View Full Version : To the grannies behind Bay 114
Mr_Smooth
10 Jun 2007, 17:19
http://www.225.ca/ivan/nov03/crybaby.jpg
FU and your "expensive" tickets!!!:thumbsd:
Bay 114 was a little less of a success today, with the redcoats threatening to kick us all out if we didn't sit down
great voice by all again though, much credit to gets! as usual :thumbsu:
kimirocks
10 Jun 2007, 17:25
That's terrible to hear. FU Grannies. Heard you all loud and clear over the wireless. Well done boys (and girls).
crows98
10 Jun 2007, 17:30
I heard the Van Berloooooooooo echo on the other side of the stadium today just after he slotted his first goal during the first quarter. :thumbsu:
haywood jablome
10 Jun 2007, 17:32
http://www.ehponline.org/docs/2005/113-2/crybaby.jpg
FU and your "expensive" tickets!!!:thumbsd:
Bay 114 was a little less of a success today, with the redcoats threatening to kick us all out if we didn't sit down
great voice by all again though, much credit to gets! as usual :thumbsu:
:D:D:D Your own supporters telling you to sit down hahaha :thumbsu:
Mr_Smooth
10 Jun 2007, 17:32
haywood you STFU!
apollo_creed
10 Jun 2007, 17:47
'The Guns' getting rifled by prehistoric women.
Dandy_GO
10 Jun 2007, 17:51
They called the fuzz on us.
If I worked at their nursing homes I'd cancel their day-leave indefinately.
Next time I'm going to lodge a formal complaint with a redcoat that their perms are too high and I "can't see the boundary".
Mr_Smooth
10 Jun 2007, 17:52
on a side note
I JUST HEARD US VERY CLEARLY ON TELLY!!!!
(the here we go here we go jericho chant, was crystal clear!!)
apollo_creed
10 Jun 2007, 18:21
Y2J! Y2J!
Ever since Jericho lost those sexy blonde locks I'm no longer a fan. :thumbsd:
NikkiNoo
10 Jun 2007, 18:26
Is that what they did? I wondered why there was the complaints that sent the red coat to us 2 minutes into the match, when they were ok with people standing during the previous game.
I actually know one of the women sitting up there so I might have to have a little chat next time I see her. :mad:
Mr_Smooth
10 Jun 2007, 18:28
Is that what they did? I wondered why there was the complaints that sent the red coat to us 2 minutes into the match, when they were ok with people standing during the previous game.
I actually know one of the women sitting up there so I might have to have a little chat next time I see her. :mad:
they couldn't see the boundry
true story!!! :eek:
NikkiNoo
10 Jun 2007, 18:30
I think it is a corporate area that is normally part of the members, possibly TAB use it, so that explains a lot.
kimirocks
10 Jun 2007, 18:31
I think the club might want to have a bit of a chat to the SANFL and the Red Coats, because it's just not on. If the grannies actually decided to drop the mittens and booties, and actually supported the club LIKE THEY SHOULD BE, Bay 114 probably wouldn't exist, solely because it wouldn't be needed, because AAMI would be a fortress. The thing is it's not a fortress, today being the perfect example. Slowly, it is becoming the home away from home for the interstate teams, and if the grannies realised this, they might actually join in. But they won't because they are dense halfwits.
Mr_Smooth
10 Jun 2007, 18:34
I think the club might want to have a bit of a chat to the SANFL and the Red Coats, because it's just not on. If the grannies actually decided to drop the mittens and booties, and actually supported the club LIKE THEY SHOULD BE, Bay 114 probably wouldn't exist, solely because it wouldn't be needed, because AAMI would be a fortress. The thing is it's not a fortress, today being the perfect example. Slowly, it is becoming the home away from home for the interstate teams, and if the grannies realised this, they might actually join in. But they won't because they are dense halfwits.
the little old women were getting stuck into kitch at one stage just after said threatening to kick out
went something like we paid a lot of money for these tickets
he replied with we were given the tickets by the club
the look was priceless!! :thumbsu:
NikkiNoo
10 Jun 2007, 18:38
ROFL - I think I might need to come and stand with you guys next time instead of sitting down the end.
Pity about the result but it was a lot of fun, although I did think we got a little quiet at one stage in the last quarter.
