View Full Version : Ryan O'Keefe
Tarkyn_24
8 Jun 2007, 13:17
Just interested in what you would give up for him???
Personally, I'd give Lonie and Medhurst.
he is an AA half forward with a huge motor and has been key to Sydney's success, if you were even going to make a play for him you'd have to do a lot better then medhurst and lonie
Tarkyn_24
8 Jun 2007, 13:24
he is an AA half forward with a huge motor and has been key to Sydney's success, if you were even going to make a play for him you'd have to do a lot better then medhurst and lonie
yeah. you're right.
I think he untouchable though Roos wouldnt let some one like him just walk out, Dont think O'Keefe would even want too.
Tarkyn_24
8 Jun 2007, 13:30
I think he untouchable though Roos wouldnt let some one like him just walk out, Dont think O'Keefe would even want too.
Yeah. You're right.
And I'd like to donate to your presti goal cause.
boom crash opera
8 Jun 2007, 13:43
O'Keefe would cost too much than we would be willing to give.
Interesting one-chris judd next year, what if eagles said we will give you judd for pendlebury, didak and heath shaw?
Tarkyn_24
8 Jun 2007, 13:44
O'Keefe would cost too much than we would be willing to give.
Interesting one-chris judd next year, what if eagles said we will give you judd for pendlebury, didak and heath shaw?
no f****** way.
boom crash opera
8 Jun 2007, 13:46
no f****** way.
take out heath shaw?
stifler's mom
8 Jun 2007, 13:52
take out heath shaw?
Take out one more of them, throw in 1st 2 draft picks or similar and it would be ball park.
I wouldn't want to trade any of ours for any of theirs right now. I think all of ours are just fine and better than any of theirs - Judd, Brown and O'Keefe included.
boom crash opera
8 Jun 2007, 13:54
Take out one more of them, throw in 1st 2 draft picks or similar and it would be ball park.
didak and pendlebury for best player in comp. Fair deal i reckon although doubt west coast would take it
Spot on its either this or wat was mentioned before with three of your best rising stars leaving. The price for getting judd is far too high and i beleive would actually stall a clubs improvement and progression of success because of wat ud have to give up to get him. Its not worth it.
boom crash opera
8 Jun 2007, 14:07
Spot on its either this or wat was mentioned before with three of your best rising stars leaving. The price for getting judd is far too high and i beleive would actually stall a clubs improvement and progression of success because of wat ud have to give up to get him. Its not worth it.
i disagree. Judd going into any side would pay massive dividends and immediate improvement. Stupid to say that a player of judds calibre would halt improvement
BroadhurstMonk
8 Jun 2007, 14:49
didak and pendlebury for best player in comp. Fair deal i reckon although doubt west coast would take it
REDICULOUS! Pendles is going no where - in 2 years time people will be talking about what they would give to get him on there list and the answer is nothing!!!! Guys like this do not come along often! He is very SPECIAL!
BIG G PIEMAN
8 Jun 2007, 14:49
We would be stark raving idiots to give up Pendle for ANYONE. He is a gem.
i disagree. Judd going into any side would pay massive dividends and immediate improvement. Stupid to say that a player of judds calibre would halt improvement
I didnt say his personal football capabilites would halt progress. I said that if you gave up 3 of your best young players to get him i feel it would. Or two quality plaers and two first round draft picks would too. Im not saying it would make the team go backwards but i do believe it would halt or slow down the progression of success.
Did's Dodgy Knee
8 Jun 2007, 15:10
Pendles is untouchable in MANY ways..
If he does well in the Rising Star this year, it puts him on everyone's map as a future Brownlow Medallist. Mind you he's already on my map...
Timmy from Thomastown
8 Jun 2007, 15:36
O'Keefe's untouchable. We'd have to give up Didak for him, and even then its a breakeven trade, and I would not give up Dids in a fit.
daics cousin
8 Jun 2007, 16:04
Here we go again.F.....k forget Chris Judd,don't need ,nor want him.
Guys wake up we have the makinigs of a premiership team,we don't want the likes of someone like Chris Judd to upset the balance of our side.
Why try and say yeah trade pendlebury who is 20 for some one in their prime.Pendlebury will be a chris judd in a year or two anyway.
It's simple if judd wanted to come to the pies no trade of players just money cause we can afford it and that's it.
Imagine if you gave away the farm for that turkey and he injured his knee.
