View Full Version : game thoughts
pinkus maximus
10 Jun 2007, 21:21
-the game started at 2:40 not 3:10
-robert warnock will make it at this level
-discipline is still a problem
-ibbo didnt do a lot but he should stay in the side
-mundy should play forward more often
They were primed for this, there are no easy games these days, especially against 25 men.
Really impressed with Warnock , He may have to do it on his own next week with 211 pulling a groin.
Ibbo got into the game as it went on - another week for sure.
Stronzo
10 Jun 2007, 21:27
Warnock was very good, was Sandilands injured? I reckon Sandi will have to perform with warnock there, I can see Warnock moving ahead of sandilands.
- Umpiring was disgraceful.
- Peter Bell is a champ.
- Thornton and Mundy looked good forward.
- Thank god we won.
Stronzo
10 Jun 2007, 21:29
MJ future captain.
docker_azza
10 Jun 2007, 21:40
THe opposition run out of our forward line is really killing us.
WE need to seriously rethink our strategies when the opposition are rebounding from defence and kicking in after a point.
Tighter man on man footy in our forward line and more defensive pressure. Make them have to kick the ball out of there rather then run and bounce with ridiculous ease in open space.
e10pizza
10 Jun 2007, 21:46
Thought we played too wide in the first half but straightened up in the 2nd half. Richmond could have put huge pressure on us if they kicked straighter in the first half but to the boys credit they mungrelled out a win.
Onya Ibbo, Thornton and Warney on your first goal.
dugrene
10 Jun 2007, 22:04
MJ future captain.
I've said already:cool: About the only thing that will stop him is Pav staying until he finishes his career.
As for today's game we got maggoted big time in the first half and I think that was part of the problem with how our guys played.
Solly was great. I watch him pretty close for a while and he takes as much as he gives.
Mundy looked like he was jogging everywhere. Thing is I reckon he jogs a 100metres under 11 secs.
Tarrant while not kicking goals plays smart footy and knows how a forward line works, as result he is pretty much indispensable.
Richmond played as I thought they would. Came out with nothing to lose and everything to gain as result they looked good. Dunno what Wally was trying to prove by delaying re entering the ground at the end of half time. (tool)
Warnock should be looking at consecutive games. (about 200)
Peake 'can' kick straight :D
Macca played like a man posessed in the clinches.
Warnock is going to be good. Ibbo not out of his depth.
Mundy makes a good forward. Thornts was good too.
Pav dropped a few marks in the first half but came good when it counted.
Josh Carr was awesome.
Mathew Carr no longer has the reflexes or skills required for AFL.
raffrox
10 Jun 2007, 22:19
Warnock definitely impressed me.
Why has no one mentioned Des yet?
We would have lost if it wasn't for him. Great game Dessy.
dominguez
10 Jun 2007, 22:19
Don't know what the free kick count and the clearance stats were, but we seemed to get murdered in both.
Interesting forward structure in the second half with 3 defenders inside 50- Thornton, Solomon, Mundy (not criticising, just surprised to see that).
dominguez
10 Jun 2007, 22:20
Warnock definitely impressed me.
Dessie was great. I've been his only supporter for ages, hopefully the rest of you can see it now. ;) :D :p
An interesting thought. Most teams are trying to get goal kicking midfielders. Freo are always different, the goal kicking defenders.
dugrene
10 Jun 2007, 22:24
I gave him 4 votes :) Didnt think to mention him here.
Dessie was great. I've been his only supporter for ages, hopefully the rest of you can see it now. ;) :D :p
ROFLMAO. :thumbsu:
nezasaur
10 Jun 2007, 22:25
warnock got his first goal on debut :)
I try not to be critical of the umpiring on freo and I think it's been alright this year, but in the first half I really thought we were getting killed.
I thought most of our players looked good today. Ibbotson didn't get too much of the ball but he looked classy when he did. Peake's disposal was good and he is amazingly fast. I've gone off matthew carr but I think he was alright today, him and walker had some good bits of play.
Soloman is a good player but he is so undisciplined. Something needs to be done about it or he could be a liability in a finals game (if we make it). Richmond did very well for themselves in picking up polak, got them out of jail many times. The move did him well, I hope he becomes a gun.
There was a period of doubt today, but I was sure we would win from the middle of the second quarter.
Stronzo
10 Jun 2007, 22:25
I reckon that was about the most possesions that Polhack has ever got on Subi.
inferno66
10 Jun 2007, 22:27
Warney kicked his first goal against Brisbane :). I reckon Warney can kick a goal or two. He should be given some time in the forward line.
dominguez
10 Jun 2007, 22:29
I've gone off matthew carr but I think he was alright today, him and walker had some good bits of play.
