View Full Version : Hawthorn listed players at BH 2007 season

Pages : [1] 2

worthy
31 Jul 2006, 11:19
In the best again for BH reserves. :thumbsu:

For those that know, How's he going?

Apparently a bit undersized as a ruckman but has a good leap, I believe he tested very well at Draft camp for speed, would he be any chance to be groomed as a FB? Is he a "keeper".
Any info on Markovic would also be appreciated.

mattyc2422
31 Jul 2006, 12:55
I missed this weeks game however I have seen a bit of Luke.

He is very raw but has all the attributes you want in a modern day ruckman - big leap, athleticism, can tap or punch, good mover. He just needs to learn more about putting himself in dangerous positions around the ground and getting himself into the play.

When he's not been in the ruck, he's been up forward so I doubt they are keen on him as a backman based purely on his lack of real footy nous at this stage.

What's impressed me most is his willingness to learn and improve. In the space of 8 weeks, he has changed alot of his game. His kicking has improved, his possession count has improved, his hitout count has improved and his play in general has improved. He's only a recent swap to AFL but he's a quick learner.

I think the HFC will give him another year on the rookie list definitely. Can play.

This will sound weird, but he's easily one of my favourite players to watch on the list as he has that level of improvement in him.

Haven't seen enough of Markovic yet to make a judgement.

burner1
31 Jul 2006, 15:45
Cheers Matty, thanks for the info, much appreciated as it is hard to find anything aobut how hes been going.
Sounds like a great prospect.
Realistically if he keeps his rate of improvement up how far off is he from potentially cracking the into the senoir team as he sounds like he needs a lot of work. Is another year of development at boxhill and then maybe pushing for 2008 a realistic chance or is that expecting too much?

As with worthy any info from anyone on markovics progress would be much appreciated.

LukeHodge15
31 Jul 2006, 17:24
I missed this weeks game however I have seen a bit of Luke.

He is very raw but has all the attributes you want in a modern day ruckman - big leap, athleticism, can tap or punch, good mover. He just needs to learn more about putting himself in dangerous positions around the ground and getting himself into the play.

When he's not been in the ruck, he's been up forward so I doubt they are keen on him as a backman based purely on his lack of real footy nous at this stage.

What's impressed me most is his willingness to learn and improve. In the space of 8 weeks, he has changed alot of his game. His kicking has improved, his possession count has improved, his hitout count has improved and his play in general has improved. He's only a recent swap to AFL but he's a quick learner.

I think the HFC will give him another year on the rookie list definitely. Can play.

This will sound weird, but he's easily one of my favourite players to watch on the list as he has that level of improvement in him.

Haven't seen enough of Markovic yet to make a judgement.

cheers mate, much appreciated :thumbsu:

lets hope he at least gets another year on the rookie list :D :D

RoosterLad
31 Jul 2006, 17:26
Any chance of him getting a call up this year?

LukeHodge15
31 Jul 2006, 17:41
seems that gilham seems to be travelling quite well to matty ??? :confused:

mattyc2422
31 Jul 2006, 18:10
No chance we'll see McEntee this year. He is still playing BH ressies after suffering an interrupted preseason and also due to the fact that Bailey and Taylor have been in the BH seniors most weeks. They are taking it very slow with him given he is so raw and new to the game in terms of footy smarts.

Given we drafted him, I'm sure we'll give him another year.

RE: Gilham, he's barely put a foot wrong. He simply can't handle the huge units of the VFL but does very well on the mid-talls and is excellent in rebounding off the 50. I'd love to see him get a game.

philhawk
31 Jul 2006, 21:18
No chance we'll see McEntee this year. He is still playing BH ressies after suffering an interrupted preseason and also due to the fact that Bailey and Taylor have been in the BH seniors most weeks. They are taking it very slow with him given he is so raw and new to the game in terms of footy smarts.

Given we drafted him, I'm sure we'll give him another year.

RE: Gilham, he's barely put a foot wrong. He simply can't handle the huge units of the VFL but does very well on the mid-talls and is excellent in rebounding off the 50. I'd love to see him get a game.

Is Gilham's role at Box Hill similar to Jacobs role in the Seniors Matty?

mattyc2422
1 Aug 2006, 01:04
Is Gilham's role at Box Hill similar to Jacobs role in the Seniors Matty?
Not exactly. He's main strengths defensively revolve around spoiling, punching, chasing, etc. Basically doing whatever he can to stop his opponent getting the footy and then finding a way to help others. He can stop blokes on the lead and in a contest providing his opponent is not a brute. He doesn't really to the zoning off "DJ" role.

I didn't explain that too well.

But at BH he takes the kick outs and is very skilled in setting up play.

burner1
1 Aug 2006, 01:27
Not exactly. He's main strengths defensively revolve around spoiling, punching, chasing, etc. Basically doing whatever he can to stop his opponent getting the footy and then finding a way to help others. He can stop blokes on the lead and in a contest providing his opponent is not a brute. He doesn't really to the zoning off "DJ" role.

I didn't explain that too well.

But at BH he takes the kick outs and is very skilled in setting up play.