Too much of a risk for ONE player.
Juddy stay with the weagles.
I couldn't even give up Didak or Heath yet alone Pendles :(
Totally agree with daics cousin; we have the makings of a premiership team already.
bucksisbest
8 Jun 2007, 18:04
He's very good , but he wouldn't be the difference for us , at all.
We could have had him for the Nick Davis trade , but Balme knocked back and mocked the offer.
The Royal Sampler
8 Jun 2007, 18:09
The price to get Judd would **** up our list. O'Keefe would also probably be too expensive.
vinnie_vegas69
8 Jun 2007, 18:16
We could have had him for the Nick Davis trade , but Balme knocked back and mocked the offer.
But I'm happy with Bo Nixon... Oh wait...
Trade Didak! Are you kidding me why would we want to do that. This is a guy who if he continues the way he is going will be one of our greats. Lets get real we aren't going to get Judd money alone wont do it. The eagles are going to want heaps for him and the way we are going we aren't going to be down the bottom for a while. Love to have him but it isn't going to happen. Put faith in the kids and if we can pinch a good player in a trade all well and good.
Tarkyn_24
8 Jun 2007, 19:15
take out heath shaw?
take out pendlebury
Why do we want O'Keefe? We have a pretty good list of small forwards.
Judd is a difficult proposition. You'd have to weigh up the costs of the players forgone, as well as the increased salary cap, against the benefits of him playing. Personally I think one player doesn't make much of a difference even as good as Judd. If we throw away two of Didak, Shaw, Pendlebury, Thomas and maybe a high draft pick for Judd we may be heading back towards the days where Buckley carried the team in mid to late 90s after the likes of O'Bree, Licuria, Burns, Rocca, Clement, Presti, Lockyer, Holland, Buckley are winidng up/gone.
Tarkyn_24
8 Jun 2007, 19:34
Why do we want O'Keefe? We have a pretty good list of small forwards. Judd is a difficult proposition. You'd have to weigh up the costs of the players forgone, as well as the increased salary cap, against the benefits of him playing. Personally I think one player doesn't make much of a difference. If we throw away two of Didak, Shaw, Pendlebury, Thomas and maybe a high draft pick for Judd we may be heading back towards the days where Buckley carried the team in mid to late 90s after the likes of O'Bree, Licuria, Burns are gone.
Lockyer = Crosisca???
But I'm happy with Bo Nixon... Oh wait...
We could of had O'Keefe but instead got Nixon. Oh man Neil what have you done to us, really what were you thinking. Im happy he is at Geelong now.
Tarkyn_24
8 Jun 2007, 19:38
We could of had O'Keefe but instead got Nixon. Oh man Neil what have you done to us, really what were you thinking. Im happy he is at Geelong now.
Did Nixon get redrafted???:o
O'Keefe was nothing back then, it probably was a 50/50 call whether to get the draft pick or O'Keefe.
Tarkyn_24
8 Jun 2007, 19:40
O'Keefe was nothing back then, it probably was a 50/50 call whether to get the draft pick or O'Keefe.
yeah point taken
The real mistake was actually drafting Bowman Nixon (yes that's his full first name). A utility type in the TAC Cup who actually played alot of CHF, didn't have any qualities whatsoever to excel in any one position.
Tarkyn_24
8 Jun 2007, 19:48
The real mistake was actually drafting Bowman Nixon (yes that's his full first name). A utility type in the TAC Cup who actually played alot of CHF, didn't have any qualities whatsoever to excel in any one position.
sam ilesesque in my opinion
Did Nixon get redrafted???:o
No went to Hawthron got another star in Morrison and 2 stops lower in the draft that became Egan.
Tarkyn_24
8 Jun 2007, 19:48
No went to Hawthron got another star in Morrison and 2 stops lower in the draft that became Egan.
serious...:o
LMAO easily the dumbest thing said by a person who was actually being serious EVER.
serious...:o
Yep sadly we just arnt good traders. Kinda like Gill from the simpsons when he worked as the doorbell salesman or when he worked as at the car dealership.
Tarkyn_24
8 Jun 2007, 19:52
Yep sadly we just arnt good traders. Kinda like Gill from the simpsons when he worked as the doorbell salesman or when he worked as at the car dealership.
don't go too far... there'll always be a bunch of freo fockers
Tarkyn_24
8 Jun 2007, 19:52
LMAO easily the dumbest thing said by a person who was actually being serious EVER.
your an idiot.
i never said they'd agree to it, did I?
sam ilesesque in my opinion
What? You've got to be joking. We took Iles over who? Camporeale? I'd rather take a chance on a kid effectively taken pick 70+ over Campo.
your an idiot.
i never said they'd agree to it, did I?
so the most you'd give up for a gun like ROK is a complete dud and a below average player?
Lockyer24
8 Jun 2007, 20:06
I like O'Keefe, but he is over-rated by the general public in my books.
Tarkyn_24
8 Jun 2007, 21:15
so the most you'd give up for a gun like ROK is a complete dud and a below average player?
he's 27. future more important than present for us atm, as we have a very talented squad of youngsters
I like O'Keefe, but he is over-rated by the general public in my books.
good one. probably one of the most under-rated.
Thommo 42
8 Jun 2007, 22:57
O'Keefe would cost alot more than Medhurst and Lonie.
He's a sensational gut busting half forward - we're talking a draft pick + Presti + Thomas
And I don't think I'd give that up for O'Keefe. Certainly wouuld for Judd though, throw in Rusling as well, as the Weagles would want a potential key forward.
GASTEV GOES BANG
8 Jun 2007, 23:20
we don't need o'keefe i have complete faith in our recruiting staff to keep racking up stars like thomas and pendles. i feel it would be a step in the wrong direction.
Tarkyn_24
8 Jun 2007, 23:21
he WAS underrated, now he's about level with where he deserves.
Ryan O'Keefe is a good player but we definately dont need that type of player at the moment. (Davis, Didak and Medhurst basically all do the same thing)
we dont ****en need judd. we have a great team that can win without clement and buckley. i think we should let this mob build up until we go for a big signing
Nickelass
9 Jun 2007, 11:43
O'Keefe would be the last type of player we'd look at. I rate him highly but we're not in desperate need of a half forward flanker Now getting a Dean Cox is a different story. That would be the icing on the cake of a future side that has all key positions covered with potential stars.
Thommo 42
9 Jun 2007, 12:04
of course we don't need Judd - but he'd be a handy inclusion in any side, surely?
we don't need o'keefe i have complete faith in our recruiting staff to keep racking up stars like thomas and pendles. i feel it would be a step in the wrong direction.
I agree when you have an even team its harder to cover everyone.Look what happens when the relience is on one person ( ie buckley 4-5 years ago).I love the fact that every week theres a different best players,that means when 1 or 2 players are down other take up the slack.Spending 600,000-1,000,000 per year on one bloke is unhealthy for the team.Pick up players from other teams ( interstate ) and bring them home and let them slot in quietly,no fuss.Here are a few players from other teams that might improve the club without the fuss of a JUDD.
ADELAIDE J.Meeson 200-97-21
C.Knights 185-84-21
R.Douglas 180-70-20
B.Rielly 183-85-24
BRISBANE T.Selwood 187-83-23
M.Rischitelli 184-82-21
FREMANTLE R.Dunn 182-86-22
R.Crowley 189-94-23
D.Mundy 192-90-22
R.Murphy 192-95-22
P.ADEL S.Salopek 184-84-22
T.Boak 183-79-18
R.Williams 188-90-18
A.Carlile 192-94-20
T.Chaplin 196-95-21
SYDNEY N.Malceski 190-83-23
S.Dempster 192-87-23
L.Vogals 194-92-24
WC.EAGLES N.Brown 194-92-18
M.Rosa 189-80-21
B.Mckinley 184-86-20
A.Hansen 198-95-24
M.Spangher 193-90-21
T.Selwood 189-82-23
That is not to say that these clubs will let them go or they want to go either.they are all victorian and 24 and under.The more players on the list that play senior footy the more pressure put on the players playing senior footy.
Lockyer24
9 Jun 2007, 14:28
Righto, hes a forward flanker who has kicked a paltry 5 goals for the year. Averages 19.5 possesions which is okay but nothing special. Not a bad mark but he is deceptively tall. Over-rated and no definite shoe in for All Australian as people seem to think. Swans aren't much chop overall
Paul Chapman as an example eats him for breakfast
take out heath shaw?
Why Trade Heath shaw??