Plus there was the classic joke about Ling :D
Made more noise than the cheersquad again :thumbsu:
maccas_no1
10 Jun 2007, 18:42
Great work guys could hear you loud and clear on the TV coverage............and if the grannies are complaining then you are doing a great job because those are the types we need to get rid of................if it becomes and uninviting enviroment then they will reconsider their memberships in future season and will go to someone hopefully with alot more passion and support then the knitting club that frequents AAMI
EddieBettsIsAChamp
Old people are funny:P
maccas_no1
The Cheersquad blows......they are a bunch of old knitting nannies themselves:thumbsd:
I reckon I only heard them once today, and I sit closer to them than bay 114.
crows98
10 Jun 2007, 18:48
Serious question – were they at the game today?
FFS I cannot remember seeing them.
Mr_Smooth
10 Jun 2007, 18:50
Serious question – were they at the game today?
FFS I cannot remember seeing them.
i think they paraded themselves around the ground before the game
kimirocks
10 Jun 2007, 18:50
the little old women were getting stuck into kitch at one stage just after said threatening to kick out
went something like we paid a lot of money for these tickets
he replied with we were given the tickets by the club
the look was priceless!! :thumbsu:I don't think they know who they are messing with. Kitch = Gun of the utmost gunness.
Gold. :thumbsu:
crows98
10 Jun 2007, 18:52
i think they paraded themselves around the ground before the game
Na that was the country supporter groups.
Mr_Smooth
10 Jun 2007, 18:55
Na that was the country supporter groups.
i said to someone today, with the country round theme this week, if it was a real country atmosphere, the feral cat that was parading around the ground before the game would have been shot!!!!
maccas_no1
10 Jun 2007, 19:08
I reckon I only heard them once today, and I sit closer to them than bay 114.
I didnt hear them at all............time for a huge rival 'outter cheersquad to form out of Bay 114 mob...........now that would be cool:cool:
BockPorplyziaFC
10 Jun 2007, 19:18
Was at the exact opposite side of bay 114 today but could hear most of the big chants clearly, especially the Van Berlooooooooooooooooo's lol Good work.
Definently didnt hear anything specific from the other areas of the ground. You get the feeling some of these people would want a no speaking too loudly rule.
raboyle
10 Jun 2007, 19:28
Their time is coming to an end... they are the disease, we are the cure.
the one thing about the grannies... they will die alot sooner than you guys!
you just have to wait it out
lol
Stenglein's a Champ!
10 Jun 2007, 19:51
Do you guys have some BigFooty cheersquad thing?
NikkiNoo
10 Jun 2007, 19:59
The footy club has provided an opportunity for some like minded supporters to sit together (or stand as the mood takes you ;) ) so that we can all make noise together. The main kudos need to go to Gets! and the footy club.
Haha Grannies and religion. The cause of all the worlds problems.
Bay 114 :p
http://www.teefoley.com/granny1.jpg
Lunchlady Doris
10 Jun 2007, 20:44
i said to someone today, with the country round theme this week, if it was a real country atmosphere, the feral cat that was parading around the ground before the game would have been shot!!!!
Not Half-Cat! Best mascot in the league :thumbsu:
kimirocks
10 Jun 2007, 20:46
Thats you 4359 isn't it PAF.
Vic Crow
10 Jun 2007, 21:22
I watched the first half of the game from a pub today (and had to go to an ice hockey game for the second half) and there was music on as well as people talking all around but I could still hear the VAAAAN BERLOOOOOOO chants on the coverage.
Dandy_GO
10 Jun 2007, 21:26
Just thought I'd say good job to everybody. We were very very loud again - my old man across on the other wing could hear our chants - particularly VAAAN BERRRLLOOOO, and I could hear our work several times on TV as well.
I've had the flu all week, and I got about 2 hours sleep last night (lost track of time at a party the night before, and had to get up at 4.30 for work), but luckily I was able to contribute I think. Was really really dizzy by the end of the game though and my voice is still munted. It's hard not to get very very into it when I'm standing with you all though - hopefully that feeling can spread throughout the ground.
I must say that I reckon it's awesome that of all our chants, the most audible one is the one dedicated to the great man.
writeoff
10 Jun 2007, 22:10
I didn't think that the VAN BERL LOOOWWW chant was louder than the rest. Maybe people aer getting confused with COME ON YOU CROOOWSS.
Or maybe the great man amplifies the soundwaves created when stating his name so it becomes a war cry that strikes fear into all opposition (and other religions).
Just thought I'd say good job to everybody. We were very very loud again - my old man across on the other wing could hear our chants - particularly VAAAN BERRRLLOOOO, and I could hear our work several times on TV as well.
I've had the flu all week, and I got about 2 hours sleep last night (lost track of time at a party the night before, and had to get up at 4.30 for work), but luckily I was able to contribute I think. Was really really dizzy by the end of the game though and my voice is still munted. It's hard not to get very very into it when I'm standing with you all though - hopefully that feeling can spread throughout the ground.
I must say that I reckon it's awesome that of all our chants, the most audible one is the one dedicated to the great man.
Well done to all. I think we did a fantastic job regardless of the circumstances and outcome. Thought the boys did really well. Much more improvement to come!
I really do think we are starting to make a difference. Remember there will be plenty of resistance along the way but we will push though.
Again fantasic effort. My arms are sore from waiving that massive flag. Loved it though :thumbsu:
Can i just say top effort to all involved. Was funny to see confused old people around me trying to work out what all the noise was about.
The chants the flags and banners are a real winner. I would love to see the continued support from the club. If i can ever be stuffed getting off my lazy arse id like to run amok with you all.
Infact count me in for the next one :thumbsu:
King Elvis
10 Jun 2007, 23:04
Hahah, yea, the old bird yelled at me and my friend - we turned around and she said "Tell all of your friends to sit down, we paid a lot more for out tickets than you did, and we can't see the boundary line!!"
I said "Who cares about the stupid boundary line, you wont miss anything!!"
And my mate said; "Yea, you did pay more than us, the Club gave us our tickets for free because they want us to cheer and make noise!"
Then we ignored them.
We weren't abusive or rude or anything, but bloody hell, having a whinge because you can't see a little bit of the boundary line? Why go to the footy, just stay at home next time!
And the first redcoat actually seemed a bit torn as to what to do, he initially demanded we all sit down, but then revised it to we could all stand up, but not in our seats.
Anyway - forgetting the loss, I think we did a pretty reasonable job - we were pretty loud and proud almost non stop.
Also; were the two Mothers sitting on the aisle with their kids from BigFooty at all? They really got into it.
ams4crows
10 Jun 2007, 23:28
It was fantastic!! It was a shame we couldn't all stand cos when we did we had a massive presence!!
And too the granny behind us hand in your membership you don't desreve to go If you complain about someone supporting your club just because you can't see the boundry line!!
Well Done to all!! Fantastic Day even if the result didn't go our way!
When are they gonna ask us to hold up the banner and line up and let the crows run between us? cos not to be cocky or anything but we are doing a hell of a lot better then the "Offical" cheersquad" Where were they when the game was in the balance hmm?
King Elvis
10 Jun 2007, 23:30
Only disappointment today was that I only really met Gets! and Mr Smooth - not a disappointment meeting them because they both seemed like great blokes, but that I didn't meet more of you.
Seanason
10 Jun 2007, 23:31
Please tell me, does the rock that you live under have cheap rent?
Seanason
10 Jun 2007, 23:52
Also; were the two Mothers sitting on the aisle with their kids from BigFooty at all? They really got into it, and they were also hot for ladies of a certain age ;)
Ummmmmmm i believe one is a certain mod - i think. Im still new here.
Personally, myself and a few others had a soft spot because the old ladies couldnt see the game - i thought it was fair. But when they said they couldnt see the boundary was just bloody hilarious.
As i said in the other thread - i only saw the first 2 minutes on the telly but VB's 1st set shot (the one that fell short) you could clearly hear us.
I await the input of the club because i think Redcoats/Grannies may have said something to the club - but we wont get this until tuesday because of the extra day.
NikkiNoo
11 Jun 2007, 00:22
Also; were the two Mothers sitting on the aisle with their kids from BigFooty at all? They really got into it.
If you mean the two women with children sitting down the end near the goals then yes both frequent bigfooty but only one is a mother ;) :D
King Elvis
11 Jun 2007, 00:24
If you mean the two women with children sitting down the end near the goals then yes both frequent bigfooty but only one is a mother ;) :D
That'd be them - loved your enthusiasm :)
NikkiNoo
11 Jun 2007, 00:32
Your welcome - I told you guys that I could be loud too, but you didn't believe me....
