View Full Version : Bring On The Hawks!
mightymightyblues
10 Jun 2007, 00:51
A perfectly well set up game on FRIDAY NIGHT FOOTBALL! With stevens and betts out who have done most of the damage against the hawks in recent times, it will be a real experience for the likes of carrazo, murphy and blackwell and walker as they all have taken giant steps and now face responsibility of holding the load of the midfield with kouta having very limited game time due to being on the bench so often. These r the only two teams who are assured that their team lineup will not change dramatically in the next decade but a win on friday will be one of the biggest steps we can take as we show we are a step infront of hawthorn as these 2 sides of the future fight it out under the lights of the dome to prove to the footy world that they are sides to be reckoned with. It will be interesting to see such a defensive side like hawthorn against a hard and aggresive attacking side and if we stick to our one on one football that we do best we could upset the hawkers. Lets just hope we dont get to ahead of ourselves with these consecutive win and show the poise and courage that we have possessed the past 5 or so weeks. A win so such a side like the hawks who could have been top of the ladder if they had won today will do a lot for our confidence and morality as we now are finally going places. Looking forward to seeing a lot of blue on fri night! Go blues
Bluebear
10 Jun 2007, 00:55
Hawks will give us more of a contest around the stoppages, especially in our F50.......Port were a joke with their pressure there tonight.
If we can break even in the middle our forward line will cause them (and bassically every other team in the comp) headaches.........all comes down to first use.
Just pray the game isn't played under their tempo.......reckon we would win a shoot out..........but maybe not a slug fest.
Carlton seem to match up pretty well against the Hawks, so it should be a pretty good contest on Friday night. We might just be able to exploit their back half with our talls, and if we can break even with them around the stoppages and out of the centre, then we are a big chance to get 3 in a row.
Waite played on Franklin in the Wizard Cup, however, I doubt this will happen again. Thornton might get first go at him, and perhaps Saddington is an option as well.
blues4flag
10 Jun 2007, 01:49
Can't wait for the match, hopefully we can make it three in a row. :thumbsu:
Keep Waite up forward, he's been great there.
EddieBettsIsAChamp
10 Jun 2007, 02:00
This one will really be a challenger. Hopefully we can take advantage of their recent loss against Sydney.
A perfectly well set up game on FRIDAY NIGHT FOOTBALL!
as we show we are a step infront of hawthorn as these 2 sides of the future fight it out under the lights
love some of those drugs you are on
Lets just hope we dont get to ahead of ourselves with these consecutive win
might be already! 2 in a row....
A win so such a side like the hawks who could have been top of the ladder if they had won today
i thought you were a step in front of the hawks!????
shows by ladder position and teams played so far
Hawks wins
Melbourne 15th - 22 pts
Roos 8th - 21 pts
Cats 2nd - 4 pts
Essendon 5th - 35 pts
Saints 13th - 28 pts
West Coke 1st - 35 pts
Port 10th - 34 pts
losing margins - 28, 17, 16 & 9 (havent lost 2 in a row this season)
Blues wins
Tigers 16th - 17 pts
Essendon 5th - 3 pts
Dogs 9th - 10 pts
Port 10th - 39 pts
losing margins - 78, 61, 12, 43, 24, 17 & 19
Blues three biggest losing margins were against
West Coke Eagles - 61 pts, Cats - 78 pts and Saints - 43 pts, all teams we have beaten.
I am looking forward to the test of a shoot out this friday night, the blues are shaping up to be a very good unit in time to come but, sometimes it is very easy to get carried away when you string 2 wins together
Hawks can adapt to many styles of footy, not just one;)
cschreuder61
10 Jun 2007, 13:33
Tough game for us. You may be getting us at a good time, as Sydney really took the steam out of us after a tough month and it was tough game.
Be a battle of the forward lines I imagine, I think we have a few more defenders this time than last and hopefully we match up a little better than in previous years. Our defense is most improved.
