View Full Version : High profile hypothetical trades
Brasil2007
11 Jun 2007, 02:26
At various times this year there have been reports in the paper about Riewoldt, Gehrig, Judd, Cousins, and Pavlich all being unhappy at their clubs. If the option came up, which would you take and what (or who) would you give up to get them?
(I doubt any of them will go anywhere but still it's interesting to think about it).
Barring something unforeseen (let's call it the "Ben Graham factor") I'd look at Riewoldt or Pavlich. Both are versatile players - can play forward or back - with good disposal and decent wing-tanks. I would only be offering a couple of second string players, (Gardiner, Hunt, Tenace, Kelly, Mackie) maybe, and a 2nd round pick - not likely to be enough to get a deal done, particularly given there will be clubs that would trade all of their firstborn sons for any one.
ripitup27
11 Jun 2007, 03:14
No. Stop.
MmkMrMackie
11 Jun 2007, 19:02
Gherig is a ****er, Reiwoldt is a sook. I would be unhappy if we drafted either of those i be4 team players. Pavlich would be a gun, but with Hawkins, Ablett and Mooney, do we really need another big forward? At the start of the year Judd was the clearance specialist we needed, but Bartel and corey have come on strong. We'd have to give up so much for him, that it would definately not be worth it. I say we just try and keep our core group of players together, and develop what we've got. We definately don't need any of these high profile hacks from other clubs.
Riewoldt for Charlie and Henry ;)
In all seriousness we would not be looking for a key forward. We have Mooney & Nath who are doing quite well with hawkins & Grima developing.
We might look for a midfeilder like Judd or Dal Santo, sheerly because of there class but we are not exactly suffering from lack of midfeilders. I would only look at Corey, Kelly or Enright from our starting 22 and draft picks. That seems unlikely though.
IMHO I wouldn't consider trading anyone. The cream is pretty high atm and the challenge is to get in the best 22 and stay there. If they can't then they live in the magoos until they get serious and play according to plan. :cool:
Deep North
11 Jun 2007, 20:51
I hate to say it, because i think they're better than most on this board give them credit for, but Mackie and Tenace are the ultimate trade bait. Years of development, both coming good, worth a bet they won't come back and hurt us. I'd give 'em both and a third round for Pav or Judd, one and a third pick for Cousins or Reiwolt.
Brasil2007
11 Jun 2007, 20:54
In all seriousness we would not be looking for a key forward. We have Mooney & Nath who are doing quite well with hawkins & Grima developing.
We might look for a midfeilder like Judd or Dal Santo, sheerly because of there class but we are not exactly suffering from lack of midfeilders. I would only look at Corey, Kelly or Enright from our starting 22 and draft picks that seems very unlikely to occur. That seems unlikely though.
Pavlich did win AA for both full back and CHF so he's not just a big forward. I'd agree with it being unlikely. If he goes anywhere (itself unlikely) it will be to a S Australian club you would think, Port being the most likely. I'd guess Nate is still a preseason or two off his best, Hawkins will come along a bit quicker I would think since his fitness was I suspect better to start with.
Not sure I'd agree about Roo being a sook. I see St Kilda all the time and he puts his guts in, often as a lone hand. He's one of their few high profile players that doesn't go missing on the road too.
Judd is the best player in the comp, we'd probably have to get rid of quite a few players to fit him in under the salary cap though.
The Cork Soaker
12 Jun 2007, 12:26
We might look for a midfeilder like Judd or Dal Santo, sheerly because of there class but we are not exactly suffering from lack of midfeilders. I would only look at Corey, Kelly or Enright from our starting 22 and draft picks. That seems unlikely though.
Sheerly, thats not a word!!! and stop calling me sheerly
That's gone over my head, I dont get it:o
sheerly is a word, you could probably substitute "purely" though if you want.
The Cork Soaker
12 Jun 2007, 12:37
There is a thing called a salary cap to consider as well, if you trade a few hacks, and draft picks to get any or all of Judd and Co. you will need to get others on the list to cop a pay cut to fit the super stars in. I reckon we've a very strong list at the moment (even though I bagged crap out of it six weeks ago like every one else, ok I was wrong they can play footy after all) and all you do is risk destabilising a group that has finally worked through it's "issues" of the last couple of years. It's a fine line you walk at Geelong between very good and very poor performance, I like the Geelong I'm seeing at the moment, don't F*#K with it, it ain't broke.
The Cork Soaker
12 Jun 2007, 12:39
That's gone over my head, I dont get it:o
sheerly is a word, you could probably substitute "purely" though if you want.
What dictionary are you looking at?
Surely you can't be serious.
I am and stop calling me surely.
What dictionary are you looking at?
Surely you can't be serious.
I am and stop calling me surely.
I wasn't but you, here is a link for you.
http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/sheerly
Sheer:
Thin, fine, and transparent: sheer curtains; sheer chiffon. See Synonyms at airy (http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/airy).
Completely such, without qualification or exception: sheer stupidity; sheer happiness.
Free from admixture or adulterants; unmixed: sheer alcohol. See Synonyms at pure (http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/pure).
Considered or operating apart from anything else: got the job through sheer persistence.
Almost perpendicular; steep: sheer rock cliffs. See Synonyms at steep (http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/steep)1. sheer'ly adv., sheer'ness n.
I agree that we shouldn't mess with a winning formula and that we probably couldn't fit it our salary cap anyway. But on the extremly unlikely scenario that we could get:
Judd > Joel Corey + 1st round. or
Dal Santo > Kelly + 1st round
And it fits into our salary cap, well I am all for it.
dtrainium
12 Jun 2007, 13:13
Out of the players you have mentioned there, and if I was on the Geelong recruitment team, I'd look very strongly at Riewoldt and try to get a deal done. He is a great contested mark, and even when he can't take the mark at least provides a contest rather than easily getting blocked out of it like Cam and Nathan do. He could fit into the way we play our footy atm by either being that hit up player at CHF or being the player that Geelong are so intent on sitting the ball on top of their head in the foward 50. Has great leadership skills, and I'd be happy to give up a first round pick and a good midfielder for.
Cousins would also be a great asset to the Cats, one of the greatest midfielders I've seen play the game, tagging doesn't bother him to much, has great foot skills and excellent speed. I'd love to see him playing for the Cats if we could get a deal done.
Judd you would want, but we couldn't afford him without losing a couple of great players, Gehrig is past his prime, and I couldn't see Pavlich going to a club outside of Port or the Crows if he did leave Freo.
The Cork Soaker
12 Jun 2007, 13:16
That must be a Kiwi dictionary, Sheerly
someday-somehow
12 Jun 2007, 13:30
keep the group together unless someone wants out (and I doubt they will).
Based on Richmonds past history (or Essendon when it comes to picking up old hacks) we could swap Henry and Charlie for an early draft pick.
Furious_G
12 Jun 2007, 13:47
You have to look at the negative impact trading and paying high wages would have on the playing group as a whole. I think of everyone that is available, Geelong would probably only look at Cousins or maybe Roo. Cousins a clubb could potentially get in a Aker type of deal, where WC won't have any power in the trade, so you wouldn' have to give up much. Plus with some high paid players being dropped down a notch *cough* King, we could have a bit of room. I would trade a couple of draft picks for cousins though.
Solstice Raver
12 Jun 2007, 14:37
It's OK. They're flying on instruments.
Did you eat the fish???
The Cork Soaker
12 Jun 2007, 14:58
It's OK. They're flying on instruments.
Did you eat the fish???
No, but I sure picked a helluva day to give up amphetamines