View Full Version : Why is everyone going into panic mode?
SOSBenny
9 Jun 2007, 14:04
We had a loss...all be it by a point! We lost to the better team on the night, we let our guard down, and deserved to have our pants dropped the way we did. If anything I think this will do us some good!!!
We need the kick in the arse, and have a look at our run over the next month, of course with Embers, Nicoski and possibly Hansen and Cousins coming back onto the scene!
Saints @ Subi - Win straight up...G-Train to start crying and curl up in the fetal position from all the taunts from the Eagles fans
Crows @ AAMI - We've always matched up well against them and actually beat them over there on the last 3 occasions!!!
Lions @ Subi - Keep Brown quiet and we'll smash them
Port @ AAMI - Don't match up as well as we do with the Crows, but Ports lost their Mojo...
I reckon we're looking at 4 on the trot and before you know it...we're back in business at 12-3 with Sydney, The Dogs and Dockers to come...show some faith in the boys, it isn't the end of the world just yet!!! :thumbsu:
Thats a tough 4 weeks no matter how ya look at it. Im in panic mode because the opposition are breathing down our necks. We could very well be 3rd or 4th by the end of this round and the senior players are not performing to the standard they should.
Genesis67
9 Jun 2007, 14:06
You know what's ironic? That a thread with this title was started by a guy with the username SOSBenny.... :D;)
I think we'll take 3 of the 4. Never confident about Port in Adelaide (when was the last time we played them here btw?) Saints and Lions at home should be ticks in the box now, and Adelaide isnt travelling that well themselves atm. Will be an interesting clash.
Makes us 11-4.
I think 16 wins will be top 4 material this year, maybe 15. 18 to guarantee Top 2. So wouldnt want to lose too many more after the next 4.
Fledgling
9 Jun 2007, 14:46
We had a loss...all be it by a point! We lost to the better team on the night, we let our guard down, and deserved to have our pants dropped the way we did. If anything I think this will do us some good!!!
We need the kick in the arse, and have a look at our run over the next month, of course with Embers, Nicoski and possibly Hansen and Cousins coming back onto the scene!
I reckon we're looking at 4 on the trot and before you know it...we're back in business at 12-3 with Sydney, The Dogs and Dockers to come...show some faith in the boys, it isn't the end of the world just yet!!! :thumbsu:
I think the panic is provoked by the fact that they lost to essendon - Essendon!! - when they should've won. Their win against richmond was unconvincing. WC got their kick in the arse against geelong were meant to have toughened from it and then they lost their next interstate game. They were rather poor against geelong and I'm not sure that they came to play against hawthorn.
Embers coming back is good. Nicko, ok. Hansen will take a while and no date is set for Ben. Hm..
As you've pointed out, there are many winnable games, have faith, comback kings and all that, but going by past performance, I must say, there are a few worrying signs and a bit of panic is surely excusable.
Never panic with these boys...but christ its annoying when we play vintage footy at times in a match only to lose it with pathetic finishing and soft contests by front runners
we just love our team and we dont like losing games we should win easily
its the woosha way,...
overall though 8-3 with a home game to come.....
even if after this weekend we might be as low as third...bi deal....
I would rather play adelaide teams at aami than against dimboola thirds at Telstra dome :eek:
SOSBenny
9 Jun 2007, 15:35
You know what's ironic? That a thread with this title was started by a guy with the username SOSBenny.... :D;)
Meh...i couldn't think of anything better at the time :p plus, you all gotta admit, you'd love to have him back at the club yesterday!!!!
I would rather play adelaide teams at aami than against dimboola thirds at Telstra dome :eek:
Spot on :thumbsu:
Mighty Eagles
9 Jun 2007, 15:53
Did you watch the game last night? Fair dinkum we are the reining premiers and play like that against a lesser oppisition. At the end of the day Woosha made alot of coaching mistakes which go unnoticed because he is one of our favourite sons. I love Woosha as much as the next bloke, but his coaching at times is questionable.
SOSBenny
9 Jun 2007, 15:57
At the end of the day Woosha made alot of coaching mistakes which go unnoticed because he is one of our favourite sons. I love Woosha as much as the next bloke, but his coaching at times is questionable.
So we won the flag last year...how?
Well I don't think I'm in panic mode, I'll leave that to embers ;)
I felt totally gutted last night, and I'm still searching for the real reasons we lost that game. Sure, a few players had shockers and a few others went missing but to me it's more about balance, cohesion, attitude across the whole side.
Pretty vague I know but since Woosh has intimated there could very well be some major changes to be made, it'll be interesting to see what our next line-up is.
Not in panic mode here. After our pre-season, I would have taken 8-3 in a heartbeat. We have some quality players to return after the break too. :thumbsu:
BK Eaglesfan
9 Jun 2007, 20:16
Don't know we need to be panicking, as we are still a way off having our best 22 out there.
If you'd said in February we'd take the field in Rd 11 with all of Rosa, Priddis, Brown, LeCras, Rojo and Morton in the side, and all of Cousins, Waters, Armstrong (line ball), Embley, Hansen, Graham, Butler, Sampi and Nicoski missing...and would come away from a ground we have a terrible record at with a one point loss against a team that has the wood in us I would have taken it.
I believe our best to still be the best in the competition, and our best combination amongst 22 - 25 to still be capable of being premiers.
My biggest fear is that if we lose too many more games waiting to get our best players back on the park, we could finish lower than we'd like and have a rash of knock out finals at away grounds, which sooner or later will hurt us no matter how good we are. Reminds me a lot of 1993.
Black JuJu
9 Jun 2007, 20:51
It's only a handful of the usual suspects who can't handle losing because they run off at the mouth constantly. I won't name names (except for Embers). :thumbsu: