View Full Version : Open coaching positions

Pages : 1 [2] 3

The Toecutter
19 Jul 2007, 18:24
You sound like you know something Toey. Care to expand on that ?Just one of my very close reliable sources who has their ear to the ground. Howlong doubtful but coaching definately:thumbsu:

The Toecutter
19 Jul 2007, 18:29
hey toey here's one for you kade butters signed to coach the saints again...rumor has it they are looking at the upper murray to recuirt....tallangatta mach 2.....I hope its not Scuba McCabe going back there. He's already had a crack at the Saints and struggled. Maybe they need to get old Stephen Lord back at the club:D Seriously though the Toecutter will put the feelers out and find out who they are targeting:cool:

Benched
20 Jul 2007, 19:58
The good word is he will just play at the Spiders MTAG. They reckon are going to leave Howlong after this season.

Would Myles be on the radar for clubs in the TDFL looking for a coach now Ross has given coaching away?

Gurnerd Fanning
26 Jul 2007, 13:17
Given that AFL Coaches are quitting and getting sacked faster than Mitta girls lose their virginity to their brothers.
Are there any clubs in our league looking to follow suit?
Are there any whispers of coaches in other Leagues getting the flick?
Who are the most likely candidates for any positions comming up if any?
How many Hodgkins are married to Hodgkins?

localjedi
1 Aug 2007, 16:10
Apparently Bone is heading north before next year so KSC will be looking for a new coach - is anyone the heir apparent?

Also, I've heard that Paul Knight had his knee op last week and that Dickins will be coaching the swans this week against the saints - is this a sign of things to come next year?? Will Dickins take over Chiltern?

The Toecutter
1 Aug 2007, 20:21
Apparently Bone is heading north before next year so KSC will be looking for a new coach - is anyone the heir apparent?

Also, I've heard that Paul Knight had his knee op last week and that Dickins will be coaching the swans this week against the saints - is this a sign of things to come next year?? Will Dickins take over Chiltern?Dicko might do the job on Saturday but real estate is more likely to be his forte next year as he winds down his playing career:thumbsu:

reggieray
3 Aug 2007, 10:43
have heard a few rumblings about a club looking for coaches from the upper murray..1 or 2 have already be asked!!!! why would you look for coaches from up there look at tallangatta...i think clubs should look and learn...

The Toecutter
5 Aug 2007, 00:47
have heard a few rumblings about a club looking for coaches from the upper murray..1 or 2 have already be asked!!!! why would you look for coaches from up there look at tallangatta...i think clubs should look and learn...Name names Reggie or are you shit stirring:confused:

Run Straight
6 Aug 2007, 11:07
Rutherglen have advertised their coaching job on the VCFL website. See www.vcfl.com.au (http://www.vcfl.com.au) if you would like to apply !!??

reggieray
6 Aug 2007, 16:28
Name names Reggie or are you shit stirring:confused:

after watching saints on the weekend and butters maybe doing a knee they might be on the look out for coach or at least a top player....all i can say is that are talking to players from a team with white in there jumper!!!!!

Little Ralphie
8 Aug 2007, 20:29
Rumour has it Packer not going around at Mitta next year. Damian Slater (Current 2's coach Wodonga) to coach next year with Keith Ainsworth as his assistant. Cohen to captain. All three are very good mates

rowger
8 Aug 2007, 21:50
Rumour has it Packer not going around at Mitta next year. Damian Slater (Current 2's coach Wodonga) to coach next year with Keith Ainsworth as his assistant. Cohen to captain. All three are very good mates
Conway will neck himself if thats the case! He has pinned all hopes and dreams on getting that job. I was told that Conway was promised that job in 2008 if he went there as a player in 2007.

Run Straight
9 Aug 2007, 09:00
Conway will neck himself if thats the case! He has pinned all hopes and dreams on getting that job. I was told that Conway was promised that job in 2008 if he went there as a player in 2007.

That makes a lot of sense Rowger. He is very keen to coach.

Albert Park
9 Aug 2007, 14:41
Paul Knight has told Chiltern he will not be coaching next year. Did Dickins end up coaching them on Saturday & how did he go ?

The fat side
9 Aug 2007, 15:28
Word on the street is Yack have singed new coach for next year. So anyone know who it may be? MTAG you must know something with your connection the the place?

NICE_1
9 Aug 2007, 16:49
Word on the street is Yack have singed new coach for next year. So anyone know who it may be? MTAG you must know something with your connection the the place?