Maybe now you will also believe me about a guys ability to dance ;)
Sanguinarius
11 Jun 2007, 00:36
sorry I couldnt make it today guys, but I'll be there next time!!
I could hear you guys on the little bit of the game that I saw, excellent work, gun effort.
if thats true about the redcoats and grannies that thats shit. absolute bollocks :thumbsd: :mad:
King Elvis
11 Jun 2007, 00:54
Your welcome - I told you guys that I could be loud too, but you didn't believe me....
Maybe now you will also believe me about a guys ability to dance ;)
You were with the young fella with the "Bode Rules!" banner?
Considering Bodey is out for the season, you might have to get the sewing machine out and make him a new one.
peterss
11 Jun 2007, 01:02
I could hear you guys on TV today
GREAT WORK!
Keep it up!
King Elvis
11 Jun 2007, 01:14
I could hear you guys on TV today
GREAT WORK!
Keep it up!
Praise from the enemy? ;)
Dandy_GO
11 Jun 2007, 01:24
I didn't think that the VAN BERL LOOOWWW chant was louder than the rest.
Or maybe the great man amplifies the soundwaves created when stating his name so it becomes a war cry that strikes fear into all opposition (and other religions).
Aye, that's just it - I didn't think it was louder either, but my old man across the other side said he could hear that one in particular very clearly, and when I watched the game on TV when I got home it was definately the loudest and clearest. I don't think there is any plausible explaination beyond the one you've offered for that.
brucetiki
11 Jun 2007, 01:49
I await the input of the club because i think Redcoats/Grannies may have said something to the club - but we wont get this until tuesday because of the extra day.
I hope the club tells the grannies to go get stuffed (or better still, tell them to surrender their tickets) because they're the reason why visiting teams feel comfortable at AAMI. Honestly I don't want that type at our games. If we get rid of the grannies and replace them with genuine supporters of the side, then we could make AAMI more intimidating than Subi.
I could do a plea to the grannies to go away, but they probably wouldn't even know what a computer is so couldn't read it.
Again, I could hear you guys clearly from up in the new stand. Once again well done.
bobshoby
11 Jun 2007, 04:03
If we did that up in the members we'd be beaten to death in a storm of canes in 10 seconds flat. It is frustrating that Port's mob, small though it is, can be way louder than 10k more crows fans.
NikkiNoo
11 Jun 2007, 08:19
Considering Bodey is out for the season, you might have to get the sewing machine out and make him a new one.
Yep I was sitting next to that quiet young fella. See he was just showing Bodey that even though he is out for a while that he still loves him ;) We support our players if they are on the field or not.
Don't own a sewing machine btw.
haywood jablome
11 Jun 2007, 08:31
Yep I was sitting next to that quiet young fella. See he was just showing Bodey that even though he is out for a while that he still loves him ;) We support our players if they are on the field or not.
Don't own a sewing machine btw.
Ask the grannies to fix it for you :p
Thats you 4359 isn't it PAF.
Nah. I only own two wigs, one is bright red and the other green and gold. :)
Robfan100
11 Jun 2007, 09:18
Have tried convincing him to get a new one "Roo Rules" or something similar - but he won't have a bar of it. The only new one he wants is "The Bodeinator".
Had a fantastic time - kids absolutely loved it (as did I). Looking forward to the next one - apologies to anyone who was unfortunate enough to hear my son's (Matt's) Cameron Ling joke - it was pretty lame - and very accurate!!!:D
Glad to see we got noticed - and someone thought we were hot!!!
Thanks for organising the seats NN.
As if those grannies were complaining that they couldn't see the boudnary line! :thumbsd: The majority of people at AAMI Stadium can't see every inch of the boundary line, boo hoo :rolleyes:
Are you guys going to wheel out the CRO - OWS! *clap* *clap* *clap* CRO - OWS! cheer?
That is easily the best....
King Elvis
11 Jun 2007, 12:16
Have tried convincing him to get a new one "Roo Rules" or something similar - but he won't have a bar of it. The only new one he wants is "The Bodeinator".
