View Full Version : Move the Grand Final

The Toecutter
11 Jun 2007, 11:41
I think the Grand Final should be moved to either Martin Park or Birallee Park. The O and K did the same last year (in wang) and had record crowds. The grounds in town are far superior to Sandy Creek, have better facilities and are more central for supporters:thumbsu:

reggieray
12 Jun 2007, 16:01
i think playing the gf in town would be great......just image the crowd as the 2 teams run out....not a ute to be seen.....Why not at martin park???? Or are the league scared of losing money!!!! The Sandy Creek as been great for the league but it almost rains every year at finals time......It's like stepping back in time when you cross the cattle grid as you drive through the gates....

Gurnerd Fanning
20 Jun 2007, 23:38
The Sandy Creek as been great for the league but it almost rains every year at finals time......It's like stepping back in time when you cross the cattle grid as you drive through the gates....

Great Point you make there Reg. The weather will definetely dry in Wodonga come finals time.
Stuff any tradition at the same time too.

I think the best part is getting a ute on the fence and having a few beers.

FlyingDucks
24 Jun 2007, 11:09
i think playing the gf in town would be great......just image the crowd as the 2 teams run out....not a ute to be seen.....Why not at martin park???? Or are the league scared of losing money!!!! The Sandy Creek as been great for the league but it almost rains every year at finals time......It's like stepping back in time when you cross the cattle grid as you drive through the gates....

I am sure if it rains at Sandy Creek it will be dry in Wodonga... What a load of crap.

Sandy Creek has plenty of parking space and crowds have been huge there. What the league needs is Tallangatta to make the grand final agt Mitta that is why the crowds would appear lower than in the 90s...

It is also tradition that the games are played there, and the facilities are not bad at all.

As for stepping back in time??? What are you talking about? It is a country league not inner city so the fact you drive over a cattle grid is hardly worth talking about you snob. If you dont like that the league play their finals there then play somewhere else. No doubt you are a player who comes and gets your money and leaves anyway.

The Toecutter
24 Jun 2007, 17:41
As for stepping back in time??? What are you talking about? It is a country league not inner city so the fact you drive over a cattle grid is hardly worth talking about you snob. If you dont like that the league play their finals there then play somewhere else. No doubt you are a player who comes and gets your money and leaves anyway.I hear Reggie Ray is bit of a mercenary, but the Tallangatta league is not the same league it was back in the 70's and the 80's. In the last 20 years with the addition of Thurgoona, Beechworth, Chiltern, Rutherglen and Wahgunyah (in 2008) the league has changed into more of a Albury/Wodonga based competition. With so many clubs based on the other side of Wodonga it would only make sense to have a more centralised grand final.:thumbsu:

Gurnerd Fanning
24 Jun 2007, 19:43
I hear Reggie Ray is bit of a mercenary, but the Tallangatta league is not the same league it was back in the 70's and the 80's. In the last 20 years with the addition of Thurgoona, Beechworth, Chiltern, Rutherglen and Wahgunyah (in 2008) the league has changed into more of a Albury/Wodonga based competition. With so many clubs based on the other side of Wodonga it would only make sense to have a more centralised grand final.:thumbsu:

Those clubs chose to join our league. Because they did that they can live by our rules and if there not happy with that then they can pack their bags a go back to where they came from. Why should we change or traditions because some other clubs joined our league. You are a tool.

Benched
24 Jun 2007, 21:50
Those clubs chose to join our league. Because they did that they can live by our rules and if there not happy with that then they can pack their bags a go back to where they came from. Why should we change or traditions because some other clubs joined our league. You are a tool.

I think Sandy creek has been a great venue but the league should at least explore their options and make a decision as to whether they upgrade the change rooms or relocate the GF. You cant stay in the past forever and the facilities are getting very out dated, maybe it is not economical to spend the money updating them. Maybe they should try a Wodonga GF and see if it is successful. They played finals at North Albury once (late eighties) I think which seemed to be successful. The clubs should decide anyway at a league meeting, with so many new clubs the league has a new look and changes made accordingly to reflect this. Remember the league sought to attract many of these clubs in the first place to strengthen the league after Culcairn and Holbrook left.