I was told that the person who is coaching them next year will be getting a sh*t load of $$$$ and he will bring alot of players to the club. Does anyone no who it is???????

Bring back the 80's
9 Aug 2007, 16:56
I was told that the person who is coaching them next year will be getting a sh*t load of $$$$ and he will bring alot of players to the club. Does anyone no who it is???????

I won't name names because i am not sure if they have signed, but there were three mates watching the game on sat who are keen. They got there early to check out the thirds to see the depth of the club and have another couple of team mates who will join them. They even had their manager with them.:rolleyes:

Albert Park
9 Aug 2007, 17:05
I won't name names because i am not sure if they have signed, but there were three mates watching the game on sat who are keen. They got there early to check out the thirds to see the depth of the club and have another couple of team mates who will join them. They even had their manager with them.:rolleyes:

Come On - this thread is dying. It needs a bit of life. At least tell us which club they're from !

Wilfred
9 Aug 2007, 18:11
You's were nearly spot on until you mentioned the fact that they're on a truckload of $$$$$, dunno where you got that one from. The name of the player and he's crew won't be named until their signing after the season. Watch this space........

switch the play
9 Aug 2007, 18:12
Come On - this thread is dying. It needs a bit of life. At least tell us which club they're from !
They made need to bring some players with them as departures will include the likes of Jaz Hillary;Liam Clayton and Dan Powell.Couldnt imagine Az Purcell remaining there if Ross doesnt coach and Josh at Albury where Jaz is most likely to head(relations for the illinformed)

rowger
9 Aug 2007, 18:20
They made need to bring some players with them as departures will include the likes of Jaz Hillary;Liam Clayton and Dan Powell.Couldnt imagine Az Purcell remaining there if Ross doesnt coach and Josh at Albury where Jaz is most likely to head(relations for the illinformed)
Liam Clayton and Dan Powell have already signed for next year (at yack). You are right Jazz Hillary will more than likely move on with work taking him out of the region, not to Albury Footy Club. Hopefully for the yack boys Purcell may stay, they love him out there and his son plays out the too(Juniors). I think his partner plays netball out there aswell. I have heard he may retire.

Benched
9 Aug 2007, 19:55
Liam Clayton and Dan Powell have already signed for next year (at yack). You are right Jazz Hillary will more than likely move on with work taking him out of the region, not to Albury Footy Club. Hopefully for the yack boys Purcell may stay, they love him out there and his son plays out the too(Juniors). I think his partner plays netball out there aswell. I have heard he may retire.

Would Yacks coach be Lillis from Raiders ?

Pretty strong rumours circulating about this for some time now.

switch the play
9 Aug 2007, 21:46
Coming from there own mouths they were not sure what they were doing next year(Clayton and Powell) and a Hume league club rebuilding are very confident of regaining some old players and i would imagine the former would be high on their list.I think anyone would love to have Purcell at their club as he is clearly the most talented player in the league.Will be an interesting time as it always is.

Kick it to me
9 Aug 2007, 22:40
Coming from there own mouths they were not sure what they were doing next year(Clayton and Powell) and a Hume league club rebuilding are very confident of regaining some old players and i would imagine the former would be high on their list.I think anyone would love to have Purcell at their club as he is clearly the most talented player in the league.Will be an interesting time as it always is.

Not disputing Purcell is a very talented man, but is he the most talented in the league???

Clayton and Powell are obviously great mates, if Clayton returned to Holbrook would his mate follow and play against his former side?

More Than a Game
9 Aug 2007, 22:48

from their OWN mouths hey??? i just spoke to both of them at the Bottom Pub at Yack, and in between mouthfuls both said they will be wearing the Royal Blue and White at Yack next year! Powelly is in love with a local gal and it is in his bests interests to remain at Roo Park.
i can tell you there has been some interest shown in a number of prospective coaches, but Yack have always had the utmost respect for all clubs involved that they do not seal any deal or sign anyone 100% until the footy season is over for all concerned.
As for Aaron, Jerilderie moving to PDFL has put that out of the question, his own words. you heard it here, if Aaron plays anywhere next year, it will be at Yack. Ross, relations and all that aside, he wants to play in a successful side again before he gives it up. he is 29 soon and has played over 300 senior games, so he is not too far off. his partner doesn't play Netball but loves the family atmosphere at YFC and their young bloke is a gun junior footballer. Jazz will more than likely move interstate if he gets the right teaching job, and Nutter is going overseas anyway. he may have a decision to make though, as he booked his flights to leave OZ on 15th September??
bring on the silly season!!