What position then do you envisiage Gilham would play in the afl? Would he still be a 3rd tall defender and play on say guys like tarrant etc? From the above description he seems more like a lock down defender than playmaker but then you say he is good at setting up play. How'd you think gilham would go in a joel smith type rebounding defender role, does he have decent pace, can he break the lines and hit targets/create play? Is he fast enough to play on midsized players ie like brad johnson or resting midfielders?

Sorry for all the questions, just gilham is rated highly by some and written off by others with often no in depth analysis of where he's going/ where he fits in. Seems like it'll be an interesting decision on his future with the club at the end of the year.

Fabulous
1 Aug 2006, 09:25

Isn't Gilham still on our Rookie list or have I missed something?

McEntee has all the ability of becoming a Fraser/White type player. Many believe he should have been drafted not Rookied. The marbles fell our way. At Box Hill he started slowly because of his delayed pre-season but is coming through now. Will probably get a game with Box Hill Snrs in the next couple of weeks if Bailey is elevated to Hawthorn.

mattyc2422
1 Aug 2006, 21:11
Isn't Gilham still on our Rookie list or have I missed something?

He sure is, but we have plenty of long term injuries to play with so we could elevate him...that is, unless the club is too cheap to do so like they were with Rixy.

mattyc2422
1 Aug 2006, 21:20
What position then do you envisiage Gilham would play in the afl? Would he still be a 3rd tall defender and play on say guys like tarrant etc? From the above description he seems more like a lock down defender than playmaker but then you say he is good at setting up play. How'd you think gilham would go in a joel smith type rebounding defender role, does he have decent pace, can he break the lines and hit targets/create play? Is he fast enough to play on midsized players ie like brad johnson or resting midfielders?

Joel Smith is a fair comparison in the sense that he can play very well on some opponents but can get torched on other opponents. He has adequate pace and is definitely handy at hitting targets. His foot skills are very good.

He's a really weird player actually. Sometimes he looks like a tall defender, sometimes he looks like a mid-sized defender....

Boyler_Room
1 Aug 2006, 23:57
McEntee sounds promising.

burner1
9 Nov 2006, 12:54
Ben Mcglynn has been the only list change we've made this season thats really puzzled me - still young enough to keep on the rookie list for another year (? correct me if im wrong)- yet promoted after not really showing heaps in my opinion. It must be remembered hes no 17yr rookie but 21yrs old with a few seasons of box hill under his belt.

Where does a tiny, inside midfielder with poor skills fit into our team? I though he has the type of player we were moving away from. Yes mcglyyn is a goer and is hard at the ball but is that going to be enough to make a starting 22 in the afl? Its not like theres going to be no competition for spots with ellis, tuck, muston and a fit ossie all pushing for midfield spots. Furthermore with crawf, clarke, and bateman already in the midfield rotation I dont think we can fit another tiny midfielder in.

Just reading the phantom draft thread - it seems some good talent will still be there at pick 56 or even 70 odd - I would have prefered we took a punt on a young kid and drafted a type we needed (eg ruck) or at least wait to we get til pick 56 and if there is noone better around then redraft mcglynn.

Basically I cant see mcglynn ever getting a game in a quaility side. Furthermore I struggle to see how he'll be a part of our side come the end of 2007. Is he there for depth? (but why with ellis, tuck, kennedy pushing for spots and ossie back). Look he may surprise and drastically improve his kicking skills, but at his size he has to be really special - I just dont think hes got enough.

Binxy
9 Nov 2006, 12:57
I agree. #56 for mine.

KingRich
9 Nov 2006, 13:05
He wont play in a premiership with Hawthorn IMO so I would have preferred to use 56 or use a pick in the PSD. But on the other hand I have discounted many other players who have come back and proven me wrong so i'm confident that the coaches that know him best might see something that I dont!

Furn
9 Nov 2006, 13:09
i thought we delisted/traded/ retired 7 senior listed players and promoted 2 leaving us 5 picks in the draft 6,24,33,40 and 56 am i wrong?

Cynic
9 Nov 2006, 13:12
I really think you're under-rating the young fella.

Bit of stage fright and tried too hard early on but he's tough and got the right attitude for me.

DannyJ
9 Nov 2006, 13:33
#56 without doubt. Can't see McGlynn fitting into a great side. He is an honest battler. He deserves a chance in saying that though.

McGlynn would be a better option than Boyle !

Nightwolf
9 Nov 2006, 13:49
We can choose from pick 56 or PSD. So you may get your treasured 'pick 56' yet..

burner1
9 Nov 2006, 14:03
We can choose from pick 56 or PSD. So you may get your treasured 'pick 56' yet..
Okay but wouldnt you then prefer say having the flexibility for say of using pick 70 (or pick 56 and psd pick) to pick up a player we rated or thought had afl potential but had slipped down (say a pearce or davey type) or the option to redraft mcglynn if nothing better was around? Mcgylnn IMO was a very borderline selection at best. I mean he's 3 years older than ellis and birchall - just dont think enough improvement left.

Secondly why cant mcglynn get his chance to prove himself with another year on the rookie list (say for example as our nominated rookie)?

philhawk
9 Nov 2006, 14:06
Firstly, I think we do get a chance to use Pick 56 if, as NW said, we dont use a PSD pick (which we probably wont).