The Toecutter
24 Jun 2007, 23:57
Those clubs chose to join our league. Because they did that they can live by our rules and if there not happy with that then they can pack their bags a go back to where they came from. Why should we change or traditions because some other clubs joined our league. You are a tool.Well said Benched, obviously you moved into the new millennium unlike Mr. Fanning who would probably prefer we go back to playing the 19th and 20th man, while were at it lets bring Granya and Bullioh back into the league:rolleyes:. It wasn't that long ago the league had only 8 clubs and two of those at the time were basket cases (Thurgoona and Bethanga). The new clubs have been the best thing to happen to the league in a very long time. We now have one of the best standard district leagues in the state, with almost all clubs being in healthy state in regards to player numbers (Senior and Junior) and financial security.The league has to bite the bullet and either upgrade the facilities (which i couldn't see the league forking out money for a ground that only has 6 games played on it a year) or look at the possibility of relocating it elsewhere. As for Mr. Fanning you are not a tool just blissfully ignorant:)

Run Straight
25 Jun 2007, 08:47
Well said Benched, obviously you moved into the new millennium unlike Mr. Fanning who would probably prefer we go back to playing the 19th and 20th man, while were at it lets bring Granya and Bullioh back into the league:rolleyes:. It wasn't that long ago the league had only 8 clubs and two of those at the time were basket cases (Thurgoona and Bethanga). The new clubs have been the best thing to happen to the league in a very long time. We now have one of the best standard district leagues in the state, with almost all clubs being in healthy state in regards to player numbers (Senior and Junior) and financial security.The league has to bite the bullet and either upgrade the facilities (which i couldn't see the league forking out money for a ground that only has 6 games played on it a year) or look at the possibility of relocating it elsewhere. As for Mr. Fanning you are not a tool just blissfully ignorant:)

Gee, I don't know. Apparently all the "new" clubs are just guests of the old traditional owners of the competitition. (Including Mr Fanning's club no doubt.) Beechworth, Chiltern, Rutherglen, Thurgoona, Kiewa Sandy Ck, Yackandandah, Barnawartha & Dederang all feel so privileged that you have let us in "your" competition. Or perhaps that group could breakaway and with a few other clubs form a new North Eastern District Football League. Then you could get what you want - Mitta would definitely play Tallangatta in the grand final. Wouldn't be much of a crowd tho - they'd all be at the NEDFL Grand Final at Martin Park.

More Than a Game
25 Jun 2007, 13:31
Totally agree with moving the TDFL Granny anywhere!
It is the only league I know where the best 5 teams for the year fight it out on a ground that has been inhabited by cows for the past 8 months, has no real grass cover (they are just weeds) and is very uneven. Then you get to the changerooms where the electrical wiring is exposed, showers a mere trickle (all the time) and if someone is in the shower you can't take a piss! Not to mention that if you need to take a dump, you have to go right out the back. No cover for spectators, umpires get a 2m x 2m room, the list is endless. The tireless work of a lot of people is appreciated but they have nothing to show for the TDFL come September! Time to get someone in control a bit younger with some good marketing ideas.
GET RID OF SANDY CREEK!

reggieray
25 Jun 2007, 15:52
well i hear a rumor that with more clubs being central to wodonga tdfl might consider playing gf at raider park!!!!! as for me leaving the game straight after playing i do buy a pie or chips if the canteen has any food left..... Time will come and the league will see the light...martin park is built like prison these days so i perfer raider park..

Bring back the 80's
4 Jul 2007, 15:49
My two cents worth is, I totally agree.
Move the G.F to a central location and watch the crowds roll in.
I am sure the club that get's to do the catering will be thankful for the extra revenue.

Dell
5 Jul 2007, 11:23
My two cents worth is, I totally agree.
Move the G.F to a central location and watch the crowds roll in.
I am sure the club that get's to do the catering will be thankful for the extra revenue.
Can not believe you would consider shifting from Sandy Creek. Are you just talking about shifting the grand final and playing all the other finals at Sandy creek? Very bright??? How much do you think one of the Oven and Murray clubs would charge to play the finals at their ground? Not being a big follower of the TDFL have been to a few finals matches at Sandy creek and very much enjoyed it. Is not hard to get a park and pretty easy to leave once the games over. Atmosphere there is great. Have also been to a lot of OMFL finals totally opposite. Parking a nightmare getting out of the place worse and little or no atmosphere. You are lucky to have a neutral ground where all the finals can be played. Suggest you keep your money in your league and use it to fix up Sandy creek if you are not happy with it instead of filling the back pocket of an OMFL club.

Benched
6 Jul 2007, 19:51
Can not believe you would consider shifting from Sandy Creek. Are you just talking about shifting the grand final and playing all the other finals at Sandy creek? Very bright??? How much do you think one of the Oven and Murray clubs would charge to play the finals at their ground? Not being a big follower of the TDFL have been to a few finals matches at Sandy creek and very much enjoyed it. Is not hard to get a park and pretty easy to leave once the games over. Atmosphere there is great. Have also been to a lot of OMFL finals totally opposite. Parking a nightmare getting out of the place worse and little or no atmosphere. You are lucky to have a neutral ground where all the finals can be played. Suggest you keep your money in your league and use it to fix up Sandy creek if you are not happy with it instead of filling the back pocket of an OMFL club.

I would suggest the TDFL talks to the O&K they have found it to be a great success.

The Toecutter
6 Jul 2007, 23:47
I would suggest the TDFL talks to the O&K they have found it to be a great success.Good work Benched:thumbsu: People have to be progressive in this day and age, the facts are that district clubs aren't made up of 18 locals and 2 travellers anymore, without Albury/Wodonga based players these clubs would fold. It is not the old Tallangatta league these days but more of a North-Eastern district comp with Albury/Wodonga being the centre of it. It is only realistic that the best location for a TDFL grand final is either at the Kennel or the Raider Dome:thumbsu:

HandballHappy
17 Jul 2007, 21:23
You aren't from this planet are you Reggie Rae. you wanna play at a drier ground in the middle of the countries worst drought. Why not play on the road, you egg-head

bring back vfl park
20 Jul 2007, 16:08
it looks like the border mail like the idea of moving the gf aswell...so get with the times tdfl and look at the bigger picture.....it will be the best option for all involved and a great game to watch....

Gurnerd Fanning
20 Jul 2007, 20:58
it looks like the border mail like the idea of moving the gf aswell...so get with the times tdfl and look at the bigger picture.....it will be the best option for all involved and a great game to watch....

Your a bit of a hypocrite with a name like that.
Why don't the AFL get rid of skilled stadium and the MCG and play all games at Telstra Dome so nobody gets wet?

More Than a Game
20 Jul 2007, 21:24

I think you may find there are a couple of Border Mail journos that figure prominently on Big Footy. Brett Kohlhagen seems to be the most in tune with the TDFL, todays snippet was probably Johnno stealing Brett's thunder.

wise like yoda
20 Jul 2007, 21:54
:thumbsd:I am sure if it rains at Sandy Creek it will be dry in Wodonga... What a load of crap.

Sandy Creek has plenty of parking space and crowds have been huge there. What the league needs is Tallangatta to make the grand final agt Mitta that is why the crowds would appear lower than in the 90s...

It is also tradition that the games are played there, and the facilities are not bad at all.

As for stepping back in time??? What are you talking about? It is a country league not inner city so the fact you drive over a cattle grid is hardly worth talking about you snob. If you dont like that the league play their finals there then play somewhere else. No doubt you are a player who comes and gets your money and leaves anyway.

Well said!!!!! we own that ground and instead of spending the same amout 2 pay 4 a new ground y not fix up sandy creek and get the clubs 2 put in money to help fix it!!!
and if u havent noticed yet TDFL stands for TALLANGATTA DISTRICT Football Leauge! and y should every1 else move grounds because we let more clubs in. :mad:

The Toecutter
21 Jul 2007, 14:10
:thumbsd:

Well said!!!!! we own that ground and instead of spending the same amout 2 pay 4 a new ground y not fix up sandy creek and get the clubs 2 put in money to help fix it!!!
and if u havent noticed yet TDFL stands for TALLANGATTA DISTRICT Football Leauge! and y should every1 else move grounds because we let more clubs in. :mad:Why isn't the TALLANGATTA FOOTBALL LEAGUE grand final played at Tallangatta then?:confused:

no orange peeler
21 Jul 2007, 17:27
:thumbsd:

and if u havent noticed yet TDFL stands for TALLANGATTA DISTRICT Football Leauge! and y should every1 else move grounds because we let more clubs in. :mad:
It should be the leagues responsibilty after all they have 90k in the bank. clubs have enough to worry about fixing there own facilities, ie. Barny, thurgoona, Kiewa, Beechworth. If thats where the league wants to show our comp then it becomes there responsibility. Don't know about you blokes but i can't wait to get out there.