NICE_1
10 Aug 2007, 09:36
Would Yacks coach be Lillis from Raiders ?

Pretty strong rumours circulating about this for some time now.

Brent lillis was out there on the weekend watching . is their any chance one of the other guys is rod winner ????

NICE_1
10 Aug 2007, 11:11
but Yack have always had the utmost respect for all clubs involved that they do not seal any deal or sign anyone 100% until the footy season is over for all concerned.

MTAG that is bull sh*t , they did it last year with raiders when they tried to poach trent storey halfway through the year.

More Than a Game
10 Aug 2007, 12:04
but Yack have always had the utmost respect for all clubs involved that they do not seal any deal or sign anyone 100% until the footy season is over for all concerned.

MTAG that is bull sh*t , they did it last year with raiders when they tried to poach trent storey halfway through the year.

how dare you doubt my integrity! half way through the year is generally prior to 30th June you half wit! Trent was recommended to Yack as a "possible" clearance cut-off recruit. i am sure most district clubs would be doing that every year prior to 30th June when teams like Raiders have been in the positions they have been in. that is, not winning games, well down the ladder, and possible disgruntled players may be enticed to leave.

The fat side
10 Aug 2007, 12:46
[quote=More Than a Game;8360148]
i can tell you there has been some interest shown in a number of prospective coaches, but Yack have always had the utmost respect for all clubs involved that they do not seal any deal or sign anyone 100% until the footy season is over for all concerned.

Sound likes the deal is done MTAG, just waiting for their season to finish. Not sure if thats the way to go as reads like some know who it is already. Maybe come out like the rugby league do and sign anytime.

rowger
10 Aug 2007, 13:25

Sound likes the deal is done MTAG, just waiting for their season to finish. Not sure if thats the way to go as reads like some know who it is already. Maybe come out like the rugby league do and sign anytime.
I dont think yack are doing anything that any other club would not be doing right now. For example, Damien Slater (Wodonga 2's coach) has had strong talks with Tallangatta and Mitta. If clubs were not doing this now they would not be doing there jobs properly!

More Than a Game
10 Aug 2007, 18:52

Can't you read TFS!!!! christ, i said, Yack have not signed and will not sign anyone until that person/s have finished their season, UNLESS that person/s want to. By stating person/s i mean Senior and Reserves coaches and Assistants etc. Although it does look like Marcus Dowling will coach the Reserves again if he wants.
don't worry though, you will be the first to know when i find out! (which is usually last anyway)
Yack got the bye this week, so dont assume if you see players at other grounds that they have signed there for next year. they have all been told to go out and scout for next year!

The fat side
10 Aug 2007, 20:40
[quote=The fat side;8363377]

Can't you read TFS!!!! christ, i said, Yack have not signed and will not sign anyone until that person/s have finished their season, UNLESS that person/s want to. By stating person/s i mean Senior and Reserves coaches and Assistants etc. Although it does look like Marcus Dowling will coach the Reserves again if he wants.
don't worry though, you will be the first to know when i find out! (which is usually last anyway)
Yack got the bye this week, so dont assume if you see players at other grounds that they have signed there for next year. they have all been told to go out and scout for next year!

Whoa up big fella - yes i can read otherwise i wouldnt have replied to your post the first time. Understand what your saying & respect that. Sounds like what all clubs would do - sign em if they want or wait till they ready, i just was saying sounds like you have a coach agreed for next season, just need to dot the i's and cross t's when everyone is ready.

More Than a Game
12 Aug 2007, 11:11
[quote=More Than a Game;8367401]

Whoa up big fella - yes i can read otherwise i wouldnt have replied to your post the first time. Understand what your saying & respect that. Sounds like what all clubs would do - sign em if they want or wait till they ready, i just was saying sounds like you have a coach agreed for next season, just need to dot the i's and cross t's when everyone is ready.

no problem then TFS! (by the way, im not real big either!)

The fat side
12 Aug 2007, 20:26
[quote=The fat side;8368344]

no problem then TFS! (by the way, im not real big either!)