Had a fantastic time - kids absolutely loved it (as did I). Looking forward to the next one - apologies to anyone who was unfortunate enough to hear my son's (Matt's) Cameron Ling joke - it was pretty lame - and very accurate!!!:D
Glad to see we got noticed - and someone thought we were hot!!!
Thanks for organising the seats NN.
What was the Lingy joke?
We were calling him 'Handsome' all game, and making references to daywalking Gingers.
And you've got to respect the young fellas commitment then.
I love the 'Van Babies' and the (VB) Banners.
Blue Red and Gold
11 Jun 2007, 12:25
What was the Lingy joke?
We were calling him 'Handsome' all game, and making references to daywalking Gingers.
And you've got to respect the young fellas commitment then.
I love the 'Van Babies' and the (VB) Banners.
what is the difference between Cameron Ling and a brick?
A brick gets laid.
bradism
11 Jun 2007, 12:26
Sounds like you guys should all dress up as grannies and bring knitting to the next one.
Seanason
11 Jun 2007, 12:33
what is the difference between Cameron Ling and a brick?
A brick gets laid.
LOL
Oh My God - I just thoguht what we should have doen when asked to sit down.
Face the grannies behind us - STAND UUUUPPP FOR THE ADELAIDE!
Why did no-one out of 40 people not think of it?
brucetiki
11 Jun 2007, 13:31
As if those grannies were complaining that they couldn't see the boudnary line! :thumbsd: The majority of people at AAMI Stadium can't see every inch of the boundary line, boo hoo :rolleyes:
I'd hate to see the grannies in the higer tiers of the Telstra Dome where part of the boundary line is obscured - they'd probably request that they take away that part of the stadium so they can see the boundary line.
dyertribe
11 Jun 2007, 13:41
Another top outing from Bay 114.
Sidebar - give Phillip Nitschke and Jack Kevorkian free rein.
Pity about the result but I had fun.
Thanks to all for coming :thumbsu:
Southerntakeover
11 Jun 2007, 16:05
I turned around to the Grannies after every goal.
Not one of them clapped once. :thumbsd:
ICanDressMyself
11 Jun 2007, 17:01
Good effort by all, those old bastards need to take a serious look at themselves. Was good fun :thumbsu:
apollo_creed
11 Jun 2007, 17:49
You should ask yourself, what would Commando have done?
better yet. maybe not.
dyertribe
11 Jun 2007, 17:50
You should ask yourself, what would Commando have done?
He'd have ripped the passenger seat out of the nearest Camry and got NikkiNoo to drive him to a seaplane, for a start.
Sanguinarius
11 Jun 2007, 23:35
on the upside I think we found out where "the egg" sits (or whatever his name was....) :thumbsd:
Mr_Smooth
12 Jun 2007, 09:50
on the upside I think we found out where "the egg" sits (or whatever his name was....) :thumbsd:
was it behind us????
Seanason
12 Jun 2007, 10:00
Ok everyone, lets put down our pitchforks and torches.
If we want to find the egg, we must think like the Egg.
King Elvis
12 Jun 2007, 10:15
Ok everyone, lets put down our pitchforks and torches.
If we want to find the egg, we must think like the Egg.
I don't know if I can force myself to be attracted to other men.
Anyway - on the older ladies; we don't want to piss anyone around us off, maybe we need to try and get them on board? Obviously they wouldn't go as mental as we're trying to, but if they could at worst tolerate us, and at best support us, it'd be a good thing.
writeoff
12 Jun 2007, 16:06
Anyway - on the older ladies; we don't want to piss anyone around us off, maybe we need to try and get them on board? Obviously they wouldn't go as mental as we're trying to, but if they could at worst tolerate us, and at best support us, it'd be a good thing.
I completely agree. The idea is for us to get others to join in and make the entire crowd louder - not piss people off and make them not want to go to the footy anymore. Hell if we can make the grannies laugh and join in with our antics maybe they'll bring milk and cookies for us :D
Seanason
12 Jun 2007, 16:27
Id rather not piss them off, next time i might get a set of knitting needles to the spine. They get rather narky when you mess around with thier football game.
Markthirtytwo
12 Jun 2007, 17:14
Why don't you try a get a bit of banter going before the game.
Tell them what you are about and you have club sanctioned tickets to create a bit of noise going during the game. You're not there to upset anyone.
Her highness NN might be a good ambassadoress :) for you.