Gurnerd Fanning
21 Jul 2007, 17:54
Why isn't the TALLANGATTA FOOTBALL LEAGUE grand final played at Tallangatta then?:confused:

Thats because there is no such League as the Tallangatta Football League.
But can I say that Sandy Creek is in Tallangatta's District so it's fair to say that the GF could be played there.
Maybe you Wodonga travelers should just leave our country league alone, if you can't afford to travel 40kms in September go play for Wodonga.

The Toecutter
22 Jul 2007, 22:10
Thats because there is no such League as the Tallangatta Football League.
But can I say that Sandy Creek is in Tallangatta's District so it's fair to say that the GF could be played there.
Maybe you Wodonga travelers should just leave our country league alone, if you can't afford to travel 40kms in September go play for Wodonga.If the Wodonga 'travellers' didn't play in YOUR league there wouldn't be a TDFL. Sure back in 1960 every club was full of locals and only 3 or 4 'travellers' which usually included the senior and assistant coaches. The fact of the matter is YOUR clubs wouldn't survive without Wodonga based players. As Sandy Thomas (who was a TDFL man) said by moving the O and K GF to Wangaratta from Tarrawingie the gate almost doubled thus justifying the move into town. The surface and facilities were superior and the league only had to pay to use the ground. If the TDFL follow suit they wouldn't have to spend large amounts of money on an oval that only gets used 4 weekends of the year. I think a one year trial would'nt hurt and the league could review the success/failure and make a decision on the long term future of league Grand Finals.:thumbsu:

Dell
23 Jul 2007, 15:32
If the Wodonga 'travellers' didn't play in YOUR league there wouldn't be a TDFL. Sure back in 1960 every club was full of locals and only 3 or 4 'travellers' which usually included the senior and assistant coaches. The fact of the matter is YOUR clubs wouldn't survive without Wodonga based players. As Sandy Thomas (who was a TDFL man) said by moving the O and K GF to Wangaratta from Tarrawingie the gate almost doubled thus justifying the move into town. The surface and facilities were superior and the league only had to pay to use the ground. If the TDFL follow suit they wouldn't have to spend large amounts of money on an oval that only gets used 4 weekends of the year. I think a one year trial would'nt hurt and the league could review the success/failure and make a decision on the long term future of league Grand Finals.:thumbsu:
Ok move this years grandfinal to Wodonga. Where are you going to play the other finals. How about the Elim at Mt Beauty, Qual at Rutherglen, 1st Semi at Mitta, 2nd semi at Chiltern and play the prilim at Thurgoona just to get Albury/Wodonga use to the TDFL finals being played in here.

DOGGIE DEFENDER
23 Jul 2007, 16:06
Ok move this years grandfinal to Wodonga. Where are you going to play the other finals. How about the Elim at Mt Beauty, Qual at Rutherglen, 1st Semi at Mitta, 2nd semi at Chiltern and play the prilim at Thurgoona just to get Albury/Wodonga use to the TDFL finals being played in here.

Hey Dell, can't see why not all finals could be played @ the Kennel!!!!:D
(ya dipstick):rolleyes:

More Than a Game
23 Jul 2007, 18:32

can you imagine that DELL! Thurgoona holding a final! i can picture it! the shelter packed to the brim (with 20 people) the rest in their cars somewhere near the Kinross cos' ya cant get near the ground, multiple clubs using the same change rooms game after game. Thurgoona is a "mini-me" of Sandy Creek. might as well have a final at Bethanga as well.

reggieray
23 Jul 2007, 19:12
can you imagine that DELL! Thurgoona holding a final! i can picture it! the shelter packed to the brim (with 20 people) the rest in their cars somewhere near the Kinross cos' ya cant get near the ground, multiple clubs using the same change rooms game after game. Thurgoona is a "mini-me" of Sandy Creek. might as well have a final at Bethanga as well.

that's right go out to bethanga it's no different to sandy creek sitting idle all year waiting for a game??? as for the kennell maybe in a few years when they extend to ground and rooms....or is that a rumor only tc would know about?????