Cheers MTAG, will find out in time & will be interesting to see who coaches where etc. (that makes 2 of us not that big)

Albert Park
13 Aug 2007, 14:49
Summary:
Kiewa: Bone staying or handover to Richo.
Thurgoona: Wightman re-appointed.
Mitta: Probably avail front runner Slater.
Barny: More than likely Hollard again.
Chiltern: Available, maybe Dickins.
Dederang: Dicketts probably again.
Yack: Available, Lillis allegedly appointed.
Beechworth: Would think Romeril again.
Saints: Have heard nothing but would think Butters again.
Tallangatta: Available, no rumours yet.
Rutherglen: Available, advertising now.

More Than a Game
13 Aug 2007, 15:28
Summary:

correction, no-one appointed at Yack, just spoke to David Meehan (Pres) and speaking to another candidate this week. could be Sheedy??
Conway coaching mitta, has already started ringing blokes for next year.
Hollard has expressed interest in coaching again, but not playing. apparently not want barny want to hear, so maybe looking for new coach. Big al?????

Jonathon Brown
16 Aug 2007, 12:33
correction, no-one appointed at Yack, just spoke to David Meehan (Pres) and speaking to another candidate this week. could be Sheedy??
Conway coaching mitta, has already started ringing blokes for next year.
Hollard has expressed interest in coaching again, but not playing. apparently not want barny want to hear, so maybe looking for new coach. Big al?????
Have it on good authority that Hollard will not coach Barny next year.

More Than a Game
20 Aug 2007, 15:46
Summary:

any news on the Hoppers and The Pussies yet??
heard that Dale Smith was going to do the jobat Rutherglen but Parkers Pies weren't prepared to keep up with his appetite.
have heard Chiltern will have a big go at the other Storey brother from Raiders.
Yack speaking to Neale Daniher on Wednesday night.

Gurnerd Fanning
26 Aug 2007, 12:06
Any truth about Slater from Mitta in talks with Tallangatta? I assume it will be for the Coaches position.
If memory serves me well, I thought he was to take over from Packer next year but it looks like Conway must have it in the bag.
Also heard that Conway has already started to make some calls to see who is interested in going over the Gap in 2008.

The fat side
27 Aug 2007, 17:16
Any truth about Slater from Mitta in talks with Tallangatta? I assume it will be for the Coaches position.
If memory serves me well, I thought he was to take over from Packer next year but it looks like Conway must have it in the bag.
Also heard that Conway has already started to make some calls to see who is interested in going over the Gap in 2008.

My news out of the hoppers is that they are chasing someone from Echuca. Slater a certanity for Mitta by all accounts.

Gurnerd Fanning
6 Sep 2007, 10:50
Tere in the GF but there are rumblings coming from Kiewa this week regarding the coaching position for next year.
Bone has told the club that if they win the GF he will do another year but the job has been offered to Richo.

Apparently the two are not happy with each other and hardly talking, not what you would want leading into a GF.

the tron burger
6 Sep 2007, 12:51
any news on the Hoppers and The Pussies yet??
heard that Dale Smith was going to do the jobat Rutherglen but Parkers Pies weren't prepared to keep up with his appetite.
have heard Chiltern will have a big go at the other Storey brother from Raiders.
Yack speaking to Neale Daniher on Wednesday night.
Conway not coaching mitta but doing alot of ringing around to help recruiting wise thats 100% :thumbsu: Rod winner front runner to coach yack taking mark doolan , adam hanson , And a few from howlong apparently thats a strong rumour how acurate not sure there is a strong raiders connection there discussions are down the track :thumbsu:

More Than a Game
6 Sep 2007, 13:27
Conway not coaching mitta but doing alot of ringing around to help recruiting wise thats 100% :thumbsu: Rod winner front runner to coach yack taking mark doolan , adam hanson , And a few from howlong apparently thats a strong rumour how acurate not sure there is a strong raiders connection there discussions are down the track :thumbsu:

Tron Burger, sorry mate, you have been misinformed.
Moose was spoken to about the illustrious position of Coaching the Mighty Roos in 08 but sighted work and family commitments his reason for not wanting the job. Be sure to look out for him in the #6 jumper at Roo Park though! you will also see him running behind a pram every saturday morning as he recovers from knee surgery. (of course his child is in the pram)
if you want more info on Moose, ring his Manager, Mr Chris Artis (affectionately known as The Bull)

heard rumour (yes rumour) that Leon Higgins has shown interest in Barny job. Big Al, are you still alive, or keeping a lid on it until this Saturday night??

Gurnerd Fanning
6 Sep 2007, 15:45
Moose in the #6
Count me out for the roos in 08 then.

NICE_1
6 Sep 2007, 16:23
[quote=More Than a Game;8659675]Tron Burger, sorry mate, you have been misinformed.
Moose was spoken to about the illustrious position of Coaching the Mighty Roos in 08 but sighted work and family commitments his reason for not wanting the job. Be sure to look out for him in the #6 jumper at Roo Park though! you will also see him running behind a pram every saturday morning as he recovers from knee surgery. (of course his child is in the pram)
if you want more info on Moose, ring his Manager, Mr Chris Artis (affectionately known as The Bull)

SO MTAG now that the season is over can you confirm that gekko is the coach of yack next year ?????

the tron burger
6 Sep 2007, 18:08
[quote=More Than a Game;8659675]Tron Burger, sorry mate, you have been misinformed.

SO MTAG now that the season is over can you confirm that gekko is the coach of yack next year ?????
Is gekko lillis from raiders , how many more are going from howlong the.

jimbob21
6 Sep 2007, 18:12
Yeah Gecko is from Raiders, it'l be interesting to see if this rumour has any truth in it...

the tron burger
6 Sep 2007, 18:18
Yeah Gecko is from Raiders, it'l be interesting to see if this rumour has any truth in it...
Well winner may not be coaching but am certain yack is trying hard to lure some howlong boys john paola from raiders is best mates with gekko so he is in the mix to. Can any one confirm or deny this:p

The fat side
6 Sep 2007, 21:31
Well winner may not be coaching but am certain yack is trying hard to lure some howlong boys john paola from raiders is best mates with gekko so he is in the mix to. Can any one confirm or deny this:p

Lillis doing the job at Yack for certain, wacth for annoucement. Youd imagine will take a few from raiders, not sure on how many from Howlong. That is coming from a true blue raiders man i spoke to.

rowger
6 Sep 2007, 22:09
Tron Burger, why the bloody hell would Doolan go to Yack. I think his preference might be 1 of 12 South Australian or West Australian clubs that are hounding him.
Who would Conway recruit to Mitta?

D.I.Y. Man
6 Sep 2007, 22:22
Tron Burger, why the bloody hell would Doolan go to Yack. I think his preference might be 1 of 12 South Australian or West Australian clubs that are hounding him.
Conway is a man of many conections and tron is right he is sounding out alot of fellas for next year as for doolan his good but he wouldnt blow wind up there ass over in south australia unless its a minor league were he wouldnt be the worst.

no orange peeler
7 Sep 2007, 12:31
Lillis is definately coaching Yack heard that directly from the mouth of the current Assistant Coach. So anything else really is hear say.

More Than a Game
7 Sep 2007, 17:22
Lillis is definately coaching Yack heard that directly from the mouth of the current Assistant Coach. So anything else really is hear say.

its no real secret is it? i wonder if the Border Mail are going to report it like Almo's appointment to Howlong??? the TDFL's "worst kept secret".

More Than a Game
7 Sep 2007, 17:24
Conway is a man of many conections and tron is right he is sounding out alot of fellas for next year as for doolan his good but he wouldnt blow wind up there ass over in south australia unless its a minor league were he wouldnt be the worst.

was just talkin to an ex Raider and he said "yeah Narra's got a lot of connections, but not many like him enough to go and play footy with him."
has he burnt bridges or what?????

Benched
10 Sep 2007, 16:53
Found this on the Murray league thread. Any coments doggies, would this be true, would hurt Thurgoona.

Originally Posted by ringo1 http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=8646436#post8646436)
swooper I know that Echuca United and perhaps Moama are looking for new coaches and I assume that Sexton will go around again for Finley.Apart from that I think most clubs will retain their coaches although Kennedy has been at Mulwala for 3 yrs now:thumbsu:

We @ Rumbalara are also Inking a new coach in 08' in discussion now with Alan and Derek Murray shouldnt be far away from a done deal...this weekends tips'

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/statusicon/user_offline.gif

Almost done
11 Sep 2007, 11:44
Found this on the Murray league thread. Any coments doggies, would this be true, would hurt Thurgoona.