Blue Red and Gold
12 Jun 2007, 17:21
Why don't you try a get a bit of banter going before the game.
Tell them what you are about and you have club sanctioned tickets to create a bit of noise going during the game. You're not there to upset anyone.
Her highness NN might be a good ambassadoress :) for you.
we didnt get a chance to, the red coats/security and even the police were in our ear before the game had even started.
Blue Red and Gold
12 Jun 2007, 17:22
we do want to engage them and get them to join in with us, but judging by the sour looks on their faces showed they were not interested.
Seanason
12 Jun 2007, 17:40
It is part of the members reserve. Very pricy tickets. Send over one of the female members to make some convo with the older guys then whent he older guys start the grannies will as well.
NikkiNoo
12 Jun 2007, 18:16
I actually know one of them, so I might be of use to you guys at the next game. :p
I can head over a bit earlier so we can have a bit of a chat with them prior to the next game if you like.
Southerntakeover
12 Jun 2007, 19:05
Yeah, that would be good Nikki.
We're inbetween a rock and a hard place here. On one level, the last thing we want to do us alienate and upset the other people, or ruin their football experience. Unfortunately, if they believe that making noise is going to ruin their football experience, we have differences that cant be reconcilled. We're there to make noise, and wont be bullied out of it by a bunch of old people.
King Elvis
12 Jun 2007, 19:18
Yeah, that would be good Nikki.
We're inbetween a rock and a hard place here. On one level, the last thing we want to do us alienate and upset the other people, or ruin their football experience. Unfortunately, if they believe that making noise is going to ruin their football experience, we have differences that cant be reconcilled. We're there to make noise, and wont be bullied out of it by a bunch of old people.
True - but you know what a lot of older people are like, they think anyone in their teens/twenties is just there to get drunk and start fights.
If we could have a chat with them and let them know what we're about, and show them that we're a pretty decent bunch of people, then maybe they could grow to support us.
I think having NNoo go over and have a chat to them would be a great idea - maybe even with one of the boys from the actual Club itself?
I'm glad we're all on the same page though - we don't want it to end because the Club is forced to choose sides between us and long term Members. And I sincerely don't want us to be annoying other supporters - I know some will dislike what we're doing purely because they want to sit their quietly, but if other supporters can at least tolerate us, we should be alright.
Sanguinarius
13 Jun 2007, 02:01
I'm nominating nikkinoo for saint-hood. :thumbsu:
Vic Crow
13 Jun 2007, 09:46
I'm nominating nikkinoo for saint-hood. :thumbsu:
Admin duties! :p:D
NikkiNoo
13 Jun 2007, 10:18
Admin duties! :p:D
You'll keep! :p Just remember that if it wasn't for me you would have missed the great man in the shed....
Vic Crow
13 Jun 2007, 10:25
You'll keep! :p Just remember that if it wasn't for me you would have missed the great man in the shed....
I didn't know that I could get so drunk that I couldn't feel his aura.
CarnCrows
13 Jun 2007, 13:22
Well done peoples, great noise (from watching TV).
With the oldies, it is hard as they are probably stuck in their ways.
For a 114 rep to go up alone and talk may not help as only a minority will listen or agree. However if accompanied by say an injured player or AFC rep then this should get their attention.
All they need to know is that this is an attempt by the club to generate more noise/atmosphere and it is NOT supposed to be hostile/threatening to patrons.
I think the extra presence of red-coats will help as will sitting down during normal play. Changing attitudes takes time and a bit of give and take.
Maybe it could also change to different bays after a period of say 3 matches.
splat868
13 Jun 2007, 14:05
At the end of the day, It doesnt really matter if people are standing or sitting for most of the game, the chants can still continue and worked really well. sitting down doesn't stop people from supporting and make a huge amount of noise Its probably better to keep people on side as has already been said.
I cant see that the grannies would have an excuse to get upset if we all jump up when a goal is scored or when something major happens, the best supporters in the crowd do it anyway.
The worst thing that could happen if enough people complain is that the club would withdraw its support, and thats the last thing we want to happen.
having joined the group for the first time on the weekend, I would say that that would be an absolute disaster. I enjoyed myself more at that game than I have in a long time. it was just superb to be in a group of people that want to make some noise and support the club as oposed to most of the so called supporters elsewhere around the ground.
well done all
Seanason
13 Jun 2007, 16:54
At the end of the day, It doesnt really matter if people are standing or sitting for most of the game, the chants can still continue and worked really well. sitting down doesn't stop people from supporting and make a huge amount of noise Its probably better to keep people on side as has already been said.