Bonuspoints
9 Jun 2007, 15:56
If we are going to trade for anything it should be a ruckman to back up Fraser. Ideally it would be a young ruckman that could take over the number one ruck spot down the track. Can't see us going after O'Keefe other than to sound him out to see if we could get him cheaply, which is not going to happen.
The Royal Sampler
9 Jun 2007, 16:32
I agree when you have an even team its harder to cover everyone.Look what happens when the relience is on one person ( ie buckley 4-5 years ago).I love the fact that every week theres a different best players,that means when 1 or 2 players are down other take up the slack.Spending 600,000-1,000,000 per year on one bloke is unhealthy for the team.Pick up players from other teams ( interstate ) and bring them home and let them slot in quietly,no fuss.Here are a few players from other teams that might improve the club without the fuss of a JUDD.
C.Knights 185-84-21
R.Douglas 180-70-20
B.Rielly 183-85-24
M.Rischitelli 184-82-21
R.Crowley 189-94-23
D.Mundy 192-90-22
R.Murphy 192-95-22
T.Boak 183-79-18
R.Williams 188-90-18
A.Carlile 192-94-20
T.Chaplin 196-95-21
S.Dempster 192-87-23
L.Vogals 194-92-24
M.Rosa 189-80-21
B.Mckinley 184-86-20
A.Hansen 198-95-24
M.Spangher 193-90-21
T.Selwood 189-82-23
That is not to say that these clubs will let them go or they want to go either.they are all victorian and 24 and under.The more players on the list that play senior footy the more pressure put on the players playing senior footy.
Hard to know with Meesen, yes he was a top 10 draft pick, but he's yet to play a game. If you could get him cheap, then certainly.
Matt Rosa would be fantastic, but then again the Pies already knew this when they asked for him as part of the Tarrant deal and we got turned down. :(
The Royal Sampler
9 Jun 2007, 16:47
O'Keefe would be the last type of player we'd look at. I rate him highly but we're not in desperate need of a half forward flanker Now getting a Dean Cox is a different story. That would be the icing on the cake of a future side that has all key positions covered with potential stars.
Sweet Jesus have you ever changed your tune in two days. :p
Tarkyn_24
9 Jun 2007, 22:30
C.Knights 185-84-21
R.Douglas 180-70-20
B.Rielly 183-85-24
M.Rischitelli 184-82-21
R.Crowley 189-94-23
D.Mundy 192-90-22
R.Murphy 192-95-22
T.Boak 183-79-18
R.Williams 188-90-18
A.Carlile 192-94-20
T.Chaplin 196-95-21
S.Dempster 192-87-23
L.Vogals 194-92-24
M.Rosa 189-80-21
B.Mckinley 184-86-20
A.Hansen 198-95-24
M.Spangher 193-90-21
T.Selwood 189-82-23
Only like Dempster, Malceski, M Brown, Rosa, Selwood and Bak from that list.
BTW, Jamie McNamara, a West Coast rookie, is an absolute ****ing gun
O'Keefe would cost alot more than Medhurst and Lonie.
He's a sensational gut busting half forward - we're talking a draft pick + Presti + Thomas
Hey Guys not coming in here to troll but I noticed this was about one of our own and one of the hardest working players going around. To the above poster try Pendles and Thomas... and I know what you’re going to say about that trade, which is how we know O'Keefe wont be moving.
By the way you guys are clearly heading in the right direction and come finals time I think you will demonstrate yourselves to be the best Victorian side.
Thommo 42
9 Jun 2007, 23:12
Mate,
I don't think there is a player in the league we'd give BOTH Thomas and Pendles + draft pick for, and that includes Judd.
However I agree O'Keefe is a gun, his best work doesn't always get on the stats sheet either.
IMO, we dont need O'Keefe, why run the risk of giving up a gem?
Pendles is my number 1 untouchable, i wouldnt consider him any day of the week for any player in the AFL.
IMO, its not worth giving up one of our best young talents for a bloke like Judd... its just not worth it and goes against MM youth policy
Tarkyn_24
11 Jun 2007, 11:41
Hey Guys not coming in here to troll but I noticed this was about one of our own and one of the hardest working players going around. To the above poster try Pendles and Thomas... and I know what you’re going to say about that trade, which is how we know O'Keefe wont be moving.
By the way you guys are clearly heading in the right direction and come finals time I think you will demonstrate yourselves to be the best Victorian side.
Adding in a little sweetner, softening our hearts?;)