Dell
24 Jul 2007, 08:29
Can see alot of reasons why you would not a final at Thurgoona. A lot of people on here are all talk about moving the grand final to Wodonga but not one has come up with what they are going to do about all the other finals. What play them all in Wodonga? Think of the cost. Why don't you smart people come up with something. I am all for leaving them at Sandy Creek and fixing things up.

interchange specialist
24 Jul 2007, 12:39
Can see alot of reasons why you would not a final at Thurgoona. A lot of people on here are all talk about moving the grand final to Wodonga but not one has come up with what they are going to do about all the other finals. What play them all in Wodonga? Think of the cost. Why don't you smart people come up with something. I am all for leaving them at Sandy Creek and fixing things up.

If I can buy into the argument I would say that the conditions at Sandy Creek are sub-standard. They are a disgrace. I started playing footy for a local club in the 80's. I left the area in the 90's and came back in the early 00's before playing in the O&M for 4 years. Nothing has changed at that ground at all. The last finals game I played there was against DMB and the ground was a disgrace. I was running around on a wing that had mounds of dirt running through it because of the drainage that was put in in the lead up to the finals series. We warmed up out the back dodging the cow sh1t and the potholes because the rooms are too small. If it has not rained in a while, the ground is like a rock but as soon as it rains the ground and the surrounding areas become a marsh land. I understand the sentiment behind the place, heck I am a country lad at heart. Lets be honest the ground and the facilities are a disgrace and something should be done. You can spend money trying to get it up to standard or you can move the finals series. Either way something should be done about the place. It has been a while since I have been to a TDFL game and it will be a while before I attend one again. The last time I went I had the same problem that I always have. You can't see the damn game.
Moving the finals wouldn't stop Mitta being the league force:rolleyes:.

The Toecutter
28 Aug 2007, 22:08
Can anyone tell me how was the state of the ground/facilities was at the finals last weekend?

no orange peeler
29 Aug 2007, 16:36
Can anyone tell me how was the state of the ground/facilities was at the finals last weekend?
The ground was hard and a bit patchy but the place does have a great atmosphere first time i've played there and i thought it was great.

Saints20
25 Sep 2007, 10:09
I just went to the Kyabram League grand final on the weekend, they moved their GF to the Mooroopna ground, which is in the GVFL, where there are better facilities and Grand Stands etc. and it was a huge success.
The Kyabram league is similar to the TDFL and I think moving our GF to a O&M ground would have the same impact, but there is a down side that would need to be sorted out. That is where does the money go? From all reports the majority of the money from the KDFL GF went to the Mooroopna FC, if this was the case in the TDFL it would be a pointless excercise.
If we could get the deal right with the O&M club then this would be the only reason to move the GF.

socksup
1 Oct 2007, 17:58
Would be a huge loss to the team operating the bar at the GF if it was to move into Wodonga. 3/4 of the people drinking at the game were underage. Wodonga cops would ruin the atmosphere of 15 year old girls spewing behind the scoreboard

JOHNNY GASTEV
14 Sep 2008, 14:52
Was talking to a couple of mates after yesterday's Grand Final and they reckon the condition of the ground during the finals was very ordinary. The grass was long and very clumpy and could've been quite dangerous to players. I wasn't at any of the games but if its true the league has to do something about it otherwise moving the g/f might be a better alternative:confused::confused::confused:

jack54
14 Sep 2008, 16:08
I would suggest the TDFL talks to the O&K they have found it to be a great success.

that's a disgrace to say look at the o&k- that league was at the point of folding- and still is- the word was a merger between the o&k and benalla league- benalla league came back to the meeting and said the would take the o&k over, but no merger. benalla league is about the same level as upper murray- so you work it out

if you move it???? where- martin park- worst ground to watch footy at
biralle- where ya gonna park?? have a look at the amount of cars that can get into sandy creek? where are the cars gonna go??

the state of the ground...both teams have to play on sandy creek, even playing field- stop ya winging all of ya's

been at sandy creek for years- why change it?

oldmanemu
17 Sep 2008, 14:18
Was talking to a couple of mates after yesterday's Grand Final and they reckon the condition of the ground during the finals was very ordinary. The grass was long and very clumpy and could've been quite dangerous to players. I wasn't at any of the games but if its true the league has to do something about it otherwise moving the g/f might be a better alternative:confused::confused::confused:

Geez there are some whinging bastards around these days. Football is a sport for men. Tough men. If your mates are worried about a few clumps of long grass, the netball court is just over the back.

