TAC team lists then. So Most of the boys would have grown, an gotten heavier, an maybe taller.
Stupid AFL and their stupid lack of stupid statistics from stupid Draft Camp! :mad: