View Full Version : Open coaching positions
Cats Superstar
20 Oct 2007, 17:19
Your kidding aren't you he started half the season this year on the Bench in the Reserves and the other half as an emergency, in the Reserves has a go but probably bot a real noteworthy pick up.
Work commitments and falling out with coach would be to blame for that, And with so many youngsters around The Cats could really use some older heads around that "have a go"
Does have a massive head
no orange peeler
21 Oct 2007, 07:57
Work commitments and falling out with coach would be to blame for that, And with so many youngsters around The Cats could really use some older heads around that "have a go"
Does have a massive head
be interesting when they play Thurgoona if he and the Thurgoona coach match up. There will be a battle of the Massive Heads:D
kerrigan
23 Oct 2007, 20:36
"Pumpkin Head" Dagget from Lavi Panthers set to be A/C for Rutherglen
think you blokes are a bit harsh on azza he has great skills, a fantastic footy brain and will be an asset to the catters..........go china
KooKoo Koala
23 Oct 2007, 21:14
think you blokes are a bit harsh on azza he has great skills, a fantastic footy brain and will be an asset to the catters..........go china
Has he played any senior footy in the o&m Surely he has, to get a gig like that especially with the resume of the new coach he must have some ability to coach in some capacity. If its true he struggled to get a game in lavi 2s he wont be to much good for rutherglen seniors. :eek:
upwiththejones
24 Oct 2007, 13:33
Has he played any senior footy in the o&m Surely he has, to get a gig like that especially with the resume of the new coach he must have some ability to coach in some capacity. If its true he struggled to get a game in lavi 2s he wont be to much good for rutherglen seniors. :eek:
Are you definate he played at panthers, cant say ive heard him before. The new coach at rutherglen would do a checkout on him before giving him the nod ............seems like hes done nothing in footy and wont get a kick out with us in this comp.
D.I.Y. Man
24 Oct 2007, 18:26
Are you definate he played at panthers, cant say ive heard him before. The new coach at rutherglen would do a checkout on him before giving him the nod ............seems like hes done nothing in footy and wont get a kick out with us in this comp.
The mail i have has not played any senior footy in o&m , he won a reserves B&F few years ago since then he is unable to get a kick does play at panthers or peels the oranges one of the two. Good luck the cats you will definatly need it ha ha :thumbsd:
Cats Superstar
24 Oct 2007, 18:53
The mail i have has not played any senior footy in o&m , he won a reserves B&F few years ago since then he is unable to get a kick does play at panthers or peels the oranges one of the two. Good luck the cats you will definatly need it ha ha :thumbsd:
I seem to remember a time when Rutherglen picked up Ben Davis who/because couldnt get a game at wodonga, now lets look 4 years later 1 barton Medal, 3 club b & f's and a ripper of a bloke, Also Ian Kay tried for Corowa/Rutherglen but couldnt get a run in seniors but has managed to win 2 senior b&f's along the way also a ripper of a guy. So just because he didnt suck up Tim Sansens butt he is considered crap?? Lavi along with all o&m clubs its more to do with who your mates are and less on ability, As another post said great skills and EXCELLENT football brain, may just suprise and be recruit of the year, now you blokes have inspired him
have a RHG
24 Oct 2007, 21:49
I seem to remember a time when Rutherglen picked up Ben Davis who/because couldnt get a game at wodonga, now lets look 4 years later 1 barton Medal, 3 club b & f's and a ripper of a bloke, Also Ian Kay tried for Corowa/Rutherglen but couldnt get a run in seniors but has managed to win 2 senior b&f's along the way also a ripper of a guy. So just because he didnt suck up Tim Sansens butt he is considered crap?? Lavi along with all o&m clubs its more to do with who your mates are and less on ability, As another post said great skills and EXCELLENT football brain, may just suprise and be recruit of the year, now you blokes have inspired him
As i said in an earlier post his not a gun but has a go he wouldn't rate in our leagues top 30 players. Good point about wiz and ian kay but those guys couldn't crack a senior game we're talking Daggert struggling to play a Reserves game nothing to do with Sanson more like The Reserves coach Almond. Almond didn't even bother asking him to go to Howlong with him.
upwiththejones
24 Oct 2007, 22:24
Seems they have all the recruiting under control its good to hear that they are all good guys, but can all these guys get you to play finals...dont think so, will this ripper guy will help win a game NOT, forget finals. Mail is not that popular with panthers match committee
upwiththejones
24 Oct 2007, 22:30
As i said in an earlier post his not a gun but has a go he wouldn't rate in our leagues top 30 players. Good point about wiz and ian kay but those guys couldn't crack a senior game we're talking Daggert struggling to play a Reserves game nothing to do with Sanson more like The Reserves coach Almond. Almond didn't even bother asking him to go to Howlong with him.
Thats a statement, Almo needs all the help he can get with the outgoings at spiderland, you dont think if he thought Dagert was 1/2 ok he would be in Howlong. Cant wait to play rutherglen and all the nice guys.......
KooKoo Koala
24 Oct 2007, 22:56
Only time will tell hopefully he does good for the cats he may not even get the gig yet
Run Straight
25 Oct 2007, 10:34
Not a great comparison CS. Ben Davis kicked 6 or 7 goals in his first senior O&M game, and made the O&M Interleague squad as a 17 year old. Having said that, if Aaron does get the job, good luck to him and the Cats, there's more to being a good assistant coach than just carving up on the ground every Sat. (it helps tho !)
IN & UNDER
25 Oct 2007, 11:42
Not a great comparison CS. Ben Davis kicked 6 or 7 goals in his first senior O&M game, and made the O&M Interleague squad as a 17 year old. Having said that, if Aaron does get the job, good luck to him and the Cats, there's more to being a good assistant coach than just carving up on the ground every Sat. (it helps tho !)
I bet this Aaron guy appreciates the admiration you stack on him CS. You talk about the bloke in high regard, which is fair enough. As the old adage goes 'time will tell'. Good luck to you and your beloved Cats.
KooKoo Koala
25 Oct 2007, 21:25
[quote=IN & UNDER;9317658]I bet this Aaron guy appreciates the admiration you stack on him CS. You talk about the bloke in high regard, which is fair enough. As the old adage goes 'time will tell'. Good luck to you and your beloved Cats.[/quote
(time will tell) well said:thumbsu:
Cats Superstar
8 Nov 2007, 10:19
Cant wait to play rutherglen and all the nice guys.......
Not all nice guys,
like Trent Shannon hes a real BAD bloke
and still showers in his underpants
More Than a Game
8 Nov 2007, 11:01
Rutherglens new Coach apparently lost Julian Day in the first 5 minutes of the meeting last week. my way or the highway attitude. Cats should merge with wahgunyah now and save the pain over the next few years.
allclass
8 Nov 2007, 12:33
Rutherglens new Coach apparently lost Julian Day in the first 5 minutes of the meeting last week. my way or the highway attitude. Cats should merge with wahgunyah now and save the pain over the next few years.
the cats dont need julian gay anyway watch out in "08" cat premiers you heard it here first
allclass
8 Nov 2007, 12:35
Not all nice guys,
like Trent Shannon hes a real BAD bloke
and still showers in his underpants
the cats must be throwin the money around to land trent watched him play couple years back kids got talent just need the right person to get it out of him as for the underpants i think your goin abit from there buddy
Cats Superstar
8 Nov 2007, 17:46
Who is your "apparent" source????? I had a similar interview on saturday and found Mark to be quite approachable and he was more than willing to recieve ideas from players. The only condition he had on that was he wouldnt listen to slander or character assasination. That my way or the highway attitude is way off the mark
Cats Superstar
8 Nov 2007, 17:48
the cats must be throwin the money around to land trent watched him play couple years back kids got talent just need the right person to get it out of him as for the underpants i think your goin abit from there buddy
bahahahahahahahahahahahaha, i have more talent in my underpants than he has in his whole body
the cats dont need julian gay anyway watch out in "08" cat premiers you heard it here first
How come every one has a beef with Jules, he seems ok to me when I have chated with him. Please fill me in.....
More Than a Game
9 Nov 2007, 08:18
Let's keep this thread to discussion on Open Coaching Positions. there is a thread for TDFL where you weak Rutherglen pricks can bag out ex team-mates. keep the posts relevant to Coaching positions.
Agree totally...MTAG.
Lets talk Seconds Coach's, Before how long do you reckon A Nicholls will pull the boots on?
More Than a Game
9 Nov 2007, 10:04
Agree totally...MTAG.
Lets talk Seconds Coach's, Before how long do you reckon A Nicholls will pull the boots on?
good question Skip, you must have heard the news i did yesterday. Andrew Nichols has returned to Roo Park to Coach the Yack magoos.
you would think he will, at some stage, pull on the old Pumas???
any other clubs got new 2's coaches for 08?
Big Al, will Blunden stay at the helm at Barny?
is Milesy "almost done" at the kennel? (was he coach this year?)
Cats Superstar
9 Nov 2007, 10:12
Still wondering......
Who is your "apparent" source????? I had a similar interview on saturday and found Mark to be quite approachable and he was more than willing to recieve ideas from players. The only condition he had on that was he wouldnt listen to slander or character assasination. That my way or the highway attitude is way off the mark
Cats Superstar
9 Nov 2007, 10:16
Lets talk Seconds Coach's,
I would say Rutherglen would probably keep Darren Simpson at the helm, they owe him that considering all the hard work he put in last year
allclass
9 Nov 2007, 10:30
I would say Rutherglen would probably keep Darren Simpson at the helm, they owe him that considering all the hard work he put in last year
i heard adam pinn's name was up for the top job at the cats but thats gone now so mayb he might get the seconds handed to him
Big Al 11
9 Nov 2007, 10:47
good question Skip, you must have heard the news i did yesterday. Andrew Nichols has returned to Roo Park to Coach the Yack magoos.
Can't give you answer there MTAG but if he wanted the 2's job would get it I would imagine. Depends on what Burgess has in mind for the club. Would be a very good Chairman of Selectors for the Tiges as well. Well respected by last years coaching staff and by the players :thumbsu:.