Originally Posted by ringo1 http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=8646436#post8646436)
swooper I know that Echuca United and perhaps Moama are looking for new coaches and I assume that Sexton will go around again for Finley.Apart from that I think most clubs will retain their coaches although Kennedy has been at Mulwala for 3 yrs now:thumbsu:

We @ Rumbalara are also Inking a new coach in 08' in discussion now with Alan and Derek Murray shouldnt be far away from a done deal...this weekends tips'

You're on the ball Benched!

http://www.qldbusinesswomen.com/images/sully.jpg

no orange peeler
11 Sep 2007, 13:02

Well benched as you can see by Almost dones obvious yet piss funny reply we at Thurggona have known about the job offer for a number of weeks.(Well before the season ended) and have offered Derek our 100% support if he wishes to travel down that path. From what i understand it is not only a coaching job but a full time job working in the indigenous community down there. At Thurgoona we will never try to hold someone back for making a choice that could benifit there lives (The job) or football weather its a coaching position or to have a crack at a higher level eg.. O&M. So yeah it will be a loss but we have a couple of guys already at the club who are ready to take over his mantle and could really prosper in his absence.:thumbsu:

Wooderson
12 Sep 2007, 14:45
Think Tron may of been meaning Adam Doolan from Howlong, pretty sure he played there this year.

jimbob21
12 Sep 2007, 15:36
Think Tron may of been meaning Adam Doolan from Howlong, pretty sure he played there this year.

Wrong again, it was Matt Doolan, Adam and Marks cousin....

Wooderson
12 Sep 2007, 15:47
Thanks Jimbob, new it was one of them just there names escaped me.

D.I.Y. Man
12 Sep 2007, 20:05
Thanks Jimbob, new it was one of them just there names escaped me.
Get up with it wooderson to much glue

skipper
13 Sep 2007, 09:38

Come on Harro, when are you going to endulge us with your presence and tell us who your playing for next year. Mitta or Yack.

jimbob21
13 Sep 2007, 11:53
Come on Harro, when are you going to endulge us with your presence and tell us who your playing for next year. Mitta or Yack.
Wherever Gecko coaches I'll be playing Skipper. Not that I'll be a gun recruit, I'll be good for the bar takings....

More Than a Game
13 Sep 2007, 13:45

its no real secret is it? i wonder if the Border Mail are going to report it like Almo's appointment to Howlong??? the TDFL's "worst kept secret".

Wherever Gecko coaches I'll be playing Skipper. Not that I'll be a gun recruit, I'll be good for the bar takings....

if Jimmy Harris goes to Mitta after Gecko has signed at Yack, he will be shot as he gets off the plane from Perth. my news is Assistant Coach??

rowger
24 Sep 2007, 16:18
Whats the latest on the Mitta job? It would be a plumb job, would not be hard to attract a coach i reckon.

Run Straight
25 Sep 2007, 12:04
Whats the latest on the Mitta job? It would be a plumb job, would not be hard to attract a coach i reckon.

Nic Conway will coach Mitta, same as this year.

hotcrossbuns18
25 Sep 2007, 13:52
Nic Conway will coach Mitta, same as this year.

Nic Conway didn't coach Mitta this year, Phil Packer did

General Banter
25 Sep 2007, 14:10
For those who are interested.

Rutherglen appointed Mark Sarau as senior coach for 2008.

For more info see the website
http://rutherglenfc.vcfl.com.au/

GO CATS

rowger
25 Sep 2007, 22:08
For those who are interested.

Rutherglen appointed Mark Sarau as senior coach for 2008.

For more info see the website
http://rutherglenfc.vcfl.com.au/

GO CATS
Who is he? Where is he from GB?

General Banter
26 Sep 2007, 14:11
Who is he? Where is he from GB?

He was introduced to the club at our presentation night last Friday. He spoke very well. I beleive he is from the Melbourne area and has recently moved to North-East Vic.

He will be a non-playing coach.

From what I hear, his playing experience includes stints with St Kilda and Fitzroy in the 70s, along with VFA and other clubs in the Melbourne area. I also hear that he has substantial experience in coaching at VFA and ametures level, and has been the runner for St Kilda.

I get the feeling that he interviewed very well and the club is justifiably quite impressed.

Albert Park
27 Sep 2007, 09:18

I disagree, I reckon it would be a rotten job to take on, given that you cannot exceed expectations, merely equal them, or fail. I'm not sure many coaches want to be the one to stuff up the great run of flags.

Albert Park
27 Sep 2007, 09:19
Nic Conway didn't coach Mitta this year, Phil Packer did

I think you may have missed the sarcasm, easter bunny.

More Than a Game
27 Sep 2007, 17:03
He was introduced to the club at our presentation night last Friday. He spoke very well. I beleive he is from the Melbourne area and has recently moved to North-East Vic.

From what I hear, his playing experience includes stints with St Kilda and Fitzroy in the 70s, along with VFA and other clubs in the Melbourne area. I also hear that he has substantial experience in coaching at VFA and ametures level, and has been the runner for St Kilda.

I get the feeling that he interviewed very well and the club is justifiably quite impressed.

well, we had better look out for the Cats in 2008 then hey!! who are his recruits, Cowboy Neale, Royce Hart and Darrell Baldock?

rowger
27 Sep 2007, 20:57

He would want to be non playing GB, the dude must 60!

Almost done
28 Sep 2007, 10:05
well, we had better look out for the Cats in 2008 then hey!! who are his recruits, Cowboy Neale, Royce Hart and Darrell Baldock?

Nicki might come back!

Run Straight
28 Sep 2007, 10:25
Yes it looks like he's going to bring some new ideas to football in the region, the likes of which we've never seen before. According to Border Mail, he is going to "get the numbers up" and "bring in some fresh ideas" and is "excited by the challenge that lies ahead". Ground breaking. I'm told his major challenge will be to keep his best 3 players at the club as they're all reportedly on the move.

rowger
6 Oct 2007, 15:35
Damien Slater has pulled out of the race for the Mitta, Barny & Tallangatta jobs. Both Barny & Tallangatta thought they had him. I believe there is a power of Barny blokes moving on.

Run Straight
8 Oct 2007, 14:16
Kiewa: Bone reappointed
Mitta: Still looking, Conway will do it if no-one else will.
Barny: Available
Chiltern: Available, Dickins rumoured to be announced shortly.
Dederang: Dicketts again.
Yack: Lillis appointed.
Beechworth: Romeril again.
Saints: Butters again.
Tallangatta: Available, were sure they were getting Slater but looks like back to the drawing board.
Rutherglen: Sarau appointed.

Cats Superstar
9 Oct 2007, 15:07

Lets hope he gets afair crack of the whip to do something with the playing group before, sections of the fans and players turn against him, because there boy isnt getting a run

goal attack
10 Oct 2007, 19:38
Kiewa: Bone reappointed
Mitta: Still looking, Conway will do it if no-one else will.
Barny: Available
Chiltern: Available, Dickins rumoured to be announced shortly.
Dederang: Dicketts again.
Yack: Lillis appointed.
Beechworth: Romeril again.
Saints: Butters again.
Tallangatta: Available, were sure they were getting Slater but looks like back to the drawing board.
Rutherglen: Sarau appointed.

DANNY COHEN IS SET TO COACH MITTA, WITH FORMER BULLDOG RESERVES COACH CHRIS MARTIN AS HIS ASSISTANT

Almost done
11 Oct 2007, 10:24
DANNY COHEN IS SET TO COACH MITTA, WITH FORMER BULLDOG RESERVES COACH CHRIS MARTIN AS HIS ASSISTANT

Wrong! Chris Martin is set to stay with Coldplay!!!!!!
http://www.hotandcoldplay.com/chris-blue-1024.jpg

White Sticks
14 Oct 2007, 19:56
is there any truth to the rumour that kindellan from kiewa is following his boss danny cohan up to mitta for the 08 season?

no orange peeler
14 Oct 2007, 21:35
is there any truth to the rumour that kindellan from kiewa is following his boss danny cohan up to mitta for the 08 season?
Not unless he wants to be kicked out of home considering his old man is the president of Kiewa. So i would say that is highly unlikely.

mountain man
15 Oct 2007, 10:06

Yeah he wanted to come up. Mitta spoke to him about a tagging roll in the seconds on and off the bench. :D:D:D

rowger
15 Oct 2007, 22:02
Terry Burgess to Coach the Barny boys in 2008. I heard they came to terms on Sunday.

IN & UNDER
16 Oct 2007, 13:20
Terry Burgess to Coach the Barny boys in 2008. I heard they came to terms on Sunday.

Yeah Rowger confirmed in Border Mail today.
Interesting to see another club go down the line of signing a Non-Playing coach. Will Burgess be able to lure any quality blokes to Barny? At the least, he brings a fair bit of knowledge with him I suppose.

More Than a Game
16 Oct 2007, 15:12
Yeah Rowger confirmed in Border Mail today.
Interesting to see another club go down the line of signing a Non-Playing coach. Will Burgess be able to lure any quality blokes to Barny? At the least, he brings a fair bit of knowledge with him I suppose.

