View Full Version : Pat Veszpremi
jdubs#18
8 Jun 2007, 20:52
What are peoples thoughts??? u/18 all australian last year bottom age playing a great carnival, scholarship winner going over to sth africa..... Do you think he will feature highly in this years draft??
Snoop Dog
8 Jun 2007, 23:35
I still have him pretty high but he is one of those kids that could easily slip. I dont think it will be much beyond 30 but it would not surprise me to see him slip off a bit. Champs will be a good gauge to see how much he has improved. Was certainly outstanding last year.
The Royal Sampler
9 Jun 2007, 00:39
I rate him very highly, would love to see the Pies pick him up, quick inside mids with great footskills are always worth their weight in gold.
Snoop Dog
9 Jun 2007, 09:19
I rate him very highly, would love to see the Pies pick him up, quick inside mids with great footskills are always worth their weight in gold.
Yeah, but I suspect he wont be around for us to take him in the second round. We would have to take him first round and I am hoping Ebert is available. If Port or Adel pick before us I suspect they will take him.
The Royal Sampler
9 Jun 2007, 10:49
We may be able to trade for a second-rounder. I'm hoping we take a ruck prospect in the second round. If Jack Grimes is injured and can't play the Champs, he could slide... (but probably not).
Snoop Dog
9 Jun 2007, 16:25
We have to take a ruck with one of the first two. I did the BF mock draft last year and was dead keen on Tippett to Pies. I am big wrap for Reid / Brown / Dawes but was hoping one of them could have been a ruck prospect. For me, Tippett was that bloke.
The Royal Sampler
9 Jun 2007, 16:37
My understanding is that Tippett is still a forward/ruckman and at the in-between height. We pretty much have that in Josh Fraser. I want us to chase a mobile tap ruckman, and I agree it has to be with one of our first two picks.
All the more reason to trade into the draft, say a player and a 4th-rounder for a high 2nd-rounder. I doubt the best ruck prospects will still be there by pick 29 or whatever we end up with.
Snoop Dog
9 Jun 2007, 19:37
My understanding is that Tippett is still a forward/ruckman and at the in-between height. We pretty much have that in Josh Fraser. I want us to chase a mobile tap ruckman, and I agree it has to be with one of our first two picks.
All the more reason to trade into the draft, say a player and a 4th-rounder for a high 2nd-rounder. I doubt the best ruck prospects will still be there by pick 29 or whatever we end up with.
Tippett is 200cm but yeah is ruck / fwd. Trading into the second round for a couple of extra picks would be wise. Problem is Pies aint going to have many picks this year as only Davies / Richards / Wakes / Cook ? at this stage likely to come off with Wellingham likely to be promoted.
crowsarethebest
10 Jun 2007, 11:06
We drafted Tippett as a forward prospect but he has been playing in the ruck in the SANFL and he seems more comfortable there than up forward where he seems a bit lost from reports. He's only played 30 or so footy games in his whole life so hopefully he still has a lot of improvement in him.
The Royal Sampler
10 Jun 2007, 13:01
^ Hmmm, okay, thanks. :thumbsu:
I wasn't bagging Tippett, by the way, I hope he ends up being a good player for the Crows.
Snoop Dog
10 Jun 2007, 15:18
We drafted Tippett as a forward prospect but he has been playing in the ruck in the SANFL and he seems more comfortable there than up forward where he seems a bit lost from reports. He's only played 30 or so footy games in his whole life so hopefully he still has a lot of improvement in him.
I watched a fair bit of him when he was at Southport - dont worry about his ability up fwd. Suspect they are playing in ruck to take advantage of his hands at the stoppages. At QAFL level he was better as a fwd than a ruck IMO.
Judging on our form we will pick at around 11-14. If Vaszpremi is available at 14 you would take him. If available at 11, you'd weigh up who is there. But I would be happy if they took him at whatever position we come into the draft as we need a player of his ilk around the contest in the future. He and Morton would be high on Collingwoods list I would suspect.
And yes, we deffinately have to look at ruckmen. But their are a few ruckman in this draft that would be 2nd and 3rd round prospects.
IMO, Veszpremi will go somewhere between 6-20 in this years draft. Did some nice things today in the trial game, and is certainly one of the better mids available in the draft.
jdubs#18
14 Jun 2007, 10:00
Yeah, but I suspect he wont be around for us to take him in the second round. We would have to take him first round and I am hoping Ebert is available. If Port or Adel pick before us I suspect they will take him.