But truth be told, i'd rather we promoted Benny if nothing but for a reward for the tireless training efforts he has done over the off-season. He's a much loved player at the club and at least giving him a 1-2 year chance at the highest level is something he more than deserves for his efforts.

He could prove useful yet when he improves his disposal. I remember people echoing the same views about Timmy Clarke a few years back, but he's now an indispensable part of our team.

Roughie
9 Nov 2006, 15:11
To be honest I rather McGlynn over Ries. McGlynn tries his guts out, and I love his determination and ferociousness on the footy field. I think he, Brown and Ozzie are the only guys who can actually lay a tackle on our team.

And I agree entirely with Philhawk about his Tim Clarke comments.

To be honest I dont think he will be on the list in 2 years time, but I think he is a sound option above Thurgood or anyother of the guys we delisted (maybe bar Brennan). Pick 56 is always a risk, but like others said above I think we may ignore the use of a PSD pick and go with using 56 in the draft.

So we will keep McGlynn, and hopefully get a good youngster.

BudddddyLove
9 Nov 2006, 15:32
To be honest I rather McGlynn over Ries. McGlynn tries his guts out, and I love his determination and ferociousness on the footy field. I think he, Brown and Ozzie are the only guys who can actually lay a tackle on our team.

To be honest I dont think he will be on the list in 2 years time, but I think he is a sound option above Thurgood or anyother of the guys we delisted (maybe bar Brennan). Pick 56 is always a risk, but like others said above I think we may ignore the use of a PSD pick and go with using 56 in the draft.

So we will keep McGlynn, and hopefully get a good youngster.

Buddy is the best tackler in the team in my opinion :)

Mitchell Madness
9 Nov 2006, 15:59
Ben will never burst the field open like crawf, but he will still be a good player, i would have hated it if we got rid of him. He has pace, he has guts, he can kick, and handball, and is short (meaning a lot of high tackles and free kicks for!)

deano the hawka
9 Nov 2006, 16:44
Originally Posted by Roughie

So we will keep McGlynn, and hopefully get a good youngster...

Buddy is the best tackler in the team in my opinion :)

You also forgot Robert Campbell, Luke Hodge....and Robert Campbell :P

Haddo
9 Nov 2006, 16:52
I really think you're under-rating the young fella.

Bit of stage fright and tried too hard early on but he's tough and got the right attitude for me.I agree plus when we go tall in the forward line , we will need a little bloke around their feet (Willo plays tall) to keep the ball inside the forward 50 , which he did against Geelong when he played himself onto the senior list , i reckon he was gone till he showed his value in that game.
Clarkson does nothing without a purpose , he is decisive and thats what shows he's going to be a very good coach.

Smiggs Pig
9 Nov 2006, 17:10
I agree and would probably prefer pick 56 and a PSD selection, but I reckon AC and the others looked at McGlynn as a ball winner with pace. These types are rare and although he is a gamble long term if he does thrive he would be a great addition with his combination of aggresion and pace.

FriarTuck
9 Nov 2006, 17:37
Good question.

56 or 6 in the PSD or Benny. I reckon Benny will play more games than those two selected combined.

He may scrape into our top 22, as a burst player he will go OK. His kicking will improve and if Clarke or Crawf are out he will step straight in.

JezzHawk
9 Nov 2006, 18:10
Where he is there long term or not it doesn't really matter. This is his chance to demonstrate he belongs among the best.

It is great the HFC provides an image of promoting rookies. It encourage others there are other avenues than just the draft, if not selected.

burner1
9 Nov 2006, 19:22
I agree and would probably prefer pick 56 and a PSD selection, but I reckon AC and the others looked at McGlynn as a ball winner with pace. These types are rare and although he is a gamble long term if he does thrive he would be a great addition with his combination of aggresion and pace.

Good point. While we have glut of quaility ball winners none of them are quick (and I dont think kennedy is quick from reports), so he may add something there, if he can improve a fair bit. Will be interesting to see what happens come pick 56 as their doesnt seem much in the PSD.

In some ways if it didnt stuff up our salary cap, we should put dicko on the vets list and use pick 70 as basically the no 1 rookie pick/psd pick. Is it true that players picked after a certain number can get offered one year contracts?

Hodge2Franklin
9 Nov 2006, 19:43
Good point. While we have glut of quaility ball winners none of them are quick (and I dont think kennedy is quick from reports), so he may add something there, if he can improve a fair bit. Will be interesting to see what happens come pick 56 as their doesnt seem much in the PSD.

In some ways if it didnt stuff up our salary cap, we should put dicko on the vets list and use pick 70 as basically the no 1 rookie pick/psd pick. Is it true that players picked after a certain number can get offered one year contracts?

Burner at the last couple of coaches forums (Inside the Huddle nights) AC has talked a lot about types of players and who we have that fits that mould that might be quality.

e.g Inside midfielders
Outside Midfielders
Tall Defenders
Rucks
Tall Forwards
Small Defenders
Small Forwards
Run with players
Play-makers etc

My guess is wherever McGlynn fits into his 'style of player' we lack depth. For example if he is a Clarke type, we may have no backup there, hence his promotion.