I cant see that the grannies would have an excuse to get upset if we all jump up when a goal is scored or when something major happens, the best supporters in the crowd do it anyway.
The worst thing that could happen if enough people complain is that the club would withdraw its support, and thats the last thing we want to happen.
having joined the group for the first time on the weekend, I would say that that would be an absolute disaster. I enjoyed myself more at that game than I have in a long time. it was just superb to be in a group of people that want to make some noise and support the club as oposed to most of the so called supporters elsewhere around the ground.
well done all
Standing up is nto to be compromised. However, i am happy to stand behind Row Z - provided no-one is sitting in the seats (im not the tallest person around.
This will not be a problem when we grow so large that we occupy an enitre bay.
King Elvis
13 Jun 2007, 18:49
Standing up is nto to be compromised. However, i am happy to stand behind Row Z - provided no-one is sitting in the seats (im not the tallest person around.
Soon my friend, soon.
splat868
14 Jun 2007, 10:30
I agree with you, standing does create more of a presence- however as it grows you will need more space, so not everyone can stand behind row z unfortunatey. The more people that get involved the better, this has been a brilliant idea.
Im not sure you will ever find a solution where everyone can stand unfortunately without getting people that complain.
If you want it to grow as fast as possible the more positive feedback you get the better. Society seems to reward the whiners more than the doers nowadays, so its better not to give too many people a reason to whine.
Southerntakeover
14 Jun 2007, 10:53
I think you're being a tad bit ridiculous with this 'not to be compromised' hardline. The simple facts are: we cant all stand in the small standing area provided, and we arent allowed to stand at our seats for a fair enough reason. In the end, if some of us have to sit, then sit we will. Theres no reason someone sitting down cant join in just as well. The whole point of this thing is to try and help the club by boosting the support level at home games, not to dig in over something so pointless. Whether its sitting/standing/balancing on a pole/being held in midair by van Berlo's powers of telekinesis we can still do what we intended our job to be.
ICanDressMyself
14 Jun 2007, 14:54
I think you're being a tad bit ridiculous with this 'not to be compromised' hardline. The simple facts are: we cant all stand in the small standing area provided, and we arent allowed to stand at our seats for a fair enough reason. In the end, if some of us have to sit, then sit we will. Theres no reason someone sitting down cant join in just as well. The whole point of this thing is to try and help the club by boosting the support level at home games, not to dig in over something so pointless. Whether its sitting/standing/balancing on a pole/being held in midair by van Berlo's powers of telekinesis we can still do what we intended our job to be.
As much as you keep thinking that sitting has the same effect as standing, you're always gona be wrong.
Southerntakeover
14 Jun 2007, 14:56
As much as you keep thinking that sitting has the same effect as standing, you're always gona be wrong.
Tell you what, you continue to stand at your seat and see how long you last.
Seanason
14 Jun 2007, 15:03
Passion while standing > Passion while sitting.
Hell if people want to sit down its up to them - but i dont think i could go back to sitting down.
Southerntakeover
14 Jun 2007, 15:10
Passion while standing > Passion while sitting.
Hell if people want to sit down its up to them - but i dont think i could go back to sitting down.
Neither you or ICDM are addressing the full issue though.
Standing may be the preferred option, unfortunately its not a practical one for the whole operation, as we found out on sunday. I dont agree with the statement that you have to be standing to get into it, otherwise the whole exercise is pointless. We arent going to get 50 000 standing at a home game, its impossible. If you want to limit the range of this thing to standing only, you are setting a very very very very small potential for it.
ICanDressMyself
14 Jun 2007, 15:13
Tell you what, you continue to stand at your seat and see how long you last.
Why do you want to sit? What does it do exactly? Do you get more pumped up sitting or standing? Can you get to the bar quicker by sitting or standing? Can you be seen more by sitting or standing?
I'm not saying lets force people to stand but anyone who wants this Bay 114 thing to work, standing is the way to go.
I know you wont agree because you think you're always right but I think the majority would agree with me.