IMO i think he is a much more outstanding player than Ebert.
Ebert has the name and therefore will definately be drafted, but Veszpremi along with Cotchin Kruzer and Grimes are very good players and they will be featuring highly this year in the draft. We will no where every things at after the carnival.
jdubs#18
14 Jun 2007, 10:01
I dont think he will end up at the pies any way. Fremantle i have heard want to take him first or second round and have showed alot of interest in him.
macca69
14 Jun 2007, 10:31
I dont think he will end up at the pies any way. Fremantle i have heard want to take him first or second round and have showed alot of interest in him.
Where did you hear that?
jdubs#18
15 Jun 2007, 16:41
Where did you hear that?
Fremantle have showed interst in him through ais an i hear they are quite keen, he actually told me. But you never know whats going to happen at the draft until the name gets called out so who knows???
the G train #9
15 Jun 2007, 17:17
Fremantle have showed interst in him through ais an i hear they are quite keen, he actually told me. But you never know whats going to happen at the draft until the name gets called out so who knows???
Dont worry about veszpremi we know he is going to be drafted. But there is a man by the name of Josh Ward/J-Ward/Mahalya Jaywardena who is a definite chance to be rookied or drafted in 2008. He is only bottom age and is having this year off football to take part in an intense training program that consists of him partying every weekend. Will come back bigger and better next year and take the TAC cup by storm.Watch for him to go high in the '08 draft if his temper doesnt get the better of him
Wayne "The King" Carey
18 Jun 2007, 10:25
Veszpremi left the field just before half time at bendigo yesterday with what appeared to be a thumb injury and didnt return. Not sure how long he will be out for but he may miss the championships ?
jdubs#18
18 Jun 2007, 10:32
Dont worry about veszpremi we know he is going to be drafted. But there is a man by the name of Josh Ward/J-Ward/Mahalya Jaywardena who is a definite chance to be rookied or drafted in 2008. He is only bottom age and is having this year off football to take part in an intense training program that consists of him partying every weekend. Will come back bigger and better next year and take the TAC cup by storm.Watch for him to go high in the '08 draft if his temper doesnt get the better of him
boot off diesel mcsullivan we serious hear mate if ya wanna talk trash thers plenty of other forums accepting your uneducational commenting rubish. Now fk off
philhawk
18 Jun 2007, 14:25
IMO, Veszpremi will go somewhere between 6-20 in this years draft. Did some nice things today in the trial game, and is certainly one of the better mids available in the draft.
How's his pace, HBF?
The Hawks need a couple more midfielders with good footskills and a decent turn of pace and who knows, he might fit the bill.
Veszpremi left the field just before half time at bendigo yesterday with what appeared to be a thumb injury and didnt return. Not sure how long he will be out for but he may miss the championships ?
hey king, how did young tindarra hood go for the knight's yesterday?
flipout
18 Jun 2007, 16:50
yeah apparently runs the 20m sprint in 2.93.
broke his thumb yesterday, may miss the carnivals.
jdubs you owe me money for dental bill!
FootyBrain06!
18 Jun 2007, 17:12
Clean break of thumb
Bloods boy from the Bush
18 Jun 2007, 17:13
hey king, how did young tindarra hood go for the knight's yesterday?
Must have played pretty wee he bagged four goals not bad for an U16.
LukeHodge15
19 Jun 2007, 08:57
Its very early but i'll say 2-8 for Veszpremi, this kid is a star. :thumbsu:
Watched him at the Power Vs Knights game, and he absolutely dominated be4 getting knocked out late in the second quarter.
Its very early but i'll say 2-8 for Veszpremi, this kid is a star. :thumbsu:
Not so sure he'll go that high Hodgey. With Kruezer, Cothchin, Grimes, Ebert and Masten in the mix, he would have to have a pretty stunning second half of the year to even break into the top 5.
LukeHodge15
19 Jun 2007, 09:59
Not so sure he'll go that high Hodgey. With Kruezer, Cothchin, Grimes, Ebert and Masten in the mix, he would have to have a pretty stunning second half of the year to even break into the top 5.