I'm only speculating and don't remember the specific descriptions, but that is more than likely AC's thoughts on him.

It might also explain peoples confusion over the delisting of Brennan over Boyle. Different players.

Binxy
9 Nov 2006, 19:57
It is great the HFC provides an image of promoting rookies. It encourage others there are other avenues than just the draft, if not selected.Good point.

Hawk0373
9 Nov 2006, 20:58
He is a ready made backup who can come into the side if we have any two of Vanders, Mitch, Lewis, Hodge, Sewell or Clarke out. He showed he can come into the side at any stage of the year and be servicable, this is why he stayed and Ries left.

hawkaz1
9 Nov 2006, 21:14
Even though I only saw him in the game vs Geelong, his attack on the ball was great and we need players like that. Sure he made a few bad mistakes but it was his 1st AFL match wasn't it? I'm not thinking he will be part of the team for 22 rounds of the year but he could become a handy replacement or tagger. The players in the draft, well most of us haven't seen them play so its hard to decide who would be better. The best thing to do is just hope that they both become good players for the hawks.

burner1
9 Nov 2006, 21:46
He is a ready made backup who can come into the side if we have any two of Vanders, Mitch, Lewis, Hodge, Sewell or Clarke out. He showed he can come into the side at any stage of the year and be servicable, this is why he stayed and Ries left.

Problem is we struggle to fit vanders, mitch and lewis into the same side when hodge is there. Furthermore ossie would be clearly ahead of him in terms of replacing clarke or sewell. Further some of ellis, tuck, muston and kennedy will be ready to play games in 2007. I would rather tuck or ellis get games as the backup players ahead of mcgylnn.

While no doubt he can be a backup, I mean why couldnt we leave him on the rookie list and make him the nominated rookie? (no one has answered this, is he too old?)

GNCLongJack
10 Nov 2006, 04:17
McGLYNN.

sgbn77
10 Nov 2006, 09:04
I'd definately want McGlynn instead of another 'pie in the sky' pick. I really hope all our draft picks turn out to be guns, but they won't be. End of story. It's reality.

What we have in McGlynn, is a guy who will never give anything short of 100%. You MUST have that mix in a team. Ries is an example of a guy who always gave 100%. Now that he's gone (possibly), we have to invite others in. This is a necessery part of any team. You talk to me about Voss, Black, Akermanis, etc, and I'll point you in the direction of Hart, Ashcroft, McCrae, etc. You have to have a mix in a team to perform at the highest level. Sometimes your superstars start slowly, aren't motivated, etc....and are jarred into the game by seeing the McGlynn type players smashing into contests, wanting the ball, and showing desperation to play.

I think we can't think the world will be saved by draft picks, just because Franklin has looked fantastic at times. There are still some established draft picks who have a way to go...there are some newer unproven draft picks who have a lot to prove, and then there's your Tuck's...who could very well take years to play well.

We need to start establishing a team that can and will win next year. This talk of a premiership in 2009 will not happen magically. Start constructing a team now, not a team of potential.

WeneedyoungJarmans
10 Nov 2006, 09:32
I'd prefer Brennan for 1 more season and re-rookie list McGlynn.

At the same time, I'd prefer McGlynn over Ries and maybe Osborne.

Not everyone on our list can be superstars. The key to backup players is that they are honest and hard at it which can make up for lack of ability. Those sorts of players are never going to hold your club at randsom and want to leave. They will play good footy week in week out in your reserves and be itching to backup an injured player. And wont cost you much to keep!

burner1
10 Nov 2006, 11:09
I'd definately want McGlynn instead of another 'pie in the sky' pick. I really hope all our draft picks turn out to be guns, but they won't be. End of story. It's reality.

Its not about all our draft picks becoming guns its about continually turning over your list to find these guns. IMO for a 21 yr old mcgylnn hasnt shown nearly enough to be promoted to the main list. I cant see why he wasnt kept on the rookie list.

What we have in McGlynn, is a guy who will never give anything short of 100%. You MUST have that mix in a team. Ries is an example of a guy who always gave 100%. Now that he's gone (possibly), we have to invite others in. This is a necessery part of any team. You talk to me about Voss, Black, Akermanis, etc, and I'll point you in the direction of Hart, Ashcroft, McCrae, etc. You have to have a mix in a team to perform at the highest level. Sometimes your superstars start slowly, aren't motivated, etc....and are jarred into the game by seeing the McGlynn type players smashing into contests, wanting the ball, and showing desperation to play.

I'd like to think under AC we have weeded out those not giving 100%. I struggle to name one that now cant be seen to put in every game. Furthermore we have enough inspirational players in brown, clarke etc. Being a goer and trying hard shouldnt be enough anymore to make the side - skill and ability should be greater determinants. Furthermore mcgylnn is a far far away from ever being compared to Hart, Ashcroft, McCrae. Yes not everyone will be stars in the team but players if the ilk of Hart, Ashcroft, McCrae were far from ordinary players. We shouldnt accept mediocrity from any player on our list.

I think we can't think the world will be saved by draft picks, just because Franklin has looked fantastic at times. There are still some established draft picks who have a way to go...there are some newer unproven draft picks who have a lot to prove, and then there's your Tuck's...who could very well take years to play well.

We need to start establishing a team that can and will win next year. This talk of a premiership in 2009 will not happen magically. Start constructing a team now, not a team of potential.

Our club isnt going to be saved by draft picks per se but by smart and ruthless list management.

Mcgylnn for a 21 yr old hasnt done enough IMO to warrant a spot on the senoir list. Giving say a talented young tall or ruck with pick 56 an opportunity is a better option in my opinion. Unless he shows drastic improvement Mcgylnn is going to be no more than a backup player. I would rather the backup players on our list be young players who have the potential to develop into stars and move our team forward than mediocre players who cant really cut it at afl level (see ries and ball for example).

I agree a premiership wont happen magically. But it is the developing our players on our list that will make the difference. I cant see mcglynn at the moment being there in 2009. But a young draftee might, but if not we have not lost anything in the process.

Hawk0373
10 Nov 2006, 11:29
Its not about all our draft picks becoming guns its about continually turning over your list to find these guns. IMO for a 21 yr old mcgylnn hasnt shown nearly enough to be promoted to the main list. I cant see why he wasnt kept on the rookie list.

I'd like to think under AC we have weeded out those not giving 100%. I struggle to name one that now cant be seen to put in every game. Furthermore we have enough inspirational players in brown, clarke etc. Being a goer and trying hard shouldnt be enough anymore to make the side - skill and ability should be greater determinants. Furthermore mcgylnn is a far far away from ever being compared to Hart, Ashcroft, McCrae. Yes not everyone will be stars in the team but players if the ilk of Hart, Ashcroft, McCrae were far from ordinary players. We shouldnt accept mediocrity from any player on our list.

Our club isnt going to be saved by draft picks per se but by smart and ruthless list management.

Mcgylnn for a 21 yr old hasnt done enough IMO to warrant a spot on the senoir list. Giving say a talented young tall or ruck with pick 56 an opportunity is a better option in my opinion. Unless he shows drastic improvement Mcgylnn is going to be no more than a backup player. I would rather the backup players on our list be young players who have the potential to develop into stars and move our team forward than mediocre players who cant really cut it at afl level (see ries and ball for example).

I agree a premiership wont happen magically. But it is the developing our players on our list that will make the difference. I cant see mcglynn at the moment being there in 2009. But a young draftee might, but if not we have not lost anything in the process.

You have to rememebr 2006 was his first taste of AFL footy. If he was 19 you'd have been impressed with his effort. You make out that he has no improvement left in him - bit harsh considering where he has come from. He played 4 games for an average of 18 possessions 7 marks aswell as kicking 2 goals.

Give him a chance to build his fitness base as he is already pretty quick and runs in a straight line.

I like the boy.

sgbn77
10 Nov 2006, 13:08
You have to rememebr 2006 was his first taste of AFL footy. If he was 19 you'd have been impressed with his effort. You make out that he has no improvement left in him - bit harsh considering where he has come from. He played 4 games for an average of 18 possessions 7 marks aswell as kicking 2 goals.

Give him a chance to build his fitness base as he is already pretty quick and runs in a straight line.

I like the boy.

Yeah, Burner, firstly, can I just say that the way you responded to my post was a great argument, but as mentioned above, I'd have to say his output over the last year was far from crap.

I do recall him blasting away in the match against Richmond, where I thought "hey, just slow things down a little here Ben, don't get carried away", but other than that, I thought he had more of a first year impact than a couple of players out there. I realise he's a little older, and you're point is more or less that he should be rookie'd for another year...but I thought he was worthy of a crack.

Absolutely agree with you though, that list management will be an important factor over the next few years.

GNCLongJack
10 Nov 2006, 17:23
McGLYNN (Still !)

burner1
10 Nov 2006, 19:43
Yeah, Burner, firstly, can I just say that the way you responded to my post was a great argument, but as mentioned above, I'd have to say his output over the last year was far from crap.

I do recall him blasting away in the match against Richmond, where I thought "hey, just slow things down a little here Ben, don't get carried away", but other than that, I thought he had more of a first year impact than a couple of players out there. I realise he's a little older, and you're point is more or less that he should be rookie'd for another year...but I thought he was worthy of a crack.

Absolutely agree with you though, that list management will be an important factor over the next few years.

Look theres no doubt mcglynn has some good characteristics and did stand up in the few games he played. But I'm more trying to project where he'll be in another season or two. I just cant really ever see mcglynn getting a game in the WC midfield. Look Im happy to be wrong on him but I reckon thats the kind of standard we should be looking for in potential of all our players. For players of his height you normally have to have really something special to make it. I just dont like the notion of having a mid on our list who may probably not ever be in our best 22 (espeically when ellis, muston and tuck are up and running). Look I hope Im wrong and he proves to be a inspired choice, but just reckon the rookie list would have been a better option.

Furthermore we already have too many small/tiny midfielders on our list. (I mean I just looked on WC list theirs not one player as short as mcglynn).
Looking at WC's picks 16, 29, 43 and 50 their not really much worse than ours other than pick 6 vs 16, yet WC is a team a long way ahead of us in terms of talent. To close that gap we need to utilise every pick and list position we've got.

superstar
19 May 2007, 16:04
In only his second game back from injury. Could very well be in line for a home debut in Tassie next week.

Roughhead might want to start honing his defensive skills because Thorp is nipping at his heels.

Robber Baron
19 May 2007, 17:51
Hes a gun and hell end up being the best of the picks this year and we got him for pick 6 which is another bargain. Its getting omimus for us for the flag may even as soon as this year.

xyakks
19 May 2007, 17:56
Hes a gun and hell end up being the best of the picks this year and we got him for pick 6 which is another bargain. Its getting omimus for us for the flag may even as soon as this year.

Careful not to jump the gun aren't you? :p

Buddy Hero
19 May 2007, 18:43
Hopefully he can get his debut in tas next week :thumbsu:

Blasé
19 May 2007, 18:49

yeah, reckon you need settle down there boy!

HawkFan15
19 May 2007, 23:29

Yeh may be getting a bit excited there

mulhollanddrive
19 May 2007, 23:47
Im not sure if he'll debut just yet, but boy id be excited if he does next week.

Can we fit Dixon, Franklin, Boyle, Roughead, Thorp into the same forward line?
Franklin played up the ground a bit, Dixon/Roughead had a fair bit off the ground...

Who was his opponent? Was it Harley?

rumblah
19 May 2007, 23:53
drop dixon.... simple

Frankston Rover
20 May 2007, 00:02
Has anyone else noticed our habit of debuting our boys at home?

Mossy got a gig last week against Freo, Birchall last year in Tassie.

I reckon we may just give Thorp a run. He couldn't be any worse than Ben Dixon.

Hawkk
20 May 2007, 00:04
Love it, like every other game this season we'll go into the WCE game as the rank outsiders...but being in Tassie, have we got reason to dream?

macdaddio
20 May 2007, 00:23
Love it, like every other game this season we'll go into the WCE game as the rank outsiders...but being in Tassie, have we got reason to dream?

dusnt mata were we play wc... simply wont win they are a dam good team, they can play any were and win...forget that loss to cats that was due to happen.... but it will be a close game...... i be proud if can just stay with in 10 points.....go hawks

Hawkk
20 May 2007, 00:25
As would I.

I can smell something on the horizon...who knows we may have turned the corner afterall

Dippers_Mullet
20 May 2007, 01:37

Both Launceston Oval and the Gabba are similar in size, are they not?

Anyhow great news on the Thorpe front!

GNCLongJack
20 May 2007, 09:11
Just can't drop Dicko. The opposing coaches know that if they don't allocate one of their best players to him, he will turn the game himself, beit his goals or assists. His body strength, leading speed, generalling of the young fwds and his USUAL kicking acuracy all demand his selection. DJ and Thorpy's availability do cause positive considerations.

Mitchell Madness
20 May 2007, 19:37
Thorp would be a great inclusion, he was lucky enough to play a few games down at YP last year for Tassie Mariners, and Tassie in VFL. He already has a feel for the ground, and therefore would be the logical inclusion.

hawkstars
21 May 2007, 16:34
I hope so. Put him in for Dicko that can't get a touch at the minute so put him back in the Magoos to get a feel. We can't select players because of their experience or reputation. This kid earned it and he knows the ground so I hope he is in. GO THORPEDO!

Loyal Hawk
3 Jun 2007, 08:56
Just wondering if anybody seen them play. They were both named in the best with Collins kicking 3. Also did Tuck play in the 1's or the 2's. It would be good have these sort of running players in the boxhill side as they are a very tall side that lacks run.

goal sneak
3 Jun 2007, 12:36
Collins is a very skillful player.

HawksRadar
4 Jun 2007, 22:16
Saw both games. Suckling played mainly across half back and was one of the few players who played four quarters. Collo played half of each quarter in his first game, kicked 3 and had a lot of the ball. Also thought that Thorpe in the ones looked sharp until injured and will do well when he gets his chance.

Hawk-eye
11 Jun 2007, 14:11
Just got a text from a mate at the game. Thorp has kicked the first two goals for Box Hill.

Line in the Sand
11 Jun 2007, 14:13
Anyone know if it is on the raido?
Keep the update comming!

Roughie
11 Jun 2007, 14:23
Shit, Go Thorp! With Dixon being out he very well could be pushing for a spot up forward this week! I dont think Clarko really wants Osbourne and DJ getting tossed up forward.

Hawk-eye
11 Jun 2007, 14:34
Quarter time update. Good contested footy. Hawks did well in first 5 minutes but the ball didn't go down the forward line much after that.

SCORE

Bendigo Bombers 4.3 27
Box Hill Hawks 3.2 20

Hawks goal kickers

Thorp 2
Little 1

Thorp doesn't look to be carrying an injury as was reported in another thread.

Hawk-eye
11 Jun 2007, 14:41
Apparently Thorp just got reported. Could be for charging.

besty
11 Jun 2007, 15:06
Half Time

Bendigo 8.5.53
Box Hill 8.3.51

Birchall01
11 Jun 2007, 15:09
Who have been the goal kickers from the box hill hawks?

Hawk-eye
11 Jun 2007, 15:12
Half time report. Thorp was in late at a marking contest and was reported.