A perfectly well set up game on FRIDAY NIGHT FOOTBALL! With stevens and betts out who have done most of the damage against the hawks in recent times, it will be a real experience for the likes of carrazo, murphy and blackwell and walker as they all have taken giant steps and now face responsibility of holding the load of the midfield with kouta having very limited game time due to being on the bench so often. These r the only two teams who are assured that their team lineup will not change dramatically in the next decade but a win on friday will be one of the biggest steps we can take as we show we are a step infront of hawthorn as these 2 sides of the future fight it out under the lights of the dome to prove to the footy world that they are sides to be reckoned with. It will be interesting to see such a defensive side like hawthorn against a hard and aggresive attacking side and if we stick to our one on one football that we do best we could upset the hawkers. Lets just hope we dont get to ahead of ourselves with these consecutive win and show the poise and courage that we have possessed the past 5 or so weeks. A win so such a side like the hawks who could have been top of the ladder if they had won today will do a lot for our confidence and morality as we now are finally going places. Looking forward to seeing a lot of blue on fri night! Go blues
Can't wait for this game! I think you'll find that the Hawks are an attacking side also - we just try to stop the opposition from scoring too much at the same time :D
whippersnipper
10 Jun 2007, 13:39
i thought you were a step in front of the hawks!????
shows by ladder position and teams played so far
Hawks wins
Melbourne 15th - 22 pts
Roos 8th - 21 pts
Cats 2nd - 4 pts
Essendon 5th - 35 pts
Saints 13th - 28 pts
West Coke 1st - 35 pts
Port 10th - 34 pts
losing margins - 28, 17, 16 & 9 (havent lost 2 in a row this season)
Blues wins
Tigers 16th - 17 pts
Essendon 5th - 3 pts
Dogs 9th - 10 pts
Port 10th - 39 pts
losing margins - 78, 61, 12, 43, 24, 17 & 19
Blues three biggest losing margins were against
West Coke Eagles - 61 pts, Cats - 78 pts and Saints - 43 pts, all teams we have beaten.
I am looking forward to the test of a shoot out this friday night, the blues are shaping up to be a very good unit in time to come but, sometimes it is very easy to get carried away when you string 2 wins together
Hawks can adapt to many styles of footy, not just one;)
Thanks for the statistics, but they were unnecessary. We know you have performed better than us this season, no need to pull out all the figures.
I think that Fevola will have to fire up on Friday night- it gets said time and time again, but if we are going to have a shootout with the Hawks, you can bet that Lance Franklin will help himself to a few goals down one end. We need someone to do the same at the other end- Fev is the man.
The game will be a cracker- the Hawks are a quality side, a real litmus test as to how far we have improved.
Thanks for the statistics, but they were unnecessary. We know you have performed better than us this season, no need to pull out all the figures.
I think that Fevola will have to fire up on Friday night- it gets said time and time again, but if we are going to have a shootout with the Hawks, you can bet that Lance Franklin will help himself to a few goals down one end. We need someone to do the same at the other end- Fev is the man.
The game will be a cracker- the Hawks are a quality side, a real litmus test as to how far we have improved.
sorry for the stats but trying to correct the tool that started the post with the statement of
as we show we are a step infront of hawthorn YEP!
I agree with you it will be a cracker and it will also be a good change to play a shoot out against on offensive side like the blues rather than a defensive side like the swans which really creates unatractive footy that no body likes anless you win
boozeDragon
10 Jun 2007, 14:22
looking forward to our game with you blues, should be a cracker!!!!
Waite vs Campbell Brown?
Croady vs Fev?
Franklin vs Oh'Ailpin?
Carazzo vs Sewell?
Lots to look foward to! Hopefully theres none of that hands in the back cr@p :D
bexta444
10 Jun 2007, 14:27
Who will play on Buddy and Hodge? I think these are 2 very important match up's. Last year we struggled finding the right person for Hodge and he killed us.
These Friday night matches v Hawks are becoming regular each yr in the draw and always with great crowds, really looking forward to it!! :D
stokesy
10 Jun 2007, 14:35
I think Waite/Setanta should have first crack at Franklin.
If Waite lines up on Franklin, play Setanta forward in Waite's position.
If Setanta plays on Franklin, play Waite forward.
If both fail to do the job, play Thornton on him.
We have a few options.
K.Simpson
10 Jun 2007, 15:16
Im going to stick my head out and say JORDAN BANNISTER on Buddy or Hodge, either/or.
Lets stack our forward line and see what happens... should be a cracker
Gee Hawthorn match up well against us though...
Mitchell is a similar but better version of Bentick
Hodge over Murphy
Sewell over Carazzo
Buddy over Waite
They seem a very similar team in structure to us, only 1-2 years ahead in development. I don't think the teams are far apart, but our only clear win IMO is Fev. If he has a blinder, we can be a chance. Otherwise, I'm not sure...
Good to see you guys doing well. Big Vic club without the Collingwood arrogance. Keep it up!
Cheers! :thumbsu:
Go The Mores # 2
10 Jun 2007, 19:15
sorry for the stats but trying to correct the tool that started the post with the statement of
as we show we are a step infront of hawthorn YEP!