Barny signing Burgess as Non-Playing Coach!! WTF???
didnt they tell Hollard they wanted a playing coach???
obvious change of mind there!
cant wait to see Barny Vs Rutherglen during the year, both coaches will race to their huddles on walking frames!!
they might even teach a few boys the STAB pass!

Wilfred
17 Oct 2007, 16:16
It looks like Tallangatta and Yack will be the improvers next season, is anyone daring enoughto predict a final 5 yet?

have a RHG
17 Oct 2007, 16:47
It looks like Tallangatta and Yack will be the improvers next season, is anyone daring enoughto predict a final 5 yet?
Why Tallangatta who have they picked up that is going to improve them so much this year remembering they are a long way behind already. Yack have picked up a couple but they have lost a lot of quality. Haven't really heard of any major signing nor should we at this stage.

switch the play
17 Oct 2007, 16:54
Why Tallangatta who have they picked up that is going to improve them so much this year remembering they are a long way behind already. Yack have picked up a couple but they have lost a lot of quality. Haven't really heard of any major signing nor should we at this stage.
Exactly,Yack have picked up more than they have let on.They have however lost their best 3 players in Purcell;Hillary and Clayton.Be interesting to see if Fraser plays again.Certainly not on the Hillarys xmas card list after playing for himself last year and refusing to man up all year apparently.Also been privvy to some recent conversations in a certain hotel over the last few weeks with former team-amtes from Culcairn and he certainly wouldnt be an option to return there after hearing their thoughts on him.Maybe the new coach may have a differnt opinion but it will be interesting to see if he plays and how he goes.

More Than a Game
17 Oct 2007, 18:28

one would be silly to say " a lot" of quality RHG. yeah Aaron won't be at Yack next year but lets face it, his heart is really not into footy any more. the big fella's words himself. playing Senior footy since he was 15, i don't blame him either.
in terms of "losses", they will "lose" One player out of the top 10 in the B&F, and that is Jazz who is injured and out for god knows how long?

i agree with you on the WHY TALLANGATTA?? query though.
so far only Hansford is going there, and they re-signed a Coach that got them nowhere last year???

More Than a Game
17 Oct 2007, 18:31
Exactly,Yack have picked up more than they have let on.They have however lost their best 3 players in Purcell;Hillary and Clayton.Be interesting to see if Fraser plays again.Certainly not on the Hillarys xmas card list after playing for himself last year and refusing to man up all year apparently.Also been privvy to some recent conversations in a certain hotel over the last few weeks with former team-amtes from Culcairn and he certainly wouldnt be an option to return there after hearing their thoughts on him.Maybe the new coach may have a differnt opinion but it will be interesting to see if he plays and how he goes.

Clayton not going anywhere! don't know where you go that from. and on the subject of Fraser, yeah, too fat, too slow. will more than likely play Magoos for the Roos next year.

godogsgo
18 Oct 2007, 00:24

Where have those 3 gone?

More Than a Game
18 Oct 2007, 12:21
Where have those 3 gone?

see above! Purcell back to his home club Jerilderie and Jarrod Hillary has had knee surgery and probably out for 12 months.
Clayton definitely staying.

Albert Park
18 Oct 2007, 14:10
Given that all coaching positions are now filled, is this thread now finished ?

The fat side
19 Oct 2007, 15:29

So Fraser's still not maning anyone up!!!! Great to see nothing has changed since i left, guess good players still toweling him up then. When has he ever been on a xmas card list, specially Culcairn. He would almost be past it wouldnt he switch?

Cats Superstar
19 Oct 2007, 17:54

"Pumpkin Head" Dagget from Lavi Panthers set to be A/C for Rutherglen

rowger
19 Oct 2007, 20:53
"Pumpkin Head" Dagget from Lavi Panthers set to be A/C for Rutherglen
Who?

Cats Superstar
20 Oct 2007, 10:42
Aaron Dagget, on-baller/forward from lavi panthers, short and stocky with a big arse beachball for a head. Has won afew reserves b & f's

have a RHG
20 Oct 2007, 11:37
Aaron Dagget, on-baller/forward from lavi panthers, short and stocky with a big arse beachball for a head. Has won afew reserves b & f's
Your kidding aren't you he started half the season this year on the Bench in the Reserves and the other half as an emergency, in the Reserves has a go but probably bot a real noteworthy pick up.