Ive seen enough. :p
Quick
Ball Magnet
HIGH hurt factor.
Vision
Elite Kicking
He slides to the Hawks pick, i will do cartwheels down bourke street. :p
Vic Crow
19 Jun 2007, 10:16
Ive seen enough. :p
Quick
Ball Magnet
HIGH hurt factor.
Vision
Elite Kicking
He slides to the Hawks pick, i will do cartwheels down bourke street. :p
I'm not sure which of these atttributes I like better in Veszpremi. He runs out of traffic very well and it is a sight to behold when he puts his foot down to get out of traffic, but I also love his penetrating kick.
I'd add confidence to the list of his pros.
LukeHodge15
19 Jun 2007, 10:20
I'm not sure which of these atttributes I like better in Veszpremi. He runs out of traffic very well and it is a sight to behold when he puts his foot down to get out of traffic, but I also love his penetrating kick.
I'd add confidence to the list of his pros.
Agree, a whole lot to like about this kid.
Kicking is just awesome. Hard to compare to a player in the AFL, but has a real snap to his contact, low driving kick that gets to its target as quick as possible.
Does that make sense :eek:
jdubs#18
19 Jun 2007, 10:54
Word is he will miss 2-3 weeks with the broken thumb.
Bloods boy from the Bush
19 Jun 2007, 13:24
I would think he will slip through early in the draft and go somewhere in the twenties will be a great pick up for whomever gets him though
jdubs#18
19 Jun 2007, 18:39
I would think he will slip through early in the draft and go somewhere in the twenties will be a great pick up for whomever gets him though
Yeh i reckon your about right, would not be suprising if he goes 1st round though.
marcmurphy3
19 Jun 2007, 19:01
I would cry if he was available in the 2nd round and we didn't take him.
The Royal Sampler
19 Jun 2007, 19:59
I wouldn't get mad, but I'd get stabby. ;)
FootyBrain06!
19 Jun 2007, 21:41
Word is he will miss 2-3 weeks with the broken thumb.
5 - 6
I would cry if he was available in the 2nd round and we didn't take him.
Even with this injury, all of the recruiters still know the quality of the kid. I'd be surprised if he lasts past the 1st round.
Bloods boy from the Bush
20 Jun 2007, 12:04
He will miss the Carnival now so thats puts pressure on him to got 1st round plenty of other players will be given a chance to impress on the big stage while he recovers from injury.
blues2010
20 Jun 2007, 12:12
He will miss the Carnival now so thats puts pressure on him to got 1st round plenty of other players will be given a chance to impress on the big stage while he recovers from injury.
you might be right but really it doesn't matter if you go 1 or 71 you are still a chance to get a game and have the same opportunities just a little less base pay. I am sure Pat will get picked up and be a good pickup for any club. He won't care about whether he goes 1st or 2nd round, I think he has the runs on the board to go 1st or 2nd round already
macca69
20 Jun 2007, 12:16
you might be right but really it doesn't matter if you go 1 or 71 you are still a chance to get a game and have the same opportunities just a little less base pay. I am sure Pat will get picked up and be a good pickup for any club. He won't care about whether he goes 1st or 2nd round, I think he has the runs on the board to go 1st or 2nd round already
There's probably less pressure on the draftee the later they go, although IIRC you get payed more the higher you go. Like you said he'll probably just be stoked to get drafted and won't care what number.
Vic Crow
20 Jun 2007, 12:17
Not to mention that he has already proven he can perform at Nationals level last year...
Might hold him back a little bit and is shattering news for him, but in the overall scheme of things this probably isn't going to effect his standing in the draft order too much.
The horrible irony of this is that in the TAC Cup record this week there was an article about Veszpremi and how dearly he valued wearing the Big V. He'd also had 22 touches to half time when he got injured.
ford_dealer
20 Jun 2007, 22:42
Joel Selwood, perfect of example of what might happen to Veszpremi
AA as bottom age
Injured as top age for the carnival
jdubs#18
20 Jun 2007, 23:32
5 - 6
YEH its going to be 5 i hear.
S.Barnes#11
30 Jun 2007, 11:35
Freo and Sydney both have shown alot of intrest i have been told. Both said that the thumb injury hasnt done him much harm. IMO he will go top 20. is much like Shannon Hurn, has a monster kick and a big body on him.