Mate let it go there a fkn good side and so are we. It WILL be a shootout. We dont flood the other teams do it to us. We get the jump on them so they flood up and try and stop us. You guys wont do that coz ur coach isnt a moron so it will be an absolute cracker. You blokes trying to stop buddy and boyle and we will have our work cut out stopping fev waite and fisher. bloody good game coming up
Barry Zuckercorn QC
10 Jun 2007, 23:05
This one will really be a challenger. Hopefully we can take advantage of their recent loss against Sydney.
I would have preferred that they werent on the rebound.
Jeremias
10 Jun 2007, 23:11
I would have preferred that they werent on the rebound.
Me too, but either way I'm reasonably confident that we can match them.
walkers a legend
10 Jun 2007, 23:21
Im going to stick my head out and say JORDAN BANNISTER on Buddy or Hodge, either/or.
Lets stack our forward line and see what happens... should be a crackergreat idea banno on hodge aftr he did so well on cornes and jonno
Me too, but either way I'm reasonably confident that we can match them.
i agree that we can match hawthorn. we can match anyone on any day. just a matter of the mind.
Bluebear
10 Jun 2007, 23:58
Banno on hodge would be good, but please keep him away from Buddy........would kill him overhead IMO.
Bentick on Mitchell
If Hodge plays back.....Hoops in his McLeod/Cornes "Ill kill ya if you're unaccountable on me" role?
If we get first use and an early lead start building an ark.............;)
philhawk
11 Jun 2007, 03:25
I'd love to see Browny up against Fev.
Keeping Fev to 2-3 goals is a 'win' in my books, given just how good he is. If Browny can hold him to just that, i'll be very, very happy.
Containing Waite, Whitnall and Fisher up forward is going to prove a massive headache as well.
Waite vs ... Croad?
Fisher vs ... Jacobs?
Whitnall vs Gilham?
What's more, we need to make sure we don't get raise the blood pressure of that crazy Irishman!
He's quickly becoming a talisman for the team's chances!
philhawk
11 Jun 2007, 03:26
Also, who will Gibbs get the job on most likely?
I hear he did a great job on Ebert last weekend. Will be play down back this week possibly?
I dont see him lining up on Boyle, Franklin or Roughie, maybe Young or even Crawf (if he plays forward)?
Im with KSimpson..play Bannister on Hodge or Franklin he has taken a few good scalps in the last 2 weeks ie Johnson and Chad Cornes. Alot has been said about who will play on Franklin, but who are they going to play on Waite? he is in just as good form as Franklin at the moment so thats their headache with maybe Croad to go to him then there is Fev and Fisher to worry about.
Should be a great match both sides in good form.
Both sides are going to kick lots of goals. Carlton have been doing it all year its just a matter if you can stop the bleeding at the other end.
Our tall forwards will be a handfull for an undermaned backline, but then again Fev has been quiet, which scares me a little. Is he injured?
Hope to see a high quality game, silence a few people who say both sides are full of themselves in terms of development.
Good luck, heres hoping you need luck and that it doen't come.
PS. possibility of more than 40 goals being kicked for the match
Jeremias
11 Jun 2007, 18:29
Both sides are going to kick lots of goals. Carlton have been doing it all year its just a matter if you can stop the bleeding at the other end.
Our tall forwards will be a handfull for an undermaned backline, but then again Fev has been quiet, which scares me a little. Is he injured?
Hope to see a high quality game, silence a few people who say both sides are full of themselves in terms of development.
Good luck, heres hoping you need luck and that it doen't come.
PS. possibility of more than 40 goals being kicked for the match
Yes, he has been injured-he has a badly bruised foot. He will play though.
We have kicked 43 goals in the last 2 weeks, and Fev has kicked only 3 of them. We don't rely on him for goals as much, which is good to see. He will still take the best defender, and will get double and triple teamed. He's playing as a decoy forward.
Cannot wait for this game!
Banno on Hodge sounds good, wouldn't want him on Franklin though.
murphy_3
11 Jun 2007, 19:19
hopefully blues can beet hawks, then it will be 3 in a row!!!:)
Team Mo'
11 Jun 2007, 20:01
Should be a great game. We will win if franklin is contained
Don't forget Boyle!
I went to a shocking Hawks v Blues games on a Friday at TD a few years ago. I need this game to make up for it - and I think that it will.
EddieBettsIsAChamp
15 Jun 2007, 17:40
Go The Baggers!