Sandy Creek is an awesome ground to watch footy at. Used to love knowing we were playing there come finals time. Haven't been back, and it would be a shame if the state of the rooms hasn't changed, but that is up to the league to sort out. Losing Sandy Creek as the finals venue would be a real shame.

The only problem with moving it to other grounds, as we do in the Heathcote league, is that some teams have better grounds, and they end up hosting all of the Grand Finals and a majority of finals. My club held the GF this year for the first time ever. The 3 dominant clubs had held it between them for the past 20 years.

So, you could end up having GFs continually at Mitta or Tangam!!

From memory, and this was 15 years ago, the best grounds were Mitta, Mount Beauty and Tallangatta. Dunno about now with all the new teams.

Hillite
17 Sep 2008, 20:44
For what its worth in the Sunraysia Football League (Mildura area) the league runs the final series. (and do all the work)They run the booth. All the other stuff pies , soft drink etc are tendered out to all the clubs. This results in much lower costs to all the clubs throughout the year.
The cops keep a pretty close eye on alcohol consumption.

General Banter
18 Sep 2008, 13:21

I dont think the conditions or facilities at Sandy Creek are as bad as some people say (most grounds are having trouble with the weather being the way it has been for the past couple of years).

But I think a move to Wodonga would be better (either Martin Park or Birra). In addition to providing O & M facilities, it is probably much more convenient for most clubs personell anyway - as most recruit from that area. Even Rutherglen and Wahgunyah would find it half an hour closer.

Anybody who uses tradition as an excuse for not moving the big one may be standing in the way of logical progress

harryhoward
23 Sep 2008, 13:29
hey all,

WhoReallyCares
29 Sep 2008, 15:50
I'm sure that is the TDFL got off the buts and stopped wasting money on Sandy creek, they would soon see it more beneficial to all, if it was held at Birrallee ground. Lets face it the Sandy creek is not central to the competition any more, most players come out of Albury/Wodonga Region. More spectators would be able to make to the game, Not drive for miles to get to game. If the TDFL wants the League to become stronger it needs to come up with some plans for the future, because the Hume league sure seems to do a better job at attracting media coverage, compared to TDFL. Sandy Creek facilities are old, outdated and will cost the league thousands to update or maintain in the future.

It could easily be rented from Raiders F.C. at the right price & conditions are met... and clubs could still run canteen, tinny bar, rafles etc, same as Wodonga Saints do at Martin Park and as is done at sandy creek... The only extra beneifit is that the party could continue on for longer at Raiders due to there current function room, which if negotiated properly and organised correctly, profits from that may also be raised to go to the league, don't get me wrong, I dont speak for raiders at all!!! But this would be like an extra sponsor to them, and would be mad not to support or attempt to attract such an event at there ground!!!
Lets face it, Birrallee would be neutral to all clubs, as opposed to Martin Park(saints).
:thumbsu:More likely to get more media coverage and rais ethe league profile if its held in town!
:thumbsu:Better rooms and facilities at Birrallee Park, plenty of parking next to ground, which may not be needed because its in town less people driving/drink driving...
:thumbsu:More area to stand/sit around ground and actually see the game, not walking around to find a seat close to ground or someone you know to sit with because all the car are parked right around the ground...etc...
:thumbsu:Better standard of surface, one thats looked after all year.
:thumbsu:Better Boxes for coaching and alike.

Could someone post the real beneifits to keeping the Finals at Sandy Creek... I realise the the League pays no money for renting Sandy creek(i guess), however the increase in number of spectators would easily out do the rental costs for a few weekends rent at Birrallee...

TDFL is great
3 Oct 2008, 14:50
can't believe people would consider moving the TDFL granny. Whilst yes the facilities are better in town etc, sandy creek is great because of its lack of use and position out of town, after all this is a regional league.
Moving the GF into martin park would make the day loose some of it's history, the place has a special auora to it, especially to thos who grew up playing in the leauge through junoirs etc, as its the place you always worked towards playing at in august/september.
Parking the utes around the fence and the big country day out feel is part of the fantastic charm of the place.
I agree the facilities need a little work, as does the surface some years, but that is due largely to the drought conditions experienced in recent years.
The only advantage i can see of moving the game into wodonga is taking a bit of advantage away from mitta:thumbsd: who are the next town up the valley.

Here's a better idea why don't Tallangatta go back to being the magpies now that bullioh exist? would mean more to the locals, like me if we played in the black and white, if nothing else then to stick it up bullioh