More Than a Game
9 Nov 2007, 16:00
Still wondering......
CS, there is a reason we all put "apparently" or " i heard" or "rumour has it" and that is because this thread is about gossip, things we hear on the grapevine, around the traps etc. so, no-one actually 'reveals' sources as sometimes things aren't correct and people are put on the spot in the street by people wanting to know the 'truth' about something that was said here.
allclass
9 Nov 2007, 16:53
CS, there is a reason we all put "apparently" or " i heard" or "rumour has it" and that is because this thread is about gossip, things we hear on the grapevine, around the traps etc. so, no-one actually 'reveals' sources as sometimes things aren't correct and people are put on the spot in the street by people wanting to know the 'truth' about something that was said here.
MTAG your a wanker mate
upwiththejones
9 Nov 2007, 19:53
Thats a statement, Almo needs all the help he can get with the outgoings at spiderland, you dont think if he thought Dagert was 1/2 ok he would be in Howlong. Cant wait to play rutherglen and all the nice guys.......
Howlong not lookin flash at the moment, word is they have lost up to 10 players. Think Almo has signed Telstra as a sponsor next year, he has spent mega bucks ringing everyone far and wide, he is getting under the skin of a few opposition coaches with his antics
upwiththejones
9 Nov 2007, 20:06
is Milesy "almost done" at the kennel? (was he coach this year?)..
Spoke to Nicho the other day and is ademant he wont be playing, but we all know what he's like not a bad bloke to be grazing around in the magoos
Cats Superstar
10 Nov 2007, 08:26
Im not trying to start anything, just going into to bat for the club i love and my team mates (just as you would im sure) although you did give somebloke an almighty spray for his comments on yack
Cats Superstar
10 Nov 2007, 08:28
i heard adam pinn's name was up for the top job at the cats but thats gone now so mayb he might get the seconds handed to him
All and sundry no im too lazy for that buddy, i hope Simmo gets the gig again
this is the game
11 Nov 2007, 13:32
Blunden is coaching the magoos at barny hopefully third time lucky for the club:D
Cats Superstar
12 Nov 2007, 09:56
Darren Hatton appointed coach of the Rutherglen 2's, last coached them in 2004. hopefully he has gotten itchy feet and is pulling the boots back on
upwiththejones
16 Nov 2007, 20:42
Darren Hatton appointed coach of the Rutherglen 2's, last coached them in 2004. hopefully he has gotten itchy feet and is pulling the boots back on
Tell me superstar has your mate Daggert been appointed a/c at the Catters, seems things have gone a bit stale in the last few weeks, whats the latest on the recruiting side of things word is quite a few blokes leaving not all that impressed with the new coaching panel....................................
no orange peeler
17 Nov 2007, 08:42
Tell me superstar has your mate Daggert been appointed a/c at the Catters, seems things have gone a bit stale in the last few weeks, whats the latest on the recruiting side of things word is quite a few blokes leaving not all that impressed with the new coaching panel....................................
Was speaking with a prominent committee man and sponser of Rutherglen he told me that they had to remind the new coach that he is coaching a country footy club, wanted to impose and non alcohol ban in public as well as swearing bans (which isn't a bad thing). also said the cats boys are in for a torrid pre-season.
Cats Superstar
18 Nov 2007, 12:07
Dagget has definately been appointed as a/c. All people i have spoken too are more than impressed with the coaching panel, seems the only people who arnt, and i have a fair idea who they are- think they are alittle better than others around them and only get by slagging off on others, if everyone just became alittle closer we can go along way
Cats Superstar
18 Nov 2007, 12:13
Was speaking with a prominent committee man and sponser of Rutherglen he told me that they had to remind the new coach that he is coaching a country footy club, wanted to impose and non alcohol ban in public as well as swearing bans (which isn't a bad thing). also said the cats boys are in for a torrid pre-season.
Started training on Friday and had about 30 people there, afew new faces) which is very good considering we could only get about 10 people a week last year in the middle of the season. on the reminding the coach its just a country club, my personal thoughts are the commitee should back off abit, he has been bought here for fresh ideas and a new direction for the club tries to make some changes and they "remind" him of certain things, hopefully if that is true they sort out those differances soon. Although from what ive seen everything is all smiles atm
no orange peeler
18 Nov 2007, 14:27
Started training on Friday and had about 30 people there, afew new faces) which is very good considering we could only get about 10 people a week last year in the middle of the season. on the reminding the coach its just a country club, my personal thoughts are the commitee should back off abit, he has been bought here for fresh ideas and a new direction for the club tries to make some changes and they "remind" him of certain things, hopefully if that is true they sort out those differances soon. Although from what ive seen everything is all smiles atm
Thats fair enough and good luck to you guys be good to see some of the sides that struggled last year perform well and even the competition out. With only 4 sides dominating it last year it will be great to have a bit of un predictability about it. Good to hear there cats that you guys are getting some of your really good kids back from Corowa and Wahgunyah can certainly build a side around those types