They got a bit of it, but seemed to get a lot of possessions at half forward. If there are two guys you don't want trying to hit a target inside 50 it's Walker and Matt Carr.
chook2734
10 Jun 2007, 22:30
Don't know what the free kick count and the clearance stats were, but we seemed to get murdered in both.
Interesting forward structure in the second half with 3 defenders inside 50- Thornton, Solomon, Mundy (not criticising, just surprised to see that).
We seemed to cope with the flood a bit better when we manned their extra defenders up. I thought it was pretty funny to have players like Mundy and Thornton sitting up forward kicking goals - kind of defeats the purpose of extra men down there doesn't it?
We desperately need to find out what is behind the slow starts (or probably delayed might be a better word). If we can start playing from the first bounce, we just might give this competition a shake.
Des was awesome - he played his role to perfection today.
I reckon Wallet must be the most gutless coach going around at the moment - he talked Polly up all week, but didn't have the faith in him to give him a crack on Pav.
dominguez
10 Jun 2007, 22:31
Warney kicked his first goal against Brisbane :). I reckon Warney can kick a goal or two. He should be given some time in the forward line.
He was positioned in the goal square for most of the first quarter, but unfortunately our midfielders didn't arrive until 3pm so his opportunities were limited.
krustyman
10 Jun 2007, 22:34
I think freo are in a bit of trouble unless there is a dramatic improvement. tigers arent exactly crash hot this season with the side being so piece meal, and freo should have thumped them out of the ground well before the last quarter. The start was the reverse of last weeks game against the pies.
macka6210
10 Jun 2007, 22:37
Firstly good win and the way that results went elswhere really did help us out . While ill admit dessie had a good game the challenge for him is to do have games of that quality more often, his form is a bit up and down. I think it also shows the advantage of recruiting some young players with a bit of pace. Richmonds run was the perfect way to play a ground like subi and when rains and another player forgot his name sorry dashed out of defence i believe it really showed our lack of pace .
THe opposition run out of our forward line is really killing us.
WE need to seriously rethink our strategies when the opposition are rebounding from defence and kicking in after a point.
Tighter man on man footy in our forward line and more defensive pressure. Make them have to kick the ball out of there rather then run and bounce with ridiculous ease in open space.
its because all our forwards are slow. We really miss Jeffery's pressure
- We did not run hard enough to give options in first quarter
- Am sick of Freo taking it up the a%$ from the umpires. Am sure they think we are an easy touch. I accept we commit offences like all clubs. But saw at least 6 incidents at the Subiaco end that warranted free kicks that were not paid to Freo. The club need to make a stance on this. It has a massive affect of close games as seen by the extraordinary number of free kicks that West Coast are up this season and the consequential affect on them winning 4 of their 5 close games.
- Thought Richmond played really well on Pav and Tarrant in first half, wore them like gloves in one on one contests
- Pavlich lead from the front all day
- Sunday Times for their two articles on "How to beat Freo" and on how one of the players said we were going to have our biggest win of the year (obviously going to fire up the tigers) was an absolute disgrace. Shows they are now in same boat as the other biased trash rag over here as well !
- We will beat the bulldogs next week !
chook2734
10 Jun 2007, 22:44
I think freo are in a bit of trouble unless there is a dramatic improvement. tigers arent exactly crash hot this season with the side being so piece meal, and freo should have thumped them out of the ground well before the last quarter. The start was the reverse of last weeks game against the pies.
How many times have Richmond been smashed this year? Not too many by my recollection.
Why is it that a win is never good enough for Freo? Admittedly we played some pretty poor footy today, but it used to be that winning when you played poorly was just as important as winning when you play well. I think it was dom who said in another thread that the gap between our best and our worst seems to be narrowing.
We still got the 4 points and when it comes to the end of the season, that's all that will matter.
dominguez
10 Jun 2007, 22:50
I think it was dom who said in another thread that the gap between our best and our worst seems to be narrowing.
That looks way too positive for anything that I would post.
:p
They have pushed a number of teams, not just us. The Geelong game is the only one that they have lost in a huge way. Their and our form is reflected in the margin.
Look at the margins they have had this year.
Geelong -157
Port -40
Bullies - 32
Coll. -25
West Coast - 23
Fremantle - 21
Carlton -17
Sydney -16
Adelaide -9
Essendon -8
Brisbane 0
Ahem...
dominguez
10 Jun 2007, 23:25
Ahem...