Bendigo Bombers

8.5 53

Box Hill Hawks

8.3 51

Goal Kickers

Box Hill Hawks

Thorp 3
Moss
Renouf
Little
Dowler?

Bendigo Bombers

Bradley 2
Cloke
Connington
Jetter
Riemers

Hodge2Franklin
11 Jun 2007, 15:13
Half time report. Thorp was in late at a marking contest and was reported.

Bendigo Bombers

8.5 53

Box Hill Hawks

8.3 51

Goal Kickers

Box Hill Hawks

Thorp 3
Moss
Reouf
Little
Dowler?

Bendigo Bombers

Bradley 2
Cloke
Connington
Jetter
Riemers

The bolded players need to be in our team ASAP...

Parse
11 Jun 2007, 15:15
The bolded players need to be in our team ASAP...
I love the love you show to the young blokes H2F, its infectious. I agree they should get a crack soon

delirious1
11 Jun 2007, 15:20
I dont think Thorp has the fitness to play afl since he was out for 8 weeks with hip surgery, probably the only reason hes not playing ATM

mathew ollaik
11 Jun 2007, 15:21
Where do you guys get the info from?

Line in the Sand
11 Jun 2007, 15:23
They should get a go but who would you take out? Robby and Simmo have only had one bad game which was against sydney against the best ruck duo in the game. Who would you take out of the forward line for Thorp? i reckon roughy won't be dropped again. He has proved himself twice in BH. He just need time to find his place.

I reckon Thorp should get a get and see if he sinks or swims but BR can have a much time as he needs to get ready. No need to rush him. If Thorp were to come in and do well i reckon Dicko would be sh!tting himself. I would much rather Roughy in then Dicko to be in the team. Roughy just needs one stand out game to prove to himself he can do it.

mathew ollaik
11 Jun 2007, 15:30
Where do u guys get the info?

Hawk-eye
11 Jun 2007, 15:32
Where do you guys get the info from?

A mate of mine is at the game.

mathew ollaik
11 Jun 2007, 15:34
Can u plz keep updating....
Cheers:thumbsu:

Hawk-eye
11 Jun 2007, 15:57
3 Quarter Time Update.

Bendigo Bombers 13.9 87

Box Hill Hawks 10.6 66

Bombers should be further ahead but have missed easy goals. Hawks struggling to get it down to their forward line. A bombers player was reported that quarter for taking Moss's head off.

Goal kickers

Bendigo

Bradley 3
Connington 2
Reimers 2
Unknown player 2
Jetta
Rosa
Cloke

Box Hill

Thorp 3
Little 2
Renouf 2
Moss
Dowler
Johnson

Hawk-eye
11 Jun 2007, 16:16
Fat lady has sung. Bendigo have kicked 5 goals 15 minutes into the last quarter to Box Hill's none.

danzan22
11 Jun 2007, 16:19
Fat lady has sung. Bendigo have kicked 5 goals 15 minutes into the last quarter to Box Hill's none.
Goal kickers would be appreciated

Thanks for the updates :thumbsu:

Hawk-eye
11 Jun 2007, 16:38
Final

Bendigo Bombers 22.10 142

Box Hill Hawks 12.8 80

Goal Kickers

Bendigo

Bradley 4
Reimers 4
Connington 2
Harrington 2
Cloke 3
Hocking 2
Dyson 2
Jetta
Rosa
Nash

Box Hill

Thorp 3
Little 2
Renouf 2
Moss
Dowler
Johnson
Daniher
Eva

High Ryder
11 Jun 2007, 16:39
Bendigo won by 64 points courtesy of a 10 goal last quarter!

Hawkk
11 Jun 2007, 16:49
Hate to say it, but our young kids are wasted at Box Hill.

Imagine how many more opportunities Thorp would have had if he was playing for Bendigo

GNCLongJack
11 Jun 2007, 16:50
They should get a go but who would you take out? Robby and Simmo have only had one bad game which was against sydney against the best ruck duo in the game. Who would you take out of the forward line for Thorp? i reckon roughy won't be dropped again. He has proved himself twice in BH. He just need time to find his place.

I reckon Thorp should get a get and see if he sinks or swims but BR can have a much time as he needs to get ready. No need to rush him. If Thorp were to come in and do well i reckon Dicko would be sh!tting himself. I would much rather Roughy in then Dicko to be in the team. Roughy just needs one stand out game to prove to himself he can do it.
I thought Roughie's physical presence on Sat. was great, AND the statement he needed to make to the HFC coaching panel and to us paid up supporters. This time his efforts didn't translate into his own multiple goals, but once again the obviously documented case of Buddy being a scorer of multiples when Jarryd Roughead is sharing the fwd50 heat !!!!

High Ryder
11 Jun 2007, 16:56
Hate to say it, but our young kids are wasted at Box Hill.

Imagine how many more opportunities Thorp would have had if he was playing for Bendigo
Our Bendigo listed players are poo apart from Cloke.

Hawkk
11 Jun 2007, 17:08

That's beside the point.

What I'm trying to say is that the poor state of our aligned club is only harming the opportunities for our young players to develop - which is the main point of the reserve competition anyway (as a feeder competition for the AFL)

If money is the problem we need to pump more money into development/recruiting or find another feeder club/go it alone as a standalone club.