My comment was tongue in cheek Lachie. Dessie was my whipping boy until I moved on to Mundy and Matt Carr.
I'm sure Gav has a big grin on his face this evening. :D
My comment was tongue in cheek Lachie. Dessie was my whipping boy until I moved on to Mundy and Matt Carr.
I'm sure Gav has a big grin on his face this evening. :D
Yeah I got that after I had posted...Vasse Felix has slowed the brain...
Dr Ralph Dagg
10 Jun 2007, 23:43
Positives
-- Warnock looks the real deal. Tried the JLo trick of not jumping twice and nearly pulled it off both times. To be 6'8"and be able to snap across his body like that is freakish. Is there any other ruckman who can pull that off.
-- Peter Bell -- oustanding.
-- Pav -- oustanding
-- Des Headland -- for all those wan*ers who think he doesn't put his head over the ball, have a look that free kick he earned to kick his 2nd or 3rd..
-- Solomon -- if you watch the tape, have a look at where he kicks the ball. Almost always makes decent contact, and kicks it to advantage. His last coach must have been really good. I think he played a part in least 4 goals today.
-- Dodd -- did he make a mistake today? Hard, disciplined, sound footy today.
-- McManus -- see Dodd. what does he have to do to earn some respect? We should nickname him Rodney Dangerfield.
-- 64 tackles
Negatives
-- I'm officially over Connolly. Look I hope we come home with a rattling run but I don't think he is the guy for the job. We cannot get our hands on the footy first. Every team puts us under pressure because we can't extract the ball. I don't think its a talent issue.
-- You can't tell me Ibbo was better than Cookie would have been.
Positives
-- Warnock looks the real deal. Tried the JLo trick of not jumping twice and nearly pulled it off both times. To be 6'8"and be able to snap across his body like that is freakish. Is there any other ruckman who can pull that off.
-- Peter Bell -- oustanding.
-- Pav -- oustanding
-- Des Headland -- for all those wan*ers who think he doesn't put his head over the ball, have a look that free kick he earned to kick his 2nd or 3rd..
-- Solomon -- if you watch the tape, have a look at where he kicks the ball. Almost always makes decent contact, and kicks it to advantage. His last coach must have been really good. I think he played a part in least 4 goals today.
-- Dodd -- did he make a mistake today? Hard, disciplined, sound footy today.
-- McManus -- see Dodd. what does he have to do to earn some respect? We should nickname him Rodney Dangerfield.
Negatives
-- I'm officially over Connolly. Look I hope we come home with a rattling run but I don't think he is the guy for the job. We cannot get our hands on the footy first. Every team puts us under pressure because we can't extract the ball. I don't think its a talent issue.
-- You can't tell me Ibbo was better than Cookie would have been.
No but he will be better for the run
Kenny_01
10 Jun 2007, 23:49
Ralph, playing Cookie is not going to get us anywhere, short or long term.
Playing Ibbo now will start paying dividends next season, and for the next 10 years.
TP3_Freo
11 Jun 2007, 00:06
I dunno if i'm alone here, but Tarrant has been doing his bit and more in this side. Yeah, his kicking isn't there at the moment, but his presence and work rate is second to none.
Little things like in the second quarter when he put his body into a contest, which squirted out to Pav, who dished it off to Dessie ,who capped off a goal impressed me and if he can get his kicking boot straight, he will be a very important player for this club in the next few years.
I have a good feeling that the guys will pick up their intensity for the rest of the season, fingers crossed anyway:thumbsu:
Reveler
11 Jun 2007, 00:09
will Richmond get fined for running overtime this week?
Bradesmaen
11 Jun 2007, 00:10
Ralph, playing Cookie is not going to get us anywhere, short or long term.
Playing Ibbo now will start paying dividends next season, and for the next 10 years.
Completely agree and although he didn't get much of the ball, when he did he looked the part. His decision to stop and kick in board was good, he didn't panic and was really good. I'm excited by him, Warnock and Collard, its just so hard to say who to leave out... Matty Carr may be on his last straw as may someone like Walker (Who I will admit had a decent game today - but he's not that good normally)
bok_party
11 Jun 2007, 00:22
Tarrant doesn't have to do anything. just being in the forward line and taking pressure of pav is already a huge help. playing team games in general is about movement too and taking players out of contests.
Happy to get the 4 points, but not a whole lot else, except a few positives on specific players (i.e Des, Pav, Warnock, Bell).
It is as clear as the nose on Bill Lawry's face that we have a discipline problem, and nothing appears to be done about it. We gave away 3 kicks due to centre square infringements. Solomon gives away a free kick, and 50 metre penalty, and subsequent goal when there's 20 seconds left in the first quarter and all Richmond were doing was running the clock down. Was he dragged? No. Did he get dragged at 1/4 time? Of course not. Can someone explain to me why?
And there were about 3 or 4 other frees we gave away just due to completely undisciplined acts, such as Pav's disallowed goal (whoever it was) and Tarrant pushing his opponent in the back off the ball, just as a Richmond player kicked the ball back to us. Crazy stuff, and completely unnecessary. If this was a one off I can forgive it, particularly against a rabble like Richmond. But it happens every week. Where does the buck stop with this?
Reveler
11 Jun 2007, 00:26
Happy to get the 4 points, but not a whole lot else, except a few positives on specific players (i.e Des, Pav, Warnock, Bell).
It is as clear as the nose on Bill Lawry's face that we have a discipline problem, and nothing appears to be done about it. We gave away 3 kicks due to centre square infringements. Solomon gives away a free kick, and 50 metre penalty, and subsequent goal when there's 20 seconds left in the first quarter and all Richmond were doing was running the clock down. Was he dragged? No. Did he get dragged at 1/4 time? Of course not. Can someone explain to me why?
And there were about 3 or 4 other frees we gave away just due to completely undisciplined acts, such as Pav's disallowed goal (whoever it was) and Tarrant pushing his opponent in the back off the ball, just as a Richmond player kicked the ball back to us. Crazy stuff, and completely unnecessary. If this was a one off I can forgive it, particularly against a rabble like Richmond. But it happens every week. Where does the buck stop with this?
I agree, I am sick of all the stupid off the ball stuff. Its not necessary, doesn't make you tough and just makes you look stupid. I was embarrassed by Solomon's stupid actions today. Just not worth it.
Kenny_01
11 Jun 2007, 00:49
Completely agree and although he didn't get much of the ball, when he did he looked the part. His decision to stop and kick in board was good, he didn't panic and was really good. I'm excited by him, Warnock and Collard, its just so hard to say who to leave out... Matty Carr may be on his last straw as may someone like Walker (Who I will admit had a decent game today - but he's not that good normally)
Was also impressed by Ibbo's intensity. Laid a really good tackle and put pressure on the ball carrier. Topped off by his goal. Looked classy. I actually don't think Cook would have done much better.
Cameron_K
11 Jun 2007, 01:17
Warnock will be a star, moves so well around the ground.
Was impressed with Ibbo, I still like him better than Peake but that's just me.
estibador
11 Jun 2007, 04:16
Negatives
I would tend to agree unfortunately. After telling us all week that we weren't going to underestimate Richmond, to come out and play like we did in that first quarter was very disappointing. Despite all the warnings to the contrary the players looked like they expected to just show up and cruise to victory.
Full credit to him and the team that we knuckled down and fought back for the win but it's clear we have some real motivational issues. It's easy to say that the players shouldn't need motivating at this level but the buck stops with the coach and he has to find a way to make sure the team come out ready to play every week.
Shaymuhz
11 Jun 2007, 09:41
for all those people who say des is a front runner i ask you, when did he get most of his goals today? sparked the team when we were behind and was a huge catalyst behind the win. also my buddy walker is goin allright too and hopefully headed for life membership:)
docker_azza
11 Jun 2007, 10:51
for all those people who say des is a front runner i ask you, when did he get most of his goals today? sparked the team when we were behind and was a huge catalyst behind the win. also my buddy walker is goin allright too and hopefully headed for life membership:)
The dessie bashers are noy saying that he only played well because we played a crap team. They change their tune every week to suit their own petty agendas. :thumbsd:
Dr Ralph Dagg
11 Jun 2007, 10:57
I would tend to agree unfortunately. After telling us all week that we weren't going to underestimate Richmond, to come out and play like we did in that first quarter was very disappointing. Despite all the warnings to the contrary the players looked like they expected to just show up and cruise to victory.
Full credit to him and the team that we knuckled down and fought back for the win but it's clear we have some real motivational issues. It's easy to say that the players shouldn't need motivating at this level but the buck stops with the coach and he has to find a way to make sure the team come out ready to play every week.
Thanks Esti. I wrote two negative comments and you're the only one that's picked up on the really important one.
According to the West it was 13 hard ball gets to 1 in the first quarter. This happens way too frequently. We've had 6 years to build a ''brand of football" to compete in finals. The game was billed as if the Tigers were premiers. And then ... we get walloped in exactly the same way Essendon walloped us 4 years ago.
Geez, its frustrating.