Davo23
11 Jun 2007, 17:13
That's beside the point.

What I'm trying to say is that the poor state of our aligned club is only harming opportunities for our young players to develop - which is the main point of the reserves.

If money is the problem we need to pump more money into the club or find another feeder club/go it alone as a standalone VFL club.

I don't understand your point at all: does Box Hill need to win for players to develop?

Does Dowler need to be hit lace-up with worm-burning passes to be a better footballer? Or does he improve more by having to fight for the ball?

Just by playing, they are developing - any win by Box hill is a bonus.

Davo23

boms
11 Jun 2007, 17:37
So you think Rosa is no good? The guy is a gun

Also Skipworth goes alright when his not injured

Hawkk
11 Jun 2007, 17:47
I don't understand your point at all: does Box Hill need to win for players to develop?

Does Dowler need to be hit lace-up with worm-burning passes to be a better footballer? Or does he improve more by having to fight for the ball?

Just by playing, they are developing - any win by Box hill is a bonus.

Davo23

Even for forwards?

I would have thought the less forward line supply, the less opportunities our key forwards get to show their wares.

Collins-Langford-Ayres
11 Jun 2007, 17:48
Nice to see Thorpe, Renouf and Little in the goals.

Am still puzzled by Little's absence from the senior team.

Seems to know where the goals are and impossible to tell if he could make the grade if he never gets a chance.

Hodge2Franklin
11 Jun 2007, 17:52
I love the love you show to the young blokes H2F, its infectious. I agree they should get a crack soon

Thanks Parse ... I just really admire players who I believe are the total package (-minus some experience) ... For me seeing the young guys develop (who have the potential to be great) is far more rewarding than watching 'older players' who are simply not good enough wasting positions.:)

hawkstars
11 Jun 2007, 17:55
Thanks Parse ... I just really admire players who I believe are the total package (-minus some experience) ... For me seeing the young guys develop (who have the potential to be great) is far more rewarding than watching 'older players' who are simply not good enough wasting positions.:)
Those are my thoughts exactly. Well said.

Hodge2Franklin
11 Jun 2007, 17:59
Those are my thoughts exactly. Well said.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: Go Hawksters and Parse. let's gang up on em' and get these boys in the team.

Choota
11 Jun 2007, 18:56
We no longer have to rush young players into the AFL before they are ready. That's a luxury we haven't had in recent years. Right now our depth is good. Unless Thorp absolutely stars for Box Hill in the second half of the year (and someone at senior level - say Roughhead) struggles to cement their spot, I doubt we'll see another debut this season.

cschreuder61
11 Jun 2007, 19:29
Even for forwards?

I would have thought the less forward line supply, the less opportunities our key forwards get to show their wares.
Not sure Hawkk. I think Box Hill is purely a developing place for our kids, and is why we probably haven't gone after too many senior guys.

I think if anything we able to give our young guys more responsibilities by not having support. Meaning Kennedy, Moss etc get to start in the midfield, Thorp gets a key position, Renouf gets first ruck etc. Its tough, they'll lose some games, but it'll be tougher when they get into AFL, and they're being given higher levels of responsibility earlier. Its a tough ask against men to carry the load but it gives them high responsibility early and really makes them work at Box Hill rather than just feeding off a good VFL side and being a quality receiver etc.

I agree sometimes its frustrating with the skill level. But they train with the senior group and we have coaches developing their skills full time at training, and would be improving by that alone remarkably, so I don't think too many are being held back, Thorp certainly doesn't look like he is, the midfielders get to battle it out and learn to be accountable, and it sounds like the defense are getting heaps of practice :wink: . Dowler sounds one that may be affected by it though if there was anyone because the way he plays may rely on accurate kicking out in front, but if he's good enough he'll get his chance at senior level.

Good signs for Thorp getting amongst it so quickly, wont take long for him to get a crack at senior level.

sydney_hawka
11 Jun 2007, 19:36
Did Beau Muston play today?? If so, how did he go??

soupofficial
11 Jun 2007, 19:42
That's beside the point.

What I'm trying to say is that the poor state of our aligned club is only harming the opportunities for our young players to develop - which is the main point of the reserve competition anyway (as a feeder competition for the AFL)

If money is the problem we need to pump more money into development/recruiting or find another feeder club/go it alone as a standalone club.

the upside is that blokes like tuck, muston, dowler, and morton have been selected in the seniors when it wouldn't have happened on merit at a club like sandringham. this has given these players exposure to higher quality teammates, coaching, and opponents.
box hill is one of the most development-focussed clubs in the VFL, and the blunt reality is that when hawthorn is in the early or middle stages of a rebuild, box hill is going to get a lot of inexperienced and undeveloped players sent to them. this makes it tough to win games, but the whole exercise is very valuable for the future of hawthorn. our relationship with box hill is the envy of most other clubs in the league, and the current setup has been a proven winner in terms of having players successfully make the transition from box hill to the AFL.

our development and recruiting budgets are not the problem, i don't know why you're suggesting that they are. you're just throwing a bigfooty tantrum because you can't see the underlying process, and you're looking for a scapegoat.