Docker_Brat
11 Jun 2007, 12:22
Thornton up forward was one out of leftfield and the move was a good one. His kicking looks a lot better than Taz's.
Dr Ralph Dagg
11 Jun 2007, 12:30
Thornton up forward was one out of leftfield and the move was a good one. His kicking looks a lot better than Taz's.
Been done before. Played as a defensive forward on Wirra in a derby last year and pantsed him.
Freoman
11 Jun 2007, 13:08
Been done before. Played as a defensive forward on Wirra in a derby last year and pantsed him.
I also posted that on another post Ralph. I thought Thorton did a great job on Polak fter he was moved onto him.
Other thoughts on the game:
- Tarrant seems to get manhandled every week and never gets a free kick. I thought Raines scragged him all day yet Tarrant still can't get a free. To his credit he just keeps on trying without complaining. Respect!
- Matthew Carr is a waste of space. While I appreciate that he is a tagger, I feel that he is only concerned with stopping his man is content to sit back and watch the play as long as his man is not invovled. In my opinion he is not prepared to play for the team.
- What has happened to the incorrect disposal rule. Umpires never seem to pay a free kick to the tackler. How many times yesterday did the umpire throw his hand up in the airr and call play-on when a player was tackled and dropped the ball. How about rewarding the player that tackles. On that point, I thought the over the shoulder free kick paid to Kane Johnson after he ducked his head was one of the worst decisions I have seen all year.
- Great leadership from the usual suspects Pavlich, Bell and Josh Carr.
- Well done to Warnock.
- Umpire Martin Ellis is a goose!
Thanks Esti. I wrote two negative comments and you're the only one that's picked up on the really important one.
According to the West it was 13 hard ball gets to 1 in the first quarter. This happens way too frequently. We've had 6 years to build a ''brand of football" to compete in finals. The game was billed as if the Tigers were premiers. And then ... we get walloped in exactly the same way Essendon walloped us 4 years ago.
Geez, its frustrating.
Two words: Paul Hasleby
Belnakor
11 Jun 2007, 14:48
Two words: Paul Hasleby
Five words: Hes not the whole midfield.
Others need to pull their weight. M.Carr was shithouse last night, no pressure.
Five words: Hes not the whole midfield.
Others need to pull their weight. M.Carr was shithouse last night, no pressure.
No he's not but he was comprehensively pantsed and when he gets most of our inside possessions we will be well down on contested possy's.
jeff99_Au
11 Jun 2007, 16:09
just wanted to say well done your team out played us in the 2nd half
we tried hard but could match your final term outstanding effort hope you make the finals an give it to them.
Vintage
12 Jun 2007, 00:59
No he's not but he was comprehensively pantsed and when he gets most of our inside possessions we will be well down on contested possy's.
Mate seriously, if we're relying on 1 guy (admittedly that guy is the champion that is Hase) to get all of our contested possessions we're in serious trouble.
It was good to come away with a win, but some worrying aspects. I thought we'd turned the corner a bit last Friday against Collingwood, but it didn't look like it yesterday. Very lethargic start, centre clearances a massive problem (esp in 3 and 4th quarter from memory), not enough run.
I thought the team was poor, but as others have said, some very good and positive performances by individuals - pav, bell, j carr, warney, dj, thought it was one of walker's better games, ibbo looks the goods.
Mate seriously, if we're relying on 1 guy (admittedly that guy is the champion that is Hase) to get all of our contested possessions we're in serious trouble.
It was good to come away with a win, but some worrying aspects. I thought we'd turned the corner a bit last Friday against Collingwood, but it didn't look like it yesterday. Very lethargic start, centre clearances a massive problem (esp in 3 and 4th quarter from memory), not enough run.
I thought the team was poor, but as others have said, some very good and positive performances by individuals - pav, bell, j carr, warney, dj, thought it was one of walker's better games, ibbo looks the goods.
I am not stressing too much about it. They main team had a torrid week on the track as they used the 9 day break to put some extra conditioning work into them.
Ibbo was good 7 Possessions , 4 tackles , 2 1%er's , 1 goal and zero errors and I doubt if He would have played 1/2 the game.
pistol17
12 Jun 2007, 14:19
We were 26 points down and ended up with a 21 point victory... A 47 point turn around... We did start slow but the week before we jumped out of the blocks. We cant expect to get off to a flyer every single week but id love to see a start on who scores the first goal of each quarter. I dont think we kicked the first one once against richmond.
We got run of our feet in the first quarter. Not too stressed about it as expected the turn around to win easily.
Great coaching by CC again. Assessed what needed to be changed with right match ups etc. He is an absolute gun.